Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for holocene.
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore the hallow bright.

30th April 2015:
Hi Kiana! I saw that you'd written this a while ago but I've been so busy that it's just been added to my reading list and now I've got a bit of time to read it finally!

You know that I don't actually tend to read song fics very often, because I find that often the lyrics cut up the story too much, but I really liked the way that you used them here - very short quotes from the song, and the way that you inserted them, centred, between sections, worked really well. It seemed more like a segue into the next section or a title like I've seen in other stories that you've written.

When I started reading this, I was wondering if you'd actually intended it to be set in the same universe as standing in the way of the light because I could see a lot of links with the story and I felt like you were characterising them in the same way. I really enjoyed the continuation of their characters in this story because I loved reading them in the first story and it was really beautiful, so I think that added something extra to this piece too. It was great to see a continuation of your version of how Draco and Astoria lived their lives after that.

I really enjoyed reading this continuation from Draco's perspective, though - in standing in the way of the light we get to see Astoria struggling with her own demons and the way that Draco comes to play a role in her life and help her out of that, but here we see the opposite side and the relationship between the two of them automatically becomes more even because of that. I really liked the way that you used this story to explore both their relationship and Draco's own difficulties facing up to what he's seen and done, and trying to become the person that he wants to be.

As ever, the description in this, and the imagery that you used in particular, was just wonderful. I really love your word choice - it seems, especially in your one-shots, that you choose every single word deliberately and with a lot of care so that it fits perfectly and conjures up brilliant images in the reader's mind. The triplication works really well here too - I think it could be overused if this was a longer story, but with a short piece like this one it fits well.

I felt so sorry for Astoria when Draco abandoned her right after she'd given birth to Scorpius! That was such a sad scene. The fact that he felt so incapable of being a good role model and taking care of his own son because of all the things he'd been and done was just really upsetting, and it did a great job of showing the way that the shadows of the war hang over people like Draco who was really just a child when it all happened. I can't imagine what Astoria must have felt like, particularly with her background and the fact she'd just given birth to their son, but the fact that she accepted him when he returned speaks volumes about their relationship and the foundation of it - more with the mere actions than another thousand words could probably have told us.

This was a really great story, Kiana!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hello there Sian! Hahaha, it was the same with me as I've been staring at this review for months but now I've only had time to reply to it, so apologies for that! ♥

I know what you mean as I'm not a massive fan of them either despite having written a couple of songfics, but I thought by using the lyrics to separate the sections it would be less intrusive and I just love Holocene so much that I had to write a story with it in! I'm glad you thought it worked though :D

I didn't actually intend to link them, this was much more of a loose link I guess, but when I was writing this story the characters from standing in the way of the light just appeared here again as if it were a sign they would always be my Drastoria headcanon :P I'm really glad that you liked the continuation of it as I love Drastoria so much I could probably go on and on and on with writing their story as it's just so sad yet wonderful.

I totally get what you mean about it being even and as bad as it sounds, it's almost good that this incident happened as it meant Draco could get over his past and it would mean their relationship would be fairer as a result because they had both helped each other out of a dark pit.

Aw, thank you so much! I'm so glad that you liked it as it means so much to me! I definitely find it easier to write one-shots as it means you can be much more descriptive and short at the same time if that make sense? I think one day I'll just give up on novels and only write them :P

I know, that was cruel but I guess he really couldn't help it at all. I guess Astoria must just have a ton of strength and that probably came from overcoming what she went through and having to deal with her father as a child. Plus, I think she always knew deep down Draco would come back to her.

Thanks for this great review and sorry for just getting to it! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #2, by BookDinosaur the hallow bright.

11th April 2015:
Hello Kiana! I'm here with the review I owe you for taking part in the Songfic Challenge, please forgive me for being so late! I'm terrible, truly.

Oh, I love Draco/Astoria fics, especially the ones which come just after the War and which tackle the (pretty severe) issues that Draco and Astoria has to have been trying to get through. I mean, both of them were on the wrong side of the war, and both of them must have suffered a great deal of emotional and mental scarring as a result of that, and now that everything that they believed in has been taken away from them - well, it must have been so terrible to go through.

I love the way that you've divided up the song lyrics to describe different scenes, so clever! And the song fits the story really perfectly as well, or more precisely, it fits Draco's character really well - the way that he has so much trouble to forgive himself and move on after the war, and it's just so realistic as well and yeah, you just did an amazing job with that!

But speaking of Draco - I mean, we have to speak about Draco. You managed to get into his head so well throughout the entire story; I mean, the description was amazing and the way that you showed Draco relapsing was brutal.

I loved the relationship between him and Astoria, how she pretty much became his everything, how she sticks by him through everything, and how she's so willing to forgive him when he comes back to her and just wants him to be better - it was all portrayed so well.

Thank you for entering my challenge, and hopefully the results should be up soon! ♥

Emily

Author's Response: Hey there, Emily, it's fine as I understand what life can get like!

Aw, yay for Drastoria as they need more love as people seem to prefer Dramione to threse two :P I'm glad that you like that aspect of them two, as I imagine it must have been very traumatic for them to accept that they were on the wrong side of the war and that they both did bad things as it must be a lot to overcome especially when the entire society is watching your recovery.

Aw, thank you! I tried to do it the normal way, but it just wasn't working so then I played around a bit and came up with this way of doing it. I'm glad that you thought it fits in with Draco's character as he's such a lost person he just needs to find his way again and Astoria's the person to do it for him.

Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you thought he was Draco like as he's a hard character to write at times as he never really reveals what he's truly thinking.

Aw, yes, those two always are adorable together! ♥ I'm glad that you liked them here though, as I always imagine them both saving one another as they both having something to build the other up.

Thanks for this great review and running the challenge as it was a lot of fun! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #3, by alicia and anne the hallow bright.

15th March 2015:
Hello my lovely! I decided to pick this story to review. :D I hope you don't mind.

I am starting to absolutely adore Draco/Astoria fics and I am loving the way that you've written them. I love that Astoria can see that there's more to him, that she won't pay attention to his words of how he's too bad and evil. She's there for him to help him get through things, she is there to fix him. And you've really captured that beautifully with the lines "She is all to him. He is none without her."

It's so clear in this wonderful one shot how much she truly means to him, how much he loves and needs her.

It's so genius how you seperated each scene with song lyrics, you've done such a marvellous job! It really breaks up and joins them together so seamlessly.

Oh Draco, I feel for him, I really really do. I'm glad that he's talking to someone, that he's trying to get help. And Astoria will be there to help him every step of the way!

This was just beautiful! Absolutely stunning and I am so glad that I picked this wonderful piece of work to read and review. :D

Author's Response: Hi there, of course I don't mind as it's one of my newer stories so thank you actually for picking it.

I'm so glad that you liked them here, as I love them too as they're just so ♥ I know, I always imagine them as helping each other through life because without one the other would not survive so they just lean on one another.

I'm really glad that you liked that, as the song lyrics really inspired a lot of the story as they were just so fitting so I couldn't help but weave them in like this.

I know, he really wants to get out but he just can't, it's so sad :(

Thank you for this great review, Tammi! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by Snowy the Snowman the hallow bright.

7th March 2015:
My eyes are leaking. Why are my eyes leaking?

Perhaps it is the sun. Yes. That must be it. The sun's warmth simply melted me a little.

You wrote a brilliant story here, one both heartbreaking and warming. Draco and Astoria helping each other to get better, loving the other unconditionally and entirely. It was amazing to read.

Aren't songfics great? They are certainly under-represented on the site, but the few thaw I happen to happen across simply astound me with their magnificence. The song you chose slotted into the story perfectly.

The rhythm was my favourite part. Your characterisation was fantastic too, but the flow of the story was what made it for me.

Excellent job!

- Snowy

Author's Response: I'm sorry! I don't know why, but I'm going to take it as a good thing. :P

Oops, let's hope it's not the sun, as that would be a real shame! :(

Aw, thank you so much, I'm so glad that you liked the two of them as I always found their relationship to be one of the most interesting ones around so I could never get bored of reading/writing it.

I know, they really are fun, so I'm glad that you liked this too as it does a different element to the story.

Aw, thank you so much, I'm so glad that you liked this so much as that has really made me smile! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #5, by lia_2390 the hallow bright.

4th March 2015:
Hi Kiana,

I'm so sorry that this review is so late.

First of all, Holocene by Bon Iver is one of my anthems. No need to go look it up because I sang it to myself while reading.

It's a song about grief, and regrets, and not being able to forgive yourself which is the hardest thing to do in the world. It's about being so low that you don't even think you can get back up again.

From all of that, this song makes it perfect for what you've written. Post-war Draco, perhaps even post HBP Draco felt all of these things. His bitter remorse, his shame, and his wonder that the entire world hasn't come to find him with their torches and pitch-forks. Not only that, but all of those things he had to do were all very traumatic. He was just a boy - something people seem to forget too often.

As the years go back, I understand Astoria's purpose even more. She was the new beginning for him. A clean slate. I like how you used her here as his confidant and saviour while they were both in-patients at St. Mungo's. She brought him out of his suffering. PTSD is not a walk in the park, as a matter of fact, no mental illness is.

I did notice some typos here like this one:
How he and Astoria meant strolling the wards. I think you meant 'met'.


I'm glad we got the exchange. I really enjoyed reading this one-shot :)

Lia

Author's Response: Hey there Lia!

Haha, yes, it is such a good song! ♥

Yes, you definitely are right about that which is why I love writing about Draco after the war as it's so angsty and wonderful and you can really explore it in so many ways.

I'm so glad that you thought it went as it just cried out Drastoria when I first listened to it. I think he will always have those feelings and that sense of isolation and loneliness but hopefully it will eventually begin to disappear one day.

I know, at first I was a bit confused about why JK never really said much about her but now I think it's almost better as we can really envisage how she changed Draco and whether it was for the better or for the worst.

Thanks for this great review, Lia! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #6, by Veritaserum27 the hallow bright.

5th February 2015:
Hi there Kiana!

Swap a song fic for a song fic?

So I listened to a snippet of this song and I bought it right away and learned all the lyrics to it and then listened to it while reading your story. How's that for research? Haha - it was such a beautiful, lovely song and listening to it made your beautiful, lovely words so much deeper.

I just can't even believe how much your writing and stories have grown.

The way you've gone so deep into Draco's mind here and the way you portray it with your prose makes the reader feel what he is feeling. I felt damaged and lonely and lost.

And then there was a bit of hope - mixed with fear and anticipation. All new fathers feel the weight of responsibility on their shoulders, but you showed us so much more than that. Draco was fearful that he would "taint" his child just be being there. Oh - it was so sad.

The way you use your words to make us feel what a relapse is like - gah! During one, your mind goes in circles, but you don't think you'll be getting better, you only think the worst.

And Astoria is just perfect in this. She waits for him. She waits for Draco because she knows that he is good. He is good and he will realize it in his own time. I can't even imagine what she was going through as a first time mother with her husband completely incompacitated and ill. But Astoria waits. And it is faith that finally brings Draco out of it.

I think my favorite part of the story is how you showed that there can be hope, and you can hold on to the tiniest bits - even knowing that everything will never be perfect.

Great, great story! Thanks for doing a swap!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hey Beth!! Sorry for taking ages to reply to this, I am a terrible person. :P

I'm so glad that you liked the song as Bon Iver are one of my favourite bands as their songs are always so meaningful and beautiful, they make excellent things to listen to whilst I write. :P

Aw, thank you!!

I'm really glad that you managed to connect with Draco in that way as I do think he has a lot more to him than just being a pureblood fanatic who hates all muggleborns, as I do think he has a lot of inner demons which he only realised he had after the war.

I know it's so sad :( You would like to think this child would have been a symbol of hope for him and would have helped him fight through the recovery but, no, it almost made him worst.

I'm glad that you liked that, because I think relapses are almost even harder to recover from than the initial thing because you begin to wonder whether you escape all this horribleness in your life or not.

I'm so glad that you liked Astoria as she's one of my favourite characters to write as she's just so ♥ I think she's almost perfect for him as she just understands with her gentle compassion what he went through and that he will be okay one day, just not yet now, and that's what he needs in her life.

Thanks for this fab review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #7, by The Basilisk the hallow bright.

2nd February 2015:
Hello Kiana. I am The Basilisk and I have come to petrify you with my review.

This was so, so beautiful. I loved it. I loved the concept - how Astoria's love healed Draco. It is the most beautiful kind of love. I have read a lot of your work in the past and I must say this is one your best pieces in my opinion. The theme and emotion behind it really touched me. How you've dealt with a post-war traumatic Draco is wonderful. I could really feel for him and connect with him.

Astoria is also amazing. I love how she sticks by him - I also loved the little details about their relationship as it progressed. The idea that they met at Mungo's is also very interesting. I was sad when Draco left baby Scorpius, but I'm glad he got back to them. The whole healing thing was also described nicely - the way his therapy was done.

The writing style, as it usually is in your works, was just brilliant. There was a beautiful flow to it and it had me hooked throughout. I really, really am glad that I read this story as it struck a chord with me and it was so powerful and I loved it. Great work!

10/10
Hiss Hiss,
The Basilisk.

*slithers back to Chamber*

Author's Response: *screams* ah, but if you petrify me, how can I respond to it?!

Aw, thank you so much, I'm so glad that you liked it as the relationship between Astoria and Draco and the love they had has always been something which has interested me as it's so special and pure, that I think I could explore it for ever and ever and never get bored.

Whoo for Astoria! I always imagined her to be a strong character as she chose to stick by Draco despite everything he did. I think that was shown again that even though he abandoned her and the baby, she knew he couldn't do anything about it and wanted to fight against it but couldn't really.

Aw, thank you so much! ♥ That really means a lot to me and this review was really so lovely I don't really know what to say other than thank you, thank you, thank you! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #8, by eunoia the hallow bright.

29th January 2015:
Hi! I saw your status over on the forums and had to check this out, I love Draco/Astoria and I love this song!

This is wonderfully written. I love your characterization of them both especially Draco. He's not an easy character to write but I think you did an awesome job, it's very believable.

I really liked the dynamic of their relationship as well, I imagine them in a similar way so it was great to see them written in this way as opposed to how they're usually written.

I also enjoyed how you kept the mood of the song throughout as well.

Anyways, I've probably done enough incoherent rambling now so yeah awesome songfic, love it!

Author's Response: Hi there!! Thanks for popping over, it means so much and yay for Drastoria/holocene love!

Aw, thank you so much, I've really got into writing him recently as he's so interesting and no one ever really knows what's going on with him so that means a lot to me. I'm glad you liked how they were written too as I know with these two it can be quite tired early on so that means a lot to me.

You haven't done any rambling at all, and if you did, it was lovely rambling so thank you so much for this review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #9, by toomanycurls the hallow bright.

25th January 2015:
Kiana!!

Is it weird that my phone remembers your name?

I loved this so much!! I haven't read a story where Draco is so broken before but you made it incredibly believable. Astoria is quite his savior in this. Their role reversal is incredible. For some reason I love the idea of Draco being broken like you show. No one can go through what he did without same sort of cumuppance. You've given Astoria a wonderfully strong role in this and it's very refreshing compared to most ways she's written.

Sorry this is short, I couldn't leave without dropping a note.

-Rose

PS love this

Author's Response: Rose!!

Bahaha, I don't think it's weird at all and if anything it's great :D

Aw, thank you so much, I really do love these two and I've gotten a little addicted to writing them recently so I suppose broken down Draco is one way that they could be written. I think he always be broken because as you said he did such awful things, it must show in some way. Yay for Astoria, I love her so much it's great that you liked her here too!

Thanks for this fab review, and don't worry at all about the length! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login