Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Pretty in Potions
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by inevitable_bliss The Future's So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades

7th February 2016:
I found this story a little while ago and have been checking in frequently for updates because your characters are so memorable and unique! I simply adore Athena and James, and Merrick and all of the characters you've brought to life, truly.

I had forgotten the name of the story and had used google to try and relocate it, and your story popped up under another site (ff . net), same title. I hope it's just you reposting, but in case it's not, I wanted to bring it to your attention.

I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so sorry for the super delayed response to this, my personal/professional life has been a bit crazy for the past few months and I've been neglecting this story. I'm so glad that you like the story and the characters :) I've also posted this story on ff . net as well as on AO3, but thank you so much for letting me know if that wasn't the case! I'm planning to update within the next few days and I hope you've continued checking in for updates.

 Report Review

Review #2, by JT4HP The Future's So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades

16th January 2016:
Okay, so love your story! I'm so glad I've found it and I'm definitely favoriting it.

I really adore Athena. She's spunky and fun and kind and ugh. She's great. And I just love all the details you put in and everything about the past. James is so dishy, I mean, I imagine him to be quite dishy, but he seems so kind and funny.

I can't wait for more. And I would love to see the OG Harry Potter interact with Athena too

:)

Author's Response: Aww I'm so glad you like it :) You'll definitely see some Harry/Athena interactions in the future! I'm writing the next chapter as I type this. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by inevitable_bliss The Uncivil Wars

23rd December 2015:
Just recently stumbled across this gem of a story, and I'm very excited to see where it's headed!
You have a very good mastery over your writing style and I enjoy your take on the Malfoys. Not giving the full backstory, but leaking it in pieces is great, and leaving me waiting desperately for more. Athena is shaping up to be a wonderful character, and the dynamic between her and James is absolutely delicious. Please keep it up!

Author's Response: Ah I'm so glad that you like it! Thank you so much :) I'll update sometime in the next two weeks or so.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Leah Dropping Bombshells

18th November 2015:
Oh my goodness this is fantastic! The level of detail you put into her room at hogwarts is amazing! And I'm really enjoying the tension between James and Athena. Please update soon, I'm excited to see how Athena takes on her new job!

Author's Response: Aww thanks so much! I tried really hard to not overwhelm with detail, but still allow you to be able to picture it in your head. I'm really glad you're enjoying it :) I'll try to update as quickly as I can!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Beeezie Birds Of A Feather

11th November 2015:
Hey, I'm back! Your responses were so sweet - I'm glad the reviews were helpful and inspiring! :)

I loved the way this started - I can definitely see Malfoys being so focused on manners and propriety, especially in the aftermath of the war - that's one of the things they wouldn't have to disavow with Voldemort's defeat. It's wonderful that James happened to be there for it - presumably, it woke him up, so I wonder how much of it he really processed properly vs. "Howler, yikes."

I'm really intrigued by their relationship! I like the uneasiness she feels toward him (which in retrospect is I think a better word for it than hostility or dislike), and his... semi-protectiveness, I guess? toward her is fascinating. It's really set the stage well for some kind of relationship in the future.

So, Merrick. I really like her character so far, and I love that she's queer - my headcanon Dominique is a lesbian, so I will be beyond psyched if something actually happens between them.

Great job - this continues to be a really engaging story! I'll keep an eye out for updates. :)

Author's Response: They really are! I just cranked out an entire chapter after reading this one :) You'll have to wait to see just how much of it James processed, but it will definitely be mentioned in future chapters. I didn't want to make them outrightly hostile to one another because I just didn't picture their history being like that and it's become a bit of a cliche in James/OC fics. You'll see more on James and the way he feels about Athena in the future but yes, semi-protectiveness is a great way to describe it. I'm so glad you liked Merrick! She's really fun to write and she plays a large role in helping Athena cope with everything. I didn't originally plan for her to be queer or her to have something with Dom, but it just came to me while I was writing the chapter and I thought it was a good idea so I just went with it. I'm really really glad that you liked it. You'll have to see if anything comes of it, however :) I'm so glad you liked it and once again thank you so so much for your reviews.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Leah Firewhisky Blues

10th November 2015:
This is so amazing! I really like Athenas character and her and James are so cute together! Also Athena is a really good name, I can see she is very smart but I'm interested in seeing if any other part of her character is similar to the Greek goddess

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your review means a lot and I'm so glad that you like her and James together. As for her likeness to Athena you'll just have to wait and see :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Beeezie Firewhisky Blues

9th November 2015:
Huh. Yeah, Iím really enjoying the way youíre unraveling what it means to be a Slytherin in this next-gen universe. Itís a really interesting take on it, and her reaction to the mere idea of being bullied being ďavoid avoid avoidĒ fits really well with her quitting her job after she faces a somewhat similar situation there. I donít think that sheís a coward, but sheís clearly got different strengths than her brother, and Iím curious to see how those develop over the course of the story.

I also really enjoyed her interaction with James. She clearly doesnít particularly like him, but I didnít feel the really deep hatred that I often see in similar situations, which I liked - there was certainly dislike, but I can already see the potential there, which is wonderful.

Again, Iím sorry these were pretty short - I just wanted to stop in and mention something about them, because I really did have a fun time reading these to validate them. :P

Author's Response: I really wanted to make a point of addressing how I think Slytherin is treated post-war because while I think there are many wonderful aspects of the wizarding world and that there's been many improvements made, I don't see them being so quick to completely change their perception of Slytherins as a whole. As I've said, thank you so much for your kind words--I REALLY appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Beeezie The Black Sheep

9th November 2015:
Oof. I loved (loved, loved) the bit in the beginning where Athena was talking about breaking the vase and hiding from her mother because she was afraid of getting in trouble. I thought it was a strong chapter in general, but that part just stood out to me as being such a perfect depiction of how children think. I can remember having at least two occasions in my childhood where I reacted in a similar way - not hiding up a tree, of course, but the same frantic and completely unrealistic plans based in a massive overreaction. It was perfect.

And thatís not even getting into the rest of the chapter, which is, as I said, strong all on its own. Your depiction of Lucius and Narcissa is really fascinating, and Iím not quite sure what to think of them yet. I am starting to get a good sense of why she was put in Slytherin. It seems like thereís a lot of nuance in how you see the houses, so Iím really looking forward to seeing where you take this in the future, particularly if she ends up being the head of Slytherin (which I believe Slughorn was, in DH - Iím not sure whether he stayed on?). My heart went out to her when she remembered the little boy dying - I can understand why sheíd quit and decide she couldnít take it, even though it doesnít seem to have been her fault.

Great job!

Author's Response: When I first started writing this chapter it was SUCH a struggle but once I came up with the idea about vase story it just flowed out of me. Thank you so much for your kind words :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Beeezie I'll Take You Back to the Start

9th November 2015:
So I don't have time to leave really thorough reviews, but I just read all three chapters of this in the queue and wanted to stop by with some reviews, because I really enjoyed them. :)

This was really well done. I loved the way you introduced Athena - I felt like I got a great sense of her relationship with Scorpius. I particularly enjoyed his threat to use Veritaserum on her if she didnít tell him what was going on - thatís a very sibling-y thing to do in a lot of ways, and if I hadnít already known they were siblings, that would have definitely clarified it for me. I also thought that the way you dealt with her quitting her job was excellent - I was left wondering what happened, and while Iíve gathered more of the picture from the other two chapters, Iím still a little fuzzy about the details. For me, thatís a really good thing, because it keeps the focus on Athena and her current struggles and direction, rather than on the past.

Great job!

Author's Response: I mean this in a good way but you've totally just made me cry with your reviews. You're so sweet and I'm so glad to hear that you like them. It's definitely giving me motivation to write more and I can't even express to you how much you've made my week with your kind words :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by MarieBlack The Black Sheep

1st March 2015:
I'm very intrigued by this story already. I know you have a crazy schedule but I'll be on the look out for the next chapter!

I like the way you write in that you give a lot of insight not just to Athena now but also how she was in schooling, with the bullying and even the anecdote from her childhood. It's lovely.

The Malfoy's seem suprisingly accurately portrayed, ah, the still prejudiced grandparents,haha. I'm intrigued to know more and see where this goes, happy writing!

Author's Response: I'm going to be updating soon, sorry for the delay! Thank you so much for your kind words, I think it's really important to cover all aspects of a character that make them who they are which isn't just the present events happening to them. Again, thank you for the praise--I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by HazelMidnight172 The Black Sheep

1st March 2015:
I love it! Awesome start!
Lucius and Narcissa are funny - I can totally see them being all pureblood-gossipy like that. I like how Athena altered the truth to turn her leaving the hospital into a positive thing. It must have been really traumatic for her what happened and you portrayed that well. Scorpius and Athena seem to have a really good relationship. I look forward to seeing more of their interactions in future chapters, and also Athena's interactions with Rose. The start of the chapter with the story about the vase was excellent. It was a great metaphor for what is happening now.
I'm really excited that I found this story. So far it looks very different to anything else I have read!
Favouriting it so I can keep following. :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much, you're the sweetest! I'll definitely be touching more on what happened to Athena in the future. I'm updating soon!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Leah I'll Take You Back to the Start

23rd February 2015:
This sounds so interesting! Glad to see a new story line for James/OC, not the same old story. Keep going, I'm interested to see where this goes

Author's Response: I'm glad you like the story line, I just feel like I've seen the same story over and over (which I love and keep reading, don't get me wrong) but I wanted to see where I could take this. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by killjoy I'll Take You Back to the Start

18th February 2015:
Ok I wont lie, I found this looking for Rose/Scorpius stories. But I'm liking this so far. Can't guarantee I'll be a regular feed backer but I'll be reading

Author's Response: Haha I'll take a reader any way I can get one. Glad you liked it! Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login