Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Carina
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by heartjily4ever Carina

19th June 2017:
Okay wow, yeah, this is beautifully written - like really amazing.
IT even creeps me out a little how you've kind of created feelings of empathy for Tom Riddle, even as you present him marvelously cold and calculating. Testament to your skill at writing clearly.
This is a very poetic idea and I 100% wish it was canon. To fit such a neat story into a one-shot so well is impressive!!!

Author's Response: Hey,

I'm glad you liked it! I have a bit of morbid fascination with Tom since he's so bloody terrifying and it's always so interesting to explore. To try to bring out his 'human' side (or whatever passes for it in regards to him) is always a challenge. I don't think he'd ever be romantic so writing him in a pairing was fun to do.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it and left a review. Thank you so much.

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #2, by Felpata Lupin Carina

9th August 2015:
Oh my God!!!
This was so behond perfect!!!
I have no words to comment this!!!
The way you dig inside Tom's personality, so deeply, so perfectly... And Carina is such a perfect character as well, so perfectly carved... I wish I could write a long and thoughtful review, but I'm just stunned and speechless...

This was supposed to be a belated birthday review, but I'm afraid it didn't work very well, I'm sorry... Just know that I think you are incredibly talented and that you did a magistral work on this!!!

Hope you had a wonderful birthday!
Sending you tons of hugs and love!!!
Chiara

Author's Response: I AM SO SORRY FOR REPLYING TO THIS SO LATE. I'm not usually like this, I swear. Also: thank you!! This was a great review to log in to see. I'm super happy that you enjoyed Carina and my portrayal of Tom - not sure whether my author's note says this, but I was TERRIFIED that I was so far off the mark with him, but apparently not. As for the fact that it was meant to be a birthday review...well, the thought was there and I'm not exactly best at timekeeping myself if the lateness of this reply indicates anything at all, so no harsh feelings.

Thank you so much! :)

Plums xoxo


 Report Review

Review #3, by The Basilisk Carina

26th March 2015:
It'ss the Bassilissk again! Sso sssorry. I copied BookDinosaur'sss review into your sstory. I'm very ssorry.

Here's your review!

I love Carina, oh my goodness. Seeing her in Tom's backstory just brings forwards all Tom's various issues. In a good way. It's almost horrible to read about his descent into...well...Voldemort. :P That suicide, though? Gosh, it ripped a hole in my heart! I know it was necessary to the plot, but it wasn't necessary for my poor feelings. I just love how there's such a difference between Tom and Voldermort in your story. It's excellently done. You can tell they're the same person, but it's very clear that Tom retains some naivety about the world and himself. A horrible, twisted naivety, but it's there, nonetheless.

I sssimply loved thiss sstory. Thank you for the great read, and my apologies once again.

(I've decided to post 44 letters over the next little while. Each one of them has a character at the bottom. If you can find all 44 reviews (not all are out yet, so keep your eyes peeled) and rearrange the letters into a quote from Harry Potter and PM it to WriteYourHeartOut on the forums you could win a donation to HPFF in your name! There's a topic in the Off Topic Section if you want to collaborate your efforts!)


Thankss,
The Basilisk

K

Author's Response: Hiya! Don't worry about the confusion, it can happen to anyone :)

TOM IS A VERY COMPLEX CHARACTER THAT I KINDA LOVE EVEN THOUGH I REALLY SHOULDN'T. He does have a million and one issues, but I think there's a certain charisma to him that makes him so intriguing to read (and write, of course). I am of the opinion that while he IS Voldemort...he's also...not. As you said, he's still more naive about the world, less insane, but just as destructive.

You are one of the few people that has felt anything for Carina. For that, thank you. I can rest knowing that I am not alone.

Dirigible_Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshp Carina

23rd March 2015:
Hey! Here for our review swap.

Wow, this was incredible. I rarely read Tom Riddle stories because I'm afraid writers won't do him justice but you got his teenage/lover self spot on here. It's hard imagining him in a relationship but if he could be a lover, I think he'd be one like you described here. So manipulative, obsessed and controlling. His "love" for Carina was indeed very interesting to read and I liked how you showed us glimpses into their relationship through your fragmented writing style.

I did not feel much for Carina here, but the letter was certainly powerful. The story of the bloodbath was also described powerfully and left me feeling pity. What she did in the end made sense and I was interested to see that Tom was affected by her death so much, and yet he could not comprehend how she didn't agree with him.

Your descriptions throughout were beautiful and painted some amazing imagery. The narrative flowed smoothly and I enjoyed the over all atmosphere. You did a great job writing this and I really liked it.

Good work!

-AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so sorry that I couldn't reply sooner, I was on a self-imposed ban from the laptop because it was preventing me from getting any work done. After this, I'll head over to your page to fulfill my end of the deal :)

Trust me, the apprehension is one that I know well. I used to be reluctant to read anything featuring Tom as a main character and writing him is honestly quite terrifying. It's a relief that people think he's not OOC and that his controlling nature is shown in his 'love' properly. Anything with Tom is bound to be rather...twisted.

I find that quite a few people don't feel anything for Carina. Personally, I pity her a lot, but I suppose that's because I created her. She's so empty after the bloodbath that I guess there's just not much to connect with. I'm glad that the description of the bloodbath evoked pity though because it was a scene that gave me a lot of trouble :)

Thank you for reading and for the review swap :)

Dirigible_Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #5, by TreacleTart Carina

19th February 2015:
Hi Dirigible_Plums,

I'm here for our review swap from the other day...finally :/ I'm sorry it took me so long.

So about your story...I really, really liked this. One of my favorite things are stories that offer some complexity to evil characters. This does that beautifully for Tom Riddle. I never really gave much thought as to how he would be as a lover, but reading your descriptions made perfect sense. He is manipulative, scornful, and above all else controlling.

Oddly enough, I didn't feel as much for Carina. She's well written and her backstory is tragic, but perhaps the deadness she feels inside keeps me from really investing. I suppose she just has death written all over her from the start.

The way you organized the story was quite unique as well. I don't think I've seen another story split into parts like you've done. At first I thought it was a bit odd, but as I got into the story, I found it helped me keep track of the different story lines.

The only critique I have is that I noticed in a few places you changed from past tense to present tense in one sentence. It's something that could be fixed, but I don't think it really affected the story much.

Overall, this is now one of my favorites. Excellent writing.

Thanks again for the review swap!

~TreacleTart
(Forgive me if this review has typos. I did it on my phone)

Author's Response: Hey, sorry it took me so long to reply. Usually, I'm on top of these things.

I'm glad that you enjoyed 'Carina'. Anything to do with Tom Riddle is worth reading - there's so much to explore there. I don't think there is a character more complex than him, except perhaps Dumbledore, and it was interesting to experiment with.

As for the tenses, I'll be sure to look out for them when I return to it. It's great that they didn't really affect the story much, but those sort of things are a pet peeve especially if it's with my own writing.

Thank you for the review and for stopping by! Once again, I genuinely am happy that you liked this. :)

Dirigible_Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #6, by twitchy_pigeons Carina

15th February 2015:
Fascinating. I can see that you put a lot of work into this - it definitely shows. I find it so difficult to believe that Tom Riddle may have ever had any kind of relationship, but twisted as he was, he was still a man. Good story.

Author's Response: Yeah, I think I read somewhere that Tom couldn't love because of the nature of his conception, but he had to have SOMETHING there as a teenager. What teenage boy doesn't? ;)

Thank you for reading and reviewing :)

Dirigible_Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #7, by Fonzzx Carina

4th February 2015:
I really enjoyed reading this. This showed a side to Tom Riddle before he became Voldemort - something that I think could have happened, before he became too twisted. Perhaps this was the thing that drove him truly over the edge? We will never know, but we can always imagine. JK always said that Voldemort could never love, but perhaps Tom Riddle did, once upon a time. He certainly desired and the possessiveness that he felt over Carina came across beautifully. In fact the whole thing was really beautifully written.
Wow, I think this might be my longest review ever. Let me say again how much I enjoyed reading it!

Author's Response: First of all, hello and thank you for reading 'Carina' as well as for your kind compliments. They make me happy *blushes*

I am very much of the opinion that Tom Riddle and Voldemort aren't the same person (well, they're the same person, but not the same...person). JKR created an incredibly complex and flawed character in Tom so I believe that for Tom 'love' equals ownership. At least here it does.

Carina certainly acted as a catalyst to speed up the inevitable - Tom was always going to be consumed by his desire to be more and her death basically severed the ties that could've held him back from his full potential.

Thank you for reading and I'm glad you enjoyed this

Dirigible_Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #8, by ForeverHogwarts1 Carina

3rd February 2015:
God... the ending made me start tearing up. You did this well... and that's saying something because I normally avoid reading one shots. The characterizing of Tom was spot on in my opinion and the suicide was a interesting turn of events. Well done!!!

Author's Response: When Carina died, a small part of me did too. Trust me, I know how you feel. But it needed to be done; if she ever found the strength to run away (which she wouldn't have), Tom wouldn't have rested until he found her and he needed to be alone in the end to fully become Lord Voldemort. Unfortunately the suicide was inevitable.

Thank you for stopping by and I'm glad that you enjoyed reading 'Carina'. It's such a relief that you thought Tom was presented realistically - I always panic whenever I see that someone has reviewed haha. It really does mean a lot to me :)

Dirigible_Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #9, by The Keeper of the Clocks Carina

16th November 2014:
Good evening. I hope you shall here me out, will not rush off before I have even the time to complement your story. Time, my dear, is simply a mortal belief and I am not mortal. I should catch up to you before your heart had the opportunity to beat once again.

Tick, tock, tick, tock.

I doubt that I could even begin to inform you of how intricate and delightful this story is. My, oh my. You have such a beautiful flow in the way you write, it is amazing to read.

Tick, tock, tick, tock.

You have captured young Tom Riddle perfectly. He desires so much and his ambition really shines through. At this point in time he is merely ambitious, he craves to be the best. He is not quite... Evil. The foreshadowing is there - especially with his fixation on horcruxes, but he knows love and that final moment seems to be the turning point. I thought you captured it perfectly in saying 'His black, rotten heart shattered into pieces.'

Tick, tock, tick, tock.

Poor child. Carina has seen more sorrows in her short life than most do. She was the only one who could possibly match Tom in skill (in his eyes, at least). A very moving piece.

Such a shame it is that your time, like Carina's, is running low. The next time we meet I may not be so generous.

Tick, tock, tick, tock.

The Keeper

Author's Response: Hey, thank you for taking the time to read 'Carina' as well as leave a review. I appreciate it a lot. This is the most unique review I've gotten too so kudos to you for your originality :)

It's really nice to see the compliments on my writing. I don't think I can begin to describe the warm fuzzy feeling inside at the moment. I'm sorry for not replying to this review earlier but my laptop was broken :/

'Carina' is something I experimented with. My writing style changed drastically (though I find I prefer this) and I played around with the order of events as well. It's also darker than what I'm used to. I'm really glad that you enjoyed it and (once again) thanks for your kind words.

You don't understand how much I worried about the portrayal of Tom and Carina. Yes, Tom isn't quite as evil as Voldemort- I tend to think of them as different people. Tom is still a teenager really, still ambitious, devious, selfish and downright manipulative but still not fully the man that Harry comes to know. And Carina, it was really depressing to let her go. After everything she went through, she really deserved a happy ending. Sadly, she fell for and caught the eye of the wrong boy.

I don't know what to say to your parting comment except that I hope I won't end up like Carina and poison myself to escape depression. That wouldn't be very nice.

Dirigible_Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #10, by Chivalrous Carina

11th October 2014:
Okay first off, I can honestly say that is one of the best one-shots, I've ever read.

I came into it with a little trepidation, because I thought it might just be one of those Tom was in love and then he became evil, because this girl died, blah, blah, blah. That was not this.

I loved the way you wrote Tom. You made him so twisted and malicious that he remained canon, but I could see where you embellished him and certain traits of his.

Carina was a wonderful OC. She had her demons and her battles, and it made her seem real. She was twisted in her own way and it really made her and Tom's relationship tangible.

The pacing was perfect! It was 6000 and some odd words, but I never skimmed over one. I think that if it had been slower, it just would have dragged out a little too much. The fast pace, really kept me on the edge of my seat while reading and held my attention well.

The plot was perfectly executed. I loved how it was out of chronological order! It really added a little finesse to the story and the way it was told. That being said, it didn't even seem out of place! Everything seemed to fit together exactly like it was supposed too.

All-in-all, this was a wonderful read and I'm so glad I decided to click on this link in the forums! You are a wonderful writer and never let anyone tell you different!

Author's Response: Ahem *coughs hastily* I may or may not have jumped out of bed with a grin and a blush at your lovely review. Just a little. Basically, I can't thank you enough for your kind words especially considering how much I was bricking it when I submitted it for validation.

Ugh. I know all about those Toms you speak of. No offense to the writers who depict him like that, but my Tom doesn't fall in love and then decide to get over his heartbreak by killing people right, left and center. He prefers to obsess over Carina instead and doesn't allow her to influence his plans whatsoever. Personally, I find Tom fascinating and he may be one of my favourite characters. Is that disturbing? But anyways, he is still an insanely difficult character to write because I was panicking half of the time about whether I was even selling him as Tom. So I'm glad you loved the way I wrote him. It makes me happy to know that I am not a failure.

As for the structure of the one shot- well, lets say I'm fond of it too. I don't trust myself to be able to pull off something like their story as a novel so I settled for this. I'm glad it worked out. I think it's miles better this way.

Once again, thank you so much for the amazing review!! You are far too kind :)

Dirigible_Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #11, by shez Carina

4th October 2014:
Whenever someone writes Tom Riddle, I tend to get overly excited and gush a lot.

OH MY GOSH I LOVE THIS.

First I'm SOO glad you didn't make this a love story, but the dark, dangerous aftermath of obsession. I personally don't like it when authors have young Voldy fall in love, because that's NOT him, but you don't do that and I appreciate it. He sees Carina only as his possession and doesn't return her sentiments of love (which, to him, is a sign of weakness and submission). He's manipulative. He's greedy. I LOVE HIM.


SKJBGKSJNSNKVKJNVONVDNLISFUL!!!KNSJDF!

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad you liked it. Tom is a tricky character to do justice and to know that I didn't completely miss the mark with him is reassuring. Thank you for the kind review!

Dirigible_Plums xo

(I also get overly excited when it comes to Tom. Worrying, really, considering he's a psychopath :P )


 Report Review

Review #12, by The_Crookshanks_Saga Carina

3rd October 2014:
Oh my goodness Plums, how did you manage to do this? This story was perfect. Elegant and haunting, with an undeniably exquisite structure and the most amazing details. Your summary had me hooked, and then the whole story: was so Tom. Maybe later I'll come in and sneak another review through guest, but right now I'm so dizzy from this I can't make sense. Just beautiful.

-Meena

Oh, an, btw, you should think about requesting a banner from TDA because this story really deserves one 😊

Author's Response: Oh my God, thank you so much for the wonderful review! It's very different from what I'm usually used to writing so I'm glad you enjoyed it. Tom and Carina are both interesting characters to write about. If I was confident that I could've written this as a novel and done it justice, I would've. As you can see, I was not, but I'm glad that I still managed to write it well.

As for the banner, I will be requesting one later on today or tomorrow. Once again, thank you for the read and review

Dirigible_Plums xo


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login