Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Fairy Lights and Mistletoe
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by wolfgirl17 Fairy Lights and Mistletoe

16th August 2015:
Hey Mads,

Ellie here finally with your review from my request thread. Sorry it took me so long, I keep falling off the wagon *blushes*

Anyway, I'm here now and that's what matters! I was so pleased when I saw you'd made a request, and especially thrilled that it's a Dramione. I love it when other people are as mad about Dramione as me. I was especially fond of this marvelously sweet, fluffy Dramione story you've written.

It's just to die for!

Admittedly I was a little surprised at first, since it's not often one finds a fic where Hermione and Draco are already couple, but I liked the way you made Draco the right amount of the boy we know and love combined with the man he's grown to be after the war and after spending three years dating Hermione.

The double engagement would've caused quite a stir, that's for sure! I liked the way you portrayed the whole story and I absolutely adored diving into such a light-hearted and delicious depiction of our favourite couple. I've been leaning a lot towards darker versions of the couple lately, both in my own writing and in the fics I'm reading, so it was refreshing to find that I still love the rot-my-teeth sweetness the couple can have when written by incredibly talented authors like you.

Thanks so much for stopping by and requesting. It was a pleasant and welcome break from the next-gen stuff that tends to be requested most in my thread.

Dramione forever! LOL

Anyway, feel free to stop by for more requests and I cannot wait to read your entry for my Dark Turn challenge. I'm nervous about how you'll portray our favourite pairing with a dark and gritty twist!

Keep up the great work, I love your stuff!

xx-Ellie (wolfgirl)

Author's Response: Don't mind me Ellie, just responding 6 months later.. :P

I'm so glad you liked this! It was super fun to write as well as I tend to go for the angsty/darker stuff as well for my writing and reading! I figured I'd treated them horribly enough and they deserved a bit of good happiness and the winter writing wonderland proved to be just the setting!

Thanks for the kind review, Ellie! :) ♥
~Madi


 Report Review

Review #2, by 2007 Pete Wentz Fairy Lights and Mistletoe

25th April 2015:
yo, pete wentz here, hailing from the year 2007. i'm not actually a fan of this pairing, but i really liked the banner and i'm a sucker for sappy romance stories, so i decided to check this out anyway.
draco has a lot of great lines in this. a bunch of them sounded like stuff i would say. i liked the speech he gave to hermione when he proposed. it made me a lot more comfortable with the pairing, if that makes sense.
there are a lot of cute, romantic moments in this fic. i feel like i should be taking notes. i'm not sure if you've noticed from listening to my music, but i have a lot of girl troubles... haha.
so yeah, this was a great read. just fluffy and light and fun. nice job.
xopeter

p.s. if you can figure out who i am on the forums, i'll donate some cash to hpff to help keep the site up. no one else seems to be guessing so far, so maybe you'll get it? you might have to dig through some profile feeds and old posts, but the hints are there... just buried. good luck.

Author's Response: Pete Wentz hello!!! ♥

Before I actually respond, I just have to say how much I love the band and how you guys have all grown up and matured and that the new album is absolutely AMAZING and I basically have it on repeat like all the time. *Ahem*

Thank you so much for this review even though you aren't a fan of the pairing! I don't pull out the fluffy/romantic writing a whole lot (except it seems I've been getting a lot of requests for it in my stories offered thread recently...hmmm...) so I'm glad you enjoyed the tone and way Draco's lines were just romantic enough but not too sappy or anything. I tried to use some typical Christmas/proposal cliches in a non-cliche way? If that makes any sense to you? Anyway, thank you again for this wonderful review and I will definitely be trying to figure out who you are on the forums! :)

~MadiMalfoy x


 Report Review

Review #3, by Ju Hana Fairy Lights and Mistletoe

1st February 2015:
A story though short yet touched my heart..feeling the dramione love generously..

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for the review on this little one-shot! I wrote it for the Ravenclaw Winter Writing Wonderland 2014 and I wanted to change up my typical writing (which is usually very dark/dramatic/angsty) so I wrote this fluffy thing! I'm glad you enjoyed it! :)
~MadiMalfoy x


 Report Review

Review #4, by Veritaserum27 Fairy Lights and Mistletoe

28th December 2014:
Hi there!

I'm here trying to read and review every entry for the RWWW.

I must admit, I'm not a huge Dramione fan, but you've got such a talent for fluff that I really, really liked this story. I'm glad you didn't make Draco perfectly, perfect - just perfect for Hermione. He still retained some of his annoying characteristics, as does she, but it was really believable how the two fit together.

I loved the description of her dress - and how she looked in it - great job with that!

It's just too cute that Harry and Draco both proposed on the same night!

I did catch one typo - here:

I reached above her and placed the star on the top of tree.

I think you switched POV by accident and meant to write "He" instead of "I."

Great story! I really enjoyed the fluff!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hiya! :)

It always makes me happy whenever I get a review on one of my Dramione stories from someone who typically doesn't like it, but likes the story enough to continue on with it or even review. So thank you! :)

In my eyes, Draco is never perfect--even if he is "redeemed," he's still got habits, and old habits die hard, especially for a Slytherin of his lifestyle and choices. Plus he's probably my favorite character to write, so I can't make everything easy for him! Hermione's dress is based off a post I saw on tumblr, and the dress is absolutely stunning! Plus the whole snake thing totally ties in with her and Draco being together. Thank you for catching that typo! At the beginning I used to have it in Draco's POV but I changed it to third person for better continuity.

I'm glad you enjoyed it and thought the fluff was great! Happy holidays! :)
~MadiMalfoy x


 Report Review

Review #5, by kenpo Fairy Lights and Mistletoe

27th December 2014:
Hello!

You know... I'm not sure if I've ever read Dramione before. It isn't really my thing, but I enjoyed the fluff here. Draco has obviously changed, but not so much that he's a completely unrecognizable character.

I wish I could dance! I'm horrible at all types of dancing. The only time that my boyfriend can get me to dance with him is when we're 100% alone. If I was Hermione I probably would've cried at the prospect of waltzing without at least two weeks of practice before-hand!

I also liked that Draco seems to have accepted Harry and Ron, but he's still not a huge fan ("you just saw them four days ago!")

That dress sounds amazing, and I'd really like to steal it from her.

This was a nice little one-shot. Happy holidays!

-Georgia

Author's Response: Hi! :)

As far as dancing goes, I'm in the same boat as you, although I do wish I knew how to ballroom dance! (Which is probably why I mentioned it so much in this piece) Draco, of course, knows how to dance perfectly thanks to his upbringing and has taught Hermione a few things since they've been together, so she can pick up steps easier than she would've been able to before! I'd like to think for the waltzing bit that she would much rather have just had her toes on top of his feet and let him waltz her around instead (which is what I'm sure it turned into fairly quickly even though I didn't say so).

Even with it having been well over 3 years since the war, I don't think the boys would have completely warmed up to each other, no matter how much Hermione's pushed for it.

The dress was actually taken from a post I saw on tumblr so yeah but it's a supremely gorgeous dress and I just had to have it on Hermione when Draco is her partner because of obvious reasons. :P

Thank you so much for the wonderfully kind review! Happy holidays to you as well! ♥
~MadiMalfoy x


 Report Review

Review #6, by maraudertimes Fairy Lights and Mistletoe

25th December 2014:
Hiya Madi! I don't really do Dramione, but I really wanted to see how you write Draco before the collab (okay, I'm running late... please don't wait for me I'll have it done ASAP yes?). Also, review swap! Thought I should just say that... I don't know why... Well Happy Christmas!

This was cute! As I said, I don't really do Dramione, but it was super cute and I liked the little things you added like them staying out of the public's eye because they didn't know how they would deal with the rumours and gossip and awful things people say, and when the reporters asked whether it was just a ploy - all seemed very realistic considering the relationship at hand.

The decorating seems super Hermione - decorating by hand is the only way to go! And fairy lights? So cute! I call them Christmas lights but I think fairy lights might find it's way into my vocabulary real soon. ;)

The mistletoe was ingenious. I've never been kissed under the mistletoe (*sigh*) but when I am I want it to be just like that - a total surprise but a really good one with a partner who obviously truly loves me. The way you wrote those passages were so passionate and it was very clear that they had deep feelings for each other.

The cute little double engagement was the cherry on top and I adored it! It was so cute that they both decided to do it on midnight and the way Draco needed everything to be perfect was awesome!

This was really cute and I'm glad I read this! Thanks so much for the swap Madi, and again, this was awesome!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Hiya Laura!

I'll try and get you my bit of chapter 2(?) in the next two weeks! :P

Even though they are my OTP, I do enjoy putting them through struggle quite a bit, which is why I had that little tidbit in there with the press and public eye. They are a rather unconventional couple, but they're my unconventional couple ♥

I'm glad you liked the decorating and mistletoe thing! Even though I've been dating my boyfriend for over two years now, we still have never kissed under the mistletoe??? so this was probably my own wish as well :P The double engagement was actually originally a triple, but I forgot to put Ron in earlier, so I just left him proposing out of it entirely. *oops* So yay I'm glad you liked the fluffy and Draco!

I will say that for the collab, my portrayal of Draco will be much closer to his character in my novel, which means non-trusting and slightly at his wits end, and he just wants to save himself adn shis family, etc.

Thanks for reviewing this and for the swap! :)
~MadiMalfoy x


 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm Fairy Lights and Mistletoe

23rd December 2014:
Merry Christmas Madi! ♥

Whoo for fluffy Dramiones, they are my guilty pleasure so I'm indulging in them as it's Christmas time so whoo for that, and yours was so cute and lovely and fluffy it was a great thing to indulge in!

There were so many adorable moments between the two of them, but I really loved the beginning bit the most as it was just so cute with the way they were both getting ready for Christmas together and the way they shared little kisses with one another. They just seemed so at ease and in love that it was so sweet. It really made me want to see how they got together too as they seemed so loved up too, but I guess this is only a one-shot, so it would have been a little hard to fit that in as well!

It was cute how Draco accepted her friends and that he wouldn't be able to get rid of them as he isn't always like that so I really liked that here, and they all seemed to get on so well here!

Okay, I do have to admit that when he asked her to dance he may also ask her to marry so it was cool that it did turn out like that and I thought you wrote it really well as it was just the right levels of cute and fluffy and yeah it was great! ♥ It also tied into the prompt so well too, that that was really clever as they were going to start a new life together from this Christmas onwards and I really liked that idea, as it tied in with the overall Christmas message really well too.

Such a lovely story! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Happy New Year Kiana! ♥

I'm super happy that you liked this little fluffy one-shot of mine! :) I indulged in quite a few Dramione fics over these past couple of weeks as well, just not on here :P I'd never done Dramione fluff until this story, as my two other Dramione pieces are both dark and angsty, so this was a big change for me, but I enjoyed writing it!

I would like to think Hermione absolutely loves the holidays, so her infectious happiness would infect Draco too, causing them to act like they were teenagers madly in love just for a few weeks again. It took me all of three seconds to decide how I wanted this story to go with the prompt, and only like three hours to write it!

The double proposal was originally going to be a triple (with Ron proposing to somebody) but I forgot to put his character in so I just left him out :P Christmastime is just a great time for new things and new traditions, so I'm glad you like how I tied it all in together for the prompt as well as the season! :)

Thank you so much Kiana! I'll be reading yours soon! :)
~MadiMalfoy x


 Report Review

Review #8, by Panda Weasley  Fairy Lights and Mistletoe

21st December 2014:
I love it Madi! I think it's really good, and a wonderful story! You do great with fluff! You didn't tell me about the dress though...now I really want to go back and see what I can do about that. :)
Sorry this isn't more of a review, I just wanted to let you know that I liked it.
~Panda

Author's Response: Thanks so much Panda! Yeah, I completely forgot about the dress because it was actually a bit I added in last-minute, which is why I didn't mention it to you when describing what I wanted for the banner. Oops. I'm glad you liked it though and that my fluff is actually decent! :P
~MadiMalfoy x


 Report Review

Review #9, by G_A Fairy Lights and Mistletoe

21st December 2014:
Aw this was adorable :) I loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm not very fluent with fluffy writing, so this was one of my attempts at it. I'm glad you enjoyed it! :)
~MadiMalfoy x


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login