Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Just the Way You Are
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by jessicalorewrites Just in Need

16th June 2015:
hey! jess here, reading and reviewing so that I can (finally lol) get the results out for the diversity challenge. the results should be out within the next couple of days so keep your eyes peeled over on the forums!

plot/written value:
wow, such a long chapter compared to the others! it flowed very well though, although I might personally have broken it into two bits - perhaps after the 'detention' talk with queen. I'd only suggest this because I'm a fan of semi-equal chapter lengths haha there's literally no other reason to it because this wasn't at all difficult or challenging to get through, even though it was pretty lengthy. I enjoyed that you managed to cram SO MUCH in but it wasn't overflowering either and was still very easy to read without boredom setting in. plus, the story is interesting, so of course there was no boredom! I particularly liked the conversation between erik and joshua because of the history between them which you put across so nicely in the dialogue you used, really highlighting to readers that they have known each other a long time. the same with the hospital wing matron!

characters:
josh is so sassy in this chapter sticking up for himself like he does. from what you've shared about him when he was presenting as jennifer I get the feeling he was quite vivacious and he must've been outspoken to rack up as many detentions as he has done. obviously trouble making behaviour isn't good but I can't help but feel like josh is so justified in this chapter for the way he acts, especially with professor queen, though I am glad it is smoothed out between them in the end. on another note, DO I SENSE JOSHIE HAVING A LIL CRUSH AT THE END THERE?! CUTEEE

diversity:
I didn't know what adderol was at first but I googled it and it's linked to narcolepsy and adhd. I think from one of your earlier author notes that you said adhd was going to be touched upon in this so I'm presuming david has it, which is interesting and I'm rather excited to find out how this may affect his future friendship (if there is one) with joshua and his subsequent behaviour. also just in general, great continuation with exploring the issues trans people face, most particularly in the classroom settings and through the relationships josh has with his teachers.

favourite line/bit:
"I consider it my finest moment. after all, I didn't throw my book at him."
the ancient runes scene. oh my gosh. go josh! rude and prejudiced teacher are terrible.

- jess, xo

Author's Response: Hi!

Yeah, it's a very long chapter. Mine can get fairly irregular in places, but it's not usually by so much. I'm gonna finish the next chapter and see if it's anywhere near this chapter's length. If it is I'll leave it alone, if it's not I'll probably cut this one.

The conversation between Erik and Joshua is one of my favorite scenes thus far. They're just so close after years together, I look forward to writing more of them.

Yeah, he's very outspoken and always has been. It's mostly just been him and his family his whole life, him and his brother mostly, and Jeremy is a little more reserved so he's been the 'older one'. He totally deserves to be sassy in this chapter, especially around Queen. And he'll continue to be. Also, JOSHIE. From now on he is Joshie.

Yes, David has ADHD. David and everything about him, from his disorder to his friendship with Joshua, will come back soon enough.

I love the favorite lines you add on at the end. :D

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #2, by jessicalorewrites Just What Friends are For

16th June 2015:
hey! jess here, reading and reviewing so that I can (finally lol) get the results out for the diversity challenge. the results should be out within the next couple of days so keep your eyes peeled over on the forums!

plot/written value:
argh, it makes me so sad that joshua is so confused about where he gets to sleep! I totally understand why he's so confused but I'm mostly annoyed that like digby or the head of gryffindor didn't also think about this ahead of time and sort something out :\\ it's important to have a bed!! and a place to sleep!! and psychologically just a place to call your own, even if it is just a bed and small section of a larger room lol. I was hoping for more of david in this chapter but hopefully the next, and I'd love to see how more of the characters are reacting to discovering josh is trans. so far we haven't had anyone be OUTRIGHT transphobic which I'm hoping won't come up because that's hard to read about obviously especially if violent, but it is something to consider. I thought the conversation with digby towards the end went alright but I can't help hating that man! he sounds like slughorn but worse, in that he panders to the rich and infamous. I can't believe how inwardly prejudice he is and that he wouldn't even think about bringing up something like sleeping arrangements?? I just don't understand. you'd think as headmaster he might've thought to research these things ahead of time :\ poor joshua.

characters:
ohho lily potter hello! I've personally written her as an activist in some of my own fics and I was hoping for the same here but yet at the same time I quite like how gray she is with the whole trans situation and that although she seems to care for joshua she slips up and says some harmful things like "you call yourself a boy" and calling him "jennifer". interesting take with her wanting to become an investigative journalist! I wonder if this will play a larger part in the story (probably not but I can dream). also I am sooo intrigued by hugo. what's his game, hm. anti-social and brooding aren't two traits I see commonly attributed to him but it's great to see you putting your own spin on the next gen lot. it'll make for an interesting read!

diversity:
you know what my fave bit about this fic is?? it's not all sunshines and daisies. that even though many people are accepting of josh being trans, like lily potter, they say a lot of things which are misconstructed as transphobic or just in general make them seem unedcuated. really, it's great to see that you're not shying away from this sort of gray area that people have where they don't quite know the right things to say but they're not actively against it either.

favourite line/bit:
"my nana named me when I was born."
"but you were born a girl?"
"she chose not to believe that."

- jess, xo

Author's Response: Hey!

Digby is one of those people that is unknowingly prejudiced. His only open one is werewolves, and that's justified in some way, but the rest he rarely notices having. Plus he's always in favor of the rich and the things that make life easier; he tried to talk about the sleeping arrangements with the other teachers but when they got uncomfortable he dropped it. Don't worry, he'll be steered in the right direction.

I love Lily being an activist; she's outspoken and nosy and willing to learn and Josh is her reason to push that further, so to speak. Lily is the perfect grey area character; the one who wants to do right but slips up. I think she'll always be this way. Hugo is my favorite character in the whole of Next-Gen canon because he's anti-social and brooding.

I don't believe in sunshine and daisies. I tried to, but then everything ended up at least slightly pessimistic anyway. So now I just run with it. Grey areas make everything awesome.

Thanks for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #3, by jessicalorewrites Just Plain Awkward

16th June 2015:
hey! jess here, reading and reviewing so that I can (finally lol) get the results out for the diversity challenge. the results should be out within the next couple of days so keep your eyes peeled over on the forums!

plot/written value:
phoenix health centre - subtle ;) I sort of agree with joshua's thoughts at the beginning of this chapter that EVERYTHING IS MOVING SO FAST yet at the same time I totally understand why he would be so excited/determined to get things moving as quickly as possible. it's only natural. clearly he's an impulsive character, highlighted originally in the first chapter where he suddenly decides to cut his hair off; that's reiterated again here. BUT YET it's great to see him moving forward and I think talking to a new therapist about it all will certainly help him on the road to possible surgery/hormone replacement/etc.

characters:
ah, I love the fluidity with which josh says that his name is joshua o'connoll rather than jennifer. of course, he's thought of himself as joshua for a long period of time now but it still shows SO MUCH that he can be open (sort of) and just address himself like that right off that bat. I'm so proud of him ♥ one of my favourite character interactions of this chapter has to be rick's little speech when joshua is freaking out about going back to hogwarts and his dad just unloads the greatest motivation of all time (see: favourite line/bit beneath haha -wink-). seriously, so cool. and it falls in line with what you said in previous chapters about rick being a sort of no nonsence simple guy. and david! what a flash introduction to him. and at a time where such news is being disclosed! I'll try not to judge him because I think it would be unfair to given the circumstances. I imagine it is quite hard to have a girlfriend for over a year and then suddenly be told they are actually trans and male. he handled it well though, considering. a lot of people need time to think about these things. I also like that joshua is willing to let others have time to think it over too.

diversity:
great continuation of the challenge in this chapter! you've begun to explore more sides to being transgender i.e. public coming out and they're working really well, adding into the natural flow and feel for the piece. I'm excited for the next chapter and discovering what will happen when more people than just david discover that joshua is trans.

favourite line/bit:
"so decide: are you getting out and dealing with it now or are you flooing there and dealing with it later?" YES, GO RICK! YOU TELL MY BBY JOSHUA

- jess, xo

Author's Response: Hey!

Phoenix Health Centre - actually has a reason for being called that. It shall be revealed! :D. Being impulsive is one way to describe Joshua, it's something David uses a lot.

Joshua has been Joshua his whole life, especially from his grandmother. It's not name he picked for himself, so it's a lot easier for him to keep it. Rick's speech to Joshua is so great, a turning stone in their relationship. Small but good. And David, he's here. He's in shock, look forward to their next meeting.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #4, by jessicalorewrites Just Typical

16th June 2015:
hey! jess here, reading and reviewing so that I can (finally lol) get the results out for the diversity challenge. the results should be out within the next couple of days so keep your eyes peeled over on the forums!

plot/written value:
this is a kind of in between sort of chapter so there's not A GREAT DEAL to say plot-wise and by that I mean nothing bad of course I simply mean that I really want to read some of the back-to-hogwarts chapters but also this chapter was necessary in creating a link between the last chapter and the next, and also was important still in terms of its content. the main part that stands out to me is the talk josh has with his mum, which is heartbreaking and sweet all at the same time. I was scared that she wouldn't ever grow to understand but it's warming to see how she is beginning to adjust towards the end of this chapter and that, ultimately, she truly does still care for joshua and will love him no matter what. the same goes for his dad. this was handled well! the right balance between 'I don't quite understand what you're going through' and 'I'll always support you'.

characters:
joshua is such a darling I want to swaddle him in bubble wrap and protect him at all costs. you have a real grasp on the type of guy he is and how he deals with a lot of the issues faced from 'coming out' as male and because of his disorder. for instance, the wishful thinking that he could still be with david after informing him that he was male gives a lot of insight into the hopeful and vaguely optimistic kind of person he is. although there is a lot of realism and practicality in this there are still tinges of hopefulness from josh, which make me smile. it's nice to know it's not always grey clouds! jeremy is commendable as a brother, how lovely and supportive! I love how close the two are. I know they're twins but still, sibling closeness always warms my heart!

diversity:
like I said above, your grasp on the issues faced by trans individuals is truly amazing. it seems effortless how you weave the problems, worries, and every day annoyances into the story with surprisingly easy understanding and clarity. you don't leave anything out - not talk of periods, nor thoughts on where joshua may sleep at hogwarts. both his sexuality/the internal things are touched upon as well as practicalities as events on the outside change too. and his bipolar disorder seems rather well researched too (I read your a/n haha). I'll admit to not knowing much of the specifics of bipolar but I find your use of it interesting and informative, giving joshua a new dimension. it's really great that you're tackling two big areas which are usually ignored in fic (mental health, gender identity) and I think you're handling them exceptionally well :)

favourite line/bit:
"I neither need nor want a boyfriend. I have bigger things to think about."
OR the bit where joshua's choice of name is explained (so poignant)

- jess, xo

Author's Response: Hello!

The talk between Erin and Josh was my favorite part of this chapter because it was so sad but so needed. They're usually such a close family so being unable to tell people about himself and then have them react badly when he does has really hit him hard.

I think Joshua is my favorite person in this whole entire world (that sentence should have said favorite OC in headcanon, but this version sounded much better). He likes being optimistic, it makes him feel a little better about the future. It doesn't work in his favor as often as he'd like. The love between Jeremy and Joshua is epic, always will be.

Thank you so much, reading that is so nice. I find it very easy to not forget things about being trans. Why has a story to it and is one I'm happy to tell you about in a PM if you wanna know, but I'm not comfortable explaining it all here. I research everything, it's my weakness. I know so much useless crap and then some relevant info.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by crestwood Just Joshua

14th April 2015:
Wait. Sam. How have I not reviewed this? I'm actually upset right now. I could have sworn I had reviewed at least some of this fic.

On to the actual story, I was so excited to find out that you were writing a trans fic. Because I love them and there needs to be more of them and that goes double since you're writing it. I love the way you start this. We're dropped in totally in medias res, right when Joshua is reaching a point where he's ready to do this. It'd take a lot of courage to transition while at Hogwarts. Especially with the binary dorm system and everything. I hope the castle isn't too old fashioned in this story.

I'm kind of sad about his mother's reaction. The fact that he's bipolar can't make this much easier on him. I'm ecstatic about the list of issues you'll be addressing throughout this story. And also: Hugo Weasley in general. that is always fun. This is so perfectly written, as always. Such great characterization and you've made this all understandable even to people who don't necessarily have extensive experience with transpeople or mental illness. But also, it's entertaining and awesome for people like me who do. Amazing work.

 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne Just in Need

14th April 2015:
Hugo does look evil in that banner... what is he up to? What has he planned?

He's always up to something, I shouldn't be surprised if he does anything.

I'm glad that Josh didn't get told off, although professor Queen needs to not call Josh, miss! Check yo surroundings Professor Queen! Don't be difficult.

Awww I'm warming up to Queen now. And I hope that the teachers do have that meeting!
Hahaah he is totally an evil dictator!!

Can there ever be a story where Theo isn't mentioned? :P He is such a major part of the world (I say world, because he's basically a god! We all worship him!) and I love it! He's literally everywhere! No matter what it is, Theo is somewhere.

OK! I SHIP IT! I SHIP BURNS/QUEEN! QUERNS, BEENS! We'll think of one, don't worry! Lothan, Nagon, Nogon, Natgan, Narns, Quegan, Queenburns (The biggest burn of them all!)
Burneen!

Okay, I'm stopping.

Loathan...

Oh Joshua! Is it wrong that I'm looking forward to seeing how hurt the people are that he puts into hospital? . it is?. Meh! :P

AH ERIK!

*calms self*

Theo does know everything.

I love that Burns over heard them!

I've missed him! I didn't realise just how much until now! Make him be everywhere please!

Hehehehehehehehheeh Connor heheheheheheheehheehehehehehe

Who's stupid enough to start an argument with Hugo over whether or not he's right? Crazy people! That's who!!

AH! (My computer totally tried to make that AJ... he's not in this heart! Stop wishing he was everywhere!. what do you mean you want to see him everywhere? You want every damn character Sam has ever made in every story and chapter she writes. no, I'm not saying that's a bad thing! I would love it too, but the chapter will basically be a list. What?... well, yes, of course we would love it, Sam would have written it and we love her writing... Seriously, heart, stop this, we're trying to review here. we'll talk about this later, cool? Good. now where was I?)

Oh yeah! I WANT CONNOR/JOSHUA/HUGO LOVE TRIANGLE!!! I WANT IT AND I NEED IT! AND I NEED MORE HUGO AND YOU KNOW I CAN'T RESIST HIM!!!

Is Skander going to be in this?

Damn it, heart, stop this! Stop demanding characters!

LOVE THIS! ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS!! AND I LOVE THE MENTION OF OLIVER'S RUMOURS! THERE'S CONNECTIONS AND I SAW THEM!!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne Just What Friends are For

14th April 2015:
Yeah!!! Lily is there and awesome! And Theo is a girl! And Harry and Audrey were mentioned and I'm so excited and yay! I can't even form sentences for how excited I am!

I hope that Josh manages to sort out sleeping arrangements soon, sleeping on the sofa isn't good for him!

And Hugo was staring at him!!! I demand to know why!!! Tell me everything!!!

Next chapter!! I love this and you!!! (I realised earlier in the bakery that I haven't declared my love for you in a while, and as besties/twins I feel i need to remind you more often!)

 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne Just Plain Awkward

14th April 2015:
Aww josh has made the phone call! And told David!

I must say, in proud of how David reacted, he wasn't mean which I expected and he called Josh by his name. I hope that he comes around soon!

Jeremy is still an awesome 'big' brother!

Sorry it's not a longer review but I'm rushing as I'm on my break at work.

Keep up the awesome work!!

 Report Review

Review #9, by CassiePotter Just in Need

8th April 2015:
Just like with every chapter, I have a new favorite. This chapter was just SO GOOD. I love Joshua so, so much! I think he's dealing with everything remarkably well, and that he's not trying to hide from people so they don't talk about him.
I have to say, I love how sassy he is! He seems like he always has a comeback, and I thought that his conversation with Queen really showed that.
I really enjoyed the section with Madam Glass in the hospital wing. She seems really lovely. Both kind and tough, because she just really loved the kids at Hogwarts. I hope she comes back into the story soon!
Erik seems awesome, and Theo was mentioned quite a bit in that part of the chapter! Is he going to play a bigger role in the story? He just seems to pop up everywhere! I do know he's a favorite of yours, so it makes sense!
Connor has me really intrigued! Especially since he talked to Josh, and apparently really isn't one to talk to everyone he comes across. I'm really curious to see how his relationship with Josh develops.
As always, I absolutely adore Jeremy. He just might be my favorite character in this story!
Fantastic job with this chapter, Sam! You'll have to let me know as soon as you've got a new one up!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotter Just What Friends are For

30th March 2015:
Hi Sam!
This chapter just might be my favorite so far. Which I'll probably say for every chapter, but as of right now, this is my favorite. I felt bad for Josh having to deal with everyone whispering about him, but was glad that he had his brother there to make sure he was ok. Also, I was so happy that Lily was so good to him, and seemed to get used to things faster than I expected, aside from calling Josh Jennifer once. You can tell right away how close they are, and I know Lily will stick by Josh. What I really want to know is why Hugo was staring at him? The meeting with Digby was so awkward, and I can't imagine how it would feel to be in Josh's situation and have to sit through that.
This chapter was brilliant, and I can't wait for more, even though that won't be for a few weeks! Great job, Sam!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by CassiePotter Just Plain Awkward

15th March 2015:
Hi Sam!
This story gets better and better with each chapter, and I this chapter was another fantastic one! I was so nervous for Josh to see David, but I loved that Jeremy was there to give him the (literal) push that he needed. I also loved that Jeremy calls Josh his little brother! That just showed how close they are, and I thought it was a really great moment.
I think the conversation with David went better than I was expecting! There wasn't any yelling or crying or anything like that, and David said Joshua and not Jennifer when he was walking out, which is a huge step towards him getting used to the way things are. I really hope they can be friends again soon!
I can't wait for you to update this again! It's an incredible story!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey, Cassie!

Aww, thank you! Yes, Jeremy has Joshua to give him both literal and figurative pushes. Honestly, I think they both prefer the literal pushes; it gets things done faster. :P

Josh will always be the little brother, even if it is only by five minutes. One day he will stop resisting it.

David, for lack of a better word, loves Josh. Or he loves Jennifer. So less shouting, more confusing. Maybe later, when he's processed what's going on and what Josh kept from him, David will shout. Right now, he just doesn't want to talk at all. But he does listen; Josh says his name is Josh and David is used to giving Josh what he wants. So the name was always going to be the easiest part between them.

I am so glad you're enjoying this story, Cassie. Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #12, by CassiePotter Just Typical

11th March 2015:
Hi Sam!
As soon as I saw that there was a second chapter of this story, I had to come read it! I love the relationship Josh has with Jeremy. The fact that his brother is so supportive of him, and is helping him get what he needs and is there to talk when Josh needs to is amazing. Is Jeremy also in Gryffindor? I was just thinking about how often they'll see each other at school because of what houses they're in and what classes they take.
The conversation Josh has with his mother was wonderfully written. I could really picture it in my head, and I was so happy to see that Erin is trying to say Joshua instead of Jennifer and that she's putting in a real effort to be accepting.
This chapter was wonderful, and I wanted it to keep going when it ended! I can't wait for more of this story, it's really amazing.
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey Cassie!

Yeah, me too. Joshua and Jeremy as so close. They're basically all they knew growing up. Didn't have especially close friends until Hogwarts, so they'll always be there for each other. Jeremy is also in Gryffindor. There's a line in the plan that says the twins will never be split up. :P

They don't have all the same classes, though. So it'll still get a little hard.

Erin doesn't know how to handle this situation, all she knows is that she loves her kids. And that's enough right now.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #13, by alicia and anne Just Typical

11th March 2015:
Joshua's brother is really awesome! He's so supportive and helping Joshua to realise that things will be hard, but he shouldn't change who he is. I love him!

Ooo, I wonder how the teachers and everyone will change how he's been living, now that he's fully embraced being Joshua and taken that step?

Aw I'm so glad that she's not disappointed in him. And that they can joke about the tux. :D

It's going good with the family. :D This makes me happy, although I'm worried with how school is going to go.

You must have done a lot of research for this, it's so well thought out and I can't wait for more! :D

Author's Response: Jeremy is cool. I love Jeremy. People say he's so supportive, but really he's just a kid who has a brother. That's all he knows.

The teachers and students will come soon enough. Josh is almost at school.

No, she's not disappointed in Josh. Sad maybe, but not disappointed.

The family, I think, are least of Josh's worries. Sad to say.

Oh, so much research. Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #14, by looneylizzie Just Joshua

8th March 2015:
This. is. awesome.

I love the way you're writing this, the POV grabs your attention right away and you really begin to feel for Joshua right off the bat.

I'm also glad you made it so clear as to who he identified as and which gender he was. There was zero confusion coming from Joshua, but he has to deal with the confusion coming from those around him. I think it will be interesting to see who accepts him and to what degree by how they address him. His mother refuses to call him anything other than Jennifer, but you can tell that his father is hesitant to say anything one way or another until he wraps his head around what is happening.

I also could be over analyzing this...

Either way, its a fascinating story and I look forward to more!

And as a side note, I'm very interested to see how you write a character with bipolar disorder. I myself have it, and it is extremely difficult to manage, ESPECIALLY as an unmedicated teenager (note, do some research and make sure you identify what kind of Bipolar the character has...unmedicated teens are much more likely to have something called 'rapid cycling' bipolar, which involves going through the cycle in a very short time. Anywhere from a month to even a week! *hint, I have this*)

You can always PM me on the forums if you have any questions. Then again, you may already have lots of resources, but I thought I'd let you know!

Anyway, great story and I look forward to reading more!!!

LL

 Report Review

Review #15, by CassiePotter Just Joshua

4th March 2015:
Wow Sam. This was an incredible first chapter. Really, really fantastic. I really loved the way you started in a place where Joshua has been struggling with who he is for a while, and we see him after that has been building up inside, leading him to this point. I think telling his parents is a huge, huge step, and I'm so glad that his dad took it well! I'm hoping that things at Hogwarts go ok.
This story really struck a chord with me, because I have a lot of friends who have struggled with their sexuality and gender identity. I think you've done a wonderful job with how you've written the topics that have just come up in this chapter, and I'm really looking forward to reading more of this story. 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Gryffin_Duck Just Joshua

3rd March 2015:
Oh, I'm intrigued! Love, love, love this plot idea. I've never read a fan fic with transgendered characters and I'm so glad you decided to take it on. I haven't read many published works with transgendered characters either, so I don't have much authority to say so, but I think you've handled it very well so far!

I am so glad Joshua's father is supportive of him. That will help so much. Hopefully his mom will get on board soon, too.

I can't wait to see the other topics you're going to tackle! Fics that deal with "real life" issues are my favorite. Looking forward to the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm so glad you like the idea and decided to read this, I hope you'll continue to like it. If you're looking to read any more, I've found a couple of good one-shots and I'm waiting on apondinabluebox to post a novel. :P

I'm glad you think so. It's taken me so long to post because I'm all about the research for this story.

Joshua is also very glad. His dad is always supportive and a part of the reason why will come into the novel later. His mum - both his parents really - have a ways to go, his mum more so because of how she was brought up. But they love their kids more than anything.

I hope you'll like what's to come, especially with the dealing of the other issues.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #17, by jessicalorewrites Just Joshua

3rd March 2015:
Hi!

Maybe I should've held off reviewing for a while but I just couldn't wait once I'd read the chapter. My word, this is great! I've seen quite a few oneshots that look at trans characters but I feel like it's always that bit harder to carry a theme through to something as long-scale as a novel. I'm glad you're taking it on though because I've seen from some of your other writing that you are more than capable!

Joshua and Jeremy seem to have a really close sibling bond. Clearly they do, and there must be a large element of trust there for Joshua to have trusted his brother with his secret for so long. I'd love to know who the other two people are that already knew then.. if not David. Speaking of, great addressal of the fact sexuality often doesn't alter with gender identity.

Overall this is a really strong opening chapter which introduces the necessary themes and certain key characters incredibly well. It's intriguing but informative too. Mostly I just want to know if he gets to be in the guy dorm now?!!? And will that cause x10 problems for Joshua??? Also can Hugo be introduced soon because I need that character in my life hahah

Great job! I can't wait to read more. And, good luck!!

- Jess, xo

Author's Response: Hello!

I've seen a couple of one-shots, one being yours, and I've enjoyed them. But I do wish they'd be longer, to see the journey a character takes and such. So this is my chance to do that. I'm very excited.

Jeremy and Joshua are incredible close. Why will be made clear in chapter five. They're all they knew as kids and it's not something that can be severed so easily; Jeremy has always considered himself to have a brother. Who else knows will come soon.

I'm glad you think so. Sexuality not changing with gender identity is quite important to this novel.

The boys' dorm... you shall see. And Hugo will be dotted around, but won't be an actual part of the story until chapter 5.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #18, by alicia and anne Just Joshua

3rd March 2015:
Yay! It's finally here! After hearing about it for so long!!

This is brilliant! I loved how Joshua cut all of his hair off and how he felt so much better doing so! You created his emotions so well and I felt so sorry for him that he had to live a lie. But now he doesn't have to hide anymore! And he has his brothers support and his dad's, hopefully his mum will come around to it soon and understand, I'm hoping she's just shocked at the moment.

I can't wait to see how this develops and people's reactions. I hope he has a great support network around him because this is likely to get tough

Author's Response: YAY!!!

Cutting off all his hair is definitely something that he just needed to do. It was a very freeing moment for him.

Joshua will always have his brother's support; they've always been close, being the only two kids they'd ever really known until Hogwarts, and Jeremy has only ever known Joshua. His dad, though he'll immediately say yes to accepting it, doesn't quite understand and his mum is from a more traditional family. There's still a ways to go.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login