Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Our Brand of Normal
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by krazyboutharryginny Chapter One

14th April 2017:
Hey there, reviewing for CTF!

I thought this was really interesting. Approaching a story through looking at the question of normalcy is an approach that I think will almost always yield compelling results.

I think it was a really smart idea to start this from what is, as far as I can tell, the end (or near the end) of the story. I'm really curious now to know everything that went down between this group of people, and especially what's going on with Albus and Charlotte. And, coming back to the theme of normalcy - I have a feeling that a lot of the events of the year have to do with the members of the newsletter team discovering things about each other (well... you pretty much explain that near the beginning) and I'm definitely interested to know what those things are, and learn more about these people, even though they're almost all nameless as of yet.

(Kinda brings to mind The Breakfast Club - and I love that movie!)

I also have to say that I love the idea of Hogwarts having a newsletter! There's certainly enough going on at that school to justify having one! Hahaha.

I think this is a great start, and I know you haven't updated since 2015 but if you ever do I'd be interested to read more of this story :)

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #2, by The Basilisk Chapter One

28th December 2015:
Hello Ssslytherinchica~~~ I know you, and you may know me too, so I'm here for a review ;)

Interesting, interesting. I wonder what happened between Charlotte and Albus. Quite honestly with your LGBTQA-friendly intro, I figured it was a dude ssspeaking like Scorpius or something. Alas, what did she write?? I do not think it's smart to write something so publicly consider Albus's icy response to her. Oh goodness, where is this roller coaster going to go? You've got an interesting premise, as writing articles/blogs on social is something that happensss a LOT nowadays, but always happened on different mediums too, but still, it's scary to consider what she could've wrriten and how this will all pan out. Best of luck with your NaNo adventures too ;)

-The Basilisk

 Report Review

Review #3, by wolfgirl17 Chapter One

20th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Hufflepuff

Hey Buddy,

Me again here to hit up your fic. I feel bad that I didn't get here until TAR when I should've been by sooner to check out your NaNo project since we were cabinmates. Anyway, I made it now and that's what counts. I really liked the contemplation in this fic over what it actually is to be normal.

Normal is a pretty loosely termed word these days and it's hard to define as being any one thing without offending some minority who doesn't subscribe to the particular parameters of what is being deemed as normal. I really look forward to reading more about Charlotte and I do hope to see some more updates on this one really soon.

Really great beginning to what promises to be a positively marvelllous fic. Keep up the fantastic work, my friend, you're doing great!

xx-Ellie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for stopping by Ellie! I really wanted this fic to look at the idea of being normal and realizing that each person has their own set ideas of what exactly it means to be normal and how normal is a changing concept. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08


 Report Review

Review #4, by ScoroseOTP Chapter One

20th June 2015:
Hey there Erica!
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015!

First of all, I'm intrigued by the title, because I think everyone has their Own Brand of Normal! It's different for everyone and the first paragraph of this chapter quite rightly points this out. You're just so right! I really hate using the word 'normal' as well, I don't think it's something we should label people with because it's different for everyone!!

What happens to people who join the newsletter team? This sounds like the start of some horror story! Something has definitely happened though and my suspicions say it's more than one thing, especially if they all know, perhaps, too much about each other! What happened with Al and Charlotte? Who's Charlotte? I'm certainly intrigued. I am also going to have to put this in my reading list!

ScoroseOTP
Emz

 Report Review

Review #5, by SunshineDaisies Chapter One

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Hello Erica!

I had no idea you were working on something for April Nano! I hope that worked for you because this is a very promising start to the story! I love the question, "what is normal?" it's something I've mused about myself, so it's super interesting for me to read a story about it.

I love the way you've started this, you've given us a glimpse of the action and what's to come, without giving all that much away. You've given enough information to draw the readers in, but you haven't given too much away. I had no idea who was narrating until halfway though the chapter, and even now, I only know her name. Her name and that she's just had a heck of a year. Nonetheless, I like her a lot! Her voice seems pleasant and natural, and I'm really interested in seeing how her story unfolds.

Lovely work!
Puffs for the Cup! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by tangledconstellations Chapter Two

20th June 2015:
Reviewing for Ravenclaw, for the House Cup 2015

Whoo! So this chapter did not disappoint!

First of all, some things that I immediately ♥-ed in like the first 4 paragraphs -- your mc is in Hufflepuff! I know I'm Ravenclaw and all but...Hufflepuff ftw! I love seeing them lead stories! And: your mc ISN'T in the Wotter clan - yay for their being other students at Hogwarts, hehe! I love being able to see how other people view the next-gen kids! Also - NEWSLETTER TEAM. This idea is so great!! And there's already a bit of healthy rivalry between your mc and Mia ~ I feel invested already!

Ah okay so I love that chapter provided a lot more groundwork than the one before and it was really good! I love that already we've learnt enough about Charlotte for her to be interesting to us and for us to want to carry on reading. She's got a strong character this far and I like that she's not totally perfect because she's way more relatable this way. I also like Al's character because he's quite different to how I've read him before. I like that he's a bit of a popular kid - perhaps a bit of confident/jokery type person? But the main thing that I fell in love with about this chapter was the way your mc is clearly seperate from the Weasley's and the Potter's, and is maybe quite bitter about it?. In a way they sort of have this unattainable status that no one else can quite match, because they are famous. I'm excited to see this explored because it's a unique take on Next-Gen. I'm keen to see where this goes!

I really liked this chapter, and I hope you do manage to post the next chapter soon! :D

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #7, by tangledconstellations Chapter One

20th June 2015:
Reviewing for Ravenclaw, for the House Cup 2015

Hey there!

What an intriguing first chapter! I have so many questions, and, as I clicked on this story to read this chapter, I spotted that you'd *just* posted the second one. Good times! I can't wait to read on!

This works so well as an introduction, especially as who the narrator is is unclear up until Al says 'Charlotte,' and the reason they're writing articles is unknown...but despite all of these things we don't know yet, there's an incredible amount of tension hanging in the air, and it's really exciting! I love the way your narrator is ruminating on what is 'normal' - it sets up the possibility for all sorts of changes to occur within the characters and foreshadows a really interesting story. I like that the approach you've taken is really contemplative - your character is definitely looking back in this first chapter (and the whole, 'I don't know where I stand with him' line is so tantalizing like you can't even believe!!!) and I'm really keen to see if this view portrayed in this chapter is going to be in the next one, or if there's going to be a difference, and we can expect Charlotte in the next chapter to grow into the Charlotte here. Anyway, this was a really awesome way to start this fic, and I'm looking forwards to seeing the ways in which your characters are going to defy and define 'normal'.

I'm excited!!

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #8, by Catelyn Stark Chapter One

12th April 2015:
Hello Erica.

I am Lady Catelyn Stark. The people of Winterfell talk about your stories all the time, and they have found comfort in them after the recent execution in King's Landing. It is my duty, as the Lady of Winterfell, to know why these stories are much talked about, and as such I am here to find out.

I have a dear friend of mine, who's also very close to my eldest daugher Sansa. She knows you from the forums, and has told me you are very much trustworthy. Therefore I am now trusting you not to reveal our location to Prince Jeoffrey, which could resort in the death of my son (or maybe even sons), the King of the North Robb Stark.

But over to your story. I found it refreshing to read something new. I can not say I have ever read anything quite like this before, but then again your world is still very much unknown for me. I liked they idea of questioning "what is normal?", and I must say I found Charlotte to be a very insightful young lady. Do you mind if ask if she is of noble line or a commoner? If she is a commoner, I must say it is rather uncommon for them to be so well-knowledged, but perhaps that is simply the case in my land.

No matter her family, I found the story intriguing, and I do wonder what has happened to her. I doubt I will have much time to come back, though. We are in a middle of a war, after all, and I need to help my son, The King, organize our troops and come up with a plan. King Jeoffrey is not going to get away with he has done to my family. I only hope my daughters are safe in King's Landing with him.

My friend from the forums have told me Sansa is, but I have yet to hear a word about Arya. If you come across her, would you let my friend from the forums know, so she can overbring the message to me. She uses secret names over on the forums, though. King Jeoffrey wants her executed for running away from King's Landing, so she needs to stay hidden. I am sure you can find her regardless.

Lots of love

Lady Catelyn Stark

 Report Review

Review #9, by typewriter Chapter One

4th April 2015:
Hi Erica!

First off, wow! I have a feeling this fic is going to be absolutely fantastic, especially if the first chapter is anything to go by. You're choosing to tackle quite the project, and I respect you so much for it. This whole idea of "what is normal?" is a powerful idea. I was so drawn in from the very first sentence. By the end of the first paragraph I knew that I was going to be checking in on the fic frequently waiting for an update.

You have done a great job at providing just enough insight into Charlotte's life to intrigue me without giving anything important away! That's a wonderful talent to have as an author. I think I often throw too much detail out too quickly in my excitement to let everyone in on my (in my mind) brilliant idea! :) You've held true to the whole "less is more" mentality. I'm jealous!

Anyway, I want you to know that this is going to be an outstanding fic. I'm so excited for you! I'll be your ever-present cheerleader this month, mostly out of selfishness to get the next update :D

Thanks for writing!
Amanda

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login