Reading Reviews for Romeo In Ivory
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Forever_More Icarus in Mourning

6th December 2014:
Wow... Totally just tore my heart right out of my chest and stomped on it a little bit. I haven't read many Teddy/Rose stories but they seem to always end up sad.

With the perfect use of imagery, which wasn't over used like some tend to do (myself mostly!), I could perfectly picture every detail in my mind which makes this story all the more attractive. You're a great writer, everything seemed to flow so naturally and I love the use of the three fates!

Still heartbroken that he was happy finally and you think that he's only going to get happier thanks to the youngest Fate but then it all turns back around only to be worse.

Great story! Definitely something I'd recommend.

Nicole (Rainbow Eyes for BvB )

 Report Review

Review #2, by Loonylovegood67890 Icarus in Mourning

29th October 2014:
Hello!

Okay, so I'm just in awe right now. If I can't come up with a review that makes any sense it's because I'm blown away by your story. Honestly I got chills.

At the start of it you instantly caught my attention and never let it go until the end. I especially loved that you subtly laced the story with that of the magical world, never fully mentioning it.

Teddy must have had a hard life, to lose someone he cared about so much and to get depressed and then to find a glimmer of hope only for it to be taken away again. He must have loved her so much to visit her grave so often and to sit by it for so long. I didn't really understand who the girl was until you mentioned it at the end but I think I like the story that way. It leaves you guessing at who Teddy could've possibly loved before Victoire, even though you do find out if you read the a/n. And he was just becoming happier until the Fates... Garrggghh!

The Fates. Oh. My. Who knew that intertwining Greek Mythology with the wizard world would work so well? Well now we do. I had a sneaking suspicion that the three sisters you kept mentioning were the Fates. I have to say that the way you kept mentioning the threads or scissors was such a great way to drop hints and it was undoubtedly a genius thing to do! A creative, clever and ingenious idea that translated beautifully into the fic.

I loved reading this! Stunningly written. :)

- Becca.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Midnight spark Icarus in Mourning

30th August 2014:
It's me with your long overdue review!

Let me say this: This was one of the best written stories I've read here! I loved the way Teddy was portrayed and how he was described by the Fates. I've always enjoyed Greek Mythology, so the way this story was made on their decisions was a real treat for me. And the part about the third sister really touched me. I think that was there in a book I read, that the third Fate stood for love and compassion.

First, I wasn't able to understand who the girl in the grave was, I assumed it was Victoire.Then I found out that Victoire was his second love, I began to think who it could have been. It was when I saw the last author's note that I realised it was Rose. So I went back and re-read it again to see if it made sense. In a way, it did. But I would have liked it better if a bit more detail on the girl buried was given. The Fates were the narrators, so they must know these things.

So, I REALLY enjoyed this story! Sorry for the delay and thanks for giving me a chance to review this one.

~Sanaa

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much for stopping by - and no worries about the times; I totally understand about things taking time - RL is unpredictable! :)

Thank you so much! I'm so so flattered to hear you say that - I really enjoyed writing this, though it was pretty hard to write at the beginning. I've always loved mythology too, so when the Fates decided to put themselves in it, I couldn't resist! I didn't know that - but I picked the third because in the legends she has intervened in human affairs... :)

Yeah, sorry about that! I didn't really want to give to much info on the girl in the grave, because it's not really about her, you know? Her story is sort of over before this one begins, but yeah, it could theoretically be anyone other than Victoire! I tried to give hints through the story, talking about her family, but I get that they probably weren't necessarily as clear as I hoped! :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm so glad you liked the story! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by simplelullaby Icarus in Mourning

29th August 2014:
Oh my goodness I think this might be the best one shot I've ever read. It's not often I get chills just in my room lying in my bed but oh my goodness you managed to do it.

God I'm such a massive mythology fan, and when I finally figured out that you were talking about the Fates (which took my longer than I care to admit) my inner nerd flared up so much! It's just the way you seemed to effortlessly weave the two sections in together. They blended so perfectly - and in so few words! You treated every word like it had a purpose, you didn't put stray or meaningless words in there. Everything was there for a reason. It's just so much control, so careful, so well thought-out. Just amazing!

Okay let's talk about this Greek mythology thing. I love that you characterised the Fates in such a different way from what I've seen before. I think that Disney's Hercules and Shakespeare's Macbeth have done lot's to make sure that they're always portrayed as three evil little hags, who CONTROL destiny because their mean and jealous of the mortals. Here you totally turn that around, make sure that the readers know that the three sisters are slaves to destiny, and couldn't change it even if they wanted to. Adding in the youngest sister not being able to reconcile this fact was a nice little touch. I loved that she lived vicariously through Teddy, even though she only saw him at what seemed to be the worst points of his life.

I'm usually a big fan of physical description as well, but the fact that you ONLY described the youngest sister's green skirt was really effective. The Fates became these nameless, faceless characters. They became whoever the readers wanted them to look like. But you didn't lose the description points at all - no you poured that into describing the sisters' work, which is obviously far more important than what they look like to them. you put in in so effortlessly, adding points about tying threads, cutting threads and so forth in like it was an afterthought. Give me your gift!

Okay I'm going to move on now to the second "part." Your portrayal of Teddy was so heartbreaking. I loved how you introduced him, like someone who could be anyone outwardly, but couldn't ever change himself on the inside no matter how hard he tried. I think this was well-reflected, as well, in the fact that Teddy never brought the same type of flower. You made him the sort of person that would never be happy with staying the same, he constantly had to change. I can't describe it exactly - it's like he's looking for the right combination of his own appearance, the weather and the time, and the flowers, and maybe if he gets it right, that will bring Rose back. If anything was the most sad from this fic, it wasn't the death, it wasn't the graveyard and it wasn't the Fates - it was Teddy slowly withering away like the flowers he brought with him.

Okay I promise I'll end this horribly ramble review soon but I need to tell you how great that ending was! The whole arch really. It started off kind of melancholy, and then you cruelly gave us hope in the middle (though the sisters did warn their youngest AND us that this wouldn't have a happy ending), before ending it with another grave. Just spectacular.

Sorry for the very fangirly review. But this was excellent. I can't wait to read more of your stuff!

Keep writing,

~Aimee~

 Report Review

Review #5, by StarlightAsteria Icarus in Mourning

27th August 2014:
Hi!

I loved your idea of telling a Teddy/Rose story from the point of view of the Fates - it's very original, and your writing is so poetic and sad :) The youngest Fate I thought was an interesting character - what inspired the decision to make her able to feel differently from her two elder sisters, and to care about Teddy at least?

I thought your chapter title was really well chosen, and adds an extra layer of nuance to this. Icarus - so Teddy has overstretched; a desire for happiness that was always doomed from the start. How very cruel and sad - and very, very Greek :)

Everything in this is so well interwoven - the symbolism of the flowers, the fates, the visits to the graveyard - it just flows.

I also found the Teddy/Rose bits really well done, and I love how the question remains unanswered: what happened for Rose to die and for Teddy to apologise?

This is so fantastically written.

Celi :)

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Thank you so much - it was a strange way it came about, the Fates were actually the last bits to be added, but I liked them when they came in and couldn't take them out! :) The youngest fate in mythology tends to get a bit more involved in mortal affairs, so I kinda mutated that a bit to give her human emotions and all... so it's not totally my idea (though I have no idea how, haha, sorry!).

Ah, the chapter title gave me such trouble... I really wanted to do something to fit with the title, so I played around with various figures, and finally settled on that one - I'm so glad you like it! :) I love the whole idea of hubris, and I liked the idea of it fitting into a relatively small matter, you know? Poor Teddy... :P

Gah, thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked the symbolism - I've found it so much fun to write loads of it in, so I sometimes worry it's a bit too much - and the Teddy/Rose bits... yeah, I didn't want to go into too much depth about that because it's not really the point of the story, you know? But I kinda imagined it was some sort of tragic accident, though what actually happened I'll leave to your imagination :P

Thank you so so much for the lovely review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by Gabriella Hunter Icarus in Mourning

18th August 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here dumping this review on you. I'm sorry that it took me so long to get back to you but I was trying to get caught up on some writing of my own and well, that took a lot of my time. And my tears. Hahahha.

Anyhoo, this is beautiful! I think that I was a bit confused in the beginning but I am seriously in love with this. I found it very creative and even though you didn't immediately give any hints as to who your main character was and why he kept visiting the grave, its written so wonderful that it hardly mattered. I really loved your take on the Fates and their alternating POVs too, they all have their different views on mankind and it really showed in how they reacted to Teddy and his longing for Rose. Teddy came off to me as a really sad creature and I wanted to know so much more about him but this story itself could just stand alone as a sad bedtime story. Gah, its wonderful, truly. You've got a great way with words and I seriously love the haunting tone, its going to linger in my mind for sure. This isn't the sort of story that I've seen on the forums before and I'm really surprised that this isn't getting much more recognition.

I really have no words for that last paragraph, only that my heart sort of died. D': If you were to write this as a full novel, explaining what had happened between Teddy and the girls, I would seriously attack it and read it all in one day. Fantastic work!

I have no CCs either, other than this should be at least thirty chapters long. ;)

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi there, Gabbie! :) No worries about things taking a while - I totally understand! Though I can't say I've ever cried while writing... maybe I should try it sometime... :P

Yeah, the beginning isn't especially clear, I don't think. I tried to give hints as to the main character with the changing hair colours and things, but I'm not sure it was particularly obvious... (I'm so bad at being subtle. It's either glaringly obvious or impossible, haha). The Fates were so much fun to write - and, strangely enough, the last things to come into this, but I really like them here. I liked them as a kind of foil for Teddy, as a way to look at the situation in a sort of detached kinda way; it was an interesting thing to explore. Gah, thank you so much - I'm so glad you liked it! I've never been very good at horror/haunting/ghost-kinda stuff, so it was so odd when it sorta came up in this, haha.

Omigosh, a full novel! I'm not sure I could handle another WIP! Though it would be fun to do, I admit...

Gah, thank you so so much for the wonderful review and all the lovely compliments - they were so, so great to get! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by milominderbinder Icarus in Mourning

18th August 2014:
OH. MY. GOD.

LAURA. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

This is one of the best things I have read in a really, really long time. Everything about it was perfect. The style, the way you alternated scenes , the symbolism, the setting, the progression, the ending... just when I thought it was about to get happy, it turned into basically a horror story, and I loved it.

I swear I'm usually so much better at reviews than this but I can't think how to describe anything I just read, so here's my favourite lines instead!

A few yellow petals, ripped from their heads, fluttered to the ground behind him. Hansel and Gretelís trail, for mourners and lost lovers.

It was ugly and ungainly and yet, there was a strange sort of melancholic beauty about it; a strength written though it, as though he was a statue where the paint has not quite dried, and has run, chased by raindrops.

"If it's a girl," he told the grave, and there was a sincerity, a desperation in his voice which stung. "Iíll name her after you. For you, I mean. She'll be for you."

"He was never going to be happy," the middle sister corrected her. "He was never meant to be happy."

It was a Thursday, two weeks later, when the family came again, this time to bury a coffin Ė white and silver Ė underneath a black marble stone. The sisters watched, veiled with lilies and dark crimson roses in their hair, from their bower, as the inscription was carved.

Then, once it was done, and they had left, leaving ivy wreaths and bouquets of marigolds and irises, the sisters turned back to the wheel and the scissors and the threads, and time, as ever, ticked on.


Umm, yeah, if I put all my favourite lines I would basically just be copy pasting the whole fic into the review box, so I'll stick with those. Seriously though. Wow. Your writing is just incredible. This is why I shouldn't go away from HPFF, I miss stories like this!!

Anyway, excuse my flailing, sorry this wasn't more coherent! 10/10

~Maia

 Report Review

Review #8, by apondinabluebox Icarus in Mourning

16th August 2014:
OOOH. Oooh. Oooh.

Accidental ghost impersonation aside, I loved how you kept revealing new information in each section, lulling the reader into thinking that they know the story, they understand it, and that was pretty much what I was saying throughout the whole one-shot -- "ooh, ooh, ooh".

...It might be a good idea if I started from the beginning. ;)

You set the scene in the graveyard beautifully. Your descriptions were so vivid and wonderful that I could picture it clearly, to the tiniest detail. At first, I was wondering who Teddy was visiting -- I thought Dominique or Victoire, because you had the third character as "Other Canon" when there's a listing for Rose which threw me off: sneaky Laura! >:D Regardless, it was beautiful and agonising seeing him grieve.

I didn't know who the three sisters were (I googled them at the end) but that was okay because it didn't throw me off at all (for some reason, I thought they were fairies at first) and wow, I've never actually read a story from the Fates' POV! It's a very unique perspective you've written this in!

Rose's death... Wow. I loved how her family left her roses, but Teddy left her a multitude of different flowers each week. Awww. It really hints that he cared about her, and saw a different side to her than her family did. I love how it's never explicitly stated whether Rose and Teddy were lovers, or it was unrequited love, or they were simply good friends -- it's all about the feeling, the compassion, the missing her without all the labels of what used to be. (I'm writing a graveyard scene in Starfall soon; this will be good inspiration!) And then Teddy left her roses. Stupid Teddy. By the way, the fact that you didn't say what Rose died of is great; obviously there's that question of what happened, but it helps to focus the story on the grief and the tragedy.

Speaking of which, I don't like that Teddy didn't believe Victoire when she said she was pregnant. Mean Teddy. :(

The ending was bittersweet. In a way, they have the chance of reuniting in the afterlife, but Teddy's child will grow up with a father, just like Teddy himself grew up without his parents. HOW IS THAT NON-12+ WORD FAIR, LAURA? *wails* I wonder whether Victoire will visit Teddy in the same way he visited Rose, every week on a Thursday? Their child, when he or she is old enough to do so? Whether the curse of falling out of love with everything will be passed on to those who loved Teddy, just like he loved Rose?

*whimpers*

You see that over there? That big puddle of feels in the corner that's emitting mournful wailing sounds? That's me. I'm no longer a person, just a puddle of feels, thanks to your crazily talented writing. Before this, I didn't even ship Teddy/Rose. I hadn't even read a Teddy/Rose until I stumbled on this.

Amazingly beautiful one-shot, Laura!



 Report Review

Review #9, by UnluckyStar57 Icarus in Mourning

15th August 2014:
Gah, I wanted to be the first reviewer for this, but Georgia beat me. I've said it before and I'll say it again: Your writing is so, so brilliant.

The first section was so perfect, so bleak, and so, so vivid. It's the kind of thing that I love about your writing-how you don't stop at describing the scene-you make me feel it. (If that makes ANY sense at all.) I love the way everything perfectly matches Teddy's mood without saying what he's feeling-the scenery does all the feeling for him. Instead, it is revealed that he comes like clockwork to visit the grave of his lover.

AND YOU MADE THE WIND DO THE THING. God. You always just... God. You make the wind do the thing, and then my feels start acting up. It reminds me of HoC when the wind does the thing all the time.

In case you're curious, this is what I mean: "The wind ghosted along the tops of stones, glowing white, picking at poppies and roses left in the ground, before rising and reaching to run through soft brown curls, as though welcoming a friend or a wayward child."

SEE?! YOU ALWAYS MAKE THE WIND DO THE THING. And I love that about your writing, and I LOVE that you put it in this one-shot. :)

Ugh, I love how all the flowers wilt and die to show the passing of time. So gruesome and so beautiful, in a zombie kind of way. They're like tiny corpses, like the corpse Teddy will become.

WHY is Hugo away? Why won't he visit his sister? I'm curious about this, and I like that you've got the Fates looking in on the graveyard. Those three ladies are truly where life and death meet-it's only a scissor-clip away from ending. Ugh, and I love how Ron and Hermione left roses (stereotypical) and Teddy left daffodils and all sorts of different flowers-which, to me, means that he knew a different side of her than her family knew.

Ooh, and Teddy's definitely going through a lot of change during this time. Why is he feeling guilty? What cripples him so much that he has to sit and drown in his sorrows at her graveside?

Also, let me ponder about this romance that was never meant to be. She died. Why? They were in love. How? When? He seemed to have loved her deeply, and he's obviously having trouble moving on. Were they together when she died? It's all these mysteries that weave in and out of my mind as I read, and I LOVE IT. Thank you so much for writing romance without fluffy happiness. For some reason, that's just not my favorite thing. This sort of angsty, graveside, symbolic sadness, aww yiss. :)

Oh man, I love how the youngest Fate is so invested in Teddy's life, and the others are just like, "You gon' learn, child." (Except more elegantly, because they're Greek.) :) She just wishes for his happiness, she wants him to move on from pining after his dead lover and be happy with Vic. But the other two know better, and she's going to learn later on that sometimes there are no happy endings.

AND HIS LITTLE GIRL WILL BE NAMED AFTER HER. That's so sweet, but I'm curious to know what Vic thinks of that. Did Vic know of his romance with Rose? If so, is she okay with the fact that he keeps visiting Rose's grave every week? Potential trouble...

Uh oh, but the older Fate is so cynical and biting with her "Foolishness. Nothing lasts. It is merely an illusion." line. I loved that. So cynical, but so honest.

And the middle Fate senses a change? Has Teddy Lupin done the impossible and *gasp* gone against the three Madams who govern human life? I saw in the summary that you referenced Icarus-love that, by the way-and it seems that Teddy is about to soar and maybe plummet to his death when he gets too close being happy? Ugh, poor guy, but I love the way I can see parallels to Icarus in this (even if I'm just making up the connections).

No, no why didn't he come what's wrong what's going on? Why is he falling out of love with everything? Is it the Fates getting back at him for daring to defy them? Why?

Yes... "He brought it upon himself." Some people just weren't meant to be happy, and that's so sad, but so true. Ugh. Argggh. Rawr... (Sorry, that was me moaning incoherently about how unfair life is sometimes.) But what's going on? Why is he turning into a skeleton? Or is that even what he's becoming? Gah, why does he have to be so sad?!

AH NO THE THIRD TO LAST SECTION KILLED ME. "Life, it seemed, had given up on him. Now, it was only a matter of time until she abandoned her child completely and handed him over to Hades." STOP I'M DYING OF SADNESS. Arggh. Teddy Lupin has died, and all that's left is a skeleton. BUT WHY. WHAT DID HE DO THAT WAS SO AWFUL? WHY IS LIFE BEING SO MEAN? I DON'T UNDERSTAND, HELP. And he put stupid roses on her grave, just like her family did, just like probably every other person who visited her grave did, and that is just not. Okay. At. All. I feel like he's just completely forgotten himself and how he used to be and how his life was when he had her. Sure, Vic was a good substitute, but she wasn't ROSE. And something about Rose made Teddy love her so much that now he's completely wasting away, and Fate won't even allow him to be happy.

Potent roses, then. Tragic, desperate love. That makes me think that no one knew about their romance, and so it was all the more important to him because of that. Bless the youngest Fate for picking up the roses and winding them in the bower. Maybe they'll bloom instead of shrivelling and dying.

Ugh, and now he's dead, too. Oh my gosh, I'm crying so much. This is awful. This is wonderful. I don't know what to feel. And time just keeps going, it doesn't stop for things like love. :(

I wish I had more space to gush about how amazing this is, how amazing you are, and how I can't even believe that you wrote this for me. I love it so much, and it came at a perfect time-I read it, and the struggles of today went away. So THANK YOU for being so wonderful. I should write you a story. :)

~Mallory

 Report Review

Review #10, by kenpo Icarus in Mourning

15th August 2014:
Hello! Here for our swap! I was really excited when I saw that you posted a swap (and then jumped on it in about two seconds) because I love pretty much everything that you write, but don't read enough of it. And you leave really great reviews.

And YAY this is for the Gift-it? I need to get working on m other entries...

Ah Aph that opening paragraph was AMAZING. It's that kind of paragraph that through the whole thing you say "wow that was a great sentence, I'm gonna single it out in my review" to every single sentence . Man, that paragraph is like when you put eyeliner on one eye and it looks good, and then you do the other eye and it matches and you just feel like you're probably going to have a great day.

Different hair. Teddy?

Oh god. Is this about him visiting his parents? I have sad music playing (Michael Giacchino makes me cry even without sad stories).

On the grave, the daffodils drown.

Holy crap! That was so... wow. Great line. I also love the way it's all on it's own, when the rest of that section was largely larger chunks of text.

Oh. Or is this from the POV of the Fates? I have no idea. I'm confused, but I don't care. I also keep getting interrupted from my reading by the phone, and the dogs crying to be let out (and then two seconds later crying to be let in), and I'm just sitting here talking to myself, saying "Hello, I'm trying to read this beautiful story, leave me alone, world."

Who is he visiting? Rose? Victoire? Was it you that was talking on the forums about writing a Teddy/Rose?

Gasp this totally is the Fates, that's genius. What are their names? I don't remember... but the youngest is weaving the tapestry, right? Then the second one measures the thread? The third cuts it? Or... something?

OH my god. Oh my god. This was intense. Oh my god. Holy... oh my god, Aph. I was going to leave comments along the way for each section, but I was too engrossed in it!!

This was such an amazing idea. I loved it so much. I feel so bad for Teddy!!! Psh the Fates are stupid. Grr I'm annoyed with them THEY'RE STUPID JUST LET THE POOR GUY BE HAPPY.

Oh my god this was so sad. I'm a little bit mad at you right now. You're like the Fates, making your characters miserable via mythology...

The writing was totally beautiful, as well. You know how much I loved the first paragraph, and then it just stayed amazing the entire time.

This was a wonderful one-shot, and it was so kind of you to dedicate it to Mallory!!

Again, thanks so so so much for the swap!!!

-Georgia

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login