Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Legacy
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Felpata Lupin Legacy

13th August 2015:
Hi Sian! Here for our swap!
Oh, this was so beautiful! So sweet and moving!!!
I don't usually read much Founders Era, but when I do I always find such wonderful stories, and this is definitely one of them!

Accepting death is probably the hardest thing we're required to do in life, and you really showed that wonderfully in here. Helga is a great character, not only kind and gentle, stronger and braver than what she shows, and your portrayal of her was stunning!!!

I loved how you focused on her being the only remaining founder, her sadness as she thought about her lost friends and the difficulty of having to take on herself alone the responsibility of choosing a successor to keep the school living (and we know it will!!!)

Owain's character was great too! He's such a lovely, sweet and supportive man and husband. Who wouldn't want a man like him beside them?

I really loved this piece, the delicacy you used to describe such a painful and hard reality. And your writing is wonderful, smooth and flawless!

Thank you so much for swapping and for this amazing story!!!

Many hugs,
Chiara

Author's Response: Hi Chiara!

Hufflepuffs are seriously the (second) best house - if I wasn't a Gryffindor then I'd really want to be a Puff, and I think the qualities that Hufflepuffs value are ones that I share a value for. So for me, Helga Hufflepuff is a really admirable character and I don't think she gets the credit she deserves for everything she did - I'm so pleased that some of that came through in my portrayal of her here and that you liked her characterisation!

Owain is a really sweet husband; there are so many stories written during this time which portray unhappy marriages and I really felt that someone like Helga deserved a happy life and marriage, and that it would take a lot - especially with social expectations at the time - for a man to be a good husband to Helga and take a step back while she runs the school. I'm so happy you liked him!

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments on my writing and this fantastic review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by The Summer Snake Legacy

26th May 2015:
Greetings from The Summer Snake! I have recently slithered out of hibernation and discovered this amazing place with such amazing stories, so I want to read and review as many as I can before I go back into hibernation!

This was very beautifully written. Your portrayal of Helga is perfect and I really loved reading her thoughts. The idea that she'll need to leave the legacy behind to someone is very interesting and I'm glad you took up the plot offered to you.

The descriptions were great and the flow was very smooth, captivating me throughout. Helga's worries and fears were aptly shown and I liked how she concluded her decision of making Aeres her heiress for Hogwarts. The Slytherin-Muggleborn incident was well-written. I also liked how Helga reflected on her three friends - the way they had left and how she felt their loss.

All in all, this made for a beautiful read and I really liked it. I'm glad I came across this story while slithering across this land of lovely stories. Great job!

*showers confetti and flowers* Have a nice summer!

Now I'll be off to explore more of this wonderful sun! See ya!

With love,
The Summer Snake

Author's Response: Hello, Summer Snake! It's very kind of you to stop by here on your way out of hibernation!

Thank you so much for your compliments on my writing! I'm really glad that you liked Helga's character and the way that she had to face a decision about passing on the legacy of the Founders to someone who could continue it the way they'd hoped for. You picked up on so many of the things that I wanted to include in this story and I'm really glad that you noticed them and liked them too.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by krazyboutharryginny Legacy

13th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here from the Red vs Gold Review Battle in the CR! #TeamGOLD!
So I've never read a Founder's Era story before, and this was a really new and cool experience for me. This fic is so good! I absolutely love your characterization of Helga - how she is not afraid of death, and just wants to protect the legacy of the school. I also loved the relationship between her and her husband, Owain - so loving and understanding. Of course, I suppose that's sort of inevitable, after 50 years of marriage!
One thing I found really interesting about this is that, since Helga is the last surviving Founder, we sort of heard about the other Founders through the descriptions of their children? If that makes sense? You could really feel her sadness about the path Salazar had gone down, and her fondness for Godric came through when she was thinking of how his children shared some of his traits.
I do have one small criticism (although I hardly feel qualified to give it). I was a bit surprised that there was no mention of the Sorting Hat at all.It seems like something that should get a nod, even in passing, you know? Because it was created to help preserve the legacy of the Founders. Obviously, that legacy couldn't be preserved by JUST the Sorting Hat, but I think mentioning it would add a bit of... realism, I guess? And connection to canon? *scurries and hides* sorry!
I really loved this! Amazing job.
-Kayla

Author's Response: Hey Kayla!

I haven't really read many Founders stories before either - there are a couple of one-shots and a couple of novel-length ones that I've followed, but this is only the second time that I've written a story set in this era, I think. I'm really glad that you enjoyed it if it was the first time you've read something from the era!

Helga is such an interesting character to me; for someone who lived in a time when intolerance was rife and acceptable everywhere in society, and when women, in particular, were subordinate, she stands out as someone who's overcome those barriers and she wants to promote tolerance and acceptance and she's not going to let something get in her way. Of all the Founders, I really admire her the most, and I wanted to give her a happier marriage than a lot of people are often portrayed as having in this era, too.

Of course! That's a completely legitimate suggestion to make and I'm actually a little embarrassed that I didn't think of mentioning the Sorting Hat here at all. It's such a good idea to include it - when I get the time to look back at this story, I'll definitely try and work it in somehow :)

Thank you for a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Aphoride Legacy

20th February 2015:
Hey Sian! :) Dropping by for our review swap!

So I think you know that I'm a huge History nerd - like, seriously, it's not even funny - so I just had to drop by on this. Also, the idea of it is amazing - I love the idea of Helga, last of the four, having to choose an heir/ess to what really is sort of their child, you know, and something which means so much to them. I'm so glad True Author requested it; it's such a lovely, bittersweet missing moment.

I love the way you wrote Helga, too. I've read quite a few Helga's recently - there were none for ages and then this is the third one recently, weirdly enough... - but I love her here. I love how she's so genuinely concerned with the legacy and how important it is to her, almost as much as testament to her friends' memory and the memory of the four of them together as it is for the school. It's so sad to think that she had to make the decision on her own, at the end, but at the same time it's right that it was her alone, and not her husband with her or the teachers in harmony. There's something lovely about the idea of her passing it on to the next best person; you can imagine that tradition continuing down through the ages with the Headmasters and Headmistresses doing the same.

I loved the addition of her husband and the little mentions of the other founders, what had happened to them, and the other professors too. They were all such good characters, and I loved how with the founders, what we know of them came through Helga's memories and regrets that Salazar was gone, and Godric had died suddenly, and Rowena had essentially faded after Helena ran. There's so much tragedy in here, but it's so beautiful, in a way, because your writing really just shows the emotions of so so well.

I loved as well the mention of the anti-muggle bias, even then, and how Helga hadn't had the heart to throw Starr out of the school, but Aeres disciplined him for being offensive - also how that was an important moment for Helga and when she made her mind up. I like the idea that the Head is supposed to sort of bridge those divides, and not be biased and so on which it gives. Also, Aeres is a pretty cool character, too :P That boy needed a good talking to, haha!

The detail in here is amazing - I love the little nods to customs and norms of the era, like with Easter/Eostre difference, the mention of the strange illness, and all the references to Death, visible and real, being there, watching her and just waiting. It's a pretty creepy image, but also so beautifully written. I loved as well, though it was so sad, how Hogwarts had sort of shrunk after the founders had died/left. It often happens with legacies, and with the changing era, almost to be expected, but it doesn't make it any less sad.

Your writing, as usual, was amazing. Your description is always gorgeous, the whole thing flows so beautifully, there is absolutely nothing about this I would change. It's a gorgeous, gorgeous one-shot and I love it! I'm almost jealous it's dedicated to Ashwini :P

Favouriting :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi Laura! Ah, I'm so behind on review responses that it's really, truly terrible, but I'm finally getting round to them and thank you so much for this!

I haven't read very many Founders era stories, to be honest, and the few that I have read normally focus on Salazar or Rowena, so it was new territory writing about Helga. It felt kind of fitting that she would be the last one of the four, holding the school together and continuing the legacy as best she can without the help of the others. I'm really pleased you liked Helga's character in this and the fact that when she finally made the decision, she made it on her own; I wanted to really show that she had to do that herself, so that she could be safe in the knowledge that Hogwarts would continue after her.

Yay, I'm really pleased you liked the mentions of the other Founders as well! I don't imagine that any of them were truly fulfilled personally - I always imagine that they put so much into their school that they couldn't be completely happy with everything else, and that their legacy was the best of them.

I kind of wanted that moment to be a turning point in the story and Helga making her decision. She's always been someone who wanted to take everyone and care for them all - I can't imagine her thinking that someone who was biased or offensive would be a good person to continue the school. I also wanted to include the anti-Muggle bias to show it's sort of always been there, in the psyche of certain members of society, and it's something that was kind of inevitable towards the end.

I'm so pleased you liked the little details! Obviously I can't claim that this is, in any way, an historically accurate representation of the era, but I did try to include details about the customs of the time that would add to this because I love the whole historical aspect too. I'm so pleased you picked up on them and enjoyed them!

Thank you for yet another wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by True Author Legacy

29th January 2015:
Can I say that this was one of the sweetest things that have ever happened to me? :D

I'm so sorry for not reviewing this before! I saw your post for me last night only.

Wow, I wanted to read this for so long! The Founders era is somewhat a mystery as there isn't much revealed about the four of them in the books so I always find it fascinating. I used to think about this plot a lot and I even tried writing this but it turned out to be kind of terrible because I hardly know anything about what life was like at that time in England. But I'm just glad I decided to suggest it to you! You did justice to the plot I must say. So much better than what I would have written. :D

I loved your characterization here. Especially I find Helga very believable. I always imagined Helga to be just like this. Caring, thoughtful and constantly doubting herself. Also her and her husband's natures compliment each other very well and their interactions were so sweet! I loved them together!

I'm glad you chose Helga to be the last one of them to remain. I don't think any of the others would have thought so much about this. But this plot goes well with Helga's character. I love it!

The title is so great! It's kind of made for this story, don't you think so? It suits perfectly. And I was very touched by the closing scene. It was so beautiful that she died in the arms of her loving husband. :'( So amazing! I feel too bad for him though. They really did love each other.

I also liked that the one who will keep their legacy safe is not Helga's daughter or son. That would have been quite boring. But this makes a lot more sense. You crafted Aeres well and she does seem like a good person to be trusted with Hogwarts.

So basically, this was pretty awesome! I got to read something I've been looking for a while and I still can't believe you did this for me. Thank you so much!

Love
Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi Ashwini!

Aw, I'm so happy that you liked this and that you don't think I completely butchered your idea - it was such a great plot and I was terrified that you were going to hate this completely. But I'm glad I didn't ruin it for you! (Although I'm sure your story would be amazing!)

I love the Founders era too! I haven't read or written a lot about them, and although I know a bit about that time in general from our history lessons at school, but I really like trying to include little details to enrich these stories so it's closer to the time.

When I was trying to decide which of the Founders would be the last one to remain, Helga was the one I chose almost instantly. I've written about Godric and I couldn't imagine Rowena making such great decisions after her daughter left, so I felt like Helga was the one to make sure that their legacy was continued. And I'm so pleased that you liked their characterisation!

I couldn't decide on the title at first, but within a few paragraphs of starting to write the story it was settled on. I couldn't think of anything that fit better - I'm really glad you like it too! I love her husband too, I really felt like Helga deserved someone as sweet and loving as Owain.

I didn't think that it would be handed down to one of Helga's children - I feel like if it had been, the decision would have been so much easier and she wouldn't have worried over it as much. I'm pleased you liked Aeres as the person who takes over!

Thank you so much for this fantastic review, Ashwini! It really means so much to me that you liked this story, thank you again for suggesting the idea! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by lindslo2012 Legacy

28th January 2015:
Hello there,
I am here for review tag.
I think this is the very first time that I have ever read a founder's era. Usually I am not looking forward to reading them because I am not into the older Hogwarts stuff, usually just the stuff that includes Harry and his friends.
Anyways, I think you have converted me to liking founders era fics now ;)
My eyes were glued to this computer as I read your story- you had so much amazing detail and I have nothing to critique about.
I love how you gave Helga a husband, a very sweet, caring husband. I am always a sucker for love stories as well.. and this is the kind of relationship I think anyone would ever want, 50+ years of marriage, a person to support you until you take your very last breath.. he seemed like a great man. I love how it looks that you did your research, you seemed to know so much about the founders and I felt like I was reading a real side story from JK herself ;)
I also was touched by the way she died... with the people she loves around her, a warm fire. Telling her husband to hold her. I think I want to die that way myself. I am glad she has Aeres to take that weight off of her shoulders, now Helga can finally die in peace. You have written an amazing story and I am glad I was able to come by and review it. :)

-Lindsey

Author's Response: Hi! I'm really glad I was able to introduce you to Founders era stories, and even happier that you liked this one!

I always imagine Helga to have a husband, although I haven't seen any other stories that include one. She's the sort of person who I can imagine being a natural mother, with the way she accepts everybody and is so caring, and we do know from canon that she must have children as Hepzibah Smith is a descendant. But I loved writing Owain and Helga's relationship because they were so sweet together!

I tried my best to make this as close to the time as possible, although of course it's so long ago that it's very difficult - I'm glad you found it so believable, though!

I really wanted Helga to die naturally, but at peace and with those she loved around her. She was clinging onto life until she could be sure of the continuation of her legacy, so Aeres was a blessing for her - in a way, making that decision released her.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed this, and thank you so much for a great review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm Legacy

25th January 2015:
Ooh new one-shot, new one-shot! ♥

Okay, I’ve only read the first section so far and this story is already great. 1. It’s a Founders story with Helga in it who needs more love and affection. 2. Death is looming – so mysterious, and it felt as if the story started with a great thud if that even makes sense, but I loved it. 3. Scottish midges – that tiny thing just added so much 4. Owain – this is the first time I’ve seen Helga have a husband, so whoo for something going on in her love life and his name seems to fit the era so well!

This line – ‘Rowena’s only child – the others all lost in childbirth or snatched away by Death’s greedy hands as tiny infants’ – that was cool! ♥

You wrote Helga’s dilemma really well that even I could feel it, as she seemed so burdened by it and really didn’t know what to do. The way you recounted the others Founders death was so sad too, because I didn’t expect them to be dead too, and each of their deaths seemed to be so sad, so painful that I really wish it hadn’t happened. I really liked that Helga had children too, as it’s nice to see she had a family as she’s such a natural mother!

The next section was really moving as there were so many things in it which were just written fabulously! The way the illness was slowly taking over Helga’s body and taking her away from the world was so sad. Then the touch of religion and the old Pagan one was another great touch. I also really liked how you developed the other teachers roles too, so I have more of a feel for the school. Then finally, how the whole Mudblood/pureblood thing was already developing at their young age was so sad :(

Helga seemed so much calmer after Aeres accepted her proposition and that was so nice to see so that she could spend her dying days calm and peaceful. That last scene with Owain was lovely, as she slowly drifted away from the world and you could just sense all the goodness she had done in the world.

This was amazing! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hey Kiana! Thank you for stopping by and reading this - I didn't think many people would be interested in it!

Helga was really fun to write, and I think it's kind of fitting that she's the last Founder alive since I think she's probably the only one who would have been able to keep the school going once the others had died. And since we know she had heirs, I really wanted her to have a loving husband with Owain, and I'm glad you liked the other little details too.

I'm glad you liked that line! I feel like in this era it would have been unlikely for women to have just one child, but for others to have died as youngsters would be much more likely, and even though it's really sad I'm pleased you liked it!

It was difficult to write Helga's dilemma because I didn't want to overdo it, but at the same time she had to face this before she could die peacefully. I'm pleased you liked the way I recounted the other Founders' deaths as well, and that they fit with the story.

The little mention of Christianity and then Paganism being mixed was so fun to write - I really wanted to include something like that which would have an influence on their society at the time. And you're right, Helga felt much more peaceful and calm once she knew that her school was in safe hands, and so I'm glad you liked that bit!

Thank you so much for this fantastic review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by missatron Legacy

23rd January 2015:
Hi Sian! I saw this in the 'Recently Added' section and simply couldn't resist reading.

Wow! This kicks off to an abrupt start! It gives an air off that is frankly terrifying. It kept me gripped, wanting to read more about it. Something I picked up on is that you used the name 'Helga', rather than 'she'. This made me think - will Helga's name have any significance in the story? It also made me wonder why you chose Helga to be the main character. Helga is known as the most friendly, easy going character of the four founders, so maybe the character choice has something to do with that. I'm also left wondering - why is she ill? You've honestly described her so vividly in such a short paragraph, I didn't know that that was even possible.

I'm noticing throughout that you are using 'Helga', rather than 'she'. It is proving to be very effective at building up tension in the chapter. It gives an air of tension off. I like how you have separated the sections with asterisks, and there is a large time gap between each section. By the last section, I'm left feeling separately sorry for Helga who has clung to her life for so long. Such emotions! ♥ We have only just started to get to know her character when she dies!

The dialogue in this was very well written and set out. Convincing too. I enjoyed reading it.

I thought that overall you did a great job developing Helga's character throughout the oneshot. The descriptions worked brilliantly and had a beautiful flow to them. Thanks for a great read!

Missy ♥

Author's Response: Hi Missy! Ah, I was totally not expecting any reviews on this so it was great to see a review just after I put it up!

I'm glad you liked the abrupt start, and that it gripped you and made you want to read on in the story! Ashwini asked me to write a story on this theme, and I chose Helga because to me she seemed like the one who would live longest and then face the decision of who to hand Hogwarts down to. I feel like she's someone who would choose fairly and be the best person to secure the future for the school. I'm so pleased you liked the way I described her in this!

I wanted there to be some tension through this so that the reader could feel how difficult this decision was for Helga to make. She's the last one left to protect the legacy that she and the other Founders have created and she only has limited time left to decide.

Thank you so much for this lovely review, Missy - I'm really glad that you enjoyed it!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login