Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for A Free Elf
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MuggleMaybe A Free Elf

14th April 2017:
Are all your stories this sad? If so, my tear ducts are really in for a workout tonight. ;)

I think Dobby seems very challenging to write, especially from an attached third- or a first- person perspective. I know you said in your author's note that it was hard to get in his head, but I think you did a pretty good job.

It really strikes me that Dobby isn't thinking about any of the immediate events in this moment. He does think about Bellatrix briefly, but that's only a blip among his thoughts. He seems to have a very philosophical way of understanding the world and his life. I think that's a nice characterization for him. He shows a wisdom beyond what some would predict. As usual.

It's interesting that you worry about blowing their friendship out of proportion, because I actually think this makes Harry's friendship into a considerable burden for Dobby, much more so than a source of comfort. I mean, Dobby clearly loves Harry and he's clearly willing to make incredible sacrifices on Harry's behalf. Including the ultimate sacrifice. (I'm not crying, I swear.) But he's also been held back from other experiences by his devotion to harry. I mean, his devotion to harry causes his death. my heart is crumbling, gah

I very much appreciate that you've presented their relationship as one of such complexity. I think Dobby deserves that.

Really well done on this!
~Renee

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I'm glad you enjoyed my little story. This was difficult to write because at the time I wrote only humor stories. To write something completely out of that genre seemed like such a hurdle to me. I think his relationship with Harry is a burden. In a way he has to be thankful for Harry because without him he wouldn't have been freed so he owes him a lot but his dedication to Harry causes him his life. I think mentioning Bellatrix more in the story would've taken the light that is Dobby out of it. He's okay with dying for the cause. I think most of them were. I don't see him holding onto this anger towards her. It's all very warped in my head. Thank you for the wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by SunshineDaisies A Free Elf

12th April 2017:
Wow! That was a really beautiful look into Dobby's head. I think more often than not Dobby is written as being entirely devoted to Harry Potter, so it was interesting to see him think of Harry as almost a master. It makes sense. Dobby was indebted to Harry. I don't think Dobby truly knew how to be free, I thin it was difficult for him not to be indebted to someone. As awful as it sounds, by dying he truly does become free for the first time.

Despite the fact that his death is almost happy for Dobby, it was absolutely heartbreaking to read. It was just sad to see his thoughts, the regrets he had and the joy that came from his friendship with Harry and the whole thing is making me emotional.

I love the style you have written here. The words are beautiful and I really loved the frequent mentions of Harry's eyes, and the varying descriptions of the green in them. I liked the brief mentions of Bellatrix's and Draco's eyes as well. It made such a good parallel between Draco's "masters."

I think you did a really good job of capturing the moment right before death as well. You've done an excellent job of creating the ethereal final moments between life and death.

The whole thing was just a beautiful thing to read :)

katie.

Hufflepuff CtF

Author's Response: Exactly! Dobby owed so much to Harry. He knew that. He never really got a chance at the life he wanted until Harry came along and for that he would have done anything for him for the rest of his life. No matter the cost. No matter the circumstances.

I don't know if his death is happy but I think he was at a point in his life where he was content. He did know what true happiness felt like and he didn't die alone. A thing that I think would have been important to him. I also don't see house elves as afraid of death. I guess because they live their life to solely serve others I feel like they would think dying is just another element of their life.

Thank you so much for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed the story!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Dojh167 A Free Elf

12th April 2017:
Hufflepuff CtF Review

I feel like the scene of Dobby dying is normally focused on how it made others feel, and I think it’s interesting and unique that you focused on how it felt from Dobby’s perspective. Now that I think of it, the fact that it is normally told from other perspectives kind of dehumanizes Dobby further, reducing him to a being that affects others with the others being viewed as more significant than him, so I really like how you’ve focused in on Dobby here.

You’ve made Dobby’s thoughts very elegant, much more than I would have thought. But it’s true that just because Dobby’s speech is fragmented and awkward doesn’t mean his thoughts have to be.

I like the detail that Dobby has suffered a lot of physical pain in the past, but nothing that matched seeing Harry suffer. That did make me wonder what a house elf’s pain tolerance level is like. It also made me think back to the beginning line about how Dobby had never felt such pain before and wonder if that was referring to physical pain (like I had originally thought) or emotional pain (like you brought up later).

In the sentence “Even after the countless of times he has hurt himself.” the word “of” is not necessary

Another nitpicky thing is that “but the Malfoy’s were nothing” shouldn’t have an apostrophe

I love the details you include when describing Dobby’s clothes. That part seemed the most in character for Dobby’s thoughts to me - there was a focused simplicity to it, describing the things that were most immediately notable to Dobby, and it was very charming.

Overall this was very touching. I always imagined that Dobby’s experience of his death would mostly be focused on his own physical pain, which is what would be so hard for Harry to watch. But what you’ve shown here has a lot more depth, and is probably a lot more than Harry understood as he watched him die. Well done!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you for the wonderful review! Sorry my response has been so late!

Also--just to get it out of the way thank you for pointing out the mistakes. I have trouble with my eyesight so I glaze over a lot of mistakes because my eyes don't pick it up. I find it super helpful when other people do and point it out to me. I updated the story right after I read your review!

I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. Dobby was an interesting character to write. I feel like I wouldn't be able to do him any more justice than this right here. So I will never write him again and that's totally okay in my book!

I wanted to focus on his thoughts and his feelings because I had never read a story about him in that capacity before so I'm glad that came across as you read the story. Thank you again for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by TreacleTart A Free Elf

9th April 2015:
Hey Deeds!

I'm here for the Gryffindor Review Battle! Go Team Red!

When scrolling through your list of stories, I came across this one and paused. I honestly haven't read much from Dobby's perspective, so I was immediately pulled in. I was happy to see that there was an honest look at Dobby and Harry's friendship. While I don't doubt that Dobby loved Harry above all else, it was nice to see someone make this a bit more realistic. Tempering his devotion with a sense of obligation was a smart move in my opinion. It allowed him to be his own character, instead of the one that seems to be in a symbiotic relationship with Harry throughout the series.

I thought your description of his last moments was spectacular. The way he focuses on the green of Harry's eyes is truly touching. The fading of his eyes into the clouds and the sky was very eloquent.

All in all, I think you've done a fantastic job with a tough character. You've given him a sense of depth I've always thought he lacked and you've done a wonderful job of describing what dying feels like.

This is why I love review battles, swaps, etc. I end up reading things I might not otherwise have found! Great job here!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hey!

I have such a mixture of stories I'm surprised you chose this one! I wanted it to be about Dobby point blank. Not just his relationship with Harry but his hopes and his dreams. He wanted to be so much as a free house elf but he also wanted to stand by his friend Harry Potter. So he kind of gave up some of his freedom to be there for the person who helped him the most.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Shadowkat A Free Elf

5th April 2015:
Pretty good, actually. It can always be improved, of course, but it's hard to find stories for Dobby. I liked it. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Unicorn_Charm A Free Elf

5th April 2015:
*Red vs. Gold Review Battle - Team Red*

Hey!!

I'm not even going to lie to you, I'm crying. I can't handle Dobby's death, at all. I cry every time I read the seventh book or watch the movie. I don't know what it is, but his gets me more that almost everyone else. :(

That being said, I thought you did a tremendous job getting inside Dobby's head. You could really feel his love for Harry. Not only just the love, but the respect he had for him, too. And it was nice seeing that Dobby knew that Harry cared for him and respected him, as well.

What really broke my heart was Dobby thinking of all the things that he could have done, because he was a free elf. Ugh! And now he'll never be able to, because Bellatrix is the absolute worst!

You captured just the right amount of slight fear and uncertainty Dobby had while he was slowly fading away. Not knowing what it would be like when it happened, because he definitely knew what was happening.

Oh this totally broke my heart. I need to go find a tissue. Great job on this!

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: You are amazing. Thank you for all these wonderful reviews. Don't you just love Dobby? I was gutted when he died. I can't read the books or watch the movies anymore. I haven't since the final movie. I still can't handle Sirius's death. Always makes me weep like a little girl.

I wanted this to be simple because Dobby is a simple kind of elf. He wants freedom and to do all these great things but what it all boils down to for him is friendship. He's fine serving people on his terms and instead of doing things he would like to do for himself his friendship with Harry is too important. If he survived he would have continued to put his life on the line for Harry and then probably fought with Kreacher over who got to cook and help Harry out with the kids.

OH MY, COULD YOU IMAGINE DOBBY TAKING CARE OF HARRY'S KIDS?

Would have been so lovely.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this. I'm crying now too. Dobby, why!


 Report Review

Review #7, by I ing love you A Free Elf

10th March 2015:
One of the most compelling pieces of literature I have personally ever read. This seriously almost had me in tears. Funk J.K Rowling, you are the real deal.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! i'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #8, by chinaglaze A Free Elf

4th March 2015:
This is a little jewel of a story here, and a subject I don’t recall reading before. I found it quite moving, and I am a rather hard-hearted reader, not generally keen on angst, so I think you have judged it very well. The technical quality of the writing was excellent, the choice of words and phrasing faultless. The only thing that I noticed was a change between past and present tense in places and I couldn’t see any reason for that, so I’m not sure it is intentional. It's a lovely thing anyway.

Author's Response: Hello! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I wanted to capture Dobby's final moments. The tense change is actually on purpose because he's sort of in that in-between where he's almost gone but he's not gone yet. He thinks he can hold on but in the end he ultimately cannot. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by FriendofMolly A Free Elf

28th February 2015:
dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap,
Thank you. You wrote a wondrous view of Dobby's last moments on earth. One can only hope that he is met by James, Lily, and of course Hedwig. He will wait with them for Harry to finish his journey, many, many, years from now.
FoM

Author's Response: Friendofmolly,

Thank you so much! I didn't think anyone would read this and to know one person enjoyed it truly makes my day. I wanted Dobby to have a shining moment because he was an important character to me and he deserves it. Thank you very much.

Deeds x


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login