Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for not like other girls
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by potterfan310 one.

22nd June 2017:
Hiya,

This has been sat in my faves forever and although I thought I read it, I clearly hadn't until now. And I'm so glad I did!!

One: I love that your OC is best friends with Lucy and Lysander, since they are definitely some of the most underrated next gen lot so it's always refreshing to see them friends.

Two: Charis, very interesting name and I love it! It's like floaty and light if that even makes sense, but I like it!

Three:Your characters are so relatable, I love the friendship between them already, as well as the banter they have. You've captured them perfectly and it makes me feel like I know them and their little world already.

Four: I now 100% want a hungarian horntail onesie XD I didn't know it was something I needed until now, thanks for that ;) Same goes for a honeydukes loyalty card!!

I feel for Lucy, insomina sucks! But I'm glad she has her friends there for her so she isn't alone, true friendship that is. Plus the little things like that seem to make characters more real. Ahh I love this so far, you're characetr are relatable and I am so intrigued by things, especially from your story summary as well. This is one of the first (if not only fics I've read about a trans character) Like do Lucy and Lysander know? Does anyone know actually? How will this come about if Charis gets with Albus (who sounds like a hunk already ha)? Does she get with Albus at the Slytherin party?? Ahh so many questions, I need more already.

Can't wait for chapter two!

-Potterfan310

 Report Review

Review #2, by ImaRavenclaw one.

29th May 2016:
I really liked this! Iím so excited for the next chapter. Itís refreshing to have next gens that donít focus on Albus, Scorpius, and Rose, and Scorose, and Scorbus. Though I love that! I have read a lot of your other works (including, like every shred of the TFWMS verse) and I have to say I love everything you write. Youíre really gifted.

So, about this book nowÖ Iím so excited for the next chapter. You set up your characters so nicely, and had lots of humour. Is that a crush on Albus Potter I smell? Get in line Charis. Charis, I like that. Well, anyway Iím excited for next chapter (oh wow Iím getting redundant, Iím reading this at 1:45 AM, legit.) and Iíll definitely be reading it.

Sincerely, ImaRavenclaw

 Report Review

Review #3, by Herm_ee_own one.

3rd October 2015:
Oh dear oh dear oh dear

So I just read The Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship and loved it (as an asexual person who does not do well with stress, I saw a lot of myself in Holly, and I absolutely loved the representation there, but I should probably start raving about your other story now)

Anyway, as soon as I finished, I read the sequel and went to look for more of your writing. As I was scrolling down, I came across this gem, and it really caught my eye, so I checked it out.

I wish you'd update it, because I absolutely LOVED it. There's not too many multi-chapter fics about trans characters, and the dynamic between Charis, Lucy and Lysander was just so natural, and the writing was amazing, and just... I loved it.


Side note: You may see my reviews on several other fics of yours, because I do really love your writing.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Endless_Forms one.

18th March 2015:
Keep going with this! It shows a lot of promise!

Author's Response: thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #5, by TheHeirOfSlytherin one.

4th March 2015:
So I finally posted my transgender story and then I went searching for some to read and immediately thought of you. Because you are awesome and I was hopeful. I was not disappointed.

This is only chapter one and I'm so happy right now. I love Charis. She's fun and cool and just awesome. To stay up with Lucy and her distaste for a fitness god and no one touches the stash. She's, like, my new favorite person. And while Albus/Scorpius is love, I will not say no to Scorpius/Lysander. :D

I can't to see more of Charis, Lucy and Lysander. Hopefully her not-pathetic dream of her and Albus and Scor and Kysander double-dating will come true. Until, then I must read all your other stories.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #6, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap one.

25th January 2015:
Wisdom is knowing that nothing really matters until NEWTs at the end of next year

^ There were other quotes before this but my computer crashed. The had me laughing for a few good seconds, probably longer than it should have but I have heard something similar to this time and time again. Your GPA doesn't matter when you get a job, no one cares about your grades in the real world, it's okay to slack off.

Of course I was the opposite of the non-believers when I was in school. I was obsessive when it came to my grades and glared at anyone who got the same scores as me when they barely even studied! Unfair really. It wasn't until the very end I realized yeah, didn't have to try that hard.

The stress.

ARGH.

Anywho...

I was on the forums when I was supposed to be writing a one-shot but it started to sound stilted and my characters were becoming too mechanical so I said let's go on the forums. So I go on the forums and I was like hmm...what is this blog post about because I had no clue what tfwms meant and I've been away from HPFF for so long I figured it was a secret code.

(You got me. Gr.)

And I read your blog post and it was interesting and different and I was like, "Hm...I remember reading your stories so long ago." And they rocked, even if you don't think so, so I was like uh, what's with this awesome change HPFF has undergone? I mean I read a story about a blind Lily the other day.

And that's what brought me here. I know it should have brought me to your other story but I was intrigued by the summary so I decided to start with this one first.

Question, and it might seem silly, but how do you pronounce Charis? Is it like Chris? Is it like Char-eese? I'm horrible with names.

Back to the longest rambly review of your life. (Sorry) I think this is going to be a great story to read. Honestly I think it is kind of out of my comfort zone and your other one will be too. Not in a negative way though. It's just not something I read too often so this should be a great journey. I like all the characters already. They're fun and quirky.

So Charis is trans? I guess we'll get to that more as the story continues. I wonder who knows besides her friends. Maybe everyone knows. Maybe no one knows. It'll be interesting to find out and to see people's reactions and I guess to know her more because even though she's just a character I feel, and this might sound silly, that fanfiction has opened my eyes to many things and she might or this story might bring me to a better understanding of transitioning and what's that like because in real life I've never met a transgendered person.

Side note: I hope I'm using the correct terms. If I'm not let me know!

Author's Response: yeah that was the approach i took to school by my final year - nz has a system of earning credits towards the secondary school qualifications and my philosophy was 'don't do it if it's not worth credits.' plus i just really like the idea of writing some Claws who don't care about their grades (because if you do end up reading The Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship, there's a bunch of Claws who care too much)

I do remember your reviews on my older stuff, and I appreciate the sentiment and am glad you enjoyed those stories - but the reason I can't be proud of them is because they have no representation to speak of and i can't be proud of writing that goes so far against my own reality - essentially, they're all relics of a time when i couldn't accept a fundamental part of myself, and it's important to me that people recognise that as a real problem with those stories.

It's not a silly question at all - Charis is a pretty rare name (Greek for 'grace') and it's pronounced with a hard C, so Car-iss with the emphasis on the first syllable :)

I'm glad you're reading something out of your comfort zone, and I hope it will help you understand transgender issues - I'll do my best to do the subject justice. These aren't spoilers to let you know that Charis has already transitioned and entered Hogwarts as a girl, though she has to take potions until she's eighteen, and that very few people outside her family and Lucy and Lysander know she's transgender.

Thank you for the review, and for your interest!








 Report Review

Review #7, by banshee one.

21st January 2015:
Ah I am already so excited for this!

Truth time: I was scrolling through the recently added stories and saw the title for this and had a little huff of irritation because that saying bothers me, but then I went and read the summary and saw it was by you and got SUPER excited. Like SO excited.

So of course I had to read it.

I really love how you instantly established their friendships and characterizations. Especially Charis' personality and how she interacts with her friends and the people around her.

I can't wait to see where this one goes!

Julie

Author's Response: YEAH honestly that was a very deliberate choice by me because the whole "not like other girls" thing has such strong links to internalised misogyny and this idea that girls are always in competition with one another and femininity is inherently bad etc etc so i kind of relished the chance to turn that on its head a bit (and to hopefully subvert the whole treasure trove of tropes that is the albus/oc ship in general)

thanks so much for the lovely review and i hope it lives up to your expectations!


 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan one.

21st January 2015:
Ahh! I'm really excited for this story. It is so rare to find stories about a trans character and I'm so glad you are writing one such story. Your characters already start out so three-dimensional, which is impressive for only one chapter, and I like how completely normal they are. The way you weave the characters' disorders or differences in is really beautiful too because it's not a defining characteristic of their personality, it's just one feature, and what stands out to me the most about these characters is that they are like any normal teenager. They each have their issues of their own that they're dealing with, they have good friends, they gossip about people they like, and they set off the fire alarm while cooking. So basically they just feel so real. :)

I really love this first chapter and can't wait to see where you go with this.

Author's Response: thank you so much! i'm really excited for this one as well because i don't think i've found a multi-chaptered fic here with a trans character (which is exciting and also a little daunting) and thank you! that's one of the main themes about this story and i'm glad it's there from the get-go - that they are just completely ordinary, bordering on stereotypical teenagers who just happen to be xyz. some of the issues raised in this story are going to be new territory for me - so again, i'm pretty excited and a little bit nervous about taking them on. i'm really glad to have you as a reader and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by jessicalorewrites one.

21st January 2015:
Yes yes yes you have me excited aLREADY! This is amazing already. Beautiful already. Going-to-be-the-greatest-thing-ever already.

Charis, Lucy and Lysander are already fleshed out so well for just shy of 2000 words - I feel as if I know them already, as if they were just placed in this story fully formed with flaws and traits and great back stories or I've been reading about them for years.

Also -- do you think I could somehow purchase a Hungarian Horntail Onesie? I'm not a massive fan of them really, but I somehow think my opinion would change if I could be a dragon. God now I'm imagining all the cool magic quirks items like that might have. I need to stop.

Overall such a great first chapter to what I'm sure is going to be yet another amazing fic from you! I can't wait for more :)

- Jess, xo

Author's Response: yay i'm so excited about your excitement and i hope i can make this the greatest thing ever as per your expectation

i don't even know how my characters do that but they just sort of saunter into my brain fully formed like "hey sup so we heard you might be interested in our story...can we take a seat and talk at you for maybe six months" and we just kinda chill. its a good setup i enjoy it

i want a hungarian horntail onesie as well. just any kind of dragon onesie. bonus points if it shoots fire or enables quick escapes during bank heists

thank you again for reading and for your enthusiasm it made my day when you left it and it's making my day again in this surprisingly-for-me-only-slightly-too-late response


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login