Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Past Tense
  
56 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LaiaAsieo fourth.

3rd September 2016:
Wonderful story - in fact I like it so much I've just registered so that I can post a review ;)
Steph is a great character, I do hope you continue the story, I'd love to find out more about her.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Crescent Moon  fourth.

29th February 2016:
I'm loving this story so far. So good and really original!
I'm loving all your characters and their reaction to the wizarding world.
I really can't wait to see where you take it and how both Steph and Connor get on with teaching. Please continue with this soon!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Enigmaticrose4 fourth.

29th November 2015:
So, not only has there been no update in months, it ends in a cliffie.

I'm so sad...

Author's Response: sorry about that, i'm terrible

 Report Review

Review #4, by Enigmaticrose4 second.

29th November 2015:
Can I say that this premise is one of the most exciting ones I've ever encountered? As a teacher (of English to non-native speakers) with a love of history I really, really want to read more. I'm sad there's only four chapters and it hasn't been updated in four months.

Please, update.

Author's Response: i'm hoping to update it in the near future, thanks for the interest!

 Report Review

Review #5, by notreallyblonde44 fourth.

5th September 2015:
Hello ad astra! Ellie from the Pit here, combing through all the Silver Scale submissions.

This is a really interesting concept, I've seen a few Squib/Muggle teachers at Hogwarts fics, but this is the first I've read through. This is a really well written and executed! I found myself really connecting with Steph and the struggles of post-profession after Uni lol.

And the twist at the end- we finally get her last name!! I bet that will add a new layer to the plot and I'm excited to see where this goes. You've really dived into Hogwarts as a problematic schooling system, which I appreciate. And the line about appropriating Latin was hilarious! I'm not sure which chapter that was in, as I'm doing a giant review as opposed to individual ones, but there's a lot of funny one-liners in here!

Overall your dialogue is really quick, easy to follow, and quippy. Steph really doesn't take anything from anyone, and I think she's bound to put her foot in her mouth soon. I look forward to it in a way as her jaded-ness is so far different from everyone else's "I LOVE HOGWARTS" glorified wizardingness. Quite a refreshing perspective :) I hope to see some familiar faces and deeper characterizations soon. I feel like I actually don't know much about Steph outside of her disdain for her family and past (which I totally get why she is this way), but something is kind of missing from her character to me, like a certain likability factor or her passions outside of schooling or something? i can't put my finger on it, so I apologize about that.

Anywho, definitely keeping my eye on this, really want to see where you go with it :)

xx's Ellie

 Report Review

Review #6, by Shinicha third.

4th September 2015:
I'm rolling on my bed laughing! This is hilarious!

Actually it makes me really giddy to think of all the possibilities there are when you can basically invent your own curriculum!

Also, this is the first time I read the word "Marxist" in a fanfiction and it made me really happy. Though I can only imagine what the respective media theory would say.

The thought that Connor actually walks through a castle that looks like a ruin is quite fascinating. I wonder about all the other spells that have been cast. But maybe things like "remembering urgent appointments" don't really happen when you already know it's there!

I wonder if Connor's students can ever grasp his subject. I wonder if they're even capable of grasping elementary physics, now that I think of it, since all its rules don't apply to them. HM.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Shinicha first.

4th September 2015:
I love this story already!

The snide remarks about the magic world's absurdities are hilarious. And the story idea is really nice to begin with, it has a lot of potential fun and drama, I'm looking forward to reading it!

I was just wondering: Can you drive at age 16 in the UK? I thought it might have been later...

The letter by the headmistress is quite strict in tone haha. She seems so sure that Steph will say yes! I wonder how much she knows about magic history, since she studied the Muggle one... Reading on! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by EnigmaticEyes16 second.

22nd August 2015:
Oh, wow. I really love this story, Lisa!

I wonder what Steph means about her inner demons though. I love all the talk about her bringing her tablet to her meeting with Professor Vector and whether or not they have wifi, I wonder if she knows technology doesn't work in Hogwarts? I'm guessing not. Unless that's changed in this future Post-War Hogwarts.

That's both terrible and hilarious that her friends may have seen an abandoned home every time they picked her up! It's insane how wizards feel the need to hide so much from the muggle world. They already separated themselves by living in the middle of nowhere!

And I loved her talk with Vector and how she's just in shock that wizards don't bother with sources and have been teaching the same curriculum and text book for hundreds of years basically. And the fact that this is what's convinced her to take the job is just amazing! I'm glad she's finally found purpose with this job and plans on teaching wizards a thing or two about how to document history.

This story is just great and Steph is hilarious and awesome and I can't wait to read on!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #9, by EnigmaticEyes16 first.

21st August 2015:
Hi Lisa! Stopping by to bestow some Slytherin love your way and thank you for all your help during the House Cup this year!

Oh my gosh, I adore this story already! It's one of the many stories of yours I've been meaning to read. Steph is such an interesting character! I love that she grew up in the wizarding world but is okay with being a squib and not being able to do magic. She's not ashamed of who she is and she loves living with muggles, I think that's such a great representation of a squib. Even though her family clearly hasn't made any effort to learn about her world and she's clearly a bit put off by that, and she should be. She'd probably be a much better fit in the Muggle Liaison office than her sister. She'd probably even be a great Muggle Studies teacher and I'm kind of surprised that that isn't the teaching position she was offered. I wonder how much she knows of wizarding history though, since she's mainly been studying muggle history in school and her siblings probably don't have a lot to say about History of Magic since they're always sleeping through the subject.

I also like how she was able to tell her friends that her family is made up of wizards, and that wizards exist, and showed them how floo powder works! And I loved the milkshake joke, that made me laugh.

This is a great story so far and I can't wait to read more of it!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #10, by marauderfan fourth.

13th August 2015:
WOW THAT TWIST WHAT?! It sounds like she's really surprised by the information and I'm curious how much she knows about her grandfather already - like what side of the story her family has told her about him. aah!

Also, I love Steph's flatmates. Iskander trying to put a picture of magic on instagram haha. The blend of magical and Muggle in this is just really entertaining. Especially Steph's very anti-wizard stance - it's a different viewpoint than is usually seen in fanfiction (which makes sense because there isn't a lot written about Squibs). I loved it when she put the Floo Network setup on her own terms and refused to pay and made the wizards just leave. She's very internally strong and I think that's something she'll need as a Squib teaching at a school of magic, especially because prejudices don't vanish overnight and I'm sure there's still a lot of distrust or dislike of Squibs - her own family being an excellent example. :( And Madame Pince (or maybe she was just grumpy about someone else wanting to use her books... she is just kind of like that), and that portrait that Steph actually PUNCHED hahah.

things I'm looking forward to: seeing how Connor deals with the idea of wizards just throwing Latin phrases around right and left when they're just "appropriated" and not used properly haha.

I love this story!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jaffagirl fourth.

13th August 2015:
Hi! I really, really like what you've written so far with this book, it flows really well and has me hooked to find out what happens next. I also really like Steph's no-mess attitude with the Magic folk, and how she isn't sulking about being a Squib.

Author's Response: thank you so much, i'm glad you're enjoying it! Steph really has no time for wizards, and it's super refreshing to write. thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #12, by 800 words of heaven first.

27th July 2015:
Let me just open this review by violently disagreeing with Steph: yes, pomegranates are difficult to eat, but that should not be a reason to dislike them - THE EFFORT IS TOTALLY WORTH IT. The effort is in fact so much worth it, that there's an entire saying about it in Hindi.

Moving on.

Hey, hey, hey! I'm dropping by and showering some review love on all those who participated in HC2k15 as proud members of Slytherin House. I've been meaning to review something of yours for a while now, so this presented itself as the perfect opportunity.

I can't say that I'm very fond of Steph at the moment. This may be because my greatest desire since first reading the Harry Potter series has been to attend Hogwarts, and her complete lack of enthusiasm for the school is just too shocking for my delicate sensibilities. I feel though, that this is rather the point. I most certainly empathise with her, and I look forward to getting to know her better over the course of the next few chapters (when I once again return after an unexplained long absence). I am very open to the idea of revising my views on Steph.

I sincerely hope that once Steph joins the Hogwarts teaching faculty, it does not mean the end of her flatmates' presence in her life. They sound like a fantastic bunch of people. I wish to read more and more about them.

I think the aspect of this story about which I am most excited is that WE GET TO SEE A REHAUL OF HOGWARTS EDUCATION. Does that make me a huge nerd, that educational reform excites me? I don't even care, it's that cool.

Basically, I really enjoyed this first chapter, and I hope to return soon to read more. Also please accept my sincerest apologies for my rather insubstantial review. *disappears in a swish of my villainous cloak and a puff of smoke*

 Report Review

Review #13, by merlins beard fourth.

14th July 2015:
Hey there,

Just wanted to let you know that
a) I'm still reading this and
b) it's still fantastic!

I love your characters, and that they are being integrated in the wizarding community in such a unique way. I've always loved the hogwarts library, it holds so many exciting new things that can be scientifically disproved in an instant but are still true to us. I can really relate to what it must be like to come there as a Muggle and see and read all the magical books. It's amazing.

Irma Pince is just like I imagined her to be. She'd start out distrusting the new teachers (as she does with students) but begrudgingly helps them out anyway, especially by moving the newspapers to the office. I love the idea with the filing cabinet!!

Hm I wonder what Steph is going to do with that last piece of information... I hope she's allright.

Can't wait for more,

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #14, by Mazenzo fourth.

9th July 2015:
Hurray! I've been checking this site for updates every other day. I can't wait for the action to begin, though I'm surprised even with the low standards of Muggle Studies that Hogwarts would hire someone with no frame of reference to the experiences of many of his students (purebloods, most halfbloods, and muggleborn students like Harry and Hermione come third year (assuming Vector doesn't mandate MS from first year itself) are totally subsumed in magical culture).

Hiring Persephone sounds just like the kind of thing a school in a small cosy society like wizarding Britain would do. They may well have hired Connor, but not without a discussion on the curriculum, especially given the huge variance in the knowledge of the students. It's like teaching ESL with zero knowledge of the students' first language, and moreover, when some students don't know a word of English, and some are fairly proficient.

Good show.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Chivalrous fourth.

8th July 2015:
Wow, okay I really love this!

When I first read the summary I was immediately interested and then I started reading! It's so good!

All of your characters are amazing and individual with their own quirks and personalities showing through. I absolutely love Steph and her siblings' names are pretty awesome! Speaking of siblings I can't wait to meet Telemachus, he sounds amazing and his name is the best.

I haven't gotten to see much of the plot and where the story is going, but I'm so excited to see what's going to happen. Really really excited!

So post ASAP, because I'm insanely curious!

This story is wonderful and you're an amazing writer!

Sincerely,
Ireland

 Report Review

Review #16, by Maggie fourth.

8th July 2015:
So.

This is absolutely lovely.

I'm always a fan of new plot ideas on here, and Squib teaching at Hogwarts is certainly one I've never read before. Your pacing is great and keeps the story entertaining to read.

I'm excited to see what comes next! I'm also hoping we'll learn more about Steph's friends as the story progresses; right now they're more window dressing, but I appreciate how you're letting their individual personalities develop through their reactions instead of just boringly saying "Connor is this kind of person blah blah blah."

Can't wait for more!

 Report Review

Review #17, by BookDinosaur fourth.

8th July 2015:
ALL I WANT IN LIFE IS TO GET FIRST REVIEW IS THIS SO MUCH TO ASK

i don't know yet but i sure hope not

ahh, i love this so much lisa. have i reviewed the previous chapters to let you know how much i love them too? i need to get on that as soon as i finish with this review. also, i'm counting reviews as part of my julno so prepare yourself for no contractions and a lot of rambling

steph is so sassy when it comes to wizards, oh my goodness. i mean, it makes a lot of sense that she'd have some pent-up resentment towards wizards and the wizarding world especially after she was excluded from it, and that kind of manifests in the way that she firmly does not let them step over her at all. it's really interesting and i love that even though she's going to hogwarts to teach wizarding students you haven't decided that she's just going to let go of all her resentment towards this world, you know? i love the way you've written this character and how she deals with this world she was kicked out of and then abruptly re-invited into. does any of this make sense?

ooh, connor is absolutely the best, analysing the incantations for spells. i cannot wait to see more of this :D "wizards don't care about latin. they just appropriate it" honestly this is so accurate tbh that's exactly what english does, taking from a whole bunch of other languages and developing it until it just becomes known as english. i love the way you just throw these small details into the world so casually, and overall it contributes to an amazing amount of worldbuilding that makes an intricate and really well thought out world and yeah i'm just in awe of your ability to constantly think of and build on the aspects of the harry potter world that weren't really mentioned much in canon.

steph punches a painting. it doesn't work, but i may be in love.

i love the reactions to magic that steph's flatmates have: basically nothing, to be honest. the most drastic reaction any of them have is iskander, who wants to put this on instagram. can we take a moment to imagine a situation where that actually happened? the wizards would probably be certain that the muggles were doing some kind of telepathic hive-mind magic because the news went around so quickly. just. take a moment.

there's a book entitles "coping with your squib child"??? oh my god, there must be a pretty big bias against them in the wizarding world! and i'm so looking forward to how this impacts steph teaching - that kind of stereotype is probably going to lead to a lot of insolent, disrespectful kids, and she can't just punch all of them, can she?

and oh my days, i can't sign off without mentioning that last twist! that's so fascinating, how steph is related to death eaters, and again, that's a really interesting dfactor which might impact the way the students she has to deal with view her - but more importantly, i think, this kind of sets wheels in motion for steph to research law and be horrified at the lax and undignified law process that the wizarding world has - i mean, obviously you might not choose to take this story in that direction and that's completely fine, i'm just getting too excited bouncing ideas off - myself? i'm essentially bouncing ideas off myself i should probably submit this review before it gets any weirder/off topic

i'm going to finish up with i loved this chapter, lisa, and i love the story and the characters that you've introduced, and i can't wait to see what happens to them next so you should totes update soon!

♥ Emily

ps - first review?? i thINK THIS IS FIRST REVIEW I WIN AT LIFE

 Report Review

Review #18, by Beeezie third.

28th June 2015:
I literally cannot stop laughing at this story, and I am so sad there's not more of it for me to read. It's so wonderful.

I love the way Steph criticizes the way the wizarding world does things, because from where I'm standing, she's 100% right. I mean, yeah - parchment and quills? Really? How about, you know, a pencil? Those are useful. I can't imagine taking notes with a quill. I would love it if when classes start, she goes off on everyone and makes them use normal note-taking implements. Like pens and pencils and paper. See how much they mock Muggles and Squibs then.

When she chewed out Vector, I wanted to jump into my screen and hug her fictional character self. That's one of my biggest pet peeves ever - "Please reform this institution. Wait, reform means change? Does not compute!" At least Vector backed down, though.

I am so psyched that Connor is the new Muggle Studies professor, too. This is wonderful. I can't wait for more. You win at writing forever.

House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #19, by Beeezie second.

28th June 2015:
I love Steph's friends. Inner demons or not, a good job right out of school is a good job right out of school. Even if it's not quite what you want, it puts food on the table (well, I guess the house elves do that at Hogwarts, but you know what I mean) and, as Connor pointed out, it pays off your loans. I can totally understand why she'd take this job, even if she isn't a huge fan of the wizarding world in general. And Devika's right, too - this a chance to make a difference.

I don't think the fact that she'd be teaching history, not Muggle Studies, really hit me until I read this chapter. I mean, I knew that, but I think Vector gets credit for not having a token Muggle teaching Muggle Studies on staff as some kind of diversity statement. This is really cool, especially since Steph has a very different view of wizarding history.

And of, you know, history history. And functioning in the world. And teaching. God, my background is in history, psychology, and library science, and the lack of PRIMARY SOURCES and CITATIONS has me tearing my hair out. Good god.

I love this so much, by the way.

House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #20, by crestwood third.

28th June 2015:
It's been a while since I've stopped by this story. I'm kind of sad that this is the last chapter I've got to tell you the truth because I'm obsessed.

Wizards really don't understand the struggle that is moving. I think that may be the most practical use for magic--getting all of your things into boxes and moving them somewhere else.

A year of teaching Muggle studies does kind of sound like what you'd do when you've given up on your dreams. Like, it's kind of awesome because it's so easy, but then, it's kind of horrible because it's way too easy.

I live for the aesthetic of Hogwarts. I'm really glad that Steph can't deny how awesome it is even if wizards are complete idiots.

I am so happy about the way Steph is standing up to everyone and actually correcting the curriculum and getting things done. I can't wait to see her in a classroom. I kind of have the same attitude about academia as Connor does in this chapter, but not as a result of failing out. I just kind of think I'd have more fun at wizard school. I don't know, maybe that's just me.

This story has some of my favorite characters of yours. These early chapters are sort of reminding me of how the early chapters of pfi felt, which is a very good sign. I adore your style of writing and I'm pretty sure you've done it again. One day I'll find out how you keep doing this.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by Beeezie first.

28th June 2015:
Omg yes. Sorry, Binns, but you really had to go. History is a wonderful subject, and if you're making it boring, you need to be replaced yesterday.

I love the way you characterized Steph and the wizarding world through her eyes. I can totally see where she's coming from - there are a lot of things about the magical community that are pretty weird and maladaptive. We saw a glimpse of that in the series, since Hermione was Muggleborn and Harry was basically Muggleborn for all intents and purposes not connected to magical blood or his parents' old friends, but I loved seeing more here.

And I agree with Steph: Callie came across to me like someone who's probably mostly well-meaning but who's also utterly clueless. And, the fact that she's never even met her sisters' friends makes her come across as a bit snobby and self-absorbed - not exactly the sort of person I'd count on in a crisis to help me.

I love the end of this chapter, and I cannot wait to read more! ♥


How have I not discovered you as a writer? You're so wonderful!

House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #22, by UnluckyStar57 first.

28th June 2015:
Ravenclaw for House Cup 2015!! Ca-caw!!

Lisa, you absolute ledge! :D

So... I read this a few weeks ago and I just giggled the whole way through. As you know, I am a major fan of yours, and I am a MAJOR fan of this story. You write wizards really well, with all that witty repartee and intelligent stuff, but putting all of your talent here, with quite a few OCs to juggle and a whole lot of fantastic references to the Muggle world, adds something really colorful to characters that I don't already know--which makes me know them and want to be their best friend, of course. (Sorry if this doesn't make any sense, whoops.)

Anyway, it's so fantastic--the Persephone thing is just TOO MUCH and the analogy with the pomegranates and being torn between two worlds--I lolrofled. Gosh, those are AWFUL names for children, even for Wizard kids. I love it!

The references to Muggle things were great, as they gave an air of familiarity and pop culture to this story that sort of contrasts the already-intellectual feel you've got going on. (Sorry, but I don't think you could ever write anything that sounds stupid.) Like, smart kids watch Vines too, right? So adding in the quotes from the Milkshake song (lolrofled again) and having Steph chastise her sister about not knowing a darn thing about Muggles helped to show how incredibly difficult it is to deal with a family who refuses to educate themselves about your universe. Which is a really hard-hitting sort of commentary on the whole attitude that wizards have about Squibs--they just don't bother to understand, and so Squibs (the marginalized) are forced to explain themselves/deal with wizarding ignorance. It's also a really interesting parallel to real life, with all of the majority groups Othering the minority groups and causing problems out of sheer ignorance. I have a feeling that with your background on LGBTQIA+ issues--and really knowing how to bring those issues out in writing--you'll take this particular theme very far throughout the story. And I really hope that some of the wizards learn a thing or two.

That being said, I love love love that Steph is a Squib who actually embraces who she is. The few Squibs in the series are all kind of unappealing and old, arousing sympathy but also a kind of "ew I would rather be a wizard" feeling. Steph is awesome. Like I said before, I would want to be her friend. She's relatable, and it's obvious that she struggles with her family being totally ignorant of her life, but she's got guts. And sass. And I love me some sass.

Okay, I better stop before I get even more incoherent. I'll definitely be back to review the other chapters at a time when I can just ramble on about how amazing you are without worrying about time constraints. :)

♥Mallory

 Report Review

Review #23, by krazyboutharryginny third.

27th June 2015:
Amazing Race - House Cup 2015 - Go Go Gryffindor!

Aw, I was really hoping Amy would take the job :( But I totally understand why she didn't haha.

I know that Amelia's sort of projecting this whole I-don't-care-about-wizards demeanor, but I'm starting to feel like she might actually care and be pretty bitter :P (Maybe the "chip in her shoulder" bit in the summary should have tipped me off?)

You're doing a really good job of illustrating just how badly Steph is needed in this position. For example, in the books we're constantly told how massive and impressive the Hogwarts library is - so to find out that the History section is 99% Bathilda Bagshot really drives the point home.

I'm liking Steph more and more with each chapter. It's so amazing that she's standing up for herself, even to someone as important as the Headmaster of Hogwarts! Although I suppose her I-don't-care-about-wizards attitude helps with that too. :P But still, she's in a new environment and I love that she's not just letting people walk over her or doing what she's told is "the way to do things", or settling for "how it's always been".

I also love the dynamic between Steph and her friends!

This is such a well-written and engaging story! I'll be sure to come back when you post a new chapter! :)

-Kayla
#ROAR

 Report Review

Review #24, by krazyboutharryginny second.

27th June 2015:
The Amazing Race - House Cup 2015 - Go Go Gryffindor!

This chapter definitely solidified my opinion that this story is BRILLIANT!

First of all: This chapter is SO funny. Just really, really well done in terms of humour. You have little one-liners that made me chuckle ("What about my inner demons?") but you also have larger humourous scenes that had me sitting here giggling uncontrollably as I read. The whole scene with Steph and Professor Vector is hilarious! As 1) a Muggle and 2) someone who's taken 3 history classes this year, I understood exactly what Steph was talking about and was just laughing at Professor Vector's clueless responses.

Oooh, is Amy going to come teach at Hogwarts too? THAT WOULD BE SO AWESOME. First of all, I adore Amy - she's my favourite one of Steph's friends (from what I've seen so far). I was laughing so much at her pros/cons about the flats ("This one's only got on-street parking but the shower pressure's amazing" got me particularly hard) and she just seems funny and lovely. Second of all, YES OF COURSE THERE SHOULD BE A MUGGLE TEACHING MUGGLE STUDIES FOR GOODNESS SAKE! So I really hope she gets the job ahaha.

I love that you showed us Steph second-guessing her decision at the beginning of the chapter, but then at the end she said she'd never felt so needed. :') Yay!

I love this, Lisa!

-Kayla
#ROAR

 Report Review

Review #25, by krazyboutharryginny first.

27th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Go Go Gryffindor!

Can I start off by saying what an amazing concept this is? Because it really, really is just brilliant. I'm a big history fan, and a firm believer that learning history is vital, so the History of Magic classes in the books always bothered me. This is a BRILLIANT solution! It makes so much sense - a Squib with a History degree is the perfect person to take that position!

This is such a unique take on what being a Squib would be like. Most people write it as a tragic thing that the Squib character feels horrible about, but you haven't gone that route. I was cracking up at how Steph hated the word Squib simply because it's such an ugly word (which... it really is). I also loved all the references to current culture, like Vine.

Squibs not having to abide by the Statute of Secrecy is EXACTLY the sort of silly loophole I can imagine the Ministry of Magic overlooking. It always seemed to me when reading the books that wizards found Squibs completely beneath their notice. Anyways, a good idea on your part - having her Muggle friends know about magic (and seem pretty chill about it too!) is a really cool and unique situation for you to have put them in.

I thoroughly enjoyed this first chapter and I'm excited to read more!

-Kayla
#ROAR

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>