Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Between the Lines
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by cherry_pop94 Any-way-what-how

19th February 2016:
Hello! I'm here for bvb!

Amelia-orate! That's the cutest thing I've ever heard. This whole story was absolutely beyond adorable. I loved it!

Minerva is obviously absolutely brilliant! NEWT level transfiguration by second year? WOW. And I could just picture little eleven-year-old Minerva proudly showing young Dumbledore her accomplishments and he just pats her on the head and tells her that someday she'll be great. Ahh! How right he was!!

And then Amelia. Oh you really know how to make me ship a pair. Amelia and Minerva were made for each other. And to think that they grow up to become the formidable Professor McGonagall and the unbreakable head of the DMLE! I can already see them growing into the unstoppable witches they eventually become!

I loved this!!

Stefanie

 Report Review

Review #2, by Frankie05 Any-way-what-how

12th August 2015:
Hey Beth,

What an interesting tAke. I don't normally do female slash but I think you have something working for you in this story. Obviously the two start out as just friends and it will work it's way from there!

Starting off with Minerva- I love her characterization and then ultimately the way Amelia looks at her with awe and admiration. Minerva is brilliant, we can tell that from what JK gave us and you did a beautiful job setting all of that up! She is so very clever and I have no doubt that she would have achieved all that she had done as a second year? It's amazing. And of course her transfiguration teacher and mentor was Albus! Yes!

Amelia walks in on the scene and is seen as a friend and confidant. Equal probably in wisdom and desire for learning. I like that she is so kind and generous and trying to help. And she does and Minerva responds to her even though she probably doesn't have many friends.

You should continue this story. It definitely has potential.

Frankie

Author's Response: Frankie,

Wow - thanks for picking this story :) I've definitely stepped out of my comfort zone with this one.

Some readers have felt that I've made Minerva a little *too* advanced, but I really felt she would've been one of the top students that passed through Hogwarts - maybe since Dumbledore and that's why he's taken such a liking to her.

I also think Minerva would choose to be close with others who are very intelligent as well. And because she's so smart, there aren't very many people who can keep up with her- haha.

I am definitely continuing this story, but I'm putting it on hold for a little bit.

Thanks so much for this review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #3, by Infinityx Any-way-what-how

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Slytherin

Hi again Beth! I just HAD to stop by this. Minerva and Amelia, wow, you're taking on two characters that are certainly not written very often, especially at this age.

I love the way you've characterised them both. They're obviously really smart, genius level, and that makes them different from the others. I really like that you've chosen this theme for this. Bullying - to any extent - is so common, especially in schools, and we see it happening so often especially if someone is a bit different from others. It all comes down to being the minority, doesn't it. It's really sad.

Anyway, I'm getting sidetracked. I love how Minerva is taking advanced courses already, it just shows the extent of her amazing capabilities. Amelia too. It's great how she found Minerva and stopped her from doing something stupid. And calling Minerva dignified was such an amazing way to make her feel better!

I love how comfortable they both are with each other. And that bit with their faces being really close. How subtle, Beth. :P So obviously they've got some chemistry as well. Will a romance start brewing? Only the next chapter will tell. So update soon!

Author's Response: Hi Erin,

Yay! Thanks so much for this review! I get so giddy when people notice all the little things I put into the story - like how they're both very smart, but handle it differently and how they have a connection, even at such an early age.

I'm holding off updating this for a bit. I've made a few goals to get some other things finished and I feel like that will free me up to work on this without the other distractions.

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by crestwood Any-way-what-how

11th June 2015:
Hi Beth! I'm so excited to review this! I've wanted to ever since I first read it.

I want to commend you for writing about McGonagall because NO ONE EVER DOES! And seeing her written as a young girl is definitely not something I've ever seen before. I love the image of Minerva as a bit of a prodigy. There's not enough made of how brilliant she really is, I would say. And her being interdisciplinary is equally awesome!

I never understood how Muggleborn students found out about the magical world and didn't immediately search for every resource they could find on the history of it all. That's what I would do without a doubt. It's literally a whole new world to explore!

You write the wonder of childhood so well. Having kids must help with that because I truly struggle with getting inside a kid's head. It blows my mind that you aren't a professional writer sometimes because everything you do is so foolproof and calculated.

And private meetings with Dumbledore! All of this is my headcanon now. I really enjoy everything you've come up with. And name dropping Uncle Bilius is kind of the most awesome thing ever, by the way.

Amelia Bones is not a character I think about often, but the way you've written her is so special here. She's spontaneous and kind and intelligent--the very best kind of character. You get that feeling within two paragraphs of reading her, you really do.

Also, 'any-way-what-how' is SO GOOD.

I love how nonchalant Amelia is about the things she can do. And I love their interaction and how casual it is, even though you can feel that they do have a connection. They may be too young to know it, but you allow the reader to know and it's perfect. This is so sweet and beautifully written. I can't get over how talented you are!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

Author's Response: Asdfghjkl;!

Joey. This review. I'm silly-stupid-tripping-over-myself with this one. And you'd even read the chapter before I posted it and helped give me so much feedback and then THIS!

Thanks so much.

I know, right?! I would be reading EVERYTHING to figure it all out.

Yeah, having kids helps to write them better. I get a realistic view of kids everyday, so I can put little details here and there.

McGonagall is intimidating to write. I worry that I'm not getting her character spot-on, so thanks for the vote of confidence.

And gah! you noticed about Amelia. I really wanted to portray that people could be really intelligent in different ways - and also deal with their gifts completely differently. Amelia is very nonchalant about her talents, while Minerva has always highlighted them. I think it also gives this pairing a balance.

Thanks again, Joey. I'm putting this story on hold for a while, because I promised myself I was going to finish up a few things, first and I really want to give this story its due.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by Felpata Lupin Any-way-what-how

8th May 2015:
Hi Beth!
I thought I'd stop by and leave you a review (should've done it ages ago, since I've already read some of your works and simply adored them! But I'm lazy...)

I really liked this little one shot! So terribly cute!

Your characterization of both Minerva and Amelia was really wonderfully done, and I loved the simplicity you used to describe the connection between the two bright young witches.

I also loved the way you played with the names' theme. Minerva coming up with Amelia-orate is just so adorable!!! It's really a lovely name :)

Such a sweet story, I really enjoyed reading it!

Hugs,
Chiara

Author's Response: Hi Chiara!

Thank you so much! It was so kind of you to read and review!

I'm so glad you like my characters. Minerva was easy to figure out from the books, but I had some fun with Amelia!

This story isn't actually a one-shot - it's going to be a novella about the love story between Amelia and Minerva. I hope you come back to read the other chapters when they're up!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by Aphoride Any-way-what-how

8th May 2015:
Hey Beth! :) Dropping by for the BvB Battle!

So, I have to admit that as much as I love Minerva's backstory on Pottermore, I do have a soft spot for queer!Minerva stories, mostly because they're always so lovely and so sad, and so well-written, and really this is no exception. (Apart from the sad bit, obviously :P)

I love how you wrote Minerva, too. If I'm honest, I'm never overly fond of the incredible genius child character, but here I think it works okay - because she still has problems because of it, and I know you're a talented enough writer to have given Minerva things she struggles with or finds more difficult and so on ;) That being said, I love how similar she is to the character we know in the books, with Amelia remarking on the way she carries her self - 'dignified' is a good way to describe it! - and also how she's still very brave and loyal, as she is.

Amelia is a great character, too - I like how they sort of become friends over the teasing and by accident, with Amelia almost rescuing Minerva by pulling her into the passage, and then them exploring the passage they found and discovering where it leads. I loved the little hints of future romance, too - they were perfectly done for children who probably don't even really quite get the idea of romance and all that yet, with the silence and the closeness and then the sort of unusual feelings. It was a really nice inclusion.

As always your writing in this is so lovely - your description is so so good, especially when they're in the passage, that was so clear in my mind, I could literally see it. Your dialogue, as always, is amazing - really, can you teach me how you dialogue? Please? Because it's just so good - they sound like they're from an older time (which I think is about the early 1950s/late 1940s?), but they also do sound like children, which is so hard to do, but so great! :)

I'm so so curious to see where this goes, and how Minerva and Amelia continue as friends (and admittedly somewhat as to how the Albus/Gellert comes into it because OTP :P) and how their romance develops later on - and how things end up in total. This is an amazing first chapter! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi there Aph!

So - good news (at least I hope you think it's good news)! I've sorted this story out so that it is Pottermore compliant AND Minerva/Amelia are the main pairing. I don't want to say too much, other than Minerva is bisexual and that plays a big part in their love story.

Yeah, I didn't want to go overboard with how brilliant Minerva is - and I'm not entirely sure I got it the way I wanted to, but I'm convinced that she was a really, really gifted student at Hogwarts.

So, me and my nerd-self has made a timeline of events for this story - and Albus Dumbldore does play a minor role in it. However, from what I can tell, Minerva McGonagall started Hogwarts in 1946 and Albus Dumbledore dueled Grindelwald in 1945. So, there won't be too much Albus/Gellert interaction per se, but he will get a mention...

Gah! - thanks so much - I actually think my dialogue is pretty awful, so I really appreciate you noticing that!

I've got most of the story outlined... I just need to... erm... sit down an get to it!

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by TreacleTart Any-way-what-how

3rd May 2015:
Hey Beth!

I'm here for our review swap!

Professor McGonagall is one of my absolute favorite characters, but I find that fics about her youth are quite rare. When I started reading this, I was quite excited!

I think you've done a brilliant job of characterizing McGonagall. She does seem a bit like Hermione, but perhaps a bit more rigid and maybe even a touch more skilled. I could imagine the different Professors being quite excited about all of the promise she showed in the different subjects. Professor Dumbledore certainly seemed to notice since he decided to give her private lessons in the subject. He clearly doesn't do that for just anyone.

Whenever I read a romance or fluff story, I'm always concerned with the pace at which the characters fall for each other. LGBTQA or not, I've noticed a tendency throughout fics to move at a very rapid pace. This story, however, moves at a very natural pace. It felt like Minerva and Amelia were becoming friends first, which is how normal relationships happen in real life. It felt very innocent and appropriate for their age. It was just the smallest of spark.

I'm not sure if you plan to write anymore about this pairing, but I'd love to read more of it. I'd be curious to know what their relationship was like and why they didn't stay together. I also think there could be some brilliant potential to show Minerva's reaction to Amelia's death at the beginning of the Second wizarding war.

I did notice a few small typos, but nothing major.

It was her great Scottish pride that she called upon in time like these. Ė in times like these

It wasnít that they young witch didnít enjoy her time at Hogwarts - the young witch

Finally, I love the way that you incorporated your word into this story. I thought the idea of using it as a nickname was quite clever. I think I've now read most of the entries for the Logophile challenge as well as written one myself and I have to tell you, I do not envy Carla's position on this one. It's going to be tough to judge with excellent entries like this one!

Anyways, thanks for such an enjoyable swap!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hi there Kaitlin!

Thanks so much for picking this story! Eeep! I'm so, so glad you like my characterization of McGonagall - I did a bit of research, but all the same, I don't often write Hogwarts-aged characters. Also, McGonagall is seen solely as an authority figure in the books and it was a challenge to extrapolate that back to how she would be at age twelve.

I know what you mean about the pace of most romance stories. I've been cognizant to keep my stories at a more realistic flow for the romance.

I do plan to write more - I've got the entire story mapped out (and I'm wondering if you have telepathy because... well - I don't want to say *too* much). Anyway, I'm working through the second chapter now.

Aargh! I thought I'd fixed those typos. Thanks for pointing them out!

Haha - I know what you mean about this challenge - I've read a few of the other entries as well and all I can say is that... I'm glad I'm not Carla! (hee hee)

Thanks again for doing a swap!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by Flower n Prongs Any-way-what-how

1st May 2015:
I'm dropping in for the BvB review battle.

I was a bit nervous to see how this played out, but I have to say that your characterization of young Minerva McGonagall is absolutely brilliant. You have brought in the knowledge that she was a Gryffindor/Ravenclaw hat-stall beautifully in this. It is clear from the way you write her that she is not just smart, but gifted with all the quirks that comes with those students: the different way of thinking, the knowing without needing to be taught, getting things with little practice, and being isolated from classmates who are not working on their level nor thinking in a similar way. This works with older McGonagall and seems like a perfect choice to fit into canon. Even the fact that she studied History of Magic before school rather than Transfiguration seems right, given magical laws and not having her fill in her future role immediately.

Since we know Amelia Bones was also very smart, showing that she too is a gifted witch and that Minerva will have somebody who performs on her level is excellent. This seems like the kind of person she would need to have a relationship with, because she clearly values intellect so much. The emotions of nerves for a young girl who probably has not had many (or any) crushes before was a great way of showing what she was feeling without outright stating it.

And, of course, I loved the cameo of younger Dumbledore. He is the kind of person to take on students to teach personally at things he thinks they need (and, clearly, young Minerva needs more mental stimulation than she is getting from her peers) so it was lovely to see him. Showing kind Pomona Sprout helping a younger student was also a nice touch that weaves this to canon nicely.

I'm glad I took the chance to read this. I truly enjoyed the first chapter. =)

- Rhaenyra

Author's Response: Hello!

Ahh! Thanks so much for this super-kind review! I'm always really nervous when I attempt a character that I've never done before. I also usually stay away from Hogwarts-aged characters, but this one just sort-of demanded a few chapters in her somewhat impressionable years.

I'm also so, so happy that you picked up on what I've been trying to do with Amelia. I feel like Minerva would only be satisfied with an intellectual equal as a partner and I had to make Amelia "smart in a different way." She needed to be a bit of an enigma to Minerva.

I've got a bit of a rough road planned for them ahead - and I can't wait to see what you think of it!

Thanks again - this review was amazing!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by patronus_charm Any-way-what-how

14th April 2015:
Hey Beth!

I liked how you examined the negative effects of being so smart, because most people only show it as a good thing, but it was good that you gave it a balanced approach. It made me sad to see how she had to deal with it though as theyíre all so stupid and even though it was just name calling you could see how much it had hurt Minerva and how she had to fight back with all the Scottish pride that she had.

Aw, I really liked Amelia. She had this measured approach and how she always wanted to get justice in the world and that reminded me of how she was one of the few people who was kind to Harry. I found it quite funny that Minerva was actually in awe of someoneís magical abilities though, and I can see why they would get along because they can probably relate to how it feels to be more intelligent than the others. I can see this being a really cute ship!

Amelia-orate is such a cute nickname, it just seems to suggest someone very, very wise so itís very fitting for Amelia! Aw, these two are very cute so I hope moreís up soon!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana,

Thanks so much for this! Yeah, I thought Hogwarts would be a little difficult for Minerva, socially. I really, really wanted to write this pairing, so I had to give Amelia some serious talent as well. I also thought that Minerva would need a friend who was a bit on the silly side - to sort of balance her out.

I'm glad you like the nickname! It was the word that gave me the push to write the story!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by Beeezie Any-way-what-how

11th April 2015:
Hey, Iím here for BvB!

I really enjoyed this. I think it can be really difficult to write kids - I definitely shy away from it for that reason! - but your portrayal of second-year Minerva was perfect. The kids were so realistically obnoxious - twelve year olds are so easily amused by the stupidest things sometimes, and they can be so insecure that they canít laugh off nonsense like ďMinervousĒ for the ridiculousness that it is. I can completely see why Minerva felt uncomfortable and excluded, and I can also see how her tendency to talk more to professors because she was more comfortable with them probably turned into a little bit of a self-fulfilling prophecy.

I also loved how Amelia approached Minerva - I think she needed that friend and to feel like she wasnít alone, and I can see how Amelia could be that for her. Iím curious to see where you take their friendship - Ameliaís clearly been paying close attention to Minerva and is a lot more outgoing, but Minerva is already clearly feeling a little off-kilter from their conversation. Iím not sure yet whether itís the shock of having a friend at all or something about Amelia herself - Iíll be interested to see who develops and articulates their feelings first!

The only thing I wasnít sure about was the level you depicted Minerva (and Amelia, for that matter) at. Ahead of everyone else and ostracized for it, I can totally see, but teaching fifth years or performing a Disillusionment Spell at 12? That seemed unlikely to me. I usually use Hermione as a vague benchmark, because everyone was so impressed by her, and this is so far beyond what we saw from Hermione that I had a hard time believing it. I felt like you probably could have kept the same sentiment without making it quite so fantastic, and I think your setting the standards so high here might make writing about their later years at Hogwarts difficult.

Other than that, though, this was an amazing job, and I canít wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Hi there Branwen,

So, so sorry that I've taken so long to reply to this lovely review. This story is definitely out of my comfort zone, as I've never written a slash pairing before, but you're right - writing 12 year old kids can be just as daunting! Thank you so much for your comments, as I'm breathing a huge sigh of relief that it came off as realistic.

Also, I appreciate your notes on their magical abilities. I did do a fair bit of research (Pottermore, et al) for this part and I actually think Minerva is the benchmark (at least in my own head). I also remember Hermione being referred to as "the smartest which of her age" - which made me thing that while she was very, very gifted and clearly top of her class at Hogwarts, there were others before her who were even more gifted - enter Minerva. And I want to clarify (and I'm going to check back in the story to make sure I didn't slip up) - Minerva was helping the fifth years with History of Magic, because Minerva had studied/read about History on her own up to that level. In her other courses, she's about two years ahead (4th year or so). I also chose that "two years ahead" mark because that is the *general* definition of a gifted child (for all of us mere muggles - haha!).

The disillusionment spell from Amelia is quite a feat, but she excels in some very specific areas, where Minerva is quite talented overall.

Thanks again - I'm just so excited that this story is being so well received!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by Chaser-ing you Any-way-what-how

11th April 2015:
Hello Beth.

I'm Chaser-ing you, and I was playing Quidditch with my team when your story came into sight. So I ditched my teammates (I don't think they're going to be very happy about that) and came here to review it.

I love Minerva. I've always found her to be a fascinating character, and I think you wrote her very believable. I myself would not dare to take on such a task as a young Minerva, so all honor to you for even attempting it. And you did succeed with her.

I'd never even thought of Amelia and Minerva having a friendship, but it just seemed perfectly natural when I saw it in your story. I found myself thinking "of course, they're friends. Why wouldn't they be?", and that does not happen to me very often. So you're definitely talented!

I liked how you included the word "amelieorate". That was the word you got for the challenge, right? It was perfect, really.

Oh no, the other team is winning over us. I'm going to have to fly back to the game so we don't lose again.

See ya around the forums.

Yours sincerely

Chaser-ing you

Author's Response: Hiya!

Eep! Thanks so much for this review! It was completely unexpected and entirely lovely.

Yes! "Ameliorate" was my challenge word - and I think I might need to go back to my author's note and state that - haha!

I'd been toying around with this story in my head for a while and when I got that word, it gave me the push to write out the first chapter.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by toomanycurls Any-way-what-how

9th April 2015:
Love.

I feel most of my reviews on your stuff could be summarized by that word.

I would be terrified to write about Minerva as a young girl but you jumped in and made her so believable. I'm glad you didn't make her as rigid as she is as an adult but she seems very realistic. I love how smart and self-taught Minerva is. I really liked her reaction to the mean nickname (in that it did kind of unnerve her). I could see that happening to someone as heated as we see Minerva in the books but before she's really mastered being calm, cool, an collected (generally).

Amelia - oh how i adore her. I love that she didn't stand for the bullying but she didn't let Minerva stoop to hexing people in the hallways. She did a great job at difusing the hurt feelings Minerva had.

What I really like about this is how the chapter makes me feel. I love the budding friendship, sense of victory over Billius (Wealsey?!??!) and his immature antics, and something along the lines of a thrill of exhileration at being young girls. I got the feeling that Amelia knew who Minerva was much more than Minerva had been aware of her.

Excellent chapter!!

-Rose

Author's Response: Aaah! Rose. I can't even with your reviews. Oh, my. I'm so, so glad that I did Minerva justice. This story has been knocking around in my head for ages and the logophile's challenge sort of hit me over the head with the word "ameliorate" and I took it as a sign and hammered out the first chapter.

Yes! It is Bilius Weasley - Ron was named after his great uncle, if I recall and I ran with it :)

Amelia is much better at reading people than Minerva - and although Minerva is book-smarter than Amelia (at least a little bit), she has a lot of growing to do in the area of personal relationships.

Thanks again Rose - ah! This review was awesome!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by HeyMrsPotter Any-way-what-how

7th April 2015:
Hi, Beth! Here for our swap :)

I've read more and more slash stories on the archives recently and I'm very quickly becoming addicted to them, so I'm glad you asked for this one :) I absolutely LOVE your summary by the way!

I absolutely adore the way you've written a young McGonagall. Still as formal and sensible as we know her to be as an adult, but with hints of the excitable nature of a child, and a naivety. She's brilliant. I particularly loved the way you portray her love of all things magic, and that paragraph about her transfiguring the matchstick was beautifully descriptive.

My favourite thing about this whole chapter though is Amelia. She's just so fun! I can perfectly picture her chatting away animatedly and not stopping for breath. Her confidence and nonchalance is so endearing. I'm definitely adding this to my favourites and will be pestering you regularly for updates! I'm excited to see where you take their new found friendship.

Thanks for the swap, Beth ♥

Author's Response: Hiya!

I'm so glad we did this swap! And this review - Gah! You've got me reduced to a puddle, over here.

Eeep! I'm so glad you like my Amelia! I really wanted to write her as fun, a bit silly and brilliant - and that can be hard to meld. I've got the story outlined until the end, but I'm a bit nervous to take on the second chapter. Your review has definitely helped me to gain some confidence with it.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by CambAngst Any-way-what-how

7th April 2015:
Hi, Beth! I hope you're having an awesome time in London!

I'm going to try something that's completely new for me. I read this story yesterday, and I'm actually going to try to write as much of this review as possible without having the story open in front of me. It's partly to test my own recollection, but hopefully you'll also get an idea of what parts of the story made the biggest impression.

One really interesting thing about reading LBGTQ stories is that I'm never sure going in how much the story is going to focus on romance as opposed to other aspects of a relationship. Or, for that matter, whether a relationship is going to be the focus of the story at all. What you've written is perfectly age-appropriate for these two young women. They don't feel fireworks at the touch of the other's skin, they don't get lost in each other's eyes. That would be a bit silly for girls this age. Instead, they relate to one another on the level that girls this age actually engage. They sneak about, they hold hands, they gossip and they make up nicknames for each other.

I really like the way you set up McGonagall's character. She's obviously very advanced academically, but perhaps a bit behind socially. Either behind, or way too far ahead, I suppose. Either way, she isn't going to be able to relate to kids like Bilius Weasley. She relates to the world and to other people like a small adult, albeit one who's a little on the emotionally fragile side.

Amelia is a great compliment to Minerva in many regards. She's also very studious, but she's probably also a little more balanced socially. She understands where Bilius and his friends are coming from enough to be able to put them in the proper context. At the same time, she can easily relate to Minerva. She seems to be able to bridge those two worlds fairly effortlessly.

The nicknames were clever, I thought, in that both "Minified" and "Ameliaorate" had a bit of ambiguity to them. Either one could easily be interpreted as a put-down. At the same time, they have a deeper meaning to the two girls who made them up. It's a small thing, but it felt like the start of something that could be shared between the two of them.

OK, I've gone about as far as I can go without looking back at the story. Bringing it up...

First off, it's actually LGBTQA. It's funny sometimes, how many labels we need in order to be inclusive.

It struck me as I was reading this how much young Minerva reminded me of a young Hermione. Kind of makes you wonder how things would have been different for Hermione without Harry and Ron around to corrupt her.

I loved your descriptions of the way using magic felt to young Minerva. It's no wonder that she and Dumbledore gravitated toward one another.

I'd highlighted my favorite passage: It was true, in fact, that she was indeed rarely nervous. This particular moment excepting, of course.

I like the way you focused on Amelia's eyes. It really helped to put the story in Minerva's perspective.

A few small things I noticed:

It was her great Scottish pride that she called upon in time like these. -- times like these

It was decidedly quieter in the small space. The heavy cloth of the tapestry muffled the sounds within the small space and made the voice seem as if it were speaking directly into her head. -- You use "small space" in two consecutive sentences. It's not a huge thing, but it reads a little awkwardly.

"Yup. 'Minifed' is much, much better. It's a cross between 'Minerva' and 'dignified.' - Minified

This was a really neat story! Would you possibly give any thought to making it longer? Perhaps a sequel? I think I would enjoy reading more.

Author's Response: Hi there Dan,

So sorry to take such a long time to reply to this review, I was blown away by it and I wanted to do it justice. Actually, your comment about *how* you review by having the story open at the same time has prompted me to consider posting a thread in the "Much Ado About Reviews" subforum :)

I do intend to finish this story, and focus on their romance as well. However, I'm going to try to keep it Pottermore compliant as well... yeah... we'll see how that goes.

I did a bit of research about McGonagall and she was indeed an impressively talented witch from the get-go. I think she was even more gifted than Hermione - at least that is how I'm characterizing her. Since she was raised as a muggle, I wanted to explore how out of place she would feel at Hogwarts, at least initially. I also wanted her to find balance in Amelia. She was a blast to write and Minerva is somewhat confused and simultaneously in awe of someone who can be *both* gifted magically and have such a shining personality.

I think I fixed all the typos - thanks!

I'm not sure if I explained this adequately, but I wrote this (in part) for the logphile's challenge and the word I was given was ameliorate. I'd been toying with an Amelia/Minerva story for a while (even had some notes on the computer) and it just seemed to flow! I did have to search for *quite* a while to find a word for Minerva that sounded more positive. I settled on Minified - and I'm still not entirely happy with it, but I really liked the idea...

I do have several chapters laid out for this one - but they definitely get more dramatic and dark from here on out, and I'm struggling a bit to form them the way I want :(

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth



 Report Review

Review #15, by BellaLestrange87 Any-way-what-how

6th April 2015:
This is for the Blue vs Bronze review battle!

I love the beginning of this chapter, about how Minerva was picked on/bullied by her peers, and how she decided it was because she was smarter than everyone else. Right there you've made her really relatable for me, as pretty much all through elementary school I was the smart kid with no friends, which is (sort of) how you've characterized Minerva.

I love how curious Minerva is about everything, and classes, and how she just wants to learn more, more, more. I think I read somewhere about how she was a hatstall between Gryffindor and Ravenclaw and this fits that perfectly.

Your description of how captivated she was by Transfiguration was perfect. It's one thing that I've always wondered about - how the Hogwarts professors knew they loved their subject - as well as in real life in general (since I still have no idea what to do with myself).

I love how Amelia and Minerva met and bonded, over both of them being smarter than pretty much everyone else. Their friendship progressed very naturally over the course of the chapter and everything was perfect. I loved the teasing and light banter about names.

Here are some typos I noticed:

It wasnít that they young witch didnít enjoy her time at Hogwarts - quite the contrary. - that the young witch

ďOh! Aplogies - I forgot! Finite Incantatum.Ē - apologies

ďThe Great Hall.Ē Both girls said in unison, as they stepped out of the passageway and climbed around a particularly large set of knightís armour housed on a stone plinth. - This isn't necessarily a typo, per se, but it looks like it should be a comma after 'Hall' instead of a period.

Long story short, this looks awesome and I can't wait for the next chapter *wink*

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hi Olivia!

Eeep! So excited that you picked this one to review! I think I've fixed all the typos that you found (thanks!).

So, I did a bit of research on Minerva before writing this and I'm going to do my best to keep this story in canon AND Pottermore compliant. She was indeed a hatstall and also a very gifted student - I chose to highlight this and use it as a launching point for my story.

I was very nervous about this story because it was my first go at a slash pairing, so your review is so much appreciated!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login