Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by insertcreativeusername Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

29th October 2017:
My favorite part of reading your stories is having this proud smile come onto my face at every Indian reference and hindi term because I'M INDIAN! The moment Neville said carrots I CALLED IT! I KNEW IT WAS GOING TO BE GAJAR KA HALWA! And when Neville didn't know what elaichi was - LOL! I hate them by the way, they're so bitter! But I love ghee, more than american butter actually.

Anyway, Neville is adorable! I absolutely adore the whole Chai Series and the dynamic you've created between the two characters, your so talented! I can totally see why this earned a Dobby!

P.S. Why is Alia Bhatt always in the story graphics?

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for dropping by.

I'm very pleased that you enjoy the little bits of Hindi here. I always find it exciting when I'm reading a story, and there's words in there in another language, and I understand them, so I wanted to include something similar in this series. I love elaichi, but I'm not much of a fan of ghee, myself :P

Alia Bhatt is in the story graphics because she's the face claim I used for Hannah.

Thanks for the lovely review! I'm glad you enjoyed this :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by xopurelyinnocentxo Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

21st February 2017:
Oh my god, I have fallen in love with your characters and your story!!! Such happiness! So beautifully simple it makes me blush! Thank you for writing these wonderful vignettes.
~Sophie

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I’m very glad that you’ve enjoyed these little snippets into the lives of Hannah and Neville. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by LittleMissAutumn Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

21st January 2016:
THIS IS SO CUTE OH MY GOD. MY HEART ACHES.

Author's Response: Heart ache in a good way! YAYAYAYAY!!! I hope you enjoy the rest of the series, too! Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by The Hanukkah Dreidel Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

6th December 2015:
Good evening, I am the Hanukkah Dreidel, spinning my way through the archives to spread some holiday cheer and I happened to land here on this marvelous story.

What a sweet story. Pun totally intended, as the relationship between the two of them is so adorable, and the carrot halwa dessert sounded really delicious. I love how you write both of them, how they're both kind of introverted and how comfortable silence is the norm between them. The fact that they regularly meet up to make some delicious food and chai and listen to one another speaks volumes about how close they are. I just adore how they interact with one another and how supportive they are.

You also did really well portraying how nervous they were - Neville was a bit more obvious because the reader is in his head, but all his stuttering and fumbling for words really showed that - and Hannah interrupting him when she got nervous I think was deliberate too - even without being in Hannah's head I can understand what's going on in there, haha. The end was so cute and I couldn't get the smile off my face. Ah, they're just too adorable together ♥

I can certainly see why this won the Dobby for best Romance. Congratulations once again on that achievement :D

Happy holidays, whichever one(s) you celebrate this time of year!

Author's Response: Hello Hanukkah Dreidel! I am honoured that you have showered my story with such praise and holiday-themed good cheer!

Teehee. Pun totally acknowledged. Carrot halwa is very delicious. If you ever get the chance, do try some. It's perfect for the cold winter months. And Neville and Hannah, of course. My heart. I love them so much.

Ah, you picked up on Hannah's nervousness, too! I am so so pleased! Yes, she is very nervous. And yay for all the smiles!

Thank you! I am still so surprised at that win. I was totally not expecting it.

Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

18th September 2015:
Hi there! I'm here reviewing as many of the Dobby nominees as possible, so congratulations first of all on your nomination! I realise I've not read and reviewed any of the other stories in this series but as soon as the Dobbys are over I'm going to rectify that because I loved this, and I'm so glad I got to read something that's been on my reading list forever!

I have so many feels ♥

Seriously, this is such an amazing story. I just have a big smile on my face right now because reading this has made me really happy! It's such a cute and lovely story and it's going to take a lot not to just go and read the others in the series right away because I really did love it. I haven't really read a lot of Neville/Hannah stories before, even though I love the pairing, but this was probably the best that I've read by quite a lot.

I also kind of don't know where to start reviewing so I apologise that this is going to be a bit of a mindless, nonsensical ramble because so much about this story was great!

Your portrayal of Hannah is the most original that I've ever seen in fanfiction. I loved the fact that she was Indian here but the way that you weaved that into the story was even better - it was so subtle and so much a part of her that no reader would want to question it. Just the tiny little details there, like the fact that she cooked wonderful Indian recipes and she used Hindi to refer to ingredients,really meant that this story came alive even more. It's always so great to see different cultures included in stories and I think the way it was so naturally part of the story really made it more believable.

Your characterisation was fantastic, too. I loved Neville especially here - he was so self-deprecating and doubted himself on so many levels, in spite of being a war hero and all the things that he achieved with the Auror department too. And he's still quiet and thoughtful and enjoys this time with Hannah even more because of that.

The friendship between them was written so, so well! I loved the idea of them meeting late in the evenings to relax after long days at work, eating food and drinking chai and just being comfortable with each other. And at the same time there were all the little sparks and attractions there which built up so perfectly for the romance between them.

The ending ♥ I was so happy for both of them at the end of this story, and that they were able to admit their feelings for each other. The kiss was so perfect and I just adore the idea of the two of them together, your versions of the characters even more so. You write this style so well - the humour and romance are so well balanced and so well written - and now I just want to read more about them being happy and adorable together.

Thank you so much for writing and sharing this, and good luck in the voting!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hey Sian! Thanks for dropping in :)

Yay for feels! All the feels! Woohoo!

I'm very happy to make people smile with this series. That's all I really want - people to be hungry, but smiling all the same. Keep your hanger (hunger + anger) away!

Thank you for liking Hannah! I took a big risk with her and I am just so happy that she's been so well-received and loved by so many. It makes me cry happy tears :')

Neville is a gem. I'm very glad that comes across in this story. I was so nervous writing him, so that means a lot.

My aesthetic for Neville and Hannah is "old married couple without actually being old or married. Yet". I'm pleased that you enjoyed that aspect of their relationship.

It only took me three stories but I got there! They kissed! They're going to begin a romantic relationship! They're going to drink a lot of chai!

Thanks for the wonderful review :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Roisin Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

18th September 2015:
This is such a jewel of a story :) It just has such a lovely balance of things happening, and shows a lot of polish and perfect pacing. The characterizations are really, really fantastic, and the whole thing makes me grin like a fool :D Neville's thoughts were particularly adorable and great, and all the description is really lovely.

I wish I had time to leave a more in-depth review, but I'm trying to get to everyone. Just know that I love this story, and think the whole thing is really wonderfully written :)

(Also, I was lucky enough to be eating home-cooked Indian food and drinking tea while I read!)

Author's Response: *blushes*

*faints*

*dies*

I admire you so much as a writer so all this praise means SO MUCH to me.

*dies again*

*flails a bit*

*pretends to be cool*

And yay for awesome happenstances like that! Woohoo!


 Report Review

Review #7, by TidalDragon Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

17th September 2015:
Howdy!

I'm a big Neville/Hannah fan and I really enjoyed this story, and in particular the characterizations of both. A lot of people writing romantic pieces chase the soaring fantasy of a picture-perfect moment that a relationship comes to be - but aside from my thoughts about that in general I don't think that fits for this duo. Neville, we know, is more simple and though we don't see loads of Hannah in canon, we imagine with his personality he'd be attracted to someone similar. So the natural build makes more sense.

What I loved most about Neville though was the way you DIDN'T turn the War into a total turning point for him, where he's completely over his awkwardness and nervousness and in absolute control. More than that, you even deliberately emphasized those qualities, which coupled with the natural human instincts to impress someone we like and fear over losing a friendship helped underscore the natural feel of the piece until it reached its happy conclusion. I like the "well, duh" attitude Hannah displays about it all too :p

The only (very minor) bit of CC I would have is that at the very top, you use the Rule of 3 about Neville's concerns over admitting his feelings to Hannah. The last one is not wanting to lose the friendship, but then you follow that up with a separate statement about not wanting to lose the friendship. Just something that jumped out.

All in all a grand tale, especially for a Neville/Hannah fan like me! Good luck in the voting!

Author's Response: Yay for more Neville/Hannah fans! We must form a club and get matching t-shirts so that we can identify each other. I thought about giving them a soaring romance, but it didn't seem to fit the kind of people I imagined them to be. No, their romance is epic yes, but not in the traditional story-telling sense.

Yes! The war happened, yes. But that's not the only thing that's happened to Neville - or Hannah. I wanted to show other things influencing them to portray that they've moved on from that event and have lives outside of the events of the series.

Thanks for that CC! I'll keep it in mind for my future Rule of 3 usage :)

Thanks for the lovely review, Kevin :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by MuggleMaybe Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

13th September 2015:
I read this story quite some time ago, but I'm going through the Dobby noms and I decided to reread it just because I love it SO MUCH.

It is definitely a fluffy piece - it makes me go all tingly every time I read it. Especially when he kisses her dimple. It's just so, so incredibly sweet and lovely.

But, apart from that, you are too good a writer to let it be nothing but fluff. There is definitely substance here, too. Both Hannah and Neville are somewhat insecure about their budding romance. They're both tired and overworked. They have interests and hobbies and they are just so well-rounded. I don't always see that in fluff, and I think that's the thing that makes this piece truly exceptional.

The only problem here: Neville was supposed to be mine ;)

I absolutely LOVE this series and, it just so happens, this one is my favorite of them all. Congratulations on the well-deserved Dobby nomination!

xoxo Renee

Author's Response: Heya! Thanks for dropping in! And wow rereading it too, I'm so flattered *hugs*

SO MUCH FLUFF. CAN YOU FIND ANYTHING SOLID IN ALL THAT AIR? NOT A CHANCE. I'm glad you enjoyed the fluff and that it makes you all tingly.

Aww, you're so sweet! Hannah and Neville are having an awkward teen romance in their late twenties, which just goes to show that all romances are just awkward, no matter your age. I'm glad the little touches make the fluff less fluffy and more well-rounded!

Indeed. I agree with that problem. It is a big one too. :(

Thank you so much for your lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by HeyMrsPotter Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

11th September 2015:
Hey! I'm here for reading week!

So basically this is my new headcanon for Neville and Hannah. This was the most adorable and fluffy and amazing and perfect little one shot there ever has been or will be. Neville's character is completely perfect, you've got that touch of adorable clumsiness, and the trickle of self-doubt but not in an overwhelming way that exagerates his character. And Hannah is just the epitome of Hufflepuff.

I adored this. Congratulations on the very well deserved nomination!

Dee

Author's Response: Heya! Thanks for dropping in :)

Ahahaha! I'm SO VERY HAPPY that I have converted so many people to my headcanon of Neville and Hannah. MY MASTER PLAN IS WORKING MUHAHAHA. I was nervous about writing Neville so I'm very pleased that you like him. I basically imagine Hannah wearing like a Hufflepuff cape and going out into the night with her badger sidekick fighting crime she's so Hufflepuff.

Thanks for the wonderful review :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by manno_malfoy Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

10th September 2015:
Hello! I'm here for reading week and I must say that the title of this story really drew me in. Well, that and the fact that I have a thing for Neville. And that's why I was so happy to see him written so well!

First of all, I really enjoyed the cooking aspect of this story. I'm such a foodie and sometimes, I wish I had more time to cook. So this spoke to me on so many levels! What really worked for me is Hannah's struggle with using names of spices in English. And that she needed 'ghee'. That clicked right on with me because for those of us with English as a second language, and with growing up in a household where food is called something completely different, it really is difficult. But you're right, it's extra hard with spices. I had to look up what cardamom was. But yeah, what I'm trying to say is that this gave such an authenticity to the story and spoke volumes about Hannah and where she comes from.

Neville was so amazingly written! I can't tell you how much I enjoyed reading his sentences that trailed off and that he continued in his head. His awkwardness but also his honesty and friendliness... And I do agree that it takes A LOT of bravery to switch careers. I was glad to see that he looked up to Hannah as a role model in this particular situation.

The chemistry between the two of them was fantastic. I mean, he tried to bake for her! That's just SO SWEET. Even though Neville is struggling throughout the story to say something about how he feels, there was an ease between them in the conversations, and how he tried to be funny anyway even though he knew he wasn't good at it. That shows how comfortable he was around her while at the same time, all the other elements --the goosebumps, the awkward pauses-- showed how eager he was to take this to the next level but also how scared he was of it all. And that, in my opinion, is exactly how one should feel around a crush that could potentially go somewhere.

And I was so proud of him when he finally went for it and kissed her!

Now, I understand from the author note that there are other stories like this one? I do plan to check those out as well because I really, really enjoyed this!

-Manno

Author's Response: Doesn't everyone have a thing for Neville? I'm pleased that it was a good enticement!

I dislike cooking a lot. So it makes me very happy and giggly that you found the food and cooking descriptions to be delicious. I can't cook, but at least I can write about cooking! Food and language are so intrinsically linked for me, there are some common foods that I literally don't know what they're called in English. I'm so very happy that you connected with that aspect as someone whose second language is English.

Ee! Yay for awesome Neville! I was SO NERVOUS about writing Neville in this series that I didn't write from his point of view until the third story. I'm glad you enjoyed him!

HE TRIES TO BAKE FOR HER. Neville is adorable, I agree. I think you've perfectly understood their relationship. They're so comfortable around each other, despite the romantic tension. They're very much friends who fall in love with each other.

YEAH GO NEVILLE FOR KISSING HER WOOHOO. It only took three stories :P

Yes! This is number three out of five, so if you liked this one, there are others out there! Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by TreacleTart Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

9th September 2015:
Hi there!

I'm making an effort to review every story nominated for a Dobby and since this was nominated, I figured I'd drop by!

I honestly don't know where to start my review on this. Usually, I try to organize things so that they're somewhat coherent, but I have a feeling that this is going to turn into one of those rambling type reviews, so I apologize in advance.

First things first, I can't tell you how much I love that this story/series of stories revolves around food. I work as a chef and food is really the center of my world and I am so often chronically disappointed by authors food descriptions (in real life and in fic.) I was beyond thrilled to see all of the detail you've put into describing the particular dish that Neville and Hannah are making, the preperation, the cooking proccess, all of it. I love that you didn't shy away from the technical aspect of it, but instead used it to give the story depth. Honestly, I could wax poetic about the food for the entirety of this review, so I'll just stop there. Suffice it to say that it was brilliant.

Keeping in the relm of food, but moving more into little details. I was so happy that you included things like Hannah coming over to hang out late at night because she works in a restaurant. That is literally the story of my life. The lemon scent of cleaning agents was another little detail that I liked. I don't know if you've worked/work in the culinary industry, but even if you don't you've done a very good job of getting those details right.

I did find something about this a little surprising and that was that this made me ship Neville/Hannah a bit. Neville/Luna is normally my OTP, but you did such a beautiful job with this that I felt myself rooting for them by the end. I kept getting frustrated because Neville was being so shy and it was so clear that Hannah was into him!

Something else that was unusal about this for me was how much I enoyed reading a fluffy romance story. Usually, fluff isn't exactly my genre of choice, but this just goes to show that good writers can write any genre convincingly. This was sweet, but not so sweet that I have a sugar hangover. It seemeed natural and real which is what I liked about it.

The incorporation of the Hindi words and the dish that Hannah makes also adds a lovely layer to her character. I felt like for a one-shot I got to know a ton about who she is and where she comes from and just her whole personality made it hard not to like her.

I always try to leave at least a tiny bit of CC in my reviews and I have to admit it was pretty hard to find anything here. I didn't notice any typos or odd phrasing. Everything is very polished.

The only thing I can point out is probably not something anyone else would notice, but you mentioned that Hannah went from waitress to bartender to Sous Chef. I found that a little bit odd. A sous chef is the person who is second in command in the kitchen, sort of like an assistant manger. I get that you said she was "an emergency sous chef", but even still, I have a hard time imagining someone jumping all the way from bartender to Sous Cheg without any cooking experience. But again, this is me really nitpicking.

All in all, this was really enjoyable. Once I make it through all of the stories I have to read for the Dobby's, I'll have to stop by and check out the rest of the Chai series.

Oh! And I'm also going to look up a recipe for this carrot dessert that they were cooking. It sounds delicious and I happen to have all of the ingredients for it in my kitchen right now!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hi Kaitlin! Thanks for dropping by!

If a chef likes these stories, then my work here is done! I can't really cook myself, so I do it vicariously through Hannah :P Thanks for enjoying Hannah's cooking!

I have a few friends who work in hospitality and what they always say about socialising is "I can do it at night. Not during the day." And I just like my kitchen smelling of cleaning detergent after everything's been packed up for the day. I know that stuff clings to my skin, so it made sense that it clung to Hannah since she'd be using commercial strength cleaning products. I'm very pleased that I got the details right.

Woohoo! I've converted another to the Neville/Hannah ship! Join us! We have a lot of food!

Oh my! When a non-fluff person enjoys the fluff, you know you're doing something right :P Thank you.

I can't think of cooking and food without at least 20% of the words being in Hindi. For me, language and food are so intrinsically linked, and so I wanted to give that to Hannah as well. I'm pleased you enjoyed it.

Haha! And my complete lack of understanding of the culinary industry finally rears its ugly head! Thank you for pointing out that little detail.

Thanks for reading and this lovely review! Also if you make some carrot halwa, send some my way!


 Report Review

Review #12, by pointless_proclamations Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

27th June 2015:
Greetings, 800 words of heaven.

Jamie here back again for another story about chai, carrots. . . and Professor and Mrs. Longbottom. Professor Longbottom finding that his visits to Mrs. Longbottom's place ending up in chai and desserts sounds quite like what happens every time I visit Devyn over the summer. There is always good food involved. If I've learnt anything from the Chai series it is that food makes for happy couples! :D

Good Merlin, Professor Longbottom bakes nearly as bad as I do. I think I exploded some eggs once at Devyn's place when she was trying to teach me how to cook.

I hope Professor and Mrs. Longbottom will not find out that I said this because it might just get really awkward, but if I tell you that they make such an adorable couple and that it's cute and I may have been jumping up and down in my chair for them to just get together already, will you keep that between you and me?

Thanks.

I have so much empathy for Professor Longbottom. It's nice to know that someone is as awkward as me when it comes to the people they fancy. It's remarkably relatable. WHAT A PLEASANT STORY, 800 WORDS OF HEAVEN.

House Cup 2015 - Slytherin

Wait, Em. Slytherin? House Cup? You did not just make me betray my own house, did you?

Author's Response: Jamie, I really look forward to you reviews on these stories simply because I enjoy just how awkward it is for you to read about a professor of yours. It's amazing. And perhaps you and Professor Longbottom can exchange wooing tips, since you find yourself in such similar situations. And food indeed does make happy couples!

Holy guacamole, you really are terrible Jamie! How on earth did you manage to explode the eggs?

I'm under the impression that everyone at Hogwarts - teachers and students both - secretly ship Professor and Mrs Longbottom. One of the biggest open secrets the school has, I bet. Professor Longbottom, of course, would be completely oblivious to this. But of course, I shall keep them in the dark.

I'm glad you liked the story Jamie. I shall visit you soon to see what shenanigans you've been up to lately. I hope you haven't blown anything up.

And Em can be horrible like that, no? But I can't empathise with you too much on that point since she's in my House!


 Report Review

Review #13, by The_Crookshanks_Saga Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

2nd June 2015:
Can I just start off with saying that reading this made me crave carrot halwa? I'm actually Indian, and the way you described that dessert makes me really hungry ;)

But Hannah's totally wrong though. No dessert trumps kheer.

Anyways, I'm here from the Logophile's Challenge, and yay, another amazing entry that makes it harder to choose, joy -_- I really, REALLY enjoyed reading this-- and not just for the food. I love Neville's crush on Hannah-- it was just adorable. This whole thing was, really-- that's your writing style, quirky and charming. Light purple, and a bit of golden.

Though the word from the challenge didn't have much effect in the story, you were writing this for two other challenges and as part of a series, so that's quite understandable. I also would've appreciated a bit more detail, but it was part of your design to not give it.

That crack about clarified butter made me giggle, me being the easily-amused fool I am.

Overall, I'm really glad that I got to read this ♥ Now, time to go and read the other two in the series.

-Meena

Author's Response: YUS. The aim of this entire series is not to make people believe in Neville/Hannah, but to make them feel hungry. I'm just so happy that I made you want carrot halwa now. Yayayay!

OMG KHEER. YES.

I do not envy your job of trying to decide on a winner for this challenge. There are some truly amazing entries. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed reading this though! My writing is mostly fluff, but it's not to everyone's tastes, so that means a lot ♥

Haha, yeah I just kind of threw the word in, didn't I? And then I hoped for the best O.o. And ah, the lack of description may actually be a shortcoming - it remains a difficult thing for me to write, so this may need a little more padding in that sense. I get caught up in the dialogue sometimes :P

I think my sister said that once, and the look on my mother's face was priceless. I couldn't pass up the chance to include such a lame joke.

Thanks so much for this lovely review :) *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #14, by Penelope Inkwell Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

27th April 2015:
Finally! They kissed! And Neville's on his way to becoming the Herbology professor, at which he will be brilliant!

"Shed gone into a frenzy, stocking him with cooking-related paraphernalia like some sort of kitchen-residing warrior angel."
--I loved this. I could totally see Augusta doing just that.

"Did he know his buildings fire evacuation plan?"
--This struck me as such a Neville thought. HOW is he so adorable?

He's semi-proficient in troll. Neville is a precious gem to be protected at all costs.

And Hannah gets nervous and cuts him off, too. They're such a pair!

One little bit of CC I noticed: Once again, Hannahs extreme efficiency bewildered and awestruck him.
--I don't think "awestruck" can be a verb, just an adjective. It could leave him awestruck, though.

This is so cute and I'm enjoying this series so much!

--Penny

Author's Response: Yes! Three one-shots was all it took, but they FINALLY kissed! I am just as excited as everyone else.

Haha, I can just imagine the look on Augusta's face. "Neville, why do you only have a wooden spoon in your kitchen?"

Neville is a super responsible guy. I bet he knows the fire evacuation plans for buildings he's never even visited. I'm a little ashamed to admit this as the author, but I think I fell a little in love with Neville in the process of writing this series.

Ah, thanks for that CC!

And thanks for this lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by adluvshp Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

23rd March 2015:
Hey! Here for review tag xD

I am so excited I get to go another step further in the Chai series! Ah I can't believe they made 'Gaajar ka halwa' -- it's my favourite dessert of all time and now I'm hungry for it xP

This entire one-shot was to sweet. I really loved it. It was awesome that it was from Neville's point of view. You portrayed him really well and he was adorable. His feelings for Hannah came across smoothly and I was smiling throughout reading this. The entire set up was awesome and then the ending was just too cute with the Valentine proposal.

All in all, another one of your amazing stories that I loved. Great descriptions, perfect dialogue, smooth narrative, flawless grammar and amazing plot. Great job!

10/10
Cheers
Aditi

Author's Response: Thanks for dropping by!

Gajar ka halwa is one of the best edible things this side of heaven. I love it so much. I'm glad I made you hungry for it - we can be hungry together :P

It was about time that Neville got to say something, haha! But I think this works best from his point of view. There's something about writing more overt scenes of romance when they're from Neville's point of view. And let it not be said that Neville Longbottom cannot be romantic!

Thanks so much for the lovely review. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed this installment :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Aphoride Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

11th March 2015:
Hey there! :) When I saw you post in review tag, I couldn't resist jumping in behind you to come back to this series. It's such a beautiful collection, I just love them all.

I've been trying to work out while reading this why it's so good, and I'm not sure I've really succeeded - or that I'll be able to explain it - but I think it's because it's so real, you know? It feels like it is something which could happen to real people in a real place in real time. On top of that, it's cute without being overly sweet or quite fluffy, and it's romantic without being cliched. It's such a perfect balance you've found in this, it really is, and there's a warmth in it which I don't even know how you make it - can you please tell me your secret? :P

No, seriously, it's an amazing sense you get in here - your description is gorgeous, and so evocative of the mood, and the setting, so much so that you can almost feel Neville's nerves yourself when you're reading it.

Speaking of, I love Neville and Hannah, too. I think I've said this before in previous reviews, but they're so, so wonderfully done. Neville still has that faintly bumbling air about him which he has in canon, but he's obviously grown up since then, and he's this wonderful mix of faintly incompetent adult and overenthusiastic teenager. Hannah is just perfect. I think I said before that she's essentially now my headcanon for Hannah, so really all I can say for her is repeat that :) I'm also so impressed by how consistent your characterisation is with them - it's so hard, to keep it the same across different stories and in longer things, but you do it so, so well.

I just have to say that the comment about the 'excessive pruning' made me laugh out loud. (And I suppose the answer is that it depends on what is being pruned, but let's leave that subject for now :P)

I'm always so fascinated by the elements of Hindi and Indian culture you put in, with the food. I have to admit, I'm not a big fan of carrots and vegetables in sweet things in general, so I may not be the ideal audience for a carrot-related pudding, haha, but you make it sound so nice that I kinda want to try it anyway. Plus, it's exciting because these are things I'm unlikely to hear much about in RL, so really I can only thank you for introducing me to them through this - I love love love learning about other cultures, so this is so great for me :)

The ending was so sweet, with the Valentine's Day mention and the kiss and Hannah's shock (good shock!) and then the acceptance! :) I'm so glad they're finally dating - it was about time :P

This is such a great series. I'm totally in love with it, as you already know ;)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Heya! Lovely to hear from you again :)

I'm glad that you feel that they're real. Fluff is my bread and butter, but I wanted something a little more for these two. I'm so happy that you feel like I've found a balance! I couldn't ask for more.

Haha, Neville is a lot of fun to write, and the glee that I take in making him so nervous must come through a little bit in my writing!

I wanted to write Neville as someone who's still so completely himself, despite being such a hero. He still has the same hangups as a lot of us, he's trying to figure out what being an adult means, and he's still dorky as anything. I channelled a lot of Arthur Weasley into his characterisation, actually - I feel like both Neville and Arthur are two of the most normal people in the series. And yes! Invading headcanons like nobody's business! Huzzah!

Only Neville would even consider the question of excessive pruning, let's be honest :P

I'm feeling especially proud to have almost converted a non-believer to carrot-themed desserts. Mission accomplished. What more could I want from my description? Thank you.

It was so about time for these two! But I feel like for these two, good things come for those who wait.

Thanks so much for this lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by ScarlettANDJames Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

9th March 2015:
i love these cuties!

Author's Response: Cuties who can finally be cute together as a couple!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Veritaserum27 Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

5th February 2015:
Hi there!

Review Tag! I was so excited to see that you'd posted there and aaagh! This story!

This is by far my favorite one! - So far - I still need to read the last one. I just can't get over the awkward Neville and you've given him such a lovely voice. I chuckle at everything going on inside his head.

You're planning of these stories is pure brilliance. Of course Hannah would be the one to understand the most about switching your career path, because she's done it herself. And the way that you led us to that was so sweet.

There were so many lines in this that I just giggled and swooned over, I can't even remember them all. But these three, literally in a row had me laughing so hard:

He was going to impress the pants off Hannah with his firefighting skills.

But not literally. Everyones pants were going to stay exactly where they were.

Theyre done! Hannah was far too excited by the prospect of angry food,


Haha! Neville looking for ways to impress Hannah and then he literally embarrasses himself over the "pants" thought. And I just can't with the "angry food" comment. I love your writing because you've given us so much more than a love story here. It is a journey.

And I even love how the two of them skirted around the issue that if Neville takes the job at Hogwarts, he might have to move away. Hannah wants what's best for him, even if it means that he will be far from her. I think you could also enter that part into the challenge. It was beautiful how they are just so sweet and respectful to each other.

I also need to give you kudos for entering SO MANY CHALLENGES with one story! I don't think I've ever seen any author be able to write something that encompasses so many things at once. Not to mention that this is a beautiful, heart-warming story! I can't wait to read the last installment.

(As a side note - I just looked at the bottom of the page and in the "Other Similar Stories" section is Hurricane Luna! I'm giggling with glee!)

Thank you so much for writing this. It is amazing!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hello! *waves*

This one is a lot of fun. It was nice to get into Neville's head for a change. I'm such a dork and he's such a dork and so I just had a huge dork-fest.

That's what I loved most about Neville and Hannah actually. They both make huge career changes. It was wonderful writing that positively and it was a great way to get them to bond over that. And it brings out the thoughtful supportive side of Hannah.

That pants line is actually my favourite in the story. I just giggled a lot when I wrote it. I'm so happy that things that I find funny are also things that other people find funny. Yay for having funny buddies! And thank you so much! With this series more than any other I wanted romance to be not the only focus.

Yay! You picked up on that! I wasn't sure if I was being too subtle - not something that I do very well - because I never mention the issue directly. But I'm so pleased that it comes across. It's the reason Hannah hesitates and part of what Neville was referring to when he had "stuff to sort out". But their relationship is all about the support. Haha! Maybe I should add that to the challenge!

I have a tendency to write one story for many challenges. There are so many examples of it. I'm inordinately pleased that you think I make it work - somehow. These three challenges were great because they were vague enough that I could make it work.

AND HURRICANE LUNA IS LISTED AS ONE OF THE SIMILAR STORIES? WHAT. THE ALGORITHM IS FLATTERING ME.

Thanks so much for the lovely review, Beth :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

26th January 2015:
Ah!!! It happened! They kissed! I'm such a sucker for romance sometimes, especially when reading your stories, lol.

Wow. I can't believe it took a whole year for Neville to brave up and tell Hannah how he feels. And furthermore, I'm so happy this was from Neville's point of view, it was a very nice change of pace to see the story from his perspective.

I think it's so cute that Neville tried to bake a cake for Hannah, and surprise her the way she had surprised him in the last one-shot. And it just so happens to be Valentine's Day, that's just so freaking cute of him it's not even funny. And they are so cute together, I love how they just seem to complete each other.

Of course, I can totally understand how well Hannah took Neville confession of wanting to quit being an Auror. Since she's already made the hard decision of quitting her training to become a Healer, she'd understand his decision better than anyone and be able to offer the right kind of guidance. I like how these stories kind of inadvertly support the idea to quit a job that you don't like or doesn't make you feel good about yourself, even if it's a perfectly respectable job that people expect you to keep doing, to do something that does make you happy. Everyone has to find their own path and this series truly exemplifies that.

I can't wait to read the next one!

xxNix

Author's Response: Yes! Finally! I had quite a few complaints that it didn't happen in the last story and I'm just like "just wait until the next one! I promise!" But I couldn't obviously SAY that because I didn't want to spoil anything.

Their love story is a slow burn on purpose. I like that aspect of their relationship. They have this really solid foundation on which to build. And the second half of this series would only work from Neville's point of view, because there's no other way to explain why Hannah has felt so confused. It's because Neville is just a major dork.

They really do complete each other! They're the most compatible couple I've written so far, and that's been a nice change of pace for me. The tension's been of a different kind.

Exactly! Hannah just gets it. She gets how scary and horrible it can be to change your vocation. And I'm all for wanting different things from life at different times. Change is natural. We shouldn't be so terrified of it, especially when it happens to us.

Thanks for the wonderful review :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

21st January 2015:
That was so good! I'm on my phone and it lags so I can't leave a super detailed review but I really enjoyed the series. I loved the innocent interaction between Neville and Hannah. They're one of my favorite pairings and I don't think they get enough love. I was intrigued with the tea and other food bits. I'm not a tea drinker so it was hard to follow at first but then by the end I was like oh okay so that's whay chai tea is. Duh!

Author's Response: Ah! I'm very happy that you've enjoyed the series so far! I've had a lot of fun writing these stories. Neville and Hannah definitely need more love because they're so great. And yes! Educating people on what chai is is just a happy bonus! Thanks for the lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by AlexFan Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

21st January 2015:
I AM SO HAPPY YOU CAME BACK FOR THE NEXT ONE-SHOT!

The cutest thing is watching Neville worry about gaining a few pounds, thats just so cute and it made me laugh because I can just picture Neville thinking about something like that. Even now that Neville is a big Auror, hes still envious of how other people are more courageous than he is when hes an Auror for Gods sake. But I guess it takes a different type of bravery to do what Hannah did.

Its so cute how excited Neville is to have Hannah to visit. The way that he hugs her and thinks about her, Hannah has already become home for Neville. He really does have it bad. I cant stop smiling.

Dazzle you with my mad culinary skills.

I am laughing and smiling so much, this is so cute I dont know what to do with myself. This is the best Hannah/Neville that Ive ever read in my entire life. I would recommend this to anyone. Neville, your Herbology nerdiness is showing.

If my culinary teacher heard Neville summoning a peeler like that, hed probably go into some kind of frenzy and start yelling about the dangers of doing something like that and how it couldve cut Neville.

Neville is such a dork oh my goodness. Him and his amazing fire fighting skills. I love how hes just prepared in case a fire does start to get the hell out of his flat and just run for it before he dies. And how he has to remind himself that hes not going to literally impress the pants off of Hannah. I love Neville, Neville is just perfect. Neville is going to woo Hannah with his impressive pruning skills.

Neville knows the qualifications for being a teacher. I dont hate children. Children dont hate me. I would love to attend a class taught your Neville to be perfectly honest. But just think about how far Neville has come, he used to be this little kid who couldnt even stand up to his friends and now hes willing to stand in front of a class and teach.

The ending was perfect this entire thing was perfect, Im one second away from shrieking at a pitch that only dogs will be able to hear. Not even joking Im about to cry from how cute and wonderful this is. You write romance so well I dont know how you do it but youve been blessed by the gods of romance or something because this was brilliant.

Author's Response: Ah! I'm so happy you're back as well!

I feel as if I've written Neville with all my anxieties and concerns. He can get carried away in his thoughts sometimes. But I'm pleased that it works!

I think the biggest thing we can take away from this is that Neville is a cutie. He's so genuinely enthusiastic about Hannah and their relationship, and that's so infectious. I'm always in such a great mood after I've written Neville.

Gah! *faints* THANKS SO MUCH. LET ME HUG YOU TO DEATH. I'm so pleased by how much people are enjoying this series. I wanted people to feel happy after reading them, and it makes me so happy that I'm succeeding!

That is the dumbest thing to do! Peelers can be dangerous! My poor thumb understands...

I think Neville doesn't realise that his appeal lies in his dorkiness. He wouldn't be Neville without it. I just want to hug him so hard sometimes.

Seriously, that's all you really need. And you know, a few skills in communication. I want to go to one of his classes, too! I feel like he'd be a really great educator! And I know, right? He's just grown so much! Argh! My love for Neville is endless!

Thank you so much! You're always so nice, Grace! I'm so happy that you enjoyed it :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by Maelody Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

20th January 2015:
Oh my goodness! So I think I kinda liked seeing this in Neville's view more than I would have liked seeing it (just this particular chapter) in Hannah's! :3 He's so charming in every way and... She best be good to my man! ;)

I have way too many favorite parts in this bit. Where he says he's going to charm her by being the best carrot grater there is. The carrot grater coming in from only Merlin knows where, and of course, the part where 'All pants will be staying where they were.' Too cute! Seriously, there's so many of them and now I feel bad for not taking note as I read down this. :(

I love how funny your writing is. You simply tell jokes in the form of written word and it seems so flawless. If I do that, I end up explaining everything and, well, it just doesn't work. You're amazing! I giggle every time I read one of you stories (the funny ones) and it just makes my mood automatically better!

So I think I might be gathering that there will be more in the Chai series then? The author's note didn't seem to have that 'it's finished' feel to it, so now I'm desperately hoping for some more! I'd love to see these two marry! :3

He felt fifteen again. How real is that? I think everyone is a teenager again when it comes to crushing on someone haha!

Aww! That scene! The one with the cashews! His handfuls are just fine! :3 That's from the first installment! I loved that bit. I flushed a little with excitement at how cute that was!

OMM (Oh My Merlin) the bit where he drops the almonds in the beast of angry butter is by far my favorite scene of anything ever! The whole scene. I laughed to tears on that one. I don't know why the tears were necessary, maybe I'm just a bit loony at this point for staring at a computer screen all day. :P But I don't regret it! Your stories are amazing (I severely hope you don't tire of me saying that). I'm sort of sad this is the end of the one-shot phase because they're definitely easier to get done quickly, but then again I'm so excited to get to read your chaptered fics! I've seriously been looking forward to them for quite some time now! (Now if only you'd get back to work on Molly's journey.)

Honestly, I'm so glad you are in the hot seat this week! I've had such a blast finding a reason to finally stop procrastinating and coming to check out the rest of your stories. I've had a lot of fun and I hope you don't get too overwhelmed by the review bomb! :3 Great job, darling! The stories are great! You're great!

*squishes*

~Mae

Author's Response: The second half of this series definitely works better with Neville. I used the first two stories to establish Hannah as a very real and (hopefully) well thought-out character. The last two stories are really just to show how much Neville adores Hannah for who she is. And also just to show how oblivious they are of each other.

I'm just so pleased that Neville has been so well-liked! It gives the rest of us dorks some hope ;)

Oh, gosh! You think my writing is funny? *squee* I'm SO HAPPY RIGHT NOW. I try and write humorously, and I'm always worried that it might not work out because humour is so subjective. It's the risk that I take, and I'm so pleased that you find it works for you. GAH.

Well, yes. There is one more in the Chai series - which you know since I write responses a lot later than the stories, apparently.

There's something about the adolescent experience that smells of the same awkwardness of crushes. I don't know if one can have an "adult" crush. What does that even entail?

Haha, yes! That was a little nod to the first story! I wanted a sort of Easter egg in here.

I hate frying stuff for this very reason. It's flipping dangerous! And you've reviewed so many of my stories SO FAST. I'm just. ugh. Incredibly flattered and incredibly humbled. Thank you. And Molly shall be happening very soon!

Thanks so much for the loveliness, Mae!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login