Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Awful Sound of Nothing
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne The Awful Sound of Nothing

27th July 2015:
I'm excited about another story on Roldolphus. Of course, if you ever feel like writing me my own story about him, say a million chapters, I will quite happily read it all the time! You write him so well!

Aww it's him without Bellatrix, I wonder how he's coping? He must be so devastated. *hugs him* and it's so adorable him thinking about how they used to be at school. It's strange to think of Bellatrix in that way. OMG!! THIS IS WHAT YOU NEED TO WRITE ME! BELLA AND RODOLPHUS AT SCHOOL!! Millions of chapters!! :D

I am so full of emotions for Rodolphus like I've said before. I don't know how I feel! I want to hug him, but he deserves everything that's happened to him. Well, maybe not the Bella thing, he deserved to be loved by her.

I need so much more with them! I am really loving how you've written them!

 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggle The Awful Sound of Nothing

11th June 2015:
Hey!

I've just come from reading the Killer in Me and the Killer in You and was very curious and intrigued about what would be different in Rodolphus' thoughts this time around! It really is fantastic how you showed such a stark difference between his first time prison and this time - not only without the dementors, but also without Bellatrix. Your characterisation of him is seriously on point - how he ponders why Bellatrix supposedly died at the hands of Molly Weasley, how he doesn't seem to hate and detest the Aurors with a passion and has some grudging respect for them, and how their relationship gradually deteriorated after meeting with the Dark Lord. You definitely make Rodolphus seem like a not-so-bad Death Eater.

I also thought it was really interesting how, in a way, the dementor-less Azkaban was still a place where the prisoners would suffer, and was thought-provoking in making me consider whether the human guards treated the prisoners just as inhumanely as the dementors had.. this was such a fab story though, and I'm so glad I read this, as the connections between this fic and the first fic are really fantastic.

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #3, by Shadowkat The Awful Sound of Nothing

11th June 2015:
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015!

I think I actually started reading this at a early date, though I have no idea why I might not have finished. This was a intriguing idea to be sure.

I can't say I've read too many stories about Rodolphus before, but I think you pulled him off. He seems so much more human than I've really considered. The thoughts, emotions, feelings. They were just so real.

I love how you portrayed him and Bellatrix, the way they started so strong just to steadily fall apart. Even when he got her back she was never truly his anymore.

The characterization of the guards we saw through his eyes made sense, and was also a nice touch.

Glad I rediscovered this, a great read. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by The Summer Snake The Awful Sound of Nothing

5th May 2015:
Greetings from The Summer Snake! I have recently slithered out of hibernation and discovered this amazing place with such amazing stories, so I want to read and review as many as I can before I go back into hibernation!

On to the review: This was amazing! I loved it. You totally got into Rodolphus' head and nailed his characterisation. I loved the idea of him dwelling over Bellatrix as he sat alone in the Azkaban cell after the war. His resentment but not regret for his actions came through quite well. I also liked how you gave some backstory to things after the war as well as to his relationship with Bella.

It was sad that he could remember the moment when she fell out of love from him and grew distant. It was also interesting to read about a pre-voldemort Bella when she actually loved him. The idea of them stealing kisses, holding hands, etc. is too other-worldly but I could see it happening xP

All in all, I think you did a great job with this. The writing, descriptions, plot and characterisation was all spot on and I was really drawn in. Here's some Summer Cheer for you to keep writing such amazing stuff! *throws confetti* Yes, I'm a happy Snake =)

Ooh the time is ticking. I'm now off to explore more of this wonderful sun! See ya!

With love,
The Summer Snake

 Report Review

Review #5, by Crumple-Horned Snorkack The Awful Sound of Nothing

3rd May 2015:
Greetings! I am the Crumple-Horned Snorkack, and I've stepped out of the forest where I normally hide from the Lovegoods, in order to stop by your page and leave you a review!

It is very rare that I find stories about Rodolphus Lestrange. In fact, it is very rare that I find any humans at all, given that I hide from them all the time. But I really liked the way this story focused on him, and even made me feel sympathetic towards him as he thinks about all the time he has spent in a cold, cheerless prison cell. Especially heartbreaking were his thoughts about his dear Bella, whom he obviously loved very much but wasn't loved in return, at least not for very long - and he knew it. Poor guy. (I can't believe I'm saying this about a Death Eater.)

Molly Weasley wasn't an Auror, wasn't even an employee of the Ministry, with no training. How had she killed his glorious Bella, the most capable witch he'd ever known? -- Because Molly Weasley is a BOSS. But I love this paragraph and how he respects his enemies for their abilities - it makes him so much more than just a one dimensional killer. I love it when stories show this other side to Death Eaters. (And I can understand him here: although I would not describe the Lovegoods as my enemies - more like rivals - I greatly respect them for believing in me and coming to search for me. But I enjoy hiding from them too much.)

You also describe a lot about Azkaban in here and it's really effective - and for Rodolphus at least, the departure of the Dementors isn't that big a deal because he's still lost in his own sad memories.

I really liked this look into Rodolphus' mind, and your writing was excellent enough to actually make me pity him a little. Wonderfully written. And now, I must depart to meet my friend the Loch Ness Monster for tea!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Comet The Awful Sound of Nothing

10th April 2015:
Woah. Hold up.

First of all, you are an amazing writer. Let me just say that before I continue this review any further. Your description here was incredible. I am so impressed right now, I can't tell you.

I actually feel sorry for Rodolphus. Partly because of his name (it reminds me of my sibling, Rudolph) but also because he seems to have an ideal world in his mind that never quite happened.

I loved that he kept his ring as a link to his wife, even though she stopped loving him. He still loved her despite knowing how one-sided it was. His pondering about his enemies was really quite interesting too, because it shows how he is different to the vast majority of Death Eaters.

I think you did a brilliant job here! Got to go though, sleigh practice is in five minutes. Thanks for the amazing read.

- Comet

 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm The Awful Sound of Nothing

19th March 2015:
Hey Olivia, reviewing for the HPFF Fundraiser challenge over at the forums!

Ooh, I really liked the fact you wrote a sequel to this as so much has changed in the past few years, it was interesting to see how they were now. Rudolphusí attitude to being back in Azkaban did make me laugh as it was almost as if he was saying here we go again, back to the same old drudgery of being in prison as the main issue was Bella rather than the prison itself.

I really liked finding out about their earlier relationship and how they both ended up being Death Eaters as it humanised them and made me understand them a little more than before. I did end up feeling so sorry for him because Bella only married him because Voldy didnít want her. Bahaha, sorry but it was the word seduce which got me giggling because itís so weird that someone would want to seduce Voldy, but anyhow I should probably get back to the review. It really does show how much he loved her though if he was willing to take her back even after she left him for Voldy.

That aspect was interesting too for another reason because it seemed as if Bella was marrying him so to preserve her reputation meaning she actually cared about things like that, as I didnít think she did. He really was feeling sorry for himself at the end of this though which made me chuckle because the worst thing in his life was that he might not get a blanket whereas he had done much worse himself.

Great story! :D

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #8, by toomanycurls The Awful Sound of Nothing

15th March 2015:
Hello!

I'm here for the BvB and am so glad you wrote this story. I feel a bit bad for Rodolphus and the way his love life has turned out. That's not something I ever thought I would say or think so kudos to you for making it happen. I kind of felt like he didn't have a chance once Bellatrix met Voldemort and they way you wrote her attraction to Voldemort yet marriage to Rodolphus was very similiar to how I've imagined it (though I've only vaguely put some thoughts together).

I wasn't sure (because my details on which death eaters went to jail when are fuzzy) if this was after the battle in the department of mystery or the end of the wizarding war. I love how Rodolphus was confounded that a simple housewife could defeat Bellatrix. I mean, he definitely saw aurors as equals but Molly Weasley was a surprise.

Excellent piece!!

-Rose

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login