Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Taming the Dragon Tamer
  
87 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Chocolate Frog Card [one]

6th March 2016:
Wotcher!

There's nothing I like more than propping my feet up on a cushion (and a cat, since he refuses to move from said cushion) with a cup of tea (okay, so it's Firewhiskey) and reading a good fic. You have supplied me with one of those three things!

... It's the good fic, by the way.

Anyway, I thought I'd stop by because it's about Charlie Weasley! We were in the same year at Hogwarts, you know. Great chap. You write him perfectly, by the way. Always fussing about his beloved dragons - that sounds like Charlie!

I am sad Charlie feels alone though. Perhaps he could get a cat? Sure, they're slightly disobedient, but at least they fit inside your house without burning it to the ground.

Ah, but what's this I spy with my one blue eye? (The other one is purple, Firewhiskey - *ahem* tea - does that to me). Could love be in the air for young Charlie? In the form of handsome, dark, wheelchair-bound Christopher Parker? Mm I think I may have to read on!

Just let me put the... ah... kettle on first.

Lovely first chapter, I can't wait to rave about it at the Auror office tomorrow!

- Tonks

 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 [six]

19th February 2016:
Hi there Anja!

I'm here to leave you a BvB review. I know you asked for one of your newer stories, but I only had one chapter to go on this, so I hope you don't mind too terribly much :D

The feels - The. Feeelsss.

Anja. I need more. I need a sequel. Charlie just got better and was able to let someone in for the FIRST TIME and now the story is over. And Chris is just sooo perfect for him. Can you please write me more?

Your talent with emotions in this was pure brilliance. I felt it all and I wanted to jump into the computer and have a group hug with them. And ooo when Chris was able to pull Charlie out of the attack it was such a beautiful moment. ♥ (I know you like that symbol - haha). I could feel Chris's frustration at wanting to touch Charlie and feeling so much for him that he had to be as close as possible.

Great job with your description of the Final Battle from Charlie's POV. And the whole war. Geez, when you put it like that, I can understand how frustrating it might have been for Charlie to feel so far away and unable to help his sister and brothers until the very end. Then he lost David and it was just so sad. I'm so glad he found the words to tell Chris that he wanted him to stay. I really could've seen it going either way, but YAY for Happy Endings! ♥

I'm so glad you've written this story - and I can't wait to read more of your work!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: BETH!

Hey, I got two reviews for one... that's cool :)
I'm so happy you enjoyed it... there's no need for a sequel yet, because I'm still working on more chapters for this story. It's not really complete yet, and I feel terrible for not updating since May, but with stuff happening here, I wasn't really in the right mood to write a happy couple. (hey, my novel was meant to be just romance, but then I was feeling down and had Draco abducted and Muggleborns imprisoned in northern Russia.)
I'd rather give it time than to screw up this story I love so much. I plan to finish it over the summer though, and I still have about 15 chapters to go.

Thanks for all the praise, this was such a great review and it really made me grin like a fool :D

♥ Anja


 Report Review

Review #3, by alicia and anne [three]

12th February 2016:
Hello my lovely! I decided to carry on with this story because I love it so much!

Ahhh! They've slept together and that makes me so happy! :D I can't stop grinning!

No, Charlie, make this become more than a one night stand! LOVE HIM!

I love the background information on Chris and what school he went to, that was a really lovely touch. It's good to see that Salem is all one floor. I can't see how Hogwarts would have been able to fit a wheelchair in, but I'm sad that they didn't work out a compromise.

I really hope that it's not too awkward between them both. I want them to be together forever!

NO! THEY NEED TO GET TOGETHER AND BE HAPPILY EVER AFTER!

Gah, I need more of this utterly fabulous work!

Author's Response: I love how this chapter always tears the readers apart. at first everyone is really happy because Charlie and Chris, together, a whole night... but then Charlie is acting like an idiot again and messes everything up and makes me laugh while he does it. But you'll have to continue reading, because those two can't stay away from each other for long, no matter how hard they try.

Thanks for the review
♥ Anja


 Report Review

Review #4, by alicia and anne [two]

21st January 2016:
It's hard to pick something that I haven't already read and reviewed :P This means that you need to write a lot so that I can review them!

How did I not finish this story though? I remember reading the first chapter and getting really excited about it! Well, I'm here now so there's that!

Charlie is so protective of his children - I mean Dragons. :P I wouldn't want people hanging around and probably antagonising them either.

Oh no! Muggles were so mean to Miranda by having their trap in the way and hurting her.

It's so easy to see just how passionate he is about his work and the dragons, and he's so intelligent when it comes to them. I can just imagine him as Chris Pratt in Jurassic World :D

I'm so nervous about him going in there alone! I don't want him to get hurt :S Chris is brilliant with that hidden skill and I'm glad that he could help Charlie! They could be the dragon's parents and spend the rest of their lives looking after them!

Oh Charlie! Don't worry about your mother being disappointed in you! I am! But he's made it all better by apologising! Yay!! :D

I'm so excited to see how things develop between those two! Keep up the amazing work my lovely!!! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by cherry_pop94 [six]

7th January 2016:
Hello Anja! I'm back for the last chapter of this so far! I'm so sad that I'm at the end already! I want so much more of this, it's so good!

I just want to swaddle Charlie up in a blanket with Chris and keep them safe from harm forever, but alas, that is not how the world works.

Charlie's story to Chris was so emotional. I cannot imagine how hard it must be to explain something like that. I've just noticed in this chapter too that making Chris an American makes this scene so much better. If he were British, he would likely know more about the Voldemort war, but as he spent those years in the US, he doesn't know.

But even though Chris doesn't know much about the Voldemort war, I think he's brilliant in the way that he helps Charlie. He lets him speak, encourages him, and helps him out of the attack. It was so emotionally charged too.

I've never thought about how hard it must have been for the other Weasleys when terrible things kept happening to Ginny and Ron. As an older sibling myself, it must be terrible to feel all that powerlessness, especially for Charlie and Bill who aren't around during Ron and Ginny's school years. I cannot imagine how difficult it must be hear that your much younger siblings keep getting hurt so much and knowing that there's nothing you can do to stop it because they're at school and you're not.

I cannot wait to know more of Charlie and Chris's story. You've really reeled me in Anja, I must know!

Stefanie

Author's Response: Hey Stefanie,

Chris was an American in my head right from the beginning, I hadn't even considered the British wizarding war when I came up with the character, but you're right, it makes the story more believeable.

Chris is great with Charlie... he's the perfect counterpart to him.

I am an older sibling too, that has always been something that I wondered about in the books, starting from when Ginny gets taken into the Chamber of secrets. I sat there wondering how Bill and Charlie would feel, as the only family members who weren't there. (since Arthur and Molly are there when Harry and Ron get back from the Chamber).
I'm so glad you want to know more. When the new chapter(s) is/are up, we could do another swap!?

This has been great, I really enjoyed reading your reviews. Thanks so much for the swap.


 Report Review

Review #6, by cherry_pop94 [five]

7th January 2016:
Hello Anja! I'm here for our swap again. Thank you so much for the reviews you left, by the way. I'll reply to them as soon as possible!

I honestly yelled out 'yes' when I read the first line of this chapter. I thought it might be Chris and it was!

I am very worried for Charlie though. He's held in a lot of feelings for a very long time, but it seems that he's ready to tell Chris everything that's been eating away at him since even before the war. I have high hopes for their relationship, even though, as Chris says, they live half a world away.

There's only one chapter left of this story! I want so much more, haha!

Stefanie

Author's Response: Haha I'm so glad you're enjoying this. I'm working on new chapters... I have been for a long time... I was kind of stuck for a while, but then I wrote something and now I just have to figure out how to tie it all together :) so a new chapter will probably be up at the beginning of february.

Thanks again for the swap.


 Report Review

Review #7, by cherry_pop94 [four]

5th January 2016:
Hi Anja, here for the swap again!

This chapter was amazing. I was holding my breath the whole time Charlie was recounting the war. I feel like sometimes it's easy to forget how much these beloved characters are affected by trauma and violence in their lives. They're irreparably broken in ways many of us can't understand.

You've really captured it well here. In the earlier chapters, Charlie gives of the vibe of someone who can't be hurt. He's physically injured, but he's right back out there with his dragons when he gets the chance. But underneath that, he's in a lot of emotional pain over many things, including the war. This chapter showed how vulnerable he is and I thought it was brilliantly done.

I can't imagine the pain of losing David and Fred on the same day. And watching someone you love die too. It's terrible. And I imagine Charlie couldn't talk about David with anyone as he hadn't told his family or friends about the relationship, right? Holding that kind of trauma in cannot be good for him.

I wonder who's at the door now! Maybe Chris? I can't wait to see how he comes back!

Stefanie

Author's Response: Hey again,

I'm so glad you liked this chapter. All this turmoil wans't even planned to begin with, it just kind of came out of nowhere.
You're absolutely right that charlie had no one to talk to about David. He's just not one who talks about emotional stuff much. To everyone else, he's the tough guy, the dragon tamer, while inside he's broken and hurt and has no way of letting go.

Thanks for this great review

♥ Anja


 Report Review

Review #8, by cherry_pop94 [three]

5th January 2016:
Hi again! Here for part two of the swap!

This was another great chapter. I really like how you've explained disability in the wizarding world. I am quite disappointed thought that Hogwarts is disability friendly, but I guess it would be now with the invention of the flying wheelchair!

Once again, I'm such a fan of Chris's character. He's got an interesting story behind him, but I feel like there's still so much to learn, about the both of them! I love how Chris's British accent comes out when he's drunk, I got a chuckle out of that.

This was a short chapter, but I thought a really effective one. I can't wait for the next!

Stefanie

Author's Response: Hey Stefanie,
Thanks for the lovely review. I'm glad you're enjoying this, and I can't wait to read what you think of the next few chapters.

Chris is so much fun to write, I adore him. He's also going to be part of quite a few other stories once i finally get around to writing them :)

♥ Anja


 Report Review

Review #9, by cherry_pop94 [two]

4th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for the first of our swaps!

I really enjoyed this chapter. It was fast paced and I could really tell how much Charlie cares about his dragons. He has a bit of a condescending tone when he speaks to people, but I suspect a lot of it comes from the anger and boredom of not seeing his dragons.

I really like Chris so far. He's such a fascinating guy. Works with dragons, an animal healer, a teacher, maybe rich too (if all that money he donated is any indication). I can't wait to know more about him. Charlie's judgement of him is almost comical because I think from what we've seen so far, he's definitely the arrogant one, not Chris.

Anyway, can't wait to read more! I'll get to the next chapter probably later tonight.

Stefanie

Author's Response: hey stefanie,
I'm really happy you like this chapter! You're right, Charlie is definitely the one being arrogant and unfair, but he'll figure that out soon enough. I'm just glad Chris has enough patience to stick around for a while.
It's 4 am here now, so I won't get a review for you done tonight, but I will get to it tomorrow.
Thanks for doing this swap

♥ Anja


 Report Review

Review #10, by cherry_pop94 [one]

3rd January 2016:
Hello Anja! I'm here for our swap!

I've wanted to read this for ages now. I've never read anything about Charlie, but I already love the premise of this!

And I have to say, the dragon reserve sounds AMAZING. I want to go so badly. I want to be a dragon tamer. I want Charlie's job. I'm coming to steal it when I finish my degree.

I'm very excited to see where this goes. I do hope Charlie quickly gets rid of his terrible prejudices. He's worried about being judged by his family, and then he turns around the judges this man! But I really can't wait to see how they get close.

I'll definitely be back to read more of this soon!

Stefanie

Author's Response: Hey
Thanks so much for our swap. sorry it took me a bit to complete it.
Awww I feel honoured that you've wanted to read this for a while.
I'd love to move to romania and live and work at the reserve myself, so I completely get what you mean. ♥

This first chapter is really just an introduction, the story picks up much more in the next couple of chapters. There's an explanation for the prejudices, I promise. Charlie is a bit of a mess still, but they'll work it out.

I'd love to see you back here. Maybe we can do an extended swap, I could review your other chapters and you could keep reading this? if you want to do that, let me know.

Thanks for the swap

♥ Anja


 Report Review

Review #11, by LadyL8 [one]

11th November 2015:
Hi Anja.

So I've seen how hard you've worked with NaNo, and I'm a very proud mum. Yo'ure word count has gotten really high, and I figured it was about time you got something from me to futher motivate you to keep writing. I have five reviews like this one, and I'll post one every now and then when I feel like you've worked really hard :)

Okay, so I'm just going to copy and paste the review. The first paragraph will probably make you understand when I actually wrote this :P Anyway, here we go:

Hi Anja. So I read this story a while ago, but I never got around to reviewing it. And since Iíve literarily paid for it to get advertised (well, technically I paid for the site to stay on, but you get what I mean), I figured it was about time I finally did so. So here comes 6 reviews in a row, where I pretty much just tell you how much I love the story. Itís just warm fuzzy reviews really, and Iíll probably be rambling a lot. But you know all about that from Letters, so Iím not going to waste more time talking about it.

OMG. I am so much in love with story itís not even funny. At this point I think I might even like it more than Letters and thatís saying something cause you how much I love that story. Charlie has always been someone I can sympathise with. Iím the odd one in our family as well, not at all like the rest of my siblings or my parents. I donít even look like them, and everyone pretty much likes to remind me off that. So I totally feel like I can relate to Charlie, because he too is someone that does his own thing, and heís the ďodd oneĒ too, the one that is so different from everyone else in the family.

I love Christopher. We hardly saw him in the chapter, but I definitely feel I like I know him already. At least a little bit. You see, he reminds me of my middle school teacher, because he too sat in a wheelchair (he had an accident years ago, and havenít been able to use his legs ever since. And he met so much hate at my middle school, cause it was a very terrible (I wouldíve used a stronger word, but the reviews are suppose to be 12+) school. But he just took it calmly, and he was seriously the best teacher Iíve ever had. Really, really good teacher.

We donít see many stories on HPFF where a character is in a wheelchair, so Iím just so happy you have one. I actually had a project in high school, where I sat in a wheelchair for two weeks (every day, everywhere) and we filmed it, and the point was to show how hard it is to sit in a wheelchair. And basically say what we, as a society need to do to make things better for these people. And a scene that always makes me cry in the final project is when I took the bus while sitting in the wheelchair, cause pretty much everyone was staring at me the entire ride. And it was so uncomfortable, and I honestly felt like yelling at everyone. And it makes me so sad to think about what people that actually sits in wheelchairs must go through everyday. What Charlie says in the end is just the beginning of it. Thereís so much ignorance, prejudism and just downright bad behaviour from so many people. And I just hate that.

But this back to your story again. Anyway, I like that idea here. I can see Charlie being gay, and I like that he immediately likes Christopher. And I already like the Christopher, and I can see the two of them being together. And I canít wait for it to happen. So yeah, Iím so excited to read the next chapter of my favourite story by my favourite author. And I so hope this story will get lot of new readers through the advertisement, cause you really deserve it.

Oh, and did I mention I love the story? Cause I do. So much. Itís my favourite, you know. And it totally deserves to be given a dobby rec. cause youíre so good, Anja. Hope you a wonderful day.

Lots of Love From Your Biggest Fan

Lotte

Author's Response: Lotte, I don't think I have thanked you enough times for giving me your advertising rights! You are the most amazing person ever, do you know that?
I'm so happy to hear that you like this. really, it means so much coming from you!

I'm sorry about your middle school experience. Mine wasn't all that great either, so I understand how that must have been for you. (I think most of us on this site had one thing or other happen to them in their childhood...)


Your project sounds so amazing! exhausting, and hard, and like it would be a lot of work. but really, really awesome. It must have been so uncomfortable to be stared at so much. I have only ever been in a wheelchair for a couple of days after an injury, so I hardly know anything about it, that made it a little harder to write chris but i daresay he worked out allright.

The advertisement has been running for a while now, and the story's reads have gone up, so thank you so, so much!

Thank you so much for your massive support and for everything you've been doing for me. You're the most amazing person ever.

♥ Anja


 Report Review

Review #12, by mymischiefmanaged [one]

4th October 2015:
Hi Anja, I'm here for our swap. Couldn't resist this story - I love Charlie fics and am kind of surprised I haven't already read this.

I really love this story so far. It's really original and your Charlie is lovely. I enjoyed his not wanting to go home to Molly's fussing. You can absolutely imagine her refusing to let him come back and just wanting to take care of him forever. His immediate recognition of that was sweet.

And then you turned it bittersweet with the reflection on how his life isn't moving on. It completely make sense that he'd feel like that, especially given that even his much younger siblings are starting to noticeably grow up. I'm interested to understand more about his feelings towards Bill. It feels here like he's maybe a bit jealous of his brother, and I like that. He's looking up to his big brother and wants what he has, even though it clearly wouldn't work for Charlie.

His worry about his family not accepting him for who he is is understandable but disappointing. I'm sure the Weasleys would all immediately accept anyone Charlie brought home, but can see why it would be difficult for Charlie to see that.

Charlie getting moved into tour guiding made me smile. It's obvious how frustrating that would be for him.

And then Christopher Parker is intriguing. I can't work out what I think about the tour. Charlie's worries obviously do stem from prejudice in some ways, but then he's only voicing them because of a genuine concern for the safety of others. I'm interested to know more about Christopher's reaction to this. He doesn't really seem angry, but it's interesting that he calls Charlie out for being prejudiced.

Basically you've set up a really intriguing and engaging story and I'm definitely keen to read on. Thanks for the swap!

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hey Emma,

Thanks for our swap. Awww I'm so glad you think that.
Charlie has a lot of growing up to do, and his prejudices are petty and wrong and his thoughts about his family not accepting him or his partners are just riddiculous. But he needs to learn this the hard way - and trust me he will and he kind of already has. This story picks up much more in the next chapters...

Christopher Parker is a great guy. he just appeared in my thoughts one day and I had to write about him - that's where this story came from. Chris is very confident in himself and just doesn't care about what other people think or say about him. He has had years to get used to prejudice and he's heard every possible insult and rude comment. He can take charlie's little lapse in judgement. He doesn't let anyone treat him badly, but he also doesn't get angry easily. (I can learn a lot from this guy ♥)

I'd love to hear your thoughts on later chapters.
Thanks so much for this review
♥ Anja


 Report Review

Review #13, by casual_chaos [two]

13th August 2015:
Charlieee, nooo!! Okay, so this is a complicated situation because Charlie had said (and meant!) some really hurtful and condescending and prejudiced things here, but he also regretted saying those things and he was aware of how wrong they were, so I can't really see him as a bad character. Christopher, on the other hand, is the ultimate protagonist. He's lovely and forgiving and just perfect. I really hope Charlie learns to appreciate that quickly!

Oh, but Charlie is so passionate about what he does, it's such a pleasure to read. And I loved the dragons' names! :)

It was great to see that things were starting to look better by the end of the chapter, and I'm looking forward to learning more about Christopher. Great chapter, dear!

Andy

Author's Response: Hello again, Andy.

Thanks for continuing to read! It always makes me really happy when people keep reading this story.

Charlie got a little caught up there, but he really feels sorry for it now. And he does have his reasons. I promise he does.

Chris has heard it all by now, and he just doesn't care about these comments. He's quick to forgive because he just isn't the type to hold grudges.

Ahhh the end of chapter two... maybe one of my favourite parts. Don really is on a mission here.

Thank you for the review! It really makes me so happy.

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #14, by casual_chaos [one]

13th August 2015:
Hey Anja!

First off, this is a rather interesting story you've introduced us to! I've never read a Charlie Weasley fic before, which is why I picked this story to review. I think dragons are also quite under-appreciated in fanfiction so I'm really looking forward to your portrayal of them. And while we're on the subject of dragons, I liked how you mentioned the more mundane parts of the dragon business, the boring officey parts. It makes the whole thing more believable, and the characters more relatable. So kudos for that!

As for the characters, I think you did a great job with Charlie's characterization. He's definitely not the most tactful person in the world (I was actually quite mad at him near the end of the chapter, he really made me cringe) but he seems devoted and hard-working, so I think he's not actually that bad. I liked the casual way you told us about his sexual orientation, it was really very subtle and laced into the story itself, without unnecessary drama.

Next, Christopher. Well, I have nothing much to say about him because he didn't have too much lines, but I'm definitely looking forward to seeing how things are going to develop between Charlie and him. They didn't exactly have a nice start. :P And to be honest, I love that premise in stories! When I used to play Sims, I would always make my Sims fight and then I'd try to fix their relationship and make them love each other again, haha. This is a bit TMI, I know, and I just compared your fic to Sims!! I'm sorry! But you get what I mean, star-crossed lovers are my thing! :D

Anyway, yeah, sorry if this review is useless! I intend to keep on reading, if that makes up for it. :)

Oh, and there is one detail that I found interesting - Mr. Dacia! Dacia, as in, the famous Romanian car? I don't know if this was on purpose (or if that's a common last name in Romania) but I thought it was a nice pun. :D

All in all, I think you have a great start here. Your writing is very clean, and very easy to follow, and your characters, setting and plot seem promising to make an excellent story. I'm looking forward to the rest!

Thank you for the review swap!

Andy

Author's Response: Hey Andy,

Thank you so much for the swap.

I'm so glad you think Charlie works the way I wrote him. The truth is that when I started this, I didn't have any plans for the story. But then I got to know Charlie a bit and he decided to take the plot into his own hands.

I completely understand that you're mad at charlie, and that might happen once or twice more in the future. but I promise he has his reasons.

Thank you so much for your awesome review.

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #15, by Infinityx [five]

9th August 2015:
oh he stays, does he?

so you already regard him as family then. oh charlie.

Author's Response: This may or may not be the best review ever. Thanks for that! I love thst you read all of this.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Infinityx [four]

9th August 2015:
anja why do you make me cry

no no no no no

charlie don't cry

omg i love how you've brought in this backstory and built up charlie's character even more. i love how the questions i had about charlie's past are being answered. i can't wait to know more about why he's so prejudiced to the extent that he was so nasty to chris.

on the plus side, he can't stop thinking about chris, yay for that.

that fight scene omg that was so vivid and scary and i held my breath till i finished reading this chapter. poor charlie, with his anxiety attacks and losing david as well as fred, and all of it making his family suffer and him not wanting to be around them. sweet salazar there are layers and layers of detail in this that just explain every aspect of his mental and emotional struggle and i just want to hug him and tell him everything's alright.

knock on the door - chris?

i hope there's going to be more explanation about why his prejudice is so deeply rooted and i can't wait to see how chris will be there for charlie and help him heal

you are the greatest

Author's Response: You are the greatest.

Thanks for the reviews.

These layers just kind of happened. I did not have ANYTHING planned for this story when I started writing it. It just happened. I think I have a special connection with Charlie, I feel like I really got to know him while writing this.

Thanks for making me laugh so much at your wonderful reviews.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Infinityx [three]

9th August 2015:
oh looks like don succeeded. awkwardness? is it because you're prejudiced and sober or is it because you're totally in love charlie you lover boy, you can't hide your infatuation from me

chris was very agile. must have been fun. naughty charlie trying to hide behind your awkwardness when you totally want this.

ooh love the flirtiness. chris is so forward i love him. charlie too. ah flawed characters are the best i need more.

no you definitely must see each other again because i ship you both. and make breakfast together and live together and take care of dragons together because charlie/chris is perfect.

Author's Response: Awww I can't believe I made so many people ship this. I absolutely adore Chris. Sometimes I wish he was real (and maybe not gay)... but that wouldn't be good... he needs to stay on paper with Charlie. Because I adore them... and I need to write more! Don't worry, Charlie's stubbornness to keep Chris out of his life is slowly drifting away.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Infinityx [two]

9th August 2015:
american prat and american students. ooh charlie, getting way ahead of yourself there.

those details are perfect. dragons are the best. your charlie is the best i love him.

ooh snap. didn't see that one coming, did ya charlie? christopher is the man for the job. is that steam, is that a burn i see? ouch.

i love christopher.

aw, charlie and chris and the dragons. such a cute family. :')

yeah charlie, what would your mother say?

chris seems like he'd be good for him though. charlie would become a better person.

ooh yess don, that's how you do it. i love don.

i love everything about this story so far.

Author's Response: Oh my god have I told you how much I love your reviews?

I love Don too. I think I might need to make him part of the rest of this story. I like his dry sarcasm... (which probably only exists in my head so far)...



 Report Review

Review #19, by darkkid [six]

29th July 2015:
Oh Chris and Charlie and ohhh! They're so cute excuse my squees.

Charlie talking about the battle upsets me. There's so much pain there. Though even talking about something so painful, Chris makes it better. He's there and he's listening I think maybe that's what Charlie needs the most- just someone to be there.

I hope now that he has expressed himself to Chris - and more importantly expressed that he wants Chris to stay - they can move forward, together. And eventually, perhaps, Charlie will finally introduce someone to his family. It's a long stride for him but I bet Chris will help him through it!

I'm very excited to see how this goes. It can't be easy, taming a Dragon Tamer but if anyone is to do it, it's going to be Chris.

I wonder what other trials and tribulations are in store for the pair!

Very great read!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hey Raisha,
Thanks so much for the review.

They make me sqee too... they're just so perfect together... but they also still have a while to go until everything can be perfect.

The war is a very hard topic to write about... we know what happened from the perspective of Harry, but we never get the full extent of it. everyone experiences it differently, but it's just as horrible from the different perspective.

I've been struggling to continue this story, but I think I can finally work on it again now, so look out for a new chapter soon.

Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving encouraging words.

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #20, by darkkid [five]

29th July 2015:
Chris! Yes I'm so glad Chris is here! Chris appears to be the braver of the two so it would make sense that he would be the first to make the moves.

Oh no! Charlie :[ I hope there's nothing seriously wrong!

Chris had very fast thinking, but it is unfortunate that Charlie has found himself back in the hospital!

I'm glad Chris is staying! I hope their more-than-friendship blossoms into something spectacular! They have much to talk about!

I'm really enjoying their relationship, it's coming along wonderfully and seeing them together makes me happy!

Cheers!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hey Raisha,

This chapter makes me happy every time I read through it. Chris is a brave, confident man. Life dealt him a bad hand as well, but he made the best of it and doesn't let his disability affect what he wants to do.

When I wrote this, I kind of had parallels between the two men in mind. They are both broken, but Chris can deal with it and Charlie just isn't there yet. That is why Chris is so perfect for Charlie. He understands what it means to have to deal with something more than other people. He's there to help Charlie, and together, they can be truly happy again.

Charlie doesn't fall in love easily, he's very stubborn. But Chris is just the right kind of persistent to make Charlie realize what he wants.

Thank you so much for sticking around

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #21, by darkkid [four]

29th July 2015:
Oh Charlie and his dragons! He will never part from his babies, I just love it!

Charlie has a wonderful night with Chris (that night can be classified as wonderful right?) I think it counts as wonderful. Back to my point, he has his night with Chris and suddenly old thoughts that he tries to push away resurface. I feel like he's searching for a reason to not be happy. Finding an excuse as to why he shouldn't love another because... what if? What if he had been less cowardly and what if David was still around?

He's very troubled and has a lot to work through, but maybe that's why he needs Chris.

It saddens me how much the war has affected Charlie. It's so awful that while the Weasley's were broken over losing Fred that Charlie had lost another, someone close to him, someone he loved deeply. It's double the pain. So sad!

I hope that Charlie wakes up feeling better, and perhaps feeling a little ambitious and contacts Chris because he needs it!

Cheers!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hey Raisha

It always makes me really happy when people continue reading a story and leaving reviews. It really means a lot to me, so thank you!

This chapter focuses on Charlie and the war and what he has been through. He hasn't forgiven himself quite yet, and he still has some things to work through, but Chris will be there to help him.

You're absolutely right, Charlie is looking for an excuse to not allow himself to feel again, because feeling love ended in so much pain for him...

Thank you so much for the review.

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #22, by darkkid [three]

29th July 2015:
Yes yes, me here!

Poor Charlie drank too much the night before! Uh-oh! I do hope that it is Chris in bed with him. How scandalous!

Daw, they're so... awkward but in a cute way that makes me smile. I can't imagine what is going through both of their minds! One minute they're talking in a pub and then... oops! It's clear they both had an instant attraction to each other or else the night might have gone differently.

And they still have a lot of chemistry that I hope gets explored later! They're each animal-loving nerds and its cute. It's something they could really bond over!

No, Charlie don't walk away from him! Get his phone number, his address, something so you can see him again! It can't end like that! Charlie!

I'm off to the next!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hi Raisha,

Haha that review makes me laugh. These two can be so incredibly frustrating! But Charlie needs time to admit to himself how he feels and to allow himself to feel again. Chris has to be the bigger person for now, and it's a good thing he's so confident and knows what he wants.

Thanks so much for your review

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #23, by darkkid [two]

29th July 2015:
Hi there, me again!

I absolutely adore Charlie's genuine care for his dragons. He's so passionate about them and when he sees their sick he doesn't let anything, his injury, or anyone, his boss, stand in his way. Those dragons are HIS dragons and he would stop at nothing to help them.

I do believe Charlie has the case of the Weasley temper! That wasn't nice at all for him to say that, but I'm very glad he realizes that. I do believe he was "in the zone" with his dragons and that's what set him off.

Oh and now they're at the pub! And Charlie has apologized, and I'm beginning to love their budding friendship.

And I'm very interested by the ending here. Don is like a wing-man and I'm very thrilled that he can also see the budding friendship between Charlie and Chris.

Despite both being willed and strong-headed, I think they're going to be great together!

Cheers! Next chapter here I come!

-raisha

Author's Response: Oooh it always makes me so happy to see someone continue reading this story, especially because the plot really only picks up a bit into the story.

Don is probably one of my favourite minor OCs. He's just fun to write about, to have somewhere, lurking in the background and seeing straight through everything. He'll definitely be back later.

Charlie can often easily forget to think before speaking, especially when he is with his dragons. Nothing else seems to matter to him then.

Thanks again for all these wonderful reviews.


 Report Review

Review #24, by darkkid [one]

29th July 2015:
Hi, I'm raisha from the forums, ignore my ancient username on here okay :P
(And I'm also angelic. on TDA and I remember making this banner for you and even had this in my reading list but haven't gotten around to it so... here I am now!) Whee!

I love the start of this. Charlie is legitimately upset that the doctor's won't allow him to work, and that really reflects his character. I know he wasn't a big part of the books, but it definitely seems, to me, like something he would be upset over.

I love this line here: "He really didn't want to find out what Molly Weasley deemed healthy enough to work with dragons." Because that just sounds exactly like Mrs. Weasley and exactly like something Charlie would be keen on avoiding!

It actually greatly amuses me that Charlie, dragon extraordinaire, would be afraid to bring home someone to meet his family. This guy goes up against dragons daily and yet his own family has him terrified! I like that, it really adds to his character.

Oh Charlie! Your precious dragons are durable, there is nothing at all that will happen to them! Although, I do have this strange inkling that Charlie is less worried about his dragons and more worried about Christopher being harmed!

I'm off to read the next chapter, I very much enjoyed this!
(And I've never read a Charlie fic, but I certainly am liking it a lot!)

Cheers!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hi Raisha.

I am still completely in love with the banner you made me. It is absolutely perfect. Sometimes, I go to my AP and just look at the banners for a bit.

I'm so glad you're enjoying this story already. I've been wanting to explore Charlie's character for a whilr before I started this. It was surprisingly easy to write about him. He seems to have a mind of his own sometimes.

As for the part where he worries about the dragons... he does that, but you may be right, he worries about Chris more. And also, he doesn't want to spend time with that good looking stranger who affects him way more than he should.

Thank you so, so much for your review(s)

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #25, by Veritaserum27 [five]

21st July 2015:
Hiya Anja!

I'm here for your second review reward for writing ten or more stories for the "Who's Line Is It Anyway?" game. Great job with that!

Now on to the review proper. Awe, this chapter was so sweet! I love that it was from Chris's point of view because I was just dying to know how he felt about things. And from the looks of it - he's quite smitten. Not only that, but he seems to have a deep understanding of people - Charlie especially. He can read his eyes and interpret his emotions. Gah! These two are a so perfect for one another.

Another thing that I really liked about this chapter is that you've done a great job describing Chris's limitations because of the wheelchair accurately. I don't know how much research you did to write this or if you've got enough personal experience, but everything's been handled with tact and compassion. I've read stories where the disabilities are WAY overdone and tend to tromp all over the plot of the story. At the same time, I can't stand it when someone tries to write a character with a disability and mentions it in the first chapter and then completely forgets about it. Obviously, Chris can't whisk Charlie into his arms and run down the stairs to carry him to the hospital himself. But he does save him. And that's so very romantic.

"He stays." Aaa! What are you doing to me. I wasn't exactly sure what that said, and I made a few guesses in my head, but this line was so perfect. Thanks so much for the glossary at the end with all of the terms - I don't know any Romanian at all, so I was grateful for all the translations.

Great job with this story - I hope you continue with it.

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hey Beth,

I'm so happy that you feel like they are perfect for each other (they kind of are made for each other...)

Oh my, thank you so much! I thought about how to write about Chris' disability a LOT! I've also seen many stories where it's either over the top or just not realistic, and I really wanted to avoid that. I have a friend who's been in a wheelchair for all of her life, and she can do all the things she wants to do. of course she needs help sometimes. she's getting her driving license at the moment and she needs a car espeically built for her. Her mum had to drive her to school every day because she couldn't take the bus. But they made it work. She's moving to the city on her own in September and she's going to start Uni then. Her disability was kind of what I had in mind when I wrote Chris and I'm so glad it works.

Haha, I don't speak Romanian either (I wish I would), we have tenants who are from Romania and they were a lot of help with landscape and language.

I'm working on a new chapter now (I've been working on it for ages, it's a stubborn little thing at the moment, but we'll get there ;) ), I hope I'll see you back sometime.

Thanks for these perfect reviews!!! I love them !

~Anja xxx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>