Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Shadow Prince
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Oregonian The Goblin's Visit

28th March 2015:
Hi, Jenna. This story is just marvelous. I love the way you use the important elements of the Harry Potter story, but in new, fresh ways. It is as if the inhabitants of the Potterverse are putting on a stage play or filming a movie, and the parts in this drama are being played by the inhabitants most suited to play those roles, as selected by the director (you). The elements of the Harry Potter story and the Little Princess story are interwoven so skillfully that I donít think that a naive reader would realize that this story is a blending of two dissimilar stories. The touches of genuine Potter trivia are charming to encounter, unexpectedly, here and there within the storyline, always filling in well, woven in place with completely appropriate new material. The writing style is smooth and polished, which makes for easy reading with no imperfect wording to distract our attention and break the mood.

It has been a very long time since I read A Little Princess, but I recall that it had an extremely Victorian feel, which you have recreated very well. One is reminded of Charles Dickensí stories from the outset.

I am looking forward to reading the rest of this story. We appear to have a long way yet to go, and I am curious about how you will continue weaving the wizarding elements into the old tale of the abandoned child. Very nice job.

Vicki

Author's Response: Hi Vicki, thank you so much for this amazing review! I'm very sorry in taking this long to respond. I really have enjoyed working on this story and it's so lovely to hear from you about it.

I LOVE the way you describe this genre or form of writing. it's not a crossover, but kind of in the same vein, and I love the analogy of the Potter characters putting on a play.

As someone who loves Dickens, that is an amazing compliment!

You've inspired me to start working on this again. I'm about to take a summer class in Victorian culture, so hopefully I'll be able to update sometime soon. Thank you so much for this! ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The Potters

29th January 2015:
Hey, Jenna! Here for the review exchange!

Oh, my God! I love this. I'm genuinely torn over what I love more: the historical elements or that it's about the Potters. As a lover of history, with the Victorian era among my favorites, I'm very excited to see where you go with this. You've brought the two stories together really well so far (and, I bet, throughout) and I can't wait to see what happens next and how Harry's life will be in a different environment and life to what we grew up with.

Also. Harry. He is so adorable, especially with his parents. I wanted to hug him and keep him, but also give him back and make them take him home. :P

The beginning. All the mystery. I love it. And the end, all the feels. I understand the need for security, but to forget where he is. :( ...They didn't forget Harry... did they?

I'm so happy to have found this! I'll definitely be back for more!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi Sam! :D Ah, you are so kind, thank you!!

I'm so glad you're excited about the Victorian era and how it mixes with the HP world! This story is my current baby and it's so great to get feedback from fellow history lovers.

He is adorable, isn't he? I based his characterization a lot on his personality from Philosopher's Stone with how kind and yet brave he was.

They didn't forget Harry, but his location. :( So sad, and they might regret it! I'm glad you liked the mystery, hehe

Thanks so much for the brilliant review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by patronus_charm The Question of Nanny

25th January 2015:
Hi again!

Nanny seems to be so lovely! I canít quite figure out who sheís meant to be in the Harry Potter world, at times I think sheís Hermione because of the way sheís so good at everything and the way Snape laughs at her, but then her caring nature reminds me of Hagrid now and then too, but hopefully it will become clearer later on.

I really like how the Fat Lady was incorporated into this story as it still leads to where loads of the Weasleys live if that makes sense. I like how here even though Ron is the servant, he has this advantage over Harry as heís there with his family, while Harryís sort of abandoned instead then the fact he can provide Harry with all the news in the world too is cool. Bahaha, I love how the Weasley boys were still trying to destroy Snapeís life by putting stuff in his soup!

Ew, Umbridge was so creepy trying to be nice, I just canít deal with her. I really like how youíre merging all the books together as it seems as if weíre in the third book now with the way heís received a Firebolt and the DADA teacherís off ill. It seems as if Harryís parents are still around as theyíre sending messages to Griphook which is a good sign even though itís getting worse outside in terms of danger.

Ooh so Nanny is McGonagall then, I guess the fact that she seemed like both Hagrid and Hermione makes sense then. I felt so bad for her whilst reading that letter as it really highlighted the position of women in society at that time and it was done in a nice and subtle way so well done for that.

This was such a great chapter, I canít wait to read on! :D

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hey hey!!

Nanny was one of those characters who is quite different from her canon self, but mostly because of her circumstances and not having the same advantages as a witch would in the twentieth century. I hoped readers would be guessing a little so it made me excited to see your guesses.

It was fun incorporating the Fat Lady too, I'm a big fan of her! :) That's such a good point about Ron having his family, and in a way that was kind of a point of tension between them in the canon books as well, even though Ron's family welcomed Harry with open arms. Hehe, Fred and George are pretty sneaky that way. :P

The books are kind of all mixed together here, but drawing plot elements from all of them. I'm so worried that I'm going to miss something important, but events from the books are quite inspiring for future plot. They're still alive for now, but things outside the school are meant to be getting dangerous.

Yes! :D Ah, so much feminist commentary underlying that letter. It was really interesting to write characters like Nanny and slot them into the gender roles I read about in nineteenth century novels.

Thanks so much, Kiana! You're the best! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm The School in Phantom Square

25th January 2015:
Hey lovely!

Ah, this is so strange reading this because it all makes sense yet it doesnít at the same time, either way itís a good strange! Itís funny get a glimpse into this privileged world of wizards, because in a way this could have been Harryís childhood with this endless supply of money, treats and presents but he didnít have it because he was brought up at the Dursleys, you really have written it so well as itís making complete sense to me and I donít know The Little Princess.

It was nice to see that despite Harry being spoilt, he was still being generous and kind with the way he befriended Ron. I felt so sorry for him as he seemed so solemn being the servant, and then getting told off for eating breakfast with Harry but hopefully his mood will pick up as he and Harry become friends. I hope Mrs Weasley will feature in this story because I guess she already sort of has, but it would be great to see more of her.

Ew, Snape! Heís evil as ever so sucks to him, I canít help but wonder what heíll be like in this adapted version of the story though. Bahaha, it made me laugh that Draco couldnít get the best room as it was reserved for Harry, because for once Harry starts on a level above Draco. Dracoís still the same with his gang of cronies, and warning Harry off Neville, I guess some people never change.

The influence of Lily and James on Harry is so sweet with the way he shares everything with his friends and those who need as it just warmed my heart. Plus, the way he tolerated Colin Creevey here even though he could be very annoying a lot of the time. I think the thing which touched my heart the most was how they were always the heroes in his story. Hmm, I canít think why they left him here other than for an Order mission or something of that sort.

Great chapter!:D

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hello again! :) Thanks so much for returning, you lovely lady!

Haha, I love your description of it making sense but not making sense! I'm glad you liked the extravagance of it all, and it's pretty much what happens in TLP but this is the wizarding version. :P I was worried that Harry being spoiled would seem like too much, but it made sense with the guilt that his parents might feel at leaving him there.

I know, poor Ron. :( It fit to make him a servant though because the Weasleys already get bullied in HP for being "poor" so their circumstances added a good balance into this story. Mrs. Weasley will definitely be around, though in the currently published chapters she exists more through references than through actual appearances.

Snape... well, he's not one of my favourite characters, but his nastiness is kind of fun to write. Haha yes, Draco isn't portrayed as the most favourable either I'm afraid. :P

Aw, I'm so glad you liked how much Harry admires his parents and how they influence him. I thought the heroes thing seemed realistic too, especially since he's kind of idealizing them a bit now that they're separated.

Thanks so much, dear! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by missatron The Potters

23rd January 2015:
Hello Lululuna! I'm on a bit of a reviewing spree at the moment, so I hope you don't mind if I jump in and review this?

I have never actually read 'A Little Princess' before, so unfortunately, I won't be able to notice any of the parallels or similarities to 'A Little Princess' in this chapter. Even so, I thought you did an excellent job setting the scene. Your descriptions made a vivid image in my mind of Bloomsbury.

I liked your opening sentence to the chapter as well. It was simple, but effective. Sometimes, simplicity is a lot better than over the top fancy wording. It was so nice seeing the Potters surviving Voldemort's attack. They didn't deserve to die.

I also enjoyed how you described Hogwarts as a much posher school - actually quite like a finishing school - very different to what the Hogwarts is like today. I actually started to frown when I saw that Umbridge had made her way into the story. There is definitely going to be some trouble her way, and that's for certain!

I really enjoyed reading this! Hopefully I'll be back for more soon!

Missy ♥

Author's Response: Hi Missy! :) Wow, you are so sweet, for this review and the one on PTD. Thank you! ♥

I'm so glad you liked the scene, and are interested in the setting and circumstances here. And I definitely agree about simplicity, especially with inviting the reader in. I was so happy that this story gave me the chance to give the Potters more time with their son as well.

It definitely is like a finishing school! It fit well with the Little Princess storyline, but also made sense and meant I got to set the scene in London which I was really excited about. Umbridge is definitely bad news! :P

Thank you so much for the really lovely review!! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by patronus_charm The Potters

22nd January 2015:
Yayayya another Jenna story to read! ♥

OOoh oooh this is set in Bloomsbury, thatís already got me excited as itís one of my favourite areas in London as I love the houses and the fact the British Museum is there means that everything just feel so intellectual when youíre walking around so this has already made me far too excited! ♥

It was so strange seeing the Potters alive, because believe it or not this is the first story that Iíve read when they survive the attack from Voldemort. It was so nice to see them like that as they were such great parents to Harry in the little scene with them, and I could really see how much it pained them to live them there but I guess the Order comes first. I canít wait to see how you build on that backstory with the war because obviously itís already quite different to what happened in the books, so I canít imagine what comes next. Another thing I liked was how societal issues such as Lily having to marry well come into it as that added another element to it.

I love how this version of Hogwarts is like a finishing school in a way, because obviously the pupils are younger but they are training them up to become young men. I loved the nod towards the prestige Oxbridge has in the UK with how so many went off to it, and I quite wait to see how the upper English classes merge with the wizarding world.

Ew, Umbridge is there! I can already some drama over on that front so it will be interesting to see how you pursue that. Ew no, no, no that ending with them forgetting that Harry was there is horrible and I do not want to know who the dark figure is because my guess is that that person is not going to be nice in the slightest.

A great start to the story, Jenna! :D

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana!! :D

Ahh, it's one of my favourites too! Victorian Bloomsbury is so interesting as well and I just couldn't resist setting the story there.

Ah, I'm glad you liked seeing them! This story is so weird, it's been kind of reworked into an AU but doesn't follow the events of the series necessarily in order, so there will definitely be some surprises. I'm glad you liked seeing how close they were to Harry and also the societal issues. When I started this story I was in a Victorian lit class and we talked a lot about marriage and gender and a lot of that has leaked into this story.

It was so interesting coming up with Hogwarts being a finishing school and how it would complement the Little Princess plotline.

Ah yes, Umbridge! I just couldn't resist, she is so simpering and awful and fun to write though. Aw, I know - so sad to do that, but at least they got several more years with their son than in the books so that made me happy.

Thanks so much, Kiana! :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by Charlie Hayden The Potters

3rd December 2014:
Great start! Very detailed and I really like the changes. I hadn't thought to cast Umbridge in this story but it is perfect casting. I look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :) I'm so excited about this story and I'm glad you liked the changes. Thanks for the great challenge! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by Veritaserum27 The Potters

30th November 2014:
Hi there!

I'm here for our review swap. I don't know if I can express how much I love "A Little Princess." It was the first novel that I read. It was the first book that I cried over. It was the first movie (Shirley Temple version caught on a Sunday afternoon) that I cried over. I think it was the reason that I became such an avid reader and the reason that my imagination never stopped growing. Gah! It was the first book I bought and read to my daughter (not even Harry Potter got that honor ;))

And you did such a fabulous job with this. I was actually a bit worried, but I really think everything was perfect. You didn't plunk the 1980's Potters down in the middle of 1800s London and sit back and watch. This was a perfect melding of the two worlds. I am amazed at your talent. I read your author's note and it is obvious that not only have you been studying Victorian Literature - and that you take great care with your choices for how to meld your story. I loved your descriptions and your casual mention of Snape and Sirius.

I found one part that seemed a bit off here:

"As you know, we provide the upmost security and secrecy, which I believe to be of the greatest importance..."

I wasn't sure if you meant "utmost" as upmost is usually reserved to describe an object that is in the highest position, where utmost usually means to the highest degree. I could be totally off - my degree is in Chemistry - haha!

Aaaand - UMBRIDGE AS MINCHIN!!! I can't believe it. That is the best - I mean there couldn't possibly be a better character parallel than THAT! My mind is simply reeling at the possibilities of what is going to happen here.

I was so sad at the end of the chapter that James and Lily have to forget the location of their son. I know it is necessary for them when they are clearly doing it for his own good, but my heart broke for them all the same.

Thanks so much for doing a swap. This story is going to be great!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi Beth!! :)

I absolutely love The Little Princess as well and when the chance came up to write a HP story based on the book I just couldn't resist. I also had just finished a course on Victorian lit so this was the perfect story to work on. I'm so glad you thought this did the story justice, it means a lot coming from a fellow lover of the novel! :D

I think I did mean utmost, hehe. I'll fix that! :P

Ah, I know right?! When I started fitting characters in, it was all just too perfect. Umbridge basically IS Minchin already.

Aw, it is sad. :( I felt happy that I gave Harry more time with his parents in this story but it was a very sad scene to write.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, Beth!! :D ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login