Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for This is Chemistry
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore SN1

20th June 2016:
Hey!

*digs chemistry from years ago out of brain*

I have to admit that a lot of this chemistry was kind of alien to me because it's been so long since I studied it (and even then I don't remember using all these terms? Maybe they teach us different things in the UK :P) but I really liked the way that you used it to tell your story. The ideas of attraction and balancing each other out fit in really well with chemistry, and also the idea of two people (or house elves, in this case) being attracted to each other and forming a bond.

Speaking of which, how on earth did you come up with the idea for a love story (sorry - chemical reaction) between two house elves? I don't think I've ever seen anything like that before, and I liked the originality of it. Throughout the story I was kind of thinking that it was two students who were thrown together in the container known as Hogwarts, and then it turned out to be two elves. I'm really intrigued whether or not you had any specific elves in mind for this, or if it was up to us to choose? I think maybe it would have helped to have names or something to anchor the story into canon a little more, but I really enjoyed it anyway, and the way that you used chemistry to explain their attraction and bond. Now I'm imagining lots of cute love stories between house elves at Hogwarts :P

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

Author's Response: SIAN. Thank you so much you absolute sweetheart.

This was a also another way to study for me. At the time, I was talking chemistry in college and using this analogy helped solidify my hold on terminology a bit.

I think I wrote about house elves because they're awesome and I adore them. They are sentient and intelligent beings—I would think romance is definitely a thing with them as with goblins and the like--we just don't really get to see that, so HERE IT IS. :P

Thank you so much for the review! And yes, I too would love to read more house elf-centred stories!

Cheers,
em


 Report Review

Review #2, by rosiful SN1

18th August 2015:
I'm just going to start off by saying that I understood hardly any of the chemistry words/jargon that you used here! But I was still incredibly impressed! I can't believe how many chemistry terms you used, and how well you managed to string them all together to create a cute love story.
This is definitely one of the most unique fics I've read on this site! Can't say I've ever read a chemistry filled House Elf love story before. I actually think I learnt more chemistry reading this than I did from my chem teacher in High School (he was hopeless).

This was a lot of fun to read! I am so impressed with your amazing writing skills!

Author's Response: ROSIFUL

First of all, OH MY GOODNESS, THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR NOMINATION FOR THE SILVER SCALES, YOU SWEET AMAZING PERSON, YOU!! It means so much to me. . . ♥ Thank you.

I am so glad you liked it despite the chemistry jargon!! BAH!! ♥ I am thrilled that this sort of thing has educational purposes, too!! Maybe all chemistry should be taught using HPFF?

Thank you for this wonderful, wonderful review!! You are too kind!!

♥,
Em


 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoy SN1

28th June 2015:
Here for Hufflepuff, House Cup, 2015!

Wow. That's really the only word I can think of to describe this. Reading this brought back memories of my chemistry class. :P

I know it says at the end that this was the chemical reaction between two House Elves, but I'm still really puzzled as to which two... were there any specific elves in mind when you wrote this? Is this an elf love story? Who was the Halogen? So many questions! You've definitely left me feeling curious about this story!

The scientific part of it was really brilliant. Not only did you explain something complicated in a way that anyone could easily understand it, you also did a fantastic job of communicating exactly what that long-running metaphor meant in real life, how it explained what was happening. And I loved the description of Hogwarts as a container!!

Really well done!

Author's Response: Jayde!

Aww, thank you so much!! ♥ There weren't really any two specific elves in mind, no. It is an elf love story! And the Halogen was another house elf. Your compliments are making me blush. THANK YOU!! I am glad you found that it anyone could easily understand it and that it still showed the real-life events properly. AND YES! Hogwarts is a reaction container!! So many reactions taking place in Hogwarts. So many stories. THANK YOU SO MUCH, JAYDE!! You're so sweet.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #4, by Infinityx SN1

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Slytherin

This. i cannot. you are spectacular and i am overjoyed that you actually wrote this and your skills and knowledge of chemistry have just shone through in this. i understood most of this so i could picture everything in this weird cartoony way with the electrophile and halogen and nucleophile with arms and legs and weird eyes haha. and the way you tied this with romance is just brilliant. romance and that strong connection are also chemistry after all and i love the way you related the two. your language use here is fantastic, especially those lines that came between the jargon to join everything together - poetic in way. and i was wondering how you were going to tie this to the magical world and then omg house elves! that is so lovely and so cute. i think the only problem would be the slight abruptness with which the house elves are introduced. it's a little difficult to picture that along with all the chemistry before that, especially if it's someone who doesn't understand the jargon, but i loved it so much and i love you and your writing is the best.

Author's Response: Erin,

THANK YOU! This review left me so red in the face. You are much too lovely! I am thrilled you liked the jargon intertwined with the attempted poetism. The house elf bit was in there because Joseph's MTA question to me. So it served as the final: here it is, all of it, told you I'd do it. YOU WITH YOUR KIND WORDS!! I can't handle anything.

So much reciprocated love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #5, by HeyMrsPotter SN1

28th June 2015:
HI EM!!! ♥

Wow, there are a LOT of words in here that I don't understand :') That doesn't stop me from being totally impressed by the science jargon you used all the way through though. This is definitely different to anything I've ever read on HPFF. I love the way it was linked to the chemistry made it seem like the two absolutely had to be together, like there was no other option. This line in particular was really powerful: In fact, they were polar opposites, but this is chemistry and in chemistry, opposite charges attract. That was a reference I definitely understood :p

I cannot praise you highly enough for the total uniqueness of this story, Em. You are brilliant.

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

Author's Response: DEE! ♥

You absolute sweetheart! THANK YOU SO MUCH!! You're incredibily sweet. I am rather red right now. I am so, so happy that you shipped the two house elves throughout and that you liked THAT LINE! That was one of the first I thought of when I thought 'reaction kinetics house elf love story.'

Dee, [flies to Dee, parachutes down to Dee, lands on Dee in the most painful hug tackle ever] YOU ARE TOO, TOO SWEET!! ♥

Thank you so much for this precious review.

Love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #6, by Dojh167 SN1

28th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015 Review

Oh my goodness, this is such a cute idea! It really reminds me of the McGarrigle song NaCl, but I dont know if that had any role in your inspiration for this story.

When I first looked at this story I was afraid it would be too jargon-y, but you perfectly balance the scientific and the poetic here, and the result has a really wonderful flow to it.

Favorite line: A thousand collisions occurred between the Nucleophile and the Haloalkane.

The one line that I found to scientifically wordy was Being the rate determining step of this reaction with a high activation energy. My brain said, More poetry, please!

I have to say, I dont totally understand the House Elf connection. There was so much science-sepcific language in the story, but I didnt feel that there was enough to tie in the House Elf aspect. I would have really liked that ending if I had been able to look back and see how it all made more sense in that context, but Im afraid that I didnt have that reaction.

Sam.

Author's Response: Hello Sam!

Thank you so much for this review. I am delighted you think that it's a cute idea and that you thought there was a good balance between scientific and poetic. Poetic is a rather unfamiliar thing for me.

I am sorry you thought that was too scientifically wordy. I thought to leave that with the science because, I thought it'd be repetitive to explain and I'm kind of someone who finds reaction kinetics poetic sometimes. . .
Rate determining step = slowest part of the process and, therefore, determines the rate of the process
Reaction with high activation energy = it takes a lot of energy/work/effort to get this reaction going

The House Elf bit is sort of an inside joke between me and Joseph/crestwood--the story was, after all, written for him. In my MTA page he asked, knowing that I don't write romance, what I would do having been forced to write romance. I told him that I would write a reaction kinetics thing about house elves. The reason that's at the end is to sort of a 'yup, I actually did it: reaction kinetics and house elves.' I hope that makes sense. :D

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #7, by SunshineDaisies SN1

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Well hello there! I'm going to be straight up here and say I didn't understand most of this, at least jargon-wise. Probably should have paid a bit more attention in Chemistry... Anyway, despite the fact that I have no idea what half of these words mean, I think you did a really lovely job of stinging them together! I could follow the story without necessarily having to know all of the titles, which I think means you did an excellent job in telling the story.

I also think that this is probably the most unique story I've read. I love the whole thing: the concept behind it, the execution, the fact that it's about house elves, everything. It's such a clever way to tell a story, and as I said before, you did an excellent job of telling it. It was super fun to read, and now I'm interested in similar stories. I'll have to stalk your page a bit. I'm also interested in looking up chemistry terms now...

Lovely work!

Author's Response: Hi Katie!!

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am thrilled that you could follow along without having to necessarily understand too much of Chemistry! That makes me so happy. :D Bah! You are much too kind. [hug tackles] I will definitely try to make another one like this, then. :D Chemistry is super fun, yes. If you'd ever like to chat about it, feel free to PM me anytime. ♥

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #8, by TidalDragon SN1

27th June 2015:
Howdy! It's been awhile!

This has to be the most unique story I think I've ever read on the archives owing to the entirely chemistry-based explanation of a relationship - and involving house elves at that! What I enjoyed about it, despite the chemistry jargon (which brought back nightmares of AP Chemistry) was how you used the jargon so artfully to describe not just the eventual reaction and bond, but to describe the characters as individuals, the obstacles to their bonding, etc. Obviously that rendered the entire thing more complete than jumping in and out would have and I really appreciate the dedication it must have taken to sustain it (at least from my novice scientific mind...).

What made this all even more effective though was the transitions from description to description of each "phase" and the way you personified each by giving them emotion even though you were describing them ultimately as components of a reaction (which could have felt clinical instead).

Brilliantly done!

House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

Author's Response: Hello Kevin!

Thank you so much for this remarkable review. I am so, so glad you thought that the jargon was used artfully. That's more than anything I had hoped for, honestly. It certainly did take a handful of re-writes coupled with much editing and a rather heavy load of 'should I post this or not?'

I was studying these sort of reactions at the time I wrote this, so writing it definitely helped remember all the details of it: 'eventual reaction and bond, but to describe the characters as individuals, the obstacles to their bonding, etc' as you said.

I did try to aim to stay as true to the entire mechanism as possible rather than the overall reaction, and I suppose that is where the details came in. You could say that observing electron flow helped with the actual flow of the story.

Giving them emotion was a bit of a struggle at first because I had never written anything remotely romantic before. I must credit Meg, my beta, for encouraging me to make it more emotional that what it was initially.

Thank you so much for your kind words!! I truly appreciate them. :D

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #9, by PolyJuice_ SN1

27th June 2015:
Okay, so as you can see, I am outside and it is hot and I am dying so pardon me if I have trouble stringing words together to form coherent sentences.

Especially after this fic. Holy freaking cow you are amazing. Honestly. I could have never imagined a story like this, nor could I have made it flow as you've done. How on earth did you create a pun-filled story like this and make me laugh so much? :P If I was with you currently I would smack you for using so many puns, honestly. And some of them are so bad, omg.

She forced a false happiness on herself, although she was energetically unstable. She was reckless.

That. Omg. I'm crying. I love it. Leave it to you to write a fully cohesive and totally wacky chemistry story. Especially the end! With the twist! Oh my god! I admit for awhile there I thought it would be revealed that they simply were Electrophiles and Nucleophiles and that was it. That they weren't humans at all. That would be so like you. :P But no, that was such a cute ending.

Reason #3042 why Ine is the best.

#twoandahalfbonds

HC 2015 - Slytherin

Liz

Author's Response: LIZ!!!

THIS IS SUCH AN AMAZING RESPONSE TO SUCH A WEIRD STORY! Thank you so much, you lovely, wonderful person, you. ♥

ALL THE PU-- Ouch. Liz. [pouty whine] Why?

THIS ENTIRE STORY is partially Joseph's fault. I told him that if I were to ever write romance it'd be a reaction kinetics extended metaphor about house elves, so here it is. :D

YOU ARE AMAZING AND I ADORE YOU! 13 days!!! ♥

I'm thinking that approximately 2845 of those reasons are my puns. If you'd like to give me the extensive list with all of those reasons, by the way, my inbox is open. ;)

#lem

I ADORES YOU, LIZ! [SQUISY-SQUISH-SQUISH]

Love,
Ine


 Report Review

Review #10, by TreacleTart SN1

17th May 2015:
Hi Em!

I just happened across this story and it looked interesting, so I thought I'd give it a read.

I'll tell you straight away that although I loved basic chemistry in middle school, my high school teacher was literally the worst teacher ever, so I have very little grasp on what any of these terms mean in the technical sense. This meant that I was googling terms throughout the entirety of my time spent reading this. That being said, I feel like I've learned more chemistry from this story than I did from an entire year of highschool chem classes.

Even though I was a bit lost in the technical sense, I still found this story easy to follow. It was very clear what was happening and who it was happening to.

As others have pointed out, there are a ton of double entendres in this and I thought they were handled deftly. I had a good chuckle at a few points because of them.

In an odd way, I feel like you write about science the way I write about food. I can really feel your passion for the subject coming through in your words.

All in all, I think this was a really unique piece. I can't say that I've ever read anything like it before nor do I think I ever will...mainly because this is something so unique to you and your style. Good work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response:
KAITLIN!!!

This was such a surprise and AHHH!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!! You actually made my day and you put this really massive smile on my face and YOU ARE SO ENDLESSLY SWEET!!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this weird little thing. I am beyond thrilled to know that you've enjoyed it and that you've learnt some chemistry--that is spectacular!!

I am absolutely and completely thrilled to know that you could still follow along!! That was a major hope of mine--to have readers understand the story regardless of chemical background!

Deft handling of double entendres was another hope of mine and to know that you think I've done pretty okay with that and that it made you chuckle warrants some internal happy dancing (not unlike the banana emoticon we've got in the forums nor unlike the bunny one).

THANK YOU! I love chemistry, stubborn a lover though it may be at times. By the way, your writing of food serves many purposes. Of those:
1) it serves to show your glorious writing abilities
2) it serves to increase my appetite.
3) it serves to strengthen my resolve that should Meg's dream ever come true and we find ourselves together running away from zombies, you would definitely be well-protected: save the massively talented chef, save the food, save the food, save the will to carry on our adventures.

Kaitlin, you're amazing. Thank you so much for all your kind and thoughtful words that inspire hug-tackling needs and strengthen cheek muscles. This means so much to me!

Loads and loads of love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #11, by The Crazy Kid SN1

15th May 2015:
Hi Em ♥

I'm The Crazy Kid, coming to you as your gifter for the Pass it Along Challenge. I will be starting with this story, as it is at the bottom of your author's page. I will be working my way forward until I've reached your newest story, and that should be a couple of days from now if I follow my non-existent schedule.

Okay, so I will admit that some parts of this story were a little confusing to me. I don't know anything about chemistry, as that is not something we were taught in school unless we choose it as our chosen subject. And I didn't, so this is greek to me to be completely honest. But that does not mean I didn't like it. I think it's without a doubt the most unique story I have seen on HPFF, and that's a huge compliment. And I did find it to be very interesting.

Even with the limited knowledge I have of chemistry, I could tell there was a lot of puns in there. Like words having two meanings. I think that was clever of you. If I had been more interested in chemistry, I'm sure it would've made me laugh. But like I said, that's not something I know a lot about. But it was still enjoyable to read, and I liked that you took the romantic 'chemistry' and wrote it into something that was about actual chemistry, scientific chemistry I mean. I've never seen anyone do that before, but it was amazing and very clever of you.

And the twist at the end! I did not expect it to be a love story between two house elves. You surprised me there, but I love stories that surprises me. And I feel like that's difficult to do as well, because often when you know how it will end or in this case who it's about, you'll reveal more than you notice because you think it won't be as obvious for the readers. But you didn't, so it ended up being a very good suprise. Good job on that!

So while I don't know a thing about chemistry and some parts were a little confusing as a result of that, I still liked the story. I found it enjoyable because you used some basic chemistry knowledge in it, that just about anyone could follow. And the little things that were slightly more advanced and thus confusing, were still easy enough for me to follow - it didn't throw me off the story I mean - because you made it obvious what you meant by it. And that's important for the readers that do not have as much knowledge on this topic, so it's good that you tell it that way.

The Crazy Kid

Author's Response: Dear The Crazy Kid,

Thank you so much for this marvelous review! I adore you already.

My, how ambitious you are, I immensely flattered that you'd want to review everything I've posted!! I hope you enjoy what you read from now on, then. :D

I am blushing you absolute darling, Crazy Kid!! 'the most unique story [you] have seen on HPFF'!!! Have you any idea how much that means to me! I apologise for the bit of confusion, though that you continued reading it and that you still found it enjoyable to read is also a massive compliment to me! [massive hug tackles] It actually is a personal goal of mine to write things that nobody has really seen before and to hear you feel that was achieved makes me extremely delighted. :D

Yes! HOUSE ELVES! This entire story came out of an MTA question from Joseph the crestwood to whom this story was dedicated to. He asked, knowing full well that I am not one to write the very romantic, he asked what I would write if I were forced to write romance. My response was what I did here: reaction kinetics and house elves, unconventional and cute.

I am thrilled that you love surprises! I, too, am fond of surprises. I believe I saved the surprise by straying away from descriptions of physical appearances.

Crazy Kid, dearest, I am thrilled that you weren't thrown off the story despite the chemistry and that you could still follow because that's another goal achieved for me!

Thank you again, you sweet, sweet Crazy Kid.

Love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #12, by Crumple-Horned Snorkack SN1

30th January 2015:
Greetings! I am the Crumple-Horned Snorkack and I have left the lonely, inert forest in which I dwell to peruse this scientific and very sweet love story.

This is without a doubt one of the most unique stories I have come across on HPFF, and I know all about unique, being a unique magical creature myself who is sought after by similarly unique humans. The use of chemistry (and in particular bonds, attraction, negativity, and all words used in a pun-like manner) to tell this story was simply brilliant and not only works together perfectly as a love story, but also makes sense of chemistry. This is how they should teach it in schools.

And I must say, the chemistry between the two characters is undeniable. :P I love that you wrote about house elves as well. This was all around such a lovely story that made me laugh and be amazed at your cleverness. Clever enough, perhaps, to find a Snorkack if you went out looking for me.

On that note, the bond between the hidden wilds and myself is so strong that I am drawn once more to the forest in which I'm having tea with my BFF, Bigfoot. It was a pleasure reading your story.

Author's Response: Greetings wonderfully kind and elusive one!

Your compliments are resulting in the flexing of the facial muscles to form some semblance of an impossibly wide grin. Thank you! Additionally, you have inflicted me with this mad and raging urge to hug you, you wonderful creature, you!

It's thrilling to hear that you've enjoyed it. I absolutely adore you. That was, indeed, chemistry. ;) And perhaps one day I'll write about a certain Snorkack of the Crumple-Horned variety who happens to be the bestest of friends with a Bigfoot?

CRUMPLE-HORNED SNORKACK! WAS THAT A CHALLENGE? [Puts on deerstalker and a matching cape and takes out a notepad and a magnifying glass]

Well it has been an absolute pleasure reading your review. Thank you SO much [hugs]! You're so lovely. ♥ Good day to you then! And enjoy your tea with Bigfoot. :D

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #13, by casual_chaos SN1

13th November 2014:
Oh my god - this is amazing!!

Hello! After surviving so many chemistry classes, I am proud to say that I came here, read this, understood it and thoroughly enjoyed it! :D

I can't even count the number of scientific puns you used here but it all fit so well!

''The Halogen kept her neutral and relatively stable.'' Okay, this cracked me up. Was it the 'relatively'? I don't know, I just laughed at this. :D

And this sounds like something out of a textbook: ''Being the rate determining step of this reaction with a high activation energy, the Halogen was slow to dissociate itself from the Haloalkane.''

Seriously, who would have guessed that this is actually a love story?

I want to show this to the professor who taught my organic chemistry class and tell him: 'Now THIS is how you explain SN1 reactions!!'

I honestly didn't expect to find something like this on HPFF but boy am I glad I did! You are awesome!

Andy

Author's Response: This REVIEW is amazing!

Hi there, Andy! It's great to meet you. You can call me Em if you like. :D

Surviving is very much the goal in chemistry classes, isn't it? Bahaha! I am thrilled to hear that it made sense and that it was enjoyable to you. That is wonderfully thrilling to hear!

Hehe thank you! It's absolutely delighting to hear that this kind of humour can be appreciated. Inspiring laughter is always my goal! :D

Eeeep! I am so glad that line sounded that way to you! I tried. You're basically finding out everything I intended to do with this story! You're the awesome one here.

Bahaha! Apparently it is. Chemistry is *chemistry*. ;)

Do you really want to? Haha! That's awesome!

Aww, Andy. You're so lovely! Thank you so, so much! This review squee-worthy just made me so happy. :D

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #14, by Chazzie SN1

10th November 2014:
Oh my gosh Em.

I can not believe you wrote a house elf love story using scientific terms :') well, I can believe it because you're you, and you are awesome, but you know. Funnily enough, I actually have Chemistry homework about this very topic, so I will probably be thinking back to this story whilst completing it.

This is quite literally my favourite story ever now.

You haven't even mentioned names or anything and yet I feel like I know everything about these house elves. Your descriptions were excellent, and I'm pretty certain that even if you didn't know much Chemistry as a reader, it would still mostly make sense.

Lottie

Author's Response: Bahaha! Lottie!

Chemistry is chemistry. ;) Do you really? Aren't reaction mechanics fun? I offer whatever help I can provide (if I can at all) about this topic, should you need it at all (you may not considering how brilliant I know you to be, nevertheless I just really want to talk to someone about reaction mechanics).

Aww, Lottie! You're too, too kind. Thank you, thank you, thank you! :D [mauls Lottie with hugs]

I didn't and you've noticed what I intended to do with that. :D And thank you for all your compliments that leave my face marginally redder than it was before. Life is a series of chemical reactions on so many scales.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #15, by crestwood SN1

30th October 2014:
Okay - Emilie, you know how I write high concept stuff and people are like, what even lead to you thinking about doing this?? Well, THAT is what I thought when I first saw this. This is like the MOST YOU THING YOU COULD HAVE POSSIBLY DONE. You took your incorporation of science and turned it up to eleven. In this metaphor, you have busted the speakers of science themed fics.

To be clear - the science used here is not the kind that I can say I have TONS of knowledge about, but that didn't really stop this from being enjoyable because I just kind of *get what you mean* anyway. I adore all of the different interpretations of words here. I mean, "bond" "attract" "chemistry" You're throwing out double entendre after double entendre. And not to mention how you really did write a romance about House Elves like you said you would. This is so awesomely experimental and unique. There will probably never be another story like this at all. It's amazing to think about that.

I thank you from the bottom of my heart for Gifting me this story and for writing me slash and Microfiction because the combination of the three makes for a happy Joseph :)

Author's Response: Firstly, I saw that, at least at that moment, you didn't have a story dedicated to you so I needed to write you one because you deserve it!

I thought you might like an unconventional, high concept story so I tried to make one that was, at the same time, as personal as possible: it's an extended metaphor micro fiction about a slash pairing.

You encourage me to write high concept stuff, Joseph! You should know that! You helped lead me into thinking about doing this is what it is!

'the MOST YOU THING YOU COULD HAVE POSSIBLY DONE' is possibly the highest compliment I have ever received!!! [an incomprehensible string of letters that resulted from abundant flailing of spastic limbs] THANK YOU!!

Bahaha! I DID wrote almost exactly what I told you I would. It's only fitting that this is my first (and only??) romance story. I'm sorry it couldn't be an entire novel as you asked in the MTA.

Double entendres are how I view life rather than how I view science. Bahaha!

You spoil and flatter me with all your compliments. My head is soon to join Aunt Marge in the clouds if this goes on for any longer. Thanks for that.

That would be from your right ventricle?

Aw, Joseph. I'm thrilled to hear that it made you happy. That was the whole point of it all!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ribbons SN1

28th October 2014:
You. You. Only you would do this.

You genius.

I love it. I can't even contain myself. I can't even keep it together.

When there's a spin to be placed on something, you just take it above and beyond, don't you? Electrophiles and Nucleophiles? And not only that...there are HOUSE ELVES! Whoa.

Em, you're incredible.

I loved the feeling and pace of this story, and I thought you carried the theme off beautifully. So unique and exciting, such a good hook...it really drew me in.

I want to know more!

In short: I loved it.

Don't ever stop writing because I think I would cry.

Much, much, MUCH love,

Alena

Author's Response: Alena,

Thank you so much for this lovely, lovely review! All your compliments! GAHH! You're too kind!

Yes, I'm a little bit of a big fan of spins. Thank you so much for noticing. Bahaha! But for you to think that I take them above and beyond? That means so much to me! Chemistry is chemistry and house elves can love too. ;)

Awww, Alena! Bahh! [hug]

Notice how I am struggling to form coherent and comprehensible sentences? Yeah, that's you and all these things you're saying to me. You're just so lovely. I cannot even begin to tell you how much your support and encouragement means to me!

Loads and loads and LOADS of love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #17, by Roisin SN1

26th October 2014:
OH MY GOSH, AH! This is excellent! What a clever, amazing, original idea!

It reminds me of this one time, I took a class on Science Writing for the General Audience. For one exercise, I had to read an academic paper that was VERY dense, in a field that wasn't my own, and then explain it to everyone (despite not knowing any of the jargon). But everyone else, who also didn't know the jargon, were still able to get the gist (the one thing does a thing to the other thing). This did that same kind of thing in a really brilliant way. Like, even if someone doesn't know about halogens and all, there's enough other language to understand it... AS A LOVE STORY. And then the chemical terms are stand-in for elves after all, so, AH!

Also, I loved the double entendre with 'chemistry' ;)

This is a really creative, brilliant, witty piece, and I really enjoyed reading it! Thank you so much for entering the challenge!

Also, you may have written the best chapter summary of all time :D

xoxo
-Roisin

Author's Response: GAHH! ROISIN! THANK YOU!

This is my very first romance piece so I am very unsure about it, but I figured I had to do it my way: with house elves and organic chemistry. House elves can love too, right? :D

Organic chemistry is used quite symbolically here! At least I tried. It was intended to show that same sex couples are completely natural. It's organic, geddit?! Ahem.

I am thrilled and delighted and squeeing and flailing my arms to hear that you enjoyed it! It means so much to me to hear that!

I must thank you for creating such a wonderful challenge that I have noticed to inspire many new and brilliant pieces! It's been mind-blowing to read some of them and I cannot wait to read more!

Bahaha! The chapter summary, yes. THANK YOU! :D

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #18, by AdinaPuff SN1

18th October 2014:
Oh, Em!

Only you would write a MicroFiction about scientific Electrophiles and Nucleophiles to describe the chemistry of House Elves. I loved it so much. Now, when it comes time for me to study this in school, and I haven't a clue what they're talking about, I can put it into perspective using the chemistry of house elves, written by the magnificent Emilie. Thank you for that :D

Beautifully written, Beta! Loved it. I'm sure Joey did too! :)

-Leigh

Author's Response: Dearest Leigh,

What a wonderful surprise! Haha. Thank you so much for this review! You are so kind. :D

Bahaha! Yes, only me. ;) Admittedly this stemmed from a question Joseph asked on my MTA.

He asked me this: "I know you don't like to write romance. If I was to absolutely force you to write a romance-centric novel, which characters would you pair together?"

And then I did it. . . Sort of. It didn't have all the requirements, but it's house elves and chemistry.

Because, you know, house elves can love, too. :D

Thank you, thank you, thank you! You're endlessly amazing, Alpha and your words make me grin madly! [mauls with hugs to show appreciation]

Your beta,
Em


 Report Review

Review #19, by Unicorn_Charm SN1

16th October 2014:
Em!! ♥

Ahh! It came out so good!! *squee* I love it! Love, love, love it! The way that you incorporate science into romance is just the most uniquely amazing thing ever. It's always so interesting to read and to see how you make all of the comparisons.

I'm glad to see that I was able to help! :D You did a beautiful job in personifying the elves a bit more. It really just all came out so, so good! I'm sure that Joseph (Crestwood) will love it!

This was such a unique take on romance, slash, house elves and just story telling in general. You did a great job here, Em! Good luck in your challenges!!! ♥

Love, hugs, luck, and boxes of dark chocolate Ferrero Rochers,
Meg ♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: Meg!

I have you to thank for giving me such wonderful, wonderful advice. THANK YOU! You are endlessly amazing. You never, never fail to but this gigantic smile on my face.

Gahh! I'm super thrilled to hear that you find it interesting and it means so much to me that you love it this really weird one-shot. [hugs]

House elves can love, too, right? THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! Meg, you're the best! I cannot believe that you have been reviewing everything I have written! [sque]

Loads and loads of hugs, love, peach mojitos, more love, and a tin of cookies the size of the Eiffel Tower,
Em


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login