Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for le ciel saigne pour nous.
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The Mad Hatter la lune et l’étoile.

6th February 2016:
Hello!
I'm the Mad Hatter! I was on the Forums, drinking tea. Today, you know, it's my unbirthday... Then I heard someone saying that they were really displeased they didn't stop to leave you a birthday review. And I thought, how silly! Who would want one birthday review a year, when they can have 364 unbirthday reviews a year (even better, 365, since this is a leap year)?

Anyway, I decided to come here and read this story of yours. And wow! How beautiful! So romantic, and poetic... I really loved your description of the night sky and the sea and how it all mixed with the passion between the two characters... I need to tell the doormouse to stop by, I'm sure he would love this!

Well, anyway... As I was saying... Would you like a little more tea?
Oh, right. Your story.That was an interesting pairing. I never knew Victoire and Scorpius had a relationship. I wonder if the March Hare was aware of that. I suppose it couldn't last, but I must say that the last section saddened me a little... Then, again, it was a bit of a crazy relationship to begin with... A wild fire destined to burn quickly, or something like that. I think a good cup of tea and a some polite conversation would be a much better way to spend the time.

Anyway, I really loved the structure, too. I loved the little paragraphs, the different scenes and the French titles. And I really loved all the images of the sky, the stars, the similitude between Scorpius and his constellation... Do you know why is a raven like a writing desk?

A very merry unbirthday to you!
The Mad Hatter.

 Report Review

Review #2, by HeyMrsPotter la lune et l’étoile.

12th June 2015:
Hi Kiana! Here reviewing for the House Cup!
I’ve never read a Victoire/Scorpius story before. I think the great thing about next gen is that the characters are entirely our own, so any character could fit with any other depending on the personality we give them. I think they definitely work here. I really like that although Scorpius is ultimately the one who doesn’t show up, it’s actually Victoire that is to blame because of her hesitance. It’s a refreshing change because most of the stories I read with Scorpius in, he’s the cold commitment-phobe.
I couldn’t not comment on your amazing description here, because wow. You just paint such vivid pictures in each section and I’m just sitting here in awe. Please share your talent with the rest of us.
I also love structure of the story, the short snappy meetings work really well and I liked the French subtitles. The repetition you have going on in there with the bleed, bleed, bleed, and the dance, dance, dance. It gives it a nice rhythm :)
Great one-shot!
Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015.

Author's Response: Hey there Dee!

Hahaha, I would have been surprised if you had as I think I've only ever come across one other story with this ship. That's definitely why I love next gen too because you can be free to ship anyone as it's not going against any canon. I'm glad you liked this ship though as it was fun to experiment with their personalities as I could make them different to how they tend to be hence why Scorpius was like that.

Aw, thank you so much! I don't really remember what inspired my description here but whenever I write about the sea it always seems to be so much easier than anything else.

I'm glad that you liked the structure too as I enjoyed making it fragmented so it could represent their relationship too.

Thanks for this fantastic review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #3, by randomwriter la lune et l’étoile.

12th June 2015:
Kiana ♥ This is from Gryffindor for the House Cup 2015! Oh how I've missed your writing!

This is so utterly gorgeous. I love your vivid imagery, and your descriptions make me so unbelievably jealous. HOW can anyone be this good at it? It's completely unfair! I want to cry.

I love your usage of French phrases. While I don't speak it, I've always felt that it is a beautiful language. Here, even though I only understood snatches of it, I still felt this sort of elegance and beauty pervade through this piece simply because of your choice to use French, if that makes sense. (sorry if it doesn't though. I've barely got any sleep).

The way your writing flows is so seamless. It aids the stunning imagery and the beautiful language. Your choice is words is flawless. I can't pick anything here that was even slightly out of place, and I'm a very nitpicky person. So great job on that!

Honestly? I've never read a Vic/Scorpius. I'm a massive ScoRose fan, as you probably know, and I ship Teddy with Vic. But somehow, I couldn't bring myself to resent this pairing. I love how everything is dreamy and floaty between them, and the role reversal where Scorpius longs for her in the beginning, and leaves her by the end is so clever.

Gahh, I love this! I'm sorry I have to go, but there is a task to be finished. So :p

Well, amazing job. I need to read more of your stunning work! Kudos :)

Author's Response: Hey there Adi!! ♥ :D

Aw, thank you so much and whaaat you talking about girl? Your description and imagery are so on point you have no reason to cry over this! :P

Aw, thank you so much! I'm so glad that you liked it as I love French and it's quite fun slipping different languages into a story as I do think that it does help create a different dynamic and it does add more layers to the story.

Aw, thank you so much!!! I actually enjoyed editing this one because it was so short so that meant it didn't take too long to do an in depth edit of edit which is usually something I hate.

Hahaha, I do know that and I'm a massive Scorose fan too so I know how hard it is to read something like that but I'm glad you did and that you liked it. And in my headcanon for this Scorpius and Victoire dated whilst he was on a break with Rose which is why it's kinda awkward.

Thanks for this fab review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #4, by rosiful la lune et l’étoile.

11th June 2015:
I'm a massive Rose/Scorpius fan, so never in my wildest dreams did I ever imagine or even consider Victoire to be with him! It is something so different and unique to this story, which is great.

The way you've written is truly beautiful. You've managed to capture the imagery perfectly in each scene without being repetitive. Everything just flows so well together.

The story itself is quite sad. There's a bit of role-reversal, as Scorpius goes from craving her love to being the one to leave, and Victoire who has been reluctant to be with him is now missing her Scorpius.

Overall, a beautiful piece.

Rosiful
Slytherin - House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Yay I managed to make you read something different! I'm quite surprised I wrote this too actually as I really do love Scorbus but trying out new things is always fun to do.

Aw, thank you so much, I'm so glad that you liked the writing style as it was definitely a lot of fun to try out here.

Yes, the ending was quite tragic with the way Victoire was just abandoned like that but I guess you could say she got what she deserved.

Thanks for this fab review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #5, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing la lune et l’étoile.

11th June 2015:
Hey Kiana!

House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor!

Okay I'll start by wow. The writing in this is truly truly beautiful okay? The words just all fit so well together and flow so well and I just read the whole thing so easily you know? It was almost poetic. And the descriptions! I love them... I could just picture everything, every detail. It really is a stunning piece of work overall.

So Scorpius and Victoire... a pairing I've never read before... I'm completely a Teddy/Vic and Rose/Scorp shipper but I liked this still which I can't always say about pairings that aren't my head canon. I felt sorry for Scorpius, at the start he's so desperate for her love but Vic seems dreamy and not with him at all. The more she puts it off though the more he becomes the far away one until she loses him. Cleverly done.

I adored the French you used through out this, infact, it was the title that drew me in to start with.

Absolutely fantastic job with this - I honestly adored the whole thing!

Lauren

Author's Response: Hey Lauren! Thanks for another great review and apologies for how long it's taken me to get to this!

Haha, aw, thank you so much! ♥ ♥ ♥ Like I said before, you really are so nice when it comes to compliments and they always put a smile on my face. I'm so glad you like my descriptions though as that means so much to me.

To be fair, I've only ever come across one other Scorpius/Victoire story which is why I wanted to write it as you can really be creative as no one's ever written them before :P Hahaha, I know, Victoire is definitely confused and nowhere near as dedicated as Scorpius, bless him! I'm so glad he was the brave one at the end then.

Thank you! I thought it would be a fun way to tie in Victoire's background as I do think it would have been important to her.

Thanks for this great review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lady Asphodel la lune et l’étoile.

2nd June 2015:
Hi Kiana! Here for the May Review Exchange! My deepest apologies for getting to your story late!



One - I never heard, read, considered Scorpius/Victoire. I don't have much preference for Next Gen and the shippings, but I did enjoy this a lot! Your description flowed so well, and it adds quite a flavor to the darkness (not ina horror way) but in a fantasy, romantic way.


I find it interesting and cool how Scorpius desired her the most, and Victoire held out on him, but he turned the tables on her in the end.


What I love most about this short piece is how you use imagery. I really want to learn how to write like that, but I find it incredibly difficult for me to manage without over-doing it... or not doing it enough. An amazing job, really!


I'd love to leave with your talent, but I guess, I'll settle with memorizing your beautiful words. Keep on writing!



- Asphodel

Author's Response: Hey there! No worries about it, I'm super super late with this response so we're quits!

I'm so glad you enjoyed it as it is a little different to other things on HPFF so that means a lot to me. Hahaha, I get what you mean and thank you as that makes my story sound a lot cooler than it actually is :P

Yeah, it was an interesting turn of events but complex relationships always interest me which is probably why it turned out that way.

Thank you so much! You can learn just through experimenting as it eventually ends up like this I guess. :P I'm not sure I don't really know what I do!!

Thanks for this great review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #7, by cherry_pop94 la lune et l’étoile.

19th May 2015:
Well that was stunningly beautiful. I've never given much thought to Scorpius and Victoire before, mostly because of the age gap, but this may just change my mind.

You've written their relationship in such a mysterious way omitting all these details about it. But that's what makes this story so wonderful. I absolutely adore how their relationship maybe doesn't even seem real with all the imagery you use here. He's a constellation and she's victory... both very abstract I think.

The use of French was perfect as well. The language is so beautiful and you'vd chosen some lovely phrases.

This was absolutely perfect. Keep writing!

-Stefi

Author's Response: Hey there Stefi!

Aw, I'm so glad I changed your mind as I never really gave it much thought before this either but now I think about it it becomes more and more realistic.

I know! I was kinda vague with the details but I feel as if their entire relationship is some big mystery, like you said with their names.

Aw, thank you so much, I'm so glad that you liked the inclusion of French!

Thanks for this fab review!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #8, by The Summer Snake la lune et l’étoile.

5th May 2015:
Greetings from The Summer Snake! I have recently slithered out of hibernation and discovered this amazing place with such amazing stories, so I want to read and review as many as I can before I go back into hibernation!

Now, give me a moment as I struggle to stand and give you a standing ovation. WHAT A BEAUTIFUL, BEAUTIFUL PIECE OF WRITING. I really, really loved it. As always, the imagery you painted was astounding, the narration was breath-taking and the feel of the piece was simply captivating. I have never seen a Victoire/Scorpius pairing before so you really took something unique and put together this loveliness.

Your characterisation of Scorpius and Victoire is very interesting. I like how in the beginning it's Scorpius that craves for Victoire's love, her attention and she is the 'distant' one who thinks their love is doomed - and yet in the end he leaves and she's the one who's left wanting. Wonderful play in concept there.

The french titles and french phrases in the middle were also very clever. They heightened the narration in a beautiful way. Of course, the descriptions beat everything - the bleeding sky, the sea, just so wonderfully done. I also loved how you kept this short and let the story speak for itself - you didn't add any backstory or explanations and this time less was more.

Another amazing piece of writing that I'm glad to have come across. Hats off for your lovely writing.

Ooh look, time is ticking. So, I'm off to explore more of this wonderful sun! See ya!

With love,
The Summer Snake

Author's Response: Hello there The Summer Snake, I'm afraid summer quite swept me by so I only had time to reply to this most wonderful review in the late autumn cool so you may have already returned to hibernation and can't see it.

Oh wowow, thank you so much! ♥ I feel so honoured to read those words and see you liked it so much as that means so much to me. Thank you so much for your kind words about my descriptions, they really put a smile on my face.

I'm glad that you liked it as though I have written the two before never have I written them together so it was a lot of fun to play around with it and see how I could twist them.

Aw, thank you so much! I love French a ton so I couldn't help but include them here. I'm glad you liked the length too as I felt that this sense of ambiguity suited these two mystery people better than going into full detail about the background of the two of them.

Thank you for this wonderful review and all the comments in it, they've really put a smile on my face! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #9, by nott theodore la lune et l’étoile.

17th April 2015:
Kiana! ♥ So I've been slacking on reviewing your stories, apparently, because you've suddenly started updating things and I've missed it (next time, tell me :P) but now I've noticed I'm here to spend a bit of time on your page - choosing between this and Ides to review first wasn't easy, but since the title was French, this one won (surprise, surprise, I know)!

Wah, so the title - I knew straight away, of course, that this was going to be angst and also feature some of that beautiful imagery that you manage to incorporate into all your stories. But it always seems more appropriate when authors include French with characters that either are French or have French heritage, so I loved the fact that you used it here even more than normal. I thought you put the French to great use, too - it just worked as section titles and the few words that you included had more impact too.

The imagery ♥ You know this is something that I always end up mentioning in my reviews of your stories, but I can't help it, because I notice it every time that you write something new and it's just so beautiful to read. The description is so lyrical, almost poetic, and your use of metaphor always finds a way of adding more meaning to the actual story itself - in this case, casting Victoire and Scorpius as the moon and the stars and then continuing the theme throughout, and the sea as their constant background/almost companion. Gah, it was just so amazing and I really love reading your stories even if it's just for the description and imagery you include.

Victoire and Scorpius is a bit of a rare pairing (I think - I don't really read many unusual pairings so I probably wouldn't know :P) but I found it so interesting to read about here, even if I do have Victoire and Teddy together in my head canon. I really liked the way that you told their story, in short snapshots, because really it didn't seem like a long, drawn-out love affair, and it was kind of more like a burning passion that was extinguished too quickly. Telling the story in short segments really worked to communicate that.

The nature of their relationship really captured my interest too. I've never read anything about them together and obviously there's quite an age difference, but you didn't attempt to explain how they ended up together and that left it to the reader's imagination. But I got the idea that this was something secret, perhaps illicit - the fact that they always meet outside, against the backdrop of the sea and bleeding sky, makes me think that they were hiding their relationship from other people. The way that they act together, the passion that you describe in their meetings, also makes me think that it was maybe an affair of some sort.

I loved the way that the relationship and their roles in it reversed in the course of this short piece. At the beginning, Scorpius seems to be the one who's more in love with Victoire, who cares more about her - she seems to be in control, more distant from him, and he's waiting for her and wanting to know her decisions about them. Then, eventually, he gets tired of waiting for her to make a decision and all of her hesitation, and once she's finally ready to choose he isn't there, and he becomes the one in control. I found that reversal really interesting to read and I can picture a relationship of sorts between them with the way that you've conceptualised it here.

This was a really lovely read, Kiana, and thank you for introducing me to another pairing I hadn't read before! I'll be back soon to review Ides ♥

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hey there Sian! Apologies again for taking aeons to get to this, I'm slowly coming back to HPFF and I thought the best way to begin this was by tackling my mountain of reviews :P

Bahahaha, boo you knowing French gave you a massive spoiler! :P I do think French does make things more dramatic as it's such a romantic language which makes everything more broody and dark for me, plus it tied in with Victoire's background as you said and I think it gives her even more mystery if that's possible. But yay I'm glad you liked it!

Aw, thank you so much!!! ♥ ♥ ♥ You really are so lovely when it comes to compliments as they never fail to put a smile on my face :D Hahaha, I do love my imagery though and I think the fact Victoire and Scorpius have those names means it's even easier to come up with imagery for them as everything ties in so well with it that you can really create such vivid descriptions. Plus, the sea is so beautiful I could always write about it!

It definitely is a rare pairing as I've only ever come across one other story which had them together in it. It was interesting for me to write as I've always been kinda conflicted about Teddy and Victoire as they seemed to be a too perfect couple for children of the war which is why I really enjoyed writing these two as Scorpius is more broken from it and Victoire had all the expectations of the victory which is possibly why they were drawn together. Hmmm *muses deeply*

I will admit even in my head how they met is a bit vague hence why I didn't go into detail in the story. I know they definitely aren't seeing anyone else but in my head Victoire had dated Teddy and Scorpius had dated Rose which complicated things hence the secrecy and how no one knew about them being together.

Hahaha, I know, it was quite funny how dramatically it shifted, I guess kinda like the sea if you want to look for the deeper meaning. :P I'm glad that Scorpius did have the courage to leave her though as I think Victoire entrances a lot of people and is a hard person to escape so it wasn't an easy thing he did.

Thanks for this wonderful review!! ♥ ♥ You were fab as usual! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #10, by TreacleTart la lune et l’étoile.

16th April 2015:
Hi Kiana!

I'm here for our review swap! I'm so sorry it took me so long to get here, but works been keeping me busy. Anyways, here I am.

I was immediately drawn to this story because of it's title "le ciel saigne pour nous". The Sky Bleeds For Us. Just those few words say a lot about what's to come.

At first, I was a bit confused about why you decided to write the titles in French, but once I realized it was about Victoire, it started to make a lot more sense. I actually really liked the French titles and how they tied in with each interaction between the two of them.

I have to say that I've never seen Scorpius paired with Victoire before, although what I've read of Next-Gen is very limited. It certainly seems that they have a very physically passionate type of relationship here. Scorpius seems to be much more invested emotionally than Victoire is. It's like she's looking for fun, but he's fallen for her. That's always tragic. Been there and done that once before, so I know it's no fun.

I was really impressed with how complete of a story you told with so few words. Looking at the layout I thought I would be asking a lot of questions or missing information, but you really packed a lot of details in. It was really just the right amount.

The way you describe things is spectacular. Description is one of my absolute favorite parts of reading. I love it when I can imagine exactly what the narrator is describing. This did that for me. I could clearly imagine the sea and the sky and the stars above. You really did a great job painting the picture.

I've really enjoyed reading this! Thanks you for a wonderful swap!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hey there Kaitlin, firstly sorry for how long this has taken to respond to this, and secondly thank you for this fab review! ♥

Aw, thank you! I'm glad you liked it as it does kind of reveal the dramatic and not so nice relationship that Victoire and Scorpius did have as it was turbulent to say the least.

Hahaha, yes, I can see why that would confuse you as most people do tend to stick to English when it comes to FF. I just thought it tied into Victoire's character and sort of showed how there was this hidden side to her so I'm glad that you liked.

I've only ever seen them paired together once before but it was just such a striking pairing that I really wanted to explore it myself. Yes, they are very toxic in a way as both have different aims which is never a good thing in a relationship and whilst they need each other desperately, they don't have any long term view.

Aw, thank you so much! I did intend to write this for the Every Word Counts challenge but that would mean I would have to cut too much so I padded it out a bit more.

Aw, thank you so much! ♥ I definitely had a lot of fun with the description in this story as the sea was interesting to describe as was their toxic relationship.

Thanks for this fab review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #11, by Oregonian la lune et l’étoile.

15th April 2015:
Hi, Kiana,

This is Vicki from Slytherin. I picked this story from your top three for the review swap because it had fewer reviews than your chaptered stories.

The lush language of this story is so suited to a relationship that was really just a fantasy, a dream, a “What if?’ or “If only…” A web of metaphors, figurative language, personification of objects and forces of nature, as if everything in the environment was aware of the lovers and either supporting or opposing them.

We can see clearly see their emotions, the reluctance of Victoire in "She finally laughs… She mulls over the question… She finally answers… She sighs again… I don’t know… I need time to think… She finally whispers…" and the urgency of Scorpius in all his words, his demands.

Why, we wonder, was she reluctant? Why does she think “When the concepts of truth and time are combined with their relationship it never bodes well”? She seems to think that the relationship is doomed, but it’s not clear why she thinks that; an age difference of six or seven years is not that great.

And yet, as an unexpected twist, it is he, not she, who suddenly ends the relationship, wordlessly, by simply not showing up. Perhaps he, sensing her reluctance, decided that a quick kill was more merciful for both of them than simply dragging things out to their inevitable end. And she knows it, even if she never wanted to face it.

Your use of the sea as a backdrop is beautiful, and the images of bleeding emphasize how their love or maybe-love is as much damaging as nourishing. The images of moon, stars, night, and grayness all contribute wonderfully to the concept of the doomed and dying relationship.

In all, this was a lovely piece of writing, and the length is just right. I’m glad you didn’t add anything more like backstory or explanations, Explanations are not needed. It just is.

Vicki

Author's Response: Hey Vicki!

Aw, thank you so much!! ♥ I really did want to create this air of mystery and ambiguity because I even felt unsure about the state of their relationship at times because when one tried to pull the other towards them, the other was running in the other way.

I'm glad that you could see Victoire's reluctance. I always see her as a character who likes to be firmly in control of all relationships, hence why she's reluctant throughout except in the final section when Scorpius slips out of her grasp.

Oooh, great point, I think she was reluctant for the reasons I just gave and I think also the age gap too because she probably thought it was embarrassing to be a cougar even if you love someone, hence why she wanted that distance.

I know, it was a bit of a twist. I think Scorpius would have sensed all of her feelings and became rightly quite frustrated with Victoire and decided to end it without a final word, I suppose almost a bit like revenge too...

Aw, thank you so much! I find setting stories during night time to be so much more dramatic hence why it took place then as you can really explore the intensity of the story and all their emotions.

Thank you for this wonderful and fab review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #12, by The Pony PUFF Princess la lune et l’étoile.

10th April 2015:
Hi Kiana.

I, The Pony PUFF Princess, is here to leave a little review. You see, I was in the rainbow park (filled with lilies, daisies and a supposedly a hidden treasure, you should come by some time), when suddenly my magic phone started calling for me to travel down the rainbow and leave some of my story-appreciation magic on this very story.

So I had to come, obviously, and I'm glad I did. This story is definitely deserving of my puff love. We Pony PUFF Princesses are supposed to spread love and happiniess, and we don't really like a sad ending. But I guess it is inevidible *sigh*

It was a very beautifully tragic story. I liked your description. It felt as if I was Victoire and not The Pony Puff Princess, and that's always good (even if that made a little bit sad, because Victoire seemed a little sad).

I have to say that you're story flows really well. It was soo good to read it, and little Pony Puff in me started to feel very envious. You're talented!

The French was good too, even if I, The Pony Puff Princess, can't speak french myself, so I needed to look at the author's note at the end to understand it. It just looked perfect, and yeah... you made me root for them, and you took it away at end. I'm a little mad at you now, Missy! *glare*

No *insert happy, childish laugh*, I'm just kidding with ya. It was good, really good. Don't stop writing, and I might just pop back in my real forum form at a later point.

But the magic phone is calling again, so I'm going to have to travel by the rainbow to another story. Hope to see you visiting the rainbow park soon!

Love

The Pony PUFF Princess

Author's Response: Hey there The Pony PUFF Princess, I love your name btw!! ♥ It's so original and makes me wonder which Puff you are...?

Omg, can I go to the Rainbow Park? It sounds like so much and reminds me of Candy Mountain in a way which you may know about, so whoo, if you're ever holding a party there or whatever, take me with you!

Aw, thank you, I'm sorry for making you sad though but it couldn't have gone another way. I do need to write some cheery things though as I like angst a little too much and it will make you guys happy.

AW, thank you! ♥ I'm sorry again for making you sad, but I'm glad that the description did that to you if that makes sense at al?

Thank you so much! You really are very kind Pony PUFF Princess and you're almost making me blush because this review is so sweet! ♥

Haha, sorry about that but whoo for translations as they always help out in confusing moments such as in this story. I'm sorry about that, as I always imagine them to be this dark, intense pair which is destined to fail and will never get a happy ending so apologies for that.

Aw, thank you and please do as I would love to know who you are so I can thank you properly for this great review as it really did make me smile! ♥ :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #13, by BookDinosaur la lune et l’étoile.

10th April 2015:
BvB review battle! :D I've been wanting to catch you for a while now.

Ugh, I had such a difficult choice when I went onto your page, Kiana? Which one, Ides of March or your new oneshot? But then, how could I ignore a oneshot with this beautiful title? le ciel saigne pour nous. So I had to pick this one. ♥ I'll tag you again later, hopefully, and catch up on Ides of March.

First things first, I have to comment on the French - the title, and the names of the different sections of this story, it's all so beautiful. This might just be my bias towards the French, because I love the language so much, but I really do think that it was such a beautiful thing to name your story.

I've never seen or read a Scorpius/Victoire before, and it seems like a really interesting pairing so I'm glad that you introduced me!

The snapshot style that you told this story in really suited the story, I think - you really only show us a few moments from Victoire and Scorpius' relationship, but it's enough to let us know what happens and the eventual heartbreaking end to it and although this was pretty short, especially compared to some of your other stuff, but it felt satisfying, you know? It was short, but you used your words magnificently, is what I'm trying to say. It wasn't too short.

Oh my, and the style of this piece! It all flows so beautifully. Every word has it's place - this piece actually reminds me a bit of the Every Word Counts challenge entries, if you know what I mean, because it's true, every word does count in this piece and every word seems to have been used for a purpose, you know? And yeah, the whole thing flows so beautifully and I'm just in awe.

And how could I review this piece without mentioning the symbolism? The way you kept on equating their relationship with the sea, and making the sea such a large part of their relationship, as the place that they meet - it's absolutely amazing, and I'm in awe.

Oh, and the ending - the ending is just heartbreaking. You kind of make me want to root for these two, because the snapshots of their relationship gives the feel of a dark, sort of forbidden romance and when Victoire's so uncertain, when she says that she doesn't know - it's so sad, and so Scorpius leaves her. And somehow, that's even sadder.

Ugh, you've made me feel so many things with this oneshot, Kiana, I hope you're happy. This was absolutely amazing though, and I'm so glad that you're starting to write again!

Emily

Author's Response: Hey there Emily!

Hahaha, I'm sorry about making it difficult, but you can always catch up with The Ides of March with the challenge reviews if you want? :P

Aw, thank you! I'm totally biased when it comes to French as it makes everything so beautiful and so much more wonderful than English ever could. As I said in an earlier review response, I think French could even make Dramione somewhat enjoyable! :P

Aw, you're welcome, I read a Victoire/Scorpius one-shot by justonemorefic before and it was just so enchanting that I had to write one myself.

Yaya, I'm glad that you liked it as it was a lot of fun to write it that way. I get what you mean and I'm glad that you said that, because I wanted to leave a mystery with their relationship and try and show not too much and leave the reader guessing so I'm so glad that it wasn't too short as I really didn't go deep into the detail of it. :P

AW, thank you! It was originally meant to be for that challenge which is probably why it has some similarities but it needed to be extended as it felt a bit incomplete, so I think it's about 200 words or so over. :)

Hahaha, thank you!! ♥ I had a lot of fun including it though I blame philosophy for it as we were just looking at religious symbolism which was a lot of fun so, like usual, philosophy ended up appearing in my writing, albeit in some abstract way.

I know I'm sorry :( But for me, they could never work out as they're too passionate and toxic almost so they always have a very intense but very short relationship in my head and I've never been able to change that.

Thanks for this amazing review, Emily, it really made me smile and yay for writing again! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #14, by Unicorn_Charm la lune et l’étoile.

9th April 2015:
Hi there! Here for our swap! :)

I've never read or seen a Scorpius/Victoire before and found the idea very intriguing, so I had to take a peek at this.

I really enjoyed it. It was beautifully written. I loved the fact that they were spending these stolen moments with one another, not a couple and probably not even close to being public. I imagine they would have to sneak around for a few reasons. The age difference being one of them. It's far less common for a woman to date a man that much younger than her. I wonder if that was part of the reason she was so reluctant to make their relationship official.

The imagery in this was stunning. You have quite a way of painting a very clear and very beautiful picture. The glittering stars, the crashing waves, the light on their skin - I could see it all so, so clearly and it added so much to the story. It was really, really well done. :)

This was a pleasant surprise for me. I think I might look for some more Scorpius/Victoire stories now. :D Thanks for doing the swap!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hey there Meg!

Aw, thanks, I've only read one before and it was really, really good so I do think this ship needs more love!

Aw, thank you! I know, I think for them it would have started out as a fun thing as it made it more exciting but then they realised they weren't exactly a normal couple, so it's probably a reason why they never revealed to anyone that they were together.

Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you liked it but I think the fact that the sea is such a beautiful place makes it easy to describe as it's just so vivid and wonderful there.

Thanks for this wonderful review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #15, by Claire Evergreen la lune et l’étoile.

9th April 2015:
Hey! Here for the BvB Battle!

All I can say is...wow. Just wow. The amount of description you put into this is absolutely stunning. Normally I would say that level of detail was a bit overkill, but for some reason it just works really really well for this story. Nothing came across as too much or cheesy; it flowed beautifully and really added to the overall tone of the story.

Burnt down crowns of blonde adorn their heads, their skin tinged an inky grey by the looming moon. This should sound totally over the top and chessy, but it doesn't at all?? You have to be an amazing writer to make that work, I'm seriously jealous of how you are able to pull all of this off.

Just the amount of raw emotions you are able to put into this is stunning. I could feel everything that Victorie was feeling, probably due to your fantastic descriptions. This is a really powerful and emotionally charged one-shot and I think the fact that it is less than 900 words adds to that. It can be really hard to pack in all of that into a brief one-shot, but you do it wonderfully!

This is such a brilliant story and I like the unusual (at least to me) pairing that you've put in! Fantastic job!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hey there Claire!

Aw, thank you so much, I'm so glad that you thought it was okay and not too much as I was a little worried about that. Gah, I just want to flail around as your comments about my description are just so ♥ ♥

Aw, thank you! I'm glad it was okay, and haha, lots of brilliant authors have inspired my description so it's thanks to them really!

Aw, thank you you again! I really enjoyed writing Victoire here and I imagine her to not describe how she felt all that much hence why I didn't delve into it here too much as I thought the mystery of it all was probably.

Thank you for this fantastic review, it really made my day! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #16, by Fuzzy Duck la lune et l’étoile.

9th April 2015:
quack!

Victoire/Scorpius, paired with lots of French, is a good way to begin my day. I hatched about four days ago, and though I've read a lot since then, I haven't managed to learn French yet. So thanks for helping a feathered friend out with the translations!

It seems to me that Victoire and Scorpius were quite toxic to each other, but that didn't stop them from wanting more. The imagery you used was spectacular, and although I like to swim in ponds, I don't think I want to swim in that ominous ocean.

This was really short, but it was the perfect length to leave me guessing about their fate as a couple and as people. I really must waddle along now, but I'm glad I could stop for a moment and read this horrifyingly beautiful story.

Be kind to your web-footed friends!

♥Fuzzy Duck

Author's Response: Hey there Fuzzy Duck! Thank you for this wonderful review! ♥

Yayaya, I'm sorry you haven't had enough time to learn all that French yet, but I'm glad that I could help you out a little bit with the translations. :)

Indeed they were, I think that's why they were both drawn to one another and then needed to be apart too as they consumed each other completely. Aw, thank you, and I don't recommend swimming there as it might be a wee bit dangerous for you!

Aw, thank you, I'm glad that you did like it as it means a lot to me and thank you for this wonderful review!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #17, by Aphoride la lune et l’étoile.

4th April 2015:
Hey Kiana! :) Dropping by for the BvB battle! I've been trying to catch you in it to review this, but I missed you before - but I got you this time, so it's okay :P

Okay, so I adore the title. Like, completely. It's so beautiful and so sad - things always sound more beautiful and less dangerous in French, I think (though that might just be me) - and yet there's still that underlying hint of something a bit darker, which I love so much. The title in itself could be a story, you know, which is amazing! ;)

I love the whole idea of this. I don't really have any Next Gen ships, as such, tbh, but I'd never read a Victoire/Scorpius before this one - and this is just amazing. You make me believe in them so much, and so disappointed for her that he doesn't show up in the end, when she wants him there. Through the whole thing, there's this lovely sense of love and romance, but not a cheesy, cliche kind of romance, a darker, more forbidden, kind of romance, which is much more my kind of thing :P

Plus, I love how you characterised both Victoire and Scorpius - how there was no sense of necessarily inherent good/evil kinda thing, they were both just people - and the way you did it, with a lot of physical imagery, with the fingers tracing lines and across ribs and things, was so beautiful, too. I loved how Victoire almost can't tell him the truth - and perhaps doesn't - when he asks her if she loves him, and how she's consumed by doubt (the smoke/fumes references was so perfect for that!), and almost suddenly can't think. It's so sad, because you can only wonder if that's maybe why he didn't show up - if he didn't think she actually loved him and decided to let her go.

The mystery in this is gorgeous, too. I love how you don't detail all of their relationship in its entirety, or all of their lives - but it's these beautiful little snapshots of them being them, and with the sea and the wind and sky. Like, we only see them together, and nothing more, and you manage that balance between enough detail that we can imagine it, and picture it, and hope for them, but not enough to take away from the mystery of what's going on behind it all - is Victoire actually in love with him? How did they get together? The unknown stuff really just adds to it - it really almost cements them as a couple in this, that we don't see them begin, if that makes sense... :P

Your writing is so beautiful in this too. Stylistically, the flow and the word choice is just perfect. It's amazing. All of your description too, is just so so gorgeous - it all fits in so well with the themes and with the picture and just... ugh, everything in this is so, so good. It's really an amazing one-shot. I love it so, so much.

I'm so sorry this review is so short - but, really, this is just amazing and gorgeous and beautiful and don't know that many more synonyms for 'beautiful' to use to describe this :P So yeah, that's why.

Favouriting :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hey Laura! ♥

Aw, thank you so much! I totally get what you mean which is why I sometimes feel that if all FF was written in French even Dramione would be something I would want to read as it just has this quality to make everything almost sparkling and beautiful if that makes sense. :P

Aw, thank you! I feel as if I should be against it as a big Scorose but sometimes it's too much fun to ship things like this so you have to forget about your OTP. :P I'm so glad that you did like them together, as I imagine them both being quite vain, prone to being dramatic and having intense relation which is what they're both very good and very bad for one another. :P

I'm glad that you liked the two of them because I feel as if a lot of my characters are always leaning to the good side of the spectrum of things, so it was fun writing these two as it was bit more confused here. I know, I think with Victoire she has to be certain before she declares anything and she doesn't want to lie about her feelings as that's an ultimate crime in her mind, hence why she side-steps it for most of this story. Whereas Scorpius's is so passionate about her he needs to know so he knows how much to commit, hence why they would never work out.

Aw, thank you! I thought about writing more about their backstory and how they got together but I thought it might be more fun to let the reader play with their imagination and decide for themselves. Hmm, I think the question of whether Victoire loves him or not is something she doesn't even know the answer too. :P I'm so glad that you liked it though as I was worried that it might be a little too sparse on the details.

Aw, thank you so much! ♥ I definitely had a lot of fun writing this because I think the mix of the sea and French made me very inspired and I felt braver to venture away from how I usually write.

Aw thank you so much, Laura! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #18, by Red_headed_juliet la lune et l’étoile.

3rd April 2015:
Hello! Here for BvB +]

I love how every sentence in this piece demands your attention. Your style and structure is elegant in such a way that you have to savor each word, and it's placement in order to get the whole picture. From the mood of the sky reflected in the mood of the couple, to the repetition of words in threes, everything seems to have been constructed in order to accentuate the tone and mood of the moment.

The flow is smooth, but it was interrupted a little by "How much longer will this gone on for?" I think you mean 'How much longer will this go on for?'.

That's really my only CC, because the piece is just too beautiful to really change anything else. I think that the backstory is almost better infered, with the end and talk of divination reminding me of the narrator in Romeo and Juliet referencing 'star crossed lovers' and fate and destiny.

The piece is great! Definitely a good comeback haha.

Until next time!

Author's Response: Hey there!

Aw, thank you so much. I definitely had a lot of fun writing this and writing it in short segments meant it was a lot easier to sustain the mood of the story, so I'm glad that you managed to find it in everything!

Whoops, yes, that was a silly little mistake of mine and I've cleared it up now :P

Aw, thank you, as I did think about expanding it a little more but decided against it because being all mystical about it was much more fun :D

Thanks for the great review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login