Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for This Treasure
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dirigible_Plums You Make Me Smile

18th June 2017:
well, this broke my heart.

(i would have left it at that - reviewing is not one of my strong points haha - but i just have to say: i don't tend to read romione's for fear that my otp won't be done justice but this was perfect. their relationship was simple and not too showy and just amazing. romione for the bloody win.)

plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #2, by quill2parchment You Make Me Smile

23rd May 2017:
This was such a beautiful one-shot! You've captured both of their personalities so perfectly, it made me incredibly nostalgic! I could honestly their lives being a lot like this after DH, and the way you structured this was pure perfection!

Thank you so much for writing such a beautiful story!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Anonymous You Make Me Smile

14th February 2016:
Oh my Jesus... What have you done? This is so beautifully heartbreaking and just made me break down in tears. You're writing style is just perfect and I love the jump between dates.
Ok, I need to go and cry some more now

Author's Response: Hi!

Um... I'm sorry? *hides* If it helps at all, it took me weeks to build up the courage to even try and write this, and I was sobbing like a baby when I wrote it.

I'm SO glad that you enjoyed it though, and that you loved my writing! The fact that it made you cry means so much, too, because any writer wants to make their readers feel something, and that means this succeeded. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Jutta You Make Me Smile

22nd December 2015:
I'm crying. That's all I can say about it. Wow.

Author's Response: Aw, what a lovely little birthday surprise review! Thank you for stopping by and leaving your thoughts on the story - although sorry (and not sorry) for making you cry! Thanks again ♥

 Report Review

Review #5, by dreamgazer220 You Make Me Smile

11th December 2015:
This one-shot was simply heartbreaking and beautiful and frankly amazing.

I was captivated throughout the entire story, and I love the way you gave us fragments of their life together before the accident, being able to see Rose and Hugo grow up. Your descriptions, especially the ones about the wires and the tubes, were flawless.

Really well done!!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! It's hard to know what to say in response to such a lovely and wonderful review, but I'm so pleased that you liked the story!

I'm really happy that you liked the way I chose to tell this story, too - the structure was initially for a challenge that I didn't make the deadline for, so I have to thank Kristin for that inspiration. I wanted to show enough fragments of their life together, with their family, for the reader to get a true understanding of them as a couple (at least how I imagine them) but also to let the reader form their own ideas. I really can't tell you how glad I am that you enjoyed this and the response to this means so much.

Thank you again for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Meri113 You Make Me Smile

1st November 2015:
This was an incredible story :) thank you for sharing it with us :) I think you did really well with writing the characters. and thank god for no grammar errors (lol it drives me nuts)

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! It really means a lot that you would take the time to stop by and leave a review and I'm so happy you liked my characterisation and enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #7, by MissMdsty You Make Me Smile

27th September 2015:
That didn't make me cry, there's just something in my eye.

Oh, who am I kidding. Ever since I figured where this story was heading I've had tears pouring down my face because I can't imagine her being gone and taking my childhood with her (selfish, I know).

But this story was so well written and so emotional, I am just an emotional mess right now!

I think you've done an amazing job of walking us through their lives together, incorporating bits and pieces as you went along, making us fall in love with them as a couple.

I think this was such an amazing idea and you wrote it beautifully!

Good job!

Ral

Author's Response: Ral! ♥

I'm sorry that you cried! But also not a little bit because that means this story had the impact I want it to; I was crying like a baby when I wrote this!

I'm really pleased that you liked the picture I gave you of their lives with this story, and that it made you love them as a couple! Thank you so, so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by LadyL8 You Make Me Smile

16th September 2015:
Hi Sian.

I’m trying to read and review as many of the dobby noms as I possibly can before the voting round starts. And I’m now doing all the Best One-shot stories, and I realised I never read or reviewed this story. So that’s why I’m here, and it sure was about time for me to get here. This just looks so amazing, and that’s crazy for me to say since I’m not even much of a Ron/Hermione fan (I like them together, but I rarely read stories about the two of them) and this is a story about them. But I just have the highest expectations, because I always love your stories. You’re seriously one of my favourite authors on HPFF, and everything you write always ends up on my reading list (and favourite list, though that one hasn’t been updated in a while).

I really like how your structured this story (I have a point system for each Dobby category to help me decide which nominee to vote for, and one of the things I’m giving points for in the category Best One-shot is actually the structure). Time-jumps can easily be very confusing for the readers, especially when the story jumps between lots of different years, but it really works here. And you effectively use the structure to your advantage, to really the state of grief Ron must be in, in that moment he enters the hospital and realises what condition Hermione is in.

It’s really interesting to see the contrast between the happy couple back then, who certainly had their bad times as well but always got through everything together, and the tragic couple in the present, Hermione fighting for her life and Ron fighting to keep himself together - to stay strong. You use that contrast so well, it not only seems like Ron (or maybe even Hermione on her deathbed) is thinking about the significance the other person has had on their life (by reflecting on the past, showing that Ron and Hermione was just meant to be together forever, and Ron never had a reason to think it wouldn’t happen), but also as a way of showing just how much this couple has meant to each other, and just how much Ron is hurting in the present (if this does not make sense, I apologize. I’m still ill, so I’m not sure how understandable everything I write is).

Everything in this story is flawless. I wish I had anything good to say, but I really don’t. I just loved it, really. It’s just amazing. Ron is amazing. Hermione is amazing. Them together is amazing. Your writing is amazing. This is just amazing.

Thanks for sharing this story. I loved it, and I definitely see why it was nominated. It really deserved to be. Congratulations on your nomination and good luck in the voting round! And have a wonderful week, Sian! :)

Lots of Love ♥

Lotte

Author's Response: Hi Lotte! ♥ Thank you so much for stopping by and for taking the time to read all of these stories!

To be honest, I don't read many Ron/Hermione stories either, but to hear all those lovely things about my writing is really incredible! You're seriously one of the sweetest people ever ♥

This story was actually intended to be a challenge entry in the non-linear challenge, but I didn't make it in time, but I'm so pleased that you liked the structure! I thought it did work here with the way that it jumped between different years to develop the life that Ron and Hermione had together and then the present day.

I'm so glad that you liked the contrast between the memories that I wrote about and then the present day scenes in the hospital. I really wanted to show that, in spite of all the terrible grief and pain that Ron and his family are going through, him and Hermione did still have a very happy life together and that there are still cherished memories that he will keep with him, no matter what happens. I'm so glad that you thought the different scenes helped to illustrate how much the two of them meant to each other and the sort of pain and emotion that Ron is feeling.

Thank you so, so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to leave such sweet and thoughtful comments for me!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Penelope Inkwell You Make Me Smile

15th September 2015:
Hey there! I'm popping by, checking out the Dobby nominees--congratulations, by the way!

Sian, you're such a skilled writer. It has been far too long since I've read something of yours.

Of course this story made me sad, but I think you handled it well. It wasn't a bitter sadness. It was...kinda like watching The Notebook. I didn't ever watch it until a few years ago, and everyone had talked so much about how it was the saddest thing ever. And I actually thought it was kind of happy. I mean, I was expecting it to be so much worse. Everything ends, but we got to see that they'd had this epic love story, and what's more, a whole, beautiful life together. So while it was tragic, it wasn't exactly sad for me. And this was like that. Of course, Hermione was much younger--far too young for this. But still, all your flashbacks showed me this sweet, beautiful life that she and Ron and their kids had together, and that just made me so happy.

But you wrote the tragic parts well, as well. I felt very connected to Ron's pain, and the difficulty of letting go. I was really proud of Rose's maturity--I feel like Hermione would have been, too.

eight tattered chairs lined the walls, their covers fraying and revealing the leaking stuffing that was intended to comfort, but in reality helped little.
--I loved this image, and what you did with it. That was just a really brilliant little detail.

‘I should dress up more often,’ she responded, still smirking. ‘It’s not every day I can get you to shut up for minutes at a time.’
--this was so adorable and funny! It warmed my heart.

All of Ron and Hermione's interactions were so great! I love how you used this sad moment as a medium to flash back to all these happy stories. It was wonderful.


CC:

I noticed a few little things and I thought I'd point them out.

You still danced with me at all your brother’s weddings,
--it seems like brother's should be brothers'

This time, unlike when the anxious parents of a teenager entered, it was Dr Patel returning, and offered the man a small, half-encouraging smile.
--what was the "unlike when the anxious parents of a teenager entered" referring to? That confused me a bit. I didn't remember any anxious parents of teenagers being mentioned previously.

He hadn’t slept, his hair was sticking up in all directions, and the lines appearing on his face seemed deeper than ever before. It was as though he’d aged years in a couple of hours.
--I was just wondering why it said "he hadn't slept", since it seems like this has all happened rather quickly. He hadn't slept implies that a day or so has past, but then it implies that it's only been "a couple of hours."

and work and the feeling the constant feeling that something was missing.
--I think that the first "the feeling" could be dropped from "the feeling the constant feeling".



You've done a lovely job, Sian (as per usual). This is a really excellent one-shot, and it absolutely deserves its nomination. It tugged on my heartstrings, made me sad, made me laugh. It's a really sweet, balanced piece. It has happiness in spite of a tragic ending. Congratulations, again. I really enjoyed reading this.

--Penny

Author's Response: Hey Penny! Thank you so much for stopping by to review this (I still can't believe the dedication you had to review all the finalists!) and sorry for taking so long to respond.

Ah, I'm so pleased that you liked this story and thought I wrote it well! I mean, there was still plenty of angst (because it's pretty much all I write) but I kind of wanted it to be happy too, in a way. All of the different moments that I included were chosen to try and illustrate that on the whole they had a very happy life together and these little things were just a few of the many happy memories that Ron had to treasure. It's great that you found those moments happy to read!

The tragic parts were so difficult to write at times, but I'm strangely pleased with how they worked out. It's fantastic that you felt connected to Ron's pain and that the emotion I put into this story meant something to the reader as well.

Your CC is so helpful, thank you, Penny! Seriously, your reviews are always super helpful and thoughtful and I love receiving them ♥ All of those points make perfect sense and I'll go through and edit them as soon as I get chance - thanks again!

Thank you so much for all your wonderfully kind words and compliments about my writing, and thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by zegrindylows You Make Me Smile

11th September 2015:
Oh dear god, I should not have read this in the library. So beautiful and touching and so sad. Really deserves the Dobby nomination, best of luck.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Even now, when the Dobby results have been out for a while, a part of me still can't believe that this story - that /I/ - actually won a Dobby award. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the story (even if I upset you a bit!) and thank you for your support!

 Report Review

Review #11, by HeyMrsPotter You Make Me Smile

11th September 2015:
Hi, Sian!

I'm trying to read all of the Dobby nominated stories so this won't be a long review but I didn't want to not leave one. First off, can you kidnly explain what my heart ever did to you to deserve being stomped on this way?!?! You know, you could have just written all of the lovely fluffy moments and we would have still been friends. But no, you had to go and kick me in the feels! *sobs*

Joking aside, this was wonderful. You've painted a gorgeous picture of Hermione and Ron's life together, your characterisation is wonderful, and I loved it.

Congrats on the nomination!

Dee

Author's Response: Hi, Dee!

Aw, thank you so much, you're the sweetest ♥ And does it help if I promise it's nothing personal, and that writing this felt like stomping on my own heart, too?

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed this story and the way that I wrote Hermione and Ron's life together! Thank you so much for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by CambAngst You Make Me Smile

8th August 2015:
Hi, Sian! I thought I'd kick off my GryCReMo attempt by reviewing some stories from the other participants. So I started going down your author's page and then I came to... to this story. OK, more on that in a sec. First, my quick scorekeeping:

GryCReMo (Review #4)

This story. Honesty time: I read this story almost immediately after you posted it. I saw your status update and thought it sounded interesting so I read it. And shortly after reading it, I picked my feels up off the floor and tried to put them back into my chest. They didn't fit quite right -- swelling and bruises, you know -- so I waited a couple of days until they sort of fit back where they were before I read this. Then I tried to write a review, and all the anguish came rushing back in a second. I would guess that I've tried to write this review three different times and failed each time. I can never figure out what to say. So here goes...

I'll start with a question: How did you survive the process of writing this story? It's intense enough to read it. I can't even imagine writing something so sad and powerful. It would have been the end of me.

Your writing in this story was genuinely beautiful. Over and over, I found myself in awe of the way that you chose perfect words to match the mood and the setting of each moment. You were able to alternate seamlessly between the vivid details of Ron's memories and the stark, harsh relief of the present time. The way you set each scene went along beautifully with the content.

Gah, this passage:

‘You know, being here, with you,’ Hermione began, slowing her pace to meet Ron’s eyes. ‘And after everything that’s happened… well, it sounds silly, but it almost feels like we’ve got eternity now. Like we’re immortal.’

A second passed in silence as Ron considered what she’d said. ‘Maybe we have got eternity, Hermione. And,’ he blushed but held her gaze. ‘This doesn’t seem like a bad way to spend it. With you.’


It was the perfect expression of those small conceits of being young and in love and it was the perfect contrast to the story that's being told in the present time.

Every scene you picked from Ron and Hermione's past fit brilliantly into the overall story. In spite of how long this ended up being, I can't think of a single thing I would take out. Not a word went to waste here.

Bet you thought you’d got rid of me, didn’t you? Well it’s not going to happen that easily, Ron! I hope that everything goes okay with the kids; if you need me, I’m always here. Remember that, love. -- Another gut-wrenching line. At every turn, you remind us how Ron never had any reason to question that he and Hermione would spend the rest of their days together. And then comes another cold dose of reality.

The way you ended the story was so lovely. Perfect in its simplicity and devastating in its raw emotional power.

There! Somehow I made it through. Let's agree that you're never going to do something like this to me again, OK Sian?

Seriously, though, for me this is the single most beautiful story that you've ever written. I didn't think I could feel that way about a story where two of my favorite characters suffer such a tragic loss, but it's true. This was amazing.

Author's Response: Hi Dan! I'm sorry that it's taken me so long to reply to this fantastic review - I've had a backlog of brilliant, thoughtful reviews from people that I've been trying to tackle gradually and somehow had the luck to keep receiving more - which is lovely, but unfortunately I've been so busy I'm a lot slower responding than I hoped! Anyway, I'm trying to get all of them cleared before 2016, so I wanted to say thank you again for this wonderful review!

Argh, I don't even know what to say to this (which, honestly, is part of the reason it's taken me so long to reply. It's quite hard to respond when the words won't actually work...) - you're so kind to me and I'm both sorry and not sorry that you struggled to review this, if that makes sense.

It was so difficult to write this story - I think that I've mentioned this already in some MTA responses to your questions, but it was really difficult. I shied away from writing it for a good couple of weeks because I just couldn't imagine writing it, and then when I finally tackled it, I was crying right through the final scenes. I'm so pleased though, that I managed to convey that emotion to the reader; I really wanted to feel something when I was writing it and for the reader to feel a little bit of that too.

Gah, thank you so much ♥ It means so much to me, especially coming from an author like you - I really put a lot into this story and to hear that you thought the writing was beautiful makes me so happy. I'm really pleased that you liked the way that I contrasted between the present time and the happier memories and the mood that I managed to capture.

The scenes were so hard to choose in a way - I really wanted to pick out the little things that truly make up a relationship, rather than the grand moments, and I'm glad that people seem to think I've achieved that. It's also way longer than I was expecting it to be, but it's fantastic that you don't think it should have been shorter.

Thank you so, so, SO much for this fantastic review. It's taken me far too long to respond to and even now, I've just come up with a response that kind of rambles and gushes at you, but I really do mean it when I say thank you so much for this!


 Report Review

Review #13, by looneylizzie You Make Me Smile

31st May 2015:
*Wails*

Sian, your stories have a tendency to be absolutely AMAZING! I wasn't sure if you knew that, so I thought I'd clarify.

Your stories also have a tendency to give me feels. Lots and lots of feels.

But in all seriousness, I think my favorite part of all of this is Ron's characterization. I think you really nailed him, and his reaction to this scenario was exactly what I'd expect from him. It's just heartbreaking to read it actually happening to him.

I really loved the way that you wrote this kind of jumping around to different moments with Hermione - that they weren't in any sort of order. I think it's more likely to find something like this that would have Ron thinking back to different moments during his time with Hermione in the order in which they happened. But that's not how our brains work. We remember things in the wrong order all the time! It makes sense that as he's going through this and thinking about his best times with her, that it'd jump around a bit. That definitely worked for me! And since you put the dates up between each little memory, it made it really easy to imagine where they were in their lives during that particular memory.

"'You know, being here, with you,’ Hermione began, slowing her pace to meet Ron’s eyes. ‘And after everything that’s happened… well, it sounds silly, but it almost feels like we’ve got eternity now. Like we’re immortal.’

A second passed in silence as Ron considered what she’d said. ‘Maybe we have got eternity, Hermione. And,’ he blushed but held her gaze. ‘This doesn’t seem like a bad way to spend it. With you.’"

^^
*wails some more*

That's just adorable. It's also cheesy - but the right kind of cheesy (if that makes sense) - like a really nice aged Irish Cheddar that's used in some super creamy mac & cheese...Mm...delicious.
(Can you tell that I went to a really yummy cheese bar today?)

Plus, I'm a big believer in our "Inner-cheese factory." We've all got one, might as well use it to make some really good mac & cheese, right?

Okay, I'm done talking about cheese now. (Sorry. That was totally random.)

Anyway, this was absolutely beautiful, Sian! I need to actually go through and review some more of your stories, since I realized today that I've read a TON of them, but haven't left any reviews! I know, jerk move Lizzie!

I don't know how your work is so amazing, but please, don't ever stop writing!
LL

Author's Response: Hey Lizzie!

Ah, you're so sweet to me! Thank you so much ♥

Ron (and Hermione) are characters I normally really shy away from writing, so I'm really pleased that you liked the characterisation and that you think I did a good job writing him! It's such a relief to know from other fans that I managed to capture his character well!

Originally, I'd planned to write this story for the non-linear challenge, which is where the structure came from, but I missed the deadline and decided to write it anyway. I'm really happy that the structure worked though, and reflected the sort of way that your mind jumps around between different memories anyway. The dates were something I really wanted to include since the story spans such a long period of time, and I'm glad they helped like I intended them to!

SO MUCH CHEESE! Reading that line now is actually making me cringe a little bit to think that I wrote it, but I think I was able to include enough angst in the story too that I could just about bear the fluff (maybe? I hope so...)

Thank you so, so much for this wonderful review, Lizzie!


 Report Review

Review #14, by married to black You Make Me Smile

5th May 2015:
This story was so beautiful. Every word and the entire texture to it all was so touching and heartbreaking...it made me want to cry in multiple scenes and if I wasn't reading this out in public at the moment (I casually came across this in my lunch break and haven't put it down since!) then I would be a weeping mess. You wrote so wonderfully. It was all so beautiful and as an avid Romione fan, I am picky on the stories I read about them and I can honestly say that yours is the best I have come across. Great job on this. Thank you for writing such a gorgeous tale! Everything was so spot on.

Author's Response: Hello! Wow, this review means a lot to me and it's taken me a little while to respond because it's hard to know what to say in response to words like these.

It means a lot that you found this story and read it all through your lunch break - I know that it isn't short! I love Ron and Hermione together, and writing the ending of this story made me cry myself, so the fact that I was able to communicate some of that emotion through the story and let the readers feel that too is fantastic. And I don't even know what to say about your compliment on this being the best Romione story you've read on the site.

Thank you so much for this lovely review and for taking the time to leave your thoughts on my story! ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by Crumple-Horned Snorkack You Make Me Smile

2nd May 2015:
Greetings, Sian! Although I spend the majority of my time lurking hidden in the northern boreal forest, word has reached me that this is a fic I should not miss, so I've ventured out from the trees and into the HPFF archive in order to read it.

As I sit here typing this review, there are tears sliding down my furry face. This fic was so beautiful and so heartbreaking I don't even know where to start with my review.

I just loved the way you showed their entire life through these little moments - they were all pretty short little scenes, but all together created such a full story with so much heart. It's the little things in life that really make it worthwhile, and you showed that to such a lovely extent here.

I think the section in December 1997 was one of my absolute favourites, as it's not only a missing moment from the books (which is something I love) but you added this lovely aspect to it which isn't seen from Harry's POV, when they were all hiding from Snatchers the way Crumple-Horned Snorkacks hide from humans. I loved the image of Ron and Hermione talking quietly in the tent and her leaning against him when she was cold. Details that are just lovely and really add warmth to such a time in the book when there wasn't much hope.

One of the things I've always loved about Ron and Hermione is the way they bicker with one another, and I loved all the light hearted, loving banter you included in here, like when they were watching their kids play Quidditch, or when Hermione was teasing Ron about taking way too long in the shower. Stuff like this just seems EXACTLY how I'd imagine them to be, just like they were in the books except a bit older and slightly more mature. My own best friend, the Loch Ness Monster, is horrible at bickering. If I argue with her, she splashes me with water, which is totally not fair.

And the story of the car accident - GAH this broke my heart. It was just so sad and I was really, really hoping she'd wake up at the last moment, but ultimately I think I knew she wouldn't, so each section in 2036 was just so difficult. :'(

I also want to point out how much I love the non-linear timeline - it adds so much to the story in that all these memories of happy times keep surfacing as he grieves, and I think that the broken nature of the narrative really complemented Ron's feeling of brokenness at the possibility of having to say goodbye to Hermione.

Amazing story, with my favourite couple in the Potterverse. This story really is a treasure. I love it. But now, I must take my leave so I can go cry in the woods with Bigfoot.

Author's Response: Greetings, Crumple! It's so nice of you to venture out from your cosy habitat to take a look at this story!

Oh dear, I'm both sorry and not entirely sorry that this story made you cry - part of me is happy that the piece was good enough to make you feel something about it, which is what I'd hoped for with this!

I'm so pleased that you liked the different moments I chose to write about to illustrate their life together - I really wanted to focus on the little things, the ones that don't seem important at the time but come to mean a lot more than other 'big' occasions. It's great that you thought they helped to flesh out the background of Ron and Hermione's life together and create something more rounded between them. I'm really pleased you liked that scene in December 1997, as well!

Ron and Hermione were a real challenge for me to write as usually I avoid writing about any characters who play such a big role in the books and feel much safer writing about minor characters, but I'm so pleased that you liked the way I wrote them. It turned out that no matter how much I tried, there were no other characters who fit this idea as well, and I'm so happy that I managed to capture their characters. It's such a relief! (And I'm very sorry to hear about the Loch Ness Monster splashing you when you bicker - you need to come up with some sort of retaliation!)

The ending and the car accident were really sad - I was actually crying myself as I wrote the last few scenes of the story because I knew that I had to write it and it wouldn't work another way. I'm sorry to make you sad but I'm glad that it had an impact on you too!

Yay, I'm glad you liked the non-linear timeline too! You might know (because I've always thought that Crumple-Horned Snorkacks know a lot more than people give them credit for) that I'd originally intended this for a challenge which gave me part of the inspiration for the story, so I'm really pleased it worked!

Thank you so much for this absolutely amazing review - I'm so grateful for it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by Aphoride You Make Me Smile

13th April 2015:
Hey Sian! :) Okay, so I think I picked a bad time to write reviews, haha, but also a really, really hard story to review :( Oops! (And not in a bad way, not at all - just that, you know, it's heartbreaking, and I'm pretty sure that's going to be about a third of my review :P)

Okay, so Imma try and say something a little more interesting than 'this was heartbreaking. So beautiful, but heartbreaking' over and over again, because I suspect that would get dull pretty quickly ;)

I loved the way you had this split up into sections, with the different times and different moments throughout their lives dotted around the timeline of the end creeping closer and closer to them. It was such an inevitable conclusion, but at the same time it didn't really matter that I already knew kinda how it would end, because the writing was so beautiful and somehow, I have no idea how you did it though, with the moments there was still story - still moments of them to see in their lives. It was almost sweeter and more romantic seeing those moments and knowing what came after, you know? Like, despite the heartbreak, you could see they had been happy, and it made it so much worse and a little bit better at the same time, because at least they had what they had and they were happy during it.

The way you wrote both Ron and Hermione was amazing. They're such huge characters in the books that they terrify me so much with the thought of writing them, because they're so easy to mess up, you know, but you do them so perfectly in this - it's almost like they've just stepped out of the books and into this. Like, everything about them is perfect - from the way Hermione always seems to know what to say, to the way Ron is so astounded at Muggle things, to how they act around each other and how absolutely in love they are, but still with that undertone of faint, happy bickering :P

Your writing... ugh. Where do I even start with this? It was so gorgeous. All of your description was amazing - that scene where you had Hermione in the bed in the hospital was so stark and so clear in my mind it was incredible. I think the best thing about it, though, was how real the emotions in it were, and how true. Like, I've never lost someone that close to me before, but the emotions made me feel almost like I had, and made me imagine so realistically what it would be like if I did: how hard it would be and what it would be like to go through.

I love how you've used the DH missing moment with Ron and the Deluminator, and then the references to their kiss at the Battle and Ron's behaviour at the ball and all of those little things in this, too. They're all so perfectly placed as though two people really are just talking at one random time, and it happens to come up, like an old joke or comment. It's so right for them, considering how much time they spent together and how much time they were close, that it feels like that.

Okay, so this was completely heartbreaking, and I may even have felt tears pricking a little towards the end, and it was so gorgeously written, and Ron and Hermione were just so perfect - actually all the characters were perfect - and this was just way too beautiful for me not to favourite it, in total. So yeah, I loved it! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hey Laura!

I'm both sorry and not sorry for writing something so heartbreaking, does that make me a terrible person? :P

I'm so glad that you liked the structure for this story! I'd originally planned for it to be written for a challenge but I just didn't have the time or inspiration to finish it before the deadline, but when I did have the time and inspiration I decided to continue with it and put it up anyway, because I quite liked it. I really wanted to choose some moments that showed the two of them had lived a really happy, full life together and I'm so pleased that it helped to kind of temper the other scenes in the story which were much more emotional and sad.

Ah, thank you so much! I was so nervous about writing them and I pretty much try to steer clear of writing the Trio and the more major characters at all (though I've had to a bit for Jigsaw, but only as more minor characters) so it's great to know that I wrote them well and you liked my characterisation of them! I think one thing that helped is that I had the idea for the story come to me with the two of them as the characters and no matter how much I thought about it, I couldn't make it work with anyone else, so in the end I didn't really have much choice but to write them :P I think you should definitely write them some time, though - you're amazing and the story would be too!

*blushes* Thank you so much, Laura ♥ coming from a writer as incredible as you, that really means a lot to me. I'm so glad that I managed to write this well and kind of do the story justice, if that makes sense?

Thank you so, so much for this fantastic review, Laura, and I'm so glad you liked the story! ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by TidalDragon You Make Me Smile

1st April 2015:
Howdy Sian! Just your friendly gullible Gryffie, dropping by a day late to review your story for the exchange...

Anyway, this story was brilliant! How? Primarily in its simplicity. Despite the subject you didn't over-dramatize things or become verbose. You didn't focus on enormous memories - you focused on what you mentioned at the end - the small things. Snapshots of a life we never had the privilege to see, but that Ron cherished more than anything in the world.

I think the way you had their dynamic develop was excellent throughout. They definitely rang true as themselves, just more mature versions and you got the undertones of that across in their moments of banter in Ron's flashbacks.

I have to say you really pulled the emotion out of me. The end was really heartbreaking. I haven't lost anyone so close to me in that way before, but all I could think of was when I lost my dog the day after Christmas and how horrible it was to be unable to save him or really do anything but comfort him while he went. It still gets to me and this story evoked a lot of that emotion.

Supremely written, as always - I'm glad I got a chance to read this through the CR!

Author's Response: Hey Kevin! Haha, I actually kind of forgot that you fell for the prank until rereading this and I might be lying if I said it didn't make me smile... :P

Thank you so much for your compliments! I'm really so glad that you enjoyed this story, too - it means a lot to me and it was an emotional process to write it, but the response to it has been incredible and never fails to make me smile.

When I came up with this idea (or rather, when it sprang into my mind and wouldn't go away), I really wanted to focus on the little moments. They're the things that you always remember about a person you've lost; something small and seemingly insignificant that helps to make up a relationship or a life. I'm so pleased that came through here!

One of my biggest challenges here was writing Ron and Hermione and characterising them accurately. I was terrified when I put this up that people were just going to tell me I'd written them OOC, especially since I'm not used to writing such major characters in the series, but I'm glad you thought I'd captured them and their dynamic well!

I'm sorry about your dog, Kevin! Any loss at all is horrible and I've been lucky never to lose someone this close to me, too, but even writing this was difficult because of the emotion here. I'm glad that you could feel the emotion too, though - I was really hoping that this piece would reach out to the reader and it's great that it did, even if you were sad because of it!

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and your continuous support and friendship!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Microwaved Marshmallow Peep You Make Me Smile

28th March 2015:
peep peep

So here I am in the microwave, just a pink sugary confection looking for something to read.

And this story has all the feels! You've melted my smushy marshmallow heart and pink goo is swimming before my blurry eyes. (Or maybe that's because someone just started the microwave... Oh no.)

Before I inevitably explode, I wanna chirp about some stuff that gave this marshmallowy chick the warm fuzzies:

ROMIONE. I laughed, I cried (figuratively. Peeps can't cry), and there were SO MANY FEELS. You have a way of writing that evokes emotion in the reader, whether they want to feel it or not.

The alternating scenes were at once heart-breaking and beautiful. My chest is swelling with melty marshmallowy goo, unable to contain all of the emotion inside. To watch Ron's alternating pain and happiness as he wrestles with letting Hermione go is enough to make me explode.

10...9...8...

Uh oh, microwave's almost done, and I'm almost to the explosion point! I'll spend the rest of my life thinking about this peep-tastic story.

♥Microwaved Marshmallow Peep

BEEP!!
*explosion*

Author's Response: Hello, Microwaved Marshmallow Peep! This review just made my day!

I'm really glad that you thought this story was capable of evoking emotion and giving you feels - I cried when I was writing the ending, so it's great that I was able to communicate some of that emotion to the reader as well!

I'm really pleased that you liked the structure of the story, too, and that the alternating scenes worked for you by building up the story.

Thank you so much for this review, and I'm sorry that you had to explode! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by nellysh65 You Make Me Smile

15th March 2015:
this was very sad, but very good too,
sniff

Author's Response: It was meant to be sad (I cried when I was writing it) but I'm really pleased that you still enjoyed it. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by 1917farmgirl You Make Me Smile

14th March 2015:
You know, I really hate writing reviews.

Which I'm sure is not the sentence you wanted this to start with. But let me explain.

When I read something like this that is so incredibly good I can never find the words to express that, to tell the author exactly how amazing it was. It feels like my pitiful little attempts always fall so far short of what the story deserves.

I hope you know that you have written a masterpiece here (not to mention a three-tissue-box story.) This was so...so... SEE, again with the not having the right words thing!

The emotions you portrayed were so beautiful to read, and I loved the snippets of Ron and Hermione's life you showed over time, loved that they weren't grand or amazing or fairytale like - but they were REAL!

And your writing. HOLY COW you have talent girl! Every time I read your stuff I am in awe and then I sit there and wonder why I don't read your stuff more often because you are SO GOOD!

You say you don't write Ron and Hermione very often - well, I firmly believe that needs to change. You are obviously brilliant at them.

Thanks for sharing such a touching, gentle, moving story. Even if I knew what would happen at the end right from the start and knew it would break my heart, I had to keep reading. I couldn't stop. This was lovely and you have every right to be completely proud of it.

- Farmgirl

Author's Response: It certainly wasn't a sentence I was expecting you to start with, but I honestly completely understand what you mean. Sometimes I find myself just rambling in a review because there's so much that I want to say but I can't find the right words for it (your stories included); it's actually an enormous compliment to me that someone might feel like that about my writing!

I've actually read this review several times since you left it (I mean, I'm only just now attempting to respond, and it's December!) and I don't have the words to thank you enough for how lovely you are and this incredible review on my story. This Treasure came to mean so much to me and I'm so pleased that other people felt something from it too - I don't even know how to respond to your compliments without just repeating thank you again and again!

I'm so pleased you liked the snippets I chose to portray of Ron and Hermione's life together - my aim in writing them was to show the small, seemingly insignificant moments that make up a relationship that are the things you really miss when it's over. It's not the big moments that you wish you could have again but the little things that really make up this marriage and I'm so happy that readers have appreciated that and that they liked the scenes I wrote.

*flails* Again, with the undeserved compliments! Ah, thankyouthankyouthankyou is just about all I can say to this!

I'll definitely consider writing them again in the future, if life ever allows me to actually write properly again - and thank you a million times for all the wonderfulness you've packed into this review, because you've made my day hundreds of times over! ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by alicia and anne You Make Me Smile

13th March 2015:
Oh no! What's happened to Hermione? I hope it's not something too bad. Poor Ron, he doesn't mean to be rude, he just wants some answers!

And now I'm scared about what's happened to Hermione! :( So very very terrified!

Awww Ron, admitting to having spent his Yule Ball staring at Hermione, he's so adorable! Ron and Hermione are always so adorable! I do love them as a pairing. :D And he's so scared of what people will think about them dancing with each other at their wedding! And he's being so adorable! Look at them practising! I love them so much!

Oh no! Hermione's been hit by a car! :( I am begging you to make sure that she's okay, I don't think that my heart can handle her being taken away from Ron so soon. :(

Can I just say, I absolutely love that you have the different scenes from different years, it's setting such a lovely tone of the love that Ron and Hermione have for each other, although it's making me scared that you're doing it to break my heart entirely at the end of this story. :S

Oh no I am not liking the doctors words, Hermione needs to go to St Mungos and she needs to get better and I need to not want to cry and I need to be happy.

AWw the feels! The absolute feels off Hermione taking Ron's breath away after 35 years just made my heart swell so much with happiness! I am so happy right now with that, it's making the heartache you're putting me through lessen a little. :P

Look at them being all cute and deciding on what they want to be called as grandparents! :P So adorable!!... please don't ruin my happiness and break my heart. please! I am begging you right now.

Oh my god! Ron with a muggle camera is the most adorable thing ever!! This tops everything! hahah he's just so brilliant! I love him!!

You have written Ron and Hermione perfectly! You have really captured them so well and I can just picture this as their lifes! This is now canon to me! (You know... aside from the heart crushing car accident :P Just all of the other stuff that makes me happy and doesn't reduce me to a blubbering mess on the floor)

Oh no... this is it... my heart can't take this... he's saying goodbye and I want to cry. I am crying. I'm in denial about this whole thing! So much denial!

She's still alive right? She made a full recovery didn't she? I think she did. I am in denial and I don't care. Even your fabulous words and amazing talent at writing shall not convince me otherwise.

Seriously though, you are perfect my love! So utterly perfect at writing. I loved this even if it did break my heart entirely. I do love a good Ron and Hermione story. :D

Author's Response: Tammi ♥

Ron definitely doesn't mean to be rude (although I'm not sure he's always against it generally :P) but he's so scared about what's happened to Hermione and doesn't know how else to get answers.

I think a lot of people don't see why Ron and Hermione are such a good pair, and although they're not my OTP or anything, I do think there are a lot of moments between them that we missed out on in the books, especially since it was all told from Harry's perspective, and there's so much potential for their relationship after Hogwarts. I loved writing the different scenes here, and showing a glimpse of the life that the two of them built together - the dancing and Hermione appearing in the dress and becoming grandparents and everything... it was so fun to think of them having a lovely time together and writing those sweet moments. I'm glad you liked them too!

I'm sorry and not sorry about what happened to Hermione here, partly because the plunny hit me and just had to be written and I couldn't do it any other way, but also because I'm a little bit pleased that I managed to make people feel something from this story; I was crying so much when I wrote parts of it.

Hehe I loved Ron struggling with a Muggle camera too - I'm so pleased you liked that!

Ah, from someone who's such a fantastic writer themselves and has written so many great stories, that's such a compliment! I'm so happy you liked the way that I wrote Ron and Hermione's relationship and this story!

I'm not going to say anything about the ending - it definitely seems to end a certain way but I wanted to leave enough ambiguity there for there to be another possibility for readers, so you're free to think whatever you like about what happened next!

Thank you so, so much for this wonderful review and I'm so sorry that I took so long to reply to it!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Ohpl You Make Me Smile

12th March 2015:
This story is wonderful. You write with compassion and humour . Your understanding of Ron and Hermione is total.I loved this.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for this review. As I said in my author's note, this story means a lot to me, and I'm glad that you were able to enjoy it. Thank you for taking the time to review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login