Reading Reviews for The Rejects
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by happyanon iv.

12th February 2015:
i'm really a fan of your stories i really am. so i think as an avid reader I am allowed to say that this chapter might have disappointed me??. I was hoping for more. I waited so long for an update and I understand you also have a life of course but you know, you are the author and I am a fan and i did wait and well.. what im trying to say is I am sad? Because this entire chapter felt like it could fit as the first 3 paragraphs of a chapter. I mean literally, nothing happened. Was this meant to be a filler chapter? Don't get me wrong, I loved the part about Dom and Hazel thing. I sort of might have felt Hazel was part of the team how else will she be good at it. I kind of wished we saw a slow gradual interaction betweeN Maddie and her team. Or Roberts. I appreciate the James convo tho even felt the awkwardness at first but you know.. it seems lacking? I dunno. I'm sorry Im not trying to be mean or anything. I just really adore this fanfic. Maybe its my fault too, for wanting a more jam packed chapter. So yeah.. sorry. I still love this tho!! Hehe

Author's Response: Hey happyanon,

I'm sorry that you're disappointed but I have to disagree that nothing happened. Obviously there was the interaction between Dom and Hazel, that was a new discovery for Maddie. The sudden new introduction to James and Maddie's distrust of him. So, I know it's not an exciting, totally LOL-funny chapter but if I hadn't have written it, I don't think the way the plot is going would make sense. Again, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy this chapter but honestly, it is necessary every now and again to have a filler chapter. The interactions between the team will be coming soon, I was waiting until the first practice.
And I'm glad that you were honest with me, sometimes it's nice to actually get some constructive criticism.
~ Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #2, by banshee iii.

21st January 2015:
Hey Aimee! Happy (late) Hot seat day!

I'm so excited for this, but first off congratulations on being made a TA! *celebrates with you*

I am kind of in love with Hazel from that chapter image. haha

Hehe, I love her being scared of her prospective teammates. It's hilarious that she wants them on the team and she's terrified of talking to them :p

I really love Maddie. The way you write her, she's such a wonderfully realistically flawed character and it makes her relateable. And her friendship with Dominique makes for a really lovely dynamic that is so incredibly sweet to read.

Can I ship Maddie/Hazel? Well I'm going to. A little. (until someone else comes along. haha) I know you probably have other plans but I just love Hazel and want her to stomp all over the people that rejected her Quidditch career with high heel shoes.

Reading through her handing out her "welcome to the team!" little moments, I can't help but want to know so much more about each one of the characters, and I can't wait to see what you have in store for them.

I got a good little chuckle at the broken fourth wall in the moment with Professor 'Umbridge'.

I love your chapter length, how you give the reader enough time to get into the story and the characters and what's going on before it ends. And the part at the end about Maddie in the Gryffindor boy's common room was HILARIOUS and I am still chucking as I finish writing this.

I'm just so excited to see where you're going to go with this and what you have in store for the characters in the upcoming chapters. Will definitely be checking back!

Julie

Author's Response: Hey Julie! :D

I really tried to create Maddie to be realistic, I didn't want her to end up being some sort of girl who was too overly-awkward because it's not realistic at all.

And you can ship whoever you want to ship! I'm all for multi-ships :) And more from Hazel is coming up soon, get ready for more sassy, Queen Hazel stomping on the world with her stilettos.

Thank you for such a lovely review! And I'm sorry I haven't been very good at the Hot Seat reviewing, I honestly have just not had time to get on this website!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan ii.

18th January 2015:
Here for the Hot Seat round 3!

What a team Maddie has assembled :p Scorpius was really nice to help her out despite having nothing to do with the team really, and considering his difficult history with Maddie.

I really like Hazel, for a lot of reasons. I feel like in fanfic particularly, there's a lot of 'super arrogant, hot guy' types and I like this challenging of the stereotypical gender roles by having a girl be this way. Even if she is a bit overbearing and smug, I love that she just is who she is, and is proud of that. I think she'll turn out to be a really interesting character. :)

Someone who doesn't speak English! That does pose a challenge. Is it embarrassing that I spent some time pondering what language that kid was speaking? It looks like one with Germanic roots based on the double A's, my guess is Dutch. /reallyofftopicsorry

And the girl who gets distracted by the sunset. She reminds me of Luna, and I feel like she's going to be an interesting one to watch, as she doesn't seem to have the necessary focus, but potentially has the talent.

And she's scared of the Beaters ahaha. I'm absurdly excited to see the first practise of this team. XD

Awesome chapter!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Freda_and_Georgina iii.

18th January 2015:
I love the way you have this story. It's so original, tangible, and fun! The characters are all unique and their relationships are even more so. I'd write more but I am attempting not to fall asleep as it is.

Lovely story, and congratulations on your TA status!
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hey Georgina,

First off, so sorry it's taken me literally forever to reply to your review! But thank you so much, I tried so hard to create characters that are realistic in a way so they all have different characteristics.

Thank you, lovely!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #5, by likeness_of_a_seabird ii.

18th January 2015:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review, round three!

Poor Maddie. Can’t catch a break, can she? Luckily she has Dom on her side to cheer her up (and drag her to the classes, apparently). I like how she’s being supportive of Maddie but is not afraid to say how things are. I like her more and more as this story progresses. I also dislike Jackson more and more. The guy really needs someone to show him he is really not as great as he thinks he is. I’m supporting Maddie’s cause all the way.

Also, I kind of like Hazel. Man-and-woman-eater (person-eater?) she may be, but it’s obvious she’s also got brains and skill. I feel like it’s going to be so much fun to have her on the team. And Terence! Anyone who has the guts to dress up as a cowboy just because they’re trying out a new look is a plus in my book.

It was sweet of Scorpius to agree to help even though it’s obvious he thinks Maddie’s team doesn’t stand a chance. And what an interesting team it is; aside from Hazel, there’s a girl with the shortest attention span ever, a guy who doesn’t speak English (I really like Saburo, even though we’ve just met him. Is that weird?), and twins everyone is afraid of. The twins in particular could be an asset… as long as they don’t turn against their own in the middle of the game… Hopefully Scorpius will continue to help Maddie in the future despite of her unfortunate tendency to say things she really shouldn’t say.

A great chapter and I can’t wait to see this lot during their first Quidditch practice!

- Emmi

 Report Review

Review #6, by hpfan iii.

8th January 2015:
Wicked chapter! So keen to see where this goes :) lovin' the little bit of James love and I love Maddie! I laughed out loud a bunch of times especially in the dorm room - obv!!! because it was hilarious! Keep up the updates!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much hpfan! :) I think so far, this chapter has to be my favourite because of how funny it is (in my opinion) but I've been getting lots of good feedback from this chapter so i'm guessing other people have been enjoying it too!
And I'm planning out chapter 5, which is going to be THE FIRST TEAM'S FIRST EVER PRACTICE!! OMG! GET EXCITED!

:D anyway...

thank you so much for a lovely review, dear!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #7, by happyanon iii.

6th January 2015:
You capture awkward and funny but not annoying really well my dear. Potter by potter you mean james? He wasnt chosen? Wow that's shocking. I mean why? This roger guy, i am not liking him one tiny tiny bit. So arrogant and rude. He needs to be crushed. So james is not part of the "dream team" eh? Does that mean he'll take part maybe on Maddie's team if not her seaker then maybe her trainor? That may help her. I mean she seriously need some help like asap. This terrence fella interests me very much. He doesnt seem to be just a random odd character tho judging by the playful vibe maybe he is. I would really love it if we get a background story on each character. Ive always believed that there story behind everything matter. Some people hate it saying i care too much about the past but frankly the background stories whether real people or fictional characters help us understand,relate or empatize with them. Sometimes it's where emotional connections are formed. I know you must have intended this story to be light hearted and fun, id be really interested as to why Hazel is the way she is, the reason behind the Carter Twins' personalities, where Saburo is from and seriously how does the dude do school w/o a drop of english. And also why black? Im not sure if u mentioned it before? Like is there no other meaning? Maddie just likes black? Their personalities may be odd,but i find it a landmine of feels. Plus i honestly think dom is hiding something?? I may be overthinking things huh? I'm sorry. I do love this story, i think it's very interesting and very fun. I just wish you'd update it more. Dont worry i also understand you're working with Fake Wedding as well (which feels like its slowly coming full circle). I love your plots and i love how you write. Keep being wonderful dear. I look forward to your growth as a writer. And can i just say, you're one of the nicest authors who reply to reviews so it makes me love doing them. And congrats on that thingy about author! Yey for updates! Wooo much love! Xoxo

 Report Review

Review #8, by WhiteFeather ii.

3rd January 2015:
This story looks like it's gonna be awesome! I'm excited to see the characters develop and how they play as a team :) keep up the good work!

Author's Response: WELL GET EXCITED BECAUSE CHAPTER 5 IS GOING TO BE THE TEAM'S FIRST EVER PRACTICE!!

Just thought I'd get that out there :) But I'm planning it at the moment so I can as many funny bits to match some serious bits too! So it won't be out anytime soon (and obviously because of RL stuff as well)

Thank you, lovely!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #9, by likeness_of_a_seabird i.

30th December 2014:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review, round two!

That was simply hilarious! I loved that beginning! The way you described Maddie huddling underneath her blanket fort was just priceless; you really have a way with words (“seriously damaging disease called ‘foot-in-mouth’” made me giggle)!

Speaking of making me laugh, that happened quite a lot during this chapter! For example, I laughed out loud at “Nice to meet you Serious, I’m Dominique” and at the part where Dominique points out Maddie wouldn’t get snacks from the kitchens but rather a whole banquet.

Also, I knew that Maddie didn’t know much about Quidditch, but that she didn’t even know there was a referee made me giggle. I bet she hasn’t seen many Quidditch matches. I also loved the moment in Professor Slater’s office (even though it was rude of him to laugh at her). I agree with Maddie; no sane person gets up before eleven…

This was a great start and I can’t wait to see what the try-outs will turn out to be like!

- Emmi

 Report Review

Review #10, by Secret Santa :) ii.

28th December 2014:
Hello again! Back for chapter 2, and I have to say I'm hoping for an update soon! This story is a lot of fun, and even though it's not your main WIP, I hope you keep it going because I'd love to see how things play out here :)

One of my favorite things about Quidditch stories is the introduction of The Team. I think you've done that really well with this chapter. You don't overwhelm us with information, but you give enough detail about each person's style to differentiate them. I'm looking forward to getting to know all of them, especially the scary Beaters and the Chasers. They all have such personality, and I can't wait to see how they all gel as a team!

Scorpius is an interesting fellow. I can understand why he's a little sensitive about the ferret thing; jabs like that can stay with a person for years. Side note: I think it's a fun homage to the books to have 'ferret' be the insult of choice, and I love that you throw it in without calling too much attention to it :)

But anyway, I can see some potential for chemistry between Scorpius and Maddie. Am I getting ahead of myself if I already ship them?? Oh well, Maddius it is! For now anyway; it's still early on, so you probably have twists up your sleeve that I can't even anticipate yet :)

Terrence is precious :) I just want to give him a hug, especially because of the cowboy outfit! I'm a farm kid, so I see a lot of country boys decked out in boots and cowboy hats IRL. It was fun for me to see some of that flavor at Hogwarts, even if Terrence won't always be rocking that look. He's such a sweetheart and a fun addition to the chapter; great job with him!

I'm still loving Maddie. I can sympathize with her in this chapter; it's tough to be a misfit in school, and to have her situation on top of that? Brutal :( I'm glad you let her wallow and hide for a while, because that's realistic. But then she got out of bed and did the thing, which sets a great example! I'm looking forward to seeing how she handles the other challenges that will come her way from this point on.

Great chapter, Aimee, and great story! I hope you have a happy new year, and you'll be seeing me again next week with more gifts :) Keep up the awesome work!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Secret Santa :) i.

28th December 2014:
Ho ho ho, Aimee! It's your Secret Santa! Christmas has come and gone, but that doesn't have to stop me from gift-giving :)

I do love a good nextgen humor story, and this one has the makings of a super-addictive read. Plus Quidditch! I must admit I have a weakness for Quidditch-themed stories as well, so I was doubly glad to stumble across yours :) And you've put a unique twist on this theme by having a totally inexperienced "coach" in Maddie. I've never seen this particular premise before, and I'm excited to see how it goes!

I love Maddie already. Her "foot in mouth" disease is both endearing and dangerous; we've already seen how it can get her into trouble. You do a great job of showing us this trait in her dialogue, rather than simply telling us about it. Her interaction with Rogers in the great hall is one of my favorite parts of the chapter because it shows her sass so perfectly :)

And yet, even though she's overly sassy at times, I like that you let her awkwardness show at times, too. It's refreshing to see that Maddie isn't just super-confident all the time...in fact, trying to blend into the background seems to be the norm for her. Her hesitancy with Prof. Slater, and the fact that she wears all black all the time, show that Maddie has more depth than just the typical "loose cannon" character.She feels very real, with a multifaceted personality that is always great to see :)

Dominique seems like a great, down-to-earth friend for Maddie, and I can't wait to see what the rest of the supporting cast is like...especially the Quidditch team! I'll be back soon with another review, and I hope you enjoy this one in the meantime :) Great start!

 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderfan i.

11th December 2014:
Another review for the Hufflepuff Hot Seat :D

Oh dear. Madeleine has certainly gotten herself into a pickle. :P I can't even imagine. Picking out her own quidditch team as well as learning how to play. Never mind that she also has to, I don't know, do her school work in the meantime? I approve of her method of coping though. Blanket forts are the BEST.

I love her friendship with Dom. Even though Dom kind of chickened out about visiting Professor Slater, but it didn't really have much to do with her anyway. I like that she is supportive, but at the same time really puts Madeline in her place when she's getting too dramatic. ;)

Haha, I understand Madeleine's outrage that Professor Slater was laughing at her, but... I think I'd probably end up doing the same if I heard something like what Madeleine said! Ahahaah... she's so very serious about the whole thing.

Gah, I remember having sports practices at that hour and ajsfjsdlkjsdlk. I can understand her absolute dread. But on the bright side, the only people who will come to that will be people who are super dedicated to Quidditch - so that should work out in her favour!

I was pretty sure that I had a few streaks of smelly felt pen markings under my nose from continuously sniffing them. -- my childhood in a sentence. Also the glitter Dom and Maddie used... that will never go away. I'll be looking out for it to show up again in like, chapter 32. XD

Wow, they got into all of the common rooms! I'm really curious now whether the plan will work and Maddie will get some interested people who want to play Quidditch, or whether everyone in every house will be annoyed with her for the inevitable proliferation of glitter specks all over the common rooms. XD Awesome chapter!!

Author's Response: Sorry for the late reply! I've been super, duper swamped with RL issues!

Aren't they just the best? I would totally do what Madeleine did and just hide away in the common room, waiting for it all to blow over.

How did you even cope at doing any kind of physical activity at that hour?! I would be in physical pain at just waking up at that time!

Haha, thanks for a lovely review!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #13, by Moonyxluna ii.

11th December 2014:
Hehe, two chapters in a row and Maddie is introduced hiding in the dorms :p But I definitely didn't think of that! Instead of just keeping things between Gryffindors, she's now got the whole school involved in this :p

I really love Dominique and Maddie. They're such adorable best friends and they have that awesome push and pull a balanced friendship should have.

Ha, I love Hazel. Just take those awful stereotypes people give her and ROCK THEM SWEETHEART♥ - and yay for bisexual characters :D

Terrence was adorable, too. I really like how Maddie is snarky and sarcastic, but so far she doesn't have bad things to say about these two outsider people. She seems like she's generally a good person.

Lol, Maddie just volunteers herself for the Seeker position :p

The tryouts were hilarious. I was definitely cheering for all of the same people Maddie was cheering for, and am super excited to see what happens now that she has - most - of her team put together.

This was adorable, and super funny. I am excited for more!

Julie

Author's Response: Hello again, Julie!

Haha, I never even noticed that! I read what you said and went back over the first two chapters and realised, she hides away in the common room in both chapters! I didn't even mean to do that intentionally.

Hazel is like my spirit-animal, I swear. She's so sassy, I just love her to pieces and she's such an interesting character to write as well. Mainly because she isn't afraid to accept and flaunt her stereotypes as if it doesn't bother her!

The try-outs were so much fun to write! Especially when Scorp stormed off, haha! :)

Next chapter should be out soon!

~Aimee xxx

P.S. super glad you're enjoying it!


 Report Review

Review #14, by ScoroseOTP i.

11th December 2014:
Hey Aimee!
I'm here for the Hufflepuff hot seat!
I hope you're enjoying all the reviews I'm sure you're getting!

I really love this to be honest!
I simply love the idea of this situation a chance for the little guys to stand up to the big ones!

For all her flaws, I really love Maddie she seems like my kind of girl. She's got big problems with controlling what she says but I kind of like that. I know a lot people who are the same! Being melodramatic isn't always a bad thing and I think they make really interesting characters. She seems genuinely nice though, so that's wonderful! And a little childish actually which is great, I'm love smelly felt tips and forts too, I mean who doesn't?

Dom also seems like a really good friend. Most of the time I find that Dom is awesome at Qudditch in other Fics, so it's nice to see that she doesn't really know what she's doing either! She seems like a lot of fun too, and really helpful and logical which you don't always see either.

I love the fact that Professor Slater laughed, that was a nice touch and really intrigues me to how good these guys actually are! I'm looking forward to seeing how this unfolds!

Well done on a great opening chapter!

ScoroseOTP
Emz xxx

Author's Response: Hey Emz!

(I definitely am enjoying these reviews that I'm getting, they've all been lovely!)

I love Maddie as well, she seems like someone who doesn't take herself too seriously and because I've been writing quite a serious character in My (Fake) wedding, I thought it would be a nice change to write a fun story! :D

Yeah, I noticed Dom always seemed to be on the Quidditch teams in other Fics (and there's nothing wrong with that, I quite like those fics as well) but I thought it would be cool to not have her know how to play Quidditch.

Thank you so much for a lovely, lengthy review :) It's cheered me up majorly!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #15, by Moonyxluna i.

10th December 2014:
Hufflepuff hot seat!! :D

I love this right from the introduction :D First off, Madeleine is such a pretty name for an OC. And I love the idea! I feel like in a little bit of a way sports spectators are like that (certainly the customers at my work...) where they always think they can do things better, even though it takes training and skill, and I love that you've worked that into this story.

Maddie and Dominique's friendship so far is really adorable. I like Dominique here so far, and Maddie as well. It feels like I know them already despite only reading half of the chapter.

Moving on!

Ah, I love the referee/Quidditch teacher! I got a good laugh out of him laughing in Maddie's face before realizing she was serious. Serves her right, she didn't even know he existed!! haha.

finally the third year who had been hurriedly trying to finish his homework gave up with a cry of exhaustion and slumped up the boy's stairs -- I feel so bad but I am laughing hysterically at this right now.

I think it's kind of hilarious that it's that easy to break into the Ravenclaw common room :p

This was a really lovely introduction. I really want to read more of this story, and am definitely adding it to my favorites and will be stalking it for updates. But for now, on to chapter two!

Julie

Author's Response: Hey there Julie! :)

*first off, congrats again for featured story for December! :hugs:*

Thank you so much, I really like the name Madeleine as well. I've always liked the name and thought it would be an appropriate name for my OC :) Exactly! I think I subconsciously got the idea from my Dad whilst he was watching a rugby match on TV and was shouting about how he could do a better job, haha!

I love Dom and Maddie's friendship too, I was worried that it would seem kind of one-sided with Dom being the one who would push Maddie to do things but I guess it's always good to have that kind of friend :) And people haven't pointed out anything wrong with the relationship between the two so I guess it's alright!

Haha, glad that you liked it and I got one more person interested! I'm in the middle of writing the third chapter so hopefully it should be out soon! :)

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #16, by The_Crookshanks_Saga ii.

13th November 2014:
Dude, this is a great start! If all the other chapters had been posted, I definitely would continue reading- so please, keep writing! And can I just say? Harvey's got her work cut out for her, I really hope she wins.

-Meena

Author's Response: Thank you so much, darl! :) And I definitely am continuing with this story, I'm excited about the characters that are going to be written into the story in more depth later :D

And you'll have to wait and find out in later chapters :)

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #17, by happyanon ii.

12th November 2014:
Hi it's me!! Happyanon! Haha well well. I have been secretly monitoring this fanfic. Well monitoring as in trying very hard to restrain myself and not read it for the obvious reasons that it only has like 2 chapters in but today is not the day for self discipline for me. I have some questions. First is, how did maddie become friends with scorp? Or did you mention the how and i just cant remember it? Next, uh is this like a fanfic that will mostly rotate around quidditch and no love line anywhere? Another, do you promise to write more chapters on this in the days to come? Also can I just say, I love the rejects already. Just the thought of the twins terrifying Maddie, I love Daisy and Daniel already. And don't even get me started on Hazel. I meam sure she's man eater or something but dang that confidence tho and talent, i adore her. Im sure she has a pretty interesting personality and a ravenclaw, brains. Its always interesting characters like Hazel, a beauty with brains and confidence but has a certain reputation. Also very curious about which house the others belong.? Definitely wanna know more about the Rejects and their progress. Hope you update this too. It seems like a fun and wonderful fic. Xoxo

Author's Response: Hello there! :)

To answer your questions;
1) Maddie isn't really friends with Scorp, they interacted one time and it didn't bode well. Hence calling him an albino ferret.

2) It will mostly revolve around Quidditch yes but it will have a few love-plots intermingled with it :D Because it's about how Maddie is going to deal with the bet she now has to go through with.

3) Yes of course, I promise! I really like writing about this story because it's quite humourous :) And I love the characters already even though it's only 2 chapters in.

And I really love the characters as well, they all seem to have some sort of defining characteristic :) which was the whole point of the story, I definitely wanted to create a story where everyone is known for one thing or another!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #18, by Anni ii.

6th November 2014:
Love this chapter!! I love the new characters introduced to be on the team and can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! I really enjoy these characters as well, I can't wait to write about them some more :)
And I'm in the midst of writing the next chapter but my other novel takes priority so it might not be out for a while yet :D

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #19, by allpz i.

16th September 2014:
hi!! i really liked this first chapter, and im looking forward to the next!!
xx

Author's Response: Howdy!
Glad that you're enjoying it and the next chapter should be out eventually, just working on finished my other novel and then my short story for a challenge first :D
~Aimee xxx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login