Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for A white, white world.
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Tonks1247 A gurgle of clarity.

17th July 2015:
Heya! Iím here from the review battle! I hope you donít mind, but I totally decided I had to read this story the second I realized it was about Alice after she was tortured because Iíve actually been spending a lot of time thinking about her character and I was eager to see another perspective on what the turnout was for her.

So. This was really, really well written. I like the voice that you used in the story, with it being third person but feeling much more personal than many third person stories tend to be. You really captured the thoughts that surrounded Alice and her experience in a world she didnít really understand. I loved the repeating of things three times over and how that was significant to Alice with how she processed or remembered things. It really brought to life the fact that she could not function like she once did, and it was kind of heart-breaking but amazing all at the same time.

I think the other major thing I loved about this was Augustaís reaction to seeing Alice and Frank for the first time and how she took some time to bring Neville in to see his parents for the first time. Like, itís really rather heart breaking to think about how Augusta went from being a grandma to being primary caregiver to her grandchild and having to see her son and his wife being totally lost and totally different people than she ever knewÖitís really unfair, how life dealt her that cards, but I do feel you illustrated her coping well. I also totally agree with her decision to keep Neville from his parents for a while, giving him time to adjust to not having them around and preparing him just a little bit for his parents not to recognize him like heís used to. Like, the whole thought of how baby Neville, hardly a year old, would have to adjust to not having his mum or dad around when his whole life revolves around them, and then to be reintroduced to them only to find they donít know him at all, despite him knowing themÖreally a bittersweet thingÖ

Despite that fact (and my ability to go off on tangents), I think you really bring to light a happy moment here, with Christmas. Itís bittersweet, as itís good that Nevilleís reunited with his parents and itís good that Alice feels a little better, a little safe and more at ease with Augusta and Frank and Neville there. Like, itís really hard but really sweet all at the same time. And I feel you capture the moment very well and Iím really impressed with what you have done with her character.

Anddd I will share my favourite quote:

ďMaybe that was what Christmas was. Being together so everything could be okay again. If it was like that, she liked the idea of it a lot.Ē

Really, really lovely!
-Mikaela

 Report Review

Review #2, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing A gurgle of clarity.

12th June 2015:
Hey again.

Here for the House Cup 2015 - gryffindor!

Oh Kiana! This made me so sad and so happy at the same time. Alice and Frank... I always get sad reading about them and what happened. And even though you stuck to canon and didn't make them better or anything, there's like a hopeful tone in this story. Alice is confused and doesn't know who she is or what happened to her, but Franks next to her and makes her smile and she dreams of Neville until Augusta finally brings him to see them. The whole thing was just so sweet and it brought a tear to my eye. Especially the bit where Augusta talks to Alice... I like how you had Alice see a softer side to her, and showed how much she loves Neville too. The bit where she wonders if she should have come sooner was especially heart wrenching - despite what she thinks I'm certain it wouldn't have made any difference.

Again, I have to compliment you on your writing. The way you make words flow so beautifully is really an art form and it makes reading anything you write just a joy. I like the focus on colours too as Alice doesn't really know what's happening... The White of the hospital, blue of the healers and red and green of christmas.

As always, a wonderful job. I really need to stop by here more often &hearts

Lauren

Author's Response: Hey Lauren!

Hahaha, I know what you mean as I had a crazy amount of feels whilst writing this as Alice and Frank are so adorable yet so heart-breaking at the same time. As much as I would like to change the canon of their story I could never do that, so I'm glad you liked it anyway as there could still be a bit of hope for them despite it all.

Aw, thank you so much! Your compliments really put a smile on my face and make my day and I really want you to know how much I appreciate them.

Thanks a ton!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #3, by krazyboutharryginny A gurgle of clarity.

15th April 2015:
Hey Kiana! I'm here for our review swap! Sorry, I know you said you'd prefer one of the first 3, but this fic really caught my interest, so I hope a review on this instead is okay.

This is obviously super sad, given the subject material. There are some bittersweet moments, too, mixed in with the ones that are just plain ol' sad. The ending with Neville had me almost in tears, honestly. Another example is how Frank makes Alice smile, even though she can't remember who he is.

I actually don't think I've ever read a story about this subject from the point of view of Alice. I never really questioned this, because that point of view seemed difficult to pull off, for obvious reasons. But you've REALLY pulled it off here. Your use of repetition to illustrate Alice's mental state was super effective. I also loved the way you brought colours into it, and the way that colours = Alice's entire world - because, really, that would be how it felt, I think. Hospitals are so drab and colourless, and I think I would start to feel so trapped after staying in one for even a day. I can't even imagine having to live in one for the rest of my life. It seems so believable that the presence of new colours would be really meaningful and a big deal.

I think you did a really fantastic job on this story, Kiana. I'll have to R&R some of your other work when I have a chance!

-Kayla

Author's Response: Hey Kayla! It's fine, as this review is really lovely and I'm glad that it caught your interest :)

Haha, yes, I had such a strange mix of emotions going through me whilst I was writing this because at once I was almost crying because Alice's life is so sad, but then she can still have happy moments too, so I felt very, very conflicted :P

Aw, thank you so much! I've only ever read one other story from this point of view before and it really was excellent so I wanted to give it a go myself as Alice has always intrigued me. Aw, thanks, I think colours are the most vibrant parts of life and are the things which make you remember everything so I thought it made sense it would be the one thing she could cling to.

Aw, thank you so much for this lovely review, it really made me smile! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #4, by The Basilisk A gurgle of clarity.

24th March 2015:
Hello, Kiana! It'ss me: the Bassilissk!

I'm positively sobbing, oh god. This was the saddest thing I've ever read, but simultaneously one of the happiest things I've read. How do you make me feel these things? Let me start out by saying that you're amazing. I've noticed in all your stories: you talent with imagery sticks out insanely well for me. You're amazing at the whole "show a reader, don't tell them" thing and it gets better with every story you wrote. Especially with that little bit of synesthesia. I assume that was intended? :P

But, God. I'm in awe. Just getting inside the head of Alice and having it all so real and heartbreaking. How do you do this? I just want to sit and suck on my thumb for a few hours. Help me, I've lost the ability to function.

Anyway, thiss wasss abssolutely jaw droppingly, heart breakingly wonderful. Thankss for the great read!

(I've decided to post 44 reviews over the next little while. Each one of them has a character at the bottom. If you can find all 44 reviews (not all are out yet, so keep your eyes peeled) and rearrange the letters into a quote from Harry Potter and PM it to WriteYourHeartOut on the forums you could win a donation to HPFF in your name! There's a topic in the Off Topic Section if you want to collaborate your efforts!)

Thankss again,
The Basilissk

P

Author's Response: Hello The Basilisk, I still haven't figured out who you are, hopefully I'll be able to some day!

Oh, I'm so sorry *pets the Basilisk* Thank you so, so, so much, this is honestly one of the sweetest, kindest, most wonderful reviews I've ever received as it's just making me flail around a little and be all rojfvpreovr. I really wish I knew who you were so I could thank you properly!

Aw, thank you so much, though I apologise again for putting you in that state!

Thank you so, so, so, so much for this wonderful review I'm not really sure what to do/say other than thank you, thank you, thank you! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #5, by Pangur BŠn A gurgle of clarity.

9th March 2015:
Meoow, I do like the first words here. White...white like me. Purr.

It's good she has somebody nice around her. I was always treated nicely. The hospital staff seem like really horrible people.

I really like the paragraph where she compares her feelings about her baby to those about her husband, neither of whom she knows.

Christmas is confusing to a cat too, but when the man you live with is a monk, you just have to sort of accept it. Monks consider Christmas sort of important, apparently.

Like the description of how it felt like Frank had always been making her smile.

And I do like the way she knows she recognises her baby, even when she's not sure who he is and cannot recognise anybody else.

I do like this story. Purr, purr.

Author's Response: Meow, meow, are you a cat? If so, yay, as I do love them a lot.

That's a good thing that you and her are both treated nicely as it is very important. Yes, they aren't as nice as her family. She really does miss her baby and husband which is so sad and I wish she could remember who they were.

Oooh, I didn't know that about monks so that is very interesting. I wonder which monk you lived with? Aw, I'm glad that you liked the bit with Frank as she got some Christmas cheer then.

Aw, I know there had to be some happiness in the world as it is Christmas! Thanks for this fab review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #6, by toomanycurls A gurgle of clarity.

5th February 2015:
Kiana!!

You made me cry and smile in this. You've packed this with such strong feels that it's impossible not to feel something after reading it. Alice's fixation on words throughout the narrative was very powerful as it showed her incoherant thought and how they must have echoed through her mind.

What I found incredibly sad that they didn't try to explain to her what happened (and that they weren't nice). I've found that so many caregivers are quite callous when it comes to a longterm patient (or when they treat the same issues all the time).

Alice's impressions of Frank were so sweet and incredibly sad. I love that she still got a spartk of joy from Frank's smiles and gurgles. That also breaks my heart - that they're unsure about why they have that spark towards each other and that neither of them are capable of expression beyond gurgling and moaning. Alice's memories of Neville were also quite heartbreaking. Part of me is glad that she doesn't remember the concept of mother or child because that would be too sad. I liked that they were talking to Alice about Neville even if she didn't quite have a concept for who he is.

Christmas was another very bittersweet moment you captured. I like how it set up their Christmas visits - one of which we saw in OotP. My optimistic side wants to think that Neville remained a thought that reverberated through Alice's head throughout time.

This is a lovely piece!

-Rose

Author's Response: Hey Rose!! Sorry for being terrible with replying to this life was crazy recently :P

Aw, I'm so glad that you felt those things because I wanted to show how even though Alice's life may seem so sad and horrible, she can still have those happy moments so it still is worth living in a way.

I know, I think they probably thought she would forget straight away so there's no point in telling her as it would be too upsetting. I would like to think they got more compassionate with time and told her later on but we'll see.

I know, they are seriously one of my favourite HP couples as they are so adorable so seeing them like this breaks my heart. I know what you mean that it almost seems better, in the cruellest way mind, that she can't remember a thing because that way she can at least try and move on her with her life a little. Yes, I think maternal bonds are so deep that it would be impossible to completely break them which is probably why she remembers Neville best out of everyone.

I'm glad that you spotted the link there as that's what initially sparked my whole inspiration for this story. I would like to think Neville was always the one who guided through this as it would make him an even more awesome person! :D

Thanks for this fab review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #7, by UnluckyStar57 A gurgle of clarity.

12th January 2015:
Hey Kiana! I'm here for the January BvB! :D

Ugh, I'm simultaneously happy and sad that I chose to read this one. Like, I'm sitting in public right now and I'm about to cry!! No!

For my own sake, and for the sake of the general public, I'll try to contain myself.

I've (maybe) said it before and I'll (probably) say it again: You are just to good. Because this story exists on so many levels that I can't even fathom most of it.

On one hand, this is supposed to be a joyful thing. I mean, Alice is starting to remember things. She's recovering. She's experiencing more color in her life, departing from that white, white world. It's a tale of mental illness--not just an illness induced by magic, but a more universal concept--and how it can be overcome in mysterious ways. It's a tale of family and remembering and love and Christmas.

But it's also sad. Because Alice Longbottom can't remember who the gurgling man beside her is, and the reason why she can't remember is because some ill-intentioned young men and women tortured her into this state of amnesia. I couldn't ignore that fact--it confronted me with every forgotten name, every new development in Alice's mind. THE FEELS, KIANA, THE FEELS. It hit me right where it hurt the most, and seriously, that is just the coolest thing. Teach me your ways, plzzz.

Other nice things that I liked: The use of color. It was dazzling to experience the world through Alice's eyes, and I could picture the happiness she felt with each new color. Baby!Neville is totes adorbs, and I want him. (This coming from ME, who is uneasy around tiny children!) Augusta. AugustaAugustaAugusta. This is a moment that defines Neville's gran, and I can see where her character is going. She wants Neville to live up to his parents' legacy, and she is still in that state of knowing beyond the shadow of a doubt that he'll be a great wizard. She'll come to doubt this assessment later on, but not yet.

So thanks for giving me ALL the feels. I have to go to Creative Writing class now, so maybe I'll learn your tricksy writing secrets. ♥

~Mallory

Author's Response: Hey Mallory!

Bahaha, sorry for making it awkward for you as that doesn't sound like a fun position to be in!

But, wahahodifhref, thank you so much, you are so lovely and wonderful and yeah, thank you! ♥

I'm glad that you picked up on the joyful aspect of it as I was a little worried it would be lost in the sorrow of it all, so yay for that! I think those things like family, love and Christmas really can help you overcome amazing things as they have such magical qualities about them which I guess is why Alice did start to get a little better.

I know, I know, I know, I just want to cry and cry and cry as it's so cruel that she had to have that all taken from her. I'm sorry for the feels, I know how much it hurts when you think about it. As for teaching you, I guess I just sort of channel all the horrible and upsetting things which have gone in my life into writing so they don't feel so bad anymore if that makes sense?

Yay, for that, I thought it would be quite a similar thing to remember for Alice as colours really are vibrant and bold and what make life life if that makes sense, so that's why they were so important to her. Yay for Augusta, I feel so much for her because even though she was kinda cruel to Neville in a way, it was only because she loved these two so much she just can't deal with them being gone.

Aw, thank you for this fabulous review, it was one of the best I've ever received :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodore A gurgle of clarity.

27th December 2014:
Hi Kiana! As I'm out at the moment this is a phone review so there may be a few typos, but bear with me!

This was beautiful! I really haven't read many stories about Alice at all, and I don't think I can actually remember reading a story set after her illness and yet told from her point of view. You really managed to get inside her mind well for this story and convey her thoughts and emotions - the most prominent of those being confusion and bewilderment - effectively. Even though it was sad at times this was still a lovely and poignant story, and I loved the fact that it had a happier ending for Christmas!

The triplication that you used again here, repeating the same word or phrase at the beginning of a paragraph, was so great in this story. In your story about Snape, it really emphasised his obsession with Lily, but here it had a different effect. It worked brilliantly to emphasise the real confusion that Alice feels about what is going on around her, the way that she tries her best to make sense of what is happening at a time when nothing seems to make sense to her anymore.

I really liked the progression in this story from the beginning, how you started with the beginning of Alice's illness after the torture, when she's surrounded by Healers in the hospital who are trying to help her but at the same time probably dealing with it in the wrong way; there was something almost antiquated about the treatment she appeared to receive at first, with the way that she was subdued. At that point, not long after arriving in the hospital, Alice seems to have an awful existence and I thought you portrayed her fear and confusion really well. But after that point there were subtle differences and things did seem to get better for her slowly, although of course she never regained the life she had once had. It's so sad to thing about what she lost when she was still living after the war.

I loved the way that Alice gradually started to recognise some of her surroundings, even though she couldn't put a name to all of he familiar things and faces. When she started to acknowledge Frank and notice more about his presence it was really sweet because even though she couldn't remember who he was, he was still a comfort to her.

Augusta was so well written here! I think she is such a difficult character to write, but I liked the way that Alice didn't recognise her but liked the stories she told, and that the reader could see through the dialogue how difficult she was finding it to deal with the aftermath of the attack on her son and daughter-in-law as well as bringing up a young child. But I was so glad she was able to give Alice some hope and comfort too.

I think the parts about Neville were the sweetest and most poignant to read. When Alice first vaguely recalled a baby it was so sad to think she couldn't even properly remember her son after what the Death Eaters did, but by the end of the story I was smiling at the reunion. In the glimpse we get from the books, Alice does seem to recognise Neville when he visits and it was lovely to see the first time that happened here. And for Augusta to bring Neville at Christmas and for it to happen then was so moving.

This was a lovely story, Kiana! I hope you're having a wonderful birthday! ♥

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hey Sian! *hides because I've taken ages to respond to this*

Aw, I'm glad you liked it as I've actually only ever read one about Alice which was when the attack was taking place and just the power and imagery in the story has stayed with me, so I've always wanted to have a go at writing Alice, so when this challenge came up and I saw the prompts, I knew I couldn't turn down writing this. I think the fact it takes place at Christmas is probably why I decided to write it, because it means Alice is allowed some hope for once, she can possibly have a glimmer at the end of the tunnel, and I really wanted to have that idea even if it was only for a day.

Haha, yeah, I realised that when I was writing too because though they were both obsessed with things, it was very different things as Snape was with Lily whereas Alice was obsessed with trying to get her past back. I'm really glad that you liked it because I think it's so hard to be able to conceive whatever went on her mind, so it means a lot to me that you thought it was similar!

I know, I think the fact she had this fantastic life before with a great career, girl power, and a husband and son it makes her current condition even sadder, and somehow even sadder than Frank's some reason (though I don't really know why). I always imagine the Muggle world to be slightly more behind in the times, especially when it comes to mental health hence why they knocked her out in that scene. I'm glad that you liked the steps in the relisation because while I know that full awareness never occurred, I imagine she got part of her sense back.

Well, I guess they say true love never dies so that's why she can still sort of remember Frank. More seriously though, I think if you have bonds of love as deep as Alice had for Frank, Augusta and Neville she's bound to remember something even if it was a teeny, tiny thing, so that makes her life seem a little bit better.

Aw, thank you, as she was probably the thing I was most unsure about in this whole story. I think Alice would probably recognise her least out of everyone because obviously there was no romantic love or blood tie, but I imagine they did get on really well beforehand anyhow.

Aw, I know, he's such a cutey, I imagine him being this totally adorable and chubby baby whose cheeks you just always want to squeeze :P I know, I think that scene in OoP is what inspired this as she still seemed to love Neville so much, and treasure those little things she could give him and that was so sweet, I wanted to show that here.

Thank you for this amazing review and sorry for responding to it a month late! :P ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #9, by kenpo A gurgle of clarity.

27th December 2014:
How do you do this? How do you make this sad, but at the same time very happy and hopeful and romantic and festive?

This was so fantastic, Kiana! I don't think I've ever read something like this, and... gah! You're so creative and this is gorgeous and you're just fantastic, aren't you?

I think that my favorite part was when Alice is thinking about Christmas, and that the word makes her happy even though she doesn't know what it is.

I loved your interpretation of all of this. I love that she doesn't remember what things are, but she does remember how they make her feel. That suggests that somewhere, she does still have those memories, and maybe there's hope (shush I know that JKR has said no, but it's Christmas so I don't care).

Frank being the gurgling man next to her that makes her smile is somehow the most depressing and most romantic thing that I've ever read. I just imagine how much they loved each other before, and it breaks my heart in the best way possible.

It wasn't only what you were writing, but the way that you wrote it that I found so enchanting. Ugh Kiana your writing is always so beautiful, and why can't I write like that?! Your writing never fails to leave me alsdjfaowiejf. I should really spend more time on your page, but I'm so busy but I'll try to spend more time there and give you more reviews and read more of your beautifulnesss.

Aaand I've descended into not making much sense, so we can just compare the quality of this review to the quality of your writing.

This was fantastic.

-Georgia

Author's Response: Hey Georgia!!

Erm, I'm not sure but thank you for your wonderful compliments! They really did make me smile and blush and squeal a little too, so thank you for being wonderful! :D

I'm so glad that you liked it as I was worried people might think she was a little too sane but I'm glad that you didn't think that was the case. Shush I agree with you as JKR is just too mean in that respect.

Bahaha, sorry for the confusion of depressing and romantic thoughts but I guess that's just Alice's life as she could have had so much more if it wasn't for a certain someone who had to come along and ruin it so yeah boo to Bellatrix!

Aw, thank you so much, and I'm not really sure, I just think and then words come bursting out of my fingers if that makes any sense. Aw, thank you so much and don't worry about busy, I understand!

You definitely did make sense and thanks again for this great review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #10, by Infinityx A gurgle of clarity.

24th December 2014:
Kiana! Here for our swap! ♥

I can never fail to be impressed by how incredible your writing is. You have done such a marvelous job at writing this and I'm awestruck at the way you've managed to pack a whole lot of meaning and powerful emotions into such a short story. Wow. It's just beautiful.

I love how you've written this from Alice's point of view. It's something that people don't usually attempt because of the state she's in, but you've managed to capture the essence of what she's feeling and seeing during the whole time. Alice always did seem a little better off than Frank and I like how you've built on that to show her getting an inkling of recognition about the things and people around her.

The repetition of certain words and the usage of colours to denote the change in time was beautiful. I love how you've managed to depict her character and show her as a person who had real memories and people whom she loved. She's still there underneath it all, even if there are only flickers of her early life. I can't even tell you how much I love the way you've written her. You've done such a brilliant job at setting the line between what would be too much to comprehend in her situation and what would be too less. (I hope that makes sense)

I'm so happy she got a good Christmas in the end! It's so beautiful how the connection between mother and child can't be broken, even if it's blurry. And the way you've written this - absolutely gorgeous.

I'm so glad I swapped with you! Merry Christmas, Kiana! ♥

Author's Response: Hi Erin! ♥

Aw, thank you so much! I think that compliment made me crumble away inside a little. I'm so glad that you liked it, as I've never really tackled anything like mental illness before so I was wondering what other people would think about it.

I'm glad you liked it, because that scene in the OoP has always stayed with me as she seemed like such a sweet and lovely woman, and that she could recollect somethings, so I really wanted to explore it when I saw prompt number one.

Aw, thank you so much again, you are lovely, Erin! ♥ I think that deep down she could remember some things and I think, over time, she slowly realised what Neville was to her, and I'm so glad that you liked that as I know some people flat out refuse to think she remembered anything.

Of course she had to have a good Christmas, I had to hold off the angsty ending here otherwise that would have been a little too cruel!

Thanks for this awesome review, Erin!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #11, by Boxingday Christmaseve A gurgle of clarity.

23rd December 2014:
Aha, you weren't expecting me out of Tinley's story now, were you? Well, I don't conform to whatever banal expectations everyone has of me. So there!

This is a change from Tinley's story. I felt...something twitch in my chest when I reached the end. Good God, surely it can't be that sentimental festive warmth that the rest of the world claims to be feeling come December every year? It feels - it feels nice, actually.

I think you wrote Alice's situation very well; I know Watson would be howling if he'd read your story (John, where are you? There's something you may want to see. Bring tissues. The whole pack of them.). Clever use of colour: white, red, gold, blue, and I like how these Christmas colours are incorporated into Alice's world of white, which isn't the happy white of singing snowmen or something, but of hospitals. In fact, the white does make me feel rather cheerful; it reminds me of my lab coat that I'll be wearing when I head down to the morgue tonight. Alice colour-codes her world and recognises cues of colour because everything else is incomprehensible in her damaged mental state.

patronus_charm, you have done a tremendous job depicting Alice and her madness and those painful occasional moments when it seems that she's on the cusp of surfacing, of clarity. You tied everything neatly up with a Christmas theme. You really should be one of those mall gift-wrappers; presents would look much better in this world if you were to wrap them.

I enjoyed this; this was brilliant. And you should enjoy this moment, too, because I seldom am so generous with my compliments. Ask John.


Boxingday Christmaseve

Author's Response: Bahaha, I could never have banal expectations of you as you are perhaps the most unique person I know!

Yes, it most certainly is a change and I'm glad that I managed to evoke some feeling from within you as I was starting to think that was an impossible task so all hail the fact that there is a human within Boxingday Christmaseve!

I'm so very glad that you thought I wrote it well, but Watson's display of emotion really is over the top because sometimes he needs to control his feelings, but I am glad I moved him so much. I am glad that the white could make you cheerful even if it doesn't make Alice cheerful as I suppose it is a nicer colour than something like bogey green. I appreciate your compliments though as they are very wonderful!

Why thank you so much, that is a very nice compliment to receive and has left me smiling from ear to ear so I hope you now it is appreciated! Wahoo for Christmas though, I'm so sad it's over and it's perhaps my favourite time of the year, but I suppose I shall just have to wait for the next one know.

Thank you again for these wonderful compliments! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #12, by Veritaserum27 A gurgle of clarity.

22nd December 2014:
Hi there, Kiana!

I'm here for Christmas Gift Tag! Yippee!

I thought since it is Christmas Gift tag, I should review your new Christmas story.

You've done it again, Kiana! Such a fabulous job capturing Alice's emotions and characterization here. I can't even image how hard it is to write from the POV of someone who is literally insane, but this was so well done.

I loved your use of color in this piece. Alice's emotions aren't limited, but her understanding of the outside world is - and color is the first thing that she notices. She might have a difficult time following someone's words as they speak to her, but she can see and sense a different environment based on the colors around her.

I was so glad you chose to have a happy ending! She meets Neville (or rather re-meets him) and you can feel a bit of her motherly instincts are trying to take hold as she remembers him and feels happy to be with him.

I also really loved Augusta in this. What an amazing woman. You can tell she loves Alice, Frank and Neville and is doing the very best she can, without thinking of herself at all - what an awesome message to send at Christmastime!

Great story! Thanks for sharing!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hey Beth! :D

Aw, thank you so much! It was quite hard trying to decide how insane to make Alice but once I had decided it was quite easy to write it and almost easier than other people in some ways as her thoughts and feelings were a lot simpler than other people's.

I'm glad that you liked that as colour really is very vivid so I thought it would make sense for that to be the only thing she could cling onto and help her gain a sense of reality because everything seems to be too confusing for her.

Haha, I had to have a happy ending as this is a Christmas one-shot and it would have been too cruel otherwise! I'm so glad that you liked it, as I did want Alice to have some sort of hope towards the end.

I know, it does sort of change your perception of her as Neville's one of her was always quite negative in a way. I'm so glad that you liked it though.

Thanks for a great review, Beth! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login