Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Winter's Embrace
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by blue21 Winter's Embrace

21st July 2015:
Hi
I'm not really sure I liked this piece...it was obviously well written, but I never liked the character lavender, and it seems strange she would still be hung up on something that happened so many years back. Loved the part with the violin though. Very descriptive..
Bluechocolate21

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #2, by Mariellys Winter's Embrace

21st July 2015:
That was beautiful, perfect - there is nothing left to add.
Thank you so so much for writing such a wonderful story - you write extremely well! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Mariellys Winter's Embrace

21st July 2015:
That was beautiful, perfect - there is nothing left to add.
Thank you so so much for writing such a wonderful story - you write extremely well! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #4, by Sarah Winter's Embrace

15th January 2015:
That was magical... It was beautiful! I was almost brought to tears! You are really very talented. That is just the way I would have thought Lavender would have acted if in that situation. Minus the violin, now that is just pure creativity. She was so used to having a pretty face and she was never the smartest or nicest girl, I suppose and when she wasnt pretty anymore she had nothing and she kind of lost it. I really love this one-shot, it was just pure, raw talent at its best.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing Sarah. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I will be updating my dramiones soon =)

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #5, by teh tarik Winter's Embrace

15th January 2015:
Hi Ellie! Happy belated Hot Seat day! :)

OK, I love Lavender stories, so I'm so pleased to see one on your page. :) Aww, poor Lavender. You've really portrayed her as such a desolate character, embittered by her situation and never really able to get over the trauma of the war. Not just that, but she doesn't seem able to let go of much of the past, even the whole relationship with Ron and her childhood dislike of Lavender. I felt sorry for her here. I like how much detail you went into to portray her complex emotional state, and how you didn't shy away from writing her pain and anger.

The violin and Vivaldi's 'Winter' was a nice touch! Definitely gave your story a more personal and very original touch. I've never read a fic with Lavender displaying any talent in music at all, so this was lovely. I'm glad that her violin does provide her with some reprieve from the torment of her daily life, if only for a few minutes. If I were her, I'd probably be plaing every day for as long as I can.

Also, I love Vivaldi's 'Winter'! That's got to be my favourite part of the Four Seasons. :) And I love the way you incorporated the tone and atmosphere of the song into your fic.

Great work, Ellie! I really enjoyed this lovely one-shot of yours. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Hey teh!

Thanks so much for getting over to review. I know everyone is short on time. I'm always behind with hot seat and my review thread and I'm sure you have better things you could be doing than reading my ramblings =)

This one was a prompt by luvinpadfoot and tbh when I read it I thought I was going to have so much trouble with this one, but then I sat down and started writing it and it all just poured out in about an hour. =)

Thanks so much for reviewing!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #6, by bethanex Winter's Embrace

14th January 2015:
I don't like Lavender - at least, not after reading this. She's a little too bitter in order to gain much sympathy. I think this lacks a bit of direction though. That being said, you write really well - you're excellent at instilling emotion within your readers.

Author's Response: Hey Bethanex,

Thanks for reviewing. You're actually not supposed to like Lavender very much in this story, because she's so unlikable that she even hates herself. I'd love to know what you mean by a lack of direction though.

It is a one-shot, and is really only supposed to give you a window into her world where she's very unhappy. Most one-shots are like that.

Thanks for reviewing though. If you have more specifics about the lack of direction feel free to PM me with them. I love discussing my stories and improving my work, so any help you would like to offer will always be greatly appreciated =)

xx-Wolfgirl

P.S. I promise I'll get to your latest review soon. =)


 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Winter's Embrace

14th January 2015:
Hi Ellie! Sorry I'm a bit late on the hot seat reviews but I made it eventually haha!

I love Vivaldi's Four Seasons and I love Lavender as a character, especially post-war, so I was immediately drawn to this story. Ah, I love that Lavender is a violin player :D It makes me like her even more.

Lavender in this story is so bitter, and it's really heartbreaking that she loved Ron. As we really just saw this relationship from Harry's POV in the books, Lavender was this silly, shallow girl who Ron was just using to get back at Hermione, and it's funny in an obnoxious way, but as viewed from Lavender's POV the situation is really sad.

I like that you focused on her obsession with beauty here and the way you tied it into the music. How she always valued beauty really highly and that's a huge part of why she didn't like Hermione, and a reason why she hates herself even so much later - she's lost that. But I like that towards the end she focuses on a different type of beauty - that of the music she's producing from a gorgeous, expensive violin. And that's far more meaningful. It just made it sadder when at the end, she slumped back into how she was before and the cycle begins anew.

This was such a sad piece but I love the way you wrote about the different notions of beauty (at least that's how I interpreted it). she has something to focus her life, and maybe out of that she can recover and get over Ron.

This was really well written, great job!

Author's Response: Hey Kristin,

Thanks so much for reviewing. I know what it's like to belatedly review for hot seat (I'm still so behind on this) and so it's really nice of you to come all this way to leave me a review. This chapter was really fun to write, and I'm glad Lavender's values showed through. I'd never written her before and so I was super worried that I'd do a bad job.

Your Lucius story is coming. I need to PM you about it actually, so I'll chat to you about it later =)

Thanks again.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #8, by luvinpadfoot Winter's Embrace

14th January 2015:
Squee! :D So excited that you wrote this! I can't believe you actually wrote a story for me. :D I love post-war stories about Lavender because she seems like she'd be a different person in some ways. Everyone does after Voldemort's death, I guess.

This was so beautifully written. I loved the way you intertwined her emotions with her music/violin. I'm not a musician myself, but you made me understand how that could feel. The little detail about her violin being a Stradivarius was such a nice thing to add. It's really the small details that give the story more depth and bring it to life.

I've never picture Lavender as a musician before, but your story made that such a natural part of her character. She just is a musician.

I absolutely loved how you described the music. I'm not going to quote the whole thing here because it's a little long, but it was when you talked about how the lively pieces were storms and the slower pieces like hope and a blanket of snow. That fits so perfectly with the song itself. I've heard my brother play it loads of times and that description is wonderful. In many cases, music is tied so closely with emotion and you wrote that amazingly here. The two belong together so well and you brought that into your story.

This time I will quote, but I loved the line "Her heart had been locked away in an icy cage of her own making." That's beautiful. I don't even know what to say about it other than it's such a beautiful line that fit so well with the story, the song, the character, everything. Just wow.

I think throughout the story I felt so bad for her, but I also couldn't help feeling a little annoyed that she was being petty. But then I'd just feel worse for her. Her life just seems so sad. She's not the world's nicest person, but really who would be in her shoes? Everything she holds important has been taken away from her and now she's just bitter and sad. I want to give her a long hug and a cup of hot chocolate, but I also want to whack some sense into her. I think I'm torn.

The title and the last line are perfect. It's just a perfect way to begin and end the story. It's so well worded and sad and you get the tone spot on. It's so sad and so bitter. And so utterly hopeless. But Winter's Embrace was a lovely phrase to use in both the story and for the title. I think that summed up her relationship with the music perfectly. Have I used that word too many times?
I loved this story so much! It was just so sad and beautiful. I loved your wording and descriptions of emotions. Her continued hatred of Fenrir, losing her will to live. There's just so much about it that flows so well. I adored this little one shot. Thank you so much for writing it! :D

Author's Response: Oh I'm so happy you liked it!

I was so worried that it wouldn't be what you were hoping for so it's nice to know you enjoyed it. This one was really fun to write, and if you have any more prompts you want to send my way, please feel free. When I first saw your idea I was kind of like "Hmmm I have no idea how to write that" and so I had to listen to Winter about 20 times, and then to the entire 4 Seasons from Vivaldi to notice the differences.

I wanted to keep with the tone of Winter and that's why I made her so sad and bitter, but I wanted to give her something of a reprieve too. Grief does funny things to people, so I really wanted to capture the idea of how she might channel her frustration and sadness into a passion that she latched onto in the aftermath of her loss.

Absolutely fantastic prompt. I loved how challenging it was, so thank you so much for coming up with the idea. I hope I did it all the justice you were hoping for it.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login