Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Man With the Twisted Face
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne Prologue

30th July 2015:
I am intrigued by the Dolohov family, they seem like one of the more evil families.

I adore that Antonin was born during the middle of the biggest storm. It really sets the tone for what is going to be his life, and it just makes him seem eviler (I don't even know if that's word. I haven't sleep in over 24 hours)

I like how you've made Antonin different you how we would all imgaine him. I would never imagine him in any other way apart from dark and mean. It's very intriguing that the war and politics doesn't seem to bother him, and he doesn't even get disowned for it.

You've painted a very intriguing picture of Antonin with your wonderfully beautiful words, and I can't wait to read more of this story!

Author's Response: Hi Tammi!

I love writing the evil families, so the Dolohovs seemed like the logical next step.

Foreshadowing is fun. I'm not sure if eviler is a word but it's always nice to make new ones :)

I wanted to paint a different picture of Antonin than the stereotypical one (Death Eater in the cradle). I'm glad you think it's intriguing.

I'm happy you liked it, and thanks for the lovely review!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #2, by Flower n Prongs Outsider

11th June 2015:
Hi Olivia. I can't believe I haven't gotten around to the third chapter of this yet!

The beginning of this chapter was absolutely brilliant. Antonin was clearly such a gentle soul at this point in his life, believing that Muggles had to be good and surely everybody was wrong for hating them. Even though he has nothing against Muggles by the end of the first section, he is less certain. His wavering curiosity and horror at how Muggles could cause so much damage to each other so many times was beautifully written. (And, as someone who studied history in university and focused on WWI his comment about sometimes being unsure exactly how events unfolded into war was very poignant).

I like how you really showed the characters in this chapter as real people. Not only do we see Antonin as being very different than the man he would grow up to be, but we see a Muggleborn who was willing to befriend a Slytherin despite house prejudices. We also see two "good" characters who fight against Voldemort and the Death Eaters later showing prejudice of their own, yelling at an 11-year-old boy just because of the house he belongs to. By avoiding the typical "good" and "bad" house divides you have added a lot of intrigue to this story and left it with so many ways to proceed. (Which is especially impressive when you consider that there are so many things we already know about the ending!)

The ending really pulled at my heart strings. What if Antonin had been able to transfer to Hufflepuff or Ravenclaw? How would his life have turned out? What if the Prewett boys were nicer to him, not sneering and yelling at him because of the house he belonged to? So many minor changes could have had such big effects in the long term, shaping not only Antonin's life but changing the lives of the people he interacted with during his time as a Death Eater.

Even though the story is still only has an eleven year old protagonist, it has asked a lot of thought-provoking questions and made me think a lot.

As usual, I enjoyed reading you take on this. =)

- Rhaenyra

Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #3, by Beeezie Outsider

3rd June 2015:
Hey! I'm here for BvB!

I'm happy to get in right after you, because I've been wanting to get back to this story - I really enjoyed the first two chapters, and I liked this one, too!

One of the things that's really wonderful about this story is how much you muddy the waters. There's nothing clear cut here - yes, the Death Eaters are awful, but that doesn't mean that people on the right side conduct themselves well all the time. And, in fact, Fabian conducted himself very, very poorly here.

I actually liked that a lot, because I think it gets at the darker side of Gryffindor. We see the best of them (overall, anyway) in the series, but the same qualities that make them brave and inspiring can also make them bullies, and Fabian is without a doubt acting like a bully here. There's nothing noble about baiting a kid you don't know, but it is rash and impulsive. Those are two very Gryffindor traits, and Antonin clearly reacts to them - and from the end of the chapter, it's pretty clear that he identifies them as such.

But, even though this is from Antonin's point of view and I really sympathize with him here, I can kind of see this from Fabian's side of it, too. On one hand, it's a nasty thing to do to go after a kid you don't know - but on the other, as I think about it, there's also only so much "benefit of the doubt" to go around before you get tired of it. And, from what we see of Antonin's encounters (or lack thereof) with his housemates, the vast majority of Slytherins really do buy into the blood purity thing.

It's really fascinating, and there aren't any easy answers - and I can totally see how, after a tough day where his beliefs are shaken, Antonin would fall in with the first people to show him kindness, even if they are future Death Eaters. And, I think that you've really showed the dangers in placing people on pedestals rather than just seeing them as people - Antonin was idealizing Muggles and Gryffindors, when what he really needed to do was just see them as equally deserving of respect.

This is so intriguing. I can't wait for the next update!

 Report Review

Review #4, by kenpo Prologue

3rd June 2015:
Hey! I'm here for the bVb!

I really enjoyed this chapter! It gave a unique perspective about how some of the Death Eaters could've come to be... being raised, really, on those ideals, with bedtime stories full of purebloods defeating muggle borns. I mean, we all know that they were raised on horrible ideals, but you wrote it in a way that made me rething everything, you know?

I'm really liking Antonin, and the way you've sort of painted him as a blank canvas. His nature, at least in this chapter, sort of just seems to say "...eh...". He's not passionate about the Death Eaters, but not passionately against it either. His attitude reminds me of when I was younger and my Mom would try to instill in me her political ideals. I just didn't care, and neither does he. It's boring adult stuff.

I also found the way that he was afraid of the dark lord really interesting, especially the way that you wrote the bulk of his fear coming not directly from Voldy, but from the way his father changed.

This was a great opener, and I think you've got a really creative story going!

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #5, by Flower n Prongs A Reluctant Slytherin

6th May 2015:
Hi Olivia, I'm here for the BvB review battle. I really enjoyed the first chapter of this story so I was excited to get to read the second one.

Your portrayal of his parents as early Death Eaters was brilliant. Leaving their only son at home because he was not like them not only shows what kind of parents they are but helps show why Antonin did not want to be like the rest of his family, if they were all willing to turn on him so quickly. The small details of his parents (his mother rubbing the Dark Mark on her forearm with her thumb, her father's complaints about his son having to go to King's Cross) showed a lot about their characters. The fact that Antonin did not know what cars were and that he was fascinated by them was a brilliant way to show his isolation during his childhood.

Rabastan Lestrange... ugh. He was the perfect blend of arrogant and obnoxious.

You managed to get Hagrid's accent down well! That is something that you do not see very often, so kudos for that.

One thing I would like to note is that McGonagall only became a teacher in December of 1966, per what she told Umbridge in the fifth book. If you care about that, the Deputy Head should be somebody else.

I love what you did with his classmates! Having gorgeous Narcissa be a pimply, short 11-year-old and adding Dedalus Diggle to Antonin's graduating class was a nice surprise.

I really enjoyed this. If I tag you again, I'll definitely read the third part.

- Rhaenyra =)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Shadowkat Outsider

4th May 2015:
I read all three chapters, and it's really good!

I'm really interested in how this will play out, and about what makes him finally decide to become a death eater. You have me hooked. :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

I'm glad you're enjoying it! The next chapter will be up soon.

Thanks for the review!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #7, by TearsIMustConceal Prologue

4th May 2015:
Hi, Iím here from the review battle!

Iíve never read a story where Antonin Dolohov or his family were the main focus but youíve really intrigued me with this prologue. Youíve given us enough information to make me want to read more!

I love how we see Antonin before he becomes the Death Eater we know him to be. I like how despite his parents influences and their belief in the Revolution and Voldemort, Antonin is still himself and still believes in what he wants Ė the fact that he is not swayed by his surroundings and stays true to himself is wonderful! His parents seem so normal, despite everything going on. They obviously care for their son a lot, which you donít tend to find in Pureblood families and its refreshing that despite their concerns about Antonin and his beliefs, they wonít disown him Ė I think that really shows their love for him.

Your writing is flawless and the whole chapter flows wonderfully! I cannot wait to read the next chapter!

And that last sentence Ė well, I loved that last sentence!

Well done for the amazing story!

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #8, by Flower n Prongs Prologue

3rd May 2015:
Hi! *waves* I'm here for the BvB review battle.

The summary for this drew me in completely. Seeing a Death Eater who was raised in a pureblood family question what he was told, but later coming around to become a full fledged Death Eater? I was sold.

You did a great job at setting up so much in such a short prologue. You have already developed Antonin Dolohov's family, the setting he was raised in, his beliefs in childhood, and his relationship with his father in such a short period of time. All of this does a great job at making him seem like the black sheep of the family (or perhaps one in the greater movement). Having him be born in the same year as Narcissa Black-Malfoy and perhaps Lucius is a nice touch.

I felt so sad for little Antonin being afraid of his father. I'm looking forward to seeing how all of this changes and he ends up believing, in one way or another, that his parents' belief system is right.

This was a very nice start. =)

- Rhaenyra

 Report Review

Review #9, by Unicorn_Charm Prologue

20th April 2015:
Hi there! Here for our swap! :)

Well this is definitely out of my comfort zone of what I usually read, but the plot just looked so interesting, I had to stop by and read. I'm really curious to see how one of the worst Death Eaters was once not that way and to see what had changed him.

This prologue was just eerie. All of that talk about the Revolution and taking over the Ministry and Voldemort gave me the chills. It's crazy when you think of how long he was building up followers and an army before the First War and before James and Lily died. You wonder how many people had died or disappeared in all that time and no one really knew why.

I think you nailed it with describing how Voldemort sympathetic parents would raise a small child. I'm sure they would begin at a very early age telling their children that muggle-borns and muggles were filth. Train them early. And I also think that Voldemort wouldn't care about the age of a child, if they were not parroting those beliefs. I doubt he would be above torturing a seven year old.

I'm curious to see who this girl is. I'm assuming she's going to be kind of wicked if she's the reason his parents don't end up disowning him.

This was a great opening to your story. I'm definitely intrigued and want to continue on with this. That's so much for the swap! I'm going to be back to continue on. :)

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #10, by fwoopersong8 Outsider

7th April 2015:
Fabian and Gideon Prewett...Mrs. Weasley's brothers! I knew I recognized the name from somewhere, but it just clicked. Man, they're jerks. Interestingly, I find Gryffindors just as jerk-ish as Slytherins -- if not more, because they're supposed to be the "good guys." In some of my stories I've portrayed Gryffindor boys the same way, which is interesting to me.
How will Antonin make such a switch from fairly-decent-but-sortof-misled-boy to an I'm-gonna-kill-the-world Death Eater? What will change his mind?
Don't stop writing! I'll be waiting to see what happens next. :)
~fwoopersong8

p.s. In an earlier review I think I called Antonin by totally the wrong name. Sorry for that. :-/

 Report Review

Review #11, by Beeezie A Reluctant Slytherin

7th April 2015:
Hey! Iím here for team blue for BvB! :) Yay, Iím really glad I have the excuse to keep reading this story, because I really enjoyed the prologue.

I continue to love your prose - you have such an engrossing way of narrating your story that just draws me in and leaves me feeling completely absorbed in the your world.

Rabastan Lestrangeís reaction to Antonin actually brought something Hermione said to my head - at one point, she tells Ron and Harry that the Death Eaters would probably have been perfectly happy to have them. Harry had a point about the whole mortal enemies thing (though I think Hermione was getting at blood status more than specifics), but I always thought that Ronís defensiveness wasnít really based in reality. Blood traitors are not as bad as Muggleborns - they can be Ďreformed.í I saw that attitude in Rabastan here, and I really liked it, because it illustrates the position of privilege that all purebloods are really operating from, at least until theyíve actively placed themselves against the regime.

I also loved the way you described his initial experience at Hogwarts. The usual first year tensions were there, but I thought that you did an amazing job of integrating his discomfort with his parentsí beliefs and his House in general into that. Iím really, really curious to see why you had the Sorting Hat put him there without any conversation, despite his clearly saying he didnít want to be there.

In answer to your question: I thought Rabastan came across very like Draco Malfoy in PS; he seemed very sure of himself and secure, and that made sense to me in a lot of ways. I didnít like him, but I didnít really hate him yet - mostly because itís hard to hate an eleven year old. Iím sure in future chapters, my feelings will be different. :P

A little CC: There were points, particularly on the train, where I didnít quite buy that Antonin was eleven - it wasnít that the prose read older (which it did, but that was fine), but rather that his frame of mind and the course of his thoughts read a little older. I also - and this is super, super minor, but I thought Iíd mention it in case itís not just a mistaken impression on his part - didnít quite believe the mention of older Slytherins being current Death Eaters. The incredulity people treated Harry with when he said he thought Draco Malfoy was a Death Eater (and Narcissa and Bellatrixís reactions to it) makes me think that it was unprecedented or, at best, exceedingly rare.

Those are both minor, though. So far, this is a really great story, and I canít wait to see where you take it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Beeezie Prologue

6th April 2015:
Hey, Iím here for review tag!

I really, really like the premise of this story. I feel like this is a side of Death Eaters (and just ideology in general, really) in the HP world that we didnít really see in the books - either we had characters like Draco or Ron, who wholeheartedly believed what their parents did, or we had characters like Sirius, who (as far as we see, anyway) disagreed with their families from the start. Even characters like Regulus who seemed to sway a little tended to sway toward the side of good. Iím really curious to see what happened to make Antonin Dolohov sway in the opposite direction.

Right. Onto the actual chapter.

So far, I love the execution, too. Your prose is really wonderful, and youíve already introduced so much subtlety and complexity into your world. Mentioning the interview with Dumbledore helped set the stage for just what kind of family Antonin Dolohov was born into, and the way you described purebloods as responding to Voldemort was chilling. The whole ďtricksters trying to take advantage of true believersĒ made my skin crawl, as did the idea of parents encouraging their children to hate because they wanted their stature within Voldemortís supporters to rise. Itís thoroughly realistic, which makes it particularly horrifying.

The way you describe Antonin himself as noticing the change in his fatherís demeanor when Voldemort or pureblood supremacy came up in conversation was perfect - the fanaticism was already reading like a cult to me, and that added a layer of realism to it that I really, really liked.

Amazing job, and I loved the little mention at the end of the chapter of a girl. It intrigued me where the prose and mood had already caught my attention, and Iím definitely adding this to my reading list so I donít forget about it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by HermyLuna2 A Reluctant Slytherin

9th March 2015:
Haha, I really like the idea of Antonin being underwhelmed by Muggles. Very cute and childlike. I wonder if an eleven-year old knows words such as condescending and pretentious though, especially since most Death Eaters are considered to be not to be the brightest persons in the wizarding world (this may be different for higher-ranked onces though, and Aberforth is mad anyway).

 Report Review

Review #14, by HermyLuna2 Prologue

9th March 2015:
Ooh, a story about Antonin! That is marvelous! And such a great beginning too.

Author's Response: I love writing the minor characters, and I really like Death Eaters, so I decided to write about Dolohov.

Thanks for the review!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #15, by Infinityx A Reluctant Slytherin

26th February 2015:
Hi! I'm finally here for our swap! I'm so sorry!

I'd started reading Seek and Chase so I was going to review that but this story caught my eye. I always love fics which focus on the Slytherin characters and I love the perspective you've brought in here.

From the very first line, I found myself sympathizing with Antonin. I had this voice in the back of my mind reminding me of the cruel Death Eater he finally turns out to be but maybe there's an actual explanation for it. I mean, with the way you've characterized him here it's hard to not like him. I found myself hoping along that he'd get sorted into Hufflepuff even though I knew he wouldn't. That says a lot about your writing, doesn't it? ;)

I love the way you gave us a glimpse into his character in the prologue and also a small hint about what we could expect. A girl, huh. I wonder who that could be... Love is weird, and it makes us do crazy things. It has to be a really crazy person who would make Antonin start to hate muggle-borns and follow the dark path because from what I know so far, he's a good kid. I'm really intrigued to know what happens.

You're writing is amazing. The pace was just right and you gave these little details that revealed things about his personality, like him finding green to be a horrible colour and the way he's so perceptive about what his mother is actually trying to do. I love how you've written this and it's a brilliant start to the story!

Please update soon, and let me know when you do! Great job here, and thanks for the swap. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by fwoopersong8 A Reluctant Slytherin

25th February 2015:
I'm curious to know what the Hat's reasoning was for putting Rabastan in Slytherin so quickly. Did it see through to his future Death Eater-ness? Or is there something about this hesitant little kid that we don't know yet?
I like your writing style. I hope you add another chapter soon. I want to hear more about this girl... :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

More of Antonin's personality will come out later, and you'll see why he was put in Slytherin so quickly.

Thanks for the review!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #17, by ravenclaw_princess Prologue

16th February 2015:
Hello, here for you BvB review. I picked this one as it had the least number of reviews to date.

Hehe.he met a girl...that made me giggle. Girls always bring trouble :P

I love childhood Antonin. He showed the typical honest characteristics of a child and he didn't judge those he didn't know. But could also sense that something wasn't quite right about this man his parents worshipped, making him fear him.

It's a refreshing take on the other side of the war. There are two sides to any revolution and the Dolohov's believed that they would create a better world out of it. New ideas can sometimes take time to grow, and it was interesting to see how they used their children, instilling the ideas of supremacy into them at a young age, to ensure that what they begin will continue into the next generation.

This is a great summary that's set up the world in which Antonin is born and the relationship he has with his parents. I liked how you described hi birth in the storm and the high hopes his parents had for him, only to be left disappointed and probably a bit bewildered too. They love him and would do anything for him, but you can also sense the fear of the Dark Lord and I wonder what they would ultimately choose, their son, death or exile. I have a feeling though they wont be forced to make that choice.

 Report Review

Review #18, by dominique_fox Prologue

13th February 2015:
I love the idea of this story (especially because Dolohov is a character we don't know much about from the canon) - so excited to see where you take things in the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Veritaserum27 Prologue

12th February 2015:
Hi there Olivia!

Here fro the BvB.

This is a fantastic start. I love that you're exploring a character in a new and innovative way. You've given us just enough background to want to read more. Combined with your flawless writing style, this was a great read.

I LOVE the way you've characterized Dolohov's parents. They are just... parents - who want the best for their son. They truly feel that this Glorious Revolution is the wave of the future, but they aren't (yet) allowing it to cloud their love of their child. You've made it feel like this was an exciting time in history for them, and it was something that they worked hard to accomplish. At the same time, you haven't sugar coated the "cause" and have given Antonin his own personality traits.

I can't wait to read more because I love your writing style and your courage to take on less "trendy" topics and explore the "other side." I'm really impressed with how your writing has grown and this newest story is a perfect example of that.

I can't go without mentioning the last sentence. With a few simple words, we have the basis for this story. He's met a girl.

Awesome job!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #20, by adluvshp Prologue

8th February 2015:
Hello! I'm here for the review swap from my status (sorry for the delay)!

This seems like a very interesting story! I love the way you have set the premise here. The narrative is intriguing and the writing style, like that of storytelling, is super engaging. I could visualise the scenes in front of my eyes as I read your descriptions.

I also enjoyed the idea of The Revolution. It's quite interesting to see all this from the point of view of Dolohov's parents too - I have barely ever thought about them. I also feel for the poor kid - at such a young age he is forced to listen to such talks and expected to play a role in the revolution. No wonder he is not interested - he was only a kid after all! I also like how you've already created fear of Voldemort, and fear of what his fathers turns into when talking about him, in young Antonin's mind. It is very telling to see this rooted in his mind from a young age. It is also sad that his parents are contemplating disowning him because he wants to get to know Muggleborns before 'judging' him. Children are really so innocent.

The last line of this chapter is also very interesting. He met a girl - does this girl push him to the dark side or does she strengthen his resolve against the Revolution? It makes me wonder, and it is a good way to end a prologue and develop interest to carry on reading the rest of the story.

All in all, this was an awesome chapter and I'm quite excited to knowing what happens next. Please do keep writing =)

Cheers!
AditiDraco95

 Report Review

Review #21, by patronus_charm Prologue

7th February 2015:
Hey Olivia!

I really loved the tone of the story because even though anything concerned with the Death Eaters does have a natural underlying serious tone to it, this one had a comedy element to it too, which was so great as Iíve never really come across that before. Little things such as this, ĎThe Glorious Revolution, all capitalizedí and the fact that Dolohov met a girl (which one just wouldnít expect to happen) really made me laugh and added this nice light-hearted element to the story and I hope it follows through.

Another which was great, was it as a prologue itself. This prologue really did set the scene for the story by introducing the principle characters and what their motivations are so the reader knows exactly whatís going to happen later on and that doesnít always happen in a prologue so whoo for that.

I must say, I really am intrigued about Dolohov in this story as heís nothing like I imagine him to be. Even though his parents have tried to indoctrinate him again and again, he just ignores it and is content in his own world. The fact that Dolohov was able to see through his fatherís kind mask at the age of 8 and realise what he was really capable of was something else very interesting, and I wonder how even though he had this sense of right and wrong at such a young age, he still managed to end up as a Death Eater later on and I have a feeling it will somehow tie into this girl he met.

Bahaha, one final thing is that the sense of expectation and excitement surrounding Dolohovís birth was great because he must have been such a disappointment to his parents as he didnít automatically join in with the pureblood cause.

Great start to the story, I hope thereís more soon! :D

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #22, by Aphoride Prologue

2nd February 2015:
Hi there - dropping by from the review battle! :) I just had to stop by on this story when I saw it on your page - I love stories about Death Eaters, which explore their pasts and how they became the people we know in the books... there's something so fascinating about it! :)

I love the way you've started that off immediately, with the mention of how he didn't really hate muggleborns or believe in his parents ideology - it marks him out as a thoughtful, clever, maybe lonely sort of child - with nothing to play with, and far too much curiosity. It'll be interesting to see how those things play out for him in later life, and if they do more harm than good.

I actually feel pretty sorry for his parents, you know. It can't be easy growing up and believing so fervently in that kind of ideology and then having a child who doesn't believe it, and knowing you'll be in trouble because/if he doesn't. It's a pretty bad situation to be in, especially since they sound like they do actually care about him, you know? To me, that just highlights the horrors of the ideology Voldemort and the purebloods believed in, and how damaging it was to them... so sad! :(

Your writing in this is so good! I love how you write this almost as though it's a history, as though it's someone sitting with a class maybe, or with a pair of kids and telling it to them - that kind of narrated feel - and it works so well for this. It doesn't take away from the characters or the emotions at all.

I'm so so curious about what's going to happen next, too - with this mysterious girl and how that's going to effect him, what maybe his parents might end up doing about it (and him, too!), and how this will lead to him joining the Death Eaters and getting involved in that whole circle... he's got a long way to go from this point atm, and I'm imagining it's going to be something pretty drastic and probably pretty bad. Poor kid. Still, you've done a brilliant job of setting up the mystery and the cliffhanger and getting me invested in the characters.

This is a brilliant start! Might have to try and pop back to this sometime later in the month ;)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi Laura! It's always a pleasure to get a review from you!

With this, I really wanted to explore the idea of a Death Eater who, initially, could have gone in the other direction but ended up being seduced by everything. Snape would have been a logical choice but I hate writing him so I went with Antonin Dolohov; as there's very little canon information about him I can headcanon to my heart's content.

His parents are stuck between a rock and a hard place in terms of Antonin, but then again they did choose to be Death Eaters so... And while it isn't their fault that Antonin's not (initially) a believer (as they did try to make him see it their way) Voldemort's not likely to take "I tried" as an excuse.

Thank you so much!

You'll have to wait and see (in about a million years when I finish the next chapter - oops) to find out what happens. And while he does have a long way to go, it is a gradual descent into Death Eater-dom.

Thanks for the review!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #23, by toomanycurls Prologue

30th January 2015:
This is one of the few stories I've read about Antonin Dolohov - I'm so excited to see how you write him.

One - love the way you've mingled geopolitical events in the wizarding world with Antonin's birth and early childhood. You paint a very clear picture about what it meant to be a pureblood and believe in the Cause. I love that it was something even children bought into with their playtime antics and learned rhetoric.

Two - the vibe you get across with Antonin's birth does have the feeling of such magnitude that I can't blame his parents for expecting big things out of their son. It felt like the intro to Lion King without the song.

Three - Making Antonin not enthusiastic about the Cause was genius. I mean, he seems so reasonable about the whole wanting to making judgements in his own time, should know a muggle before judging them, etc. I hate to think what the family was planning for him - that sounded potentially quite dark. eee! Such an interesting note to leave the chapter on.

Let me know when you update!

-Rose

Author's Response: Hi Rose!

I haven't seen a lot of stories about Dolohov, so I decided to write one of my own.

I always thought that there had to be some sort of indoctrination in youth, because most children learn from their parents. If children of Death Eaters have never seen Mugges before, how else would they know whether or not they're inferior? Also, the language that was used against Muggles and Muggleborns - Mudblood, primarily - stayed the same, even during the flashbacks, so I thought there had to be some constant.

While I think everyone hopes for good things from their children, the Dolohovs, as Death Eaters, were extremely expectant that Antonin would follow in their footsteps and make the family proud. I haven't seen the Lion King in about 10 years, so I can't really comment on the second part, unfortunately.

I thought Antonin's request - wanting to make his own decision in his own time - was perfectly reasonable (and any sane person in the wizarding world would probably agree). What his parents were planning will come up later.

Thanks for the review!

~Olivia


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login