Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Daydreaming
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal Daydreaming

16th September 2016:
Here for a Slytherin Review tag...

DAY DREAM! Eipc! I love it. It was getting nicely interesting and I was so very curious where you were going with the story and then bam! You hit me with that lovely nugget and it amused me so! Wonderful job for doing this story in just 1000 words. I certainly enjoyed the read Lovely.

I feel like every time I stumble on one of your stories I find myself enjoying it quite a bit. This was just another prime example of a fun story written by you. Thank you for such a fun read!

Author's Response: Hi Marshal! I'm surprised this is your first time reading Daydreaming. I'm so glad you enjoyed it though! And thanks so much! I do really adore this story and it definitely took a lot of working and editing to get it just right, so I'm really glad you loved it as well. And thanks so much for the lovely review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp Daydreaming

3rd January 2016:
Hey Nix! Snake review tag. Okay, I swear I've read this story before but I'm surprised I didn't review it (shame on me). I'm here with a review now though, haha.

This was so cool. I totally enjoyed reading it. It was a perfect light Dramione treat. The last line cracked me up. Poor Draco, definitely needs to get his head checked. I loved how you wove the idea of them getting it on into a dream. Keeps it fun as well as real.

Your dialogue was brilliant. The whole "what do you want Malfoy - you" thing was so adorable. And then your descriptions were great. That kiss was HOT. Haha.

The ending scene made me a little sad though - like come on you were just dreaming about her, don't be SO rude, especially when Hermione was being so nice and concerned.

All in all, I really liked reading it. Definitely a fun little one-shot. Your writing rocks as always! Good job xD

Cheers
Angie

Author's Response: Awwwm thanks so much, Angie!

I love that this story is light and funny, but still true to the characters. Like if they were ever going to get it on realistically, it would probably be in a dream, lol.

I loved writing the dialogue and the descriptions so I'm really glad that you also loved them. And the kiss, yeah...

The ending is a little sad. Draco shouldn't be so rude, but it is very Draco of him. I see it as him having just experienced a very vulnerable moment, and in front of the same person he was dreaming about, and immediately putting those walls back up, so that's why he's so mean to Hermione. He's got a reputation to protect and he doesn't want her to see through his cold exterior.

But I'm so glad you liked this! Thanks so much for the awesome review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #3, by ScorpiusRose17 Daydreaming

13th October 2015:
Hi!

So I am super super late getting to your hot seat reviews! I am sorry it has taken me this long to get to them!

This was truly awesome! I loved how you really had me thinking that this could be more than a daydream and I was kind of hoping that it would be. :)

I loved that you played true to the characters with the setting being in the library... definitely Hermione there and then when Draco asks her to call him Draco instead of Malfoy... I swear that boy will always be running from his name and then at the end when he utters those awful words... Perfection!

I am sort of curious from your author's note what you had to cut out in order to meet this challenge, but without it I agree that it stands perfectly on its own.

I enjoyed how you subtly described everything. It made it easy to picture and was well written.

Keep up the awesome work! :)

-Jenn

Author's Response: Hi! That's totally okay, we all get busy sometimes.

Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed the daydream/possibly-not-a-daydream. That's why I refrained from using italics or any sort of different style text, I really wanted it all to seemlessly flow together, so you don't know when the daydream starts even though, it's kind of obvious when it ends.

Yes! The whole reason I started writing this is because I wanted one of those Dramione library scenes. There are so many stories where Hermione ends up kissing someone in the library and that is really where this story stemmed from, and the daydream idea came when I was trying to figure out how to make it different from all the others. And I very much wanted to keep the two in character (except the daydream was obviously a little OCC, but at the same time... is it? What if Draco really did have a thing for Hermione he refused to give in to?).

I mainly cut out all the backstory. Originally this was to be set after the war and Hermione and Draco return to Hogwarts to finish their education. There was probably more but it's been so long I really don't remember.

I'm glad you enjoyed all the description! This story was so fun to write and really came together alot nicer than I thought it would.

Thanks so much for this lovely review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #4, by AdinaPuff Daydreaming

27th July 2015:
Hi!

Oh, Draco. Always the charmer. Honestly, you wrote him so well. I envy people that can write canon characters so well. I always end up making them OOC.

I love the description you use. Everything you wrote about created such a clear, vivid image in my mind. I love stories that do that, so well done! I could clearly picture Hermione and the entire scene around Draco.

Leave it to Draco to spoil the mood. It was slightly bizarre yet incredibly funny reading Draco flirt with Hermione. Like her, I was caught off guard. I would have asked if he were hit in the head as well. Yet it was written so smoothly that I didn't even ask questions until after I read it. You managed to make it flow into that sort of mood so easily. I loved it. And then spoilsport Draco had to go and call her a mud blood. The mood changed so many times in this short one shot, yet you managed to make it so smooth.

Loved it!

- Leigh

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! The thought of writing some characters seriously terrifies me, but for some reason I love writing Draco and I'm glad I can capture him canon-wise. And I'm glad you enjoyed the description. I went over this particular one-shot so many times in order to fit the necessary word count, trying to make every sentence just right in the short amount of words allotted, making it probably the closest thing to perfect on my author page and I'm so glad it shows. I love the scene where Draco describes Hermione, too, and I'm glad it comes through vividly for readers.

Yes, Draco is always good at spoiling the mood, lol. Although writing Draco flirting with Hermione was super fun. And it's great that you think it all runs together so smoothly, I really just wanted this to flow seamlessly, especially with the dream and everything.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It makes me so happy that you loved the story! Thanks for doing this swap with me!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #5, by fwoopersong8 Daydreaming

4th May 2015:
Ok, I don't usually get on board with Dramione but that was pretty awesome.
Good transition from reality to daydream! It didn't even look like it was happening; really got me inside Draco's head. And then the wake-up call. Nice drooling. :) LOL
Yes, Malfoy -- er, Draco. Get your head checked. You really should. ;D
Great one-shot!
~fwoopersong8

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for stopping by, I'm glad you enjoyed the story. I really enjoyed wriitng the transition (what transition?) from reality to daydream, and then surprising everyone by waking Draco up from said dream. It was a lot of fun to write. I also love getting into Draco's head.

I'm so glad you liked it. Thanks for the surprise review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #6, by aurevoir Daydreaming

22nd April 2015:
Haha! Here for the exchange =) I will warn you, I took tylenol codeine a few hours ago so I might be a little merp merp too. Sorry if nothing makes sense ;) ;)

I honestly think I might have read this FOREVER ago. But I love the story even now - I wish I had part of the back story that's missing, but a challenge is a challenge ;)

I like how when I'm reading it, I'm just kind of like 'hey, this is a little strange behavior?' and then it keeps going - the dream aspect makes me laugh. Because you could actually see Hermione acting like that if a student was drooling on a textbook - a sacred, book that is not to be destroyed. And a student is drooling. I love it. I've also done that before too.

And, I think the drug rambling is sufficient now. I'm going to go take a nap and watch Crossing Jordan again.

[the crap is rambling]
[I chose a bad time to do this]
[oh well]

♥ Cassie

Author's Response: Haha, drugs are not the answer! lol. It's possible you could have read this, it was posted back in September. But I'm glad you decided to come back to it and leave a review. And I'm glad you still love it.

Haha, when I wrote that scene, even I was like "how do I make this work? Hermione would never do this?" And then I was like, "Hey, what if it was a dream?" And I just went with it. And I'm glad it came out so well. I love the bit, too, where she reprimands Draco for drooling on the book.

I hope the nap helps and that you feel better for whatever it is you're taking tylenol codeine for. Thank you for the review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #7, by Chaser me down Daydreaming

10th April 2015:
Hello Nix.

I'm Chaser me down. I was playing Quidditch with my team, when I just happened to fly past your author's profile. So I figured I'd leave a little trace here, before I hurry off to the next game (not really sure when that one is suppose to start. Probably should've checked that before I left to come here).

This was a really great story. I've never been much into Dramione, so I haven't actually read that many stories featuring them. This story, however, was more than good.

I liked that Draco describes Hermione as different from but at the same time much like the girl she was in third year. That's just so true. People do change, but you can't change everything about yourself. There will always be traces of who you used to be before you changed.

I also loved Draco's reaction when he wakes up from his daydream. He goes back to being his normal bullying and if you ask me very mean self, but at the same time you now know that it's really not how he feels. It's very much believable, and it does make me question how much of his bad behaviour is really just a cover for how he really feels, how he probably thinks he's supposed to feel.

Draco is very complex character. I do feel for him, because I think his behavior is really just a result of his upbringing, you know his horrible family. But at the same time, that alone can't really excuse everything he did. Since I was bullied myself, I can't really forgive him for how he treated Hermione. But then again, he was young, so I think he could mature and turn into a great guy in the end.

So yeah, he's the character I can't decide if I hate or not, but I loved how you wrote him. He is very much in-character/believable and so is Hermione (hitting him for drooling on a book :P )

Oh no, I think they're calling for me. I'll have to fly back to the game, and hopefully we'll win this time around.

See ya later, Nix!

Many hugs from
Chaser me down

Author's Response: Well, hi! I'm so glad you stopped by to check out my story! And I'm so happy you liked the story. I love the part where he describes her and compares her to the younger girl he used to know. And I love the part where Hermione wakes him up from his dream and he's confused and immediately reverts back to his old self. Afraid and confused by what he'd dreamed. I think he wants to be different, but doesn't know how to, and the fact that he's dreaming about Hermione just makes it so much more difficult. Maybe he secretly wishes he could be like other people, but he was brought up to hate them, and is afraid of how people would react if he actually showed them his true self. I don't even know if that made sense, Draco is a very complex character though, with being brought up by Lucius and Narcissa, believing in the Dark Lord's cause, and having been hated by Hermione and her friends for as long as he's known them. Of course it doesn't excuse his actions. I think with time he could mature into something great, a nice mixture of his old arrogance and his newfound beliefs.

I'm so glad you think both Draco and Hermione are very in character in this. Again, thanks for stopping by! Good luck with your game!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #8, by Crumple-Horned Snorkack Daydreaming

27th March 2015:
Greetings from the Crumple-Horned Snorkack! I have left the forest I normally hide in, and ventured out into HPFF, and found this story! It was such a great read.

I really enjoyed the way this unfolded, it was so clever - the flirting and the kissing seems to come out of nowhere, but then it turns out that he's dreaming it all, and it brings the whole thing back to earth and ends realistically, with Draco calling her a Mudblood and thinking he needs to get his head checked, and Hermione being primarily concerned about the poor book that got drooled on. Perfect.

Well, Draco has a lot of thinking to do now. He should do what I always do when I have dificult things to think about: hide in the trees. It helps solve all your problems.

And all in only 1000 words! That's a difficult limit, but the story feels complete and not rushed (well, considering the dream was supposed to be rushed.) You did really well with the word limit.

This was a very entertaining story, I enjoyed it! But now I am off to sit in the trees and contemplate the question of whether I should fly the flag of the Dramione Ship above my hidden forest home.

Author's Response: Well hello there! I'm so happy you came out of the forest to check out my story, and even happier that you enjoyed it.

The flirting and the kissing does very much come out of nowhere, because that's how I wanted it to be, and then surprise everyone with the fact that Draco is dreaming. I'm so glad you liked that it was a dream and everything that followed after he wakes up. I tried very hard to keep Draco and Hermione in character, except for the dream bit of course.

Hiding in trees to think about your problems definitely sounds like a plan. I'll be sure to tell him that if he ever stops by.

The 1000 words was so difficult and so much had to be cut from the story, but I thought it came out very well and I'm glad that you also feel the story's complete and not rushed (except, yes, for the part that was written to be rushed).

In your time hiding it trees, I think you should definitely consider flying the flag of the Dramonie Ship because it really is so much fun.

Thank you so much for checking out this story and leaving such a lovely review. I very much enjoyed reading your reaction to it.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #9, by alicia and anne Daydreaming

15th March 2015:
Oooo a Dramione! I'm excited! I haven't read a Dramione in a while. And in 1000 words no less! I can't wait to read its awesomeness!

Look at him with his feelings! He's so adorable! Finally noticing things about her like her hair and her eyes. He has strong feelings, I can tell!

And of course she's noticed! :P Hehe and they're flirting! I love it!

Ahh! Look at him being all daring and saying it's her that he wants! This is brilliant! :D And he's kissed her and I've melted into a puddle of feels because this is so adorable! And totally how I picture them getting together!

Ahhh! It was a dream! :O Draco! Don't ruin it! You could have totally used your line and won her heart! Haha. Although I wasn't expecting this at all, but now he's got the thoughts of Hermione in his head, he can let those feelings blossom!

This was fantastic! :D Such a fun read and I absolutely loved it! :D

Author's Response: Hi! I love your responses as you narrate what's happened in the story, lol. I totally picture them getting together like this as well.

*sigh* Yes, it was a dream. And even though he has yet to win her heart, he could eventually be inclined to now that he's got her in his head.

I'm so glad you loved this! I am really proud of this story, with all the crazy editing and cutting I did to make it happen, everything really just fell into place perfectly. Thank you so much for the lovely review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Daydreaming

1st March 2015:
Hahaha!!! I'd forgotten how much fun Dramiones can be. You had me in the beginning, I was starting to genuinely think this was one of those stories where they're just suddenly making out and I tend not to read the because they can get really OOC. Then BAM, he was dreaming and it was suddenly more awesome than I'd previously thought it might be.

I love the bit at the end, with him wondering about getting his head checked. Even the slight dig with the Mudblood comment - Draco Malfoy didn't disappear on us.

This was really great.

Sam.

Author's Response: Haha, yes. That's exactly what I wanted readers to think, and then, as you say it, BAM, it's a dream. I had struggled with this story before I got the idea to make it a dream and it all kind of fell into place after that. I love the ending, too. I had to add in a little humor to balance it out. And I'm glad you approve of the Mudblood dig, some people don't like it, but it's Draco Malfoy, it's part of his characterization. It's something he pulls out when he's been upstaged or humiliated by Hermione, so I think it works perfectly in this situation when he's trying to hide his feelings from her.

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed my Dramionie!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #11, by MadiMalfoy Daydreaming

2nd February 2015:
Hiya! Here with your review :)

Eep yay I love Dramione (as you probably noticed) and have read quite the wide variety, but nothing like this! It's unique in that it's a daydream and not some fantasy being played out--it's a somewhat innocent dream. Although of course with Draco involved, nothing is ever innocent ;) Speaking of Draco, I enjoyed his characterization! I think you nailed it with his suave nature and ease with which he seduces Hermione, and straight dismissal of her once he wakes up from his dream. It's very true to his character, so great job with him! Hermione is good as well--when Draco is observing her and describing her facial expressions, that is spot-on with how I feel she reads books as well!

As far as flow and plot go, I think it works out well! Seeing as you did have to cut it down to 1000 words, you managed pretty well to keep the beef of the story intact while still finding room to describe everything necessary too, which can be a difficult task sometimes! So far as the ending, I think it's hilariously funny and totally fits the characters! Typical of Draco to doze off and have a fantastical dream and Hermione to be studying like usual but still being a decent human being and waking him up to save him further embarrassment (or just to save the integrity of the book, but who really knows).

Great job with this, I really liked it! Feel free to come back any time! :)
~MadiMalfoy x

Author's Response: Aww, thank you. It's so nice to hear you think this Dramionie is different from other stories. I very much enjoyed writing the dream scene, although I wouldn't call it or anything involving Draco exactly innocent, lol. And I'm so glad you thought the characterization of Draco and Hermione was spot on, I tried very had to keep it that way, even with the dream in the middle of it. The ending is definitely my favorite part! I'm so glad you and other readers have responded so well to it, it was fun writing a more humorous moment after that intense dream.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing this story. I may come back for more reviews if/when I finally post something new.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ju Hana Daydreaming

30th January 2015:
Totally ingenious!! Loving the short embarrassing moment for Draco..lol

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Hermione Granger Daydreaming

21st January 2015:
So THAT'S why Malfoy was so jumpy that day in the library. Of all the explanations I could have come up with for his behaviour, him dreaming about snogging me wouldn't have ever crossed my mind.

I must say, you did brilliantly to write a story in just 1000 words. There are definitely a select few I would use to describe Malfoy, but I know how hard sticking to a limit can be. (I'm currently taking a break from trying to cut down an essay on the Wolfsbane potion from 5 feet to 3.)

Anyway, back to the story. Of course, the idea of me and Malfoy being within a foot of each other is beyond ridiculous...but even I got a little flustered reading that kiss... I mean, that must be down to how well written it was. I'm complimenting your writing, definitely not having inappropriate thoughts about me and Draco Malfoy in an empty library.

*ahem* Well, anyway, let's hope Malfoy did get his head checked and doesn't dream about us snogging anymore.

(Maybe I'll go to the library and see if he's there...)

Author's Response: Well hello! This is slightly awkward, me writing a story about you and you commenting on it... ummm...

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this story! It was really hard getting this story to 1000 words. It literally pained me to cut so much, but I think in the end it was definitely for the best.

Of course, you and Malfoy snogging is a ridiculous idea, although I suppose it's not completely implausible if even you could be slightly flustered from reading such a story. But of course, we'll just it on blame my stellar writing abilities.

Whether Draco really got his head checked, I would not know. Maybe you can ask him if you find him in the library?

lol, This review totally made my day and is still making me laugh as continue to reread it. Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such a lovely review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #14, by maraudertimes Daydreaming

13th January 2015:
Hi! Very late review swap (sorry!).

Okay so I don't necessarily like Dramione but this looked cute and I'M SO GLAD I CHOSE IT BECAUSE IT'S DARLING!

Okay, a little bit steamy, a little bit "What in the world," but the overall feelings were so cutsey and fun and I really liked this. I loved how you also kept them in character, both in the dream with Hermione being very apprehensive of why he's following her, to out of the dream with Draco calling her a mudblood (he deserves to get punched for that).

I think my favourite part of the entire thing was the whole Draco being woken up because that was hilarious. Of course Hermione would have woken him up if he was defacing a book with his awful drool! She has every right to. :P

I think the premise of this was very nice and I really loved it, despite it being a Dramione. Being a big canon fan, I loved how you used a cliché (the library) and didn't really just throw them together and have them fall all over each other yet you also did (there was a bit of conflict at the start but at the end... not so much), especially in a dream because it speaks to Draco's character (:P), but also because it was in a dream setting and didn't really do anything at all that would've destroyed any part of canon or made Draco seem OOC.

All in all I think you did a marvelous job and thanks for the swap!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Hi! It's totally fine, you weren't all that late, lol. It took me a while to get to yours, too.

It's totally okay that you don't necessarily like Dramonie, although you're definitely the first to call this story (and maybe ANY story of mine) darling. I loved it! Probably because I wouldn't necessarily call it that considering it is a bit steamy. I did very much want to keep them in character and that's probably where the idea for the dream came from because I was trying to figure out how to make this work without taking them (especially Hermione, it would not at all be in character for her to just automatically go along with kissing Draco) out of character. I also love the part where she wakes him up, I think it's so her. Merlin forbid anyone deface a book.

I'm so glad you liked the cliche library scene bit, that's exactly what I wanted to write from the beginning, but I had to make it different, because I didn't seem them actually falling all over each other in real life. And the dream of course was supposed to be a surprise. I did not want the readers to know they were even in a dream until he's woken up. Because I like to be sneaky like that, lol.

I'm super glad you loved this! Even if you don't love the pairing, I applaud you for coming out of your comfort zone to read it anyway. Thanks so much for this review and the swap!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #15, by Midnight spark Daydreaming

29th October 2014:
Hello! Here for the October Review Exchange!

I usually am not into cute and fluffy these days, but now this fic... it just brought the fluff-loving person inside me back again. And I was like, 'YAY DRAMIONE!'

I think that you have portrayed the emotions in this very well, the hormones that caused Draco's daydream was very realistic! :D

I think it's great that you managed to describe Draco's fascination for Hermione in such a short amount of words, we did not feel lost, and stayed with the characters till the very end.

I was like, oh my god, why is Hermione randomly snogging Draco Malfoy of all people? And why is Draco snogging her??? It was just such a cute little read for me!

AND THE ENDING, OH. MY. GOD. Just... pure Draco style.

It was an amazing read, I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you. I really enjoyed writing this, especially the ending. I couldn't figure out how to make them live happily ever after in such a small amount of words, so I wrote a different ending and let Draco go out in "pure Draco style" as you say, lol. Thanks for the lovely review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #16, by Thanos the Vampire Daydreaming

19th October 2014:
Take no notice of me. I am just here to read your story because what else does a vampire have to do with his eternal life?

Gah, what is this... romantic nonsense. Now violence, I can appreciate. So I was very glad to see that you included the time where Hermione punched this love struck puppy. BAM. Down he toppled, bahahahahah! I remember that.

You had far to many sweet moment in this. And your descriptions were enough to have me cowering in fright from their vividity. I was very relieved to discover it had only been a dream, although I am slightly concerned as to what Draco is thinking about that it makes him have dreams about this. He aught to be dreaming of blood and having nightmares about garlic bread.

I did wonder why the girl did not disintegrate in the sunshine, what with it 'framing her in its golden light'. I had forgotten she was not a vampire. Nobody mentions vampires in their stories anymore, it is very discriminatory. Except for those 'Twilight' books of course. And they were just plain rude. I do not sparkle in sunlight, I would burn and disintegrate!

Stupid muggle author. She was probably misinformed by some werewolf friend. Pah.

I did think it was impressive that you wrote a story in only 1000 words, so my congratulations go to you. But I do ask that you write a scary story next time, yes? Featuring Vampires if at all possible.

Count Athanasios

Author's Response: Well, hello. Thank you so much for coming here and reading my story. I'm sorry the romantic nonsense and lack of violence in this story was not to your liking. Although I'm glad you enjoyed the memory of when Hermione punched Draco, it's definitely a classic moment. Again, I'm terribly sorry though that my descriptions had you cowering in fright, I did not mean to make anyone cower with this simple one-shot, but it is not easy trying to please everyone.

Yes, the characters in this story are merely human so sunlight will not harm them. Nor do they typically dream of blood or fear garlic bread. I'm so sorry no vampires were mentioned in this story, I promise I have nothing against vampires, I do rather like them in most circumstances. Except for Twilight, I'm not a fan of them either, my friend.

If possible, I may just write about a vampire in the future. Not sure yet. If not, I'll at least try to make my stories a tad more scary, if it pleases you.

Thank you so much for your review.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #17, by 800 words of heaven Daydreaming

29th September 2014:
Heya! I'm finally here for the Slytherin review exchange for September.

I was going to read one of your older stories, but I'm one of those people who loves to get reviews for a new one simply because I'm so excited to post it, so using that logic, I reviewed this (even though I hardly ever read Dramiones)!

This was a really cute and fluffy one-shot (except for the end because you're just like really, Draco? Really?). I really liked how you portrayed Draco as just your average teenager with average raging hormones. His descriptions of Hermione before the entire snogging session were truly flowery, and something you'd totally expect someone in the throes of infatuation to say.

I did begin to wonder if this was all a daydream because:

a) The title.

b) There wasn't much explanation as to Draco's motivations other than "she's really good-looking OMG how did I not see this before?"

c) Hermione's reactions were very informed by his, which means it's definitely all in Draco's head

I think that those three points actually made it all the better, because then I had this entire "aww yis!" moment when it was revealed to be a rather bizarre daydream and I was all like HA! CALLED IT. (I'm actually this obnoxious about guessing plot twists as well).

Lovely one-shot! Very fun to read :)

Author's Response: OMG I totally forgot about the review exchange! Yikes. But hi! I am very glad this one-shot is getting a bit of attention... although I'm pretty sure if I just wrote Dramonies, all my stories would get attention, lol. If we get paired again, feel free to read an older story though, sometimes it's just as exciting to get a review on something you thought was forgotten.

Anyway, I'm really glad you like this one-shot. It was very fun to write, though also very difficult. I love writing Draco though so it makes me happy when other people like how I portray him.

Yes, I was slightly worried because the title was very obvious, and I didn't want people to know it was a dream until afterward, but I didn't know what else to call it and I was slightly pressed for time so, yeah. I decided just making it so the reader doesn't really know when the dreams begins would have to be enough. I didn't want to it to just seem like Draco was attracted to her because she's good looking. I mean, yes, she's good looking but I wanted him to be interested in more than just that, hence the descriptions of her reading. And as to Hermione's reactions, yeah, they were all in his head, but I tried to keep a little bit of her in there by having dream Hermione question his sanity.

But it's okay that you called it, lol. I love doing that, too, when I read or watch tv/movies.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I will get to reviewing something of yours very shortly, either tonight or tomorrow. I can't believe I almost forgot.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #18, by DMsSlytherinPrincess Daydreaming

28th September 2014:
So sorry about taking forever, RL was just...ugh..

But...


Eep! I absolutely loved this, so so much.

I didn't dislike not one thing about this story. Nothing.

Story flow was flawless, dialog was perfect, characterization was wonderful minus the whole Draco day dreaming about Hermione thing. But even after that he played it off in true Malfoy style.

You explained Dracos fancy for Hermione is such a great way in such a short time, 1000 words for any type of story is really hard and I think you should be VERY proud as to the fact you nailed it. No back story was needed. I know it's hard deciding on what to take out when you've went over 1000 words and based on the outcome you left in the right parts.

His thoughts about her wasn't over played and not under played in a mean way. You didn't describe her in tight sexy clothing, a huge chest that grew over night, etc..
You did it just right.

I thought it was great how you mentioned Krum, the punch to the face, and most importantly his awareness that he never noticed her because of stupid Malfoy reasons and noticed how wonderful Hermione Granger really is.

On to the dream, oh my gosh!!
As I was reading I thought, it was written to well I didn't know it turn to be a I'm Hermione Granger but I'm going to snog Draco Malfoy in the library with no resistance type story. I did however liked the way it started off though.

But once I read it was a dream I was surprised, relieved and found it funny.

I loved the end, loved it.

I can go on about this story for a while but I'm sure you get it that I loved it lol. Well done. Great great job.
Thanks for participating with such a Amazing story.

Author's Response: It's totally okay, I know you were having some health issues and I certainly can't complain about that. But I'm glad you're okay and back at HPFF!

And thank you so much for this kind review. 1000 words really was a difficult challenge, especially with someone as interesting as Draco but I think the limit really helped me just focus on the important bits and made me reword practically every other line until I believed it was perfect. Normally I hate cutting info out of my stories, I just post them and let them be, but for this I had to do it and thankfully it still worked without that background info.

I really enjoyed writing his thoughts and his descriptions of her reading. But I didn't want to do too much and Hermione really isn't the type to wear overly tight clothing. I didn't want to do the whole cliche Hermione is suddenly super hot and a completely different person story, you know, I was trying to keep it fairly realistic.

Krum and the punch in third year, those were totally things I considered taking out, but I couldn't. I thought they helped the story's flow and were a good reminder of past times. Also, I think we all loved it when Hermione punched him and it added a little bit of humor to the story, plus it's something I think would have stayed with Draco long after it happened.

About the dream... I honestly don't think Hermione would ever just randomly be okay with snogging Draco unless a lot has happened in between to make them close, but I couldn't do that in 1000 words, hence the dream. I wanted a story with a happy ending, but I couldn't figure out how to do that, so this is what occurred instead.

I loved the ending, too. I had to end it on a funny note after crushing the hearts of all the Dramonie lovers with the dream.

Thank you so much for this lovely review, I am really glad you liked it. And thanks for making this challenge, I love Draco and it was a lot of fun writing him in this.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #19, by Gabriella Hunter Daydreaming

23rd September 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums stopping by with our swap! I'm really sorry that it took am inute but here I am now! You read three chapters of my story and I hadn't even managed to stop by and read any of yours. Shame on me!

So, I remember seeing this challenge around on the forums but opted not to get into it because I can't write Draco Malfoy in just 1000 words. I just...can't. It's impossible. Hahhah. I tend to write really bulky chapters and so seeing it was like Kryptonite or something.

Anyway, on to this! I really, really enjoyed this. It has the making of a good Dramione and I think that your Draco here is a bit of a romantic, this isn't a side of him that we've seen very often but I like it. His thoughts about Hermione were more sweet than lusty and while he was having a few doubts, it was obvious that he found her far more interesting than he had previously thought before. I think my favorite part of this chapter was the way he described her expressions, there was something really tender about that.

And then...

I was totally rooting for them! The kiss itself was written very well and I thought for a moment that it was going to go in another direction but then Draco woke up. o_o

I was sad. Hahahah.

I liked that you had this being a dream though, as it shows what Draco really wants in his life. Of course, he ruined whatever bit of friendship they could have had by calling her a Mudblood but I think he was just doing it to protect himself.

I would love to read more of this if you ever write a complete story. It was a good read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hello again! I decided to do this challenge because someone from my house created it and I wanted to write some Draco, but trust me it was really hard. My original draft was at least 500 words longer than it was supposed to be, but I managed to cut it down. Although I can totally see how this wouldn't work for you because pretty much all your chapters and one-shots are super long. I didn't even know what to do with this story at first, 1000 words is not a lot to put a story into, this is really just the tinyist glimpse into Draco's life.

I am really glad you enjoyed it though! I was sad, too, when I made Draco wake up, lol. I may write Draco again soon, but it won't be a Dramonie. Or at least I'm not planning one at the moment. Who knows? I've got so many partially written one-shots I've been meaning to complete for ages.

Anyway, thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm sure we'll chat again soon.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #20, by wolfgirl17 Daydreaming

14th September 2014:
That was fantastic. Loved it! =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading! I'm really glad you enjoyed it.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #21, by Yoshi_Kitten Daydreaming

4th September 2014:
Hey there, RoxiMalfoy from the forums, FINALLY here to return the favor from our review-swap!! So sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you on this. RL has been so chaotic this week. =/

Anyway, I am glad to finally have a moment to sit down and read this lovely little one-shot tonight! The first thing I noticed was Draco's reference to when Hermione had punched him in their 3rd year. This made me laugh - in a good way. It's funny to see that that action still has an effect on him, all these years later, and I feel like having this in the very beginning of the story sets the overall tone of things rather well. I also like how you made reference to this again in the middle, right before he leans in to kiss her. ;)

I love the attention to detail that you gave to describing Hermione's looks here. And going back to how Krum had even watched her from afar in their 4th year was very effective. I also enjoyed how you described her various facial expressions while she was reading. This show the reader just how close of attention he is paying to her in that moment.

Your language throughout this piece is very beautiful as well. You were only allowed 1,000 words for the challenge, which I know from experience how difficult this is, lol! But I feel like you chose each word here with careful care and precision. The writing here is just so good, and it really shows how much time and effort you put into this. The following are just a few of my favorite lines:

- The way the sun shone through the window behind her, framing her in its golden light.
- She held her ground but her cool exterior was clearly rankled by his nearness.
- At the sound of his name on her lips, he crashed his mouth with hers, unable to hold back any longer.

Writing the more passionate love scenes like this has always been a bit of a weakness of mine, I confess. And sometimes you can tell when a writer (such as myself) is uncomfortable with the 'Romance' genre because it tends to not flow well, and it just comes off as awkward sometimes, lol. I did NOT experience any of that with this story, however. Honestly, the romance part in this was SO passionate and just absolutely perfect in every single way! It wasn't too over the top, or lacking in detail, it was VERY well done!! You must teach me how to this, haha!! =P

Honestly, I am not a Dramione shipper, in any way. But I'll admit that I was kind of sad to see that he was just "daydreaming" about her, lol! I kind of figured that's where you were going with it, but I found myself wishing for the two of them that had been was real. And that's saying something, haha! UGH!! I just wish that he didn't have to go and call her a Mudblood at the end there. Grrr. Draco is such a git sometimes. But you have captured his character SO well tho in this, so yay! I loved him running off at the end, thinking that he needed to go and have his head checked. Classic Draco, lol!!

This was very, very good!!! I have read a few of your stories on here now, and you certainly do seem to be improving with each new thing that you write!! I cannot wait to make you a beautiful banner for this story now. I am feeling so inspired at the moment, lol! Good luck in the challenge, yourself dear. I honestly do feel like you stand a pretty good chance at placing with this. It was SO good!! *fingerscrossed* =)

10/10
~Deana~

Author's Response: Before I even start replying can I just say "Wow." I honestly don't think I've ever received a review this long before in my life. I tried to make yours a long one, but you just killed me by making your like three times longer, lol. It's good though, considering all the other reviews I've gotten for this story have basically been one-liners, so I'm very glad to have something substantial to respond to.

Okay, first off... I think the time Hermione punched Draco will always still have an effect on him. So it had to be included, because it's funny and because it does help set the tone. I was a little wary of describing Hermione's looks in too much detail, but I loved being able to put in the bit about all the expressions she gets when she reads. I feel like most readers have crazy expressions or exclamations they make when big things happen in the books their reading, or maybe that's just me, I don't know. I'd considered cutting the bit about Krum but chose to keep him in there anyway, using it to set up his description of her reading.

It was really hard getting this story down to 1000 words. Like I said, I had to cut all the background story, which I guess wasn't really necessary to begin with, it seemed to work out just fine without it. But I scoured every sentence a few times to keep cutting it down. Deleting full sentences/paragraphs; attempting to reword sentences to lower the word count, and then rewriting it with the same exact amount of words; rewriting sentences just to change them back because it didn't sound right. And then at one point I'd cut too much and had to go back and re-add some things in. Ugh, it was super frustrating. But I'm pretty pleased with the result. I do also really like the three sentences you mention, especially the second one.

Haha, I'm glad you thought the romance scene flowed well. I've written quite a few of those in my day, but it's been a while so... I guess I'm glad I haven't lost my touch, lol. I try my best to make it work. When it comes to scenes like these, you do have to include a fair amount of detail (one thing I've learned that you should always remember, and not just with the romance, is where your characters' hands are, or else it can seem like your character has more than just two), but you don't have to pay attention to EVERY detail, because in real life situations like that, you're not paying attention to every little detail because you're caught up in the moment. I could try, but I don't know if I can teach you how to write romance scenes. It's kinda something you gotta figure out from experience, or trashy romance novels, and practice until you are comfortable. Plus you have to stay within the rules of the archives. I could have kept this scene going but I was specifically trying to keep it 15+ and within the 1000 words.

I AM a Dramonie shipper, so I was very sad to make it all a daydream. It was not in my original plan, but I really didn't know how to end this story on a happier note (as much as I wanted to). I didn't want to just write a make out scene, there had to be a little more substance to it. But I tried to be as sneaky about it as possible, I didn't want it to be obvious he was daydreaming until the very end. I didn't like including the Mudblood bit either, but using the term is part of his character, as is being a git. I really liked the end, too, though. I had to end it with a funny!

Thank you so much for this super long review. I really enjoyed reading it. I'm so glad to have someone new reading my stories. I know they're not all the best, but they're mine and I'm trying to improve. I wasn't sure how I felt about them when I first started writing them, but I really enjoy writing one-shots. And once it's done, it's done, and you don't have that pressure to continue writing for it, unless you want to make a sequel or something like that. And I can't wait to see the banner you make for this! I'm sure it will be awesome.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #22, by piper15 Daydreaming

4th September 2014:
Haha. That was really good. My mouth was dropping at the idea of her and him in the library. Ending was great!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I know the library make out scene has been done before, but I had to put my own spin on it. I kept trying to figure out how to make it all work, and then I came up with the daydream idea and it all just clicked into place. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Lili Daydreaming

2nd September 2014:
Oh my goodness I really enjoyed this! It was sweet and funny, quite frankly I didn't want it to be over. Job well done :D

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it and thought it was sweet and funny. I had a little trouble at first trying to get into Draco's mindset. I didn't want it to be over either, but when you can only make the story a thousand words, it's always over much too fast. Thank you so much for the review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #24, by Chrissy Daydreaming

1st September 2014:
Loved it :-) Excellent work!!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm so glad you loved it!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Henria Daydreaming

1st September 2014:
That was funny. I thoroughly enjoyed that. Excellent job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I wasn't really trying to make it funny, except for the very end a little bit, so I'm glad you really liked it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login