Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Serpent Rises
  
66 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ann The One Who Listens

28th August 2017:
very good are you going to finish the story I would like to read it

 Report Review

Review #2, by dreamgazer220 The One Who Listens

29th January 2016:
Aw man, I'm finally caught up with this fabulous series.

This chapter was different, but I really, really enjoyed reading it. It surprised me, moving from Daphne to Theo and then to Pyxis, but then it all made sense when you tied it together nicely toward the end with a bit of a twist. I'm glad that you're exploring what's happening outside of the Terry and Tor storyline; it adds suspense for when we get back to their chapters and shows how much you've really defined the world that they live in.

And I'm not sure if I've told you this before, but your language - wow. It's so beautiful. Everything is always so well written, and you've really done an amazing job with the characters and their relationships and it's been fabulous to watch them grow.

I can't imagine what kind of positions that Daphne and Theo are in. I hope we get to see more of them!!

Keep up the amazing work, as always! Can't wait for your next update!!

♥ Jill

 Report Review

Review #3, by dreamgazer220 The Prefect & the Map

29th January 2016:
I love chapters like these - where even though there's not a lot of action happening, the story is still progressing and we're still learning a lot. That map definitely seems convenient, and I'm curious as to how it will play a role later on in the story :) It's nice to see Tor and Terry being sort of normal, despite their unusual circumstances.

And this Templeton bloke seems nice enough; hopefully Tor's just being paranoid and he can be trustworthy! And I'm glad Terry's going to go check on his family (I'm guessing?)- hopefully nothing will happen to them!!

Keep up the amazing writing!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by dreamgazer220 Running From Shadows

27th January 2016:
Wow, that was a close one! I'm glad they didn't get caught (yet), but it was a bit of a reckless plan, trying to masquerade as Daphne. It makes me wonder what she's been up to while all of this is going on :)

I really love what you're doing with Tor and Terry's relationship; it feel so realistic, especially when you're with someone in close quarters in high tension times. I do wish that Tor would give Terry a bit more credit though, hopefully this rescue will allow him to do something other than sit around and wait in a hotel room :)

Really wonderful chapter! Your writing is amazing, and I love the small details you give that really add to the scene; like the first scene with Tor in the library, it really helped me visualize what was going on there.

Keep up the great work!

 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore The One Who Listens

9th January 2016:
Hi again, lovely! Now I've had time to read this, I just have to catch up with Play the Devil and I'll be ready for any updates this year :D

This was a different chapter in terms of narrative but it was so interesting and I really enjoyed reading it! Although after the way the last chapter ended, I'm even more anxious to find out what's going to happen to Terry and Tor and this chapter kind of just prolonged that apprehension so I have to wait even more time before I find out. There's so much tension here, and it is not looking good for them...

I really loved the way that you focused on the different characters as individuals as well, so we get to find out what life is like not only at Hogwarts but for the people that Tor loves during the war. This period is so hard for everyone and even though I know that, to most of the Hogwarts students - almost certainly those in the DA - these Slytherins have it easy because they're from the families now in charge, I think this really helped to show that nobody really wins in a war. There are always people on both sides who suffer and these children are just being used as tools by their elders.

Daphne as Head Girl seems to really be struggling. I felt so sorry for her here, the way that she realises she's just a vessel for the Carrows, that she's become an empty symbol of their regime just because of the title that's been given to her and she doesn't really have to do anything to enforce it herself because people are so scared of her and what she symbolises. That's so alienating for her, and she's losing her identity too. But even though she's always put up a fight and a strong front in the past, here it seems like she's losing the fight and she's just giving in; it's the easier option. I can understand why, especially when she knows that Tor is on the run and people are out hunting for her, but it's so sad to see her give up that way.

Similarly, Theo is in the same position, where he represents the Carrows regime and what they are enforcing. I kind of feel a bit disappointed in him, that he's enjoying the power and the position he has now, but at the same time it's clear that he's not really got any other choice, because to question it or feel guilt would be dissenting and that's not something he can afford to do.

Draco is really suffering here, as well. He's fallen so far from grace that he doesn't know what to do, and yet he has to appear as if everything is fine and he's happy with the position that he and his family have, and everything that's going on in the new world. Without the power and the respect that he's had in the past, though, it's clear he doesn't really know what to do with himself or how to act, and I kind of think this year is one that's instrumental in beginning to change who he is as a person.

Pyxis seems to be the only one escaping close surveillance here - and how lucky is that? He's the only one who actually knows anything about Tor and Terry and I really hope that he's able to keep the secret for her and that nobody picks up on the fact that he's someone who knows a lot and starts paying attention to him. He's still so young - they all are, of course, but he's just sixteen - and I can't help thinking that it would be better for him altogether if they keep thinking he's too young to be of any use.

The imagery in this was so fantastic - I loved the description of Yaxley as the serpent invading Daphne's mind. It's so chilling to think of him using Leglimency to keep watch on the children still at Hogwarts, so there's nowhere that they're safe and nowhere that they can hide because Tor's betrayal has alerted the Death Eaters to the fact that not all their children will comply automatically. It's just so unfair and so wrong, and yet another image that emphasises how terrible this new regime is, and how dehumanising it can be.

I thought it was great that you used the sections from the perspectives of the different students to really convey a sense of what life is like in the school now, as well. I think the part that struck me the most was that Slughorn had put up a fight and didn't want to teach something illegal to the students - we see him fighting in the end and we know that he does what's right eventually, but I liked seeing that he'd done it earlier here, too. In the end, I can't help thinking that he came back and agreed because he could protect the students in some small measure if he was still at Hogwarts; it's a side that he doesn't show easily but I definitely think it's there. How humiliating for him to be watched by a seventh year to ensure that he's doing his job properly.

The ending... I'm so worried now about what's going to happen to Tor and Terry. Of course it makes sense that they'd have found out everything they could about Terry and would be watching his family already; that's just how the Death Eaters work. Yaxley really does care about Tor, that much is clear, but I hate the way that he's willing to do anything to other people to get her back and bring her home safely, even if that means hurting or killing people she loves - and he doesn't care at all that she might not want that. It's so cold and calculating. And now that Terry's family are being watched, I'm really worried that he's going to turn up and the Death Eaters are going to find him straight away - and even more worried if something happens to cause Tor to flee and the two get separated, providing Terry is okay...

Ah, this was such a great chapter and it's had a really powerful impact for me - I look forward to reading the next one when you get chance to post it!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore The Prefect & the Map

8th January 2016:
Hi Jenna! Ah, I can't believe I've missed you updating this story and PtD as well - I don't know how that happened, because I really had no idea you'd updated at all, but I'm trying to catch up now while I'm still on holiday. I've missed reading about Tor so much!

You wrote the tension in this chapter so well. It must be hard to capture something so constant and underlying but you really do a great job; it's something that is always there in the story without anything being explicitly said. It makes perfect sense, too - Tor and Terry are on the run and they're in such a dangerous situation all the time, and it's really difficult to know who to trust. Every time I read this I can't help but remember how young these characters are, and how unfair it is for them to have to go through it all. I doubt I could now and I'm older than them. I can't help worrying, too - a situation like this puts so much strain on a relationship (I mean we saw the way that Ron left the others behind and they'd been friends for years) and I'm a bit apprehensive about how the two of them are going to get through this war.

I don't know what to think about Templeton at the moment, to be honest... Maybe it's the fact that we're reading this from Tor's perspective and she's always been quite suspicious of people and their motives, but I can't help wonder if they're right to trust him. Terry does, but I kind of think that he might trust too easily still... Part of me wants to trust him, especially since he has a reason for hating the new regime, but the fact that he's so worried about Mathilde makes him vulnerable and prompt him to try and trade information or something like Xenophilius does.

Again, with the map... I love the fact that you've included it and its awesome to see another magical map that does something slightly different to the Marauders' Map. It's such a clever idea and so cool to include something like that - it has a lot of potential. But all the same, I'm kind of suspicious about it :P hopefully needlessly, because if Mapnook is on their side then it could really be invaluable for them, but part of me wonders if there's a corresponding map that tracks them a similar way and they'll end up in trouble because of it. There's just so much to worry about!

One thing I really liked here was that moment when Tor was going to show - there was something so normal about it and it was kind of refreshing in a way, for us and the characters. It's kind of a reminder that they're still young and I'm love.

I think Terry is right to worry about his family... If the Death Eaters have worked out that he's with Tor, then it wouldn't be past them to use that and try and punish them somehow. I think the best thing would be for then to be protected somehow but I don't know if they can get on with their normal lives that way. I'm worried that Terry going to check on them, even though it's only natural to want to, is going to but him and Tor in even more danger. And since it seems like he's gone alone while she's still recovering, I'm even more nervous for them about what's going to happen. Let's just hope that nobody finds Tor there alone, too...

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by dreamgazer220 Don't Look Them in the Eye

25th December 2015:
Oh, my heart breaks for Pyxis. It was a nice change of pace to see his point of view, to see the school through his eyes and how Tor's absence is affecting him.

As always, this was an amazingly well-written chapter.

I'm excited to see where Tor's adventures lead her and the rest of the crew. ♥

Author's Response: Hello!! :) I know, I feel bad for Pyxis as well. He's in a really awkward position, kind of like Tor was during the last year, but I see him as being more conflicted than she was about right and wrong.

Thank you so much for the lovely review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Kristina1990 The One Who Listens

20th December 2015:
I was really happy too see that you posted new chapters! I'm looking forward to the next ones. I think it will not get comfortable for Terry and Tor any time soon. Terry is in very big danger...

Author's Response: Thank you so much, lovely!! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Mwright The One Who Listens

28th November 2015:
One of the best stories on the site. Please post the next chapter soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ginny Padfoot The One Who Listens

18th November 2015:
This story is going great so far. I really like the other reader's POV it add a real twist to The plot. I can't wait for the next chapter. Are you going to have the Terry and Tori captured or have a run in with the order. Can not wait!

Author's Response: Hello! :D Thank you so much, I'm so glad you like the story and the different perspectives, they're so refreshing to write. I promise that there will be a lot of suspense and drama to come. :P Thanks again for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Longbottom1410 The One Who Listens

28th October 2015:
Hey This is a really good story! Thank you for writing it! I loved how Tor followed her heart but how you still show that she has not magically turned good, and that she still struggles to see Terry's point of view. I think it is very real and touching..Keep writing, please!!!

Author's Response: Hi! :D Thank you so much, I'm so glad that you like the story and how ambiguous Tor's character is. I'm so honoured that you think it feels real - thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Mwright The One Who Listens

17th October 2015:
This is a great story. I hope you update it soon!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by Shanstamania The One Who Listens

17th September 2015:
I adore this series. I couldn't stop reading the first one and didn't sleep but I have no regrets because it was incredible. I can't wait to read more, keep up the ah-mazing job!

Author's Response: Hi! :) Thank you so much, I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed it! :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by Goldilocks The One Who Listens

16th September 2015:
I really adore this series! I devoured 'The Girl from Slytherin' and all that is posted of the sequel in one day. I really enjoy the complexity you bought to the characters and how you shed a whole new light upon the series through Astoria/the Slytherins POV. I'm very interested to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Hello! :) I'm so excited that you liked the story and read it that fast, it's amazing to hear. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by Blacklock The One Who Listens

3rd September 2015:
I'm hangry for more! And i mean hangry. :3 weebies btw, been a while

Author's Response: Hello! :D Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, it's awesome you're still enjoying the story!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by LittleMissAutumn The One Who Listens

1st September 2015:
This chapter was really interesting to read because we were able to see what everyone else is still doing and how they're being effected. Daphne and Theodore are like walking drones and I feel kind of bad for them, even if they're so brainwashed. I also really like how Tori's dad is the watcher and may I just say that this chapter was beautifully written? I mean, wow! Love it.

I'm happy to see that you're updating again! Terry needs to be super careful! I can't help but returning back to the first scene where Tori's going to someone's funeral and I really really really hope it's not Terry's! It would be so awful if her father killed him.

Author's Response: Hello! :) I'm glad you liked this chapter as it was really interesting and unique for me to write. I feel bad for them as well - I think they both realize that they've lost their individual will but don't know how to break free of that because they're too far in to have any real perspective. Your description of them as drones is just spot on.

Terry does need to be careful! Both him and Tor are still learning what to do on the run and they're making a lot of mistakes along the way.

Thanks so much for the amazing support on this story!! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by Ann_ Granger  The Prefect & the Map

30th August 2015:
Hi, this is really good, just wondering does Terry come back safely or does something happen to him. What is going to happen with the Nott boys, Lance and the cat? Please update soon!

Author's Response: Hello! :D I'm so glad you're enjoying the story and the suspense!! I've been working slowly on the following chapters and will try and get an update up soon. :) Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #18, by rosiful The Prefect & the Map

18th August 2015:
I really love this story!
I just started reading it (staring from the first book) a week or so ago, and it's just so good! I love how you add little bits and pieces from the books and make this story fit with cannon really well. It's awesome and super impressive!

I also really love your characters, and I am so intrigued as to how this will all end. I'm thinking something with happen to Terry... so that Tori can end up with Draco. But, I really, really don't want anything to happen to him! I really like him!! (Which is strange... because I'm usually a big Draco/Astoria shipper)

So, I am excited (and a little nervous) to see where you take this.
Looking forward to the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Hello!! :D I'm so thrilled that you're liking the story, this is all such wonderful and lovely feedback to get. It's really enjoyable to write and integrate parts of canon into the story.

I'm so glad you like the characters as well! It's so fun to see readers speculate on what's going to happen and either laugh evilly to myself or feel guilty for all the pain I put these characters through. Hehe.

Thank you so much for the amazing review, I appreciate it so much!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by Tippy The Prefect & the Map

17th August 2015:
Please keep writing this is such a good story!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!!! :D

 Report Review

Review #20, by Blacklock The Prefect & the Map

9th August 2015:
I started reading your story, The Girl From Slytherin, last week and have read nonstop up to this newest chapter in the sequel and must say how impressed I am with your writing. I have become so enraptured and involved with your story that i've set down all other books and projects, anxiously thrilled to read the next chapter. The way you use the little tidbits from throughout the Harry Potter series and expand on them, weaving them into the story, really draws me back in to the homey comfort of the world of H.P.. Being an avid, long time reader of fanfiction I just want to tell you that this is the sort of story I've been searching out for years. It has been such a pleasure to read this series and enjoy your incredible creative writing talent, thank you.

Author's Response: Hello!! :) I'm so excited that you've been reading the story nonstop, that is such lovely feedback to get. I'm so honoured that you've enjoyed the story so far, and I'm sorry for taking this long to respond to your wonderful review!

One of the best parts of writing Hogwarts-era for me is integrating all those little canon details, and I'm so thrilled that stood out to you. All of your feedback is so kind and means so much, and really inspires me to get the next chapters finished and published. THANK YOU!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by Neha The Prefect & the Map

28th July 2015:
Ah this trilogy is so good! Each chapter has me on the edge of my seat.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm so glad you're liking the story!! :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by Italia8989 The Prefect & the Map

29th June 2015:
That gadget seems like it will be useful in the future. I'm also interested in where you are going to take the plot of this.

Terry, after all you and Astoria have been through, why don't you listen?!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! Terry and Tor are both very spontaneous and act rashly on their emotions sometimes, but that's what makes them fun to write, hehe. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by YvaineB The Prefect & the Map

28th June 2015:
Im looking forward to next chapter!! curious about what happen next. Will we see more of Tors parents, Pyxis or Daphne???

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you! :) And those are very good guesses about who you might see in the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #24, by LittleMissAutumn The Prefect & the Map

23rd June 2015:
I don't trust Templeton! One, because his name reminds me of the rat from Charlotte's Web which may or may not be a coincidence. And second, I sense some foreshadowing of him doing anything to get his lady love back; which might even include him telling on Terry and Tor if he think it will help her. And oh no Terry! What if he's walking into a trap?! Ahhh.

Author's Response: Hello! :) Ah, I love how you noticed the selective naming of Templeton, it was definitely not unintentional, if you know what I mean. :P Thanks so much for the review, I really appreciate it! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Chris Running From Shadows

21st June 2015:
Hello Again lovely writer :)

AH I am a flipping graduate and so have totally binged on re-reading book one the last day or so, i love it so much, i love you so much, this is an amazing chapter and i am so excited to see where it goes from here on, hope you are well and are having amazing ideas for this book, i would be gutted if it never finished xx

Author's Response: Hey there! :D

Congrats on graduating!!! That's an awesome accomplishment!!! :D I'm so glad you love this story, it means so much to me to hear that. I promise it will be updated hopefully in the very near future, thanks to wonderful readers like you motivating me!! :) Thanks so much!!! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>