Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Just A Governess
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Diogenissa Just A Governess

3rd July 2015:
Good morning--I am here for our swap (sorry for it being a little late)!

I chose this one because well considering we're both 'Puffs, I seem to enjoy reading stories about our esteemed and most awesome Founder. I just love her!

This was a very beautiful piece exploring the friendship of two lovely ladies! I had no problems following along and the flow was natural. You covered I'd say very important chapters in their lives (although to be honest, it makes me curious about Ava's wedding and if Helga was there and her role. Heck being best friends, I'm surprised that she wasn't her Lady in Waiting--sorrynotsorry Greta!).

That was indeed a sad ending and leaves me to wonder what became of Helga afterward or is that explored in your novel? My heart went out to both her and those girls (as well as the King).

On a final note--I LOVE the name Lenora--was my late aunt/godmother's name so it has a special place for me. :)

Thank you for a lovely story as well as for the swap! I hope you enjoyed your review and let's do this again sometime if you'd like!

Karen xoxo

Author's Response: Hi Karen!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I really enjoyed writing Helga and Ava together, because I could draw from the friendships I have in my life while writing. I didn't want to make Helga Ava's lady in waiting because I don't think either of them could have taken it seriously. Haha.
The ending is sad, but in my novel you'll see what becomes of Helga and the girls a few years later.
I'm glad you liked Lenora's name! I think it's really beautiful, too.
Thank you so much for the review swap, Karen!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by alicia and anne Just A Governess

11th May 2015:
Heya! I'm here for the review swap! :D

Uh-oh this Greta is clearly jealous of Ava and Helga's friendship, I can totally tell by the glares that she's giving. She wants to be Ava's bestie!

I am absolutely loving Helga and Ava's friendship, I love how close they are and how they break the rules together. I hope that they stay friends forever and ever!

I still don't trust this Greta at all! She has something about her that makes me distrust her.

Awww yay! Ava is going to have a baby! I'm so happy! This is such an exciting time!

Four??! Wow Ava works fast! :P And yay Helga lives in the castle now! They can be together for always!

No!!! Ava can't be dead! :( I blame Greta for this! I don't know why, but I do! She's somehow involved even if she's not.

Such a wonderul and yet sad one shot! I'm so sad now, and still so suspicious of Greta just because she glared earlier. I need to read more of The Fourth Daughter to find out what happens after!

Amazing! :D

Author's Response: Hi Tammi!
Oh, Greta. She really doesn't seem like the nicest lady in the world, huh?
Helga and Ava's relationship was pulled straight from the relationships that I have with my best friends, so I loved writing them together.
Yay babies! And yes, she already has four daughters! But she has twelve by the end of the story, so four's nothing.
Writing Ava's death really broke my heart. I can't imaging losing my best friend, and felt so bad for doing that to poor Helga and all of Ava's daughters.
I'd love it if you checked out The Fourth Daughter! Thank you so much for your great review on this story!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Shadowkat Just A Governess

26th April 2015:
Oh my gosh I love this! I absolutely adore founder four Fanfics! I'm so happy you showed up, or I'd have never hav found this! I'll read the joined story tomorrow.

Author's Response: Hello!
Thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this! The novel that comes after this, which is called The Fourth Daughter, is about Ava's daughter, Desiya, and is based on the Twelve Dancing Princesses by the Brothers Grimm, if you decide to check that out. Thanks again!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by TreacleTart Just A Governess

21st April 2015:
Hi Cassie,

I'm here for our review swap! I'm sorry it took me forever, but life just kept getting in the way every time that I tried to sit down and read.

I will say straight away that I haven't read very many Founder's era fics, not because I dislike them. They just seem to be fairly rare. I'm actually pretty excited to see what you do with this.

The first thing I want to talk about is how you broke this into little mini-stories by differing the time periods. I really liked that. I thought it really helped to show the time progressing alongside their relationship. Keeping each individual section short also worked really well. It helped to keep the tone of someone recalling fond memories.

The friendship you've built between Ava and Helga is so endearing. You can really tell how much they care for each other. It's a rare thing to have a friend like that, so I think they're both very lucky.

I have a few small items of constructive criticism for you. I'm not sure if this is intentional or not, but the way that both Ava and Helga speak sounds very modern to me. Since this was supposed to be way back in the day, I would think their speech would sound a bit different.

Also, I noticed a few typos...
that the didn't notice – they
They had stood their in silence –there

All in all, I thought this was a nice snapshot into the life of Helga Hufflepuff and her beautiful frienaship with Ava.

Thanks for the swap!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hi Kaitlin!
I'm glad you liked the way I split this story up into little segments to cover a pretty long stretch of time. I was a little nervous about that, but people have said it worked well, which is really reassuring!
Ava and Helga's friendship is a really lovely thing to write. I love good, strong bonds between two women like that, where they are wholeheartedly supportive of each other.
The way they speak is very modern, but that is intentional. In The Fourth Daughter (the novel that this story is a prequel to), they also speak that way. It just made the characters more relatable when I was writing them, so I decided to stick with it.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Felpata Lupin Just A Governess

19th April 2015:
Hello Cassie.
I saw your request for feedback on this story on the forums, so here I am!

I really loved this, so cute! I think I would’ve liked it even more if I’d read “The Fourth Daughter” too. I might stop by there sooner or later…

Ava’s character is amazing. She’s a queen, but she acts like a simple and easygoing person. Not to mention her rebellious and mischievous traits. Absolutely adorable.
And absolutely adorable the two women’s friendship! In times like those I think that two people with such a different social status would be highly discouraged to frequent each other, still their bond is so profound and sincere, nearly as if they were sisters.

The funeral scene was so sad. And I loved the affection Helga shows for Ava’s daughters in there and how the young girls search confort in each other (by the way… Twelve daughters? I must admit that shocked me a bit.).

Good job, Cassie! Well done!
With love,
Chiara

Author's Response: Hi Chiara!
I'm so glad you liked Ava! I'd only written her daughters before, and so I'd only looked at her character through what they remember about her, so writing her in this story was really interesting for me. I'm so happy you liked her friendship with Helga, too! Their friendship is mentioned in the novel that follows this story, and is what inspired me to write this.
The funeral scene was sad for me to write. I can't imagine what it would be like to lose my best friend. And yes, she has twelve daughters! It's because the novel that follows this is based off of The Twelve Dancing Princesses by the Brothers Grimm.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Thank you so much for stopping by!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Flower n Prongs Just A Governess

19th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap. =)

I have not read many Founders era stories, I will admit, even though I have a history degree. This piqued my interest when you posted the link because, of the Founders fics I have looked at, most of them seem to be focused on the four founders as a group rather than individuals. This was a nice switch and helped to develop Helga's character so much because I could see her as a human with her own friends and family (of a sort).

The fact that you had Helga work as a nanny and governess outside of her experience at Hogwarts seems very fitting to her character. Since we know she would "take the rest" and teach them herself having her work as a teacher before is so nice. Also having the name "Greta" seemed like it matched with Helga's, and names like Adella and Leonore have the old world sound so I think they were great choices.

I have not read the other story, so I don't know if it's mentioned in there, but did Ava know that Helga was a witch? I imagine that would have been quite the shock if she did!

Your story has made me think of a lot of founders questions (like their own educatoins!), so you may have just prodded me down that rabbit hole.

This was a fun read, even with the sad ending. =)

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you for stopping by!
This story and The Fourth Daughter are actually AU, so Helga actually isn't a witch in the universe where these stories take place. The Fourth Daughter, which takes place after this story (about three years after Ava's death) is based in the Twelve Dancing Princesses by the Brothers Grimm, so I mess around with the Founders' characters a lot to fit in with my retelling. However, I did still keep a lot of the traits that are associated with each one, so Helga is still kind and loyal, and takes all of Ava's daughters under her wing. Sorry that that's a bit of a verbose explanation, but I just wanted to clarify!
I'm glad this may have inspired your own Founders adventures! Thank you so much for the swap!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by SunshineDaisies Just A Governess

18th April 2015:
Oh God I'm emotional.

This is very well done! You portrayed Ava and Helga's relationship so well here! We hardly saw them together at all, but my heart still broke when Helga was at her funeral. There's just something about their interactions that tells you they were beyond close. And there is nothing that I love more than strong friendships between women.

I also think you presented Helga and Ava's characters very well. Again, there wasn't a ton of space to do so, but I have a very strong idea of who both characters were.

I wish there was a bit more depth and detail, but doing that in a one shot can be rather difficult. And me wanting more is a testament to how captivating this was.

Excellent work! (And may I just say that I love how you've made Helga a teacher, despite her less studious reputation. I dig it. Puff pride forever.)

Author's Response: Hi Katie!
I'm really happy you enjoyed this! To be honest, my heart broke a little writing the end of this. I can't even fathom what it would be like to lose my best friend. But they did have a really strong bond in the time they did spend together, that's for sure!
I'm glad you got a good sense of the characters in a very short story. Especially Ava, since this is the first time I've written her.
Haha, thank you for the approval on my choice to make Helga a teacher! And Puff pride forever and ever and ever!
Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Oregonian Just A Governess

18th April 2015:
Hi, Cassie. This is Vicki of Slytherin House, answering your request for a review for your newest story.

I enjoyed your story very much. It is simple, sweet, very open and straightforward. We can see the personalities and emotions of the two main characters without a lot of florid over-writing. In a few well-constructed sentences you have given us all the backstory we need to appreciate this little tale.

The structure of this story is interesting—four little vignettes covering eighteen years, all well linked with a connecting theme of friendship and famiy. Despite the timespan, the story doesn’t sound jerky; the transitions are well done.

Both of your characters are attractive, strong women, and it is good to see the uncompromised friendship between them, a friendship that lasts so many years without rupture. Reading about it makes one appreciate friendships in one’s own life. I have not read your longer story, of which this is a little explanation, but it sounds intriguing, something about Ava’s fourth daughter, is it not? I will have to check it out.

Thank you for writing. Nice job.

Vicki

Author's Response: Hi Vicki!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I debated writing it for a long time, and then suddenly got inspiration for it one day and this is what came from that!
I'm really pleased to hear that you thought the transitions flowed well. I wanted to be clear that time was passing, but didn't want it to feel jumpy.
I'm so happy you liked Ava and Helga's friendship! I always liked the idea of two people being friends despite different social standings and people's expectations. Ava and Helga love each other, and it's kept them close through the years.
My novel is indeed about Ava's fourth daughter, Desiya, who is the baby she gives birth to in this one-shot. You'll see Helga in that story, too, if you do decide to check it out.
Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login