Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Blood Stains
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Scottieclark90 Between Fire and Darkness

19th January 2017:
Are you continuing? I love your stories!

Author's Response: I do hope to write more in this series someday. Life has not been conducive to such things in a while.

Thank you for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #2, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Between Fire and Darkness

1st March 2016:
“Nothing is real here, Mum. The longer you hide from the real world, the harder it is to go back.”

Well I'm glad I haven't seen the last of Rose. I know she's going to get better. Maybe not 100% but at least 80% and to me that's better than nothing. Rose is such a strong woman and she went through hell. It would be easier to give up but then again would it? I'm on the fence with that because if she gave up would she really know? She could just lay there in her mind and if I'm sure her good memories out weigh the bad ones. If she could never get better at least she could be comfortable.

But she has an entire family that cares for her and needs her. It's so hard because you want her to be comfortable and to come back but you don't want her to struggle too much to get there, you know? But life isn't easy. It would be harder on them to watch her a shell of herself, unmoving, unresponsive. Just Rose.

But not Rose.

I've seen that plenty of times before. It's heartbreaking.

Sorry the review is so short but I'm off to work now! Can't wait for an update on what happened to some of my favorite characters next.

Seriously Dan, when are we updating this?

Author's Response: Deeds! You tore through these chapter effortlessly. I'm humbled and impressed!

You haven't seen the last of Rose. Not even in this story, if I can just get it together and write more. I'm hoping that I can make her recovery a central thread that runs through this short story collection.

I imagined the place that Rose tries to hide -- the place where Octavia finds her -- as being the same place where Frank and Alice Longbottom retreated to and never came back when they were attacked by the Lestranges. A place where the mind is safe from all of the world's troubles. It isn't real, but you can see the appeal if things are bad enough.

The love and support of the family is what -- I believe -- will pull Rose through in the end. She will never be the same person again, but there will come a time when she realizes just how strong she really is. There will also come a time when she learns that it was Draco who killed Gamp, and I still haven't thought completely through how that is going to play out.

I hope you had a good day at work, as well as all the days since you wrote this. :D

I have been puttering along on a chapter about Dennis Northway. I think I'm feeling a little more impetus to work on it now. ;)

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Madhouse

1st March 2016:
why wouldn’t the Minister to want to keep an eye on the place?

Small mistake here.

When the guards had issued the mat and blanket to him, Rory had scoffed.

If I was in prison and had to sleep on the floor I would die from pure happiness to get a bed and a blanket. What, is a bed and a blanket too good for you Rory? Are you too ‘hard’ for that cushioned life?

Some people are so ungrateful.

The longer he spent in his cell, the more deterred he was starting to feel.

There you have it. Azkaban before and now sounds like no joke. No one in their right mind would like to lose their freedom. Good behavior? Hah! What would that be, tacking off five years from a 30 year sentence? 25 years later and no one will be around to greet you on the outside or want to be around you. It’s hard to get out and relive your life or make a new one. He should appreciate those creature comforts he gets.

One hundred and twelve wasn’t all that old for a wizard, especially one who minded his salt intake.

Nice line. True but…what career path? Open up your eyes delusional prisoner.

Who’s gonna make sure they find their way to the Fourth Floor?’ Am I right?”

Love it. Love her. Missed her.

When he spoke, his words were only audible because of the dead silence that filled the room. “Dex. I killed a man for his bacon sandwich.”

This is sort of a sick version of speeding dating. Introduce yourself! Let’s go!

My secretary, well, she always was a bit of a tart and who knows how she got up the duff and... Look! I didn’t put that damn potion in her tea, alright? It’s all just a plot by the Ministry to silence me!”

DAN!

There are no words.

I’m just snorting like a pig over here.

Oh man. That was amusing. Especially that fight but I think the letter was the icing on the cake. A prisoner begging for his freedom. Better yet from Ron, who I can see chuckle at the letter and then light it on fire or not read it at all.

Yes, prison is abysmal. It’s prison. That’s the point. I love when the guilty say they didn’t do it. It was all a misunderstanding and then they become the focus of the next Lifetime movie on TV.

What? I watch a lot of Lifetime movies.

Author's Response: Hi, Deeds!

So there was just no way that I could embark on this project without giving the readers a peek into how things turned out for their least favorite Auror-turned-teacher-turned-pawn. He actually ended up playing a fairly consequential role in Lady Tenabra's plan. One could also argue that he fared better than most of her minions, in that he didn't end up dead.

When I think about Tenant, I always go back to Ron's "all hat and no trousers" observation. He loves to talk tough and he fancies that he's made of stronger stuff than those around him. The reality, of course, is that he every bit as susceptible to the harsh realities of life in prison as the next person and a good deal more susceptible than some of his fellow inmates.

Rory's really at a point where he can't give up his delusions because they're pretty much all he has left. So he continues to cling to this idea that he'll walk out of prison someday and resume his life as though he never missed a beat. Denial: not just a river in Egypt.

Ha! I also missed Charlene. Isn't she just a ray of sunshine? Of all the characters I've made up from scratch, she's definitely in the top 3.

I'm trying hard to imagine what a Lifetime movie about Rory Tenant would be like. Every time Harry was onscreen, I think there would be tense, tight-focus camera shots and piano music in D# Minor.

It's fun, going back and re-reading parts of these so I can answer your reviews. Why did I stop writing, again?

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #4, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Running Out of Somedays

1st March 2016:
“I had the chance to really get to know you and become your friend. I wasn’t the only smart witch in our year, you know.”

I started to get so lost in the story I almost forgot I was supposed to be writing a review. Their conversation is just so easy. You can really feel their friendship. You know I’m a big fan of Susan. I think she’s just nice. Well, she’s not only nice. She has other qualities to her. She’s a strong woman too but down to her core she’s just a nice person.

I can understand where Hermione is coming from too. She has experienced so much hardship in her life that being grateful for what she has, over apologizing and letting people know there worth is something that’s important to her. We should all be like that, at least a little bit. Sometimes it’s easy to take life for granted.

“I’m running out of somedays, Hannah.

Oh, I cried through most of the chapter. It was a mixture of sad and happy tears. I thought the exchange between Hannah and Susan was lovely. They’re looking for a brighter tomorrow. I could understand why Hannah has some misgivings. It’s hard when someone you love is gone. Moving on is hard and even though she knew Neville would have wanted her to live her life, be happy, fall in love moving towards that is scary. Especially when we don’t have them there to really assure us that yes, it is okay.

Man, it has been awhile since COB! It started to come back to me halfway into the chapter. That was such a great story. Really had me on the edge of my seat for hours at a time. Dan, when is a new story coming out from you? Your fans are waiting! :D

Author's Response: Hi, Deeds!

I wrote this because so many people wondered about Susan's family life while they were reading CoB. I did see her as someone who was more than a little married to her career, but there was more to it than that in my mind.

I agree completely on Hermione and Susan's conversation. It was also very easy to write. The two of them have a natural flow and rhythm that was just... comfortable.

The scene with Susan and Hannah was obviously a lot more challenging. Getting the pace right was hard. I had to keep reminding myself that I was not writing a pair of lovesick teenagers. At the time this takes place, Susan and Hannah are both in their sixties, with decades of friendship between them. It's a complicated situation and even when dealing with their grief over Neville's death I didn't want anything to happen too quickly.

When is a new story coming out? Um yeah, about that. Honestly, I think it will be a while before I write anything more than one-shots and other short pieces. The job I have now is very all-consuming, and even on nights and weekends I think about it a lot. It hasn't left a lot of spare time, particularly combined with family time. But it will happen again someday!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Jonypotter Between Fire and Darkness

26th November 2015:
Should I give up? I check almost every day..

Author's Response: Hi. Thanks for letting me know that someone is still paying attention. I'm sorry to disappoint, but my life is very different now from when I started writing four years ago. I have a different job and different responsibilities. I try to make time to write, but it rarely seems to happen.

I hope you don't give up, but if you do then I understand. Sometimes I feel like giving up, as well.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Excited Between Fire and Darkness

15th June 2015:
Are you continuing? :/

Author's Response: Yes!

Life has been a major complication to continuing, but I will. Are there particular things (characters, situations, etc.) from CoB that you'd like to see in this story? Please let me know in a review. I'm always on the hunt for good ideas!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Scottieclark Between Fire and Darkness

17th February 2015:
Hey! Awesome chapter! Love the idea of this fic. When's the next chapter:)!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I'm really glad you liked it. This one wasn't necessarily fun to write, but it was very rewarding.

I have a couple of other projects I'm working on, but I will definitely get back to this soon.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Scottieclark Running Out of Somedays

4th February 2015:
Wow. Awesome story. So happy you are continuing it! You are a fantastic author!

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you enjoyed it!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Alex Between Fire and Darkness

30th December 2014:
Hi Dan, don't worry I am not running out of patience. With Christmas and all I imagined that you didn't have much time as well. I'm still reading this and other stories from you and others here. Thanks for the information's on Teddy and James. Also on the way you're story will develop. Also thank you for responding to my first review.

Author's Response: You're very welcome. I respond to all of the reviews I get. To me, it's just common courtesy. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Alex Between Fire and Darkness

25th December 2014:
Now I am crying, this was really a sad chapter. I hope Rose gets better in time.
Wow man you really did it. You managed to create such a strong connection to all the figures that it's really hurt when they get hurt. Also I hope you have some lighter chapters in the future also in store for us. I would appreciate that. Also I have a thousand open questions about what will happen to my favorite characters, I guess now you want some examples don't you? Okay lets start with James: What happened to him during the whole pureblood civil war and afterwards? The same question stand's for Teddy. In CoB you left us standing in the middle of his story, because we readers never knew if he got the warning from Hugo and Al after they fled the ministry. Also I want to know how Ron manages his new position same goes for Percy. Also I'm very interested in the changes at Hogwarts and how teaching is treating Hermione and Susan. On a different note: How is Draco? How is Astoria handling her new job and what does she do? How is Hermys handling his new master? How is mister Northway doing?
See lots of questions to get answers to and where they are coming from are many more.
You can really write addicting stories.
On another note: I just reread Harry Potter and the Winters after the war and you made a little mistake in CoB. Esme wasn't the French auror it was Laura. Esme was Dudley's girlfriend.
P.S: I hope this wasn't the wrong place for the mentioning of a little mishap in CoB.

Author's Response: Hi, there!

So I've been thinking a lot about how to respond to all of your questions. So long, I guess, that there's a risk you might run out of patience and not see this. I hope you get to, because I can shed some light on some of what you asked about.

First off, I always feel badly about making someone cry. I'm glad that you feel that strong of a connection with the characters, though. They make me sad sometimes, too.

James was touring the United States with the Pride of Portree during most of the war. Once he found out what was happening at home, he listened to Harry and decided to stay stateside.

Teddy traveled to France along with Victoire, Al and Al's wife. When Scorpius, Al and Hugo decided to return to the UK to hunt for Rose, they left Teddy "in charge" in France.

You'll definitely see Ron and Percy in Blood Stains, at least if everything goes according to my rough draft. I also have a few more installments in mind that focus on life at Hogwarts. Draco and Astoria will get at least one chapter of their own, as well.

I hadn't thought that much about Dennis Northway, but I guess it would be good to update on him, as well.

Winters After the War was a major inspiration for CoB, but I didn't follow every detail. I felt like the name Esme was more French than Laura, so I took it and gave her a Basque surname. I also created the back story for her and Harry where Harry sort of strays from being true to Ginny for a bit. I have to say that I'm really flattered that you paid that much attention and you've thought it all through to that extent.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

-Dan


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ohpl Between Fire and Darkness

25th December 2014:
Wow.A dark chapter but well written and interesting to read. I look forward to the reading more in this series.

Author's Response: Hi, there. I'm glad you found it interesting. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Alex Madhouse

22nd December 2014:
Thank you for the next story in the CoB universe. This chapter was a lot of fun to read and it was a good counterpart to the previous one. I hope you post an update soon.

Author's Response: My next chapter is undergoing final -- hopefully, fingers crossed -- editing. I should have it up pretty soon. It's all about Rose and her recovery.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Madhouse

3rd December 2014:
Well, seeing this was a wonderful surprise. :D

I love that this one was about Rory. Seeing all the characters, major and minor, get a story is very cool and I did wonder about him. What I like most is his want to be free - the countdowns and the letters to Ron, he clearly sees himself as a wronged man who doesn't deserve it, which is fun to see. He's kind of in the middle of acceptance and full on denial, like he's not mad enough to believe himself totally innocent but he also doesn't believe himself to be guilty. I can't remember finding a prison story like that before.

I totally agree with him about the counseling session, though. What was going on in that girl's head when she came up with a career like this? :P But it was brilliant to read, seeing the different personalities of the characters being written so well and, of course, the action bit.

I wonder how Ron will take the letter...

Cannot wait for the next installment! :D *wonders who it might be*

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi, Sam!

It's awesome to know that *somebody* wondered what happened to poor, hapless Rory. He definitely wasn't one of the more likeable characters in CoB. This installment was meant to be a little breather of levity in between some of the heavier sections. In general, everything in this short story collection will be character-driven, so I hope you'll get to see a lot of both major and minor characters and how they're coping with the aftermath of the war.

Yes, Rory still feels that he's been deeply wronged by the world. It isn't much of a change from where we saw him in CoB, it's just now he's seeing it from behind bars. He starts out in denial about the gravity of his situation, but by the time he's writing to Ron at the end, it's dawned on him that he's not really cut out to survive around men like Dex.

Charlene is also pretty deluded. She was a fun character to play with in CoB, so as long as I was writing a funny chapter, I enjoyed bringing her and Xerxes the Seer back out.

I have a feeling that Ron will have a good laugh at Rory's letter and promptly round-file it. But then, in the depths of night, he'll have a few lingering doubts. At that point, he'll probably get up, make himself a sandwich, enjoy it with a big glass of milk, and not even remember why he woke up by the time he goes back to bed. ;)

Tentatively -- and this could change -- the next installment will focus on Rose. Choppy waters ahead...

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Sorcha Conaghan Running Out of Somedays

24th September 2014:
I don't normally write reviews but with this story I felt I just had to.
I'm really glad you're continuing on a bit of the CoB storyline. You're a fantastic writer, one of the best I've seen on any fan fiction website. The plot is addictive and true to Rowling's universe. The most important piece, in my opinion, is that the characters are exactly how they were supposed to be. I find that with a lot of stories on this site, authors unintentionally warp the characters' personalities into completely different people - my biggest pet peeve of hp fan fics. Honestly, from your writing, I think it's the same quality as a published novel. The only drawbacks I've found it that the colloquialisms are a bit off, but not being from that neck of the woods that's understandable :)
All in all, brilliant story, brilliant writing, and I can't wait until the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Thank you so much for all of the kind words. I always had it in my mind that I would continue writing in the CoB continuity. Other projects came along and the time didn't feel right until now. I'm pretty excited to dive back in.

It's hard to put into words what it means to hear that the characters sound so true to Rowling's world. I don't think there's higher praise for someone who writes this type of fiction.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Running Out of Somedays

12th September 2014:
You posted it! :D

Oh, Hermione. She can be stuck up and demanding and any other personality traits one might consider faults (going through her whole life in general), but one thing I will never fault her for is her want to do right by her friends. Not leaving Harry though she had feelings for Ron in DH is one example. This is another one and a perfect one. I can totally see her wanting to do right, even when people have told her it's okay.

By the end of their talk, I wanted to join the hug with her and Susan. I'll have to settle for a cyber hug. *hug*

I don't think I ever asked about it, or I don't remember if I did (I think I was too busy OMGing throughout the novel :P), but I was interesting in knowing more about the other characters and to read something so bittersweet about Susan, Hannah and, by association, Neville was not what I expected, I won't lie. But I loved it so much. Which you know, because I've already told you and that I cried... a little... maybe.

The build up, their concern and love for the other, was so sweet that I just knew Neville would want her to be happy. Because Neville is awesome. *misses Neville, too*

And finally they kiss! And the end! It was so... hopeful, in a way. They're older, they know that things could go wrong, but they also know that life is short and they could very well work out.i say they will. :D I don't read female same-sex pairings as often as I read male pairings, but I think I've found my new favorite couple!

Can't wait for more!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi, Sam!

The beta read went a lot faster than I was expecting. Your input was a huge help!

Hermione had an overwhelming need to feel like things are *right*. In this case, it drives her to have a conversation with Susan that drives Susan to have a conversation with Hannah. So Hermione's OCD is definitely not all bad. I think we'd all like to join in that hug. We've all been through so much with these characters, at least in an emotional sense. If they deserve a hug, we probably deserve one, too. ;)

A lot of this short story collection will be dedicated to filling in little bits and pieces that just never made the cut for CoB. Also following up on how certain things turned out. Neville's story was sad, but I did feel like it gave him the heroic ending that he deserved.

"Hopeful" was mainly how I wanted this to come off, so I'm pleased that it did. Nothing is guaranteed here, Susan and Hannah both know that. But they're willing to take the risk because the reward is worth it. That's the sort of thing that comes with age and maturity.

I'm not expecting Susan and Hannah to supplant Ellen and Portia as the world's preeminent lesbian power couple any time soon, but I'm happy that you like them together! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login