Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Everything About You
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Crumple-Horned Snorkack Everything About You

4th May 2015:
Greetings Amanda, I am the Crumple-Horned Snorkack and I have ventured out of the northern forests where I normally hide from the Lovegoods, and came all the way here to the internet and found your story!

This is such a lovely take on Dramione, and I loved the spin you put on it in that Draco's constant teasing of her and annoying her was all because he had a crush on her, but didn't really realise it - I found that very believable. Sometimes this ship can be portrayed as a bit far fetched but because it took years for him to work it out, this felt perfectly natural. It has made me wonder though, that perhaps the reason the Lovegoods annoy me by searching for me in the forest is because they like me and want to be friends. I'm not sure what their motivations are - not that I'll ever find out, for I enjoy hiding from them too much.

The way you wrote their relationship was so cute, how they went from hostility in school - and a kind of cruel obsession on Draco's part, to him kind of having this unrealistic image of her as he thought she was "too" good, and then finally getting to know her as a person. The scene when he insists her essay is wrong just so he can get a reaction, was kind of adorable :P

I was really cheering for them at the end! I wish I could fly the flag of the Dramione Ship in my forest home, but it might attract too much attention and draw humans into the forest. So for now, I will just retreat back into my dark forest and hide once more, and perhaps have some tea with Bigfoot.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Aphoride Everything About You

7th April 2015:
Hey there - dropping by for our review swap! :)

Okay, so I have to admit I'm not a big fan of Dramione, but sometimes some of them work, you know? ;) And the summary of this sounded so, so interesting so I just had to stop by to see what it was about.

I really liked this, too - I loved how you characterised Draco, and how you made it a slow-build type thing, with him being almost obsessed with teasing her and bullying and belittling her from the beginning, and the hints that it's more because he likes her than anything else. It's such a different characterisation to what I've seen before with Dramione's and it's so much more realistic and so much less cliche, which I adore, too. It's a very childish thing of Draco to do, but he is, essentially a child, and I loved how it changes as he grows up and that when he's older he realises the truth of his feelings and his obsession with her.

Hermione too is so good. She and Harry and Ron are characters I'm always so terrified to write because they're the trio, you know, and JK Rowling wrote them so completely, that for me I just find it them so scary, because if you get them wrong, it's obvious. But you wrote her so beautifully here, and so true to canon too. I loved how she reacted to Draco, how her temper was evident there, and how she, in the end, was so forgiving of him. I loved the little references to her intelligence and her hardworking nature, and the contradictions Draco would have seen or felt with her being better than him academically, but being muggle-born and so supposedly inferior. It's one of those contradictions which wasn't really explored in the books, so I love how you explored it in this :)

Your writing in this was so lovely, too - I loved your descriptions, and the narrative you used in this. It was such a brilliant style - with Draco going through so much of his life, not skimping on any of it, and yet not providing too much detail that it got swamped down in it - it was such a perfect balance of the two. I loved the minimalist dialogue, too - it really added to the story, to the narrative feel in particular.

I loved the ending, and how you had things develop after the war, and how he changed and grew as a person. I think it's totally believeable that he changed then - there's no pressure, you know, to believe the things he believed as a child, and he's young enough for his opinions to still potentially change. Not completely, but just enough. Plus, the way you work it in that he might well have been subconsciously questioning things behind it all really makes it work so much better, too, and makes the sudden change so much more real.

Also, I have to say that I loved the fact that all the eighth years bonded together - it's a pretty sweet gesture, tbh - and I love how they didn't ask him. Poor Draco, haha, having his table and quiet stolen :P And the ending is so sweet, too! One of those moments which is just so perfect :)

This is a really, really lovely one-shot - I'm so glad we swapped so I could read it! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by Babbitty Rabbitty Everything About You

2nd April 2015:
[[I was looking through profiles and saw that you are also a recently graduated teacher.]]

Looking through your stories, this one caught my eye so I decided to hop on in (hehe). I did not regret it.

Your writing style is beautiful. Without dialogue, you managed to paint a vivid picture of life at Hogwarts during the '90s, from their first years at school until they returned as "eighth years". (I love the name, by the way!) It is a topic I have not seen often, especially when mixed with the trials after the war, and you wrote it so well that it all seemed very real.

I must say, this is one of the more believable Draco/Hermione stories I have read. You brought us into his mind so we could see him changing over the years. There were clear watershed moments that you went over (ex. early schooling, Voldemort's return, the final battle, Azkaban, returning to school) that set up lovely phases for his relationship and feelings to develop.

Bravo on bringing back minor characters for the final year at Hogwarts. I must say, I am a fan of those, being one myself (hehe) and it helped provide more of a clean slate, since Hermione & Draco both were missing their closest friends.

Very well done. =)

Yours truly,

Babbitty Rabbitty

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for reviewing this story. I really appreciate it! It's always nice to hear from a fellow teacher! :D

I'm glad you made that comment about the lack of dialogue, because I was really worried about that. I didn't want the story to get boring because I wasn't splitting up the narrative with any dialogue. I also appreciate that you enjoyed the plot I crammed in here and how believable the story was. I worked really hard to not fall into an OOC traps. I hope I succeeded.

Anyway, thank you again for all you massively sweet words!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #4, by Leanne Everything About You

1st April 2015:
Aw, very lovely 😊

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #5, by holdtheblind Everything About You

30th March 2015:
OHMYGOSH IM CRYING THAT WAS SO CUTE

PLEASE WRITE MORE PRETTY FANFICTIONS HHH

THAT WAS ADORABLE ;w;

Author's Response: Thank you so much for stopping by to review! I really appreciate your sweet words :) I'll definitely try to bring you more pretty stories about our favorite characters!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #6, by wolfgirl17 Everything About You

25th March 2015:
Hiya,

It's me. I just wanted to tell you again how wonderful this fic is. I love the whole thing, and the unrequited nature until the very end of the fic just has me yearning for more. You're writing is wonderful! I loved it!

xx-Ellie ;)

Author's Response: Hi Ellie!

Thank you so much for stopping by to review this! You so didn't have to do that after the help you gave me with it, but I'm so happy you did :D I'm glad you really liked it, because I put a lot of pressure on myself in writing it because Dramione is such a popular pairing and I hadn't really written them together before. I'm writing Guarded Hearts with them now, but it hasn't gotten to their interactions yet, so this was my first test. Thanks again!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #7, by MadiMalfoy Everything About You

24th March 2015:
Hello! :)

I decided to procrastinate longer on my essay and read this lovely one-shot of yours! :)

I've read my fair share of Draco/Hermione one-shots (OTP oops) that take place during Hogwarts at some point where Draco's feelings are either unrequited or hers are simply unknown or left up to the reader to decide, but yours doesn't do that. It's actually quite a sweet one-shot, and the song lyrics fit in so subtly (if you had any in there) it's truly wonderful! Your characterization of Draco is definitely something I'd hope he'd turn out to be like in future canon (even though we really have no way of truly knowing) with his wife. He's retained his brooding nature and all those good Slytherin qualities, but he's become a better man through his observing of Hermione throughout the years. The ending is so cute I nearly squished my own cheeks at how adorable it was!

A remarkable piece, I'll definitely have to come back and read some of your other pieces later! :)
~MadiMalfoy x

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time out to give this a read! I put a lot of pressure on myself with this oneshot, because I don't have a lot of experience with Draco as a character or Draco/Hermione as a pairing. I started a multi-chapter with them, but it hasn't gotten to their interactions yet so this was a bit of a trial run for me! :) It means a lot that you enjoyed the characterization of him. I didn't want him to lose the Draco-ness that we love, which I feel sometimes happens. Thank you again!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #8, by Chrissy Everything About You

23rd March 2015:
This is such a beautiful story!! An in depth look into Draco's personality and way of thinking makes me understand this story even more! Great job :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! I'm glad you liked Draco's character, because I was particularly worried about that aspect of the story.

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #9, by ScarlettTulips Everything About You

23rd March 2015:
Well, that was a perfect cup of tea. It was so sweet and innocent.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was hoping it'd come across as that!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #10, by Hogwarts Jaguar Everything About You

23rd March 2015:
Grrrooowl...

Howdy there! Just your Infamous Hogwarts Jaguar, popping in to say hello!

Dramione can be very good, indeed, and here's an example. The grrradual progrrression of Draco's character development was very im-purrr-essive, if you ask me.

He started out so angry and misunderstood, and became someone Hermione would want to go me-owt with. As a friendly kitty who gets up to fun learning shenanigans all year, I can certainly empathize with being misunderstood. But the ending was pawsitively purrrfect, and I hope that Draco and Her-meow-ne have a good dinner date.

Oops, I must go. I've knocked over a grindylow tank in the Defense Against the Dark Arts office... The infamous Hogwarts Jaguar strikes again!

Bless my soft adorable clumsy paws.

♥ Hogwarts Jaguar

Author's Response: Thank you so much for stopping by to give this review, Hogwarts Jaguar!

I'm really glad you liked the progression of this story! :) I was worried about that actually, because often I read Dramiones where I feel like it's a tad bit rushed. I also didn't want Draco to lose his character. I love him with Hermione, but not as a completely different person than he was in HP just as an evolved version of himself.

Thank you again!
Amanda


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login