Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Isabella
  
36 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TidalDragon A Midnight Surprise

12th May 2016:
A midnight surprise indeed! I had a feeling that this was where the story was trending, but the way you did it was quite nice. It was undeniably unique to this family and to the separate culture, but it paid what felt like a couple of semi-homages to canon with Marisol breaking down the door in the middle of a storm to reveal Isabella's magical ability (like Hagrid to Harry) and the incident with Juan Carlos and his sister (reminded me of Dumbledore and Ariana though it was obviously different in key ways) and Isabella being accepted since birth was there too (do you see that as being the case in all magical communities? I don't personally, but I am interested if it is your take) along with her being halfblood.

As far as the other details of the writing itself, I thought you showed great consistency carrying over the unique voice and perspective from chapter to chapter and I thoroughly enjoyed the history you gave to magic in Mexico and the manifestation of strength of personality you gave Isabella.

Thanks for sharing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by TidalDragon Thirteen Candles

12th May 2016:
Howdy Kaitlin! I have arrived on my reviewing quest and what a pleasure it is to be R&R-ing more than I have in a long time. I'm glad the Golden Paws have given me an excuse to STOP making excuses and do more of it again.

ANYWAY, though this chapter is really setting the stage for the story that will follow I thought it was very well written. From the beginning I think it really showcased the different kinds of descriptions that can be incredibly effective. While people often equate amazing description with showy prose, here you gave us honest authenticity that not only still immersed us in the setting, but was particularly appropriate given the age of the the character.

Speaking of the character, I thought she was quite unique and enjoyable to read. First of all, people don't often write here (at least as authentically as I feel you've done) younger characters like this. But second, before we even get to the Spanish words and phrases and the Author's Note we already know that she is culturally rather different thanks to your early showcasing of both her sense of responsibility and specific responsibilities, the combination of which, given her age, would not be terribly typical of the countries where people usually choose to set their fics (at least not in the modern era).

We're only one chapter in, but I'm definitely interested to keep reading and see how this develops!

 Report Review

Review #3, by princesslily_36 A Midnight Surprise

14th January 2016:
Another mesmerizing chapter. There's no other word to describe it. Usually, I stop to make notes when I'm reading so that I don't leave things out while typing the review, but this one was so intriguing that I had reached the end of the chapter, and then realized I had to read it all over again to review :D

I wanted to mention this in the last chapter itself, your present tense is brilliantly written. I have read a lot of stories in the present, but they always seem to jar unnaturally at me. I thought I was weird that way, but reading your fic, and seeing how the words flow only makes me admire you.

I love how you have drawn parallels between this and the Harry Potter we know. Hagrid breaking down the door to tell Harry despite a reluctant Uncle Vernon. Juan Carlos' story reminding me so much of Albus Dumbledore.

Linking her magical abilities to her Azetec descent was a really nice touch. Brings out more and more of the Mexican culture here.

I felt Rosa's reaction was quite on the mark: her initial silence as she struggled to process it, followed by anger and resentment. I wonder if things will ever be the same between Juan and Rosa again.

Lovely Chapter Kaitlin, thank you so much for the read. I'd love to be back when the next chapter is up.

Loads of Love
Ysh

 Report Review

Review #4, by princesslily_36 Thirteen Candles

14th January 2016:
I just love your descriptions Kaitlin! Your opening lines are more than tumblr worthy! It gave me the feels! My favorite part was when you wrote about that moment just before the rain, it had me transported to that wonderful place you described. My favorite line: 'the wind gusts and my skirt goes flying up all around me, a rainbow of colors, woven by my mother.'

I loved how you described everything around her by using all of her senses, and not just imagery. It helped give an all round feel of where she really was. I don't know why but when you talked about the grass and the cattle, I just pictured Heidi. It all seemed like such a sweet, simple setting, something that makes you feel good, until the last chapter. I like how you leave your chapter endings, even with the other story I just reviewed.

So now I have a lot of questions: Why was thirteen unlucky for her? I notice this is written for the diversity challenge, so maybe it's about her cultural background or where she's from? Also, I'm waiting to find out if she's a witch or a muggle. Is there going to be a Mexican school of magic?

Ahh, Spanish is such a sexy language! Unfortunately I don't hear it at all where I'm from, and often resort to drooling over Enrique Iglasias' albums. It's wonderful you wrote about Mexico, I for one didn't know much about it, until your author's note. I think it's lovely that challenges like this are being conducted, and people get to learn other cultures and places from one another!

Another amazing work from you Kaitlin. Over to the next chapter, to see if any of my questions are answered there :D

XOXO
Ysh

 Report Review

Review #5, by apondinabluebox A Midnight Surprise

10th September 2015:
Kaitlin, hello! ♥ First of all, I'd like to apologise for the delay in my reviews; there's been a lot going on IRL and I haven't been able to properly focus on giving a quality review.

But! I remembered reviewing the first chapter of this story a while back, and enjoying it, so that fact it has a new chapter makes me very happy! ^.^

The beginning of the chapter is so compelling. Isabella's reaction to her front door being broken down at midnight just draws the reader into the chapter. The way she talks about her mother being so stunned that she allows herself to be ordered around making coffee and her father's horror when he realises the reason for Marisol's visit is so accurate to a thirteen-year-old who's disorientated at everything going on around her.

Juan Carlos' story was heartbreaking. I noticed several parallels between him and the Dumbledores, which again links to the HP world that we know, but you created a different tone to it by blending Albus and Ariana's personalities into one person. That was fabulous! I'm intrigued as to why Isabella hasn't shown any signs of magic yet, or her younger siblings. Could she be a Squib and only got a place at magic school because of her tatarabuelo's history? Or is her father, whether intentionally or subconsciously, using his magical abilities to cover up the magic that she does do? You've raised intriguing questions that make me want to read on! I can't want for chapter three ;)

So not only is Doña Marisol crazy, but she's blind?! Immediately that makes me wonder how she manages to know where people are standing and how she copes with her loss of vision, which I hope will be mentioned in future chapters. :) You have this fantastic talent of drip-feeding information so that readers end up desperate to know more and wanting to click on that "Next Chapter" button!

I felt sorry for the family in a way, after everything that Juan Carlos had been through and then Rosa's very negative reaction to magic. However, it must have been very upsetting for her to have her entire world turn upside down, and it shows the contrast between her and Isabella, who has the complete opposite reaction. I do have a small crit though: Isabella's speech when she confronts her parents is very wordy; it doesn't feel like something you would say naturally. I'd recommend editing that part -- the line about being from the state of Oaxaca tripped me up a bit. Maybe rephrase it to "I'm a small-town Oaxaca girl" or something along those lines?

I loved, loved, loved the ending where she asks Doña Marisol to demonstrate magic for her! So sweet and so accurate of a thirteen-year-old!

I can't wait for the next chapter, Kaitlin! This story just keeps getting better! ♥

Author's Response: Hey Isobel!

No worries. RL always comes first.

I'm glad that you found these events to be fitting of a 13 year old's memories. It really is chaos.

Juan Carlos' story is definitely a parallel to Dumbledore. Marisol is a parallel to Hagrid. There are definitely a few nods at the HP world here, but the story will diverge quite significantly from HP.

Isabella not showing magic is for a very specific reason, but no she's not a squib. Neither are her siblings.

There will be more about Marisol in future chapters, but it won't be a whole ton.

I imagine that things with their family will settle down eventually, but it's going to take awhile. Everyone needs to do some healing.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm so glad you're enjoying this so far. As of March 31st this will be on a regular bi-weekly updates.

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #6, by krazyboutharryginny A Midnight Surprise

5th August 2015:
Red vs Gold review battle - team Gold!

Hi Kaitlin!

I'm finally here to keep reviewing this awesome story!
I think you've really done such a fantastic job with this so far. This story is so richly detailed and gives great insight into Mexican culture. I love the differences that you've created between magical society in Mexico and magical society in Britain. For example, the custom is to start magic school at 13, rather than 11. Also, it's law that anyone with magic has to go to school.
My favourite thing in this chapter was the explanation that Isabella has magic because she is descended from a line of magical Aztec warriors. I think that's such a cool idea.
Isabella's father's backstory is so sad, and it made me think of Dumbledore's story (with Ariana and everything). It's obviously a lot different, but that was just what came to mind. I hope Isabella's mother will forgive him and come to accept his and Isabella's magic.
I'm super glad Isabella stood up to her parents like that, even if they got mad at her for it. That was brave of her and it's great that she knows what she wants and is willing to stand up for herself.
Looking forward to the next chapter!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hey Kayla!

Thanks for dropping by!

I'm glad you like all of the details I've included. I worked really hard to make it as vivid as possible.

The magic coming from the Aztecs will come more into play later in the story. I'm really going to explore some of the origins of magic in Mexico.

Isabella's father is sort of a parallel for Dumbledore in that sense, but his role won't be anything like Dumbledore's going forward.

In terms of her mother, I don't know what will happen with her, but I do know that this will be really hard for her.

Isabella is courageous and bold and a little bit willful. I think she will handle this change better than anyone.

Thanks for your lovely feedback!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #7, by jessicalorewrites A Midnight Surprise

26th June 2015:
hey! jess here, reading and reviewing so that I can (finally lol) get the results out for the diversity challenge. the results should be out within the next couple of days so keep your eyes peeled over on the forums!

ahh, a magic school in mexico! MULTIPLE magic schools, even. I love the way you introduced the idea of out through marisol and that juan sort of forgot about the fact that with isabella turning 13 that would mean she would have to go learn magic. when he does remember--god, that whole backstory is terrible. again we have some parallels drawn here between isabella and harry's stories: with hagrid vs marisol and dumbledore vs juan. the way ariana is killed is very reflective of the story of isabella's aunt here too. it's a shame isabella never got to know her. it just hit me--did she ever even know about this aunt? if she didn't, that's so sad :( I get the sense that she didn't because it might've been too painful for juan or his family to talk about.

I really enjoy that you have given magic in mexico this rich heritage story starting long ago with the aztecs. it's something not given to us in the original hp series so I'm really interested in possibly finding out more about the history of magic in this. and about the magic school in mexico city! I wonder whether maybe isabella's great great grandfather had a hand in founding any of the magic schools around the country.

the family dynamics in this are so woow I think it's super interesting that you didn't just go down a route of acceptance, shock, or wonder--you delved much further in with rosa's reaction being one of stark horror. I imagine finding out your husband has been lying to you for over 13 years about this big part of his heritage would be incredibly upsetting. I hope for the sake of isabella and the other children that they won't divorce/split up over this as that would be truly heartbreaking, given juan's reasons for never discussing it. still, rosa's reaction was incredibly negative and I hope that this doesn't affect her relationship with isabella, who she seems quite close to.

really great story so far, I can't wait to read more! ♥

- jess, xo

Author's Response: Hi Jess!

I'm so glad you caught the parallels. Like I said in the last response, I definitely want it to parallel some of HP, but to be it's own unique story as well.

This really will go deep into magical Mexico and become almost an origin story. It will show how the magical world in South America grew and developed.

I can't say when or if Isabella's mom will come around. I can say that Mexico is a very religious country and things like this wouldn't be taken easily.

Thanks for the review and for the awesome challenge!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #8, by jessicalorewrites Thirteen Candles

26th June 2015:
hey! jess here, reading and reviewing so that I can (finally lol) get the results out for the diversity challenge. the results should be out within the next couple of days so keep your eyes peeled over on the forums!

ahh mexico is such a unique and interesting place to set a fic I've never seen it done before. like you said in your author's note most is euro-centric or if not then america so I liked that you divulged from this standard and have chosen to explore the rich culture of a country you are extensively familar with instead. I think the fact that you already know so much about mexico really shows in the level of detail you go into in just this first preliminary chapter. it's extensive and written so well! also I'm interested in finding out how the world of magic in mexico differs from what we know of british magic. do they have different spells? do they have different customs and practices? I'm so interested to find out more!

you set a lovely scene at the beginning of this chapter and carry the beautiful imagery throughout the rest of the chapter. I could almost taste the buzzing of electricity as the storm brewed. every I pictured in my head was so vivid and detailed, all thanks to your amazing descriptions which just painted the scenes for me. you bring in other senses too and it really did a lot to fully immerse me in the scene.

ahh the unlucky number thirteen! see this is already a new thing that you're incoporating into the customs of the country. I went to cuba once (obviously not the same as mexico but they're geographically close and both speak a dialect of spanish) and the number 13 is so unlucky there that they miss the number out on hotel floor numberings so it goes 1-12 and then straight to 14. sorry, this isn't particularly relevant haha... anyway think that including that and then having this great climactic event at the end of the chapter, as soon as she turns 13, is so amazing. if I wasn't interested already I defintely am now. also, am I imagining it or were there a LOT of parallels to hagrid there? aha I have expected him to emerge and have been the one there all along, not the 'crazy' (now thinking magical) lady from down the road.

this is a really amazing start to a story kaitlin and I hope you continue it beyond these first 2 chapters when you get the chance. it's something revolutionary!!♥

- jess, xo

Author's Response: Hey Jess!

As soon as I saw your challenge, I knew that I wanted to write a fic about magic in a different country. I can't say that I've ever seen one in Mexico or South America, so I was really excited at the chance to do so.

This is possibly my best description so far. I really worked hard to create a vivid image of Isabella's surroundings.

So I don't know that Mexico has the same views as Cuba on the number 13, but in this sense I don't know that 13 is necessarily unlucky. I think that once Isabella moves past the shock, it actually may turn out to be quite fortuitous.

There were definitely parallels to Hagrid and there will be other characters in this story that parallel the HP world, but at the end of the day, I just want it to be a gentle nod in that direction.

I definitely plan to start updating really soon. As of March 31st, I will have all of my WIPs on a regular update schedule.

Thanks for the review and the lovely challenge!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #9, by Penelope Inkwell Thirteen Candles

14th June 2015:
Kaitlin!

I am here! At last! I know it seemed like I would never do my part of our review swap, and I am SO sorry I'm so late. Real life attacked me ; ) But it's all good now and I saw that you had a story set in Mexico and Kaitlin. Kaitlin YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW EXCITED I AM!!! No one ever does seems to do anything outside Europe, like you said. I've thought about doing something set in Mexico before but never got a good enough idea, and I just cannot possibly express how eager I am to read more of this please tell me you're planning on writing more!

Latina MC woohoo!!!

Oh my gosh I cannot tell you how hungry you made me with that mole reference. I love that you mentioned how diverse mole is, and how it changes regionally and in individual family recipes. I haven't been to Mexico (yet!), but I just earned my degree in Latin American Studies and Mexico was one of the countries I focused on. My favorite professor went positively into raptures sometimes over Oaxacan cuisine, so even hearing it mentioned makes me ravenous.

As always, you really know how to set a scene. I feel very immersed in the fields right there in the beginning, with the weather rolling in...*sigh* It sounds so beautiful.

I love the way you describe the smell of cattle--you're so right. It's not exactly unpleasant (at least not once you're used to it). It's earthy. You nailed it. You have such a way of painting the scene--you always have us seeing it and feeling it and smelling it, and I love that.

Initially, I wondered about the beginning. You know how usually we're advised to have very dramatic, attention-grabbing beginnings to stories. But the way it started out, peaceful and gentle, juxtaposed against the chaos of the ending worked nicely. It sets up the fact that Isabella's life seems pretty peaceful, and then, magic (presumably)...so i think it was a good choice.

My main CC would be to be careful to avoid using "I [verb]" too much in the same paragraph--"I find my horse frolicking in the rain and pull him hurriedly inside the barn. I take his saddle and bridle off. I curry comb his hair and comb his mane before wrapping him in a blanket." Admittedly, that's a difficult trap to avoid in the first person, present tense, but I thought I'd throw it out there because it's a good thing to watch for.

The other thing is that "mama" y "papa" should be "mamá" and "papá", and pastelería should have an accent, too. I don't know what kind of computer you have, but on mine acute accents are pretty easy. All I have to do is press ALT and "e" at the same time, and then press the letter I want to be accented. That's might be a little nitpicky, but I thought it might be a useful tip if you're planning to include much Spanish.

Are you planning on creating a Mexican magic school?! I am so excited! That could be so awesome! I just have so many questions that I cannot wait to see answered!

Planning on reading more of this! (I'd want to anyway, but I also feel I owe you for how abominably late this review is. Hope you've been well!

--Penny

Author's Response: Hey Penny!

No worries on the timing. I totally understand how RL can get in the way.

I'm so glad that you're as excited about a story set in Mexico as I am. I absolutely love Mexican culture and am thrilled to explore it as this progresses.

I do love my description. I try really hard to find ways to describe things besides just sight, so I had a blast talking about the cattle and the smell.

I was a little nervous about having such a mellow beginning if I'm honest, so I'm glad that you mentioned the juxtaposition against the chaos at the end. *sigh of relief*

Thank you for pointing out the overuse of the I at the beginning of sentences. It's something I'll have to pay careful attention to as I continue the chapters.

I've fixed the accents on this. For whatever reason, there's no easy way to do it on my computer, but I'm working on having it all proper in the chapters to come.

There will indeed be a Magical school in Mexico and this will delve really deeply into the history of magic in Mexico.

I hope you enjoy the rest!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #10, by Gabriella Hunter A Midnight Surprise

7th June 2015:
HellO!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review and I'm so sorry for the lateness. I sadly thought that Chinese food would sit well on my stomach and I learned the hard way that things don't work out for greedy people. Hahahah.

Anyway, back to this! I was patiently waiting for you to bring me another chapter to read and I'm very fascinated by this world that you've set up, it feels very real. I like the history that you've given us about Juan's past and the fact that magic runs through his family, though it seems more like a curse to him. I was worried at first that he would be too angry with Marisol to listen to anything that she had to say and I was relieved that he gave her a chance to speak, even if it was only for a moment.

The fact that Juan kept this from Isabella and the others makes his story all the more sad. He was so traumatized by losing his sister and filled with so much guilt that he never tried to expand on his magical abilities and I think that's pretty sad. It reminded me a lot of Dumbeldore and I could understand why he wouldn't want Isabella to explore that side of herself.

There's no telling what could happen in the end but I think Isabella is braver than he gives her credit for. I'm sure that things won't be easy and I do wonder what will happen to her parents and siblings while she's gone. Will her mother forgive Juan for lying after all this time? How will Isabella react to being away from her home for the first time?

Marisol kind of gives me the creeps though and I'm not sure if she's going to be an asset or a villain. I'm curious to find out though and I really, really love the universe that you've created, it's very original! :D

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!

I'm so happy to hear that you think the world I've created here seems real. Juan has had an unusual experience for sure, and I think it will affect his judgment of his daughter's magical abilities down the road, but for now he doesn't have much choice.

I'm glad you picked up on the parallels to Dumbledore.

A lot of those questions will be answered in upcoming chapters, although I'm unfortunately dreadfully slow at updating.

Marisol is a sort of somewhere in between character. While I don't think she's necessarily evil, I don't know that she'll ever be likable.

Thanks for the review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #11, by alicia and anne Thirteen Candles

6th June 2015:
Heya! I am finally here! ( I had to stop and make dinner first)

This chapter starts off great, with amazing descriptions of the beautiful scenery. I can imagine myself there, can imagine the smell and feel of the summer air. It's making me feel peaceful. I love it.

I love how this chapter is different from anything else I've read. Not only the age of the main character, but also the fact that she's on a farm, that she's talking about cows, her horse and the grass. It's lovely seeing the magical world from a different part of the world, to see how different things are for them. I especially loved the descriptions of the food, and all of those different herbs and spices.

The background information flowed so well into the chapter, weaving a beautiful start to the story.

And that ending! That was so unexpected! Just... oh wow! What on earth is that crazy lady doing? And I'm worried about just how unlucky this thirteenth year is going to be! I really need to read more!

This was such a delight to read, and you have such a beautiful way with your descriptions.

Keep up the amazing work!

Tammi
xx

Author's Response: Hey Tammi!

No worries. Food is important.

I'm glad you like the imagery. I always work hard at description.

I really tried to differentiate Isabella's story from anything else on HPFF. I love Mexican culture, so I really wanted that to show here. The food is always my favorite thing to describe.

The crazy lady will be a sort of nod to Hagrid in the beginning, but she will develop into her own person later on.

I'm so glad you've enjoyed this. Thank you for the lovely review.

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #12, by Dojh167 A Midnight Surprise

4th June 2015:
Hello, congrats on getting chapter 2 posted!

I read this earlier today on my cell phone, so my review won't be as thorough (or as nit-picky) as normal. Here are my general thoughts =)

I really like the ways that this parallels Harry finding out that he was a wizard. Because you don't have shared characters or locations with the books and the first chapter didn't include any magic, it really helped to have that connection to the familiarity that you created through elements such as the door breaking down, a strange figure, and hostile parental figures.

I'm really curious why Isabella hasn't demonstrated any magical ability. Is it known whether her sibling are magical?

I thought you did a good job with Rosa's reaction. It seems really genuine and natural. It would be hard enough to find out that your husband kept the secret of him magic for so many years, but even worse on top of the fact that she was being told her children would be taken away because of it.

I like the glimpses we see of Isabella's character. She takes care of and protects her siblings, even when something so serious about her future is being discussed. She speaks up for herself even when others don't think to ask.

I generally felt that your dialogue was pretty detached. Much of it had an expositional tone to it, and I don't just mean Juan Carlos telling his story (that felt fine, because it was meant to be expositional). When the adult characters spoke I couldn't really pick up a feel of their character. The old woman in particular, who is described as eccentric looking, speaks in such a straightforward way that I don't feel like I am seeing her character. If that discongruity is something you were aiming at for her, you may want to highlight it a bit more. Still, I had the same reaction to much of the father's dialogue. He just didn't seem truly present to me. I'm not sure how to give more constructive advice on this - you may want to look specifically at dialogue help topic to explore this. My thought is that things tend to get too wordy and formal sounding.

I think it might be helpful if you put the translated words at the top of the chapter, so that the reader can be familiar with them at the start and not have to scroll back and forth.

(Okay, so that ended up being a decently lengthed review after all)

I'm excited to see this story continue to develop!

Author's Response: Hey Sam!

There definitely will be some parallels to the HP world and it is exactly for the reason you pointed out. Since I'm creating an entire world, I wanted there to be little nods and winks that were familiar.

More will be said about Isabella's magical powers and her siblings as the story progresses.

I'm glad that Rosa felt natural to you. I didn't want her to be overly dramatic, just a normal, frustrated reaction.

Isabella is very independent and even keeled. You'll see more of that as the story continues.

I appreciate the feedback on the dialogue feeling a bit detached. I'll give it a read through and see how I can fix it up a bit. That being said, I do imagine some of it being a bit different because it's all seen through Isabella's eyes.

I can't tell you how many different suggestions I've had on what to do with the translations. I've tried my best to use them sparingly and keep them with in a context that makes them fairly obvious, but I will continue to tweak and adjust to make them easier to understand. I guess I take for granted living in an area where Spanish is incredibly common. :D

Thanks so much for the lovely and helpful review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #13, by Claire Evergreen A Midnight Surprise

3rd June 2015:
Hey, Kaitlin! Here for the swap :)

When I saw that you had another chapter up, I got so excited! There's only been one chapter so far, but I already love the characters and this is such a new and fun take on the magical world.

I would definitely not be as calm as Isabella was if someone broke down the door to my house and asked to speak to me. But Isabella seems like the kind of person who goes with the flow and doesn't let much bother her. Her reactions to everything seem (at least to me) perfectly in line with what a thirteen year old would do, especially that part at the end where she wanted to see Doña Marisol perform magic.

Her father's backstory had me almost in tears. That's such an awful thing to have happen to someone at such a young age. I don't blame him one bit for abandoning the magical world after that. It was probably a relief to him that his children never showed any signs of magic. You wrote his reaction wonderfully and I could feel how much it pained him to have Isabella decide to go to the school.

I know I've said this about a hundred times already, but seeing the magical world from a non-European perspective is just so interesting. I love all of the differences that you've thrown in so far and I cannot wait to see what you do with the school itself! I love this story already and can't wait to read more!

Claire

Author's Response: Hey Claire!

I'm so happy to hear that you are enjoying Isabella's story so far. I hope to make it quite different from JKR's magic world.

Isabella is pretty mellow and I think she has a feeling that something is coming before this happens. I'm glad you thought she matched a 13 year old.

Her father's story is really tragic and it shapes a lot of the story. I don't want to give too much away, but there will be more explanation about why the children never showed any signs of magic.

Yay! I was nervous about making a magic world so drastically different, so I'm really happy that you like it!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #14, by kenpo A Midnight Surprise

3rd June 2015:
Hey! I love love loved the first chapter of this, and I'm excited to be back for more!

I don't know if I mentioned it in the last review, but the situation reminds me (in a good way) of Hagrid breaking into Harry's.

I'm halfway through reading this, and I have a small suggestion. I lose focus really easily, so scrolling down to see translations is jarring. Maybe you could put it in italics after the paragraph it occurs in? So it feels more like a footnote in a book rather than needing to scroll? It really shouldn't be a problem, especially because the words you're using can be figured out through context clues... I'm just bad at keeping focused. (Like right now, ranting about this).

GAHADLKFJ This chapter was so good. This story is awesome, please PLEASE keep writing it! I need more! I have so many questions and random comments, so I'm sorry that this review is just going to be a jumbled, excited mess.

Okay so first, is it Mexican Muggle or Magical Law that says she has to go away to school? That's so harsh, but it makes sense for magical people to be required to be trained.

I feel so bad for her father! First he has to deal with all of this, then his wife is so upset with him (I mean I do totally understand why she's upset...). And what happened to him and his sister was just heartbreaking :(

He still should've said something, though. Especially because he knew that it was going to happen. That kinda sucks that he did that. Hmph. But at the same time, I understand why it would be so hard for him.

I saw more similarities to Harry's situaations over the course of the chapter, although there were obvious differences. At first, her father reminded me of Mr. Dursley, yelling for Hagrid to not tell Harry anything about his magic.

Kaitlin, I'm seriously so excited about this story. You need to keep writing it! I want to see what this magical school is like, and if she'll get special treatment because of her ancestry. I also hope that her family can stay solid... she'll need her parents' support during what I assume will be a really crazy year for her.

This was fantastic!

-Georgia

Author's Response: Hey Georgia!

This situation does parallel Hagrid quite a bit and that is somewhat intentional.

It's tough with the translations because everyone has a preferred method. I do try really hard to include Spanish words that are easy to understand by context, so hopefully that will help as the story progresses.

Mexican Magical law. They believe it dangerous to allow wizards to have unchecked powers and abilities.

The situation with his sister is heartbreaking, but I do understand where his wife is coming from. I feel like that might be something important to share.

I didn't mean for her father to come off like Mr. Dursley and I hope once you found out why he was upset, that changed a bit.

I'm so happy that you're excited about this story. I am too. It's one of my favorites. Unfortunately, I'm a dreadfully slow updater when it comes to WIPs, so I apologize in advance for that.

Thank you so much for all of your kind words.

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #15, by SunshineDaisies Thirteen Candles

3rd June 2015:
Hello there! Here for the swap!

I've been meaning to read this since you told me about it. I'm pretty sure I have the first chapter saved somewhere. I'm so disappointed I didn't get to it until now! I knew right away that this would be full of beautiful images and would spin a really beautiful story. I was proven right!

I'm so excited to read about magic in Mexico! You're right, magic in other countries is hardly ever written about, and all of the stories I've seen have been about South Asia. Which is FANTASTIC, but something different is always nice. Plus, I'm more connected to Mexico than I am South Asia. I don't live anywhere near the boarder (anywhere near the Mexico/US boarder) but my hometown has a pretty significant latinx population, and most of that consists of immigrants from Mexico. There's been a pretty big push from that community to celebrate the culture more, so I've gotten to see quite a bit of the culture. I'm so excited to see how you incorporate magic into it!

Now that I've rambled I'll actually talk about the story!

As I mentioned earlier, the images in this are STUNNING. I'm always impressed by them. (Which is why I mention them in every review I leave you.) I'm pretty sure I could leave you 6000 characters just about how you use all five senses to create such vivid images and how the description of the storm was just BEAUTIFUL and the scene where her skirt flies up is gorgeous and all of it was just so wonderful.

I think this was a great set up to the story. You gave us a typical day in Isabella's world (assuming her name is Isabella), with just a few hints of something stirring, and then THAT ABSOLUTE PROOF THAT SOMETHING IS STIRRING. It was an excellent way to gold a reader's attention. The beginning kept me enthralled with the images, the ending hooked me on the plot.

I'm so excited to see what's coming next. Who is the crazy old lady? Why is she there? I have some suspicions, obviously, but I have no idea how they're going to play out.

I think it's interesting you've chosen to start on the eve of her thirteenth birthday rather than the fifteenth, as that one tends to be more important. But I suppose that the scale of hosting a Quinceanera is probably enough reason to not start at magic school that year.

So overall a FANTASTIC start, and I'm really excited to read more!

Author's Response: Hey Katie,

Yay! I'm so glad you've finally made it here.

Mexican culture is one of my absolute favorite cultures and I grew up heavily immersed in it, so I knew I had to write something to represent it.

I'm glad that you always comment on the description because that's my favorite part too! I always try to work hard to make my stories a sensory experience, so I'm happy that you appreciate it.

What a relief. I was worried that spending almost an entire chapter on Isabella's daily life might be too boring for a first chapter.

The crazy old lady will have a few parallels to HP cannon, but she will also be a bit unique to this story as well.

Ah! The quinciñera is a very important point in Mexican culture, but in my mind it made more sense to have her start school at 13. That's closer to in line with the Mexican school system.

Thank you so much for all of your kind words!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #16, by Shadowkat A Midnight Surprise

3rd June 2015:
Finally here for the swap, and actually functioning enough to think straight.

I applaud you for keeping this so original, yet clearly still within the potterverse. It really makes for an interesting read.

Marisol seems like others have said, a mixture between Dumbledore and Hagrid with personality. Also like Hagrid, she seems to like a dramatic, door braking entrance! XD

I also like how you included the religious aspect and the background of her dad, which adds to the story a bit. Isabella probably wouldn't use accidental magic much, but I think she would once or twice.

The only problem I can see it that this chapter seemed to rush a bit, like it was trying to fit in too much information. Other than that it's good.

Thanks for the swap!

Author's Response: Hi Kat!

Thanks for the review swap!

I'm glad that you like my little world that I'm creating here. I'm really enjoying expanding the potterverse into different cultures.

It's interesting to see the speculation on what role different characters will play or what will happen. I will say there are a few things that seem purposefully similar at times, but will branch into something unique at other times.

Religion is a very important thing in Mexico, so I felt like it wouldn't be appropriate for me to skip it over.

In regards to accidental magic, Isabella hasn't experienced any that she knows of, but you may or may not find out why as the story progresses.

Thanks for pointing out that it seemed rushed. I did try to fit in a ton of information without making this a huge chapter. I will go through and re-read it to see if I can slow the transitions a bit.

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #17, by Roisin A Midnight Surprise

3rd June 2015:
Hello, back for chapter 2!

Ah this story continues to be so interesting! I love the way you work Mexican culture and history into the local wizarding world--very creative and believable. And then there are these little nods to canon. Marisol seems to be a kind of Hagrid-meets-Dumbledore figure, and I really enjoy her.

And wow, Isabella's backstory is so fascinating! I love how you tied in history here. But :( her dad! Very interesting, but very sad indeed.

The stuff with her mom was also super interesting. I'm glad you tied in the religion aspect/fear of the devil, since Mexico is so religious. Will you be tying in much Santaria??? I hope so! I don't know a huge amount about Santeria, but it has a lot of the same roots as Vodou and Hoodoo (which my father practices) so much of it is recognizable to me.

All in all, you're doing an excellent job imagining magic within the Mexican context, and it continues to fascinate. I can't wait to see Wizarding Mexico City!

xoxo
Roisin
[For the RvG review battle--Go Gold!]

Author's Response: Hi Roisin,

Erm...I think you mean Go Team Red! :D

I'm happy that you like my twist on magic in Mexico. You are right that there are occasional nods to HP, but I really wanted to try not to make it a carbon copy since Mexico is so vastly different from the UK.

I'm still working out exactly how I want the backstory to go, but I felt like her father's story is going to be a driving force in this.

I feel like the religious aspect had to be brought up because most Mexicans are very religious and there is a huge Catholic population there. I'm not sure how much I will discuss Santeria, but there will probably be some passing references. (That's cool that your father does it!)

I'm so incredibly excited to write about Mexico City, particularly through the eyes of a 13 year old girl who's never been to a big city before!

Thanks for the review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #18, by apondinabluebox Thirteen Candles

2nd June 2015:
Hi Kaitlin! Here for our review swap!

So I saw this and immediately, I wanted to read this. I absolutely love the idea of expanding upon JK's world, and Mexico was such an unusual place to write about that I just couldn't not read this.

Your descriptions of Isabella riding out with the cattle are immensely absorbing. You write about her surroundings beautifully, so that I as a reader can easily picture the scene in my mind's eye but at the same time, it's clearly a child's narrative with all the distractions that appear, like thinking about the story behind the skirt when the wind blows it up instead of rushing to push it back down.

It's intriguing how the unlucky thirteen holds so much significance here, with the crazy old woman placing so much emphasis on it. I can't help, with her smashing the door down, drawing parallels between her and Hagrid, but at the same time the fact she was already in Isabella's life before then is reminiscent of Mrs Figg, so she's like a combination of those two characters. As there's no magic mentioned here yet, I'm presuming that Isabella is a Muggle-born and the witch is bringing news of the magical world and her initiation into it.

I noticed a missing comma in this sentence: "Lo siento, mama*" I return. It's not a major thing, but your writing is of such good quality that in my opinion, it would be a shame to let small typos detract from it. While I'm on the topic, the asterisks tended to trip me up while I was reading. I would recommend removing them, as the translations at the bottom of the chapter are perfectly fine, but if you want to highlight the Spanish words you could put them in italics. A lot of writers do that, and it helps to convey that the words are deliberately foreign without interrupting the flow of the chapter.

Overall, you've created a beautiful setting with an intriguing plot beginning and an interesting protagonist; all combining to make a fantastic beginning to your story. I would be happy to swap again, if you'd like to! Honestly, this is fabulous!



Author's Response: Hi Isobel,

I'm glad you love the idea of expanding to other regions of the world. I do too and I was really excited to start with Mexico, a place that I love very dearly.

Description is absolutely my favorite part of any story. I want to be able to envision anything that I read, so I push myself really hard to write very vivid description in my stories. I'm glad that it worked out and that it managed to hold a bit of that youthful sound.

Thanks for pointing out the comma. I'm the worst with them, but I'm hopefully starting to figure them out. :D

I actually already went ahead and removed the asteriks as several people mentioned it feeling a bit odd. Thanks for the suggestions!

I'm so glad you enjoyed the start of this! I'd love to swap again too!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #19, by cherry_pop94 A Midnight Surprise

1st June 2015:
Hi there Kaitlin!

This was another really lovely chapter! I adore Marisol. She seems like such a kind old lady, so full of wisdom and understanding. Something between Dumbledore and Hagrid I think.

The history of Isabella's family, all the way back to the Aztec warriors is quite fascinating. She comes from a very ancient line of magic and I feel that this will definitely come into play later in the story. Her father is also an excellent character here. His fear of magic seems so realistic. It inadvertently got his sister killed, though through no fault of his own. It's completely understandable that he'd be afraid for his daughter now.

The mother's reaction is well done as well. That she would consider magic from the devil is perfect considering how religious she must be. And hearing that her daughter will go away to school in Mexico City? It must be difficult for any parent, especially with all that Rosa's discovered. I'm quite excited to read more about this mix of religion and magic as well. Mexico is quite religious and it seems that Isabella's family is too, so this could have some very interesting results.

Anyway, I cannot wait to read more of this and see what the school in Mexico City is like! Plus, I feel like a get a lesson in Mexican culture every chapter of this I read!

Thanks for sharing!

-Stefi

Author's Response: Hey Stefi!

Ahh. Marisol is something of an enigma at this point. She will take something of a similar role to Hagrid for now, but that may shift as the story continues.

The line of magic back to the Aztecs will definitely come into play down the road. I really want to delve into the roots of Mexican culture, so there will be a lot of focus on that.

I'm glad you liked her father. I wanted his story to be a slight nod to Dumbledore, but not a carbon copy.

You've hit the nail on the head. Mexico in general is a very religious country, with a large majority of Catholics. Something like this happening could easily be written off as devilry, particularly in rural regions.

That is such an amazing compliment! Whenever I write a different culture, I try my best to keep it as authentic as possible, so I'm glad you feel like you're learning some. :D

Thanks for reading!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #20, by Claire Evergreen Thirteen Candles

22nd May 2015:
Hey, Kaitlin! Here for our swap :) Sorry it took me so long to get to this, my summer turned out to be much busier than I originally anticipated.

I love the setting in this! It sounds absolutely gorgeous, I wish I could see it in real life. Of course, the wonderful descriptions that you give re more than enough to paint a picture of everything that Isabella sees and hears and smells around her. I love that you use smell so much in this! I know that we mainly use our sight, but I feel like smell is a really underused and you did a fantastic job of including it.

Isabella is going to be a really interesting narrator. You did a great job of making her sound like she'a 13, which is not easy. She has the really innocent air about her like a lot of kids have when they're that young, like when she got distracted by her skirt or her fascination with her mother's mole. I love that you put little details like that in there, it really makes her seem real.

Oh that ending! This is a perfect setup for the rest of the story! It's going to be so interesting seeing wizardry outside of Europe, especially since you've already thrown in a few differences. I'm really glad that you chose to write about Isabella and her story!

Fantastic job, I can't wait to read more!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hey Claire,

I'm so happy that you liked the description. I really want this story to be very sensory based because Mexico is so vibrant and I feel like I have to make it come to life. I always enjoy using smell and taste because I rely on them so much in my life.

Isabella definitely is innocent at this point, but she's also very perceptive. Her life is about to change drastically and she will grow because of it. I will try to keep a bit of that innocent 13 year old through this.

The magic world that I imagine in Mexico is going to be quite different from the world we're all so familiar with.

Thanks so much for this lovely review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #21, by kenpo Thirteen Candles

21st May 2015:
Hey! I decided to read this story because I didn't think I'd ever read a story about magical Mexico, and I always like seeing different authors takes on combining magic with different cultures. It's awesome that you're making a strong effort to write the story as authentically as possible, especially because this is for the diversity challenge.

(Also, tres leches cake sounds amazing right now.)

I really liked the intro, and the way you sort of... how do I say this? You used description, but sort of did it through her actions. Does that make sense? I didn't feel like I was just sitting through description. You added movement to the description. I especially liked "I can smell the cows before I see them". I used to work at a barn, so I totally get what you mean about the smell not being bad exactly, but... yeah, you know when you're approaching.

Was the sort of parallel with Hagrid knocking down the front door intentional? I liked it a lot! I'm really curious to see how this all will work, and how magic will be learned outside of Europe.

I'm having to really look to find any CC... it was a nice and polished chapter. There times when it started to get a little repetitive with sentence structure, but for the most part you did a good job varying it. Other than that... I thoroughly enjoyed this, and I hope you continue to update!

Thanks for the swap!

-Georgia

Author's Response: Hi Georgia,

I'm so happy that you stopped to read this story. Isabella is one of my favorites. I too had never seen a story in Mexico, so I thought why not.

Tres Leches cake is indeed delicious. :D

I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed the description. When I originally wrote this, I was worried it would be too slow with the amount of description.

The Hagrid parallel was intentional. I wanted to have a few nods to the magic world that would be recognizable.

I do struggle with repeating on occasion...especially in first person. I just get so wrapped up in the experience that I lose focus on the actual writing at moments. :D

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #22, by Gabriella Hunter Thirteen Candles

21st May 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and you're my second official review! It's really good to be back!

I think that this is a really unique way to begin a story, I've never read anything like it until now. I really enjoyed the way you described her surroundings, it painted a bigger picture of her world and felt very authentic. I could see it clearly in my mind and even smell the earthiness around her, which is great! You don't get many stories like that and it's good to see it in an opening chapter like this.

I also do REALLY love the aspects of her culture that you've gotten into this chapter. You're not quite sure where she is when you first start reading but after a while, her world and heritage broaden out enough for you to get a clearer understanding. It's so refreshing to have a little diversity in the fanfic world and I have to say that you wrote it well! Now, everyone knows that turning thirteen is no easy thing for a teen but why is it bad luck in her family? Is it merely teasing? Is it true? Are they cursed? I'm really curious to find out because that ending had my jaw dropping a little bit. Who is this old woman and what could she possibly want?!

As for your concerns, I think that this has a nice flow and is interesting enough to keep me reading. I think some people might want a little more from it, since it is an introductory piece (More dialogue and characters) but I like that you didn't dish everything out here. We still have plenty of time to get to know your main character and I'm looking forward to seeing what you do next.

Great job!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey Gabbie!

Welcome back!

I'm so happy that the descriptive start worked out. I definitely want this to be a unique story.

Ahh. I had worried that it might be hard for some people to figure out where Isabella was growing up. I'm glad that as the chapter progressed it started to come to life more.

Thirteen being unlucky is sort of subjective. And the old lady is sort of a nod to Hagrid. :D

There will be a lot more coming in future chapters. You hit the nail on the head about this sort of just being introductory. It's meant to set the scene.

Thank you for such a lovely review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #23, by Castiel Thirteen Candles

20th May 2015:
Hello, finally here for the swap with Lotte! I'm not sure if you're a fan of Supernatural so I won't be doing this review in character.

You do an excellent job of creating an atmosphere in the beginning of this story. The descriptions are especially lush and full of detail. I especially enjoyed the really specific observations you made, like the earthy smell of the cattle. I noticed one typo, ("team" instead of "teem"), and a lot of beginning sentences with adverbs+comma ("Carefully," "Cautiously," etc)--which is something to keep an eye out for (I myself have a habit of using hyphenated adjectives, and I've been trying not to overuse it).

I'm really excited to see a story set in Central America, which I've never seen before. I can't wait to see how you conceptualize of the magical world within the Latin American context. In canon, the wizarding world comes a lot out of British and European mythology, history, and culture and international magical cultures has always been an interesting idea to me. It's clear you have a lot of knowledge about Mexican culture, so I'm excited to see what you do with all this. For your use of Spanish words, the typical convention in creative prose is to italicize (/tres leches/). And I'd argue that you don't even really need the translations at the end, but then again, I already know what "molcajete" and "mole" mean, and some other readers might want translations.

I really like the way that you use the Old Lady in a Hagrid-esque way as a familiar thread to run through this brand new world you've created.

Definitely excited to see where all this goes! Can't wait for an update :)

Thank you for the swap!

Author's Response: Hello Castiel,

I've never seen supernatural. I'm sorry to say so.

This story is going to be all about description, so I'm thrilled that you like it so far. I will definitely keep an eye out for that. I'm working on trying to vary things more.

I had never seen a fic set in South America either, which is really why I started writing this. I have a deep love affair with Mexico and I really wanted it to show through with this.

Since I speak Spanish/grew up in an area where Spanish words are regularly used, words like molcajete and mole need no translation, but I figured that someone in the UK or in the midwest, etc. might not have quite the same references to Mexican culture.

There will be a few small nods to Harry Potter in this, like the Hagrid-esque old lady, but it will also explore new versions of magic and will go into a lot of cultural history of Mexico.

Thanks so much for this lovely review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #24, by nott theodore Thirteen Candles

19th May 2015:
Hi again, Kaitlin! Stopping by to leave another review for the Red vs. Gold Review Battle!

You probably know by now that I love languages, travelling and learning about new cultures, so I really couldn't resist this story when I saw it at the top of your author's page. I don't know nearly enough about Mexico (although it's on my countries to visit list) and its culture, so I couldn't wait to see how you incorporated your own knowledge of the culture and language into a story set there! And you're right in your author's note - I've not seen any stories set in Mexico before either, so I'm really intrigued by how you'll develop this one!

The description at the beginning of this chapter was really beautiful. You did such a fantastic job of setting the scene and really making us feel like we're there in the fields with Isabella, surrounded by nature and completely immersed in a different lifestyle (from the one that I live, anyway). Mexico already sounds like an amazing country (one of my best friends is from there, I can't not like the sound of it :P) and then your descriptions here are just breath-taking. The colours and the detail that you wrote about the nature there have me wanting to visit the country even more - I just can't afford it yet!

I really enjoyed the way that you segued from the descriptions of the scenery into introducing little details about the character's life and lifestyle, so that we got to know more about her without being overloaded with information. Especially since this is a first chapter and in a setting that's completely different to the books, it's important that we get that sort of information but it's really nice not to have it dumped on us. I think the fact that she's used to a life of farming and further away from the city are going to be important in the future of the story, but it's also nice to know more about the protagonist's background as we're just being introduced to her.

Another thing I think you did well was capturing Isabella's voice; it isn't easy to write from the perspective of someone who's twelve/thirteen, especially in first person. There's probably more description in this than you'd find in most narratives from someone this age, but Isabella sounds like a really observant girl and you're doing a good job of slowly building up her character by including little details about her and things that she does.

The food. I don't know much about Mexican food (I'm very aware that anything that's been exported to Europe is probably an American version which is nothing like the real thing) but here it sounded delicious, and it was great that you included all the food according to the region and the occasion. Basically you just made me hungry again :P

(Also the Spanish words = love. But I'm not going to go on too much about that because I could fill the rest of the review with it. I just really like little details like that which add to the authenticity of a story like this one.)

I'm really intrigued about Isabella turning thirteen and what that's going to mean for her and her family. I'm so curious about the old woman who told her that thirteen could be an unlucky number - it sounds like she's trying to scare her, but then why is she arriving at her door on her thirteenth birthday? My first theory was that in Mexico, witches and wizards begin to receive their magical education at the age of thirteen, and that's why it was so important, but I'm not completely sure, and I'm very intrigued about this old lady's appearance.

This was a really great first chapter, and I'm so intrigued to see what's going to happen next in the story!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hi Sian!

Thanks for dropping by! I always look forward to your reviews because they are so detailed and thoughtful.

You and I are very much alike in that sense. I love language, travel, and culture as well, and because I love Mexican culture so much, I really had to write this story.

Mexico is certainly a beautiful place. The climate is very diverse. You have forests, deserts, beaches, tropics, and mountains. I'm so happy that the beauty of the specific region I was talking about came through.

Her lifestyle will definitely affect the story. She's going to experience quite a bit of culture shock as the story progresses.

I definitely think Isabella is a bit more mature than the normal 13 year old, mainly because she grew up on a ranch caring for animals and her younger siblings. Truthfully, girls in rural farming towns in Mexico tend to grow up at a lot younger age. Sometimes they're married and having families by 16.

Ahh. Food is always my favorite thing to describe. The dish I talked about in this chapter is a really traditional celebration dish and it's fantastically delicious.

I had to include some Spanish. I'm trying to only include things that make sense in the context so that people who don't speak Spanish understand it.

Your guess is correct about the value of thirteen. The crazy old lady is sort of a parallel to Hagrid.

Thanks so much for reading! I hope you'll get a chance to check out the chapters to come!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #25, by cherry_pop94 Thirteen Candles

18th May 2015:
Hi Kaitlin! Here for our review swap :)

First of all, I thought this was absolutely lovely! The language you used in the beginning to describe the valley, mountains, and cows was beautiful. I had a really clear picture of what that scene must have looked like in my head. I especially loved the bit with the rainbow skirt. It was so vivid and so fitting of the culture you're describing.

You've also done an impressive amount of research into this! I suppose you already knew a lot of this stuff from living by the border, but still, everything seems to accurate and real. I can really imagine what this part of the world must be like even though I've never been there. In fact, I feel more educated already. Throwing in the bits of Spanish is a really good choice also. I feel like it's difficult to write stories set in places that don't speak English because there's the question of how to constantly remind the reader that the characters speak a different language. Putting in fragments of Spanish definitely worked out there. I'm trying the same sort of idea for a fic that takes place in France.

You've also somehow made this feel so incredibly magical already and we haven't even started on the magical world of Mexico (I'm beyond excited to see what you've come up with for that, by the way). I think it's the sort of religious reverence the main character has for nature. The entire setting seems like a place that isn't quite real because it just seems too beautiful.

I assume that the crazy lady is here to tell the girl (Isabella?) that she's a witch? I felt a real parallel to how Hagrid came to Harry here. The arrival at midnight, knocking down the door, the rainy night, etc. It's quite an interesting choice also that you've chosen to make her a regular part of Isabella's life before too. And that she starts at 13, not 11. I'm excited to no more about these cultural differences and how Mexican magical society works.

I really don't have any criticisms for this. I thought it was absolutely wonderful and I'm so glad to have started reading this. I can't wait to see what's next for Isabella!

-Stefi

Author's Response: Hey Stefi!

Thanks for the swap!

I'm glad that the description worked for you. I always try really hard to make things vivid, but I'm always nervous it won't come out right.

So some of this did come from living on the border. I've grown up very immersed in the Mexican culture, but to describe this area specifically, I went to a lot of the cooks that work in my kitchen. Many of them are from Oaxaca, so they could fill me in on details more specific to that particular region. Mexico is so large and so diverse, so it was important to me to be as accurate as possible.

There is definitely magic to come and a lot of it will be specific to Mexico. There will be a bit of stuff that is familiar from HP, but I'm sort of doing things a bit on my own too.

The crazy lady is definitely a parallel to Hagrid and will be one of the more familiar parts of the story.

I'm so thrilled that you liked what I have here. I was nervous that maybe this would be too different from the normal.

Thanks for the lovely review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>