Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Nine and a Half
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Nine and a Half

22nd July 2015:
Okay, so, you know I had to come read this, after reading 'Five and a half'. :P And Aw! This is absolutely adorable!! I'm pretty sure you are responsible for the cavities! :P

I loved how we saw the different little snapshots of Teddy and James' life together, and then what goes on in their childrens' lives, also. Little Dora is so adorable, and Johnny is just such a typical older brother. :P

I loved seeing all the tender moments between James and Teddy, and the way the fight was resolved in the second-to-last scene just made me want to squee!!

Another wonderful story, dear!

 Report Review

Review #2, by LadyL8 Nine and a Half

26th March 2015:
Hi Julie. I’m back with review number 2, and I’ve really looked forward to reading this story.

Awww. This was so cute. I absolutely loved it. And I can’t even begin to explain how happy I am for the fact that they ended up together. And they have kids! They got everything I hoped they would get, so thank you for that.

I really liked that you saw the kids and parents through the years - starting when Johnny and Dora is very young, and then ending it when Johnny is 14 years old. And that you see that through all these years, their parents still love each other as much they did when they first got together. It’s very beautiful, and I certainly hope I find that kind of love (Don’t we all?)

I liked that you skipped ahead to them having been married for some years. So we instead found out how they ended up together (after the five and a half-incident) through them reminiscing about that time – like the line about how James used to sneak out of the castle and meet Teddy when he was working in Hogsmeade.

There are a lot of things I love about this story, but I want to focus on a few of them:

1. Johnny turned back to his sister. “When is she going to be able to play Wolfies with me?” – I loved the Wolfies-game. Remus was one of my favourite characters, so the fact that you made his grandchildren play a game in his honor, really warmed my heart. And I definitely believe Teddy would want his children to know about his late parents, and that they sacrificed their lives to make the world a better place for him (and indirectly his children). And I just want to throw in here that I obviously also loved that the girl was named “Dora”, for the same reason is listed above.
2. Johnny huffed at that answer. “She’s not very fun then.” – This is such a believable behavior – And I’m speaker as an older sister myself.
3. “Daddy, you don’t call Santa, you write to him or visit him at the mall,” Dora’s response came back – The mall part made me laugh.
4. “You are lying, Daddy,” Dora muttered sadly. “I thought you said Puffies don’t lie.” – Okay, first I just have to say that I love that he’s the head of Hufflepuff. Our house is so underrepresented in fanfics, and I think that’s a shame. So I’m really glad you had him in Hufflepuff, because I obviously love my house very much. And I also have to say that Dora’s line broke my heart – I have no idea what I’d say to that.

I also loved that continued with some of the elements from its prequel. Like for example the “four and a half” – line from Dora. While it can be seen as a stand alone, I think this just added a sense of continuity to it.

So to sum up – I loved it! It was everything I hoped for and more. And I’m really in love with your James and Teddy, and I think they make a really good couple. And Dora is just sooo cute – she reminds me of my little sister, who also adores her parents’ very much.

- Lotte

Author's Response: Lotte,

I'm so bad at answering reviews. The pretty internet distracts me so much and every time I go to write this I see twitter and there it goes.

Going back and reading this review makes me so happy about this story all over again. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed writing this. This 'verse definitely wasn't going to be anything more than a one-shot, so all of this filler fluff was just a happy accident.

Again, I'm so happy you loved this! Your reviews are so amazing and I can't begin to thank you enough for this lovely gesture - from a year ago *sobs*

Julie


 Report Review

Review #3, by writeyourheartout Nine and a Half

21st January 2015:
Hello Julie! Happy Belated Hot Seat Day! :-D

So, after having read and thoroughly enjoyed the prequel, I just had to follow it up with this guy! Yayz! ^.^

Awww! Did they end up together?? For some reason the summary had me thinking that Teddy had ended up with someone else, only to think back wistfully on what might have been! How sweet that they're married now! I was totally not expecting that, but it's got me all smiles! ^.^

Omg, wolfies. ♥ That just warms my heart. I am such a huge Remus fan, so the idea of his little grandchildren running around playing a game almost in his honor is just so wonderful. FEELS.

They're so cute together, all cuddled up in bed, as their children behave as all children do Christmas morning... hehehe And they definitely should have heeded Harry's advice about living under the staircase! My bedroom at my house growing up was practically under the steps as well and there is no cushioning the thunder that be! hehehe

“Daddy, you don’t call Santa, you write to him or visit him at the mall,” Dora’s response came back. - LOL That 'mall' bit made me chuckle. :-p

HEAD OF HUFFLEPUFF?! LOVE IT! All of these Hot Seat reviews have introduced me to so many new stories, and a TON of them feature Puff characters! I absolutely adore seeing our House represented in so many places and in such a positive light. ♥

Bahahaha These poor guys. Can't ever seem to get quite enough alone time before the kids interrupt. Remind me to never have children... :-p

BUT OH NO, THEY'RE FIGHTING?! And then thiiis line: “I thought you said Puffies don’t lie.” - Gah! *heart breaks*

"It would make my very happy if I could see you smile before I had to get on the train." - Oh man, it must be so hard to be a teacher at Hogwarts when you have a family at home. :(

“I don’t think you should fight with Papa anymore. He gets very sad at home when you are not there.” - This review has basically just turned into me quoting your characters, BUT ZOMG, THEIR LINES MAKE ME SO SAD-FACE! But hey, at least that last one got James and Teddy to make-up before the train took off, right? So I forgive you. ;)

Anyway, this was just as adorable as the first installment! I thoroughly enjoyed it. I love your versions of both James and Teddy, I love the family and life you built for them, and I love their relationship with one another. Such a sweet story. Great job, my dear!

Tanya

Author's Response: Tanya.

I am an awful person, okay, because this review is officially over a year old and seriously every time I go to reply to it I just can't because it's SO NICE and SO HELPFUL that I have no idea what to say.

But anyway.

Wolfies!! Serious remus feels from this girl, too. I'd just have to think that Harry and Teddy would make sure that they knew how good of a person their grandfather was.

LOL, I feel that. My bedroom was in our basement when I was a kid, and the plumbing for the upstairs toilet ran directly above my room. #childhoodmemories

Teddy as head of Hufflepuff as a DADA teacher is my headcanon for life. Of course this was written before JKR announced teddy was actually a hufflepuff, but let's not get back on the fact that this response is a year overdue...

I couldn't just make this tooth rotting fluff, as much as I wanted to. I don't think it's really realistic to have a perfect couple that never fights, especially when you throw kids into the mix.

gah, thank you again so much for this super amazing review. You're absolutely wonderful!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #4, by likeness_of_a_seabird Nine and a Half

31st December 2014:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review, round 2!

I thought Five and a Half was cute, but this one was doubly so! Teddy and James make such a sweet couple and their kids were adorable. Great job at keeping Johnny and Dora believably childlike; things like Johnny thinking Dora was not a fun playmate since he’d have to wait till she was old enough to play Wolfies with him and Dora insisting she was four and a half instead of only four added a very realistic feeling to the story. I really enjoyed watching the kids grow older as the story progressed! The fact that Dora refuses to take of her Ravenclaw robes even at home was too cute for words! And Teddy being the head of Hufflepuff and the DADA teacher? It wouldn’t have occurred to me to put those two positions together, but I really like it!

I liked how this story was told in segments, so to speak, so instead of having only one scene from James and Teddy’s married life, we got five. I also liked that they all had a different “theme” to them and showed the difficulties married couples would face in addition to the good things. It’s as if the story grew up with Johnny and Dora! There were also many humorous lines like James lamenting that Teddy wasn’t the DADA teacher when he was at Hogwarts and Teddy replies, “No thanks. I’ll stick with marrying you instead.” That made me laugh out loud!

Another thing I liked was the way you used themes from Five and a Half in this story, like Dora’s “Four and a half!” line and James telling Johnny the door to his room was going to stay open created a feeling of continuity. Great job! I do think this can be a stand-alone piece, but recognising those little things and knowing what they stand for added to the reading experience.

Thanks for writing this sweet, sweet story!

- Emmi

Author's Response: Hi Emmi!

First off, I need to give you a monumental apology for how long this has taken me to reply to. Every single time I opened my reviews to respond to I'd look at this one, re-read it, have NO IDEA what to say and then close the tab and dink around on tumblr because it's just so nice and kind and aslkdfj.

But I'm here!

I had a lot of fun pouring on the cuteness writing this. I am so (so, so) not the 'kid' type, but I can't resist all of the cuteness that comes along with kid!fics where the kids are imaginary and I don't have to hold them at christmas when they just PUT THE TINY HUMAN IN MY LAP AND LEAVE and its squishy tiny human and a;lsdkfj

#horrorstories

But yay for realistic qualities! Hehe, I quite loved having Dora in Ravenclaw robes, and I'm glad that you enjoyed all of the other little parts of the story.

It's totally my headcanon that Teddy is the DADA teacher/head of Hufflepuff when he grows up. I put it into everything that he appears in.

Hehe, the part where Teddy wasn't the teacher when James was in school was more-so because of the student/teacher paring rule on the site, but I used it to my advantage, and so I'm glad to hear the humor in that moment worked!

Thank you so much for this amazing review! Coming back and reading it again and again has always managed to put a smile on my face.

Thanks so much!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #5, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Nine and a Half

24th December 2014:
I READ THIS, LIKE, THREE MILLION TIMES, BUT NOW YOU MUST BE MY NINE HUNDREDTH REVIEW BECAUSE JAMES AND TEDDY LOVE!!!

I don't know what to say, I'm so excited. This was so lovely and adorable and perfect. You are this close to making them my OTP. :P *...Huggles Theo/Harry in apology because Sam can't actually say the words*

Seriously, Johnny and Dora were so cute and James and Teddy were just the coolest dads ever (shush, Johnny, you teenagers lie). AND GRANDPA HARRY, I would have loved to have seen him with the kids. :D

Loved this!

Sam.

Author's Response: OH MY GOD THAT'S SUCH AN HONOR SAM. Seriously. Thank you!!! (and yes, James and Teddy love for sure)

I don't know what to say.. an almost OTP competing with Theo/Harry!? Hehe, you don't have to say it, the feeling's there :p

They are the most embarassing parents EVER! Oh god just the headcanons about those two..

IF I EVER WRITE ANOTHER PART TO THIS GRANDPA HARRY WILL MAKE AN APPEARENCE. Or maybe Uncle Albus will tell the horror story about the day he broke his arm for twenty minutes.

thank you so much, dear!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #6, by lightthecandle Nine and a Half

13th December 2014:
After reading Five and a Half, I was so excited to read this especially when your banner shows a little girl.

Anyway, on to the rest of the story...

The exchange between the three of them, oh my. It was so adorable and I just love these two already that they're both going on my favourites! And it was so cute adding in the fact Teddy telling Johnny about Remus Lupin being a werewolf.

Love all the snippets of them growing up and their kids going to Hogwarts and their cute little kissy moments and ugh, it's just giving me so many mushy feels right now!

~Aimee xxx

Author's Response: :D I guess it is a tiny bit spoilery, but she's absolutely adorable so it doesn't even matter :p

AH, yay! I'm so happy to hear that you loved them! And thank you for the favorites :D I know you're a Teen Wolf fan, too, so you know my love of Werewolves is a /little/ warped, but I still have to think that Teddy and Harry would make sure Johnny knew the real truth about Remus.

CUTE KISSY MOMENTS ARE THE BEST :D Hehe *throws mushy feelings at you*

Ah, just, thank you again, Aimee! This made me so happy!! (and sorry about the wait on the responses! I try to do better than this usually!!)

Julie


 Report Review

Review #7, by HufflePuff_Blitz Nine and a Half

12th December 2014:
Hufflepuff Hotseat Hello! Ha - Alliteration.
Can I start off with a big YES! ?
I was going to review the first one, but sadly I can't do that twice.

But this is the most adorable thing in the entire, I don't even know. I don't think I got cavaties from all the sweetness, more like all the sweet is melting my heart and stomach.
But a little more serious, I loved your use of the time jumps, it really worked lovely on the flow of the story.

If you couldn't tell before, Awesome!
Merry Christmas :)
Kyle

Author's Response: haha! Happy to have you here! (I tried and failed. miserably.)

YES YOU CAN :D That's okay, I'm glad you got to read the sequel!

It is definitely cavity enduing. And, thank you! I'm glad, despite the sometimes /years/ of time jumps, that the story still seemed to work for you.

Thank you so much for reviewing, Kyle! I'm glad you liked it!

Merry Christmas!!
Julie


 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan Nine and a Half

11th December 2014:
Review hot seat!

Johnny’s new favorite game since learning the story of his late grandfather was to run around the backyard howling. -- Hahaha omg, this is just TOO cute.

I was really hoping to write a proper review but I can't. It will consist of a lot of gushing and capslock.

I LOVE James and Teddy's relationship! Gah! And they are so real, too - sometimes they fight a little, but they get over it, and they're still in love after so many years. :)

And don't even get me started on how ADORABLE their kids are! All the way from 3 year old Johnny thinking his baby sister is boring because she can't play his silly game, to the loud running up and down the stairs in excitement on Christmas (And Dora's "I'm four and a half!"), to teenage Johnny being way too cool for anything and being embarrassed by his family but he still loves them - he wouldn't say it but it's evident!

Ah, they're just so real and the amount of love in this family is just ♥ ♥ I kind of want to be a member of their family?

SO CUTE
SO FLUFFY
I LOVE IT!

Author's Response: Hey again, Kristin!

I always feel like James and/or Teddy would describe lycanthrophy to their children in the same way that the Marauders or Harry viewed it, and I really wanted that to subtly translate here.

With the section on platform nine and three-quarters, I definitely wanted them to seem more realistic with that part. No marriage is going to be 100% sunshine and rainbows, and I don't think Teddy and James are any exception to that.

:D I'm glad you liked the kids! They are fun to write when they are fictional and I don't have to hold them at thanksgiving dinner! lol. Anyway! lol..

They are embarrassing parents, and I'd still be a part of their family! hehe.

Ah, I'm so happy to hear that you loved this! Thanks so much, dear!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #9, by casual_chaos Nine and a Half

8th November 2014:
Julie, oh god, this is so unbelievably sweet! You have converted me into a fluff enthusiast!!

I loved how in each segment the kids are a few years older but Teddy and James still seem to have just as much affection for each other as they had at the start (which is sadly not the case with all marriages). Even in the last section, where Teddy and James are being a bit huffy, their love still shines through that frustration, aided by the adorable Dora (see what I did there?).

Your characterizations of Teddy and James were spot on - with James still being playful and confident and Teddy being responsible and so incredibly caring.

And don't even get me started on the kids - they were just so perfectly childlike and cute! Your characterization of children is amazing and writing kids is hard, because you need to make them believable but not silly. And Johnny was so great at being a grumpy teenager embarrassed by his parents kissing.

This quote:

''Da-ddy! Papa!'' Teddy cringed as their daughter Dora's voice floated under the door. ''We can hear you talking!''

''Stop kissing and open the door!'' their son chimed in.

This part was the sweetest thing ever. And then Dora said she was four and a half and I just started giggling! I have SO MANY FEELINGS for this entire fictional family!

GAH, I'm so glad you decided to write this and to think I helped in inspiring you makes me so proud for some reason!

To conclude this sappy mess of a review, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this one-shot! It was sweet, the characters were believable and it gave me my daily dose of warm and fuzzy feelings (to keep it in the hpff slang). :D

I'll talk to you soon, Julie!

*hugs*

Andy

Author's Response: Andy, all of this fluff is your fault :p

I definitely had to add the part about them fighting at Johnny's first train ride to cut through all of the lovey-dovey stuff. I think they're generally really affectionate, though. And that's definitely true, that not all marriages happen like that. Teddy and James can be the exception! (I said definitely a lot here..)

a;lksdjf I just wrote out a big long response and the internet ate it. boo.

ADORABLE DORA♥ I bet Harry calls her that and she absolutely loves it until she's thirteen and then it's SO EMBARASSING GRANDPA. *throws more feels at you*

I CAN'T REMEMBER WHAT ELSE I SAID :'(

I love fictional kids! haha. I love reading them and writing them, but IRL they can totally stay away and I would be more than okay.

"Stop kissing and open the door" was one of my FAVORITES :D that whole section about Christmas was my favorite one to write.

ah, just thank you for this review, and thank you for helping inspire me to write this! I'm so happy you loved it!

*hugs*

talk to you soon♥

Julie


 Report Review

Review #10, by wolfgirl17 Nine and a Half

8th November 2014:
So this was my first ever slash story, and I must admit, you might've just managed to sway me to the pairing =) So sweet and fluffy and cute. It's a good thing I've already got a dentist appointment booked ;)
Really cute story! Keep up the great work!
xx-Wolfgirl17

Author's Response: Ah, I'm glad to hear it! There are definitely some amazing slash stories out there if you ever want to read up! Hehe.. I went out to make this as absolutely fluffy as possible and I think it turned out okay! Thanks for reading and reviewing :)

Julie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login