Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Last Time
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by EnigmaticEyes16 Don't Give In

28th June 2015:
Aww, this story was very sad to begin with. I hate to see Draco being so depressed and anxious, and I worry about what he's done to himself since the ward ended. I'm very intrigued with what he's had to go through though, not being allowed to apparate, being monitored when floos, having his wand taken from him as he's in the Ministry, people probably being very rude altogether at times even though you don't put that in here. No wonder he's so anxious and full of self-loathing. And he was so convinced when he entered the office to find Hermione Granger is the one interviewing him. Although, I'm glad she decided to give him a chance and agreed to hire him. I bet that really surprised him. And of course he can start tomorrow, what else is he going to do? As far as he's concerned he's doesn't think he has any other prospects. And I love that he tells he to call him Draco! Diehard Dramione fan right here. I wish there was a bit more to this story though. I'd love to see it continued.

You did a great job with this, Lottie!

xxNix

Slytherin, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #2, by kenpo Don't Give In

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw.

Aw, Hermione!

Wait, this was a story about Draco. My first reaction shouldn't be "awww, Hermione", but I'M SORRY I LOVE HERMIONE SO THAT TOTALLY IS MY FIRST REACTION. I also liked the rest of the story, too. I thought the way you showed Draco's new life, and his thought processes and his panic attacks was very real, and genuine.

This is such a flip for him... not being able to use his former main mode of transportation, not being able to make money... he's really just flipped completely in his situation, so it makes sense that a lot of his attitudes would change with him. Some things were recognizable though, which is important. Specifically, his attitude towards his Healer seemed to fit well into the Draco that we know from canon.

I'd like to see more of this, and his job working for Hermione. (o this is a prequel does that mean I can totally find more of this?!)

I really enjoyed this story, Draco is such an interesting character, and you did it well.

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #3, by bittersweetflames Don't Give In

28th June 2015:
Hi there. Since I am an absolute sucker for Draco stories, I could not help but read and review this story. I am glad I did. First off, I want to thank you for giving that little warning at the top... It certainly helped me in the mindset I had as I went forward to read this story. I certainly have an inkling as to what Draco is feeling although, of course, not the extent that he is. But I can recognise what he is feeling as I have felt it in myself a few times before. I know that sense of overwhelming panic. Those moments where you tell yourself that you are useless. It made me cry but not because I hated. No, rather, to the contrary. Because it made me feel again. And thank you for making me feel. I wanted, ever so much to comfort Draco. Tell him it'll be ok. But I don't need to, do I? Hermione did it. She gave him a chance. I am ever so glad that of all people it would be her who would because of all people, she would best understand that our past is not the only way we can see what our future would be like. It never defines us. At least, not completely. Thank you.

Carla
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #4, by maskedmuggle Don't Give In

27th June 2015:
Hey!

I really liked this - surprisingly I haven't read too many fics about Draco in the post-war period, but I thought the way you portrayed him here was so realistic. I find it really believable that he'd be a much more quieter/less confident type of person than before, and the panic attacks were another addition that made me think of war implications and how Draco has suffered since then. The idea of him in a muggle place made me a bit puzzled at first, but then you explained how nobody would recognise him there, which totally made sense, and was a smart idea on your part. I also thought it was great how Hermione was the one interviewing him - I could imagine her being in a place of power so soon after the war and doing useful things in the ministry already, and I also liked how you characterised her as being someone who was able to put the past behind her and offer Draco a job. The ending made me think that it was the start of something new (cliche) but it was a happy ending in a way, which I liked. Great plot idea and really well done in writing it!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #5, by DracoFerret11 Don't Give In

27th June 2015:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums, here to review for the House Cup 2015! Let's go over things:

Spelling: The only misspelling I noticed was where you wrote "deatheater" repeatedly, instead of "Death Eater."

Plot: I really liked this! I mean, I'm a huge Dramione fan, of course, but just the concept of this was really cool. I guess we don't think enough about PTSD after the war. Death Eaters would feel that as much as Order members, I would expect. Or, some of them at least. And it was interesting to see how that played out.

Characterization: I really liked the glimpse you gave us into Draco's life. His panic attacks felt very genuine, and his self-deprecating thoughts seemed authentic. I also loved how impartial Hermione was. She would definitely be that way, even if just to be professional. I liked that.

Interactions: I really loved the subtle details you mentioned about the different characters' postures and mannerisms throughout the story. I felt you showed a lot of internal emotions through their external actions. Really good job.

I think you really brought this story to life with the way you wrote it. I could feel Draco's paranoia and struggle, and I really felt that made this story a great read. I really enjoyed it. Good job!

Emily
House Cup 2015, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #6, by ButterflyWings Don't Give In

29th May 2015:
Hello Lottie! Your Spring secret santa here at last..
I love the details you put into this story and the approach to a postwar Draco. Even from the beginning it clear that this is not the same person we knew in the books. He's seen difficulty and hardship which has rattled his core. For some reason the visualization of colors and their meaning (plus the association with his mother) strike me as a form of escapism.
Revealing that Draco has been struggling with self harm was done with wonderful craftsmanship. I love the evocative language used when describing his self hate and even how the air feels against his skin. The casual mention of lifestyle restrictions (as well as being forced to live near muggles) is a great glimpse into the way wizarding society healed after the war. It reminds me of post world war reparations that were made.I feel a tiny bit sad that Draco is so scared of other people recognizing him and his role in the war.
This is perhaps a little sadistic but I'm glad that finances are a worry for Draco. I'm always bothered when the rich escape real consequences because they have money to burn. It was quite intense to read about his anxiety and the wait for help to kick in.
The way you wrote Draco coping with stress before his interview felt completely realistic. He did exactly what I would tell a friend to do when that overwhelmed. After all the build up with him just trying to get there, I'm impressed he had the courage to interview with Hermione. I am not surprised she offered him a job. She is incredibly fair.
I will have to check out the story that comes after this one!

Author's Response: Hi! Ahh you're just the sweetest themed reviewer ever ♡ I'm gonna keep you ;)

Thank you so much for your review and your comments. I may have been happy dancing because just THIS REVIEW. It is amazing, thank you. I don't know how to respond. I always find it ironic how difficult it is for me to find the words reply when the entire reason for me replying is because of words I've written.

That sounds weird.

I am weird.

Ignore me :P

I'm so pleased you liked it! Your point about escapism is a really good one. I hadn't thought about it that way, but it does work. I'm glad that you liked the finances problem. I figured that it would be unreasonable if the families who supported Voldemort were allowed to keep their riches and potential dark objects.

Thank you so much!

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #7, by MeXX Don't Give In

14th May 2015:
Nice! Hope the next chapters are up soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! This is actually a one shot, but I am planning to write a chapter end story that takes place between this and Fear :) thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Sarah Don't Give In

13th May 2015:
Just noticed it was a one shot. Lol well I liked it.

Author's Response: Haha, don't worry about it ;) I'm pleased you liked it. There is a sequel called Fear if you wished to read more of their story :) Thank you again for reviewing Sarah!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Sarah Don't Give In

13th May 2015:
Interesting start would like to see where this story goes

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login