Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for What Nightmares are Made Of
  
7 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HeyMrsPotter What Nightmares Are Made Of

20th July 2015:
MY DARLING JAYDE!

This is so incredible. I always absolutely adore the every word counts challenge entries because they really make a writer just say what absolutely needs to be said and you have done that so wonderfully here. Not only that but you've challenged yourself even further by making each section exactly 100 words. You are talented and brilliant.

As always with your writing your description is wonderful. That first paragraph really just throws the reader straight into the scene and with each one after that I can perfectly envision the settings for each character. I think it was really clever the way that you wrote five different scenes for five different characters and yet it all still flows and works really well. I love that there's such a heavy sense of despair and fear for each character. Rons was my favourite, probably just because I can sympathise with the spider thing but also I loved the way he was doing it for Harry, he has flaws but he is ultimately a good friend to Harry.

Loved it!

Dee
Hufflepuff house cup 2015.

Author's Response: DEE!! *Squishes*

Thank you SO MUCH For this amazing review!

Yes, I really enjoy seeing what everyone comes up with for this challenge, it really does make you have to focus on the necessary words! And this was my first attempt at it, so I'm so flattered that you enjoyed it so much! Eek! Thank you for your kind words!

Awww! Description is something I have always struggled with, so I am seriously SO happy that you think it was wonderful! :D I'm so glad that it flows and works really well, despite the different characters and scenes! I was worried about that!

Yes, there was definitely a lot of despair here, and I'm 100 percent with you and Ron on the spiders thing! And yes, the fact that he's facing them shows just HOW great a friend he is!

Thank you SO MUCH!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Felpata Lupin What Nightmares Are Made Of

20th July 2015:
Hey Jayde!
Here for TAR week 6 (HC 2015 Hufflepuff).

Oh, wow! Just the idea for this story is amazing! And your writing is so smooth, the dark atmosphere so perfect, the feelings of the characters so authentic... How did you do it with so little words per section?

Poor little Remus... You know how much I adore Remus... I'm not sure which moment you're referring to exactly... The first time he went to the Shack? Anyway you pictured perfectly his loneliness and his anguish! Beautiful!

Mirtilla's section was so sad... The poor thing, always subject of mocking, and totally unaware about what's to come... :'(

I must confess (even if I know I shouldn't...) that Ron's section made me smile. I've always felt tenderness for his fear of spiders. But your description of the forest and the Acromantulas was pretty scary.

The Inferi bit was really tense. You really did a great job in showing Harry's helplessness. Great job on that one, too!

And finally Azkaban... This really made me tear up! Can I go and hug Sirius? Because he really deserves a hug. Many hugs. Oh, Jayde, why did you do this to me?

Wonderful job, honey!
Much love to you!
Chiara

Author's Response: Chiara!!! Thank you SO much for stopping by to read and review this!

Awww - thank you SO much for your kind words, I'm so flattered! This was my first attempt at microfiction so I'm SO happy that you think it was smooth and authentic - the word limit was definitely tough!

Yes, Poor Remus. This was actually meant to be the moment when he went to the Shrieking Shack for the first time by himself, after everything that happened with the first wizard war. I'm so pleased that you think it was captured well and beautiful! :D

Yes, you really have to feel for Myrtle here, though she can be a bit annoying at times.

Yeah, I feel a lot of sympathy for Ron and his fear of spiders - THEY ARE TERRIFYING. So if my description was pretty scary, that's why. :P

And I'm glad you liked the Inferi scene too!

Awww! I didn't mean to make you cry! I'm sorry! I had a really hard time choosing a final moment to write about, but this was ultimately what came to me.

Thank you SO much for this amazing review!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by The Mischievous Easter Flitterby What Nightmares Are Made Of

28th March 2015:
Hello again!

After reading one of your fics earlier I couldn't stay away!

I thought this was a fabulous idea. You touched upon a lot of really interesting magical creatures and scary moments within the series very effectively. Being only very little myself I'm used to reading micro-fiction, and I must say you pulled this off remarkably well! Your snapshots sat snuggly within the ~100 word limit and you included such an interesting mix of moments.

It would be great to see another chapter of this if ever you want to write micro-fiction again. It had my brain whirling, thinking of other similar moments within the book series, and it would be great to see you write them too! I think my favourite of the moments was the one with Myrtle, because as a reader you don't often think about the horror of the situation. But in actual fact it must have been absolutely terrifying. You give a great impression of Mrytle's thoughts at that time - obviously she wasn't expecting at ALL for there to be a great huge snake lurking outside her cubicle door...

This was an eerie but nonetheless fantastic read. Like I said before, it would be great to see more stories like this! Maybe focusing on the more dainty, beautiful magical creatures *cough* such as myself *cough* ...

Have a wonderful Easter!

~ The Mischievous Easter Flitterby ~ xx

Author's Response: Hello Flitterby! Thank you for stopping by with another amazing review!

I'm so flattered that you thought this was a great idea. I actually entered this challenge the day it was about to close, so I thought it up and wrote it in a span of only a few hours (and it just so happened to be on Halloween, so I was feeling particularly spooky!) :P

This was also my first attempt at microfiction, so I'm so pleased that you thought it went well!

Hm... Maybe I will have to revisit this! And a snapshot of some of the more beautiful creatures would be nice, wouldn't it! *winks*

Thank you again, SO MUCH, for this amazing review! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #4, by Roisin What Nightmares Are Made Of

16th March 2015:
Hello! I'm sorry I didn't review this before, I thought I had! I guess I made the banner for it and then forgot that I never properly reviewed--by bad!

I like how, even in such a short space, each segment includes mystery and payoff. Like, at the very beginning we're not sure quite what we're looking at, and then we find out. It read almost as a montage, which was interesting, and you definitely have an eye for picking out the most shudder inducing moments.

Nicely done!

Author's Response: It is NO worries, dear, thank you so much for coming back and reviewing now! And thank you SO much for this amazing banner!

Thank you so much for your compliments - this was my first attempt at microfiction and I'm glad to hear that it read kind of like a montage, and that you were able to understand everything by the end.

This is actually my first attempt at anything even remotely 'scary' also, so thank you for saying that I could pick out the most shudder-inducing moments!

Thank you so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Pheonix Potioneer What Nightmares Are Made Of

24th January 2015:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat review!

Okay, I'm going to guess on who is narrating each segment. It shouldn't be too hard. First one: Remus; Second, Moaning Myrtle; Third, Ron; Fourth, Harry; Fifth, Sirius. The last one I think is Sirius, but there have been many Azkaban inmates so it might not be him.

This is so wonderful, but almost every single one ends on a cliffhanger! Argh! On the plus side, I know what happens, but every single one ends with the monster. DON'T GIVE ME NIGHTMARES!

I love how you describe everything in each increment. "The decrepit wooden floors" is AWESOME. It's beautiful wording. And there are so many stories. So many. That's what I love about writing: you can write about anyone, and it will be interesting.

Nice job incorporating so many challenges. I hope you win at least one of them! You've got my vote. Great job!

Author's Response: Hi there lovely! Thank you SO much for this amazing review, and I'm sorry it has taken me so long to respond to it!

As for your guesses - Yes, yes, Yes, Yes, and YES! Well done!!

Oops! I'm sorry for ending each one on a cliffhanger - but I really wanted to keep the mystery/suspense going - plus you DID already know what happened. :P I hope it wasn't too frustrating! And :O I hope you didn't have nightmares!!

Aww, thank you so much for your kind comments about the description and wording! *hugs*

Thank you SO much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by Freda_and_Georgina What Nightmares Are Made Of

24th November 2014:
Hello, we also did the Halloween Challenge and I (Georgina) thought I'd stop in and read the ones that were lacking in the reviews section (because reviews are not a basis of quality)

This was really good. You did an excellent job of giving an eerie feel and giving us an idea of the characters in so few words. This was helped of course by the fact that your readers know what's going to happen but it still almost feels like a cliffhanger at the end of some of them. I wish these weren't microfics because I want to read more!

Amazing stories, and good luck with your challenges. I'm sorry this isn't the long review you deserve (I really am not good at reviewing)
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hi there ladies! Thank you SO much for stopping by and leaving this wonderful review, and I am SO sorry it has taken me so long to respond to it!

Aww! Thank you so much for your compliments! It makes me feel so happy that you wanted to keep reading! And, this was my first attempt at writing anything really 'eerie', so I'm glad that you think I was able to do it well!

Please don't apologize for the length of the review- the fact that you came here and left me one in the first place is so amazing! Thank you! ♥ *Huffle Hugs*


 Report Review

Review #7, by LilyFire What Nightmares Are Made Of

3rd November 2014:
This is interesting. I've never really read anything like it before, but it seems kinda cool. It's almost like you're writing an opening paragraph for a really scary story. Thanks for entering!
~Lily

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

I had honestly never heard of microfiction before I stumbled across this challenge, but I'm actually quite glad I did. It was something different and challenging, and I really enjoyed it!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, and for creating the Halloween Challenge in the first place! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login