Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Unlikely
  
30 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Slytherin Eagle Abandoned

16th December 2015:
Hey there!

I really enjoyed this. It was very short and sweet, but showed a different side to their characters, one we never really see at all. I thought you found a good way to make their friendship work, as they are quite similar with what they like.

I only noticed a couple of errors: about a third of the way through you wrote 'Parkison' instead of Parkinson. Also the line, "So better watch out and not get on my bad side" (spoken by Pansy) sounds like it should include the word 'you' after 'so'.

I'm glad you posted this because it was really nice to read something so different, and I thank and commend you for that.

Lea xx


parkison thrid through
So better watch out and not get on my bad side

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Abandoned

27th November 2015:
Happy Belated Birthday, Round 3!!

EEk! I LOVE this, Angie!

I could FEEL how angry Pansy was, and even though I don't normally like her very much, I definitely sympathized with her - all the trouble she went to, just to be abandoned!

And poor Parvati, also!

Those two are pretty much the last people I would expect to be friends, but I think you did a wonderful job of bringing the two of them together, showing how they DO have things in common, and how a friendship really COULD start up between the two of them. And really, reading this made me like Pansy more as a character (And I didn't think that was possible!) :O

You also really picked a great 'Missing Moment' from Canon and wrote a story about it that's so wonderful, it could easily fit in with everything else - I've always loved stories about these small missing moments from the series and this is one of my favorites. And, as such, it's going in my favorites right now!

Very well done!!

Author's Response: THANK YOU!

I am so happy you enjoyed this, and that you liked Pansy and Parvati, and enjoyed the dynamic, and that it made sense. You're too kind. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Gail Welin Abandoned

24th November 2015:
Hi Angie!

I'm always happy to read about Pansy and I really like that you chose the Yule Ball for the setting, it makes the interactions between the girls so much more credible - two self-confident girls left behind by their dates, not having fun and ashamed of being seen. And angry. Tonight, they have a common ennemy: boys. Haha :D

The dialogues were simply marvellous - sassy, snippy and smart. Perfect!

If they had been standing in a boxing ring, they would've spent a whole lot of time testing each other's strength and stamina before deciding on a tie xD

I just love how the girls found a moment in their misery to be civil towards one another and discover they had more in common than they thought!

I wish you a wonderful birthday ♥
Much love!

*Gee

Author's Response: Hey gee! Thanks a lot for the wishes and the review.

I am pleased you liked this, and enjoyed Pansy and Parvati's characterisations. It's great to know the dialogues worked well and you enjoyed this little moment of theirs. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #4, by one of your loving mums Abandoned

10th November 2015:
hello!
i think this is a brilliant characterization of two characters that are often casually villainized. it was very astute of you to pick up on the similarities between pansy and parvati and build on them here.

i think the yule ball is a perfect setting for this encounter too! you chose the perfect place to highlight parvati and pansy's similar experiences.

i also love their dialogue. you write some canon accurate tension between the girls, but still give a realistic opening for them to realize their similarities.

i love this line: "She almost flared with jealousy that another Gryffindor looked as beautiful as her, as if Granger wasnt enough."
^ that is so Pansy! i think you've done an excellent job of showing Pansy's actions in a different light than we see in the books, while still staying true to her character. '

you've really changed the way i see these two characters! wonderful!


-nano mum

Author's Response: NaNo mum, I don't even know how to thank you. You're the best ever. I'm so pleased you liked my characterisations here, and enjoyed the dialogue. I am happy you liked my writing. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #5, by SunshineDaisies Abandoned

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Lovely! I really enjoyed reading this. Parvati and Pansy are definitely not two I would expect to be friends, but the way you've written them makes perfect sense. They really do seem to click, despite the fact that they come from pretty different backgrounds. I loved that they talked about their clothes, a lot of time that's seen as vain, but it wasn't here. It was (and is) a perfectly valid topic of conversation. I wish we had gotten to see a bit more friendly conversation between the two, after they decided they could get along. It would've been very nice to read that sort of interaction. (Maybe a sequel? ;))

I think your characterization of Pansy is pretty spot on. You've given her that snobbish air, but you've made her a real person rather than a caricature of a "mean girl." Again, something I'd very much like to read more of!

Excellent work!

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind review! I'm sorry for the late response!

Pansy and Parvati are indeed two very different characters but I like making the unexpected happen so I enjoyed writing this. I am glad you liked it - as for the sequel (or extension), I'll give it some thought for sure =)

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Dojh167 Abandoned

28th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015 Review

I think that you did a great job of characterizing Pansy and bringing out her pride and flare for the dramatic. At the same time, you managed to make readers sympathize with and care about her enough t remain engaged in the story.

I dont insult without reason. Unless of course, you were hanging out with that brat Potter then Id have taunted you for your choice of company. Or if you had been wearing some horrible old-fashioned robes, then Id probably have insulted your fashion sense, but Haha, I like this. Pansy is so straightforward and unapologetic about the way she is its kind of refreshing.

I know that this was meant as a friendship story, but I couldnt help but ship Pansy and Parvati a little bit. I mean, you wrote such great chemistry between them! Thats a good thing.

Sam.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks a lot for your kind review =) I am glad you liked it!

I had a lot of fun writing Pansy so I am pleased you liked her too - especially her straightforward way.

It was a friendship story but after all the reviews, I feel like writing a sequel shipping them too, haha. thanks!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Infinityx Abandoned

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Slytherin

ooh i could go for Parvati/pansy and from what i've just read, i would ship them. they are good together and as you said, they click. i love how you've built this on the premise of a gryffindor/slytherin friendship and chosen the most unlikely pair but made this seem so natural and believable. also, the way you've broken the steretype of slytherin being so haughty that they'd never make friends with a gryffindor is just great, i love that - especially that pansy was the one to propose that they hang out. that banter between the two was so good you really need to write more of that, i'm sure you'd write that so brilliantly. and i'd also love to read more about pansy and parvati after this, so i hope you write more of them. your writing was wonderful and this flowed so easily, i really enjoyed it great job!

Author's Response: Hey Erin! Thanks a lot for your kind review =) I am glad you liked it!

Haha you and everyone else - shipping Pansy/Parvati seems to have become a thing and now I've started shipping them myself. A shipping sequel may just be on its way ;)

I am pleased you felt they clicked and that you liked the premise! I wanted to show a different side to Pansy, we're not all bad Slytherins after all, so I am happy you enjoyed that. Thanks once again!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Beeezie Abandoned

28th June 2015:
Oooh, I really loved this! It's a wonderful look at the Yule Ball from perspectives different than Harry's, and I think that you captured both Pansy and Parvati perfectly.

Pansy's ego, pride, and focus on being the prettiest girl in the room came off as genuine to me, especially given what we saw of her at Hogwarts. Within that, though, I felt like you really humanized her - you took a larger than life bully and turned her into a vain and shallow teenager, which IMO is a good deal more forgivable.

My heart went out to Parvati, too. Harry really was a bit of a jerk to her during the Ball, and while I think that she was a lot less invested in him than Pansy was in Draco, it's still very discomforting to be abandoned by your date at a dance, especially a hugely public event like this, and to then also be passed over for her sister... yikes.

But I think that the two of them really did make lemonade out of lemons, and I loved the way you steered the conversation toward friendly territory after a little taunting. The pace was perfect, and I loved this. ♥

House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks a lot for your kind review =) I am glad you liked it!

It's great to know that you felt I humanised Pansy and that your heart went out to Parvati.

So happy that you liked it overall, the bonding and the pace etc. Thank you so much =)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Unicorn_Charm Abandoned

28th June 2015:
Hi there! Here with a review for the House Cup '15 Amazing Race #TeamGryffindor!

This was fantastic! I really, really enjoyed this!

I always felt really bad for Parvati in GoF. I mean, Harry really was totally rude with how he treated her. I definitely imagine Draco doing something similar to Pansy.

This was kind of an inspirational little story. It was very Girl Power-y. It showed that even though they had their differences they both understood that they were treated poorly by a guy and kind of helped one another through that.

I loved how they bonded over clothing and accessories. We know that Parvati was in to all of that and Pansy struck me as a girl who would have been into that, too. So it made this seem really realistic, like it easily could have been a missing moment from canon.

Pansy knew how to get into the kitchens haha! That's great! I want to think that they would remain friends after this. They seemed like they were actually kind of good for one another. Like they could be pretty good friends for life.

This was great. It really felt like Pansy and Parvati but they didn't come off as horrible as they both did in the books. Great job on this! I really enjoyed reading it. :)

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! Your comments make me so happy. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Frankie05 Abandoned

28th June 2015:
Hello!

Here for House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

I really liked this friendship. Sometimes friendship can blossom from the same hurt or pain, and I think you captured that here perfectly. Both the girls are 14 and it's one of the grandest things to happen at Hogwarts in their time and they were both stood up. I would be in a sour mood too, if that happened to me. I like that you captured both personalities of the Houses in the girls, but because of the circumstances, they became friends.

I like Pavarti's bravery in standing up to Pansy, it's so Gryffindor of her. I also liked how you put them in the same come dress, and Pansy recognized that she was a pretty girl. I think this story is fantastic. Great job

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by maskedmuggle Abandoned

27th June 2015:
Hey!

Wow this is another fic of yours I'm pleasantly surprised by! I really must check out more of your stories, as I'm finding them very creative and unique. I would never have thought of there being any parallels between a Gryffie and a Slytherin during Harry's HP years, and between Parvati and Pansy no less! I really liked the way you characterised them both, especially Pansy - you showed me she's not as evil as I thought, and made her seem almost possibly a nice-ish human being. The plot of this was so well thought out - how they were both ditched by their dates, and were feeling the same way, despite all their differences. I did struggle a bit to find it realistic that Pansy would propose for them to hang out together as friends, but I guess it could happen.. it's unexpected, but all in all, it made for a very happy ending to a wonderful fic. Fantastic writing!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! I am pleased you liked this and found it creative and unique. It's a little unrealistic I guess, hence it's AU, but again, it could happen! Thanks a ton!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ciopeia Abandoned

16th June 2015:
Hi Angie.

I'm sorry it's taken me a while to get here, but the HC has kept me very busy. I'm here now, though, with the promised review. To make up for taking so long to leave it, I'll make the review extra long. Again, I'm very sorry, but I hope you can forgive me. And I'm just going to start with actual review now.

I always like stories with Pansy. I haven't read a lot of stories with her in it, but I've liked all the ones I've read. I think she's a very misunderstood character, at least that's the way I see it. In the books, we only get a negative view of her, but then again the books are from Harry's POV and he doesn't like her very much. So of course he won't focus on her positive sides, but I believe they're there and that she might not be as bad as everyone makes her out to be. It's sort of the same way I see Petunia, who's probably the character I relate to the most because I have 3 sisters myself and know all about the jealousy that's there. So I like reading stories from her POV, and this was very sweet and simple (in a good way).

I would never have come up with pairing her with Parvati, but it does make sense somehow. Yes, they're seemingly very different, but that night when the yule ball takes place they're more similar than ever. As much as I love Harry, I have to admit he wasn't really a good date to Paravati, and Draco was probably not a good date to Pansy. And what's interesting is that fourth year was probably the only year that we saw something close to a good side to Pansy, like in Care of Magical Creatures and the unicorns.

As someone who's studying criminology and law at the same time, I know a thing or two about how people end up being criminals. And I guess it's sort of made me view people differently - I don't see bad or good people, I just see people. And I always think there's a reason why people end up being bad or in some cases criminals, and it's usually a combination of genes, environment and mental illnesses. I'm getting way off track now, I know, and you probably don't want to hear all of this. But what I mean, in short, is that I think there's a reason why Pansy is mean to everyone, why she bullied people and why she was willing to give up Harry in the final battle in order to save herself. I don't think it's as black and white as Harry sometimes makes it seem, and that's why I like it when people make me sympathise with Pansy - see another side to her.

I liked how they're both cautiously approach each other - none quite willing to take the first step - at least initially. They both view each other as ... well, not enemies per say, but definitely as someone they can't really see themself hanging out with, someone they'd never imagined they'd have anything in common with. Because they've sort of been of different sides of a batte (the Gryffindor-Slytherin rivalry thing), but then they realise they don't actually know each other, they only know what they've been sort of made to think - they only know what what everyone else has told them.

So it's definitely an interesting couple, and I like how their friendship starts. They're both lonely after being abandonded by their dates, and they sort of bond over that humilation and loneliness they're both feeling. I like how you portrayed that relationship, you could almost feel how cautious they both were when first meeting - like they weren't really sure if the other was going to turn it around and make a joke out of it or not. But then Pansy just takes a shot, and they go for it. For me it was very believable and I loved it. I almost wish I could've seen even more of them, because I think there's a good friendship or potentially romance there (I only see it as frienship at this point, but it could grow). You made me sympathise with Pansy, and I definitely liked the friendship.

So yeah, it was great. And since I'm already here, congrats on the new relationship. And good luck with the House Cup! You guys are doing well, but we're definitely gonna give you a fight till the end. I'm also doing this anon as you can see, but I've given you so many hints you probably know who I am anyway. I'm obsessed with Astronomy, so that's why I went for Cassiopeia. I just love it, really.

Have a great weekend. I'll come by your MTA very soon (with my actual username, so you'll know for sure who I am then if you don't guess it now), so keep an eye on it. And have a wonderful week!

xxx

Cassiopeia

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by bethanex Abandoned

8th June 2015:
Finally here for that review you requested a million yeas ago. Now I'm almost wishing I hadn't dropped off the face of hpff for a few months - this was excellent. Very original idea, and you incorporated what you wanted (a slytherin fraternizing with a gryffindor) while still holding true to the characters. The opening really grabbed my attention - I really enjoyed Pansy's little inner monologue, it's exactly what anyone would have expected to hear from Pansy. Great Work!

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm pleased you liked this and enjoyed the concept. It's great that you think I held true to the characters. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by TreacleTart Abandoned

5th May 2015:
Hey there,

I'm here for our review swap!

This was quite the different look at Pansy Parkinson. Pretty much everything I've ever read with her in it has her being horrible to people for no reason. It's quite refreshing to see someone take a different approach. I always have a hard time believing that anyone person is just purely good or purely evil, so this gave her character a bit of balance and added some depth.

I was surprised that she offered friendship to Parvati, but I think based on the situation, it seems fitting. They can commiserate over shared experiences of infuriating boys who leave them hanging. They also seem to have a similar fashion sense, so I suppose that gives them something else to talk about.

I'd love to see you expand this into a series of one-shots that take place at different times. I'd love to know how their friendship fared over the years, particularly as they got closer to the war. Did Parvati begin to hate Pansy for wanting to hand Harry over to the Dark Lord? Did they reconnect after the war?I have so many questions!

I really enjoyed this one-shot. It was a sweet look at a previously unimagined friendship. Great work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

I am glad you enjoyed my take on Pansy. I wanted to show that she's not such a horrible person after all. As you said, no one is black and white good or evil.

It surprises a lot of people but then it is AU and I wanted to show a different side to her - she was lonely and wanted a friend.

It's an interesting idea to expand this into a series of one shots (or a short story collection). You've certainly given me some plot bunnies with your questions. Let's see what comes of them!

Thank you for your kind review =)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Lostmyheart Abandoned

15th April 2015:
Hi Angie!

I've come here to make a review spree on your Author Page, as a gift because of your recent (very exciting) news! I probably won't review more than this today, as it's almost 1AM now. I will review more tomorrow!

I was not sure what to expect from this story, I really didn't read anything about it before I clicked and began to read it. I am surprised by how sweet and adorable the plot is, a sort of lost-moment from the books. That's what they're called, right? Lost moments.
I LOVE their bickering, even though it's like the mildest form of bickering. It's so nice to see Pansy in this kind of light, where she's hurt and just wants to hide because Draco abandoned her like that. Because she really is just a kid, she can't be cold and indifferent all the time.
I seriously like the topic you make them agree on, fashion. It's so simple, one topic and it unites a Gryffindor and a Slytherin.

I couldn't help but think 'wow, Angie wrote this line brilliantly', 'oooh, and this one as well' all the time while reading it. You're such an excellent writer and I can't wait to read more stories from you! I will try to review every story you have and the rest of your WIP.

Again, congratulations!! You deserve it so much, Angie! - hug -

- Avi

Author's Response: Hey Avi! You are so wonderful for doing this. Thank you! *engulfs you in a hug and never lets go* You've made me so happy! Thank you!

I am glad you liked this little one-shot. Yes, it was a missing moment of sorts =) I am happy you enjoyed the "bickering" and the topic they agree on and stuff. I just kinda wrote this in one flow and didn't dwell on it too much so I am pleased you enjoyed the lines and scenes anyway. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #16, by marauderfan Abandoned

4th April 2015:
HI ADITI!!! I'm here for that review you requested in... uh... February *cringes* (Being an adult with a real life is annoying.) Anyway, I won't bore you with my excuses and lets just jump right into the review!

This is such a lovely idea. I love stories that have inter-house friendships, and the fact that this features a Gryffindor and a Slytherin during the Hogwarts era when there was so much tension between those two houses, makes this especially great.

I think your characterisation was excellent, and I loved the balance between sass and friendliness. Like each of them kind of insists they're not being nice, and they've got this defensive attitude up so they don't get hurt by mean comments, but then kind of bond. I love that the topic they bonded over was the frilly pink robes they both had, which seems very natural for each of them given their personalities. They do actually have a lot in common!

I think this story says the most about Pansy, though, because she's the one who takes the first step. It shows that although she is hesitant to be seen with a Gryffindor (because that's so uncool), she considers it a worse thing to be seen sitting by herself. She just wants to look like she has friends/is popular, and I like that she (and Parvati) looked past house stereotypes to be friendly with one another and commiserate about being ditched at the dance.

I think the narrative is great, and flows well. You've got the perfect amount of hesitation and stutters in the dialogue to show just how both of them are a little on edge, and it feels real. The first paragraph was the only one that felt a little clunky to me. As is, all the sentences have the same structure, so maybe varying that a little would help the flow (like the second one could be "On the crowded floor, students danced around merrily.")

Alltogether though, I really enjoyed this fic and I loved how you portrayed these characters and crafted a friendship bbetween them. Thanks for requesting! :)

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

I am pleased you liked the idea. It was something fairly new for me! I am also happy to know you enjoyed the characterisation =) Yes, it's more on Pansy and less on Parvati - as I was giving a different light to Pansy.
As for the first paragraph, I'll go back and edit it. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Oregonian Abandoned

24th March 2015:
Hi, Angie. This is Vicki/Oregonian commenting on your story Unlikely. You had a good idea here, a missing moment from the Yule Ball scene in GoF, although I can see why you labeled it AU, since the book itself does not tell us that Draco dumped Pansy after they arrived at the ball, and while it is true that Harry ignored Parvati most ungallantly, the book indicates that she and her sister were quickly consoled by a large group of Beauxbatons boys.

But it seems likely that there were a fair number of students who felt somewhat awkward and ill at ease at a fancy social event like this ball, and that the experience was not unalloyed fun for all of them.

Pansy and Parvati are a very unlikely couple, given the depth of ill feeling between their two Houses, but in your story the girls recognize their identical situation, and their similar unhappiness and disappointment outweighs their House hostilities. I imagine that they had thought that if they could only get the very best robes, shoes, jewelry, etc, then the rest of the Yule Ball experience would take care of itself, and they both discovered that that was not true. A clever point on your part. The level of disappointment must have been very great, given their very rosy expectations.

But only one of them, Pansy, takes the crucial step of crossing the divide between them and reaching out. Why such atypical behavior? Is it that the utterly different milieu of the Yule Ball breaks down the automatic, stereotyped inter-House behaviors?

I praise you for the imagination in pursuing the further actions of these two unfortunate damsels. Perhaps a minority of the Hogwarts students had learned, within their parents social circles, how to comport themselves at an event like the Yule Ball, but the majority were strangers to such a formal affair, so that awkward situations like the one you depict were likely to occur. It was a fun story to read. Thank you for writing.

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you for reading and reviewing =)

I am pleased you liked the idea of the missing (AU) moment from Yule Ball.

Pansy and Parvati are indeed an unlikely "couple" for this story - if you can call them a couple. This wasn't exactly a romantic story but more of a friendship =)

I wanted to show a different side to Pansy here - she's mostly seen to be hateful towards Hermione & the trio just like Draco but that doesn't mean she's like that to everyone. Perhaps i could explore her line of thought further in an edit.

Indeed, thank you for your thoughtful comments. Your review was lovely =)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Jayna Abandoned

23rd March 2015:
TAG!

Hey! So overall, this felt pretty natural and realistic to me and I particularly enjoyed the banter. It was interesting to see the dialogue change into teasing and joking. I also liked how you made the dialogue more real by adding pauses and stutters like you did here:

"Wow, I I definitely didnt expect this."

I also felt like you did a nice job of characterizing Parvati and Pansy. Both are canon characters that aren't really focused on and I think you used whatever characterization the books gave you and added some more.

You did a splendid job of transitioning smoothly from each part.
I don't really have any suggestions, overall this was a wonderful story.

-Jayna

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing =) I am happy you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by 800 words of heaven Abandoned

23rd March 2015:
REVIEW TAG.

Oh, I am so here for Gryffindor/Slytherin friendships, especially those during the Hogwarts era and between two women to boot! It kinda sucks that they have to go under an AU label, but at least you've written something like this, and for that, I am forever thankful.

First of all, I just love the fact that you've written about the beginning of a friendship between two women. So often, females are portrayed as trying to rip each other apart, especially when they're on opposites sides of a rivalry like the one between Gryffindor and Slytherin.

And OMG. The sass these two girls have! Fantastic! So fantastic! It's literally all I have to say on that subject. I am all about the sass, as well as the friendship.

It's so great that these two girls bond over something that's perceived as being really "girly" but they're so unashamedly enthusiastic about it anyway. It doesn't take anything away from their strong personalities, and I really like how it's decoupled "girly" from "weak".

I really enjoyed this little one-shot. Thanks for the lovely read :)

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing. I love Lion/Snake friendships too so I'm glad you enjoyed this.

Haha I know, females are prone to cat fights. But somehow I felt a situation should be different here.

I'm pleased you enjoyed the sass as I wasn't sure about it xP My intention was to show just how feminine stuff is good too and how it can bring people together and how it doesn't have to be something 'tough' or 'crazy', so I am glad you liked the bit.

Thanks a lot for your review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by TidalDragon Abandoned

21st February 2015:
Howdy!

Sorry it's taken such an absurd amount of time to get here. Work's been madness and I had to go out of town last weekend with less computer time than expected. But here I am now, and my offer always stands - PM me with another story if you want to take me up on my thread's late policy.

On to the story! It was quite interesting. From the outset, I'll say that I agree with you (and Pansy per her dialogue) that Miss Parkinson probably wasn't ALL bad (almost no one is) and was basically a caricature in the book (by JKR's own admission). Still, I don't think she'd go quite this far at this stage in her life even under these circumstances.

As for Parvati's characterization - we don't see loads of her, but I think she was fine. Perhaps a bit too encouraging of conversation with Pansy given what little interaction we DO see between them, but you gave a decent enough justification for it.

Mechanically, the biggest thing I'd say is that there was perhaps too much dialogue. While it was always destined for that direction as you laid it out, I think you could have peppered in some additional description and inner thought for one or both characters so we could see more of an evolution in their thinking and the opening of their attitudes through slow changes in body language rather than just words.

I hope this helps though! Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. Sorry for the late response.

I am pleased you found this interesting. It was all a little AU indeed.

I'll try and see if I can flesh out the descriptions more when I edit.

Thanks for the comments.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Voldy Needs a Hug Abandoned

17th February 2015:
Hi there! It's Voldy Needs a Hug from the forums with your requested review.

I'm generally not a huge fan of one-shots, but this one took me by surprise, likely due to its original premise and unusual characters!

I loved that you were able to write about two minor characters, who were portrayed in Rowling's series as inherent enemies due to their differences in houses, and show the start of a potential friendship. I'm impressed that you were able to establish a bond between them over common experiences - quite frankly, I was thinking it was going to be a much more violent encounter, perhaps with a bit of bloodshed.

That being said, it would have been nice to see a bit more of a relationship form between the two of them. It appears as if they simply bumped into one another, decided to put their house differences and rivalries aside, and skip merrily to the kitchen arm in arm. It seems a little too perfect and rather sudden.

Overall, I really enjoyed this (and, quite frankly, wouldn't have minded if you decided to elaborate upon their relationship in future chapters). I didn't find any major spelling/grammar mistakes, and the plot events flowed smoothly.

Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing.
I am pleased you liked the idea of two enemy house members bonding.
It was a little sudden but then things happen suddenly sometimes. I'll try and flesh out the interaction more when I edit.
Thank you for your comments!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Freda_and_Georgina Abandoned

13th February 2015:
I did like that, but I was thinking of having you show more of the connection between the two people. However, that said, I think what you did here between these two girls was nice. You do not see many stories with the minor characters bonding. I do like this, though it wasn't quite what I had in mind for a story with another kind of love.

In case I didn't stress it enough; excellent story and nice read.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Ah I am sorry it wasn't exactly what you had in mind. I am glad you liked it nonetheless. I will see, maybe one day I can write the kind of story you want! Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #23, by UnluckyStar57 Abandoned

11th February 2015:
Hi! I'm here for our review swap from earlier today. :)

Okay, not gonna lie: When I first saw the summary for this, I thought that it was going to be Pansy/Parvati. And that's quite an interesting and rare pairing, so I was excited to see how the ship played out. HOWEVER, the fact that there is no inherent shipping in this is also really cool. I love the idea so much, and here's why:

Gryffindor/Slytherin friendships are rarely shown in fanfiction or in the books, for that matter. Everyone expects that Gryffies and Snakes just can't get along because they wear different colors and their Founders had a fight a long time ago. But showing these two girls (who are sometimes painted in a bad light) sort of bonding over something that they have in common is really amazing.

I really like how you drew the connection between them. The whole reason for this unlikely meeting is that they were abandoned by their dates to the Yule Ball. Dances are typically a really special time for girls--a chance to go out and get crazy dressed up because it's fun and such--and their dates were both too obtuse to realize that this was a Special Thing and they really should've paid more attention. Shame on them, because Pansy and Parvati found something more valuable than Draco and Harry. They found friendship, and that is totally awesome.

I also like that they're completely into the fashionable stuff. Like, I know that Parvati was one of the prettiest girls in Harry's year, and Pansy is often described as "pug-faced," but with this story, I can picture how both of them sort of dove into fashion to express themselves. I can also picture them starting a fashion company together after the war and everything. So I love that you had them bond over that. :)

I don't know if your intention was to make them seem shippy, but I saw a bit of a ship there. I mean, I completely ship their friendship because of the remarkable job you've done with this, and I won't say too much about romantic shipping if that's not what you intended. But I love their dynamic as friends--girl power all the way, oh yeeesss! You've done such a brilliant job of writing a realistic "beginning of a friendship" between two girls who would likely never talk to each other under different circumstances.

In short, this was totally awesome. Hugs and kisses to you for writing it! :D Now I'm off to check out Rose! :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing.

I am pleased you liked it despite it not being a pairing. It was just a little friendship story =)

Indeed, Lion-Snake friendships are rarely shown so I wanted to play around with this idea to see where it would lead me.

I am happy you liked the idea of how they bonded over their abandonment of the dates and the whole thing about fashionable stuff. Aha starting a fashion company after the war - now you've given me an idea there for a sequel xD

It actually wasn't my intention to make it shippy but it's open to reader interpretation =)

Thanks a lot for your lovely review and sorry for the late response!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Healers Pottfoy and Malpott Abandoned

7th February 2015:
Oh, I really like this! It's a friendship that I have never seen before, and you have pulled off the 'first step' beautifully. I really like your characterisation of both characters, who are never detailed upon greatly in actual canon, and I think you've portrayed it in such a way that you could believe that they are going to become friends, however unlikely it might seem. You have made a friendship between a Gryffindor and a Slytherin during the Hogwarts era plausible (and I like how you point out house stereotypes, either with or without the intention to show that people shouldn't be completely defined by their house). I love the title you have chosen - it feels very abstract and seems to perfectly fit the moment you have captured. I enjoyed reading the dialogue - it felt, as did the rest of the scene, natural and realistic. I would really like to read more about this unlikely friendship - thank you for writing this!

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you for such a lovely review! I am glad you liked the friendship between the two girls and that you think I pulled off this first step. The characterisations were something I was quite unsure about so I'm pleased you liked them. The title came to me at random thought so it's great that you liked it too! It's a huge relief to know that dialogue was natural as I always have trouble with it. Thank you so much for your kind review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by BellaLestrange87 Abandoned

6th February 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap! And I loved this.

I loved your characterization of Pansy! She's so much the horrible Slytherin that we know from the books who puts others down and hates all the Gryffindors, and yet I couldn't help but feel a pang of sympathy for her. Considering that Pansy is my least favourite character in the entire series, that is quite a feat. But if the boy I loved (I think 14 is too young for love but I couldn't describe it any other way) invited me to a ball and then disappeared I think I would be just as disappointed as she is. You really put into perspective just how horrible Draco (and Harry and Ron) were by abandoning their respective dates.

The conversation between Pansy and Parvati was also really well-done. The progression from hating each other and taking every opportunity to put each other down to talking amiably and beginning the path to friendship was natural. And I liked the bickering between the two, how it started out as insults and slowly turned into mere bantering and eventual compliments.

I did notice a typo - Youre one to talk, Parkison. It should be Parkinson.

Oh yes, heels are a pain. The last time I had to wear heels it hurt to walk for one or two days after that. It's why I wear flats whenever I need to dress up (which is pretty much never so...)

I love how nervous Pansy seemed when she offered friendship to Parvati. After she's been horrible to the Gryffindors for three years, they probably wouldn't want to get to know her better, even though she was only rude to them when they were with Harry or had a terrible outfit on, as she pointed out. And Parvati's sort of a minor Gryffindor in the sense that she isn't really close friends with Harry or spend too much time with him, so she probably wouldn't experience as much teasing as, say, Hermione, who would definitely be a lot more reluctant to start a friendship with Pansy. (Hermione would also be occupied by Viktor, but that's not my point.)

I really enjoyed this and I've been meaning to start reading The Worst forever without actually getting to it, so you'll have a future reviewer here. If this review is a little late I apologize - my Internet was acting up.

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hey! I am glad you liked my portrayal of Pansy here and could sympathise for her. Haha the boys were quite horrible, weren't they? But then they were just 14.

I am pleased the conversation between Pansy and Parvati made sense, and that you enjoyed the progression from bickering to friendship.

Thanks for pointing out that typo. It shall be fixed!

Heels are definitely a pain haha.

I am glad you liked the way I wrote the scene and the way I characterised Pansy and Parvati. Thank you for your kind words.

Thanks!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>