Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Turning the Tables
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Nix's Secret Snowflake Turning the Tables

17th December 2015:
Hello!

This was great!

While I love the Marauders, I love stories that can change my mind about them too! I felt awful for Severus, but also felt that I could relate to him in many ways too.

I adore Lily's ability to see through Severus. She really has the strength to challenge him in more ways than one that really highlight her character is such a positive way!

I was really kept on my toes as to how Severus would respond to James and Sirius.

The way that you wrote the twist in the end was just really not something I would have expected, but should have expected. Lily's no pushover.

Wonderful Writing!

-You Secret Snowflake

Author's Response: Awww, you read the AU! I do love this little story. AU Lily and Snape were so much fun to write. I'd feel awful for Severus, too. James and Sirius were really mean to him!

Lily is precious though. She's definitely no pushover and she's not gonna leave Severus alone until she gets what she wants. I still don't know how Severus is going to respond to James and Sirius though! Which is terrible because I have the perfect sequel title! One day, it will hopefully be written though...

I love the end. I love this whole little story and all it's AU-ness. I'm glad you like it, too!

Thanks so much for this lovely review. I'm so glad you decided to check this story out because I don't think it gets enough love.

And thank you for all the reviews! They were so much fun to read and I loved them all! You are the sweetest Secret Snowflake ever!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #2, by alicia and anne Turning the Tables

18th August 2015:
Oh this is different, her being with James and not really knowing Severus.

James and Sirius are so mean in this, I'm feeling sorry for Severus :(

I'm glad that Lily was there to help him and pick him up from his fall.

Awww this is all so different, and it's weird to think that it could have all happened this way, but you've made it seem so real and as though it could happen!

Honestly, Lily is doing the right thing in breaking up with James if he's such a meanie, and I never thought that I would ever say that.

I'm glad that she's helping him get revenge on James!

I wonder what they had planned?

I can't wait to read more of this! I really enjoyed it and I have to say that this is the first Lily/Snape that I am loving so far!

Keep up the fantastic work! :D

Author's Response: Hi Tammi! Yes, this story is very AU. I'm sorry James and Sirius are so mean. But at least Lily is there to be there for Severus. Thank you! I'm glad it seems like it could have happened, even though we know it didn't. Haha, I'd never written a Snape/Lily before so it was very different putting Snape with Lily and having her dump James. And I love how mischievous she is in this and that she wants to get James and Sirius back for what they did. But I don't know what they do! I'm supposed to write a sequel for this and I have no idea what kind of prank to perform, or even if I can properly execute it in writing which is very discouraging for me.

If I do ever write the sequel though, I hope it comes out alright and that you like it! Thanks so much for this review, and thanks for offering to give reviews!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #3, by Kira Yukimura Turning the Tables

14th April 2015:
Did someone say they watch Teen Wolf earlier today? :P

Hi Nix.

I'm Kira Yukimura. You may know me from Teen Wolf, where Scott is the main character. I'm actually here because of him. He's starting to get sick, and I've been told by a friend over at the forums that Madam Pomfrey knows a thing or two about treating werewolves. And since she is in this story, I was hoping to get some help from her.

To convince you to help convince her to help me (wow, that was complicated), I am going to leave you a review and say what I think about this piece. I think it's a very good story. I didn't like the boys - James and Sirius - I've met bullies like that myself before, and I resent people that act like that. I'm glad that Lily is not like them, and is actually trying to help the boy.. Snake was it? No, Snape, even if he doesn't want help.

While I'm generally against payback, I think it's justified in this case. I really hope those two will get a taste of their own medicine, and learn not to treat other people so horribly. And I'm kind of rooting for Lily to end up with Snape. I think they'd be wonderful together

Anyway, I have to go now. Stiles just called. Scott is getting worse, and they need me over there. Can you please help us convince Madam Pomfrey? Let my friend over at the forums know if she agrees to help us, so she can take Madam Pomfrey to Scott. She uses a secret name over at the forums, though, because she's running from a dangerous alpha. I'm sure you'll find her anyway.

Thanks in advance!

Kira Yukimura

Author's Response: Hi! This certainly was a surprise. Thank you for stopping by! I'm very sorry about your friend Scott though, I don't want him to get worse. I wish I knew who this friend was so I could help him.

James and Sirius are certainly of piece of work in this chapter. I'm sorry you ever had to deal with people like them before. Lily is nothing like them, and she hates to see people bullied like that.

I hope these two get a dose of their own medicine, too, they could certainly use it for being to so cruel to people like this. I'm rooting for Lily and Snape, too. I think they'd be a fun pair.

I wish I had more clues as to who this friend of yours is so I could help her get Madame Pomfrey to Scott. I don't want Scott to die! I hope you guys find a cure soon!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lululuna Turning the Tables

9th April 2015:
Hello! :) Here for the Slytherin review exchange and I'm SO sorry for being so late! I totally forgot since these past few weeks have been super busy in RL, urgh. :(

I'll be honest, I was drawn to this story because I've never been a Lily/Snape shipper and am thus really curious to see how the ship might work. That being said it's neat that you've never written them before as I felt like we were exploring the ship together in a weird way through my act of reading this story. The AU quality was neat too and I almost feel like this might have been a story that was published before DH came out, before we officially knew about Snape and Lily's childhoods spent as friends.

It was really nice to see the character growth throughout the story as Snape went from blindly resenting and hating Lily, to seeing her kindness and believing that she was being genuine. You did a really great job in characterizing him as this surly boy who has been mis-treated in the past and thus is suspicious of others even if they have good intentions. I liked how he saw how fiery and determined Lily was along with her kindness!

Lily was wonderful too! I loved your characterization of her as this infallibly kind, thoughtful person. It made me wish she was real so she could be my friend too!

I wish you had continued this story because I am dying to know what prank Lily had in mind for the marauders! :P It's such a great characterization that she wants to give them a taste of their own medicine, not just to get revenge for Snape in a malicious way, but to help show them what it's like to be on the other side of their pranks. The boys were really so nasty at the beginning of the story so it was really interesting to see Lily's thoughts on their behaviour.

This was a really great story, I enjoyed reading it and getting to know these characters in such a way! :D

Author's Response: Hi! It's totally okay, I forgot I was even supposed to get a review to be honest and I would not even have noticed.

I've shipped Lily/Snape a little bit, but not seriously. I never thought I'd ever attempt writing them though! And this was a scary endeavor because it was AU and I was worried about how readers would perceive it. But I like that we're sort of taking this journey together, albeit at different times, in exploring the possibility of this pairing.

I think it's fairly possible this is something that could have been written before we learned about their childhoods in HBP and DH. Even though, honestly, I feel like I can't even remember a time when I didn't know about Snape and Lily...

I love the character growth of Snape and Lily in this one-shot. Snape was very hesitant to accept Lily's help. That might have had something to do with how hesitant I was on making this pairing happen. But I think he turned out better than I expected. But I think it's very likely this Snape with his upbringing and the bullying, that he would be hesitant to trust new people into his life, especially someone who happened to be dating one of those people who bullied him.

I'm still not entirely sure how well Lily was fleshed out but I really like her, too, and her willingness to help this boy she just met.

I'm supposed to be writing a sequel for Erin so maybe one day I will figure out exactly what this prank is, too, and have that up for everyone to read. Lily's thoughts of James and Sirius was very interesting, because she was dating James, and yet kind of surprised and blindsided at just how cruel they could be to Snape, and while she doesn't believe in physically hurting someone, she does want to put them in their place. So I think that would be really exciting to see what she comes up with and watch them execute such a plan.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm really glad you enjoyed reading it!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #5, by Rita Skeeter Turning the Tables

19th March 2015:
Hello There My Dear!

So I hear that you've never met me, but surely you must know who I am. I'm Rita Skeeter. You may know me from such publications as The Daily Prophet, The Life and Times of Albus Dumbledore, and a few others that I can't quite keep track of. Really, there's so many that sometimes I just forget!

You may be wondering why I'm here on this errr...computer thing, but I've found them quite helpful in digging up dir..I mean looking up information on my latest subjects. Especially since that meddling Hermione Granger found out about me being an illegal animagus.

I don't know if you've heard, but I'm in the process of the writing a book called The Life And Times of The Boy Who Lived. In it I will be delving a bit into the lives of his parents and their influence on him. Of course, I will be covering Lily's unhealthy, stalkerlike relationship with Severus Snape.

I hadn't heard this particular version of their first meeting before, but it is rather kind of Lily to take pity on the poor boy. I wonder if it ever developed into anything unseemly. James Potter would surely die if Lily had had an affair with Snape.

Now because you've shared such a beautiful, personal story with me, I'd like to share a bit of gossip with you. There was a dual purpose to me stopping here. I'm running a bit of a contest. You see, things aren't always as they seem. If you can guess who my alter ego on the forums is, I will donate E50 in your honor to the HPFF fundraiser. You better hurry though because others have received similar offers and there can only be one winner. You may confer with the other people who have received a review since each review has a unique clue, but whoever figures out my identity first wins! You have until March 30th.

Oh and I suppose I should leave you one clue so you can start some digging of your own. Unlike Rita, you've actually met me...well at least on the forums.although I can't say the same for Roisin or Crestwood. :)

Happy clue hunting!

Best of Luck!

Author's Response: Well hello there, nice to finally meet you!

How very interesting, this book idea of yours. Although, I don't know that I'd go so far as to say Lily is a stalker...

Thank you so much for coming up with this little contest for us. It's very awesome of you to want to donate your money to our cause. You're clues really had me bending over backwards trying to figure it out, I'm sad that I didn't trust my instincts and message you sooner.

But as I said, I promise not to reveal your secret identity, and let you decide to do so when the time is right.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #6, by down the chimney Turning the Tables

6th January 2015:
Hello, lovely Nix. :)

I was going to go meet Sirrah and have a chat with her again when this story caught my eye and I had to take a detour. :D

I absolutely loved this. I like how you've taken just one small incident and expanded that into something that obviously leads on to more. I love how you've brought in a new moment as the start to Lily and Severus' friendship and you've done an amazing job.

It always bothered me that James and Sirius were so mean to Snape. And I know that they continued pranking him even after Lily and James started dating, probably without Lily knowing. And by then, she was already on the outs with Snape so she probably turned a blind eye. I love how you've created this universe in which she realizes James' faults and helps Snape out without any prejudice, even though he's called her Mudblood. That's just so Lily and you've portrayed her character really well here!

Ooh, a revenge prank! I would love to know what they do. Do you have any plans on continuing this? Maybe you could make it into a short story? I know I would love to read a couple more chapters based on this universe about how their relationship progresses. So if you ever plan on it, let me know! :D

I love your writing, and you can be sure that Sirrah will get a visit from me as soon as I get some time again!

Love,
Santa.

Author's Response: Hi! You know, I honestly didn't even think this was from you, For some reason I thought it was Chazzie's wintery review, until I saw the post in the Secret Santa Gifts thread.

But I'm so glad you liked this story! This is only my third review, and while it's gotten quite a few reads, I'm still not totally sure whether the readers like it or not. Maybe that's because I wasn't sure if I liked it or not when I wrote it. But it's grown on me a bit since then.

We never really know why James and Sirius are so mean to Snape, I can only assume it's because Lily was friends with him when she wouldn't give James the time of day. I think after the canon Mudblood instance she must have turned a blind eye to it, or maybe the Marauders finally started leaving him alone. I don't know. I understand why canon Lily would turn her back on Severus after he called her a Mudblood, because he was supposed to be her (best?) friend, and while other people may have called her that, they hadn't been friends with her since childhood. But if a stranger had called her that, I don't think she would have really paid him any mind, or taken it to heart anyway. And since this Snape is basically a stranger to her, I wanted to portray that side of her. Everyone was always gushing about how Lily was a such a good, caring person so that's another thing I really wanted to emphasize on.

I don't know what they do! I have no ideas for what they should do! But I would like to continue and now I have to because I already said I would. But I need really good prank ideas. Something to really knock the Marauders out of their socks, lol.

Aww, thank you so much! This review was so lovely and I can't wait til you visit Sirrah again! Speaking of Sirrah, that's another thing I really need to work on. Oh jeez, so many stories, so little time! lol.

Thanks again! You were an awesome Secret Santa, even if you weren't really that much of a secret... haha.

xxNix



 Report Review

Review #7, by MadiMalfoy Turning the Tables

31st December 2014:
Hello! MadiMalfoy here with your requested review! :)

I'm not a fan of Snape/Lily usually, but this one isn't so bad :P As far as plot flow goes, I think it flows very smoothly and transitions into each scene quite well! The plot itself seems plausible enough, considering what canon Marauders seem to be like and how they treated Snape, even if this is supposed to be AU. I love your characterization of Lily as well! Many people seem to forget that she is a caring person (I mean she did die for Harry and everything) so I'm glad you expanded on that part of her personality, and use it to get back at the Marauders for hurting Snape so bad.

This is quite the fun piece, I will admit! Great job with it, and congrats on first place with it! Feel free to re-request anytime! :)
~MadiMalfoy x

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for reviewing this! I don't know if I'm a fan of Snape/Lily, but it was something I wanted to write. I'm glad you don't think it's bad, lol. And I'm glad you think it flows very well, too. It is AU, because I wrote it for a challenge that wanted AU and specified the characters had to be meeting for the first time, but I wanted to keep them in character as much as possible. James and Sirius did a lot of mean, immature things to Severus, and Lily is a very caring person, these are things I wanted to keep in my story. I'm glad you thought it was a fun piece, too.

Thanks so much for agreeing to review this and maybe I'll re-request soon with something a little more to your preference!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #8, by Chazzie Turning the Tables

7th September 2014:
Hey Nix!
What a gorgeous story. I think I love reading AU stories for two reasons: 1. Anything is possible, and 2. The characters can seem so much more interesting. I usually detest stories with a 'young' Lily because she usually ends up fancying James but not telling anyone, or being horrible to Severus, or a combination of them both. I loved your Lily. She had a really strong sense of what was wrong and right, to the point of realising her boyfriend was an idiot and planning vengeance on him with a boy she had not, until that day at least, ever talked to before. Severus was adorably over-cautious about everything (although he shouldn't be walking and reading at the same time. You can't see what's coming. Especially in a school. Silly Severus.) Your word choice was fantastic, I can't commend you enough on that. And the Dr Who quote made my day, I love it when writers are whovians too :)
I really loved that, you definitely deserved first place!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi! Writing an AU is very interesting, you can do just about anything with it. I've never written Lily before so I was a bit unsure about how to portray her, and when she decided to help Severus get revenge on Potter, I was really worried about how people would take it. But weirdly enough this is the only review I've received for this story, so I still don't really know how others feel about it. My Severus is a little over-cautious, growing up in this AU without Lily for a best friend. He's very surprised to be helped by someone like her. Although, I do see him being the studious type, so I had to put that Potions book in there, lol. I loved including the Doctor Who quote too. I didn't plan to put it in there, I started saying Lily was a mystery and it just popped into my head and I had to include it.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm really glad you liked the story. I have not read your story yet (but I WILL get to it hopefully soon) but I'm sure either one of us could have won, there was a 50/50 chance.

xxNix


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login