Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Zabini
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dojh167 Boy

28th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015 Review

I love that you define the men in Mrs. Zabini’s life as Blaise’s fathers, not her husbands. It’s definitely an interesting take that I haven’t seen before. Because the men were never around long, I somehow assumed that having a consistent father figure for Blaise hadn’t been one of Mrs. Zabini’s priorities (depending on whether there was foul play), but this definitely makes me reconsider that.

Balloons tied down by string seem like a very muggle thing. I would’ve liked to see a magical twist on this.

I like that once Blaise grows close to his fourth father, he simply refers to him as “his father.” Too bad we all know that won’t last long.

“Most people he knows” should be “Most people he know”

I really like the repetition you use in this story. It creates a very cyclical rhythm, which I think is appropriate for this family.

I normally try not to plug my own stories in reviews, but I think you might like to check out Confessions of a Marrying Murderess. The parallels are impressive.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggle New

28th June 2015:
Hey!

This was a really good continuation of the first chapter, and it was great reading about the journey as a first year and the sorting from Blaise's perspective. I really liked how you portrayed him as a quieter kind of kid, rather than the overconfident, "mean" Slytherin we kind of seem to expect. It was also nice to see him stand up for himself, but then it was so sad seeing how the value of Slytherin pureblood supremacy came through to tell him to suppress his muggle links and was very thought provoking - Blaise seems like such a nice kid, it's really a shame how influential his house would be on his perspective and thoughts as he grows up. All in all, I feel like this was Blaise before he was "tainted" by Slytherin values of the time - I imagine he would have grown up to be a really nice sort of person, but now post-war I have no idea what kind of person he would be like. Anyway, I really liked this portrayal of Blaise as a young kid, especially since he's such a minor character and we know nothing about him.

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #3, by maskedmuggle Boy

28th June 2015:
Hey!

Wow this was such an unusual story (in a very good way). I very much enjoyed reading about Blaise, and you really did raise my awareness of what his background/story might be like. I never would have imagined a kid having so many fathers, but it actually worked out really well in this story. I loved the way you wrote it - with him moving from one picture frame to the other and thinking of all the memories. I liked how Blaise wasn't resentful towards his mother and seems to still have a good relationship with her. The ending was sweet - it seems Blaise and Mia get along well, but at the same time it was also a bit sad that Blaise has had to experience so much loss in his life at such a young age. This was a very interesting idea for a story, and I really loved seeing such a unique insight into Blaise!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #4, by krazyboutharryginny New

27th June 2015:
The Amazing Race - House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor!

So, quick little note - isn't Cho Chang in the year above Blaise and Harry? I know it's just a small detail, but it really threw me.

Aside from that, I enjoyed this chapter too. This characterization of Blaise is one that's more in line with the way imagine him (although I had no issue with his characterization in the last chapter). He's withdrawn and seemingly very introverted. At the same time, he's quite good at comebacks (as seen in his interaction with Daphne).

I liked the way you showed his awe at the Hogwarts grounds. Although he was raised by a rich witch, he's still blown away. That's realistic to me - Hogwarts is pretty amazing, after all! ;)

Also, I want to mention that the part at the beginning where Blaise is questioning whether the staff would put them in any danger really had me chuckling. Honestly, things at Hogwarts are so outrageously dangerous sometimes! I think that was a really clever couple of lines to throw in because it gives us extra insight into Blaise's character.

Uh oh... Theo's warning makes sense, but it's really sad :( What will this mean for Blaise and Mia?

Great chapter!

-Kayla
#ROAR

 Report Review

Review #5, by krazyboutharryginny Boy

27th June 2015:
The Amazing Race - House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor!

This is a really interesting take on Blaise's story. That he feels affection for one of his mother's husbands is something I'm not sure I've ever seen anyone do before. It's also very interesting that you had one of his fathers (Mia's father) be a Muggle. Since Blaise is sort of in with the Death Eater crowd at school, I always thought his whole family would be one of those anti-Muggle Pureblood families. (Also, that his mother sent him to a Muggle primary school is interesting as well.) Honestly, the story is made more compelling by the fact that this isn't the case.

I found the idea of Blaise accidentally floating the rings off the pillow and his mother catching them adorable and endearing!

Blaise in the books always came across to me as very cool and aloof, so I'm intrigued by your characterization of him - he's very emotional over the photos of all his fathers and he tears up at the thought of leaving his little sister.

I hope we get to see more of the relationship between Mia and Blaise because it seems like an adorable one!

I like this a lot! Nice job!

-Kayla
#ROAR

 Report Review

Review #6, by ButterflyWings New

31st May 2015:
Hello again Lottie!!

This is another fabulous chapter about Blaise. I admire how you can change pace and cover a matter of hours in as interesting way as you covered a number of years. I felt like much more of Blaise's personality came out in this chapter. He's not prone to fanatic panicking like other students (as he didn't believe the hype about sorting).

The description and observations from Blaise are a lovely new angle to the approach to Hogwarts. I mean, we have an idea from Harry what it was like but it didn't feel like I was reading a re-hashed scene from the books. The whole scene felt fresh. While you're not JKR, I felt much of the same magic she writes with the first time someone goes into Hogwarts.

Blaise's prior acquaintances do a good job at showing his social circles (or his mother's). It must be annoying to always be last - I think it's also boring for people who go at the front of the alphabet (because they are also waiting for most of whatever to be over). I loved the Sorting Hat's thoughts on Blaise - it must be unnerving for an 11 year old for a hat to read one's mind.

My favorite interaction at the Slytherin isn't Daphne giving Blaise a hard time about his muggle stepfather (htough, I did love it) it was Theo's warning about having connections to muggles. That must have been so difficult for Blaise considering his family.

I really hope you have more to this soon!

 Report Review

Review #7, by ButterflyWings Boy

31st May 2015:
Hello my dear!

Blaise is such an interesting character to write about. It's been fun to see the submissions to the Blaise challenge. I hadn't thought about the perspective of a kid whose mom married so many times throughout his life. I'm happy that his memories of the various fathers were happy - at least it was not dark like other pureblood family stories can be.

I imagine being sent away to school was helpful both for Blaise and his mother's marriage. The feeling I got in the books was that Blaise's mother is some sort of black widow who offs her husbands for money but Blaise remembering her sadness at the third husband's death suggests otherwise.

The fourth busband is my favorite - it was quite surprising to see her marry a muggle. Blaise's happiness in that family is quite sweet. I was surprised that his step family didn't know about them being magical - that had to be weird for his mother to hide (and for Blaise with his magic just popping up then). A very cynical part of me wonders if the potion his mother gave was poison. She had to feel deeply for that husband as she kept his daughter. Blaise having a muggle sister makes his school friendships quite interesting.

I'm very interested to see what happens with husband 5 and beyond.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Lostmyheart New

15th May 2015:
I'm finally here, Lottie! I am so sorry for the wait, I had school, test exams, then my laptop refused to let me into the HPFF website. I fixed that today.

I am loving this slow progress with your story, and I enjoy the different thoughts he has during the chapter. It surprised me to see that he knew some of the other first years, I always forget that even though it's a big country, the magical people are not in great numbers like the Muggles, so of course some of the children are bound to know each other from their parents friends and associations.

I noticed that little detail with the blonde boy, wink wink. It's Draco, am I right? :b

I love your writing as always, it's so smooth and with wonderful details. I can't wait to see where you'll go with this and thank you so much for entering my challenge! I hope you enjoy writing Blaise.

Lots of hugs,
Avi

 Report Review

Review #9, by TreacleTart Boy

24th April 2015:
Hi there,

I was looking for something to read and happened to come across this. I've never actually read a story about Blaise before, at least not one where he's the main character. In fact, I honestly draw a blank when I try to imagine him.

I was pretty intrigued by the fact that all of his fathers keep dying. I get the distinct impression that his mother is a black widow type serial killer. I wonder if he realizes it too and just doesn't want to say anything because she's his mum.

One thing I did wonder about was Blaise's attitude towards Muggles and Muggleborns. In the books he seems to pretty much hate them, but here he has one for a sister. He even seems to be affectionate towards her. It makes me wonder how he grew to hate them so.

The addition of the muggle sister is nice, but I worry that she might be headed for death as well. It seems like after she sees one or two fathers die, it might click that her stepmum is a serial killer.

All in all, I thought this was an intriguing start. I'm curious to see where you'll take it.

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hi Kaitlin :)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this. I love challenges because you end up writing things you didn't even consider before. This was one such case, so I am very grateful to Avi for hosting the Blaise Awareness Challenge,

If I'm honest, my Blaise headcanon changes pretty regularly. I guess that because he is such a minor character in the books, he can be interpreted in so many ways.

What why would you think such a thing about his poor sweet mother *shifty eyes* I have no idea what you are talking about ;)

Ooh you caught me. That does come into the story later on though, as he progresses to and through Hogwarts. As for whether Mia is going to die... Well that remains a mystery for now.

I'm glad you liked it, and thank you once again for such a lovely review.

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia and anne Boy

19th April 2015:
YES!!! A BLAISE STORY! I LOVE BLAISE! :D

Awww it's about his dad's, poor guy, going through a lot of them, just as he gets used to them, they're ripped away from him.

I wonder what's causing them all to die? What is his mother doing?

I absolutely love that he likes his sister so much, and I can't help but wonder if that will change when he goes to Hogwarts?

I can't wait to read more! And find out what's happening to them all!

So much excitement! :D

Author's Response: INDEED, BLAISE STORY! WHOO :P

What's causing them to die? *shifty eyes* Why would you suspect his dear, sweet mother who is so happy in all her photographs hmm? Haha, all will be revealed in time...

Blaise is a cutie isn't he? I love writing young Blaise, especially being all 'older brother' ish. I'm really glad you like it so far.

Thank you so much for this review Tammi! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lostmyheart Boy

10th April 2015:
Lottie!

I am so happy to get my very first entry for the Blaise Awareness Challenge. This is so exciting.

I love the slow start, how he looks through the pictures and calls each and every man in his mother's life for father.
It made me think that he was in need of a father, and therefore didn't care whether or not it was his biological father. That ending though, meeting his fifth father. Heartbreaking.

That scene where he saw his mother try to ease his fourth father's pain with several potions made me think she was poisoning him, without him knowing. He just thought she was helping him. Kind of reminds me of what I wrote in my story Halcyon Days. I wrote a similar scene, except he knew she had killed him on purpose.

I am looking forward to see what Mia will tell Blaise while he's at Hogwarts! And I love the fact that she's a muggle, and he isn't prejudiced like the Malfoy's are. Which makes me wonder why he even become friends with Draco.

I love your writing, as always, so I am very excited to see where this story is going!

Love,
Avi

Author's Response: Avi!

Ahh I'm so excited. I am loving this challenge, truly. I have no idea why I haven't written Blaise before because he is really fun to write. Which reminds me that I need to Finnish the second chapter tonight if I'm actually going to post it before the deadline :P

Ooh you picked up on that. To me, Blaise does need a father and he sort of becomes accustomed to having different fathers. He has a rose-tinted view of his mother because she is the only person he has ever really had as a constant presence in his life.

*shifty eyes* well that, my friend, remains a mystery until later chapters! I don't want to give too much away yet haha.

Eek I'm so pleased! Thank you so much for this lovely review.

Thank you Avi *hugs* im really pleased you are liking it so far.

Lottie x


 Report Review

Review #12, by Oregonian Boy

10th April 2015:
Hi! This opening chapter is an intriguing beginning to your story because in some aspects it is right in character with the Blaise we know from the seven books, and in other aspects it is very different.

Your Blaise is a remarkably cool, self-controlled child for having experienced so many potentially unsettling changes in his short lifetime with this long parade of fathers, and in this regard he is like the Blaise we see later—calm, self-controlled, seemingly not affected much by what is going on around him.

What surprises me is his history of benign exposure to the Muggle world, attending a Muggle school and then having a Muggle stepfather and stepsister for whom he held genuine affection. This attitude of Muggle acceptance contrasts greatly with his expressed attitude in the seven books, and makes me think that your upcoming chapters, tracing his experiences at Hogwarts School, will show us what made him change, and whether his new attitude of disdain for Muggles is genuine or some kind of a false front (and if so, for what purpose). This all makes him a potentially more complex character than the cliche Muggle-hating pureblood.

You have shown a lot of backstory in a brief space of writing. The use of the photographs is a good device. As he looks at each photograph briefly, one last time before leaving home, we have time to learn just a little bit about each father before he moves on to the next photo.

I had always had a worse impression of his mother, knowing little about her except that she had many husbands, and perhaps we automatically think the worst of her for that, picturing a serial divorcee who marries, lovelessly, for money and who discards no-longer-useful husbands without a backward glance. Or, more ominously, a serial murderess. But you present a much more appealing picture of her, although still without explaining why she had such terrible luck with husbands.

Your writing is smooth and graceful. I enjoyed reading it and am looking forward to reading the subsequent chapters. I wrote a little bit of Blaise myself in the second chapter of my two-chapter story “The Crofter and the Snake” and in some writing exercises for a class I took at another site. He is an intriguing character; we know just enough about him to be able to take him in a variety of different directions.

Nice job. Thank you for writing.

Vicki

Author's Response: Hey Vicki :)

Wow, thank you so much for such a fabulous review! I'm glad you could see some of the characteristics that Blaise has in the books. As for the 'distain for Muggles', that shall be introduced in further chapters. As you so correct suspected.

I hope to make him a slightly more complex character. After all, he is mentioned very little and so there is a lot to explore.

I'm pleased you liked the photographs! I wasn't sure if it would get repetitive, so its nice to hear that it worked for you.

Personally I feel, at this point in time at least, he kind of hero-worships his mother. She has been the only constant presence in his life thus far. I don't believe she marries lovelessly, but there is certainly more to come on that front.

Thank you very much. I'm smiling so much right now. I do like Blaise, and I'm glad this challenge got me writing him.

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotter Boy

10th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I adored this. I think Blaise is such an interesting character, since JKR tells us almost nothing about him, and I love what you've done with him here. It has to be really hard have lots of step fathers, but it's even more sad that they have all died.
I thought it was really interesting that they're all referred to as fathers, and not stepfathers, and it makes me think that Blaise was somewhat close to them all. Also, I really liked your choice to make one of them a Muggle. Since JKR writes Blaise as a Slytherin, and one of Draco's friends, I loved that you did something different and didn't make his family really prejudiced against Muggles.
This was a really great story! Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

I'm glad you liked it :) Every story I've read featuring Blaise portrays him so differently, probably because Rowling gave us so little to go on, and so everyone fills in the gaps with different words. I'm pleased you liked my version though.

I wondered how everyone would react to the muggle father part. I know it's not exactly conventional, but there is reason for it which should turn up later on. I don't think all Slytherins were pureblood fanatics, even if they pretended to be.

Thank you!

Lottie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login