Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for We Lived
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Amicus We Lived

14th November 2016:
Just beautiful.

A wonderful window into Doge's life a minor character to often shown as a sad shadow nice to think of him loved as he had loved.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Amicus We Lived

14th November 2016:
Just beautiful.

A wonderful window into Doge's life a minor character to often shown as a sad shadow nice to think of him loved as he had loved.

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyL8 We Lived

20th June 2016:
* For the LGBTQA+ Pride Review Event*

Hi Roisin.

Iím still here for the LGBTQA+ Pride Review, but I probably wouldíve come here anyway because this is one ship I really want to read about. And Iíve seen a lot of ships, but I donít think I ever seen a story about these two. And I think thatís kind of strange, because Iíve always believed something more may have been there, if only unrequited. And if so, I do believe it would be Doge as well, as I firmly believe Albus really did love Gellert. So yeah, this was just what I imagined, so I really enjoyed reading it.

I feel for poor Doge. Iíve never been in love at all, but I can just imagine how painful it must be to be in love with someone that doesnít love you back. And especially when that someone is your friend. And I donít really like the way Albus acts here, because I do think he knows that Doge like him, and he isnít exactly discouraging him. So Doge never really gets a chance to move on, because Albus is always there, until the very end. And itís sad to see him facing that for so long, but I do find it believable and I can totally imagine all of this happening. So I do like the story even though itís kind of heartbreaking to read.

And I really like your description. I said that in the last review as well, but Iíll just repeat it because itís just as good here. I really envy you for being so good at it, because I often find myself struggling quite a lot with just describing things as well I want to. And youíre just a natural at it really. So Iím impressed, I admire you and I really hope I can return to your page sometime soon to read a little bit more. Anyway, thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed reading the story.

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #4, by Frosty and Friends We Lived

6th December 2015:
Albus the Dumbledore
Was the architect of our salvation
With a lofty goal, grey beard, and soul
He captured the imagination.

Elphias the Doge
Is a master wordsmith they say
For the Daily Prophet he wrote a column
And gave Dumbles life after death one day

But the true magic in this story's
From the keys of our Roisin
For how she structures thoughts and words
Makes the story everything.

Roisin the Writer
Mastered the first-person POV
As she spun the gold of two old souls
Who lost their love to other things

Awesome descriptions
Painting bold visions
Look at Roisin go
Great characterizations
Fill us with bittersweet exultation
Making the whole story glow!

From me (on behalf of all of your friends on the forums and particularly in the CR) - we miss you and wish you the happiest of holiday seasons ahead!

Author's Response: THIS.

This.

This made me cry.

I really don't have words enough to say it:

Thank you.

Love,
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #5, by Dojh167 We Lived

12th July 2015:
Huffelpuff House Cup 2015 Review

I am very intrigued by this story. I always think of Albus as perpetually in love with Gellert, so I'm not sure about this ship with Elphias. Then again, I'm all about dispelling preconceptions, so dispell away!

Haha, there's that crepuscular again. Favorite of yours? At least this time I was prepared!

I loved the transition "And thenÖ" It seems like you are going to rehash what happened, but you really don't need to - with those two words we know everything.

I really enjoyed the subtlety here. You didn't make it clear when Albus and Gellert's relationship became actively romantic or physical. I think that ambiguity suits them really well.

I love the simplicity of the final scene. Nothing much seems to happen, which makes it extra special, because Dumbledore doesn't ever visit anyone for "nothing much"

The "we lived" line and all its implications are perfect.

I really enjoyed the theme throughout this story of golden bodies. It was subtle, but still very powerful.

I did like this story, and I think it definitely works well from the unrequited love angle. I could even go further and say that Albus and Elphias had something very real between them (so long as it doesn't contradict Albus' feelings for Gellert).

Good job with this story. It definitely made me think about these characters in a different light, which is something that I always enjoy.

Sam.

Author's Response: Hello again!

I kind of imagine Dumbledore as a person capable of a lot of love. Like, he can love Gellert, but also love Elphias. And those two loves are different - where Love isn't a limited resource. His affection for one doesn't take away from the other.

Glad you liked my sparse little transition. Yeah, I figured readers wouldn't really need everything rehashed for them, and didn't want to bog the story down with a bunch of retelling.

I LOVE coming up with little Dumbledore-isms. Like, hmmm, what's the wisest thing I can think of? Also, as a story basically about Dumbledore's death, I did want to focus a bit on how much he LIVED.

Ever since I read Elphias' eulogy in DH, I HAD to assume that there was something between them. My mom kept insisting that the eulogy was written by a woman, because it was so obv from the perspective of a former lover - and I was like NAH, Elphias is a DUDE. Then JKR revealed that Dumbledore was gay and we were like THERE IT IS.

But yeah, their very real love - which unfortunately, Elphias never had the confidence to really explore - def doesn't take away from Dumbledore's relationsip with Gellert. And trust me, I WOULD have given Elphias the confidence to GO FOR IT - but canon dictated otherwise :(

Thank you again SO MUCH for these reviews!
xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #6, by Rita Skeeter We Lived

18th March 2015:
Why hello there my dear!

I'm Rita Skeeter. You may know me from such publications as The Daily Prophet, The Life and Times of Albus Dumbledore, and a few others that I can't quite keep track of. Really, there's so many that sometimes I just forget!

You may be wondering why I'm here on this errr...computer thing, but I've found them quite helpful in digging up dir..I mean looking up information on my latest subjects. Especially since that meddling Hermione Granger found out about me being an illegal animagus.

I always suspected that he and Doge had a thing, but since they were never open about it...but this..well this changes everything. I was just about to revise my best selling book, The Life And Times Of Albus Dumbledore, so this will make a lovely addition. It explains why both of them remained single solitary men for the entirety of their lives.

It's quite sad that Doge never spoke up, but he never really was a courageous man...at least not until after Dumbledore died. He defended his memory vehemently when I first published my book. I imagine he will do the same when I print a new edition with added information.

Now because you've shared such a beautiful, personal story with me, I'd like to share a bit of gossip with you. There was a dual purpose to me stopping here. I'm running a bit of a contest. You see, things aren't always as they seem. If you can guess who my alter ego on the forums is, I will donate E50 in your honor to the HPFF fundraiser. You better hurry though because others have received similar offers and there can only be one winner. You may however confer with other people who have reviews since everyone received a different clue, but the first person to figure it out wins. You have until March 30th.

Oh and I suppose I should leave you one clue so you can start some digging of your own. Unlike Rita, I'm not good at writing light, fluffy stories. I much prefer the dark, serious and twisted.

Best of Luck!

Author's Response: This was SUCH an amazing thing, thank you SO MUCH for doing it :)

And yeah, Dumbledore/Doge was SO OBVIOUSLY A THING! I maintain that it is canon, and any argument to the contrary amounts to "but... HETERONORMATIVENESS!"

Thank you so so much for this review, and for this whole challenge in general!

xoxo
Tanya


 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan We Lived

6th January 2015:
Hi, Roisin! Confession: I actually read this ages ago but didn't review for some reason :S so I'm here to fix that now!

I just love this story. In fact, this is my new headcanon because it just fits SO well into what is already known about Elphias Doge. I love reading about Dumbledore (esp. young Dumbledore, with Grindelwald) and this story kind of focuses on the bigger picture - life aside from those few months.

From the beginning - first of all, I love the word 'crepuscular'. Also, Dumbledore as a kind of arrogant youth, before he became the wise person that his failings and struggles in life caused him to be - I just love him arguing with the teachers about Dragon's blood and it's quite amusing to see Albus like this :)

The way you covered the passage of time in this is beautiful, it's very nostalgic. Like I can tell there were all these intense jealous feelings at the time, and Elphias resented Gellert and resented that he was not good enough for Albus (which that in itself is really sad because he never really took the chance, and just assumed, and left in the middle of the night! gah!), but it's like all these feelings are seen through a lens - a lens of time and nostalgia where you mainly remember the good things, like that Mesopotamian bloke and the fig trees and the goat's cheese.

Aah, the part about seeing the Dark Mark and finding his husband dead :'(

The ending though. I LOVED the ending. You use your words so beautifully and my absolute favorite type of story is the bittersweet kind, and this fits the bill in every way. The unrequited love that lasted a lifetime, the way age has taken its toll on the both of them, the fact that it's the last time they will see each other. "How did we get to be so old?" I finally asked. "We lived," he replied. -- There is nothing more perfect than that.

Bravo, Roisin! This story is really fantastic! ♥

Author's Response: GAH! You always leave me such nice reviews!

Dumbledore/Doge has been my headcanon for SO LONG! It was actually my mom who thought of it, and then made a really impassioned case for it ;) I am now CONVINCED that Rowling implied it intentionally!

'Crepuscular' is a word I discovered a few years ago and have been OBSESSED with ever since! SO GOOD!

And YES--they might have worked out if Elphias had given it a chance! Dumbledore wouldn't think of Doge as 'lesser' than him! *sobs* I totally would have given them a happily ever after if canon had allowed it!

I too love a good unrequited love story. One of my favorite books is 'My Antonia,' because of how the love eventually transcends anything physical, and becomes deeper (begging the question, is it even unrequited at all?)

I'm so glad you liked this story! Thank you SO much for the review ♥





 Report Review

Review #8, by Maelody We Lived

2nd January 2015:
This is, by chance, one of the most beautifully written requited love story I have read in the fanfiction world! You have a lovely talent with words and I'm completely envious of you! I came to check out your banner, liked the caption and title, and fell in love with your story!

I've never thought of Doge and Albus together, always just Albus and Gellert. You now have me shipping them and I'm not even mad! ;)

Great job! (More like magnificent!) Your story was beautiful, and your words were absolutely poetic! 10/10!

~Mae

Author's Response: Oh gosh, thank you so much! I'm so glad you like this story--I loved writing it :) Dumbledore/Doge had been my headcanon for a while, and I was so happy to think of this story so I could share that idea!

And I'm so happy you liked the language! Writing old wise men is pretty intimidating when I'm pretty much the opposite!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, and for all your kind words!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #9, by teh tarik We Lived

5th November 2014:
Hey Roisin!

It's been too long since I read any of your work (I promise to get back to Y5 once NaNo is over...), so I dropped by your page to read something...goodness, you've been busy! There are so many new stories!!! And this one caught my eye because it's young Dumbledore which is my favourite, and because of the ship. Albus/Gellert is my number one OTP hahaha, but honestly, I love reading Dumbledore shipped with almost any character at all! From a later reading of the books, I've always wondered if there was something between Dumbledore and Doge - something more than best friends. And your fic fits so beautifully in canon! I'm so glad someone has explored this ship in such a beautiful and thought-provoking way! I really loved this, everything, Elphias's narration, your characterisation of Albus, and the complex relationship between the two, the complexity of characterisation. I love the way both characters change with the passage of time; that must have been my favourite thing - the emotional subtlety and complexity (sorry for using the same word over and over!). And that last part was absolutely amazing.

How did we get to be so old?

We lived.


alskdjlaksjdlasWAAHH

*wails*

*sobs*

This is perfect, Roisin! ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hello!!!

*Squee* Thank you so much for this review :D Some sort of history between Elphias and Dumbledore has definitely been my headcanon since before I knew the word headcanon! I'm super hoping to LAUNCH THIS SHIP with this story, because I'm SO CONVINCED this happened!

And, yee! I'm so glad you liked the voice and narration and complexity! It was definitely a struggle to capture the perspective of someone so much older than me, who was young so long ago. And I gave myself the really wacky task of writing the gay culture as era accurate, while also implying that the wizarding world is historically more progressive on certain issues (feminism, sexuality, race).

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review this story! Your kind words give me so many happy feels!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #10, by crestwood We Lived

30th October 2014:
Hi Roisin,

I'm rushing to get these reviews out before NaNo and wow, I thank you for writing such short stories. I've already read them all, but it's just so nice to not have to respond to thousands of words right now.

On to the story, you've made me believe in the canonical viability of this ship. I think it makes more and more sense the more I think about it. I always love Young!Dumbledore in fic and I think it should be written about more. Carefree and arguing with professors about Dragon's Blood. (and being right!!) It's only a short passage but I totally GET HIM within the space of it.

I feel for Elphias because like, who could be an intellectual equal to Albus? I've never even experienced someone in my life being that much smarter than me, although I have a friend who THINKS that he's an Albus Dumbledore level genius. And that's terrible enough.

Elphias leaving Albus in the middle of the night :/ And then his husband getting murdered by Death Eaters :(

BUT their last conversation. Beautiful, perfect. SO GOOD. This is the first time I've read this ship but I am super stoked on it and I wish there was more!! Thank you again for giving me two entries of pure genius.

Author's Response: DUMBLEDORE/DOGE IS MY OTP!

And yee, I saw you had SO many entries already when I joined, so I decided to keep them short (bless your eyes)!

It was my mom is the one who pointed Dumbledore/Doge out to me. At the time she thought Elphias was a lady - but then the whole "Dumbledore gay" reveal happened and she was like "CALLED IT, he totally had a thing with that guy."

The other thing I really wanted to do with this story, was kind of unapologetically write about 'cruising' in a way that was beautiful and nostalgic (I think sometimes there can be a closeted attitude of defensiveness in mainstream equality movements, through groups like the HRC, and I don't think it's necessary. Cruising is important for a lot of people discovering themselves, and nothing we should shame. And being a woman, I'm particular tetchy about people being shamed on the basis of sexual behavior).

OK THIS REPLY IS GETTING TOO LONG! I'm glad you liked this short-and-bittersweet one shot! Thank you for this challenge!


 Report Review

Review #11, by AdinaPuff We Lived

16th October 2014:
Hi, here for our review swap!

This was such an amazing little one shot. I never really thought about Doge being in a relationship with Albus--friends, of course, but never in that sort of relationship. It was a nice turn of events. I loved how he was jealous of Gellert, and that he thought he grew out of love with Albus. It was a bitter sweet one shot.

That last line was perfection.

Thanks for the swap! Good luck in the challenge!

-Leigh

Author's Response: Hello, thank you so much!

Doge/Dumbledore has been my headcanon ever since I read DH :] (My mom read Elphias as being a lady, and was all confused when I explained that he was a man. Then I explained that Dumbledore was gay, and she was like "Oh, okay, because those two had a THING")

I'm so glad you found it bittersweet - I very much was going for "short and (bitter)sweet" here. And for such a little story, I was really hoping the last line would have impact! Thank you!

Yay, I'm so glad we did this swap!
xo
-Roisin



 Report Review

Review #12, by CambAngst We Lived

16th October 2014:
Hi!

Slash isn't always my cup of tea, but I really like the concept of Albus and Elphias being lovers. It helps to tie together a number of small things that JKR wrote into Deathly Hallows. Even though she's human as the rest of us and probably frequently adds certain things to her writing "just because it sounded good", I like to convince myself that every little detail and nuance has a purpose. It's a fun bit of self-deception, one that makes for the most interesting discussions.

Albus was carefree in those days. Sixteen years old... -- Isn't it fun to imagine Dumbledore like this? I love the image of him as a brilliant, cocky young man who has yet to be worn down by the demons that follow him through his later years. He's such a tragic character in the books. It's so easy to forget that he was young and ambitious once.

It's really interesting to imagine what might have happened if Elphias had decided to abandon the Great Tour and remain behind with Albus. Granted, he was not an intellectual "equal" to Albus, but he seems to have held more sway over his friend than anyone else. Would he have been able to help Albus see Grindelwald for what he was before it was too late? Could he have saved a love-struck young Albus from giving in to his less noble ideals? In many ways, it seems like Elphias made things worse instead of better. Tormenting his friend with tales of the lavish, glamorous travels that Albus was unable to take part in. I missed Albus. With every fibre of my being, I missed Albus. -- Elphias seems almost passive-aggressive in a way, bragging to his home-bound friend while missing him dearly.

The details of Elphias's later life were sad. As sad, in their own way, as the particulars of Dumbledore's younger years. You've built a lot of kinship between these two. It's no wonder that they remained close. But my own anxiety, my fear of inadequacy, my broken heart, prevented me from thinking it could ever develop into something more. -- This was probably the saddest part of all. Elphias allowing his own self-doubt to close a door that he had never even properly tried to open.

I knew to let him keep his secrets. -- This one line was so powerful and deep. It shows an understanding of Dumbledore beyond nearly anything else in the story.

This was a lovely piece, my friend. The best kind of slash, in one person's humble opinion, is the sort that tells a story so compelling and relatable that the genders of the characters are almost an after-thought. This story is the epitome of that. Great job!

Author's Response: Hello!

So I'm pretty sure that *something* between Elphias and Dumbledore is just unspoken canon! My mom read Doge's eulogy as having been written by a woman, and almost wouldn't believe me that it was a male character. Then I explained that Dumbledore was gay, and she was like "AHA." Plus, that whole scene with Harry and Doge at the wedding almost explicitly references it!

As for Rowling's intentions, I actually think you're pretty safe assuming things are there on purpose. She cut thousands of words from every draft, and hacked out whole sections, so anything that remains is likely important :)

Yeah, it was super interesting for me to reverse engineer them into young men. And yeah, to have Doge really kind of behave in an immature way. He admitted in his obituary that his letters were probably careless or cruel, in retrospect, so I was super interested in fleshing out what that meant. I figured "jealousy" was the most likely motivator, given the events.

Yeah, I went SUPER sad with the Omar Shafiq thing. We got told, in canon, how everyone's greatest fear was coming home to find the Mark - so I really wanted to use that in this story. And then, for Elphias/Dumbledore, I was kind of inspired by "My Antonia" (which is as close to a perfect book as anything that exists), and how that bittersweet love ultimately transcends the physical. It was hard, for me, not to give Elphias and Dumbledore a "happily ever after," but canon wouldn't allow it. The whole point of Dumbledore is that he still believes in love, in spite of everything.

The keeping secrets thing was also kind of a handy way to avoid opening that can of worms - but yeah, that's an element of Dumbledore that Harry only understood later, so I liked the idea that someone else might already know it.

I'm so glad you liked it! This was my first foray into slash, and if I had a OTP, it would be this one :)

Thank you so much for the swap!
xoxo
-Roisin


 Report Review

Review #13, by UnluckyStar57 We Lived

16th October 2014:
NO BUT REALLY. I SEE IT!!!

Seriously, it says so much to me that I never. Even. CONSIDERED. that maybe Albus and Elphias had a thing going on, which would explain the sentimentality of Doge's obituary that we see in DH. Whoa, but now I'm thinking of all sorts of possibilities, and dang, that's COOL.

Honestly, it's such an interesting pairing. Albus is so intellectual, and Elphias might be smart, but he knows that he just can't keep up with Albus. I love the imagery of Albus in his Hogwarts days--the cheeky grin, the schoolboy elegance (if indeed, schoolboys could be said to have elegance). Wow, your descriptions are so brilliant. I can see the sunlight rippling off their bodies, and Elphias in a faded old photograph with Hassan by his side. Really beautiful stuff.

And Elphias married Omar... In which year? I would like to know! Was their marriage accepted in the Wizarding World? Was it accepted in the Muggle world? The reason I'm asking is because of all the racial and sexuality prejudices that may or may not have prevailed during the time period. It makes it that much more interesting that Elphias's marriage might have been surrounded by a lot of controversy.

In fact, this story was so good that I really wish that I could see more of the relationship between Elphias and Albus. I want to see more of schoolboy Albus--I think I fell in love with him just from your description of him. And I want to know more about the relationship between Omar and Elphias. Could you maybe just write a short story or something? Cuz I seriously want to know more. :)

So obviously, the only CC that I have for you is: Flesh it out! Write more! Because you've given me just enough information to tease me. It's such a wonderful story--and it would be so awesome if you could one day expand it. :D

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Eeee! Thank you so much!

Yeah, Dumbledore/Doge has been headcanon for me since FOREVER (I subtly ship them in Year Five too). I remember when I told my mom that Dumbledore was gay, she was like "But what about that lady who wrote his obituary?" and I was like, "yeah that was a guy," and she was like "oh ok - because they definitely had a thing."

I'm so glad you liked the descriptions! We think of these characters as being so /old/ that it was really fun for me to capture their youth!

As for prejudice and controversy, my headcanon has always been that the wizarding world is more progressive in terms of race, sexual orientation, and gender, but has problems associated with class, blood purity, species, etc. So like, I imagined that no one would blink at a interracial gay marriage, but Werewolf hunting would still be legal, or whatever.

Yee! I'm sort of hoping that this story will LAUNCH THIS SHIP (because it's practically canon), and inspire dozens of Albus/Elphias stories! And it's entirely likely that I'll revisit them in the future :)

Thank you so much for your review! Yours is on the way

xoxo
-Roisin


 Report Review

Review #14, by sleepingdragons We Lived

14th October 2014:
Hey there! So admittedly I've never actually read a slash story before, let alone a Dumbledore one. And I have to say I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought! (Not that I thought I wouldn't enjoy it of course)
I think your writing is so amazing; that whole last paragraph.. ugh so emotional. Although we don't learn a lot about Doge in the books, I think you characterised him really well, as well as Dumbledore.
Anyway - I'm glad I took the time to read this!
- sleepingdragons xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad to here you liked the characterization, and that all those feels at the end had impact.

Thanks for the swap!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login