Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Love Potion Number Dead
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by UnluckyStar57 a prologue of sorts

3rd July 2015:
HOLY COW EMILY WHY HAVEN'T I REVIEWED THIS STORY ALREADY?!?!

Okay, I will admit it: I'm trash. I started reading this story a few months ago and I giggled my way through chapter two before I lost my iPod and forgot that I was reading it. But now I'm reading it again, and HAHA! Here's another review for you. :}

Note: You should PLEASE complete this story, whether that happens in the near future or the far distant one. Seriously, the tone is so hilarious and just gah, I love it!

"When Liam Owens woke up the sun seemed to be holding a particular grudge against him and his room, a conclusion he came to after opening his eyes and seeing the sunlight streaming into his room and onto his face at an angle which was decidedly impossible."--Like, what even?! How is that sentence so good? So hilarious?! It's such a perfect opening because it doesn't take itself seriously, which sets the mood for the rest of the {short} prologue. It's like the story's going to deal with something serious (like a threat to people's lives), but it's going to be majorly undercut by all of the sarcasm and incredible obliviousness of the characters. AND I LOVE THAT.

The stuff that's falling on his house?! The shovel-shaped dent in his door?! Like, WHY doesn't he notice them?! It really reminds me of Monty Python-esque black humor, or the kind of thing you would see in the Scary Movie series, and it's so funny to see that kind of humor in a magical setting.

But even though Liam is obviously oblivious to the threats on his life, I still feel worried for him. IS HE GOING TO DIE SOON?! WHAT IS THAT CREEPY THING?!?! WHAT WILL HAPPEN? I SHOULD READ ON BUT I HAVE TO WRITE FOR NANO!!!

*ahem* Anyway, the point of that is that Jane seems like the more intelligent half of the couple. :P But hopefully she won't end up dead too? And why has this creepy thing targeted Liam? Has it targeted others as well? Gahh, I really wanna know now.

Oh yeah, and can I talk about how much I love the title? It makes me think of "Love Potion Number Nine" by The Clovers, which is a song that I sometimes forget about but always remember how catchy it is when I look at the title of your story. (Speaking of catchy, I'm listening to a one-hour loop of "Uma Thurman" by Fall Out Boy as I write this review. I'm insane, I know.) And the chapter title doesn't even take itself seriously, haha! "a prologue of sorts," yes, that is an appropriately odd title for this delightfully odd story.

Seriously, I can't wait to read the next chapter! I will be back soon! (Oh yeah, and I'm super upset that I didn't read/review enough of this in time to get first review on chapter four. Maybe for chapter five?)

♥Mallory

 Report Review

Review #2, by Queen of Nerds [iii] – in which we investigate and procrastinate all at once

3rd July 2015:
This is so cute, and I'm glad I found it because it really brightened my day to read!

 Report Review

Review #3, by May [iii] – in which we investigate and procrastinate all at once

3rd July 2015:
Looking forward to your next chapter

 Report Review

Review #4, by HufflePuff_Blitz [ii] - the team of aurors

12th June 2015:
Hufflepuff, House cup 2015
Hello again! that sounds like such a hectic work enviroment. I would go crazy. For one I would bring a book or two and figure out a way to improve the coffee machine, obliterate that mold, and idk, make the place seem happy.
Albus, he's so adorable. I love him already.
Neat chapter, excited for the next one to come out!
-Kyle

 Report Review

Review #5, by HufflePuff_Blitz [i] – in which i escape the torture

12th June 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015
Hello! me again! That cow. I had to stop reading for a moment because that was hilarious! My cat gave me a weird look because of my laughing.
But I enjoyed this chapter, I don't usually enjoy malfoy stories but the one you portrayed is a pretty cool bloke. and I love the puns. I don't get why people hate puns so much. I think their quite epic really.
anyways neat chapter, cannot wait to read the next :)
-Kyle

 Report Review

Review #6, by HufflePuff_Blitz a prologue of sorts

12th June 2015:
Howdy Hey! House Cup 2015 - Hufflepuff
So this is interesting, something mysterious lurking in the yard. and the wife knows something, but she aint saying anything. most interesting.
At first I thought this guy was a muggle, but then he said healer, so I'm thinking he is a wizard, but still not entirely sure.
To be honest my curiosity is caught and I cannot wait to start the next chapter.
-Kyle the hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #7, by HermyLuna2 [ii] - the team of aurors

1st May 2015:
"Ron Weasley took this opportunity to start spending more time in the Law Enforcement Department in the Ministry with his new wife, Neville Longbottom "
Wait, WHAT??!!!
This story is hysterical. I especially love your descriptions of the Auror department in the beginning.

 Report Review

Review #8, by HermyLuna2 [i] – in which i escape the torture

1st May 2015:
Your writing style is great, the characters are interesting. I like that you put some quirky bits into it, such as the story about the cows and the soap story.

 Report Review

Review #9, by HermyLuna2 a prologue of sorts

1st May 2015:
This is very interesting (not to say WHAT THE HELL?). The first sentence was the best first sentence ever. I have a couple of questions, if you don't mind.

1. Why is everything so over the place?
2. What are the puns here? Does cutting grass and putting on shoes means something different than cutting grass and putting on shoes?

So far, this story seems really promising.

 Report Review

Review #10, by chinaglaze [i] – in which i escape the torture

11th April 2015:
For the BvB tag ; (is the dress blue and black or white and gold? I forget)

I feel better now that I have had a bit of a lie down. I heard there was a break in at the dog’s home but the police say they have no leads.

There is no conceivable constructive criticism other than to suggest that if this is how the Aurors’ department is run, then heaven help us all; we’re doomed.

Nurse! Nurse!

Author's Response: Go team blue!

Oh no, is the dog feeling alright? It's pawsitively terrible that someone would attempt to break into his home. :P

Oh my, thank you so much! Unfortunately, the Auror Department in this story is mostly made up of a bunch of lazy sods who are occasionally good at their jobs. :P

Thank you for the punderful reviews!

Emily


 Report Review

Review #11, by chinaglaze a prologue of sorts

11th April 2015:
Whatever it is you've been taking, I would like some of it please. I have my doubts about your claim to be in complete control however; the evidence seems to indicate otherwise.

Even though I haven't a clue what is going on, I'm liking it very much in its surreal madness.

I think there are a couple of typos here;
'He didn’t notice that the opening of the door a large rock had come...'

and here;
'and tht it had come to'

Author's Response: Oh wow, hello! I'm not sure whether I can just give away trade secrets like what I've been taking to you, I'm afraid. :/ And you're right, of course you are - control? what's that? I have no control.

Bahaha, by the end of the story I hope you'll understand what happened in this scene - either way, I'm glad that you enjoyed this on its own! :P

I'll go back and edit those straightaway, thank you so much for pointing them out!

Thanks for a lovely review! ♥

Emily


 Report Review

Review #12, by merlins beard [ii] - the team of aurors

2nd April 2015:
Hi. Here for the Easter Gift Tag again.

I find it sad to see the Auror department so small and useless.
I like the puns (again), and I like that Scorpius and the others fit in, even though they have nothing to do. This chapter wasn't quite as funny as the last two, but I still laughed a lot.
I really, really like Tyler. He's so weird.

keep up the great work

~Anja (merlins beard)

Author's Response: Hey there!

I honestly don't think that the Auror Department in my story is a realistic situation at all, to be honest, but that's how the story wanted it.

Puns are the best, and everyone does get on well, yes, I think it's the side effect of being in such a small group - you kind of have to get along, or it causes major disruptions.

Tyler is a bit of a weirdo. He wasn't even a planed character, just banged down the door and introduced himself into the story, oops. :P

Thank you for the amazing reviews, Anja!
Emily


 Report Review

Review #13, by merlins beard [i] – in which i escape the torture

2nd April 2015:
Hi. Here for the Easter Gift Tag again.

Seriously. HOW do you come up with this stuff. I'm currently recovering from all the laughing *clutches sides*
This story is getting even better. I'm curious how the two chapters relate, but I hope Scorpius gets put on the case of the muggle back yard crazyness.

I love the puns.

~Anja (merlins beard)

Author's Response: Hi again! :D

Oh my goodness, THANK you! This just started off as a dumb story which made me laugh, and I'm so glad to think that it's making others laugh as well! The two chapters will indeed relate, although you might have to wait a while to see how.

Thanks so much for the review! Puns are the best form of humour.

Emily


 Report Review

Review #14, by merlins beard a prologue of sorts

2nd April 2015:
Hey there. Here for the Easter Gift Tag again.

Oh my, Liam and his wife are in the middle of something.
The couple reminds me a little of Vernon and Petunia Dursley (She stays home, he goes to - a very boring - work, he [not sure about his wife] doesn't recognize magic when it's kicking him in the butt)
The garden sounds as dangerous as a war zone, I hope none of them get seriously hurt before they figure out whats wrong.

The chapter is a little short, but i liked it.

Author's Response: Hey there!

Oh my, yes they are >:D

I hadn't thought about the connection between these two and the Dursleys, actually, but what you're saying is all very true! The garden is a bit dangerous, but you'll have to wait and see what's wrong with it. ;)

Yes, I'm afraid it was just the prologue so it did turn out a bit short, but I'm glad you liked it anyway!

Thanks for the lovely review!
Emily


 Report Review

Review #15, by Ravenclaw333 [ii] - the team of aurors

22nd January 2015:
fun fact i have had this chapter open on my laptop for three days to remind me to ACTUALLY review it and because i never shut down my laptop

i'm so excited for this story. i know i said that in our pm but i'm even more excited for it now that you're writing it and posting it and i'm READING it and i love harvey even more than i expected and i just love the way you're writing this and the dry humour and i just LOVE the

"Bulgarian Embassy. No taste in music"

line because it's just so unexpected and ridiculous which is kind of the impression i get from the whole story. i can't wait to read more this is my new favourite thing a+

also i promise to find better ways of expressing myself than just "i love x i love y" in the next review

Author's Response: lisa you are the best. also, i am in the same boat when it comes to never shutting down my laptop.

oh my DAYS what can i even say to all of this! you know what a huge fan i am of your humour and witty banter so to hear you say that you like my jokes is just asdfghjkl;??wywfna? basically i am incoherent with the unexpected delight of these compliments

yes, the whole story was unexpected and is totally ridiculous i actually have no clue where it came from? and oh my word thank you so much

this review was perfect don't let anyone tell you otherwise


 Report Review

Review #16, by musicluffler [ii] - the team of aurors

19th January 2015:
This is lovely and exciting for two reasons: 1. Al/Scorpius, and 2. THE PUNS! I also make terrible puns in real life (that no one finds particularly funny) so I love that Scorpius goes through the same thing. You've definitely hooked me on this story and I can't wait to see where it goes!

Author's Response: Yay, I'm so glad that you think so! Scorbus is a lovely ship, and yes, I'm also one of those people who often make hilarious puns, although nobody else finds them very funny. ;) I'm so glad to hear that you liked this chapter, and that you plan to read on!

Thanks for the lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by How Now Brown Cow [i] – in which i escape the torture

12th December 2014:
Congrats on becoming a TA! This was a great chapter. I love how you depict your characters, very unique and they draw you in!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Loving the name you've got going on. ;) I'm really glad you like Scorp and his friends, thanks for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by marauderfan [i] – in which i escape the torture

12th December 2014:
Congrats, TA! ;D I'm going to celebrate your accomplishment with a review!

BAHAHA WHEN WE ARE GOING TO NEED A COW IN THE FIELD. 2 lines in and I love this already.

omg the cows flirting. I don't blame Aryana for hiding though. Cows can be messy.

ahahahh the soap puns at the end. I feel like the pun void in my life has been filled, thank you for that.

I really did mean to write a proper review but I got hung up on all the silly things... punintentionally, of course. ;) as for the rest, I love it! I'm getting a good idea of who the characters are already, which is always really cool after only one chapter. I like the way they all interact with one another. and I love your idea of how the auror department works. :P

Puntil next time! ;)

Author's Response: THANK YOU, KRISTIN! ^.^ You are a lovely person.

To be honest, I have no idea where the cows came from. I'm just very glad you found that funny. :P

Ugh, tell me about it. My cousin owns a cow farm and it's only when you're /very/ careful watching your feet you manage to avoid the unavoidable.

Not a problem, because this story is probably going to be based mostly around puns and then a little bit of crime and romance thrown in so that people can't accuse me of being boring ;)

This review is a jewel and the silly things are the best things! I'm really glad that you like the characters and their interactions, and be warned the the Auror Department is seriously unprofessional. ;)

Thank you for the punderful review, lovely person! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by No account a prologue of sorts

10th December 2014:
Please continue this! From the summary and the prologue it sounds like it will be very intriguing!

Author's Response: I will! I have about 36k of it written up, I'm not planning to abandon it anytime soon! Thank you for the lovely review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #20, by marauderfan a prologue of sorts

9th December 2014:
WHAT IS HAPPENING OMG MYSTERYYY ALL THESE WEIRD PARANORMAL OCCURRENCES AND INVISIBLE THINGS AND IT'S ABOUT TO BE REALLY EXCITING AND SCARY.

the fact that you advertised puns in the summary totally grabbed me in, btw. puns are the best and I can't wait. also albus/scorpius?!?! ;) anyway, this is a super intriguing start and I cannot WAIT to see where it goes and I think you're slightly crazy for starting another story but I love it. ♥

Awesome start!

Author's Response: I DON'T REALLY KNOW WHAT'S HAPPENING EITHER NOT GONNA LIE THIS THING IS TOTALLY CRAZY SO PROBABLY NOT THAT SCARY BUT HOPEFULLY EXCITING

puns are the best, I'm glad someone agrees with me on that! And hopefully my awful puns can live up to your expectations and not put you off :P and YES SCORBUS WILL BE A THING HERE ehehe I'm cackling.

I'm super glad you found this intriguing and I know, I'm off my rocker for starting another story, but thank you for the lovely review and not saying you should come back for the other chapters but you should totally come back for the next chapters. :P

Thank you! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login