Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for (wake up, you're dreaming)
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Penelope Inkwell (wake up, you're dreaming)

31st August 2015:
Hey girl! I'm reading through the Silver Scales nominations (Congratulations, by the way!). Wow. My Dramione ship was just bobbing along happily in the water, and then along you come with this Fleeteood Mac CANNONBALL! :p. And they're both so unhappy, and he's ending it because he feels he has no choice and she's so hurt and he's miserable! And he just lets her go. Pushes her away, really. And he's so awful--he plays the part everyone would expect and you know how that must absolutely *break* her heart and--

*breathes deeply, sniffles*

I'll be okay. I'll totally be fine. I just need a little fluff to dry my Dramione tears on and I'll be fine. Probably.

Good job, Theia (PS, I had the worst week, and I had saved the new chapter of Turbulence as a special treat to make me feel better. And it did, by the way, even though it was a super depressing chapter--in a good, I-connected-emotionally bc you wrote it so well way. Astoria is such a great character. She's so brave; she's such a fighter, to deal with all that. I really enjoy your portrayal, and a review for that chapter is half written and should be coming soon!)

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #2, by alicia and anne (wake up, you're dreaming)

28th June 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

AH yes! A Dramione! My secret secret pleasure :P I try to keep that information hidden haha.

I absolutely adore how you've incorporated the lyrics into this story, and how well you've fit them in with the story. It flows so smoothly, and gives an amazing tone to the story.

I love how they are around each other, how there's tension between them, whether it's still their passion or not I don't know yet, not until I finish reading :P

You can tell that he cares for her, even though he's trying to hide it, and trying to push her away. I can tell thats he's doing it for her own good. Even if he did use that word.

Aw I just. the ending! I want to hug him! I want her to know how much she means to him!

This was absolutely amazing! You are such a talented author and I love reading your work. You write such beautiful stories, that I could lose myself in all day long. :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by HeyMrsPotter (wake up, you're dreaming)

28th June 2015:
HAI, ERIN!

Your writing and Dramione are just the perfect combination for a happy Sunday morning :D

I love the song that you chose, it fit so perfectly with the story. The lyrics were in just the right places and didn't disrupt the flow of the story at all, which I find is always a tricky thing to do in song fics.

This whole thing gave me serious feelz. The Dramione shipper in me wanted him to run back to her and say sorry and then have them live happily ever after, but I really liked that you took the more rational route for these two. Things definitely couldn't work out for them in their Hogwarts days, especially with the impeding war. I thought you did a really beautiful job of portraying the heartbreak that they were both feeling. Just perfectly angsty!!

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #4, by aurevoir (wake up, you're dreaming)

24th April 2015:
Ugh, I always read these sad Dramione's, even though I KNOW that my heart will hurt. You did a great job using the lyrics and creating a scene with them. The descriptors for Draco were spot on too - I wish Hermione could have stayed longer, but we all know [realistically] this would have had to happen for the sixth book to stay canon as it is.

You should know I have some of your other, longer stories on my 'to read' list but I refuse to let myself get dragged into one this close to finals so it must wait. But I'm really excited to read your mystery story you have going.

-Cassie

 Report Review

Review #5, by Draco Malfoy (wake up, you're dreaming)

29th January 2015:
Harry Potter Fanfiction?

There are actually people out there, muggles no less, who write and read stories about Potter?

And as if that isn't bad enough, here I find one about me snogging Granger?! And apparently this isn't uncommon. One of the Gryffindor muggleborns kept asking me if 'Dramione' was a real thing. Eventually I convinced Crabbe and Goyle to force what it meant out of him. I wish I hadn't.

I mean, yes, Granger definitely isn't the same frizzy-haired, buck-toothed girl she was in our first few years at Hogwarts. And anyone who didn't think she looked totally fit at the Yule Ball is an imbecile... If you tell anyone I said that though, my father will hear about it.

It's a shame you waste such a talent for writing on such impossible scenarios. If this was about me and a gorgeous pureblood witch, that would have been far more acceptable. The chemistry between Granger and me is undeniable though. Hmm...

I have a feeling this isn't the only story with me and Herm- I mean, Granger snogging. If there are any more, please let me know. Y'know, so I can complain about those too...

Author's Response: Well, look who stopped by.

Who would've thought that Draco Malfoy, Pureblood Prince, would check out a muggle run fanfiction site? Is this another one of your guilty pleasures?

Of course she isn't the same kid anymore. She's all grown up now, and quite the beautiful young woman, isn't she? I wonder what your father will say about your thoughts of her now...

Oh my, did you just give me a compliment? Hmm. I guess I'm honoured, even though you did follow that up with a stuck up remark.

Yeah, of course the chemistry is undeniable. It exists. Way to go at hiding it but I've figured you out. ;)

There are a lot more about you and Hermione snogging. There are way more with the two of you doing even more things. I'm pretty sure you know that already though, with your love -ahem- I mean, outrage at the kind of stories written about you two.

Thanks for stopping by! I won't tell anyone you're reading stories written by muggles about you and Hermione. ;)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Forever_More (wake up, you're dreaming)

4th December 2014:
Hey,

Found myself over here thanks to the Blue vs. Bronze Review battle :D

You are quickly becoming one of my ultimate favorite authors on this site, and this is only the second story of yours that I have read. Perfectly written, besides one or two simple spelling mistakes that didn't steal any of the pull of the story.

You are really good and expressing emotion, and being a Dramione fan my heart is breaking :(

Thanks for another great read,

Nicole (aka RainbowEyes in the forums)

 Report Review

Review #7, by DMsSlytherinPrincess (wake up, you're dreaming)

28th September 2014:
So sorry this took so long, RL has been a mess.
First off, thank you for participating!!

Okay, at the beginning I thought he was being serious, and I felt terrible for Hermione, then as I read on I felt terrible for the both of them. I honestly, can't imagine Draco to be crying but as I read on I got captured by his emotions; so much pressure, being torn, so much love he had for her and than the pain of losing her because he had to be Draco Malfoy.

This really got to me but I'm not going to lie, I re read it, maybe because I don't read much of these type of story's, I felt the emotions the first time, then the second I really had a pain in my heart.

This was sad and powerful.
Short and powerful. The fact that you showed so much and pulled the readers in so deep and showed Dracos thoughts, feelings and pain in a 1000 words was really amazing.

Draco is capable of love, no matter who the person is, you cant choose who you fall in love with and that's something I got from this that most of the time writers don't do, make Draco human.

I enjoyed reading this.
I also enjoyed the song you chose and the lyrics you chose to add in, it matched up very well and added to the emotions of the story.

Oh and the fact he wanted to see her happy after everything, with someone else even though he loved her was great. The ending was also perfect in my opinion. Over great story.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Unicorn_Charm (wake up, you're dreaming)

17th September 2014:
Hi there! I saw you replied to the swap. I didn't know if there was something in particular you wanted me to review, but this caught my eye.

Oh I loved the use of the Fleetwood Mac lyrics! Just imagining Stevie Nicks' haunting voice was an incredible backdrop to the story. And they all fit in so well.

Draco/Hermione stories always intrigue me. I can very easily see Draco having a thing for Hermione, which would be what caused him to be so terrible to her while they were in school.

This was so incredibly sad. Of course he would have to lie to her and make her think it all meant nothing to him. It was for her own protection. She would certainly be even more targeted if people found out they were an item. That alone could get them both killed. It was heartbreaking to read her reaction and running from him in tears.

For a moment, I thought he was speaking the truth. That he really did think of her as nothing more than a mudblood and used her. Then she left, and he was broken.

I loved that fact that he seemed to care for her so much, that he wanted to see her survive to ultimately be happy with another. That is an extremely selfless way to think, and we rarely see Draco portrayed that way.

I really enjoyed this. I mean, it was terribly sad, but it was beautifully written. Everything flowed wonderfully and was very easy to get in to. Well done and thank you for sharing!

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #9, by EnigmaticEyes16 (wake up, you're dreaming)

25th August 2014:
This was such a sad little one-shot! Yet very heartfelt, it made me want to cry a little bit, and if it was any longer it probably would have made me cry. I'm not positive, but I'm guessing this take place during sixth year, maybe? Draco keeps saying the Dark Lord has something he wants Draco to do, and Draco is concerned he might not make it out alive, so I'm guessing it's not long before he has to kill Dumbledore... correct me if I'm wrong though.

Anyway, while sad, this was a very sweet and well-written one-shot. It was nice to see Draco showing some emotions for once, even if only to himself. I think you did a fantastic job with this.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #10, by Veritaserum27 (wake up, you're dreaming)

20th August 2014:
Hi!

Here for the review swap!

So - I'm a huge Fleetwood Mac fan - although not a huge Dramione Shipper. (Although some Dramione stories are written so well, I can't help myself!) What I love about this one is that it fits entirely within canon! Oh! The feels with this story, Erin - what have you done to me?

I can completely fit this story into what happens during their sixth year. While Ron was off being a prat, Hermione was completely lonely and Draco was so wrapped up in his own troubles, he needed someone to confide in, or just to be a shoulder to lean on.

I love the contrast between how cold the stone floor was and how warm his memories of Hermione are. This line was beautiful:

It pained him to know that he'd hurt her. That he'd lost the fight against reason and succumbed to her allure. To love.

Draco wasn't just using Hermione to get through his own troubles - he loves her.

The lines you chose from the song were perfect. He is giving her up, letting her go - for her own sake. That is real love.

I also think the underlying theme is that Draco is trapped. He doesn't really have a choice. I know that a lot of people make the argument that everyone has a choice, but I think it is easily forgotten that he was only sixteen at the time. He was proud, arrogant and scared. I love that you didn't take any of these qualities away from him, but rather weaved them throughout the story, like the song.

The ending was great. So many stories leave us with a glimmer of hope for Dramione, but this one is clear that what they had was never to be again. I think that takes bravery on the part of the author because so many Dramione shippers just want to believe in them. Draco does give hope - but it is hope for Hermione to have a wonderful future without him.

Great job, Erin - beautiful writing and wonderful feels!

Beth

 Report Review

Review #11, by Lostmyheart (wake up, you're dreaming)

18th August 2014:
Erin!

After I read this I needed a few moments to collect my thoughts and emotions (which were all over the place) to get over your awesomeness.
First of all, I was SO surprised to see that you dedicaded this to me! That alone made me tear up. I may be too emotional, but it's only because it's such a wonderful gift.

Not only did you pick my OTP, but you also picked the scenery/theme that I love so much (which you probably didn't do on purpose, but I still thank you for it :P ) - I swear I felt my heart break when Hermione's did.

It was so short, your story, yet it felt like it told a whole story. The details you write in between the words they say, they're like gold. They're rare, and very precious - they mean everything to this story...
This line in particular:
She stared, unblinkingly, as Draco turned her back to her, the dying flames from the lanterns casting shadows over his unkempt hair.
I could see it so clearly in my mind! I even imagined a pained look on his face as he turned his back on her, hiding it.

The lyrics fit the story so well, and I'm actually listening to the song right now. It suits the plot so well, and adds more sadness to the whole thing.

It's funny, I was so thrilled and happy when I saw you had dedicated this to me, and when I finished reading it I was almost crying, I was heartbroken and so amazed by your story. An emotional rollercoaster, made by you.

YOU'RE AMAZING, ERIN!!! *hugs the laptop awkwardly*

You may already know this, but it's already one of my favorites.

Thank you so much for your incredible gift! I haven't checked the Gift-It challenge, and I believed it was a challenge about characters with gifted abilities, haha. If it was, then Draco has the gift to break hearts :b But seriously, what an incredible challenge.

LOVE YOU AND YOUR STORY! (a million gazillion hearts)

Avi

 Report Review

Review #12, by Chrissy (wake up, you're dreaming)

17th August 2014:
Awww I loved it!! It was beautiful and sad but still a great read! I hope you continue on with this story :-)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login