Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Elsewhere
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by notreallyblonde44 Elsewhere

11th December 2015:
Hi there! Here for Advent Day Nine, as you are definitely one of the most dedicated authors around, and I've never reviewed your work before (shame on me)!

ohhh the angst, the feels, the conflicting emotions within James. I don't think I've ever read this pairing, and I've read a LOT of fanfic in ten years lol. so that says something awesome and creative about you and this one-shot for sure! I think they make sense together, and Remus' reasoning and hesitations were so legit. No one wants to destroy the friendships. Also, if you throw this in the canon universe, it makes everything sooo sad when Jame dies, and now I'm wondering about all Remus' future feels and how James and Lily came to be in this setting.

Overall your writing was well paced, and the scenes were easy to see. I think you captured the adolescent mindset with ease and it was an enjoyable and quick read for being over 3000 words ;)

Until next time!
--Ellie

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I was so excited to see a new review on this. It's one of my favorite things I've written.

This was the first time I'd written this pairing and I hadn't ever even read it before writing this. I'm really glad you like Remus's reasoning. I didn't want him to say no because of his lycanthropy since that's usually the reason people have him give.

I had to make it canon-compliant. I am such a stickler for canon that in order to make this ship something I could board (haha, had to throw in that pun), I had to make it canon. I have thrown around the idea of doing a sequel, but I'm not sure it'll ever happen.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by BLONDEbehaviour Elsewhere

2nd November 2015:
Naaaw, Duckie! This is the sweetest thing!

I don't read a lot of LGBT stories (not that I don't like them, I do, but I'm bad at reading what I write!) And this clutched at my heartstrings at all the right places. I really enjoyed it!

You could feel the anxiety going on within James as he truly tried to develop what his feelings meant to him, and what it would mean tot he group. And I love how you had him still like Lily, like it wasn't a complete cut off from the norm, and he was fighting with Sirius, so it still stuck to the normal canon ideals of the Marauders, but with a really sweet twist. and it all developed in really well :)

The guilt so powerful he wished he could reach inside himself and rip it out I Love this. It s a real showing of how bad guilt can hurt a person, and I love little lines like this one, it makes the writer in me so giddy!

All in al, I think you have written this really well, Sarah. It flows nicely and easy to follow, and I really, really enjoyed reading something a bit different from my norm. I hope you enjoyed working on it!!

Good luck for the rest of NaNo!!

Grace

 Report Review

Review #3, by Frankie05 Elsewhere

28th August 2015:
Hey there.

This is such an interesting pairing but you made me happy I read it. James has been focused on Lily for so long and has deeply cared for a best friend in need for so long that at the beginning I can completely understand the confusion that takes place in his heart/mind. I love Remus and I love James and I never thought about putting them together so hats off to you for making me want them to work!

You set up the story quite nicely. I really enjoyed his the only interactions present were between the two boys. Any others were told in dialouge. That is a great use of writing.

When they kissed you had me holding my breath, hopeful that neither of them would back down in fear, or rejection, or anything else. I was cheering for them wanting them to work it out! And they did, yay! I can totally understand the apprehension though, why would anyone want to risk losing their best friend over something that may not last, but relationships are often beautiful when there is a bit of risk involved. This was extremely well done :) great job on branching out. Everything about this was wonderfully done n

Frankie

 Report Review

Review #4, by Chazzie Elsewhere

20th June 2015:
This was really amazing. James and Remus have very recently become my OTP and so I can't believe I haven't read this yet.

The entire story was amazing, but I especially loved the sweet moments between Remus and James. The kisses, what can I even say about them? They were really cute, and very well written (AMAZING *cough*). The way you included the little Quiddich reference with James' thoughts too, really showed off the way his mind works.

Your characterisation was brilliant. Remus was exactly as I tend to imagine him, and I adored James here too. It was lovely to see him portrayed in such a manner, and seeing the way he was so confused both about his feelings for Remus as more than a friend and for Sirius because his friend could have put another friend in Azkaban. He was so conflicted and I loved it.

The ending made me want to cry, it was so adorable. They are going to give it a shot. Ahhh Sarah you are so fantastic at writing, I can't even begin to tell you. Thank you so much for writing this.

Lottie
Slytherin
House Cup 2015

Author's Response: I've very much become a James/Remus shipper as well, although just them dating/experimenting at Hogwarts and then James going on to be with Lily. Because I love James/Lily.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it that much! I was so worried about the kisses because this was my first foray into slash, but then I realized there isn't much difference in writing slash kisses than writing kisses between a male and a female.

Haha, yes, I had to include Quidditch references!

I love writing about Remus. He's one of my favorites to write about, so writing him was easy. James was hard because this was the first time I'd ever done anything from his point of view. But I'm glad I tried it.

Aww, yes they are! I imagine they'd date for a few months and then break it off amicably once James realizes he needs to be with Lily. And Remus would be okay with that because he just wants James to be happy. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by SunshineDaisies Elsewhere

15th May 2015:
What an interesting read! I’m a pretty die hard James/Lily shipper, but I found myself enjoying this nonetheless. I love the way you captured James here. I’ve always seen him as the most nurturing of the group, and that definitely comes into play here. James would be the one pacing the hospital wing waiting for Remus, whether or not he fancied him. I love seeing this side of James, it’s pretty ignored in most fic and finding it always brightens my day.

I think the way you described the emotions and confusion James was having was great. The feelings definitely came through appropriately, and sucked me right in. Same with the confusion. I felt the self-questioning right along with James. I love how that played out. It just seems like such a realistic reaction to have when you first start feeling things you aren’t used to, and you’re not really sure you’re supposed to be feeling. And it was so enjoyable to sort of go through that journey with him! I loved watching the progression of his feelings, from knowing his eye color to knowing he really liked him. It was such nice, natural, interesting development!

I would also like to say that I like how you’ve made James’s sexuality a little bit ambiguous. He could easily be bi, but you also hinted that he hadn’t liked very many people, so he could be pan or demi as well. Horray for representation!

This was a really charming story and I’m very glad I branched out to give it a try! :)

Author's Response: I also ship James/Lily, which is why I kept it open for James and Lily to eventually get together. I see James as the most nurturing of the group, too. I've read a lot of Marauders fics and I've not seen much of James worrying about Remus a lot, but I think it fits.

I'm glad James's emotions came off well. Figuring that out was hard. I haven't read a lot of slash, but in some ways that made it easier. I didn't have to worry about falling into the usual tropes.

Yes, I wanted it to be very ambiguous! So many people are caught up with labels nowadays and I feel that can't people just be people? Do we have to label? I guess I'm like Remus in that sense. But yeah, everyone can interpret it and figure out what they'd like about James's sexuality. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Felpata Lupin Elsewhere

13th May 2015:
Hi!
Congratulations for May featured story!
I'll be sincere and say I'm a tiny bit displeased, but honestly, you have such an amazing story here! A way higher level of quality, I could've never competed... ;)

I really loved this!
I've never read a James/Remus story before, but I actually enjoyed them quite a lot!

James' worries for Remus in the first section where just so sweet. I loved how you described his pacing, and the fact that he'd been doing that practically every single month since discovering about Remus' furry little problem. It really shows just how much affection he proves for him, and that's just so sweet!

Then you have him thinking about his eyes, and he starts feeling in ways that were bound to scare him. I loved how he tried to distract himself with thoughts about Lily. A pity it doesn't seem to work that well.

It's very much in character that Remus would forgive Sirius much quicker than James. Obviously, Remus would do anything to keep the Marauders' friendship. And obviously James would have trouble to just let go, especially knowing what the consequencies could've been... Once again, you did an amazing job at showing how much James cares for Remus!

I really liked how you built the change in their relationship, starting from that little, awkward chat in the library, to their first kiss the night before the full moon, and finally to their agreement to try to be together in the end.
I can totally see Remus being so reluctant. It's interesting that his reluctance is more related to the fear of ruining their friendship than it is to his lycanthropy. I'm very happy James convinced him, because they are just so cute together!

This was really, really sweet! I loved it so much!
Congratulations again!
Chiara

Author's Response: Thank you! Aww. I'm sure your story was fantastic as well. I will have to read and review it, soon!

I never read a James/Remus before writing this. It was a completely new ship to me. But I've read a lot about the Marauders and wrote a few other stories about them, so it was easier than I thought it'd be.

I loved showing James as being worried like that. James likes to help his friends (and I think he's got a bit of a 'saving people thing' like Harry), so I imagine he would've had a hard time with Remus's lycanthropy. He was able to help by being an Animagus, but he couldn't make it go away.

I thought so, too. Remus wants everyone to like him, so I think that'd make him forgive more easily (I have that same personality trait). James, however, really saw the implications of what Sirius did and got very frustrated with him. Sirius is very rash.

I'm glad the change came across well! That was the hardest thing to do in this. I've always been more of a novel writer and doing this in a novel would've been easier.I really had to cut it down to what was the most important. I didn't want to go the obvious route with him being afraid because of his lycanthropy. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by banshee Elsewhere

12th May 2015:
Hi! First off, congratulations on winning Hufflepuff's story of the month! I gave this a read during the voting process, but I thought I'd stop back and give it a review as well.

I think you really did a good job in this story capturing James' characterization. I always have thought of him as an extremely loyal friend, and I think in the beginning in the hospital wing it really shines a light on that aspect. I also really liked the internal struggle you wrote about James trying to force himself to think about Lily; I thought it was realistic.

I really like the idea of James being hesitant to forgive Sirius, and only considering after Remus wants him to. I read a lot of where James and Sirius never have tensions in their friendship, and it's refreshing to see that maybe that isn't always the case.

The talk between Remus and James in the library was so adorable. I really particularly like the way that Remus chooses to identify himself, sans labels. It's more about the person than the word, and I think it really fits Remus' character.

I loved Remus' hesitations, especially because it really seemed that he was more worried for their friendship than anything else. The kiss was so sweet and urgent, and then Remus falling asleep with James next to him was so sweet!

The fact that James' feelings for Lily don't just go away is really great. I think when there's a 'crush' the way James had for Lily, even a new relationship doesn't just make that go away, and I really liked that you referenced that in James' little speech.

If it wasn't obvious, I absolutely adored this. I've never read a James/Remus before, and this definitely made me ship them quite a bit!

Lovely work!

Julie

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I was very surprised to see this won Featured Story.

I've always thought of James as very loyal, too. All the Marauders were loyal, but James always struck me as the most loyal of them all. And I had to add in the bits about Lily because I wanted to keep this canon.

The "prank" Sirius pulled has always fascinated me, especially the aftermath. Remus has that need for people to like him, which will make him likely to forgive more easily (something I am very familiar with, as I tend to be like that, too). James, however, he really understood the implications of what Sirius did. James doesn't seem quite as rash as Sirius. I read a lot of fics where James & Sirius don't have any tension, too. It just doesn't seem likely given their personalities (they've both got strong personalities).

I loved writing that talk! I thought the lack of labels fit Remus, too. He spent almost his whole life being labeled as a werewolf. I doubt he'd want anymore labels.

The scene where they fell asleep together was my favorite to write. It was just so sweet.

I agree, that James's crush for Lily wouldn't just go away. And that kept it more canon, too!

I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I never read a James/Remus before writing this, either, but now I love the idea of them together. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by AdinaPuff Elsewhere

19th April 2015:
Hi!

This was such an amazing one shot! I loved the path that James had worn into the Hospital Wing worrying about Remus. It seems like a very James thing to do, the way I see him. Always the one in charge and worrying about everyone else. I also loved how you had him compare his feelings between Lily and Remus. It helped as a reader show just how much he truly loved Remus, in more ways than one.

You did a great job with Remus. I feel like you wrote him very canon. He worried about loving someone because of being a werewolf, and he's such a worrier through everything. Worrying about being a werewolf, about destroying his friendship, about everything not working out. It was great.

Great job, all around. This was a fantastic read and I enjoyed every word of it!

-Leigh xxx

Author's Response: Hi, Leigh! Thanks so much for the lovely review! :)

I really love exploring the relationship between all the Marauders. I've always seen both Sirius and James as very protective of Remus, but in different ways. I see James as being very concerned with Remus's physical and emotional well-being, whereas Sirius being the one to defend him against anyone possibly trying to discriminate against him or make fun of him. This was the first time I took either of those relationships further, into a more romantic relationship. But I like the way it turned out, and I'm glad you did, too!

Even though I'm starting to branch out in what I read and write, in terms of ships, I'm still very much a canon person. I will only write non-canon ships in a way that the canon can still happen. So I had to acknowledge LIly. And it actually fit in quite nicely!

I'm glad you thought Remus was canon! He's one of my favorite characters to write. I wrote a novel from his point of view, so I took his characterization from that and put it here. He's definitely a worrier! But I didn't want to go the usual route of him not wanting a relationship because of his lycanthropy, especially since that wouldn't fit since James knew about that. But I really see him worrying about ruining his friendship.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Liana Elsewhere

16th April 2015:
I liked this one-shot very much. It seemed a bit unusual for you though. It was so nicely written. It expressed love--a love to be envied by us all.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! It's definitely different, but I want to branch out and this is a ship I'm really starting to enjoy. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by writeyourheartout Elsewhere

14th April 2015:
omg omg omg omg omg.

SARAH. OMG. ♥

Seriously. Sarah. My heart. The whole time. THE. WHOLE. TIME. Like. I want to cry, it was just that lovely. Start to finish, top to bottom, my heart was clenching, my stomach was in knots, and I was just so drawn into this story. Like, it grabbed me immediately and just held on tight. Love when that happens, and it hasn't happened in awhile. ♥

WARNING: I am going to quote so many things. Possibly too many things. But... I mean... it's your fault, really, if you think about it, so... *shrugs*

He felt weird asking her all the time, like he was pressuring her. James wanted nothing more than to show Lily he was respecting her. - It's not even a James/Remus moment and it still stood out to me! Your James is lovely. I love a lovely James. ♥

“I'm sorry,” James said, still not meeting Remus's gaze. “I just...can't. You're better at forgiveness than I am.” - “I just haven't got many friends to begin with,” Remus said quietly. “I can't afford to lose the ones I have.” - GAH. My hearts breaks for both of them here. I love James' conflicting thoughts in this beginning - not only in regards to Remus, but to Sirius too! It made for this really superb tension that held onto me the entire story. And then when Remus says: '...but his detentions will end." - Ugh. Poor James! He's struggling with so many conflicting emotions and I CAN FEEL IT SO PALPABLY. GAH

"At the same time, if Remus wanted James to forgive Sirius, James felt he ought to do it. He felt as if he'd do anything for Remus." - *dies*

"James did realize that, but he couldn't concentrate. His mind was elsewhere and elsewhere was sitting across from him." - YES THIS LINE. OMG. IT IS GLORIOUS, SARAH. GLORIOUS! AND SO PERFECT FOR THE TITLE. ♥

(Um... did I mention already that I was going to quote you a lot? I can't help myself. I want to keep reliving moments. :-p)

"Remus didn't like labels. He disliked calling himself bi as much as he disliked calling himself a werewolf." - RIGHT IN THE FEELS. Reeemmmuuusss! :( ♥

And then the way section two ends?? Can we talk about this perfection?? "Remus gave him a wry grin. “Is a bloke straight when they've only had a crush on one girl?” - That gave James pause. Because it was true. He'd only ever had a crush on Lily Evans before this. But now he'd only ever had a crush on Lily Evans and...Remus Lupin. - You're killing me.

AND THEN PART THREE! ZOMG. THE HUG. AND THE CONVERSATION AFTER THE HUG. AND THEN THE KISS. AND I AM DEAD.

Seriously. That section was so beautiful. The way the hug transformed into the conversation into the kiss... It was just wonderful. I was levels of giddy I haven't been in I don't know how long. :-p

Can I just say that I love the way the pacing thing circles back around to the end? Really great; super effective.

Remus pulled his hand away. “James, about the other night-” - “Can I talk before you do?” James asked. - I don't even know why exactly, but the way James cut off Remus made me so happy. That's right, James! Don't let him talk himself out of a good thing! Remus deserves all the good things, including you! *pets*

OMG HAPPY ENDING! ♥ I was so prepared to be devastated, BUT THEN THEY DECIDE TO TRY. *sobs happily*

Gah. You know what I love so much about this story (other than everything)? The slow build. The way it takes place over a longer stretch of time than, like, a day. We start with these new, uncertain feelings of James' in the first section, as he starts making connections and putting the pieces together, but still putting up a resistance - afraid to look too closely at the meaning behind it all. Then we get this perfect moment in the library, where he's brave enough to broach the topic - and to Remus, no less - and learns to accept it by the end; admits that Remus is someone he likes. And then the beautiful moment where James has forgiven Sirius for Remus and they hug and they don't want to pull away and it's beautiful. It's all these meaningful little moments, never rushed, never unexamined, that had me on the edge of my seat in anticipation the entire time. And then that ending. Gah! I may have definitely gotten teary-eyed from the dialogue.

Sarah. Sarah, Sarah, Sarah... This was so, so, so great. Like... I can't even. I am so beyond happy. Thank you so much for writing this for me. I love it so much. You are just the best. ♥

SO MUCH LOVE,
The Original Tanya

;)

Author's Response: Tanya, Tanya, Tanya! This review. It's so sweet. Thank you so much for the inspiration for writing this! You brought me out of my fanfic comfort zone and I am so grateful.

That's how I felt when I was writing it! I haven't written much romance (much to the dismay of some of my Albus novel fans, but Al just isn't focused on romance), but this one has resonated the most with me so far. I've no idea why, but it did. I really enjoyed writing it.

Haha, quote what you'd like! I'm always really focused on what quotes people like in my fics, probably because I love quotes. I want to cover my walls in my favorite quotes. And the thought of people enjoying quotes I created that much just makes me so happy.

I always saw Remus forgiving Sirius so much faster than James. James seems like someone who would hold a grudge, whereas Remus seems very forgiving. Out of the three of them, I feel like James would've had the hardest time with the situation.

I had SUCH a hard time with the title! I think I overthink titles, but I have a lot of trouble with them in general. Usually the title is what I'm waiting for before I post something. I wanted this title to have something to do with something in the fic, but not be totally obvious. Elsewhere just fit so well.

I had to address James's sexuality for my sake if not anyone else's. I couldn't just have him gay or bi without any sort of angst or explanation because of the Lily thing. It had to be addressed. But at the same time I didn't want it to be the focus of the fic. And I like a witty Remus, so that line seemed to work.

So glad you liked the kiss! That's what I was most worried about since I rarely ever write anything remotely sexual. It's always a kiss and then a page break. But I did know Remus and James wouldn't do anything further than that in this story. Remus is a guy who would take things slow.

At first I was planning on having Remus refuse to even try and give it a sad ending, to make it fit with the James/Lily storyline. But then I just wanted it happy. So I figured James needed this before he could move on and date Lily. They will of course eventually break up, but when they do it will be amicable and they'll stay friends.

I'm so glad the pacing worked! I didn't want it to be sudden because Remus isn't a spontaneous person and James was questioning his sexuality the whole time. He didn't want to screw things up as much as Remus didn't want to screw them up. Syncing it up to the full moons seemed like the perfect fit. I added in the Sirius thing because I felt it needed something more, something to anchor it to canon and to the other Marauders.

Thank you again for this amazing review! You are awesome. And if there's anything else you want me to try, let me know!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login