Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Hey Lily
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heaven Snow

28th July 2015:
That second paragraphy with "too many curls". I see what you did there! **smirks*

Hey, hey, hey! I'm here to shower some review love on all Slytherins who participated in the HC 2k15!

Aww! This was just too cute! I don't know how Lily and Azalea's relationship will fare in the future, but for now, they love each other, and that's enough.

I really liked reading Lily grow up through the different winters. Each one meant something different, and had a distinct emotional tone. That made each section quite separate from each other, but because they all took place in the winter time, and we got to experience the scene through Lily, it still flowed well. And plus it was in chronological order, so that helped too.

I really loved the descriptions in this! I could imagine everything in my head - and worst of all, feel the cold! That's actually not a bad thing, but I really don't like the cold :P

Could you possibly write a sequel for this story where everything works out for these two? I so want them to be happy and together! Thanks for the lovely read :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by LadyL8 Snow

28th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015 Review

Hi Lottie

So I'm here. I can't remember if and how many many stories of yours I've read - it's all gone sort of blurry between the anon review spree, the Spring Secret Santa, another round of anon reviews and a couple of promised reviews from status updates. But I think I might've read something of your before, but I'm definitely not sure. Anyway, if I haven't, I'm so glad to finally read something of yours, and if I have, then I'm glad to be back to read more of your stories.

Wow. This really caught my attention from the very first line. I loved the description. I'm not a fan of winter myself, but I love when people get the description of it right. Winter is such a beautiful time of the year (if you started singing a certain christmas song by certain Canadian artist that I'm actually not a fan of but my little sister is, then bonus points to you - if I could give points that is :P). I envy your descriptions - it's like I can see it all happening - I struggle so much with description myself that I'm always envious of those that can do it so perfectly. And you can.

I didn't realise at first that Lily was deaf, but I think that's just another interesting element in the story. There so few stories where characters are deaf or blind, so I love when people dare to do it. I suppose it's hard - if you can see and hear yourself - to imagine what it would be like if you couldn't. Maybe that's why we don't write that much about it - because we're afraid of doing it wrong. But you didn't do it wrong if you ask me - I like Lily's endearing childlike behavior (it took me a while to realise she was a child), but at the same time I think she seems more mature than many children.

And Lily and Azalea (cool name, by the way) are so cute together, I just had to say that.

Sorry I can't stay for longer, but it's the HC so I have to be short. Good job on the story, though.

Have a wonderful week!

Hugs

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #3, by rosiful Snow

28th June 2015:
Firstly I'd like to say that your descriptions are amazing! Even just the imagery you've created of snowflakes falling on her face makes me envious!
I didn't realise at first that Lily was deaf, but it does make sense. It does explain how she sees the world with so vividly, in everything but sound.

Azalea is so cute, I'm so happy for her to be with Lily, especially as she learnt sign language in order to communicate easier with her. They seem like such a perfect match. It is quite sad though that they are moving in different directions after Hogwarts. I'm just going to believe that they find each other again and do live happily together eventually.

Thank you for sharing this beautiful story!

Rosiful
Slytherin House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #4, by Dojh167 Snow

28th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015 Review

I love that you made winter Lily’s favorite time of year. I generally think of her as a more bright and summary person, and by making her love winter I think you’ve added some interested depth to her. Your description of the snow also reminds me of the snow when Harry and Hermione visit Godric’s Hollow, so I find that connection very poignant.

Haha, “too many curls!” I see what you did there… I probably won’t catch all the little gems you included for Rose, but this seems like such a lovely little gift.

I didn’t realize that the beginning was about Lily as a child until she was in the house. I think that was very interesting and not necessarily a bad thing, as it gave her a sense of serenity and maturity that is very interesting to see in a child. That kind of kinesthetic connection to nature is also something that is very child-like.

[Woops, then I realize this is about Lily II. Totally thought I was reading about Lily Evans. Don’t mind me.]

I like how you continue Lily’s independent streak her by having her chose to stay at Hogwarts without her brothers and take things into her own hands. This build really well on the maturity you established earlier.

In the paragraph beginning “A soft but sudden pressure,” you begin three sentences in a row with the word “she.” This does not serve the flow of your story.

Ah, I love it! I love how you didn’t make a big deal of establishing that Lily was a Slytherin or deaf at the beginning of the story, but let these things develop naturally. Yay diverse representation! And gay! All the yay!

Thank you very much for this gem of a story. I would absolutely love to read more about this Lily.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #5, by maskedmuggle Snow

28th June 2015:
Hey!

This was such a sweet story, and captured this moment in time perfectly. Although the future for them together looks a bit hesitant, even if individually they have plans for what they want to do after that, I got a really good sense of how they felt about each other here. What I really loved was the theme of winter you used here, from the first part with Lily as a young kid, to how she first met Azalea to the end of their journey at Hogwarts. On that note, I loved your choice of name - Azalea - especially since it's related to a flower derived name as well - it made me think that the two really were so perfect for each other. So kudos to you for the great relationship you wrote about here, and the different parts of the story worked really well together - it felt really cohesive because of the winter theme. All in all, great story - i enjoyed reading it!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #6, by DracoFerret11 Snow

27th June 2015:
Hello again! DarkRose here once more to review for the House Cup!

A few spelling/grammar errors in this story: you left the "e" off the end of Hogsmeade; Quidditch was misspelled and not capitalized; and you didn't capitalize Whomping Willow. But other than that, spelling and grammar were fine!

Plot & Descriptions: This was so unique! I really liked it! It took me quite a while to realize that Lily was deaf, but I found it really intriguing when I did. The way you described her world was so full and detailed that I didn't notice at first that there was a sense missing. When I realized it, though, it was cool, because it was almost as if I read the rest of the story muffled. It was a great effect, and you wrote it really well.

Characterization: I really think Lily was believable and interesting. I don't read a lot of Next Gen, but I liked this. And Azalea was such a sweet character. Their relationship was really special by the end, and I found myself rooting for them. I hope they make it past the end of this story, even if you never write about them again. :)

Interactions: I just have to mention how special it was that Azalea learned sign language for Lily. And how lovely that made their relationship. Their love made the winter seem pretty warm. ;)

Overall, this was great. I enjoyed reading it and think you wrote it very well. I love your style. Great job with your wielding of this situation. Really original and cool. :)

Emily
House Cup 2015, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #7, by LastMinuteLuna Snow

31st May 2015:
Hello! Hello!

I'm LastMinuteLuna and I'm dropping by to leave you a review for the Pass It Along Challenge! I know. I know. It's awfully close to the deadline. I am cutting it quite close, but they don't call me LastMinuteLuna for nothing!

But enough about me. Let's talk about your fabulous story!

I absolutely adored your portrayal of Lily and how she just wants a break from the chaos of being a Potter. I could imagine that getting very exhausting and the silence of the deserted castle being very refreshing.

The relationship between Azalea and Lily is very sweet. It was nice how you developed it from their tentative meeting over winter vacation. It was sweet and innocent and really just a genuinely nice moment.

It saddens me to think that Lily and Azalea might have to part, but it's a beautiful thing that they aren't holding each other back from what they want to do in life. I can only hope that at some point down the road they'll reunite.

The only small bit of CC that I have to offer is that I noticed a few typos while reading this. They weren't major, but it would be worth fixing if you had the chance.

Otherwise, good work! I quite enjoyed this.

Uh oh! Times up. I have to run. I've got a few more reviews to leave and the deadline is approaching! Thanks for such a sweet story!

From,
LastMinuteLuna

 Report Review

Review #8, by The Hot Cross Bun Monster Snow

3rd April 2015:
What is this? Have you dared to try and turn The Hot Cross Bun Monster’s heart to a mushy one?

I normally avoid romance, soppy things and things which are generally meant to put everyone in a good mood at all cost because as a monster I’m meant to be evil and all that jazz, but this was written very well and made me consider changing my mind about that. Lily, I must say, was rather adorable with the way she almost seemed to glide through the world and her happiness was almost infectious I must say.

The description of all things winter and snowy was rather beautiful too though, it did make my raisins almost freeze due to how realistic your description was.

Azalea was rather cute too and her and Lily almost seemed to bounce off one of another as they were so full of energy and life and wanted to make everything happy again. It almost made me consider a new path of life away from evilness which goes to show how effective your writing was in this story.

Bravo, I say!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you very much for such a fabulous reveiw.

Turn your heart to mush? Why, I wouldn't dare attempt such a thing for fear of your terrifying wrath *shify eyes*

Monsters are more than welcome to do whatever they like. In my opinion it is like feminism. Feminism is about everyone, whomever they are, being equal. That should count for monsters too.

Oh no! I do hope your raisins have now defrosted. I imagine that would be quite uncomfortable.

Squee, I'm so glad you liked Lily and Azalea. Thank you so very much, and I'm glad you liked it!

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #9, by alicia and anne Snow

16th March 2015:
I absolutely adore the way that you've described the winter and the snowflakes. As well as how she feels about it all. I can just imagine her dancing in it.

I do love that she was able to get away from being with her family, it must feel nice to have some time to herself, instead of being surrounded by so many people.

Awww that was adorable the way that she wrote sorry on the window! Absolutely amazing! and I love that winter has made it possible for them to communicate that way! :D

Aw! This was absolutely adorable! And I loved it so much. I have such warm feelings in my heart now and I want to hug you for writing an amazing one shot! *hugs you so tightly*

Author's Response: Hi! *hugs you so tightly back*

Thank you so much for such a super lovely review. You are so lovely, and I honestly can't stop smiling. I don't know how to respond without simply gushing about how kind you are, so I'm going to try and retain some semblance of dignity and say thank you again.

Gah, I'm going to be blushing all day!

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #10, by Lostmyheart Snow

16th March 2015:
Such an adorable story! Lottie, this may be the first sweet fluffy story I've read this year. You know me, I tend to read the darker ones, for some reason.

There is something magical about the way you describe the situations, the scenery in front of the characters and how they feel. You do it so beautifully and this story was no exception. I loved that scene where she looks at the lake and the trees, I could imagine it so perfectly and how she met Azalea was cute.

I'm glad I read this story! Especially on a bad day like this, so it's nice to smile again.

I love reading your stories, you're an exceptional writer!

- Avi

Author's Response: Avi! *hugs*

Well I feel very priviliged that you chose to read one of my fluffier stories then! I do know how you love darker ones.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and I'm pleased that it made you smile. I hope you're doing okay and that your day wasn't too terrible.

N'aww, thank you very much Avi. Your reviews always make me blush. :)

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #11, by EnigmaticEyes16 Snow

13th March 2015:
Hello again! This is a very curious story! Brings about all kinds of questions! I've never read a story centered on a deaf student before, but this was very interesting. First I was surprised simply because Lily was a Slytherin, then even more surprised when I realized she was also deaf. I have to wonder how a deaf student would manage at Hogwarts. Do her teachers know how to sign? If not, does she have an interpreter to translate for her? And it doesn't seem as if she has many friends, since besides this Ravenclaw, you only mention her brothers and Hugo. It must be hard living and studying at Hogwarts without being able to communicate with a large portion of the student body. I'm very curious to read more though. I do like how she was able to make a friend who was willing to learn how to sign for her, although it's sad that they will be separated after graduation.

All in all, I thought this was a very sweet story and beautifully written.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix!

I usually see Lily as a Slytherin. I mean, I read about her in just about every house but to me she is the one of Harry's kids most like to end up there. And yes, Lily is deaf. I have a lot of friends in the Deaf community and can sign pretty well. I didn't want to make it a 'big thing' because to me it's really not.

They are witches and wizards, so I would assume that it could be translated using magic. Or there may be a member of staff who signs, or a teaching assistant employed by the ministry say. The only issue I can find is that non-verbal magic is considered very advanced, and Lily would be learning this from first year.

I think that some of her classmates would learn to sign, and she would communicate with them. I just don't see Lily as a very sociable child, because she always feels surrounded by people and my Lily prefers to be alone, or in a small group. I picture her more as an introvert. Plus it is easier to sign to one or two people than 15 odd at once.

Thank you very much for your review!

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #12, by miss author Snow

8th March 2015:
Aww! So cute-sies :)

Author's Response: Why thank you very much :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login