Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Fiery-Haired Queen
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by evil little devil Inseparable

20th July 2015:
Ooh, this is so beautifully written! I absolutely adore the writing style, it's very visual, and sets the tone so perfectly.
I feel like having Severus blame fate for everything is so perfectly in character - it never seemed to me as if he took quite enough responsibility for his own actions in driving Lily away - he tended to blame it on others, and so blaming it on fate is quite fitting. So too, the fact that he sees their love as perfect, as more perfect than anything - I find that really fitting for his character as well. He's had so many things go wrong in his life, I don't really blame him for holding onto that one childhood friendship and love that seemed so innocent and perfect at the time, but was soon warped by circumstance and whatnot. I really enjoyed his realisation at the end, that he didn't need to own Lily for his love for her to have meaning (at least that's what I took from it).
This was such a lovely character exploration, and it was just so beautifully written, I really adore your writing style.

Hufflepuff House Cup 2015.

Author's Response: Hi there lovely!

Thank you so much for this amazing, wonderful review! ♥

Your compliments about my writing style and tone are so flattering! :D

Yes, I think Snape definitely tends to blame things on others, which was kind of the premise for this piece. He definitely idealized Lily, you're right!

*Squees* Thank you SO MUCH for these amazing, kind words, and this beautiful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by Felpata Lupin Inseparable

4th April 2015:
Oh, this was so beautiful!
Really poetic, so sad and sweet!
I think you captured the way Severus felt for Lily perfectly. In such a short space you managed to explain their relationship very deeply and to arouse so many emotions!
I don't know much of Poe's work, but I'm going to check this poem out.
Absolutely delightful reading!
Chiara

Author's Response: Thank you SO much for this amazing review, Chiara, and I'm so sorry it has taken me so long to respond to it!

Thank you so much for the compliments - It's really flattering to hear that you think it's beautiful, sad and sweet.

I'm so glad that you think Lily and Snape's relationship was explained perfectly here, but I really have to give credit for that to Poe - it's his idea, I just switched it around a little to make it apply to their situation.

And Oh my goodness, you should definitely go check out this poem, and all of Poe's work! He really is a genius!

Thank you SO MUCH! I'm glad you found this delightful! ♥ *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #3, by HermyLuna2 Inseparable

29th March 2015:
I love the poem Annabel Lee and unrequited Severus/Lily is my favorite pairing ever so I loved this oneshot. Your vision on Snape's love for Lily is bittersweet. Well done, your writing style is very good! It might not mean anything coming from me because I'm no professional but I think you have talent.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much for this amazing review! You're so sweet, I feel so flattered to hear that you think I've got talent! *blushes* And OF COURSE it means something coming from you! Whether you consider yourself professional or not, you're another author and your opinion is greatly appreciated!

Thank you SO much for stopping by and reading and leaving this review, and I'm sorry it has taken me so long to respond! Thank you! ♥ *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #4, by The Mischievous Easter Flitterby Inseparable

28th March 2015:
Well hello there!

With spring springing and the air warming up on my side of the hemisphere, I thought I would stretch my wings and swoop down to review a couple of your stories. This one in particular caught my eye!

I thought it was wonderful, I really did. It was great the way you managed to capture the inner-workings of Severus' mind, in particular the way he seems to make everything quite fantasy-like. Lily in this piece felt like a beautiful doll, something that he doesn't fully understand to be a real person with real feelings for other men. And so, he idolises her, moulding her into the perfect 'queen' for his kingdom. Even though this piece was quite short you conveyed a lot and it had real atmosphere. It was very enjoyable to read.

The ending was very grounding and heart-breaking, bringing the readers attention to the final moments of Severus' life, but you wrote it very fluidly. It's fascinating to think that during his last moments he was still maintaining this fantasy inside his mind, that he and Lily have been so intertwined through their lives. It felt very bittersweet, especially having Severus frequently refer to 'Fate' as an opposing force. It was almost as though he couldn't quite believe that anything other than Fate would separate them - and even at the very end, he feels as though he has beaten that force somehow.

This was masterfully written and it was fantastic to read. Thank you for sharing and I'll be visiting your page some more soon!

Easter wishes ~ have a great spring (or Autumn!) wherever you are in the world :)

~ The Mischievous Easter Flitterby xx

Author's Response: Hello there, lovely Flitterby! Thank you SO much for taking the time to stop by and read my stories, and leave these lovely reviews! *hugs*

Aww, thank you SO much for your compliments! Yes, Severus definitely idealized Lily, he definitely thought the fact that she wound up with James was all James' fault, like Lily had no choice in the matter. I'm so happy to hear you think I conveyed that well, and that it was enjoyable!

Thank you for your compliment about it being fluid, and what you said in your last paragraph couldn't be truer - he definitely thinks nothing but Fate could have caused the split between them (even though he had quite a deal to do with it, himself). So tragic :(

*Blushes* Thank you SO MUCH for your extremely flattering words, and for this amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by wolfgirl17 Inseparable

20th March 2015:
Hello hello!

So I saw that you had this new fic up and I simply had to check it out. You've pulled on my heartstrings with this one. You really captured Snape's love for Lily in all it's encompassing forms from the beginning right through to the very end.

I really enjoyed this story, you totally rock!

xx-Ellie (wolfgirl)

Author's Response: Ellie!

Thank you SO much for stopping by to read adn review this! *hugs* I really appreciate it!

Awww, thank you so much for the compliments! I'm glad to hear that I've conveyed the emotions well, and done justice to Snape's love for Lily!

Awww! Thank you so much!! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #6, by The Peruvian Vipertooth Inseparable

9th March 2015:
Greetings Mortal,

You mention of fire caught my sharp eye and drew me down from the clouds to discover your secrets and devour the flesh of such a tasty morsel as this.

Your expression of loss through the main character is most touching, and provides an uncommon window into the realm of human emotions that I had not believed possible from such creatures.

A tasty morsel indeed. I might be tempted to explore your other works if they are of as much substance and quality as this.

~The Peruvian Vipertooth

Author's Response: *Gasps* Wow, hello there Mr. Peruvian Vipertooth! This certainly is a pleasant surprise! Thank you so much for stopping by and reading and reviewing one of my stories, and I'm sorry for the crazy amount of time it has taken me to respond to this.

Oh wow - I'm so pleased that the mention of fire brought you down to examine my story! And I'm so flattered that you thought it was a tasty morsel!

It makes me feel so honored that you think the expression of loss was touching, and that it shows you the depth of human emotions. Really, your compliments are so incredible - thank you!

I really hope you do stay and explore my other works! :)

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotter Inseparable

29th December 2014:
Hi, Jayde!! I'm really behind on the review hot seat and I'm trying to catch up-aplogies for my lateness!

I went into reading this definitely not expecting the crushing, heart-breaking, gut-wrenching feelings I'm currently experiencing. Please wait while I compose myself...nope, not happening! I'll have to review through my tears!

Seriously though, this was just beautiful. Snape/Lily isn't a pairing that I enjoy reading, but I love fics like this one that so accurately convey his unrequited love, heartbreak and life-long torment. I'm a glutton for punishment!

You write Snape so perfectly, and he is so difficult to get right. I absolutely love how bitter his thoughts are, and that he doesn't blame himself for them being apart, he blames Fate and its determination for them not to be pefect. The final paragraph was beautiful beyond words, his ideas that Harry was the thing keeping them connected even after her death, and that he would be with her again. Gah, I just loved it!

Super job, Jayde!

Dee

Author's Response: DEE!

Gurl do not apologize for being a little behind with hot seat reviews! You see how late I was with mine, and how late I am responding to your lovely review! I'm sorry!

OH no! I'm so sorry! I didn't mean to break your feels right from the beginning! I think this was definitely much more emotional than I realized when I wrote it. I mean, I knew it was sad, but I wasn't expecting everyone to break into tears! :O *hugs*

I kind of have a love/hate relationship with Snily, also.. but LOL about your comment about being a glutton for punishment. :P

Awww, thank you! I'm glad you feel I write him perfectly! *blushes*

Thank you SO much for this incredible review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Moonyxluna Inseparable

18th December 2014:
Happy Hot seat day, Jayde!

YOU DON'T EVEN KNOW.. Annabel Lee is my FAVORITE Edgar Allan Poe poem (I'm a sucker for the romance. sigh). I'm so excited for this!

Taking that poem and making it into a Snily is SUCH a good idea. It translates so well to the poem with the idea of them being young and in love, and sort of being blinded by that 'love'.

I have sort of a love/loathe for Snily as a ship, so I love that Severus blames fate here for taking Lily away from him and sending her to James' arms, versus understanding the fact that it was his own actions.

I really like how you create that separate world for the two, and how Severus can't really seem to look past that and into the big picture.

In his dying moments, Snape creates peace for himself and I think it was really beautifully written. Whether or not their 'kingdom' has been destroyed or not, it's sort of tragically lovely that he can create that for himself in the end.

This was lovely, Jayde!

Julie

Author's Response: Julie!!

I am so sorry it has taken me so long to respond to this incredible review - I really have no excuse - please forgive me!

Hahah! Yay! I'm glad you love 'Annabelle Lee', and that got you all excited for this! I hope it didn't disappoint! :)

I honestly have a love/loathe relationship with Snily also, but I felt their situation was just TOO perfect to not use them as the characters here. I'm glad you agreed!

I'm also really glad you liked the ending! That part was really sad for me to write, but it's kind of hard to be sad when you know he's 'with' Lily again in their 'kingdom'. :)

Thank you So much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfan Inseparable

17th December 2014:
Happy Review Hot Seat Day, Jayde! :D

I knew the instant that I clicked on your AP that I'd have to read this one as I love Edgar Allan Poe. Annabel Lee is a beautiful poem and ooh I love the twist that you wrote a Snily fic based on it. I don't like Snily as a ship but I knew I was bound to like this fic anyway, and I did :D

Dare I say it, this painted the Snape/Lily relationship in an almost beautiful way. I think this is mostly because you focused on how perfect their love was when they were young - it had this very innocent feel to it, how he loved Lily's curiosity and hand-holding and how there were no conflicts and they were just the best friends in the whole world. It was so sweet.

I also thought it so very Snape-like to not see himself to blame, towards the end - rather, it was cruel Fate who decided to separate them. You portray his transition to the dark side as a tragedy almost, an injustice to the pair of them that was fated to happen, and I must say it's very effective. I felt badly for Snape, even as he was deciding to be a Death Eater and call Lily a mudblood. How do you wield all the feels like this. I shouldn't be feeling badly for Snape.

And the end! It does make me happy to think that Snape had some peace as he died, knowing that he would be with Lily again and how he sees it, they'd never truly been separated because he'd loved her the whole time. This was a really creative take on both the Snape/Lily ship and on Annabel Lee, wonderful story Jayde! ♥

Author's Response: Kristinnn!

First off, thank you SO much for this amazing, lovely review! And secondly, I am SO SORRY that it has taken me so long to respond to it!

Oh my goodness, I love Edgar Allan Poe, as well. I don't really like Snily, either, but I kind of felt like this HAD to be about them, you know? :P

Awww! I feel so honored that you think this painted Snily in a beautiful way!

*Blushes* Wielding all the feels? You're flattering me too much! Even though I don't really ship Snily, I HAVE always felt bad for Snape, so I'm glad I was able to convey some of that in this!

I pretty much HAD to give Snape some peace as he died, because otherwise it's all just too sad. I'm so glad you think this was creative - thank you SO MUCH for this amazing review! ♥ *hugs*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login