Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Best Day of My Life
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Katie's Purple Pygmy Puff The Best Day of My Life

7th June 2015:
Dearest Meg!
It's me, Katie's Purple Pygmy Puff, hopping around to leave thank you reviews to all OotP members for the Pass It Along Challenge!
And since we're on it, a good friend of mine (one who loves you dearly) asked me to send you her greetings and let you know how happy she is that things are brightening up for you and your family!

But enough with the pleasantries... Let's talk about the wonderful story you have here!
This was so adorable! Albus was so adorable... I loved his nervousness. The apocalyptic scenarios he came up with in his mind made me chuckle and roll my eyes at the same time. Funny thing, I thought it was all about telling them about his relationship with Scorp, even if I knew it didn't make sense, since they'd been a couple for so long. I didn't expect the point was starting a business, and I really liked it!

The closing scene, with Albus proposing to Scorpius, was just so sweet! And I loved that Scorp had planned on doing exactly the same, too sweet!!!

Last thing I wish to add, you always write the best closing lines, and this story is no exception! :)

Such a cute little story, and us Pygmy Puffs simply adore cuteness! Thank you so much for making me smile!

Tons of love, hugs, cuddles and kisses!
Chiara aka Katie's Purple Pygmy Puff

 Report Review

Review #2, by merlins beard The Best Day of My Life

25th May 2015:
Hey there.

Thank you for suggesting this. I'm going to keep this review really short, because I'd rather keep reading all the great stories that were suggested to me.

I love how misleading it is at first, it's like you really want us to believe this is about Albus telling his parents about his relationship with Scorpius.
And I really loved the proposal right at the end. This was really beautiful, and I'm glad Molly asked you to write that.

Thanks again
~Anja

Author's Response: Hey Anja!

I'm glad that you ended up enjoying this! And no worries, I wasn't even expecting a review, so this was a lovely surprise! :D

I really did try to play on people's assumptions with this story. I don't think anyone yet had seen the twist coming. *evil chuckle*

Aww! Thank you! That proposal kind of just happened, honestly. It wasn't part of the original plan for this story, but I'm so happy it happened and I'm thrilled that you liked it!

Thanks so much for reading and for reviewing! I'm super excited that you enjoyed this!!

Love and hugs,
Meg ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by UnluckyStar57 The Best Day of My Life

26th March 2015:
Hi! I'm here for our swap! Thanks for doing it, and sorry that this is a bit late. :)

Oh. My. GOD. You tricked me! Having Albus behave so nervously and Scorpius so pushy was a really good move, because of course, I assumed the "obvious": That Albus was about to come out to his family. Here I was, thinking that it was going to be sweet, albeit a bit cliche... BUT NO! TOTALLY different!

And that's not to say that cliches are bad, but you had me expecting a joyful family scene. And then you undermined that expectation and made me think about the previous behavior of the characters in a new way. I mean, I'm in AWE of your awesome storytelling skills.

And the animal hospital is SUCH a good idea. Like, I want a novel about this, please. I just love that Albus and Scorpius are going to chase down their dream with each other. It makes my heart happy. :)

"Do you think that's a good idea, son? Starting a business with your boyfriend?"~YES. The scene would have been incomplete without this line, and it's SO PERFECT. If clueless people like me hadn't already been able to figure it out, this is the clue! Albus isn't coming out because the whole family knows about (and likes, hopefully?) Scorpius. Yesss! Love it!

sUPER CUTE HARRY AND ALBUS MOMENT. OMG, he was talking about WWW. I'm crying. It was beautiful.

AND THEN THE PROPOSAL STOP YOU ARE KILLING ME WITH CUTENESS. And they have nearly the same ring, d'aw. I sincerely hope they get married after their business has become successful, so that they can have beautiful wedding photos with all their magical creature patients.

Ugh, as if I didn't ship Scorbus A LOT already, this made me ship them more! You know how to spin a yarn, m'dear! :D

Thanks for such an awesome story! ♥

~Mallory

 Report Review

Review #4, by mymischiefmanaged The Best Day of My Life

24th March 2015:
Hi Meg, here for our swap :)

This story's absolutely lovely and has given me all wonderful happy feels. The versatility of your writing consistently surprises and impresses me.

So for the beginning I thought he was planning on coming out to his parents (I'm guessing that was your intention?) and wasn't sure how I felt about that, because I like to think Harry and Ginny would have been clearer that they're accepting and I doubt their child would feel so scared to talk to them about their sexuality. If Albus was this worried about coming out I'd be quite disappointed in Harry really.

But yeah, I trust your writing and kept reading and then it was SO MUCH BETTER THAN THAT. I love the business idea. It's really interesting when people notice these obvious things the wizarding world just seems to lack. Magical creatures are such a huge part of wizarding culture so it's obvious they'd need some kind of healthcare. I fully support Al and Scorpius's ambition and totally agree with Harry that it'll be a success (on that note, Harry's investment made me super smiley).

And then the rings!! You write happy fluff very very well. Albus's nerves were adorable and Scorpius's reaction was just perfect. You've given them this lovely relaxed relationship and I like that they're already happy together for the whole story. It's nice to see them in a really good place.

So basically well done, this is a lovely one-shot and a really enjoyable read :)

Thanks for the swap!

Emma xx

Author's Response: Emma!! :D

Aww wow thank you so, so much!! That is super-duper sweet of you!! ♥ ♥

Tee-hee... It may have been. :D Yeah, I think Ginny and Harry would have let them know early on in life that they would love and accept them no matter what. Kind of like in the epilogue where Harry tells Al it doesn't matter to them which house he gets placed into. :)

Right?? I mean, a shop? Who would want to bring an sick/injured animal to a shop?? I thought it was only fitting that he'd give his son a little big of help, just like he did with Fred and George. I'm glad to hear you liked that!

I have a lot of head-canon about Al and Scorpius, and I imagine that they have a very comfortable, fun relationship. So at this point in their lives, they would be pretty relaxed with one another. I pictured then being about 22-23 in this. So they're in a good place romantically. :D I'm thrilled that came through!

Emma thank you, so, so much!! I'm really happy that you enjoyed this!! :D :D :D Thank you for the kind words and for doing the swap! It's always such a pleasure swapping with you! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #5, by TreacleTart The Best Day of My Life

6th March 2015:
Hi there!

I'm here for our review swap!

Never have I been happier to realize that a story wasn't a coming out story, not because I dislike people coming out, but because you treated your gay character as if him being gay was a complete non-issue. That makes me so happy to see.

Now onto the rest of it.

I have to admit that I'm woefully behind in the world of next-gen. I've only read a few, so I don't have much context for characterization. That being said, I liked the way you balanced Scorpius' take charge personality with Albus' shy, sweet one. It worked well.

I also loved that the Potters were so accepting of his life goals and understanding that being a healer wasn't right for him. Having a supportive family makes life so much easier, so Albus' should consider himself lucky.

I'm always a bit nervous when I read fluff because it isn't my usual genre of choice Normally that's because I dislike unrealistic, everything is perfect, type stories, so your story was a nice surprise. It's still sweet and fluffy, but not sickeningly sweet. The balance of nerves and happiness was quite nice.

I did notice one small typo, but I'm just nitpicking at this point.

“You’re lying,” she whispered. “Sometime is definitely not right. I believe you meant "Something is definitely not right."

Overall, a very sweet story of true love.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the swap!! ♥

Aww thank you! I knew that nearly everyone would assume that it was a coming out story while writing it, but I didn't want to make it a coming out story. I didn't want to make a big production about Al's sexuality, because you wouldn't do that in real life with a friend who is gay. I wanted to write a sweet story where the main character happens to be gay - if that makes sense?

No worries there. I'm very new to the ScorBus ship, but I think it has become my OTP. I will gladly go down with this ship. :) I'm thrilled that you enjoyed my versions of the two men! :D

Harry a little bit more quickly than Ginny was haha. But they both got there in the end. And I totally agree with you - Al does have an amazingly supportive family and is very lucky indeed.

It's funny, I don't read a lot of fluff, but I do write a lot of fluffy moments. I *try* to keep it as real as I can, so I'm glad that did seem to work out here.

Oops! I didn't even notice that! Thank you so much for pointing it out! I went back and edited it. :D

Thank you so, so much for the swap and this amazingly lovely review!! I'm really happy that you enjoyed this and I appreciate all of the kind words! ♥ ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #6, by jessicalorewrites The Best Day of My Life

24th February 2015:
Hi! I'm here for the gryffie review exchange :)

First off I've recently jumped onto the Scorpius/Albus 'ship train so I was sooo excited to see that you'd written about them in this. I definitely haven't read enough about the pair in a relationship yet so this was a great way to broaden my ScorBus horizons!

I'm not going to lie, I think I welled up a bit at that ending, but let's backtrack a little first because I waS NOT EXPECTING THAT PLOT TWIST. OH MY GOD. I THOUGHT HE WAS COMING OUT! NOT STARTING UP A BUSINESS!! ...You did this on purpose. So sneaky ;) somehow, the alternative is better - I love the idea of them setting up an animal hospital together, it's something the wizarding world definitely needs!

Wowowowowow that engagement was the CUTEST too. And the fact Scorpius had a ring ready as well? CUTE. I agree with Albus, too. Sometimes it's just about the moment rather than the fancy set-up and preparation. I'm sure Scorpius loved it! He said yes anyway, that's all that matters. I'd love to see a follow up about the marriage/start of the business :p

Overall just the CUTEST READ EVER! I'm glad I got paired up with you asdkjsfdf

- Jess, xo

Author's Response: Hiya Jess!! :)

Me too! I am all about ScorBus now and will go down with this ship! :D

*hides* I may or may not have done that on purpose... ;) I don't want to make any definite promises, but you /might/ end up seeing the opening of that animal hospital sometime in the future.

You have no idea how happy I am to hear that the proposal went over well! It really was a last minute decision. As I was closing out the story, it just kind of happened. It was totally unplanned, so I'm really thrilled that you enjoyed it! ♥

And again, with out making and definite promises, there just /might/ be a wedding shown sometime in the future, too...

Aww Jess that is way too sweet!! Thank you!! I'm honestly super happy that you enjoyed this and I'm really glad that we were paired together, too!! Thank you again for such an amazingly kind review! ♥ ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotter The Best Day of My Life

20th February 2015:
Oh my gosh, that actually made me cry. That was one of the sweetest stories I've ever read. I love reading Scorpius/Albus so I was really excited when I started reading and saw that that pairing was a big part of the story!
The way you characterized them was wonderful. I thought that they balanced each other out really well, and love that Scorpius literally pushed Albus into talking with his parents because he knew that Albus would feel better once he had talked to them.
The dinner scene was so well written! And I did not see that plot twist coming AT ALL. The whole time I was thinking that Al was going to tell his parents that he's gay and then he said he wanted to start a business with Scorpius and I did a double take! I had to read it again to make sure I got it right the first time! Haha, Once they really started taking about it, though, I thought you showed Al's passion for opening the hospital beautifully.
And then the end happened and I cried. That proposal was so lovely! And then fact that Scorpius was going to propose, too, was awesome! I just wanted this story to keep going! It was a wonderful read. Thank you so much for asking me to review it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!!

Honestly thank you so, so much for this! Not only was it way too kind of you to offer reviews, but the review that you left was just spectacular!! You really are far too sweet! :)

Aww I'm sorry I made you cry! Well, in a way not really. I'm actually kind of flatter that you did! :p I've just recently jumped on the ScorBus ship, and I adore it. I'm actually kind of mad at myself for missing out on it for so long. So since I am a novice at this ship, I'm super thrilled to hear that the relationship seemed authentic here.

Haha I may have possibly written it that way intentionally... Possibly. ;) I actually have completely fallen in love with the whole animal hospital idea, too. So there may be a story written about the opening of said hospital sometime in the future. :D

I'm really glad that you enjoyed the proposal! It wasn't originally planned and just kind of happened as I was wrapping up the story. So to know that it touched you enough to make you cry really means more than I can say.

Oh my gosh, you're welcome! I really should be thanking you for offering to review and leaving such a wonderful one! So again, thank you so, so much!!! I truly appreciate the kind words! ♥ ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #8, by TidalDragon The Best Day of My Life

18th February 2015:
Howdy Meg!

The nomination was absolutely right - I was not expecting the reveal to Harry and Ginny to be what it was at all. You did a good job setting it up with the scenes and intensity of Albus's stress to misdirect us, and thing you sprung another twist at the end with the proposal. Clever, clever...

I will say I thought Ginny mirrored Molly a little more closely than I imagine in my head canon in this story. That's not to say it's a problem or anything, it was just a little unexpected in terms of characterization even though they undoubtedly have some strong similarities in a few areas.

That said, I thought most of the characterizations were strong (even Ginny's, outside of her domesticity) and I enjoyed the way you made Albus and Scorpius less laden with heaviness than they often are when they're in a relationship - it made them both more relatable and differentiable. So kudos!

Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Hiya Kevin! :)

Aww thank you so much for reading this and taking the time to review it! It was a really nice surprise. :D

I was definitely a tricksie Meg and played on people's assumptions with this story. I knew mostly everyone would/will assume that Albus is coming out to his parents. But I still think that admitting to them that he is quitting a full time career - not just a job - would be enough to cause him some major anxiety, too.

I always imagined that after a few kids that she would have become a little bit more like her mother. There were always some similarities there that we saw in canon, so I imagine that she would end up a bit like her. The only reason she was wearing the apron and looked overly domesticated was because she was in the middle of cooking dinner. Otherwise, I think she would just be dressed normally. But that's just my personal head-canon of her later on in life. I know that we all have slightly different interpretations of the characters in our heads. :)

I'm really happy to hear you enjoyed Al and Scorpius! This was my first ever slash fic, so I'm really thrilled to hear that they came across as a believable and real couple. That really means a lot to me, so thank you!! :D

Thank you again for stopping by!! I'm really glad that you enjoyed it!! ♥

xoxo Meg



 Report Review

Review #9, by pointless_proclamations The Best Day of My Life

9th February 2015:
Meg! Meg, Meg, Meg, MEGGG!

It's about time I reviewed this. . .

Albus and Scorpius, they're so PERFECT together. You've effectively melted my cardiac muscles, again. By this time, I have a very accurate reading of its melting point and its boiling point. ARGH! MEG! What are you doing to me?! [hug tackle]

You write so beautifully. And about such beautiful things.

The dialogue between Albus and Scorpius. . . Goodness, they're so adorable together: "You keep forgetting, Al. . . I know everything." Bahaha! You're too much! I adore you!

The way you play with the way we naturally assume that Albus was going to come out to his parents. . . I am in awe of you, Meg. You genius! You clever thing, you!

And then, when he DID tell his family what was bugging him, his parents actually did react badly--at first, at least. But you really had me for a bit. Sneaky, sneaky Meg.

Warm fuzzies ensue when everything works our because you just write so well and that was so sweet! Aww, they were so supportive!! And MEG! The very idea of a hospital for magical creatures!! That's just amazingly creative of you!

So then Albus comes home and he PROPOSES! At this point any semblance of any readers' coherence is a miracle. They were so sweet and a tiny bit awkward--again, adorableness in abundance!! Puddly feelings! Lots of puddly feelings!

This is such a wonderful and amazing one-shot! It's all so BEAUTIFUL! It's the kind of story that inspires the raging need to go and just hug something or someone. You know those times? It's the kind if story that deserves superlatives: cutest, happiest, prettiest. . . ♥

Wild tackling kind of hugs, love, cookies, the good sort of board game times, chocolate pudding,
Em ♥

Author's Response: EM! EM, EM, EM!!! ♥ My HPFFBFFSister!!

*In Molly Weasley's voice* Where HAVE you been!? ;) (I kid, I kid!!) Don't be silly, Em! You beta'd this AND made the banner AND made the chapter image! You're totally find, trust me. :D

Bahahaha! Well I'm glad I can at least help with something. I don't know how useful knowing the precise boiling point will be... but you never know. ;)

Gah! You spoil me with your words! Thank you endlessly!! *hugs*

Hahaha that totally would be such a /me/ thing to say, too. I've probably used that line before, to be honest. :) It was only fitting that I let someone as wonderful as Scorpius borrow it. And I adore you, too!!! ♥

*grins wickedly* That little hint of Slytherin in me is showing again, isn't it? ;) What did we call it again, Slytherdor? Or Gryfferin? Either way...

I am loving the fact that I've fooled EVERYONE so far. It gives me such an evil satisfaction haha.

And you were super, super supportive of the idea of that animal hospital. Never mind just the hospital, this whole story in general. You really contribute to my stories more than I could possibly ever tell you. So thank you, Em! *massive penguin tackle bear hug*

It wouldn't be me if I didn't make it slightly awkward for my characters. Awkward is my specialty hahaha. Make sure you have a mop handy to clean those puddly feels!

Em! Bah! You are far, far too kind, sweet, encouraging, amazing, wonderful to me!! You truly are the best HPFFBFFSister ever in the existence of everything! Thank you! Thank you, thank you, thank you!! For everything! This review, for brainstorming, beta'ing, making images, encouraging me and just everything!!

So much love, koala snake strangling hugs, tea lattes and loads of dark chocolate,

Meg ♥ ♥ ♥



 Report Review

Review #10, by Veritaserum27 The Best Day of My Life

31st January 2015:
Meg!

Oh my... holy amazingness... what incredible, beautiful loverly...

I don't even have words for this.

asdadfklae;foa

I think that might the starting point with how completely wonderful and sweet and pure and awesome this little one shot is.

Gah - THE FEELS!!!

I really, really, REALLY needed to read this story today. I NEEDED it like air and water, because I was having a really sad day and this story completely turned it around. Thanks so much for the cavities!

You gave me a little bit of everything - angst, fear, family, hope, love, passion, togetherness, understanding, romance...

The first half of it - I was SURE that Al hadn't come out to his parents yet and you did that part SO WELL that I was reading and on the edge of my seat just waiting to see Harry and Ginny's reaction (although I knew they would be alright with it and Al was being a bit dramatic about the whole thing) and then I was like wait-what? WHAT did he just say? Lemme go back and read some more because I think he's joking with them - haha

And it was so adorable when he was giving them all of the details and I was almost, ALMOST on Harry and Ginny's side for a few minutes, but then I saw the passion that he had when he talked about his dream - and he had thought everything out.

And then there was Scorpius waiting for him and just ready to comfort him and tell him that he knew everything would be alright. And just. Yes. Those two. You make me want to give them and you and everyone around me a giant bear hug.

Fluff, fluff, fluffies at the end with their hearts just coming together! ♥

Awesome one shot - like I said - I really needed this one today.

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Beth! Gah!! This review! I mean, I can't even word properly!! *hug* Thank you!! ♥ ♥

Hahaha you're too much! I'm so unbelievably happy that you've enjoyed this that much! Since this was my first attempt at a slash fic, the amount of love that it has received has completely blown me away. And this review. I seriously don't even know how to respond.

The fact that this story turned your bad day around means more to me than I could possibly even tell you! I'm really glad to hear that! (Well not that you were having a bad day, but you know what I mean!)

This really was a bit of an emotional roller coaster, wasn't it? :p

Ah! I got you, too! I just knew that everyone would assume it was another coming out story, but I didn't want it to be. But I didn't want to make the actual reveal to be anything outlandish either. I just think that any young adult would be extremely nervous telling their parents they were leaving a stable job to do something like this. But regardless of what he was going to tell them, he was being a bit over dramatic haha.

Yeah, this animal hospital definitely isn't something they're doing on a whim. Scorpius and Albus have everything planned out and have worked really hard on it so far. They are very passionate about this. Who knows, we may end up seeing the opening of it some day... *whistles innocently*

That ending was completely a last minute decision. I wasn't initially planning on the proposal, but it just kind of happened. I, just like Al, felt that the moment was just right. ;)

Oh Beth, I can't even begin to tell you how much this review meant to me! It most certainly had what the kids are calling, "The Beth Effect." :D :D I am currently at the "Happiness Induction Step" and a smile has most definitely been produced! (A quick thanks to Em for making that haha!)

But in all seriousness, thank you! I truly appreciate all your kind words more than I could tell you! ♥

Much, much love,
Meg


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ydnas Odell The Best Day of My Life

17th January 2015:
Very well written. Nice bait and switch. I enjoyed this.

Author's Response: Hiya!

Thank you so much! I'm really happy that you've enjoyed it!! :) Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to review!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #12, by toomanycurls The Best Day of My Life

17th January 2015:
I'm glad you posted a review swap, I wanted to give this a bit of love.

I like the game you played with this, having people think Al was hesitant to come out when he wanted to tell them about his job change. Very sneaky and a great way to play on people's assumptions. Poor Al was so stressed about his family's reaction and fall out. I don't know if I could ever see Harry and Ginny being completely unsupportive of their kids ambition. Though their concern was very realistic.

I really like how you characterized Al and Scorpius. I especially enjoyed your analogy with him valuing preservation over bravery - that gave me so much information about him as a person. Scorpius is very Slytherin with the way he gets Albus to talk to his family (and bravery at the fact that he had already told his).

Their engagement was adorable and it made me want to hug someone (specifically them). I laughed at Al saying it wasn't especially romantic but he was right that it was a good moment for that to happen.

Author's Response: Hi Rose! I'm thrilled that you did the swap and gave this a bit of love! ;) ♥

Thank you!! I was really, really hoping that everyone would guess that was what Al was so nervous about. That was exactly what I was going for; playing on people's assumptions. I couldn't word that any better. :) He really was a ball of anxiety and nerves, the poor thing. I don't think Harry or Ginny would be either. I hope they didn't come off that way. I was going for more like shocked, then concerned and then finally supportive of the idea.

I undoubtedly believe that Albus is a Slytherin. I don't think that JK would have written that in the Epilogue if he wasn't going to end up there. Scorpius was just fantastic there! :) I'm thrilled that you liked both of them! ♥

I'm beyond happy that the engagement seemed to pay off! It was honestly a last minute thing that happened. I wasn't planning on it, but I guess I felt the same as Al did. ;) The moment just felt right to me.

Thank you so much for the swap and another awesome review (they always make me smile)!! ♥ ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #13, by marauderfan The Best Day of My Life

17th January 2015:
ASDFLKJawlkfnakjdshkalf *can't stop grinning from ear to ear* I loved this so much!

The first half of this had me convinced that it was going to be a coming out story, and I loved the way you did that plot twist by just building up the suspense through Albus' nervousness and kind of exaggerated worry. I like the nod to his eleven-year-old self as well, because although Albus has grown up since then, the elements of his character that stood out in the epilogue are still evident even as an older character.

Scorpius is adorable, btw. I love that he's so kind and supportive... but still tricks Albus into going to talk to his parents :p

When he had that kind of panic moment about how his whole family would spiral into chaos and doom because of him, omg hahaha is it bad that I found it all hilarious, even though Albus is really worried? I'm a bad person :p Either way, I'm glad Ginny got him out of this worst-possible-scenario in his head and that he admitted his plans.

I love that they're planning to start an animal hospital! And how Harry and Ginny's main worries aren't about Scorpius, but about how their business will do and if it will work out when Albus and Scorpius both quit their original jobs. As parents Harry and Ginny do have their priorities sorted though, being concerned about the plan but still supportive. But Al and Scorpius' plan is really well thought out and they have all this stuff sorted already, which must have been nice to calm Al's parents down. I'm glad they were so supportive and just want Al to be happy in his career. You've got to do what you feel passionate about. I really liked that whole discussion. :)

It went so well, and Al and Scorpius are so happy! And THEN as if the end wasn't perfect enough, they get engaged!!! :D And Scorpius had been planning to ask the same question. Gah! I just can't handle how lovely it is! Wonderful job writing this!

Thanks for the swap! :D

Author's Response: Ahh! Kristin!!

This review has been so hard to answer, because you're just too darn sweet!! Thank you!!! ♥

I'm so thrilled that I've managed to fool everyone who has read this, so far! Since this was my first slash fic, I didn't want to do a typical coming out story, but I thought it would be fun to try to make people believe that's what I was doing. If that makes sense? I'm the same as Al. Always imagining the worst most catastrophic things happening, when it won't be nearly that bad. Neurotic is probably the best word for me and Al. ;)

Haha yeah, there was a bit of tough love there. :D

It's not bad at all!! I was hoping that it would be funny, so I'm really, really glad that you found it hilarious!! :D :D :D And you're definitely not a bad person!

I figured with Scorpius and Al being together for five years at that point, there would be no reason for Harry or Ginny to worry, or be concerned about it. Scorpius would just be like part of the family by that point. Which is why they are so concerned. I think a part of Harry and Ginny is worried about Scorpius' career, as well as their son's. But they really don't have to worry. I feel like, since it will be one of a kind and something actually needed, that the animal hospital will do just fine. Who knows, maybe down the road we'll actually get to see how it's doing first hand...? *whistles innocently*

That engagement was not even planned. It just sort of happened as I was ending the story. So I can't even tell you how happy I am that it worked out!! :D

Thank you so, so much for the extraordinarily lovely review!! I'm super thrilled that you enjoyed this!! *hug*

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #14, by hPmum15 The Best Day of My Life

17th January 2015:
Great story, really enjoyed it. First story I've read where the career is a veterinarian so well done for originality. Loved it.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Aww thank you so much!! I'm thrilled that you've enjoyed it!! :D

Thank you for taking the time to read and review! I truly appreciate it!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #15, by crestwood The Best Day of My Life

17th January 2015:
Meg!! You're amazing. You know that, right? This…this is great. Obviously I'll go into more detail, but first, I just want to say--THIS IS GREAT.

I doubt you did this on purpose, but in the beginning Albus was acting so reluctant and frightened of stepping into the fireplace, it almost resembled an anxiety disorder. Like, the heart pumping, hands shaking, kind of frozen where you are and not being able to take a leap of faith even if you wanted to is all really, really familiar. Anyway, I tend to have alternate character interpretations in a lot of the stories I read, so don't mind me :P

The way you write them together is unbelievable. Scorpius is the most supportive, loving, tender, perfect person alive here.

Pacing back and forth for two hours rather than confronting something that he should have a long time ago? My headcanon is just getting stronger and stronger. And yes, I do have headcanon of your character specifically.

I love that his family can immediately tell that something's wrong. They all seem really sweet toward each other so far.

I like the term 'magically appeared' used in this context because, for once, it's literal. That makes me way happier than it should.

Another way Al and I are similar--self-preservation over courage. I am one of the least courageous (in the traditional sense) people you will ever meet. Of course, I have a whole spiel about different kinds of courage and the reasons I don't subscribe to the widely accepted definition of cowardice, but that's neither here nor there.

Well, Albus' idea of what would befall his family after all of this was over is a bit dramatic of him. (another check in the Ways We Are Alike column) That'd be quite the domino effect to watch play out.

Okay, you got me. I could have sworn he was going to come out. I suppose that was the point, but I just can't believe I fell for it. You did what no full blown mystery on this site has ever managed to do; you absolutely surprised me.

And of course they already knew and are totally cool with it. This is so great. I can't believe I didn't see this coming. That twist made this story even better than I thought it was up until that point.

I actually quite like the idea of an animal hospital. I'm always looking for new Wizarding jobs, (because how many times can you write about Healers, Quidditch players and Aurors) but I've never thought of this. And I've thought of EVERYTHING.

I'm always here for 'finding the career that your heart is actually in' fics. They always fill me with optimism that maybe this'll happen to me or something like that. Whatever the case, I really like them.

I can't believe you gave me a Scorbus proposal. This is so well written and realistic and thorough. Just perfect all the way through and in every way. You've outdone yourself with this ending. And the fact that they both had rings and were planning to propose is funny and heartwarming all at once and honestly what is there to say other than thank you for this. Thank you for the dedication, thank you for writing this pairing, thank you for doing it justice. Just--thank you ♥

Author's Response: Oh Joseph. Your reviews are always so, so difficult to respond to, because they are always SO lovely! I never know what to say and always feel like a complete dork, because my responses are filled with 1000's of "thank you's," hearts and way too many smilies haha. :D (SEE?!) You are far too kind!!

Yeah, Albus was definitely having a bit of a panic attack in the beginning. Legitimately. I have this headcanon that Al has an anxiety disorder, mostly due to wanting to live up to his father and his namesakes. I imagine that would be a lot for a person to have Harry Potter as a father and be named after Dumbledore and Snape.

Aww thank you!! ♥ I love the idea of a Scorpius who is the opposite of his father. Just a guy who wanted to be his own person. To try to change what people think when they hear the name Malfoy.

Ahh! I love that you have headcanon of my characters! That is so beyond amazing to hear!! :D :D

You have no idea how excited I was when I wrote that and was able to use it literally. My reaction after writing that sentence and reading it back was looking at it and going, "Ha!"

You're definitely right. There are lots of different types of courage. And there are certainly ways that Albus is brave. I hope he didn't come off as having no backbone. But he definitely does have the whole Slytherin quality of self-preservation, which I also have. Sometimes I wonder how I'm always put into Gryffindor... ;)

Haha! I do stuff like that all of the time! I always imagine the most overly catastrophic, world ending scenarios! If you expect the worst it makes what actually happens much, much easier to deal with. :)

Yay!! I was so, so, so hoping that I would fool everyone and people would assume that he was coming out to his family. But I left a tiny, tiny, tiny clue in the beginning of this. I mentioned that he had Scorpius had been together for five years. Personally, I imagine that after that long, his family would have had to have known.

You don't even know how happy that makes me that I was able to surprise you! AND that the animal hospital was something you haven't seen before! Tons of *squee* over here!

I hear you there. I'm still trying to find that career, and at this point in my life, I probably should have. I'm still holding out hope though. It'll happen for both of us!

The proposal was a last minute decision. I, just like Al, felt that the moment was just write. It was written completely on the fly, so I'm thrilled that you ended up enjoying it. I honestly had a lot of fun writing it!

Joseph, thank you for this review. It really meant so much to me and legitimately had me tearing up. This was just so kind, thoughtful and all around fantastic. Thank you!! ♥ ♥

So much love,
Meg


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login