Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Noise
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SPJaymo117 Noise

25th February 2016:
Fantastic story! Gave me chills thinking of poor old Neville as a werewolf. Very well written!

Author's Response: It really would be awful. Poor Neville has already been through so much. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by The Basilisk Noise

4th November 2015:
Ssso another one partisssipating in the November writing month challenge. I wish you luck. Your ssstory was quite remarkable. Honessstly, I was stuned by it.

The dessscriptive breaksss were perfectly timed and beautifully done. It gave the ssstory a nice tone and set an amazing pace. I was hooked in a matter of momentsss. The way you dessscribed the new enhanced senses of the wolf was lovely. Ssso perfected and brilliant. You didn't drop the werewolf bomb too early or too late.

I am intrigued on how you took on the posst traumatic stresss of the war and played it nicely in for Neville. Thisss moment was quite believable and realissstic.

The pain and the agony, the worry everything was beautiful. I am in love with thisss story. I honessstly cannot expresss my full appreciation of thisss story. Impeccable writing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by wolfgirl17 Noise

20th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Hufflepuff

Hey Buddy,

I adored this story. i really loved the way you did the time-lapse thing to cover a lot of information in snippets. I also really liked the idea of Neville becoming a werewolf. He'd make a good werewolf, I reckon. This was a really wonderful story and I like the way you had Mrs Longbottom shout at him about it being a full moon before it all came rushing back to him about being bitten and ending up a werewolf.

I loved the way you described the change within him and the way you described the pain and the horror of the transformation including the way his mind slipped away last, leaving him nothing but the wolf.

Keep up the great work. Your stuff is brilliant!

xx-Ellie

 Report Review

Review #4, by bittersweetflames Noise

20th June 2015:
This was very atmospheric and really, really well-written. The use of just a subject and the verb to set the scene was very effective. You set the sort of atmosphere that I could see very well in my head and could feel so very clearly. I could imagine a lone figure walking along the forest and exuding loneliness and regret and guilt. Because, to me, I feel as though that must be what Neville is feeling. I cannot imagine how hard it must be for him to live and be unscathed while the world around was still basically in pieces. So, as far at what DOES happen to him, I can feel, almost, as though he welcomed it.
The scene in the hospital feels stark. Here you managed to show a lot of despair as well. His first waking thoughts in a body that is adjusting to the change is somehow bleak yet interesting. You can't help but feel sorry for it although he struck me, somehow, as cold and resigned. Is that the guilt talking?
The ending, where he is going to go through a transformation is, again, fraught. I cannot imagine how it must be to live through what he is forced to live with. And, more so, how it must feel to realise that this is his life now. Sympathy. Sadness. Despair.
Actions without presence of mind. You really wrote this perfectly. Thank you.

Carla
House Cup 2015 Amazing Race Part 2, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. That is exactly what I wanted the reader to feel Neville was feeling. I think there was a lot of guilt amongst the survivors after the battle.

Yes, the coldness was because of the guilt. I wanted that scene to feel cold and resigned. Glad it came off that way!

I'm glad you liked the ending. I thought it was fitting to end it that way since that's what Neville's life will be from then on. Thank you for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by SunshineDaisies Noise

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Hello!

This was wonderful! A bit heartbreaking, but I suppose that comes with the territory. I really loved how you set this just after the Battle of Hogwarts. No one ever really thinks about what happens afterward, but tragedies still happen. Life doesn't stop because of a battle, the full moon still comes around. The fact that it was Neville to be bitten makes it even more tragic to me. He had just spent the year fighting the Carrows and really coming into his own, only for this to come along.

I think Augusta's reaction was possibly the most heartbreaking moment. She's already had so much tragedy in her life, and I can see how a werewolf bite would feel like a loss, similar to the way the torture of Frank and Alice was a loss. The person is still there, but what of the person they could have been?

Beautiful work!
Puffs for the Cup!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! Yes, it was really heartbreaking to write as well. I think the after the battle years would be so fascinating because so many of the survivors would've felt so guilty and had to rebuild their world. But you're right; life doesn't stop and neither does the full moon.

Poor Augusta. She's such a strong character who's suffered so much tragedy. But she just keeps going, as she will after this. Yes, I think they are very similar. Thanks so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by tangledconstellations Noise

20th June 2015:
Reviewing for Ravenclaw, for the House Cup 2015!

Ahh, this was so good!

I feel like, because Neville is one of those characters that you want to bundle up forever and make him happy always, having him as the victim of a werewolf bite is one of the meanest things you could have done :P But this was amazing. I really like the way you've written this - the way its in short, sharp moments - kind of like the distinguisable, key scents Neville can suddenly pick out. The moments are so clearly defined and so prominent, and everything else has faded into the background. I also really like the way you've included the relationship between Neville and his Gran, because she was essentially like a mother to him (even though he kinda feared her wrath I guess, haha) - but it made this piece even more about Neville, even more about his emotions and the things and people that are close to him.

I really liked the way you described his first transformation. I could really imagine him there, solitary, freaking out, knowing it's going to happen and trying to counter that with all of the happiest, most confidence-giving things he can remember. Including Neville thinking about Lupin was a really nice touch because in a way it made this partly about him too - about anyone that has to undergo the transformations. Having innocent and lovely Neville - who we all care about from the books - having to go through makes this such a unique piece.

I really liked this - thank you for sharing!

Laura xxx

Author's Response: I know. I'm terrible. But I got Neville in the Lycanthropy Challenge, so I had to do it! But he will overcome it, no matter how bleak this story was.

Writing the bits with his gran were almost more tragic than writing the bits with Neville himself. She's suffered so much tragedy herself and then to do this...well it was really mean of me.

I'm glad you liked the pacing! It was something new for me to try out, but I feel like it worked. Very happy it came off that way to you, too.

I've written transformation scenes before so I wanted to make this one stand out. After a while they seem to get repetitive. I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshp Noise

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Slytherin review.

This was so very sad - an alternate reality where Neville turns into a werewolf. I loved the broken segments with dates. It was a good writing style that worked well with the theme.

The darkness, the despair came through beautifully. Neville's waking up in the hospital, disorientated, was very nicely done. His Gran's despair also came through well even if it was shown for a brief moment.

I liked how Neville thought of Lupin while transforming. It showed he was alone and he wanted someone, something. It was very touching indeed. The idea that the mind is the last to go is very interesting. He could feel everything and that was terrible.

Your descriptions of the pain were very real and yet sensitively handled without being too gory. The whole scene was set beautifully and all in all I really liked it, especially the final sentence with the "furniture snapping and fabric ripping" as it painted some wonderful imagery. Tragic but wonderful. Great work.

Author's Response: It was very sad. It was sad to write, but I do enjoy writing angst. I'm glad you liked the broken segments. That was something new I was experimenting with and I'm glad people have liked it.

I'm glad I explored Neville's gran's reactions. She's such a strong woman who's been through so much tragedy. And she'll get through this, as will Neville.

I had to have Neville think of Lupin. He's the only werewolf Neville knew. I'm glad you liked the descriptions. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by TreacleTart Noise

20th June 2015:
Hey there!

I'm here for House Cup 2015- Amazing Race Round 2 - Gryffindor!

As soon as I saw this, I knew I had to read it! I also wrote a story for the Lycanthropy Challenge, so I was immediately curious to see what you'd done with yours.

The first paragraph really does a good job of dragging you into the story. It's pretty bleak, but it sets the tone for how the rest of it's going to go.

The scene at St.Mungo's is pretty depressing. After everything both Augusta and Neville have been through, it's pretty awful to think of this happening to them. Augusta's outburst in particular was tough because it shows an emotional side of her that we don't normally get to see.

Ugh. The ending was a killer. The idea that Neville is awake and coherent throughout the transformation is awful. His desperate grasping for something funny and then only thinking of the tragedy of Lupin and his fear of full moons is pretty horrific.

All in all, I think this was really well written, albeit depressing. You handled the subject matter quite well, and while I was sad reading a lot of it, I still had the desire to finish it. Good work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Yes, the first bit is very bleak. But that was intentional because of the subject matter. I really enjoyed the bit with Augusta because she's such a strong woman who has endured so much tragedy in her life. Then this, right after she and Neville both made it out unscathed (physically, that is) from the battle.

I knew I'd end it with a transformation. Transformations are so horrible and that made it a good ending for this. This is possibly one of the angstiest fics I've written. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Milk Chocolate Noise

13th April 2015:
Hi Sarah.

I'm Milk Chocolate, and I'm here because my friend over at forums told me you like chocolate. I like being alive, and I'm therefore here to leave you a wonderful review to (hopefully) convince you not to eat me.

I liked this story very much, and I am not just saying that to ensure you don't eat me. The time-jumps were interesting. It made more exciting if you ask me, and we chocolates really shouldn't have too much excitement or we might break in two (or maybe even more *dramatic gasp*). You described it so well, that I was afraid my fear would make me break to smaller chocolate pieces. But I managed to keep myself whole, thankfully.

I feel sorry for Neville. I don't know much about having to change to a wolf myself. I don't change, except from one large chocolate plate to smaller pieces, that is. So I can't fully understand his suffering, but I do feel for him. It is not easy being small and alone against something big (you should remember that before you eat me, Sarah).

Anyway, I'm going to flee now before you decide to eat me, but please don't. Think of my family out there. They need me, Sarah. And my friend over at forums do too. She is in your house, you know. She won't be happy if you eat me, so please don't *chocolate puppy eyes :P *

Many thanks on a lovely story

Milk Chocolate

Author's Response: I love chocolate! No, I won't eat you.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story! I've been playing around with time jumps lately because they're not something I normally use. It really was quite sad for Neville, and for his gran, but he will survive. Thank you for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by The Stork Noise

29th March 2015:
Hello there!

I've just been flapping my way across the forums, looking for people to deliver a little something to, just to brighten your day!

This piece seemed as if it could use some love, and light, so here I am.

I do believe that the style was lovely, the headings effectively portraying to time and place in a detached way that added more the narration. The phrases in italics, with their simplicity, really added to the more crisp, serious tone overall, and I rather enjoyed the whole effect.

Poor Neville, and his poor Gran! At least we know that he did survive the war, and can too survive this hardship. Your characterization was spot on, showing both his stregth of character and his lacking skill in moderation, not letting them take over the character.

This is a very lovely, if morbid, piece, and I wish it all the joy of a bouncing line or two.

Happy Spring!

Author's Response: Hello, Stork! Thanks for dropping by.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story. My goal was for the style and italicized phrases to set the tone, so I'm glad that worked. Neville and his gran will survive and overcome this, as they did all the other tragedies they endured in their lives. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Babbitty Rabbitty Noise

29th March 2015:
Tsk, tsk. Kids these days, not paying attention to when the full moon is. Let me tell you, in my day there was no Wolfsbane potion, no ma'am. You knew not to walk outside when the moon was full if you didn't want to become a werewolf yourself!

From what I've heard about people who were bitten by werewolves, you described the after-effects well. Everything being much more intense, likely the result of the wolf aspect that now makes up a part of you. (Do you know exactly how it works nowadays? Nobody in my time could ever figure it out.)

I'm glad Neville was appropriately horrified by the war. Too many people seem to think you can get through unscathed, but that is simply not true. I got through the witch hunts okay (idiots didn't know how to find a witch for the life of them!) but the terror and shortages and paranoia this boy describes are all real.

Poor boy. He should really look into studying potions himself or getting a healer to help him. That's what I would suggest.

Yours truly,

Babbitty Rabbitty

Author's Response: Neville would've paid attention, were it not for his emotional distress over the battle. He's plagued with survivor's guilt and PTSD and the calendar slipped his mind. Unfortunate.

I've written a lot about lycanthropy, so that bit was relatively straight forward. The hard part was writing Neville's reaction to everything. I wanted to do him justice and keep his personality canon.

There aren't a whole lot of fics that deal with the realities of the aftermath of the war. None of the survivors would've made it without some sort of emotional trauma. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by The Red Leaf Faery Noise

29th March 2015:
Well hello! I'm just a small faery, but in preparation for Easter I'm going to be leaving token of goodwill around the place; I can't do anything as large as resurrection I'm afraid, have to leave that sort of stuff to the big shots, but hopefully I can bring a smile to your face! :) See? That easy.

Oh dear, this certainly is a bit of an angsty story, isn't it? Not going to lie, I love me some angst (oh hush, Easter spirits are allowed their guilty pleasures too!) and you did this beautifully.

Werewolves are certainly creatures people are very prejudiced against and most of the time they're perfectly lovely people, and to have Neville become a werewolf showed that really well, I think.

Your descriptions of pain and how Neville turned into a werewolf was very, very real - it had me shuddering, in fact, and my dress has nearly come apart at the seams for it.

The description you used throughout was lovely as well, actually, and how Neville was so disoriented when he woke up was written fabulously; I envy you!

Oh, I need to go make sure that the leaves are changing colours and falling - you wouldn't think so, but they can be awfully uncooperative at times. Always wanting to stay green forever. Well, I'm so glad I could take a break to read this, it was a very nice read!

The Red Leaf Faery

Author's Response: It's very angsty! Possibly the angstiest story I've written so far. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

I've written a lot about lycanthropy so it was easy to slip Neville into my own canon about that. I was doing a lot of experimenting with style in this and wasn't sure how that would turn out. I'm glad you liked it!

Ah, you must be a faery from the land down under! Around here, the leaves don't start turning until August or so (although I have one tree in my yard whose leaves are starting to turn now - a bit overeager). Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by TenthWeasley Noise

21st February 2015:
Hey, Sarah -- here with a review for you!

Oh, Neville as a werewolf! Before reading this, I wouldn't have conjured up that idea, but you actually made it seem very plausible. I walk a lot when I have things to deal with, and that's nothing compared to the things Neville would be feeling, having survived a war. I don't think it's a far stretch at all.

I think one of the things I liked best about this story is the style in which you wrote it. The sentences are short and staccato, and it feels very distant and removed -- but that's really very fitting, I think. Before the hospital, Neville's essentially going through mild PTSD from the war, and afterwards obviously the lycanthropy is messing with his brain. I think it's very genius, really, to have the style reflect so specifically the way his mind would have been working.

Those two lines before the last italics are eerily lovely -- they made the hairs on my arms stand up, in the best way possible. ♥ I have a huge fascination with the depiction of mental illness and just the idea of someone being in this body, knowing their mind is going to tip, knowing it's inevitable and not being able to stop it... wow. I'm giving myself goosebumps again! I love those lines.

I think it's interesting that you and TreacleTart both gave me prompts from this challenge to read, but this was gorgeous! Thanks for pointing me in its direction. Best of luck with the challenge results!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for the lovely review! :)

I never would've thought up Neville as a werewolf if I hadn't received him for this challenge! I thought about switching because I prefer writing lesser-known characters, but then figured, hey, it's supposed to be a challenge. I'm really glad you think it's plausible! The guilt and trauma felt by survivors of a war is so often overlooked in the Muggle world, so I figured it would be the same in the wizarding world.

Ahh, I'm thrilled you got the style! That's exactly what I was going for and I'm so glad it came through. I think it's extremely likely Neville had PTSD after the war (as with a lot of the characters who lived) and he wouldn't be thinking clearly all the time. And of course, when he woke up in St. Mungo's everything was hazy.

I was definitely trying to make an impact with those lines. Very glad it made the hairs on your arms stand up! I love writing about mental illness in fan fic, so this fit perfectly with that.

I'm so glad you enjoyed reading this! I love writing about werewolves and this was probably the most difficult one I've done.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Liana Noise

12th February 2015:
I was surprised that Neville was the main character--that he had been bitten. I could feel his horror as he realized what had happened. The only problem I have with the story is that every magical child grows up knowing you don't go out wandering around during a full moon. What was Neville thinking. He was traumatized but that was such a basic rule I find it hard to believe he'd forget it.

Author's Response: I used Neville because he's the character I got for the challenge. It took me a while to figure out what I was going to do, but it worked out, I think.

Neville wasn't thinking. That was the problem. He was distraught with survivor's guilt and PTSD and didn't think to check the calendar to see if there was a full moon. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Luke Noise

9th February 2015:
I really loved this, it was well written and a nice inexpexted surprise. The opening and concluding lines were particularly powerful. Your exploration of lyncanthropy in all your stories and it's consequences have always been a highlight for me and I've always found them to be "realistic" in often the most heart shattering ways, with little victories instead of huge, sweeping unrealistic ones.

You have a real talent as a writer and I guess my question becomes, will this become a part of your Albus Potter series canon because if it is, it really opens some wonderful, perhaps bittersweet options for the development of the story.

As always, I'm a loyal reader and you never disappoint. I've been thinking of embarking on a re read of your series soon.

Well Done :-))

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I tried something new in terms of style and so far people have really enjoyed it.

I love exploring lycanthropy. It's not delved into much in canon, which is why I like writing about it. I'm able to do my own thing and still have it comply with canon (for the most part).

No, this will not become part of the Albus series canon. This is a stand alone fic. I would've had to go back and edit all my Albus fics to ensure Neville wasn't around during full moons. Thank you so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ficfan Noise

9th February 2015:
No... not Neville :-( Don't get me wrong, this is incredibly well written, as are all your stories, but nonetheless I think I'll be trying to forget this one, just so that it doesn't shatter my happy little illusion about Neville having a 'happy ever after'. He's probably my favourite HP character, and I just reckon he deserves it!

Great writing, but I'm now desperate for the remaining chapters of your latest Albus story, in the hope that they'll give me my 'happy ending' fix!

Author's Response: It wasn't until I got Neville for the challenge that I ever considered shattering his happily ever after. But then it wasn't as hard as I thought it would be... He does deserve a happy ending, though!

I cannot promise a happy ending in my latest Albus story. There is still a lot more to go! If you want a happy ending fix, I suggest reading Searching for Forever. That's probably my happiest fic. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Aquadart Noise

9th February 2015:
I've been reading your stories since late 2010, and I love all of them, especially ones concerning Matt or Amy. I relate to him more than any other character I've ever read about because I too am shunned for an illness I have no control over. What I'm wondering is if Neville is a werewolf in that series as well.

Author's Response: I'm glad you love all my stories! Matt is one of my favorites to write about, so I'm glad you're able to relate to him. Neville is not a werewolf in any of my other stories. This was a completely unrelated one shot. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by ngayonatkailanman Noise

8th February 2015:
Oh no! Not Neville. I am now upset. Poor thing. After all he has been through.

Author's Response: I'm sorry! I know this was a pretty sad one. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by MargaretLane Noise

8th February 2015:
Yikes, that introductory paragraph is STARK. Poor Neville. I can understand why he'd feel guilty, although of course, logically he has no reason to. He has less reason than most, really, as he stood up to the Carrows and played a vital part in Voldemort's defeat.

I like the detail about his grandmother's movements. It sort of gives an impression of her shock.

I didn't get the shouting for a moment, then I remembered - I think you've mentioned something in your next gen. series about werewolves having enhanced senses.

And yikes, that makes sense about Wolfsbane not being available. In the immediate aftermath of the war, things are going to be a little up in the air. Actually, talking of 1998 and things being disrupted by war, I heard some college grants in Northern Ireland were delayed the following Autumn, because of the Omagh bombing.

I was WONDERING where you were going with the boggart thing. I can well imagine he'd be freaked out by the memory of how much Remus dreaded the full moon.

I literally shivered at that part about your mind being the last thing to go during a werewolf transformation.

I was delighted when I saw you entered the challenge, because I love your version of lycanthropy in your next gen. series.

You really love denying your characters Wolfsbane, don't you? Though admittedly, it makes a lot of sense here. Poor Neville. I now want to read more about what happens to him after this and how he deals with it all. Lycanthropy on top of war trauma and survivor's guilt can't be good.

Author's Response: I'm fascinated by the survivor's guilt that I'm sure most of the survivors felt after the war. I knew I wouldn't be able to explore it fully in this, but I wanted to at least touch on it. He did play a vital role in Voldemort's defeat, but I'm sure he still felt guilty. I can only imagine the immense guilt Harry felt.

Poor Augusta. I felt very sorry for her as I wrote this. She's been taking care of Neville and his parents for years and now this.

The shouting was because of the acute hearing had by werewolves. That's why I focused this around noise.

With the Wolfsbane shortage I thought about war rationing during both world wars in the United States. I imagine a similar thing happened in the wizarding world. And brewers were probably in high demand by Voldemort, especially good ones.

Neville's boggart scenes is one of my favorite scenes in the books, so I wanted to include it. It fit in quite well there, I think. And I had to bring up Remus, since he was the only werewolf Neville ever knew.

I was very excited when you posted the challenge! I can never resist a good werewolf challenge. I'm glad you like my version of lycanthropy!

Haha, I do. There's so much more angst when wolfsbane isn't around. It would be interesting to explore this further, but I'm going to leave it a one-shot. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login