Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for cherish
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Beeezie all these simple things

16th May 2015:
Hi, Sarah!

This was such a cute story - I really enjoyed it! I feel like often, people who are a little introverted and not in the middle of all the excitement and festivities are painted as being depressed and/or not enjoying themselves, but IME that's often not at all the case, and I think you showed that with Lily perfectly. She came across to me as totally peaceful and enjoying herself, which is wonderful. :)

Speaking of wonderful, I loved your depiction of the Weasleys in general. It was just such a wonderful depiction of their Christmas - so frantic but so, so loving.

And YAY queer Weasleys - I'm a Rose/Scorpius fan, but Albus/Scorpius is definitely growing on me, and my Roxanne is also definitely queer. (Actually, most of my next-gen Weasley women are queer - not sure how that happened, but hey. :P)

This was lovely. ♥ (And it kind of makes me wish it was Christmas. :P)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Crumple-Horned Snorkack all these simple things

2nd May 2015:
Greetings! I am the Crumple-Horned Snorkack, an elusive creature who hides in the forest, but today I have made an exception to venture out into the HPFF Archives and read this story!

This captured the spirit of winter and of a large family Christmas so well - all these little details you included just make the scene come alive. I practically felt I was there with Lily, sipping hot cocoa, watching chaos ensue as people run around and James tries to pull unsuccessful pranks and Ron tells old stories. Alas, winter in the northern boreal forest is cold and I was doing none of these things, but this made me understand why humans are so fond of this time of year.

The end was really sweet too, as Lily welcomes her fiancé into all the madness of her family as well - the two of them are really cute.

I love how you've really conveyed so much of the atmosphere of Christmas in so few words - this is such a lovely piece. I am glad I read it because it gave me a great deal of insight about humans and their customs. But now it's back to the woods for me, for I promised to meet my BFF Bigfoot for tea.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Fuzzy Duck all these simple things

10th April 2015:
quack!

I'm a fuzzy duck who just hatched a few days ago, and I'm reviewing stories on HPFF to improve my reading comprehension! (If I were in a House, I would definitely be in Ravenclaw. House of the birds, and I love big words!)

I love that you used such a fluffy song to complement this very fluffy story. You did a wonderful job describing elements of the Weasley-Potter family as they are in their older years--I love the details about Albus and Scorpius's kid especially!

Alistair made a very minor appearance in this one-shot, but he seems like a guy that could be good for Lily. Is he just her boyfriend, or fiance/husband? I wish I could know a little more about him, but I think you did a great job of introducing him with the new stocking. Hopefully that stocking makes a regular appearance in the coming years. :)

All this talk of Christmas has me excited for my first Christmas, which won't be for several months yet! I was (almost) born yesterday, you know!

I must waddle on down the lane, but thanks for publishing this cute story! Remember to be kind to your web-footed friends!

♥Fuzzy Duck

 Report Review

Review #4, by The Basilisk all these simple things

21st March 2015:
Hi there, Sarah - it's the Basilissk. Just thought I'd pop in and meet some new characterss, the chamber getss sso dull, you know?

I loved this story! Your song choice was great - I love Pentatonix, even if they are some silly muggle group. This was a simply wonderful piece of fluff. I definitely am craving more, now. Lots and lots more. I don't think I'll ever be satisfied! I certainly understand how this won first place! Lily is a hilarious (and cute) main character and it was really enjoyable to read this story from her perspective. Your writing is brilliant - it's so light and well suited to this kind of story, and I'm incredibly glad I had the chance to read it!

Thankss for the great read, Ssarah!

(I've decided to post 44 reviews over the next little while. Each one of them has a character at the bottom. If you can find all 44 reviews (not all are out yet, so keep your eyes peeled) and rearrange the letters into a quote from Harry Potter and PM it to WriteYourHeartOut on the forums you could win a donation to HPFF in your name! There's a topic in the Off Topic Section if you want to collaborate your efforts!)

Thankss again,
The Basilisk

U

 Report Review

Review #5, by Santa Claus all these simple things

29th December 2014:
Ho ho ho, and hello again, Sarah! I come bearing the gift of a new review!

This was just the perfect little Christmas fic! Sweet and fluffy and beautiful in its simplicity. You created this atmosphere that just amplifies the Christmas spirit - how it's about being with your whole family and enjoying traditions and moments, rather than being about what you've given or received. At the very base of this story is simply love of a family who probably doesn't get the chance to get together all at once like this very often. It's just lovely.

I love that in such a short amount of time, you still managed to introduce and give distinct traits and attributes to certain characters - like James and his always awry pranks, or Ron and his retelling of the same old story about Seamus.

And then there's Lily. I really love your version of her. I was on your profile not long ago when I saw that all of your stories - sans Double Trouble - are all part of one of two universes, and I think that's just so cool! I was reminded of it when you mentioned Alastair being the new addition to the family and adding his stocking to the mix (such a sweet moment you describe that as, by the way). So seeing as this is the same Lily from the other story I read of them, I have to just emphasize how much I enjoy your version of her. It's very clear how familiar you are with your version of Lily - that she's a three dimensional character to you who you have mapped out intricate details about, and that sort of effort really shines through in your stories.

The song you chose, while I've not actually heard it before, seemed to fit perfectly with the story you built around it. This line in particular summed up exactly how this story felt to me: And we'll cherish all these simple things wherever we may be - Love that idea and love how it's reflected in your writing. You truly are gifted in the art of Song Fics, my dear.

This was just wonderful. I hope that you had just as wonderful a Christmas as you created here! From what I can tell, it involved a surprise trip to Disney and Universal, make-up, nail polish and supplies, a scarf, Sims 4, Just Dance, pajamas, and lots of candy, including some delicious Jelly Slugs! I should know because I delivered many of those gifts, and not because I've been stalking your every move. Obviously.

Anyway, I'm glad to see you did indeed have a Merry Christmas, Sarah, and I'll be seeing you again soon.

Santa Claus

 Report Review

Review #6, by Veritaserum27 all these simple things

28th December 2014:
Hiya Sweetie!

I'm working through all of the RWWW entries! Aww - this was so cute! I love your fluff stories and I love the way you write Lily Luna. You make me want to know more. Who is this Alistair (love the name - any relation to Moody?)? How did he and Lily meet? What is next for them?

The way you describe Christmas is the way I feel about it when I get to be with my extended family. My dad has 4 brothers and when we all get together it is pretty much the same way. I love to walk around the house and hear the different conversations going on, see the kids playing together, making up a "show" for us to watch and just snuggling on the couch with my cousins like Lily and Rose.

Thanks for an awesome little piece to warm my heart!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #7, by kenpo all these simple things

27th December 2014:
Hello dearest!

You said that this was worst thing that you've ever written, but you saying that was actually the worst thing you've ever said because it was LIE

Wow I'm sorry that was a really weird way to say no this wasn't at all horrible! I like it a lot, actually.

(Okay random thing, I think it's because the text of the story ended in italics, but all of the other things are also in italics and it's weird. Like, the Read Chapter, Favorite, Reading List, Write a Review, etc. ALl of that. It's all italics. It's freaking me out a little. I'll snapchat you.)

Something that I liked was how much chaos there seems to be around her (the arguing, the drama, the running about, the... Weasleys!), but she's still calm and serene and I just love it. It's like her family is the Trans-Siberian orchestra and she's Judy Garland. And then you mix those two together and get Pentatonix.

It's really weird because an ad for this song came on my Spotify while I was reading this.

WAIT WAIT WAIT THE ENTIRE WEASLEY CLAN STAYS THERE... OVERNIGHT?

Where. WHere do they do that. Pleas please please write more about this I want to just ready Weasley Christmas FOREVER.

Alright, I'm sorry, this is a really horrible review because it is very late, but I did enjoy this story very much, and I think that your statement about it being horrible was very very wrong!

Oooo I thought of something else to say. I liked the imagery of the stockings, and more and more stockings as the family grows.

I really liked this! I just can't get over the overnight thing. UNless I read it wrong.

Merry Christmas, Love!

-Georgia.

 Report Review

Review #8, by patronus_charm all these simple things

23rd December 2014:
Merry Christmas Sarah! ♥

Aw, aw, aw, this was so cute and so lovely and so adorable and yay for next gen songfics! Speaking of songfics, this one was so great as the lyrics really added to the story and I really liked how each section linked to what Lily was currently thinking as it made the transition between lyrics and story really smooth and it meant they added to the story so much.

Lily's thoughts really did make me laugh as there seemed to be a sense of calm in them despite all the chaos of a Weasley Christmas going on before so that was funny to read and to notice the contrast between it all. I really liked how you managed to get such an array of people into the story as that's no small feat given how the one-shot was only 800 words or so with lyrics so kudos to you as it didn't feel rushed at all either.

The way you tied it into the prompt was so cute as it was so nice to see that Lily was starting her own life and this was the first step of it by bringing her boyfriend home with her. Alistair was so cute too as it felt as if he was meant to be there and just fitted into the family and I can just imagine them living a cute and happy life together now, and wah just general cuteness really.

I spotted a tiny thing here 'Teddy and Victoires three year old chased' where you missed the apostrophe but apart from that this was a fab read and I really enjoyed it! ♥

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #9, by snufflesthedog all these simple things

23rd December 2014:
Hi!

This was such a lovely one-shot! It also perfectly matches the beautiful banner, to create a really nice mood over all. I loved the idea of seeing the new Potter-Weasley family, all together again. It was totally heart-warming (and very festive).

I also just have to say that I LOVE Pentatonix so I went crazy when I saw the lyrics. The song really gave rhythm and a new depth to the already really lovely story! I think there were two or three small typos, but nothing that really deteriorated from the wonderful over-all effect.

snufflesthedog :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login