Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Tidal Wave
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Shadowkat Tidal Wave

14th October 2015:
*hides* Ummm...here?

So, I was interested about how you'd pull this off, and I'm not disappointed. You can feel the bitterness Pansy is feeling in this, as well as Ron's. Drawn by mutual anger.

"She knew she would hate herself in the morning when she woke up in bed beside him , but right then all Pansy could really focus on was the fact that in Weasley’s embrace she didn’t care so much that Draco was inside fraternising with a mudblood. Or that Blaise was inside snogging a blood traitor"

I think this is really telling though. Like I said, they aren't drawn by any real romantic attraction, Pansy least of all. I like how you kept away from this turning into something where they really did love each other, because in these circumstances it would be highly doubtful. It's nice to see things like this done without skipping over the realities to get to romance.

There are a few parts where it could run a bit smoother, some parts where unnecessary words could be cut, but overall this was very well written. It certainly deserved to place, and feel free to tell me which stories you want me to review.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. It was fun to write

 Report Review

Review #2, by Beauty Eclipsed Tidal Wave

21st July 2015:
Love it! More on this pairing soon?

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Hope WithintDarkness Tidal Wave

21st July 2015:
:) I really liked this

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #4, by Sinistra Black Tidal Wave

21st July 2015:
This was just awesome. The really captured Pansy brilliantly. And I absolutely love Ron in this, even if it's not really about him. I love this pairing but it's rare to find a really good story about them... yet you managed to get it right in a one shot. Thank you for this :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #5, by voldyhasnonose Tidal Wave

21st July 2015:
I don't normally enjoy anything involved with Pansy Parkinson, but this was rather lovely. Kudos.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #6, by rosiful Tidal Wave

20th July 2015:
This was definitely an interesting read! I love how you've explored Pansy Parkinson's character! JKR really didn't give us much with her characterisations, other than she obsesses over Draco and that she's quite gossipy and rude, so it's great to read from her side! I think you've done really well with her character, she's still the same rude and snarky character that JKR wrote, but I actually felt quite a bit sorry for her! It must be hard when the two guys she likes have ditched her for people she's always hated! I think you conveyed her hatred/bitterness incredibly well in this!

The ending with Ron/Pansy was very interesting! She knew she hated him, knew she would continue to and knew it was a mistake, but couldn't resist the escape that he gave her. I can definitely imagine Pansy taking that route it she was put in these circumstances!

Good story and very well written!
Thank you for sharing!

Rosiful
Slytherin House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Hey Rosie,

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm pleased you enjoyed the story. I'd never tried writing Pansy before this fic, so it's encouraging to know you think I wrote her in character and as being realistic.

Thanks again.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm Tidal Wave

1st June 2015:
Hey there! Thank you for entering my challenge and sorry I’ve just gotten to this, but before I get onto the review I must say your banner for this is truly stunning! ♥

You had some really beautiful lines and imagery throughout this story which really drew me in and just added this dramatic air to Pansy’s character so well done for that! This line – ‘She knew her bitterness hung in the air about her, thick and sour, clogging the space and creating a barrier of solitude within which she was more than happy to wallow.’ Really stood out to me as it was such a beautiful and creative sentence! ♥

Another thing I really liked was the originality of the story. When I started reading it, I never would have anticipated the ending as I thought it was just going to explore the post-war issues Pansy had to deal with but this was definitely a new take on it!

One thing I really liked was Pansy’s character as I thought you really wrote it well. For the first part of the story she really cast herself as this isolated and lonely figure with no one to turn to and I almost began to feel sorry for her despite everything she had done. The little touches with Draco, Blaise, Hermione and Ginny really added to it as she used to be part of that golden group who believed they were on top of the world and now she was cast downwards it was really sad.

I’ve never come across a Pansy/Ron ship before, and I have to say I did actually really like it. You built up a great dynamic between them two of them and I liked the sense of reluctance at the beginning. I’m still not entirely sure whether Pansy and Ron were drawn to each other out of genuine attraction or just wanting to get revenge on their former lovers, but either way I really liked how they ended up together.

Great one-shot! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hey Kiana,

Thanks so much for the challenge, it was fun to write for and I great enjoyed it. I'm glad you like the story and I'm pleased to know that you may now be a convert to the Ron/Pansy pairing.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #8, by confusedlover Tidal Wave

11th May 2015:
Very lovely.

I stumbled across this randomly but I am sure glad I did! I enjoyed this story very much and found it to be a nice refreshing read. Wonderful job, keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I had fun writing this one =)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Crumple-Horned Snorkack Tidal Wave

30th April 2015:
Greetings! I am the Crumple-Horned Snorkack, elusive dweller of the northern forest who has taken a temporary break from hiding from humans, and has come to read and review your story.

What a wonderful exploration into Pansy's character - I thought you did an excellent job with her. I felt like I was right there in her head, and the description she gives of Hermione and Ginny were spot on for who Pansy is and what she's grown up to believe. I think you've done well conveying her desperation as well, how she's really upset because these dudes she's had a crush on for years are with the exact people she hates. She has a lot of hatred in her. I feel like it would do her well to have a holiday in the northern woods, where it is peaceful and there are unicorns and there is positively nothing to hate. This is part of the reason I spend all my time hiding here.

Speaking of Pansy's hatred though, I think that made a great segue into how she ended up with Ron. It's a destructive, escapist behaviour but it fits right in with everything else that you've established about her, and so it worked really well with the story.

This was really well written! Wonderful job with this fic. And now, I must depart to meet my BFF the Yeti for tea and scones.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #10, by ArtyGirl Tidal Wave

21st April 2015:
Love me a Pansy/Ron pairing! They need to make that an official option because I would just gobble them up. This is fantastic. I would totally love to read a full novel/la from you with this pairing. Dramione in there would make me happy but maybe you CAN have too much of a good thing... now i'm just fantasizing.

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it

 Report Review

Review #11, by kristyhes Tidal Wave

17th April 2015:
Hello!

First of all let me tell you that the challenge was respected on all terms! It makes me happy that you wrote in the third person like this because it does give a general perspective to everything that's happening.

The pairing Ron/Pansy is one that I just recently discovered and I find it so interesting. I was really hoping that someone would use this pairing when writing for this challenge because it has so much potential and there are so many plots that can come up with this pairing.

I liked how you mentioned the two other pairings, Blaise/Ginny andDraco/Hermione but still stuck to Pansy's point of view on the situation. Sometimes people only stop to the common belief that she is easy and desperate to throw herself to Blaise and Draco. So, having a view on what she's thinking and the reasons of her behaviour is quite refreshing.

We also don't really think about how she feels about what people say about her and how they see her. She's still human even if people don't really like her charcater and that's exactly what you did when describing her feelings: showing that she was human and not evil.

As for typos, I didn't see any and the flow of the story was good. Everything was well written and made sense, with no holes whatsoever. I have always liked your writing btw ;)

So in short, this was a very good one-shot!

Cee xx (gryffiefan)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I hope this will be a strong candidate for winning the challenge, but if not it was still very fun to write. I rather like the Ron/Pansy pairing. I may explore them further.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Daenerys Targaryen Tidal Wave

17th April 2015:
Hello Ellie.

I am Daenerys Stormborn of House Targaryen, of the blood of old Valyria. I am the dragon's daughter, and I am here because I have been told you know how to train dragons. Someone once told me they can never be tamed, but recently I was told by an ally over at the forums that you have found a way. To show how grateful I would be for your assitance, I will leave you a review.

I like this story. But I must say, Pansy does not seem like a plesant woman, but I suppose that can happen when you have demanding people around you. As much I loved my brother, he was very strict and unkind, and I can definitely see similarities to Pansy's mother. I do not think her unkind, though, but she does appear to be a little strict.

I think it a shame that women feel they need a man in their life, like it seems to me that Pansy thinks. A woman can be just as good on her own - she does not need to be with someone if that is not her wish. I was fortunate with my marriage, and ended up loving my husband very much eventually. But there are still many places in our world where women are forced into marriages they do not want, and find themselves miserable and lonely (which is very often slaves, but I intend to end slavery once I am on the iron throne).

Intersting enough, that is very similar to how Pansy appears to feel in this story, and she is on her own. I have not seen this similarity before - between those who are alone and does not wish to be, and those that are together but does not wish to be - so it was very new and insightful.

I liked this man... Ronald Weasley. He appears to be a good man, and that is very important in order for a relationship to work. While Pansy does not seem to like him very much, she still gets romantically involved. She believes herself to be desperate, but I think lonely would be the better word. She craves company of someone, I have seen this in many of my friends (all former slaves, but that does not have any importance, however).

They have a very fascinating dynamic - Ronald and Pansy - and I think would be intersting to see more of it. I do not know if you plan on writing more, but I hope you will.

Now, I cannot stay for much longer, but please let my friend over at the forums know if you can help me train my dragons. I have been told you have a couple yourself, and that you have succeeded in taming them so they are to no harm to your friends and family. I would like to do the same, if you would help me to do.

Hope I will hear good news from you

Daenerys Targaryen

Author's Response: Hey Dany,

My secret to taming dragons might be being revealed in a new story I'm planning involving a renowned dragon tamer, Charlie Weasley. Hopefully, if you're stilling having trouble with Drogon and the others you'll check it out once I've uploaded it. Thanks so much for stopping by. You're a fantastic queen.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotter Tidal Wave

17th April 2015:
Hello! I saw your post about this over on the forums, and came to check it out!
I thought you did a fantastic job writing Pansy. We don't get much of her from JKR aside from the fact that she pines after Draco all the time, so getting inside her head a little bit, especially when Draco is off with Hermione, was really interesting.
Her banter with Ron was really fun to read. There was just so much anger inside both of them, that when it came out in sarcasm and insults, it made for a really entertaining conversation!
I think the last paragraph of this was my favorite. It summed up Pansy's character beautifully, and let us know that this wouldn't be the last time she was with Ron, even though she tells herself that it's a mistake.
All in all, I think you did a wonderful job with this. Pansy's emotions come through really strongly, and her character is very well-written. Nice job!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey Cassie!

Thanks so much for reviewing for me. I'm glad you think I captured her character well, I was a little worried that I might mess it up. I was worried about the ending too, as I wasn't sure if it was a little too cliche/predictable. Thanks for checking it out for me =)


 Report Review

Review #14, by MargaretLane Tidal Wave

17th April 2015:
The first paragraph plunges us straight into the story and sets me wondering. I want to know why Pansy is so angry and what exactly is going on in her head.

You also write it really well. Your imagery is fantastic.

I would say though, and this is a minor thing, but I'd leave out the "on the table" in the first line. It kind of states the obvious and distracts a little from the impact of the statement.

I also like the way you give us an immediate insight into the relationship Pansy has with her mother. It is clearly an unhappy one and helps to explain some of Pansy's behaviour in the books.

This sentence is quite awkwardly phrased: "All her life she’d been close with Draco Malfoy and Blaise Zabini, and on more than one occasion had day-dreamed about what it might be like to one day be wife to one of the boys in her life." I'd be inclined to write it as, "all her life she'd been close to Draco and Blaise and had often dreamed that one day, she might marry one of them."

I think they way she refers to Hermione and Ginny is very much in character. Not that we KNOW that much about Pansy's character, but we do know she was raised in a pretty prejudiced, pure-blood supremacist environment, so it would make sense for her to find it difficult to understand how anybody, let alone Draco, who was raised in a similar environment, could choose Hermione over her.

I also like the way you delve into a point of view we rarely see in Draco/Hermione fics. The question of how Pansy feels at seeing the boy she fancies in love with somebody she has been taught to see as beneath contempt is something I don't think I've ever read and I must admit, it didn't really occur to me as a question either. But it's an interesting one.

*laughs* That is SUCH a typical Ron comment. Hermione would probably hex him if she heard him say something so blatantly misogynistic as to imply that girls should choose their attitudes based on what might attract a guy. But he just doesn't THINK, does he? I don't think he really IS that misogynistic. I think he just says things without properly thinking through how problematic they are.

You have Pansy saying, "you came over her". I assume it should be, "you came over here."

It's quite a while before it becomes clear where they are. I'd assumed they were at Hogwarts until Pansy has made it clear they weren't.

I like the way she expresses her disdain for Ron by referring to him repeatedly as "Blood Traitor." It seems like something she'd do.

And you sort of draw a comparison between the situation they are both in here. Neither can imagine how the person they fancy can prefer something they have complete disdain for.

I'd be inclined to put commas around "even in hell" in this sentence: "Although even in hell I’d be hard-pressed to find anyone as awful as you." "Although, even in hell, I'd be hard-pressed to find anyone as awful as you."

I always find it a little odd that in the wizarding world, where people live longer, they seem to marry so much younger, but given how many people in that world seem to marry in their early 20s, it makes sense Pansy would feel that at 26, she should be at least thinking of marriage.

I was WONDERING how you were going to get from her being appalled at the thought of dating a blood traitor to some kind of relationship between her and Ron, but I think you did it very convincingly. I like the way she hates herself for what happens between them and sees it as a mistake. It fits with her attitudes about going out with the "right" people.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing for me! I'm glad you liked ti and that you think I caught Pansy's character. I was worried I might not have done her justice. It's so nice of you to come over and leave me a review. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #15, by ArtsyTigs Tidal Wave

16th April 2015:
Very well written... Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it =)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login