Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Fifth Christmas
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The Basilisk Fifth Christmas

11th December 2015:
Such a sssweet ssstory. I enjoyed thisss read. It is sssurprisssing and different. That is what makesss it most ssspecial. You captured the sssadnesss and joy of the holiday ssso beautifully.

There is a part of me that wondersss about the barisssta if there is more to him than meets they eye. Alasss I shall never know but the ssstory was good all the sssame and it certainly left me with a Christmasss vibe. Wonderful work! Hope you have a happy holidaysss.

Author's Response: Thank you Basilisk! :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp Fifth Christmas

21st June 2015:
Review Tag!

Aw, this was very sweet. I like how this is from the point of view of a character we don't read much about. You've expressed her pain and grief over the deaths very well, and it makes sense that it'd be so fresh after so many years, especially on a holiday like Christmas.

The whole Christmas season was captured wonderfully in your narrative. The decorations, the buzz of the city centre, the entire festive feel came through nicely. I liked how the barista was so nice to Susan too - it happens on such good days =)

I liked the over all characterisation of Susan and the insight into her thoughts. I felt for her and wanted to hug her. It was a very bittersweet fic and I liked it. Good work!

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Heya Aditi! Thanks for swinging on by!

I'm really glad you liked this. I guess because there's a lot of scope with Susan Bones' character I could technically do whatever I wanted with her story, but I did want to write something that sort of considered all that was going on in the wizarding world as she was growing up. I'm glad you liked this :) also, I love the Christmas season so I really enjoyed writing about it! :D

xxx


 Report Review

Review #3, by ANightingaleInAGoldenCage Fifth Christmas

1st June 2015:
I loved this one. It's from a character you never really read much about, but even with not so much words spoken by her, you really can see the Huffelpuff within her, be able to feel how she would feel once she would hand over her presents to the recipients. Little details like fairy lights, pink flushed faces, the warm touch of china all add to the story. It makes you able to envision it all, almost like you're walking in London yourself, like you can picture yourself in the shop and in Regent's Street. The added touches of the red busses, the muggle money and the business on the streets. It all captures the Christmas vibe of the London city centre. Really well done and a lovely read!

Author's Response: Heya!

Thank you so much for the review! You are so kind and I'm really glad you enjoyed this! I was feeling particularly Christmassy as I wrote it so I'm glad that came across!

Thanks for taking the time out to review :)

Laura xxx


 Report Review

Review #4, by jtz Fifth Christmas

22nd May 2015:
very beautiful. thank you, i really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: I'm really glad!! Thanks for taking the time out to review :) xxx

 Report Review

Review #5, by Fuzzy Duck Fifth Christmas

9th April 2015:
quack!

As a freshly-hatched baby duck, I am looking forward to my first Christmas, which is the time for wondrous things. So this story made me even more excited, although it also made me sad.

Susan Bones is an underexplored character in the Harry Potter fanfiction realm, so I'm glad that you decided to give her some attention. I mean, there's a reason why she counted the Christmases she spent alone, and that's so sad. But you juxtaposed (and because I'm a duck, I don't know why I know the word 'juxtaposed,' but stranger things have happened) her sadness so well with the sensory elements of Christmastime that I delighted in the sensations while grieving for her loss. No wonder you won the challenge, with such an ability to make ducks feel emotions!

That bartender was a nice person. I hope that Susan sees him again. He could be a friend in the midst of her sadness. I did think it was rather magical and perhaps closure-giving that Susan saw a small girl and an aunt walking by. I hope her Christmas was a good one.

I must waddle on down the lane, but just remember to be kind to your web-footed friends!

♥Fuzzy Duck

Author's Response: Yay Fuzzy Duck!! ♥

Thanks so much for waddling on by! ♥ I'm really glad you enjoyed this one-shot and felt appropriately Christmassy! Christmas is my favourite time of the year and I'm sure it will be for you too! You've made my day with this lovely review, thank you!

I feel the same way about Susan - I think it's really sad that just as many terrible things happened to her and she's sort of off grieving in the background in the shadow of the trio. So I thought I'd giver her a one-shot. I'm really happy that you liked, and also kudos for you for knowing so many big words! :P Can you pronounce them okay, or do they come out as a more of a 'quuaack?'

Thank you Fuzzy Duck, you're the greatest!

Laura xxx


 Report Review

Review #6, by MargaretLane Fifth Christmas

31st March 2015:
*laughs* This story leapt out at me, as I've recently written a story about Susan Bones having had a pretty horrific time during the war and I've also written two Christmas stories about characters having or having had unhappy Christmases.

*laughs* I saw snow in Dublin city centre once, but that was like the coldest winter since 1601 or something, so not exactly the norm.

I really like the introductory sentence about how time eases memories.

And oh, the poor girl, feeling bad about the fact she's feeling better. Poor, poor girl.

That paragraph when she enters the coffee shop was so atmospheric, it had me smiling, until it reached the part about the distant family members she had left. The poor girl.

Oh, you wrote "my friends kitten," when there should be an apostrophe in "friend's." Same with "my aunt's favourite holiday."

It makes sense that Christmas would bring all these memories back to her, even when she's beginning to recover from everything she's been through.

Ah, so sorry to wake you from your trance,
That sentence should have a full stop at the end, rather than a comma.

Aw, it sounds like she's feeling a little better at the end. I hope she has a good Christmas, or as good a one as is possible, considering all she's lost.

Author's Response: Heya! :D

Thank you so so much for dropping by with these reviews - it's so kind of you! :D

I absolutely wrote this one-shot on a whim for the Christmas Challenge, so I am so so glad you liked it! I get so excited about that warm Christmassy feeling, so I was uber keen to try and get some of that across in this piece. I'm so pleased you thought the atmosphere of the coffee shop work!

Oops, typos, sorry! I'll change them as soon as :)

I wanted to write Susan because I thought she's such a sad character who loses so much, but she doesn't get a lot of book-time really. I'm really glad you felt for her here, and thank you so much the lovely review :)

Laura xxx



 Report Review

Review #7, by HermyLuna2 Fifth Christmas

21st March 2015:
I really love how you get sucked into the story and feel like you are in London yourself. Great job on that. I also think the topic is quite original. Most stories deal with parents or friends being lost in the war, but some will have a very great bond with their aunt and uncle too. And you handled the subject in a good way, it was never melodramatic yet you feel really sorry for Susan. I also applaud you on hinting on a possible romance without feeling the need to rush into it in an unrealistic way and make it destract from the rest of the story.

One comment I have though is that the story feels a bit 'Muggle', there's not much magic in it. However, since Susan is a half-blood, that doesn't have to be a really big sin.

Susan's relationship with her aunt and uncle could maybe have been described a little more as well, but I feel that that would maybe suit a separate story better, since this one is about Susan overcoming her grief. But it got me interested in Susan and the rest of her story. I think it's great when a story asks questions.

Overall, this was very good!

Author's Response: Heya!

I wrote this one-shot on a bit of a whim for a challenge, so I'm pleased that you liked it :) I agree, it is quite 'Muggle' - I thought that when I was writing it, but sort of didn't know how to target it. Maybe in defense of the piece it is very short, but no I definitely do agree.

Eek, thank you for the really great review. I feel like Susan is one of the characters in the HP universe that doesn't get as much love as she deserves - and also, her aunts and uncles death in the book was horrific! So I guess this is just a piece to let her grieve.

Thank you so much for the review!

Laura xxx


 Report Review

Review #8, by Tiny Teddy Bear Fifth Christmas

20th March 2015:
Oh, that was so lovely and sad. You painted the Christmassy feeling so evocatively, and her internal conflict between her sorrow at losing her family and the way she is feeling the Christmas spirit.

And the end was quite heartbreaking, how she jumps up to see the woman and girls, and knows they were never really there...

I really did like the barista, too. He felt like a sort of spirit of Christmas goodwill and kindness. He wasn't going for any kind of recompense, he was simply kind out of the goodness of his heart. :)

Author's Response: Hey there,

Thank you for taking the time out to review! It's so kind of you. I'm really glad you enjoyed this, I wrote it on a bit of a whim for a challenge but I think it turned out relatively okay hehe. Thanks for the lovely review and the support, and again I'm so glad you enjoyed this.

Laura xxx


 Report Review

Review #9, by monstrosity Fifth Christmas

13th December 2014:
Hello!

Let me just start by saying I love the fact that you used Susan Bones as the protagonist because she's a character I've always wanted to read fiction about! It's a pity that there aren't many stories about her, but this one is simply fabulous!

The war shook so many people up, something JK didn't really emphasise that much as she moved from Harry's victory to the epilogue. So many characters lost family and friends, and yet can find small happiness on a cold Christmas night in very unexpected places.

I think this story shows how one small kind gesture can go a long way. I guess that is what Christmas is about, not extravagant gifts, but thoughtfulness and care.

This is beautifully written and I love how Susan counts her Christmases in a way a prisoner would tally their years spent in jail - alive, but trapped. Yet, towards the end, perhaps this wouldn't be the 'Fifth Christmas' but 'The Christmas when thing began to Look Up?"

Anyway, this was a lovely read!

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thank you so much for the really lovely review. It's so nice of you to drop by and I'm really glad you enjoyed this fic.

Haha I feel like I am constantly just writing minor characters but it's honestly my most favourite thing in the world! So many of them have stories that just aren't given enough love and Susan Bones is just one example. Obviously the war would have been such a traumatic thing and it kinds annoys me when it's as though everything would have gone back to normal, because it most definitely wouldn't have! Maybe I'm just super angsty but I think the negative experiences are worth dwelling on.

I'm really flattered that you liked this. I was feeling super Christmassy when I wrote it (trying not to think about all the Christmas shopping I had to do) and it made me think about how emotive a holiday actually is. Yes, I love your idea! I guess at the end of this she really starts to heal.

Thank you so much for your lovely review! Laura xxx


 Report Review

Review #10, by wolfgirl17 Fifth Christmas

5th December 2014:
Hey Laura,

This story was lovely but so sad. You made me tear up a little. I completely understand the feelings Susan is suffering around Christmas time and can understand the confusion and intermingled joy and guilt at the idea of continuing on without loved ones at such a family-based time of the year.

You've got one or two little mistakes, like I think you accidentally wrote steadily when you meant steady, but other than that this story is just flawless. I really enjoyed it. You definitely had me thinking of the holiday I took to London a few years back with your descriptions of the city and the cold and the delightful warmth of coffee shops and their Christmas menus. My favorite was always the hot chocolate with hazelnut =)

Thanks so much for entering my challenge. This story was lovely. I really enjoyed reading it. I will try to have the results for the challenge up before Christmas day, depending on how many entries I get, but I'll be posting them in my blog and will PM the winners with their prizes. Good luck, you're definitely in the running here. Loved it!

xx-Ellie

Author's Response: Hey lovely!

Thanks so much for having a read of this before the deadline - I was really inspired by your challenge and wanted to make Christmas less cheesy and more heartfelt! I'm sorry it made you feel sad :( but I really hope you took something away from it other than just the story of Susan. ♥

Ah, thanks for pointing those out for me! I guess that's what happens when you slam something out in an afternoon and forget to thoroughly proof read! Bad habits -.- thanks though, I'll fix those in an edit soon!

Hehe yeah I love London at Christmas! I've lived in London for years but every Christmas-time it amazes me with how magical and unfamiliar some parts of the city feel, all lit up wit Christmas lights! I am also a certified flavoured coffee addict so I think for that bit I was trying to get across my cravings for a lovely sugary drink hehe :P

Eek thanks so much!! That makes me so excited! I hope you've had fun running the challenge and hopefully you'll have a snazzy one in the New Year, too! Thanks a billion trillion for the review ♥

Laura xxx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login