Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Sirius Ate My Homework
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CassiePotter Did you say that you ate my homework?

28th June 2015:
Hi Tammi!
Oh my goodness. This was so much fun to read! It was such a creative idea, too! You managed to take a classic excuse that has been used tons of times in pop culture and make it something totally new and exciting.
I thought the Marauders had fantastic chemistry in this. Sirius teasing James when he was already so riled up was hilarious, and I also loved the way Remus and Peter fit into the mix.
One of my favorite parts was when Remus told James not to hit Sirius in the face because he'd whine about it all night. That was just so funny, and seemed exactly like something Sirius would do.
I loved the fact that McGonagall didn't even react when James told her that Sirius was the one who ate his homework. I bet by this point, all the teachers are used to the Marauders (but particularly James and Sirius) getting up to all kinds of shenanigans, and not much would surprise them by now.
This was just such a fun story. It really made me laugh!
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015
Cassie :)

Author's Response: CASSIE!

YAY! I'm so happy that you liked this, I always wondered if Wizards used this excuse and Sirius just popped into my head and I knew that I had to write it! :D

That makes me so happy that you like their chemistry, I love writing the Marauders so much!

Hahaha oh Remus, he knows Sirius so well :P

Oh McGonagall didn't even bat an eyelid. She knew exactly the reason and is so used to them that even the most stupid excuse is probably true.

Thank you so much!!


 Report Review

Review #2, by rosiful Did you say that you ate my homework?

28th June 2015:
This was so cute and fluffly, just what I needed!
I love how you've shown the lighter side of the Marauders, they aren't always running around and getting into mischief, sometimes they -GASP- do regular things like homework! I love the whole idea of Sirius eating his homework, it's just hilarious, and the fact the it must've looked appealing as a dog xD
I also finally understand this Wolfstar that everyone on the forums always mentions. I like how you put it into this story so naturally and easily. It didn't feel out of place at all.

I love that McGonagall just accepts that story. That's hilarious!
She's probably so used to their excuses that she just doesn't care anymore.

I wish there was more to this, it was a lot of fun to read!

-Rosiful
Slytherin House Cup 2015


Oooohhh.. and I nearly forgot! Mr.Bear xD
I love that name.. almost as creative as my bear from when I was little. I named him 'Brown Bear'.

Author's Response: Awww yay! *hugs you*

I love the lighter side of the Marauders, I love writing them having fun and doing the silliest things because of how sad their futures are going to be. THEY DO DO HOMEWORK! CRAZY TALK!

Oh Sirius and your Padfoot tendencies :P

YAY! WOLFSTAR IS PERFECT TO ME :D I love them haha.

I think McGongall is just so done with them that she will believe any excuse that they give her. :P

MR. BEAR!!! I am just as creative as you, I have a monkey from when I was born and his name is. monkey :P

Thank you so much!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by InkStainedFingers Did you say that you ate my homework?

28th June 2015:
Hello!

This title is so intriguing, and the summary more so – I couldn’t resist clicking and reading on. And I’m glad I did, it’s a delightfully light-hearted story. I really like your characterisation of the four boys, and I love the group dynamic you create between them. Your description of the movement and action – something I always find hard, personally – is really good, and I think your dialogue flows really naturally. It is definitely a scene I can picture happening, Sirius eating unfortunate things in Animagus-form: “I may have said that. Well, technically it was Padfoot”. The whole chapter is very funny, with some really amusing lines. I especially like James’ “He held Mr. Bear hostage, threatened to send me bits of him until I helped” – I love how well you write the Marauders as friends, their friendship is beautifully portrayed here. And I like how, at the end, Professor McGonagall doesn’t even bat an eyelid when she is told that Sirius ate James’ homework.

Katie
Ravenclaw – House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad that you liked the title! :D I'm definitely going to have to write more adventures of Sirius the animagus :P

Thank you so much! I love writing the marauders so much, and I can't wait to write more of them together.

Haha oh yeah, McGonagall has heard every excuse they use and knows that the more stupid it is, the more likely it's true.

Thankk you so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by ANightingaleInAGoldenCage Did you say that you ate my homework?

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

Oh my gosh. I love this story. I don't know why I'm even surprised that McGonagall believed the story, but I also love the fact that you included her in, as well as anecdotes about holidays and what not. If you ask me, it's really all very in character, though Peter can a bit out of nowhere for me. (That, or I read over the part where he was mentioned before he spoke. That's also a possibility). Anyway, I love the fact as well that Animagi lose a bit of humanity, and that you show a side were James actually cares a bit about his homework, even though it's Transfiguration, and that he even spend a week on it despite being it (one of his) best subject(s). It's really well done and even though I was a bit surprised with the Remus/Sirius relationship, it wasn't overdone and you showed them all well nonetheless. Really great job and thanks for the lovely read!

Author's Response: Hey!! :D

Haha I think that she's just so used to them that she just accepts it.

I always imagined that animagi would start develop small things like that.

Aww yay! Thank you so so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by maskedmuggle Did you say that you ate my homework?

28th June 2015:
Hey!

This was so brilliant, in so many different ways. Let me start listing out all the things I loved about this. First, the plot - having Sirius eating James' homework was just so brilliant, especially since every student has heard of the "my dog ate my homework" excuse, and yet in this case it is actually true. Second, Remus/Scorpius YES - it's fabulous and I love the way you portrayed them here. Third, the dialogue - it was all so witty and amusing to read and just really well written. It flowed so well and I loved how you really got a sense of how close they were together. Fourth, the little details, such as their failed attempt to build a pool, and their next grand idea of building a treehouse! Honestly though, this was such a fabulous story to read and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Hey Charlotte!

Aww thank you! :D Yay! a list of loves! I love this!

Haha that's why I wanted to have Sirius be eating homework because it's an excuse that most people have used at some point!

OF COURSE SIRIUS/REMUS! WOLFSTAR IS LOVE!!! :D

Awww yay! Thank you! :D haha oh them and that failed pool attempt! I can see the treehouse being as big a failure! haha :D

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #6, by SunshineDaisies Did you say that you ate my homework?

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Oh my gosh. That was hilarious. The Marauders are my faves and I love how you've written them here! I love seeing the lighter sides of their characters, mischievous and playful, but really rather funny in the end. I loved the dynamic you set up between them as well! I'm not personally a fan of wolfstar, but it just worked so naturally in this piece! They didn't feel at all disconnected from the rest of the group, which happens occasionally in this ship. Instead they all felt a bit like brothers. They casually threw out fairly intimate details of each other's lives, and very specific knowledge of each other's habits, tendencies, homes, everything, basically. When you can tell your friends you were blackmailed into doing something because your teddy bear was held hostage and their only response is to tell you it has a stupid name, you know you're in that friendship for a lifetime.

Gaaah! Wonderful wonderful wonderful!

Author's Response: :D I am so glad that you loved it! :D I love writing the Marauders so much, and I feel that with that era you can write the silliest and most fun things and it fits! :D

Awww I'm glad that you thought Wolfstar worked so naturally in this even though you're not a fan of them.

Hahaha I agree with you! That is totally a friendship for life!

YOU'RE WONDERFUL!!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by EnigmaticEyes16 Did you say that you ate my homework?

28th June 2015:
TAMI!!!

Hi.

This is great. I loved reading James bicker and Sirius not care enough to help James find his homework, only to discover that Sirius ate his homework. That was priceless. I also loved when Remus entered and made a joke about the full moon. And Peter came out of nowhere but I'm glad he's in here too. And WOLFSTAR! yes! I wish there was more WolfStar then just some hair touching, but alas... *sigh*. And I love the ending! I know their being animagi is supposed to be secret, but when McGonagall accepts James' excuse that Sirius ate his homework, you have to wonder if she knew, considering she was an animagus herself...

I'm very curious now. I wish there was more to this story! You did a fabulous job with this!

xxNix

Slytherin, House Cup 2015

Author's Response: NIX!!!

I love Sirius and James bickering. I can imagine that they would bicker over the most silly things ever, with Remus and Peter just sighing in the background and rolling their eyes. But this time James has an actual reason to do so!

Haha that full moon thing had me cracking up for such a long time!

YES! WOLFSTAR! WOLFSTAR IS LOVE!

Oh there shall be more! Don't you worry! MORE WOLFSTAR IS COMING!

I reckon she knew all along :P

I AM GOING TO WRITE A SERIES OF ONE SHOTS OF them all doing weird things that are traits of their animagi... don't you worry!

Thank you!!!


 Report Review

Review #8, by bittersweetflames Did you say that you ate my homework?

28th June 2015:
Thanks to Secret Santa, I found out that you love Sirius so I wanted to know how you would write about one of your favorite characters. SO HERE I AM. (I will also be honest and say that the title already had be leaping to this story. I WAS SO INTERESTED to see what it was all about). And, boy oh boy I am so glad I did because let me tell you I was laughing the whole way through. This was just so funny, really. I love seeing a little bit of lightness in the boys' lives before the reality of war turned it so dark. SIRIUS. Sirius was just awesome. REALLY REALLY AWESOME. He ATE JAMES' HOMEWORK? Like, seriously? -sputters- That is the funniest thing I have ever read in my life, I swear. Their interactions is just precious. Like, seriously. There's a flow to it... James actually WORRYING about his work? And I am not even surprised that it's Sirius who is so flippant and carefree about the whole thing. hahaha. But, yeah, lots of laughs from me. Particularly when McGonagall accepted the excuse. It was the best part of the story and it's a story that's just so amazingly funny. THANK YOU.

Carla
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: CARLA!!!

Awww yay! Secret Santa was so awesome! And I'm glad that you remembered my love for Sirius!

Wooo! You're here!

Awww thank you! I'm so glad that this could make you laugh througout :D I had so much fun writing this! AND HE DID! HE ATE THE HOMEWORK! I NEED TO WRITE MORE OF HIM WITH THE TRAITS OF A DOG :P

Oh, Sirius really doesn't care about the homework haha, he's more concerned how much it hurt to cough it back up.

Thank you so much!! *squishes you*


 Report Review

Review #9, by Shadowkat Did you say that you ate my homework?

30th May 2015:
Okay, that made me laugh. The characterization was hilarious and very believable, I applaud you! I love funny moments with the Marauders, so I was drawn to it instantly.




“Because I’d end up with everyone’s homework flying towards me,”

I like how you included this, as a lot of people just write them saying a word and , even if it's a common item like a paperclip, only the one they want is summoned to them. I also love how you did McGonagall's reaction. Out of all the professors at Hogwarts, I imagine it would be her and Dumbledore that would show that kind of reaction. Really in character.

_
Some CC, and here, take some chocolate:

Clothes were thrown all over the room; books pulled from shelves and dumped without care, and sweet wrappers littered the floor.

Why's there a semicolon first, but the rest are commas? This might not be a mistake, but I don't think I've seen it done like that, so it confused me slightly.
_
“Looking for something, Jimmy?” Sirius asked, as the Raven haired, bespectacled teenager began pulling the quilt off his bed.

Like here, a few times you didn't put a comma before the parentheses, though I noticed this was only for questions. Again, might not be a mistake, so in that case ignore me, but thought I'd point it out.
_
James asked Remus, shooting another dark look at Sirius, who looked positively horrified at James’ words.

“I can’t be controlled,” Sirius told them smugly and Remus rolled his eyes as he came to sit beside Sirius, running his fingers through Sirius'[ long black hair absentmindedly.

okay, it seemed weird that Sirius' expression switched so quickly. Maybe put mock horror if he was joking? Also, you put a bracket in by accident. :)
_

“The face you just pulled, as if you knew what this was?

This sounds like it should be more of a statement than a question.

_
“I should be annoyed at you,” Sirius said, which caused James to open his eyes and glare at him. “You didn’t have to cough it back up. I can tell you that parchment does not taste nice coming back up, it leaves a funny aftertaste in the mouth.”

I think the "me" should be"I".
_

“I hope you like your boyfriend’s without all their teeth,"

I don't think there's supposed to be a apostrophe.


I hope that didn't seem too harsh. I really thought the story was great, just a few things to polish up on. Thanks for the swap!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad that you laughed :D I had a lot of fun writing this!

I always figured that if you just accio a random thing, then more than one thing would try and get to you, I might have to write one of the marauders making that mistake and having to find everyone to give the work back haha.

Thank you so so much for pointing those out! I have a tendency of just writing and putting it up after one read through. I really need to get out of that habit, but I appreciate you pointing the stuff out to me, I shall edit them in as soon as I can. :D

You didn't seem harsh at all! :D *hugs*

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #10, by looneylizzie Did you say that you ate my homework?

15th May 2015:
Tammi!!!

I've had this on my reading list for a while now, and I'm SO GLAD I finally got around to reading it!!

THIS ENTIRE THING IS PURE HILARITY!!

I was laughing like crazy the entire time. What really made this story was all the little tidbits that didn't really have to do with the homework. Like the pool in the backyard, and James needing to fill it in without magic, or Mr. Bear.

That's genius. Of course James would have a teddy bear that he was still attached to at 17. And OF COURSE Sirius would know about it and use it against him. :D Let's not forget the treehouse. How do you even come up with this stuff?? It's brilliant!

And the whole thing about losing a bit of your humanity when an animagus transforms is a really interesting concept! I loved that you added that...totally explains why he actually ate the homework.

By far my favorite part is McGonagall not even blinking at James' excuse. Of course she knew.

This story had me laughing for a good twenty minutes Tammi. I LOVE IT! Such a great little one-shot that totally made my day!

Keep writing!
LL

Author's Response: HEY!

Aww yay! I'm so glad that you've read it :D

Thank you!

haha I had so much fun writing this :P Oh that pool and Mr. Bear! Poor James, why does he put up with Sirius?

I've always imagined that would happen with people that changed into animagi, and why Sirius ate the homework... although it's Sirius, he probably would have done it if he wasn't one haha.

Of course McGonagall would know!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! You're amazing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Scott McCall Did you say that you ate my homework?

14th April 2015:
Hello Tammi.

I'm Scott McCall, and you may know me from my tv series "Teen Wolf". I'm here because Stiles told me that one these guys in the story is a werewolf. I don't know how you know about us, but it is kind of important that our existence stays a secret. So I'm here to ask you not to tell anyone that werewolves are real.

I'm not sure if this is going to help make up your mind or not, but I figured I'd leave a review to encourage you to not reveal our existence any futher than you have. I like this idea of the werewolf - which one is that again? - having friends that can turn into animals, so they can help him when he transform. Even though I have more control on full moons now than before, I don't like being around my friends when I have to change. I just worry I'll hurt them, you know. So this guy is very lucky for being able to have friends around that can take care of him. I'm not sure I would've let my friends stay around me even they could change into animals, though. It's just too great a risk to take. I don't know what I would do with myself if I hurt them..

I like that the guy - Sirius, was it? - literarly ate the homework. That is just about the oldest trick in the book. but this time it was actually true. Maybe I should use my werewolf-teeth and eat my homework. I wonder if that would get me out of trouble with the teachers.

I'm sorry, but I have to go now. Lydia just called me. She can't find Stiles or Derek anywhere. I don't know what is up with them lately, they just seem to get lost together all the time. It can't be that hard finding your way around in the town you've lived in your entire life. They're up to something, I just don't know what.

Anyway, I hope you can keep the existence of werewolves a secret. Let my friend over at the forums know once you've made up your mind.

Scott McCall

Author's Response: Oh Scott! I have to say that Stiles and Derek is love and it's going to happen! :P I bet that they're off together :P We all knows what's happening, don't get in the way of that love :P

Thank you so much Scott! You're awesome! and I'm glad that you loved my story!


 Report Review

Review #12, by teh tarik Did you say that you ate my homework?

5th April 2015:
Hi Tammi!

A few weeks ago, you left a very lovely review for a certain person called rennycake, and now I'm returning the favour on renny's behalf. So I decided to stop by your page and read and review this story!

I must say I was giggling throughout the story! I love your humorous depiction of the Marauders, and I think their characterisations are perfect, and the way they interact with each other is amazing. I thought it was a very wonderful play on that old 'dog ate my homework' cliche, and I love how you put a Marauders' spin on that old excuse.

Urrgghh James pulling out a slimy, saliva-saturated ball of homework that Sirius vomited up. And Sirius retaliating in the worst possible way, by blaming James on how bad the parchment tasted. Absolutely hilarious!

Also love Remus and Sirius's interactions with each oher. Remus threatening to get Sirius a flea collar made me snort way too hard. And Remus telling James not to hurt Sirius's face too much otherwise he would be whining the whole night!!

LOVE all the dynamics here, like I said, I think you've written the Marauders wonderfully!

And hurrah for McGonagall believing James! McGonagall can certainly sense the truth when it's given, no matter how impossible it sounds. :P

This was a lovely, light read, Tammi! I loved this, and I love the way you write humour! Great work. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Hey teh!!

Awww you're welcome! Haha

Thank you so much :D I love writing Sirius with dog traits, it's so much fun to do :D

I know! that part grossed me out a little, especially when he throws it and it sticks to the wall. Haha.

Remus and Sirius :D They're just love!

Haha thank you so so much! You're amazing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Peter Cottontail Did you say that you ate my homework?

29th March 2015:
Hello there! I was just hopping down ye old bunny trail when I happened to spot your lovely story along the way and just had to stop and check it out!

Such a wonderful story, but I have to say, I don't think any of these four deserve any Easter eggs rolling their way...well, except maybe Peter because of his excellent taste in names.

The fact that Sirius actually cannot control himself when he's in his dog form is absolutely hilarious and I'll have to make a mental note to keep away from him in case he enjoys chasing rabbits. But I am 100% positive that this exact scenario happened at least once throughout the time that they were friends. James' reaction was totally understandable and really well written, as was Remus's whole personality. I loved the little one liners that he had and it was cool to see that side of him that not many people add. Also, I may have to slip you a few extra jellybeans for having Sirius and Remus be a couple...

Well, I better get going, all these Easter baskets aren't going to deliver themselves you know! Keep up the good work here!

-Peter Cottontail

Author's Response: Why hello Peter Cottontail! This was by far the sweetest and cutest review ever! Thank you so very much for leaving it. I know that you're a busy bunny around Easter!

Oh no, they really don't, although Peter can have some and maybe James, because he needs cheering up after having his homework eaten.

Oh yes, it's best to keep away from Sirius, he's unable to control himself in dog form. This situation had to have happened, I bet Sirius regularly had days where he was more dog then Human.

Sirius/Remus is totally canon, we all know it to be true. :P

Thank you so much Peter Cottontail! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by potterfan310 Did you say that you ate my homework?

29th March 2015:
Hey Tammi!!

Ahh I love this, it's been ages since I read Marauders and this is brilliant :D

I LOVE that Sirius ate it for real, oh god I can even imagine him actually doing it too, even if he did it by accident.

"I am going to put a flea collar on you" - This has to be my favourite line. I feel like they would get a pink or a sparkly one just to annoy Sirius but he'd secretly love it XD

I can't believe McGonagall believed that Sirius ate it, though I suppose once you've had to put up with the Marauders causing and playing pranks for god knows how long I suppose you get use to the weird excuses. :p

Loved it :D

-Sophie xx

Author's Response: SOPHIE!!! *squishes*

Yay! I'm so glad that you liked it :D I loved writing it so much! It was so fun.

Haha oh Sirius, he's so much like a dog, bless him.

Oh yes, of course it would be pink and sparkly. Sirius would be able to pull it off and love to do so!

McGonagall just knows that Sirius was involved, she's learnt not to question anything with those boys. :D

Thank you so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by Felpata Lupin Did you say that you ate my homework?

27th March 2015:
Ahahah! This was so much fun!
Seems like something that could've happened with the Marauders :)
Absolutely lovely oneshot!
Chiara

Author's Response: Awww thank you! I'm so glad that you liked it. :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by krazyboutharryginny Did you say that you ate my homework?

27th March 2015:
HAHAHA!! I love this! It's so funny that McGonagall completely believed that Sirius ate James' homework :') I'm totally cracking up laughing!
-Kayla

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! :D Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #17, by HermyLuna2 Did you say that you ate my homework?

27th March 2015:
Hahaha, you really have a talent for writing the Marauders! They were amazingly in character here! A few tiny mistakes: "bespeckled" should be "bespectacled" and once you wrote "are" instead of "ate". But other than that, you wrote this in a really nice and pleasant way. You kept all the characters appropriate for their ages. The bizarreness of this is awesome, one of the best things I've read in a while.

Author's Response: Thank you! And thank you for pointing that out, I've changed it. :D

Once again, thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words! :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by chinaglaze Did you say that you ate my homework?

27th March 2015:
Hilarious, very funny indeed, what else can I say? Loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much :D I'm so glad that you loved it :D

 Report Review

Review #19, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Did you say that you ate my homework?

27th March 2015:
THIS WAS THE COOLEST THING EVER!!!

Poor, poor James. That was an awful case of bad luck, otherwise known as Sirius Black. Haha, I can totally believe that McGonagall would just know James was telling the truth about Sirius eating his homework, though. You just can't put anything past these four.

Mr. Bear held hostage... I wonder where you got that idea. ;)

REMUS/SIRIUS!!! ♥ A marauders story must always have Remus/Sirius.

I loved this so much! I'm so glad you wrote it!

Sam.

Author's Response: YAY!!!

Poor, poor James. He doesn't need this at all. And he needs new friends, ones that aren't going to turn into dogs and eat his homework.

McGonagall knows everything!

Ahhh Mr. Bear! I wonder where that came from too. :P Maybe a certain Theo.

A marauders does always need Sirius/Remus! You are correct! :D

Thank you Sam! I need to write more like this. It was a lot of fun! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login