Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Even Stars Die
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm Even Stars Die

1st June 2015:
Hey there! ♥ Sorry for only just getting to this, but thank you for entering my challenge!

I really love stories about Regulus! ♥ He’s one of my favourite characters for the reasons you explored in this story as he’s just so complex and there are so many layers too him, he can be read in so many ways which is what makes him so fascinating. Another reason why I love him is because of the connections to the stars and I really liked how you explored that!

Another thing I liked in this story was your writing style as it had this deep and solemn air to it meaning it worked perfectly for the challenge. It’s hard to describe it – like you description was lovely, but it had this measured tone to it too so it never appeared overtly happy and that tied really well into the overall story.

There were so many different elements to the story it worked so well. I really liked the first one which focused on Regulus growing up in the house of Black. You really got the gothic air the family has and how they’re all so dark and conniving. You really felt for Regulus then because it felt like he wanted to break away with Sirius too and find a better life, but because he was so loyal to his parents he stayed behind so they weren’t crushed entirely which is what makes the whole thing so saved as he could have been saved :(

Then I guess the next stage is the early Death Eater one which, again, I thought you handled really well. I thought you really developed Regulus’ emotions so they were the deep and complex ones you would it expect it to be and I could spend ages analysing them. But when Voldemort asked for Kreacher my heart broke a little as I knew what happened next.

I really loved the lake scene even if I do feel mean saying it, but it really gave you an opportunity to explore the ghosts of Regulus’ past and how they were still haunting him. I think the woman appearing was the most haunting part as she felt so her real, almost as if she had just died, and she really provoked powerful emotions. No, no, no, to the end though :( It was so sad to see Regulus struggle on in the end so it wasn’t even as if he had a respectful death and it just makes the whole thing even sadder.

A fabulously written and a very thought-provoking story! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana! Don't worry about the time it took you to review. I wasn't expecting a review until the deadline for the challenge passed at the earliest, so even getting it now was a nice surprise.

I'm glad you're a fan of Regulus! He was one of the major Marauder-era characters I hadn't touched on yet and he was just too perfect to pass up for a angst story.

Thank you for all your sweet comments. I really tried to keep the sombre, almost gothic tone from the beginning throughout so it's good to hear you think it came across well.

The ending is so sad, isn't it? I wish I could have made it end a different way, but poor Regulus just had to go like that. Thanks for taking the time to read it and leave such an in depth review. =) ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by JackRabbit Even Stars Die

30th May 2015:
I love this story, Regulus has always been one of my favourite characters. In the end he truly was as brave as Sirius and this story captures that perfectly. It's a shame that more people don't write about Regulus as anything more than Sirius' bratty younger brother because his story really is interesting and has such a sad ending.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like Regulus. I think, given how he died, he was just a boy who got in too deep trying to please his parents. Thanks for the review! =)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Felpata Lupin Even Stars Die

28th May 2015:
Hey, Rhaenyra!
Dropping a little, utterly late, happy anniversary review for you!

Oh, my... This was so sad... I knew from the beginning it would be, but I just couldn't resist... I feel like crying now...

I think you did a great job at capturing Regulus. You show him as a kid who simply tries to survive a difficult family by avoiding every contrasts and do as he's told. And later as a boy who is too young for all the expectations and responsibilities that are set on his shoulders.

It broke my heart when you talked about his first murder. It left a sense of dread in me that only grew the more I proceeded with the story.

The drinking of the potion was written brilliantly. The way each swallowed cup makes him always more weak, less self-conscious, more desperate... And then the vision of the Muggle woman... So terrible and perfect at the same time!

Amazing work (but remind me to take up something lighter next time...)
Lots of love,
Chiara

Author's Response: Thank you so much Chiara! ♥ I'm glad you liked my Regulus as a more sympathetic kind of person than somebody who was all-in on the Death Eater thing. Your comments have made me smile. And no worries about being a day late, it was sweet for you to think of me at all! Thanks so much! =)

 Report Review

Review #4, by TidalDragon Even Stars Die

18th May 2015:
Howdy! I apologize for this being so late, but life has been rough lately and I've been a little low as a result - a mood I don't like to R&R in.

At any rate, I thought this was a very interesting perspective on Regulus, from a time in his life that is obviously so important, but so few people seem to cover. I think it was definitely a believable portrayal - the idea of Regulus as inwardly objecting, yet dutiful and ultimately swayed by the abuse of Kreacher. It seems more realistic than the idea that he was SO close to Kreacher that the abuse alone would turn him.

As far as attention and interest, it did a good job of holding mine. If you're concerned that it doesn't, one thing I might recommend though is finding a way to be a bit more emotive throughout unless the absence of that is a deliberate choice. What I mean here is basically injecting stronger, more evocative language that brings Regulus's feelings more to life as there are points at present where it feels like they're being presented more than experienced to the fullest (a good example would be the bits surrounding Kreacher's return - we definitely get that he's very upset, but it's not as engrossing as it could be).

I didn't notice any glaring errors though, and overall thought it was a strong narrative - especially the ending, which had more impact and power in your descriptions than the rest of the piece.

Let me know which other story you'd like me to review as penance for my tardiness!

Author's Response: Thanks for stopping by to review. Don't worry about real life getting in the way, it happens to the best of us. You can read whatever you want for the second review. My last 10 stories are all from the last 3 months, so anything in that group would be lovely.

As for this review, I'm glad to hear you think Regulus was written in a believable way. I will re-read the story, especially the first half, and try to use more evocative language when editing it.

Thanks again for the lovely review. =)


 Report Review

Review #5, by TreacleTart Even Stars Die

5th May 2015:
Hello there!

I'm here for our review swap!

I can't say that I've ever read a story about Regulus Black before, so I was immediately drawn in by the new character aspect of it. Plus, his story is so interesting, but we know relatively little about it, so I really enjoy the idea of exploring it a bit more.

The look into Regulus' life at home was very insightful and really helped me get a grasp on why he did what he did. We all know that Sirius had it bad growing up, but to be quite honest it didn't seem like Regulus had it much better. I think the only real difference is that Sirius fought against the grain where as Regulus tried to comply to keep everyone happy. It really makes you wonder how both of them would've turned out had they not been from such a terrible family.

Now for a bit of constructive feedback, I'd really like to see a bit more description in this. You do a good job of letting us know what's happening, but in places I think you could do a bit more to really paint the complete picture. For example, at the lake, how does it smell? Is the air heavy and damp and oppressive? Does the lake gleam with an eerie color? Again, I think you did this successfully in parts, particularly when he's drinking the potion. I just think you could go even one step further.

All in all, I really enjoyed getting a detailed loo into Regulus Black. Oh, I forgot to mention that I really enjoyed the part at the beginning which talked about the different stars everyone was named after. It was a nice touch. Good work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hi Kaitlin, thanks for stopping by for our swap.

Like you, I wonder how the Black brothers would have turned out if they grew up in a better home. Would they have been more stable? What would their attitudes towards both the "dark" side and the "good" side have been? I feel like Regulus was not a bad person in general, given the fact that he was willing to sacrifice himself in hopes of making Voldemort mortal, which is why I took this in the direction I did.

Thanks for the constructive criticism. This is for a challenge (which I know you will be doing too, obviously! haha) so I want to make it the best it can be. I should have some free time this weekend so I'll go through it then and try to add more description and sensory details.

I'm glad you liked the part about the stars.

Thanks again for the review! =)


 Report Review

Review #6, by SunshineDaisies Even Stars Die

1st May 2015:
Hiya! Sorry this took a bit for me to get to, it's been a long few weeks.

I really enjoyed this! I don't read much about Regulus, so it's always enjoyable to see things from his perspective, and to see his redemption arc. You've laid out both very well here!

I think you've done an excellent job with his character. He really is a fascinating one to explore, because we know his story, but nothing else about him. I think he was largely as you've shown him here: a scared little boy who got in way over his head. And then, of course, he developed into an extraordinary man who tortured himself and died to try and make things right.

His friendship with Kreacher really got me. It goes to show just how far a little bit of kindness can go, doesn't it? And how lasting the effects of it can be.

I'm rambling a little, I'm sorry. It's been a very emotional day for me.

I think the effects of the potion were pretty incredible, actually. It's one of those things I think JKR left intentionally vague, but I think you've interpreted it very well! I think it's a really great combination of physical and mental torture. The woman he killed coming back was an exceptionally nice touch, I think.

It did a very good job of holding my interest! I would (as always) like to see a bit more action, but I also quite like the vibe the beginning has. So it works either way.

The biggest thing I wanted to comment on is the theme you have of stars, light and dark. The part about the stars in the beginning is absolutely beautiful, and I like how you carried it through and tied it together at the end. I want to suggest changing the word "fog" to "darkness" at least once or twice, as that makes the theme a little easier to catch, and I think that will make the story a bit more powerful.

(Ok and I totally just realized that this mirrors the death of a star so well. It's at it's brightest before it dies. I'm not sure if that was intentional but it is BRILLIANT.)

This was a really lovely read! I'm so glad you requested :) And I'm sorry again that this took so long!

Author's Response: Hi Katie. Thanks for taking the time to read this, even if it took a while (I know you've been busy!). I'm glad you liked the Regulus/Kreacher relationship. It's one that has interested me since DH but, like you, I don't read about him super regularly.

I love your suggestion about "fog" and "darkness" more at the end. I was a huge astronomy buff as a kid so maybe the part about stars being brightest stuck with me on a bit of a subconscious level when I was working on Regulus's redemption arc.

Thanks again for the lovely review! =)


 Report Review

Review #7, by cherry_pop94 Even Stars Die

30th April 2015:
Hi I'm here for the review tag!
I've never read a story about Regulus before so this really caught my attention. I've always thought his story was really interesting, so I'm not quite sure why I never read about him before. That being said, I'm really glad that this was my first!
I think the way you described his relationships with his family and Kreacher was very good. The Black family has such a complex dynamic with all that family honour and tradition. I imagine it must be so difficult to come from a family with a legacy like that and you've captured it so well!
I think this story was quite excellent, but in some parts could have used a little more description. You're a really great writer though and I'm so glad to have found your stories!
-Stefi

Author's Response: Hi Stefi, thanks for stopping by! I'm glad that you think I got the balance of the Black family right when they are such a mess. I will take your advice about description to heart in the future. Thanks again for reading! =)

 Report Review

Review #8, by MarieBlack Even Stars Die

20th April 2015:
I love this. Mostly because I have a deep love for Regulus among the untold stories in the Harry Potter series. But honestly, I love how he is written here. Brave in the end, but ultimately a puppet in the beginning. It is chilling his need for atonement and how he goes about it. I like the family complex and the push for him to do right, it's incredibly fitting to the Black family.

I really enjoyed this! Thanks so much for writing well about one of my favorite characters! :) xx

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to read this and leave the first review on it. =) I'm glad you enjoyed the portrayal of Regulus, especially because he is one of your favourite characters. I'm glad you liked his arc from being manipulated by his parents and striving to please them to struggling to redeem himself.

Thanks again for such a sweet review! =)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login