Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for How to Fly
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PaulaTheProkaryote How to Fly

23rd September 2016:
Hello! :D

The opening line in and of itself is quite impressive. "Iíve ridden on the back of a thestral, a hippogriff, a dragon." Those are feats that most people in the wizarding community would never ever complete (even individually). Having this massive, singularly amazing list of things that have been done and comparing it to the fairly mundane task of having a child really and truly highlights how wondrous having her is. It was a very well written introduction! It's also a funny thought of imagining anything intimidating Hermione Jean Granger. I bet she read every single book there was about having a child before having Rose and then BAM there she was and there was still this sense of what in the world am I supposed to do? I love it.

I've already discussed all that I like about the birth scene, but I really like the line you wrote where the responsibility was weighing on her like the floorboards creaking beneath Hagrid. That imagery was such a nice addition to the story.

Then we have the flying scene. I like both Hermione's hesitation and the idea of Rose wanting to surprise her father when he came back. That was such a good bonding moment (even though I'm sure they've always been close by the sound of the story).

Finally we are stuck with the moment that I think every parent dreads, saying goodbye, even temporarily, to her baby. I like the list that she's fixated on because it's something my own mom would do. Check and recheck endlessly to make herself feel at least a little more in control in the face of the anxiety.

Overall, this was a very beautifully written piece of sweet fluffiness and I desperately enjoyed reading it! The flow and dialogue were both incredibly smooth and your characterization of Hermione and Rose were absolutely delightful. Each of the scenes you gave us did such a wonderful job of demonstrating 1. Hermione's love for her family and 2. How terrifying but amazing being a parent is.

 Report Review

Review #2, by ravenclaw_princess How to Fly

7th November 2015:
Hello. Here for BvB

I like reading 500 word pieces as it's interesting to see how much can be conveyed in such a small word count.

I really enjoyed this piece. You picked three key moments in Hermione's life where motherly 'fear' take over. Hermione has gone through so much in her life, but nothing can quite compare to taking your first child home. This is such an emotional time, full of so much love but also so much anxiety.

I like the repetition of "Iíve ridden on the back of a thestral, a hippogriff, a dragon" as it links every part of the story together. It also shows that for as much as Hermione has done in her life and how brave she has had to be, there are parts of being a mother that instill a different sort of fear in you.

It was pretty sweet, Hermione and Rose flying.Flying is probably one of the only thing that Hermione wasn't good at and it's so cool to see her overcoming this fear for her daughter.

It must be hard to see your child off to school for the first time, knowing you want see them for months. For the first time, Hermione has to step back and allow Rose to stand on her own two feet. It's something every parent must do, and all you can do is hope for the best and trust that they have listened to your teaching.

This was a very lovely story. Beautiful work.

Jacqui

Author's Response: Hi there Jacqui!

I'm sorry it's taken me so long to reply to this, but I still get giddy every time I read this review.

I'm so happy you liked this story. It really came from the heart and I found out how much I love writing Hermione. I agree about Hermione. She wasn't very good at flying and decided she didn't like it. But moms always do things they're uncomfortable with for their kids, so Hermione is willing to try for Rose.

Thanks so much for this lovely review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #3, by Unicorn_Charm How to Fly

21st August 2015:
Hey Beth!! I'm here with that review I promised last week. I have no other excuse for my tardiness other than, I am the Queen of Procrastination Nation. :p

Now, time to gush.

THIS WAS THE CUTEST THING EVER AND I LOVED IT SO MUCH AND YOU ARE JUST SO BRILLIANT AND I'M FILLED WITH ALL SORTS OF WARM FEELS!!

Yikes, sorry about that! But seriously, this was fantastic! In so little words you've conveyed so much emotion and love and just all around fuzzy, fluffy goodness! My heart is completely melted.

I loved her anxiety and worry about how was she going to take care of her baby. I don't have any children, but I imagine it must be such an overwhelming feeling of love, confusion and down right terror. And I felt it. I felt how Hermione was feeling. And the little touch of how she had her father's eyes, but her fingers... Gah! It was so sweet!

The two of them learning to fly together was just so lovely. It's funny to imagine a fully grown Hermione attempting to learn to fly - the one thing she just was not good at, with her small daughter cheering her on. And then again with how she looked like her father, and how that seems to be a thing that calms Hermione. Again. My heart!

And this ending! Beth! I was tearing up it was so sweet! The worry that she had for Rose going off to Hogwarts and Rose being the voice of reason. She was such a lovely mixture of Ron and Hermione. I can't imagine how hard it must be for a parent to have their child leave for that many months. But Rose was right, she would be fine.

The repeated line through this was fantastic. It added so much to the story and I really can't tell you how much I seriously loved it. It was like her mantra. It was great!

I am continually blown away by everything you write. Your talent is simply amazing and you should be truly proud of every last word you write. Such great, great work Beth!! Thank you so much for sharing!! ♥

Tons of love,
Meg

Author's Response: Meg!

Oh my goodness - you are so incredibly sweet and I'm so, so happy you picked this story :D

Haha - yes, having kids is daunting at first, but you figure most of it out - all the same, there is always this nagging feeling that you're messing it up somehow...

I picked flying because it was one thing that Hermione was *clearly* not good at. She always liked to do her learning from books. And things like flying - and parenting have to be done with your intuition. Hermione is definitely out of her comfort zone with things she can't read about, she is much better than she gives herself credit.

Oh, Meg - thank you so much. I'm so happy you like my stories and your reviews are too, too sweet!

Thanks!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by Mrs. Claus How to Fly

30th July 2015:
Mrs. Claus here, giving out gifts for Christmas in July for all the good boys and girls on this site!

Children are such a eye opening experience, and you captured that perfectly here. Hermione was always a fairly serious child, an only child to boot. I'm sure she had a lot of doubts when learning she was going to have a kid. Some things, after all, you can't study for or learn by reading a book, no matter how many parent manuals try and convince you otherwise...

But Hermione didn't have to worry all that much after all. Her daughter is a very bright young lady, and I'm sure she'll be hearing a lot of good things about Rose when she gets to Hogwarts. That is, as long as she doesn't get into as much trouble as the trio did.

A wonderful story, but now I must be off. Watch the forums, the unveiling comes the first of August. In the meantime, it seems like my transportation has wandered off. Oh dear me...Comet, that troublesome reindeer.

Author's Response: Hi there Mrs. Claus,

I've waited so long to reply to this that I know your identity is no longer a secret! So thanks, KAT!

And YES! You've perfectly got Hermione. I'm sure she TRIED to read up on parenting quite a bit, but there just isn't a book to give you everything you need to know.

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by randomwriter How to Fly

16th July 2015:
Hello Beth ♥ I know I'm here far too late, but in between waiting for Curie and managing my hectic schedule, I've had little time. Still, I know that no excuse is acceptable. Sorry :(

Onto the review... where do I even start? This may be a short one, but it's jampacked with so much meaning and feels... I can't even begin to express how impressed I am that you managed to convey all of this in so few words. It's a skill I envy you for. And yes, it may not be lengthy, but you certainly got all the emotions spot on.

I love that you chose to write about Rose and Hermione. Mother-daughter relationships are so rarely explored in fanfiction, and this made me especially happy. Also, you've chosen a couple of personal favourites ;) So yay!

I love the structure of this. It's so repetitive, but in a unique manner. Each time you repeat that beautiful line (Iíve ridden on the back of a thestral, a hippogriff, a dragon.), there's something different about Rose, and the relationship she and Hermione share. It's almost like this thought enters her mind every time something crucial is happening in a new stage of her daughter's life, if that makes sense. It also shows how their relationship develops.

The premise of the story itself is extremely sweet :) I was smiling throughout. I also enjoyed your characterisation, and your constant references to how Rose is the perfect mix of both her parents.

Your writing in this piece is lovely. It's so simple, and yet you manage to convey every single emotion so well. It's simply beautiful, and I'm still in awe of how you managed that. I also think that the simple nature of the writing fits really well into the context of it being a mother-daughter story.

My favourite parts include the bit where you mentioned how Hermione taught (but really learnt long with) Rose to fly, and the last bit. Those two lines in end are pure genius.

Really, really enjoyed this, Beth ♥ Good work!

Author's Response: Hiya!

Aww, thank soo much for this review! I think the best part of the Gift-It challenge (for me, at least) was that the person I gifted this to was so incredibly honored and surprised by it. Also, I never wrote anything *for* anyone before, so it was special for me too. And if I'm being totally honest, I also wrote this story for my own children a bit as well - at least they were some of the inspiration that I drew from to write it.

I can't tell you what a lovely surprise it was to wake up this morning and see this review! Thank you so much - I really, really enjoyed writing this story and I also love to hear how people feel about it when they read it.

Thanks!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by CassiePotter How to Fly

12th June 2015:
Hello!
This was such a beautiful story. It was short, and you also kept it very simple, but you were also able to pack a ton of emotion into it. I loved the way you talked about the different features that Rose got from Hermione and Ron. It was such a nice touch that let me get such a clear picture of Rose through only a few details. I also thought the way you repeated the phrase I've ridden on the back of a thestral, a hippogriff, a dragon was a lovely way of tying the different sections of this story together. Overall this was a really sweet story, and I really enjoyed it!
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Cassie,

Thank you so much for this lovely review. I feel like you're the "Queen of Fluff" on the site with all your wonderful happy, moving stories, so I take it as a great compliment that you liked this!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by SunshineDaisies How to Fly

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

I definitely did not just tear up at all. Not at all. Definitely not.

This was so beautiful, speaking of the actual words and of the content. Familial relationships aren't written about nearly often enough, especially not mother/daughter relationships, and reading this absolutely touched my heart. It was a really, really sweet look into a parental relationship, and a great way to show that you really can learn things from each other at any age.

I loved the flow of this so much. The repetition was so effective and wonderful and it just made the piece absolutely delightful to read.

"Iíve ridden on the back of a thestral, a hippogriff, a dragon."

That is such a beautiful line, and a perfect motto for Hermione! I loved the way she repeated it to herself over and over again, and how at the end you changed it just slightly. The strong ending made the whole piece that much more powerful.

The whole thing was just so amazing.

Fantastic job! :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

Yeah... I definitely didn't tear up when I wrote this.

Nope.

Haha. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I feel like a lot of my more recent stuff is dramatic and angsty, it's nice to have a little mother/daughter fluff.

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by LadyL8 How to Fly

12th June 2015:
Hi There, Beth. I'm here for the House Cup, as you could probably have guessed on your own :P

Wow. This was beautiful. I liked the start with her explaining the times she's literarly been flying, but then going to the more symbolic meaning (though perhaps a little bit literal as well, seeing as she's learning how to fly in one of those parts). I like how you captured Hermione and her mindset, and I think you did her justice. I don't know what it's like to me a mother, but I always try to imagine. And what I imagine is pretty close to what you describe, so I'll say it's very believable both plot-wise but also for Hermione as a character. I like the poetic feel to it, and the ending is very beautiful with the - 'you taught me how to fly'. It was a nice way of ending it, and I wish I could say a lot more about this story but I can't leave long reviews when it's the HC. Hope you understand I loved it, and that I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

Hugs

Lotte

House Cup 2015 - Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Hi there Lotte,

Thanks so much for this - and don't worry about the length! It's the House Cup and reviewing is a THING! Also - the story was only 500 words, so there's only so much you can say about it - haha!

I am a mother and I did draw on a lot of my experiences when I wrote this. There's so much to learn from your kids!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by Dojh167 How to Fly

4th June 2015:
Aww, this was so lovely!

I really enjoyed your poetic rhythm in this piece. What really made it flow for me was the tying in of the "your _ which were his and _ which were mine." It was very simple and really brought things together.

I love your deliberate switch of tense for the final section. It really grounds the story in that moment, and informs on the mindset Hermione was in while thinking those things.

I thought that the added spaces before the last two lines was confusing. It seemed like the story was over, and being so far down those lines looked like they were part of the A/N. The lines do a good job of closing the story up, but need to be better incorporated into the text.

For some reason I read the child as a boy, even though I know Rose is the older child. I guess I should have picked up on that pink blanket clue.

Lovely job!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Gah - thanks so much for this review. And yay! You noticed the tense change. I did do that deliberately to kind of denote where they were in their journey.

Thanks for the comment about the lines. I noticed that there were way more spaces that I wanted. I think it was because I was using the advanced editor. I did want ONE more space for dramatic effect, but you're right - there's too many.

Thanks again for the review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by Shawn and Gus How to Fly

1st June 2015:
The spirits have brought me here to this final story, Bethera! Now, just in case you've forgotten, I'm Psychic Detective Shawn Spencer and this is my partner, Kanye Wes-

Yo, Shawn, I'm gonna let you finish.

...t.

Right on.

To the review, Yeezy!

Whaaat! Beth. You have the most incredible ability to say so much with so little. You're one of those authors who chooses every word precisely, who doesn't waste any detail. It makes all of your stories memorable. What's more than that is the topics you choose to write about and how impactful even some of the simpler things can be. This 500 word tale of a mother and daughter and their relationship through the years is simple, yes, but beautiful and powerful, too. And that last line packs such a punch, it made my heart clench. Your characterizations could not have been more spot on, either. I didn't look to see which characters were in this story before I opened up, but even so, I knew you were talking about Hermione and Rose (and touched on Ron, too) just from the way you wrote them. There's nothing better than reading an author who understands the characters that we've come to love and can do them justice. This story shines. You're just phenomenally talented. What else can I say?

You could try the Pluto line again?

Shut up, Shawn!

That's fair.

...

Gus? Are you pouting? Are you grumps? You seem grumps. Who's grumps?

...

Gus? Ggguuusss... Gus! Don't be Neville Longbottom before he hit puberty.

Can you just be mature for two seconds?

I'm not inclined to resign to maturity. You know that. So suck it.

You suck it!

No, you suck it!

Suck i-i-i-ittt.
Suck i-i-i-ittt.

Well, Beth, that's everything! So I guess it's back to Santa Barbara for us.

Santa Babs.

She's our Babs.

Good old Babs.

But first let's stop for pineapple smoothies.

I hear that.

Peace, Beth!

See ya!

Author's Response: Shawn and Gus,

I'm STILL laughing at each and every one of these reviews.

Every. Single. Time.

Bethera. I can't even with this.

Yay! I'm glad you liked this story - I really had a blast writing it. Although it's dedicated to Sarah, I really drew on my own experience with motherhood on this one. I had no idea how little I knew until I had kids - haha!

Your reviews totally make me feel completely un-grumps on days that I'm a little grumps.

So thank you - from the bottom of my pineapple.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by potterhead How to Fly

23rd March 2015:
it was so gud amazin

Author's Response: Thank you! This story was fun to write!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by BellaLestrange87 How to Fly

7th March 2015:
This is for the Blue vs Bronze review battle!

Hi Beth! This was really cute and nice and fluffy and *writes rest of review with happy smile plastered on face*

I love your characterization of Hermione and all the little details you added in about parenting Rose with Ron. The comparisons between Rose and Ron were really cute and gave Rose a lot of personality.

I love how Hermione tried to put off Rose's request for flying lessons until Ron could teach her himself. In the books, I don't think it's ever mentioned whether or not Hermione actually managed to fly on a broom. I liked how you mentioned that they fell off over and over but were still determined to learn (even if only to see the look of surprise on Ron's face when he came home to see them flying around on brooms).

I love how you repeated "Iíve ridden on the back of a thestral, a hippogriff, a dragon. But youíve taught me how to fly." several times. I think it really helped tie the three parts together, as well as show how close Rose and Hermione were.

I really enjoyed this one-shot. One thing I can't help wondering is if this ties into Actions Speak Louder Than Words. If it does, it provides a (sort of sad) contrast between how happy Rose is here and how panicked she is at the start of ASLTW when Stannous is after her and she can't tell where he's going to be next.

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hi there Olivia,

I've taken far to long to respond to this - I'm so sorry! And thank you so much for this lovely review! I did have a good time writing this story.

Actually, this one doesn't tie into ASLTW, although I can't think of a reason why it doesn't. You've brought up a good point. It does seem to lead right up until the point where everything started to go south for Rose and the Weasleys.

Thanks again for your kind words. I love getting your reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap How to Fly

1st February 2015:
Oh wow! After reading your Lily story I wanted a little bit something more. I'm a bit of a review hog you see. Once I read one story that I like from an author I have to read the next and the next...and...well...you might not be able to get rid of me.

WOW! In so very little words I was able to feel so much. This story was cute but I think because I have a niece and twin nephews anything about parenthood and children gets me these days. I feel like they're mine and I remember that moment of being in the hospital and holding my niece for the first time and not knowing how the heck was I supposed to care for this little bean. I didn't even know how to hold her to honest with you. I was scared out of my wits end and that's what I got from the first portion of the story. The pure excitement and worry of seeing your baby for the first time and thinking:

WOW.

And then.

WOW-WHAT-DID-I-GET-MYSELF-INTO

The broom part was a sweet touch but it was the ending I liked the most. The reassurance between parent and child because that's what tends to happen as we grow older. We learn that it's not only them that take care of us, but we must take care of them.

And the last line:

But youíve taught me how to fly.

^ Beautiful.

Author's Response: Hello again!

Wow! This review is so sweet! I'm so happy that I was able to touch on so many emotions for you. I really wrote this from the heart. It was a gift for a dear friend on this site who really helped me to find my feet.

Also - I am a mom of three, so I was able to write this with a fair bit of personal perspective. Haha - I remember leaving the hospital with my first child and I wanted to scream at the nurse, "You don't even KNOW me! How do you know I'm not gonna mess this up?!"

But we all figure it out pretty quickly (as I'm sure you've learned with your niece and nephews).

I really enjoyed writing this from Hermione's perspective. Harry and Ron always relied on her to know everything, it was refreshing to explore her personality when she was a bit outside of her world of books and spells. :)

I really don't know how to properly thank you for these awesome reviews, other than to say: THANK YOU!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by Super Santa How to Fly

1st January 2015:
Hello, hello! Santa here with some last minute gifts before I leave for a year long nap :)

This was such a beautifull little story, so well written and (hint hint!) it felt just so true and close to how I feel toward my own daughter. Just yesterday, I was reminded of just how much like her father she is and it pushed me into exploring activities that I do not usually do, just to make her happy.

I think the fact that you really managed to convey the emotions through with so little words is a great accomplishment. I was reminded of the fears of the unknown, the trials and small victories that come with experiencing life together with this little piece of pure love.

Great writting and very well executed!

Author's Response: Hi there Super Santa!

Gosh - thanks so much for all of these reviews I'm so excited that you felt connected to this story. I really enjoyed writing it. And I'm glad that it hit upon all the right points - it did for me too - √ʬô¬•!



 Report Review

Review #15, by BookDinosaur How to Fly

6th December 2014:
BvB Review Battle!

Oh gosh, this is so adorable, Beth! So so cute, oh my word.

The whole story you've got here is so simple, and the way that it's written reflects that so well, it's a simple story at heart, and the way that you tell the story and create the atmosphere of it is really, really perfect. The whole thing flows so beautifully, and I think you managed to capture a lot in just 500 words. I know how hard that is, major kudos to you for that! ♥

Your characterisation of Hermione is great, the way that she's been through so much and yet she is still vulnerable like the rest of us puny mortals (ha ha. I kid, mostly). She obviously has a really close relationship with Rose and the way you bring that to us - you never say 'we were really close', you use the show-don't-tell method brilliantly here. And Rose as well; while there isn't much you can elaborate on in 500 words, you've done a really fantastic job of capturing little flickers of Ron's personality and tiny bits of Hermione's personality and blending them together and I can see Ron and Hermione in Rose, but it's also clear that she's her own person, if that makes sense? You did a fantastic job with her characterisation and Hermione's in only 500 words, and their interactions are precious, major props to you for pulling that off so well!

I also really like the repetition of the phrase Iíve ridden on the back of a thestral, a hippogriff, a dragon, and the punch to the feels again where she says But you've taught me how to fly. It was so powerful and such a tribute to motherhood - it was amazing.

This is a beautiful, beautiful oneshot Beth, and I'm really glad that I picked this off your page! ♥

Author's Response: Hiya Emily!

I'm so glad you picked this one too! I really enjoyed writing it. It was my first attempt at keeping my word count to a minimum - and it was not easy at first, but I got the hang of it (I hope!)

So, I am a Mom and that part was easier to write, but I'm so glad you noticed how I put little pieces of Ron into Rose as well. It is really awesome to see parts of the person you love so much come through in a brand new person that you love just as much ♥ - Sorry! I'm not really this gushy in a review response.

Your review was just so awesome and I was so excited to see that you liked this story. Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by Roisin How to Fly

27th October 2014:
AW! This really is very incredibly sweet

Author's Response: Hey - thanks so much! And thanks for taking the time to PM me the rest of your review. I'm so glad that you liked it!

Let's just say I have a couple years under my belt in the "mom" department and one of the things that always blows me away is the amount of things I learn from my kids - haha! I also thought that Hermione would be equally as shocked by this!

Thanks again!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #17, by 800 words of heaven How to Fly

3rd October 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

So. Cute. Like oh me gee I am flailing on the floor not sure what to do with myself I have so many feelings.

You managed to convey so much in so few words and that's just really awesome. You never mention a name but I was imagining Hermione and Rose here. I'm not sure if it's in the story description or not, so this might not even be really awesome detective skills at work, but just so you know, I didn't read that, so I'm guessing on your writing alone (which is amazing, if I haven't made that abundantly clear yet).

Lovely work! Really made my Friday night :)

Author's Response: Hey!

Glad you liked this story. I wanted to convey a lot of feeling, but not with anything to heavy or depressing. I'm totally grinning from ear to ear while reading this review. It is Rose and Hermione and I think I did put that in the story description, but I intentionally didn't mention their names in the story itself - good job figuring it out!

So happy I made your Friday night!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by GingeredTea How to Fly

3rd October 2014:
This was perhaps the sweetest one-shot I have ever read! Ahh, adorable! I loved your repetition of the one phrase. Perfect!

Okay, so I don't think this counts as enough of a review - I'm gonna go stop by another one as well. :)

Author's Response: Hey there!

So glad you liked this ♥. I really enjoyed writing it!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by wolfgirl17 How to Fly

16th September 2014:
Hey,
I can see just form this story why you've been nominated as the Best New Author by so many. You're work is wonderful and I love with story. Absolutely wonderful as you captured the trials and stresses of motherhood perfectly and with such a lovely metaphor. You even had me tearing up a little.
Keep up the good work. I look forward to much more from you.
xx-Wolfgirl17

Author's Response: Hiya!

I'm just a pile of goo over these totally unexpected reviews. They are SO sweet! I'm really glad you enjoyed these stories.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by crestwood How to Fly

12th September 2014:
Beth!! This story!

The repetition of 'I've ridden on the back of a thestral, a hippogriff, a dragon' worked in so MANY different ways. And now I've noticed that you talked about muddling through the first few days of both when she was first brought him and when she first started teaching her to fly, this is too much! And she taught her things and she's just like her father and everything is so perfect about this.

AND then the ending is like releasing all of the emotions that have been building up and it's perfect. It's almost like an emotional punchline - like the rest of this was building up until that point. I was waiting for it without even realizing that it was coming.

How did you manage to do all of this in 500 words! I'm bewildered and I'm impressed and I can't even believe this. You're so ridiculously talented, wow. Thank you for this swap. I am so glad I read this.

Author's Response: Hiya!

This review.

Oh wow. It was just so sweet. I didn't think you'd pick this story, but I was so glad you did! ♥ I am fairly proud of it and I love getting feedback. I love the phrase "emotional punchline." I think you should trademark that.

Thanks again for this lovely review. It made my night!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #21, by Panda Weasley  How to Fly

8th September 2014:
YAY a new story! I love this! I love the way you portrayed the mother/daughter relationship between Hermione and Rose. It's really sweet and I can tell from your story that they were really close. I loved all of the creative imagery you had in the story I think my favorite though is "The responsibility weighed on my chest like the floorboards creaking beneath Hagridís feet.". I get such a vivid image from that sentence, and it's so creative too!

I do have a one small suggestion though. I like that you repeat the sentence "Iíve ridden on the back of a thestral, a hippogriff, a dragon." a lot but at the same time I feel like Hermione's done so many brave things that these shouldn't be the only brave things mentioned. I get that the theme is flying but I feel like she's done so many more things those three wouldn't be the main ones she thought of. Just a small suggestion.

I love this one shot a lot, you have a real talent for writing! Excellent work!
~Panda

Author's Response: Hi Panda!

Thanks for reviewing this story. I'm so glad you liked it. I agree that Hermione has done some pretty amazing things in her life, but I chose to focus on those few to keep a theme with the story. My goal was to also write for the "Every Word Counts" challenge, so I only had 500 words! Perhaps I'll write another one with some of Hermione's other accomplishments!

Thanks again, Panda!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by academica How to Fly

3rd September 2014:
Hi there, here for this month's Claw Battle!

This was so beautiful in its simplicity. I think you've struck at the heart of what it means to be a first-time mother. I don't think any of us really feel prepared for that, but you learn along the way, I suppose. (Very excited and nervous about one day having my own children.)

Anyway, your characterization is great. It's nice to get inside Hermione's head and finally have that confirmation that she doesn't always feel confident about what she's doing. You can see the little bits of both her and Ron in young Rose, and you can also see her learning a little something new, even from a tiny eleven-year-old.

Great job, I thoroughly enjoyed it :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda,

I was so excited to see you picked this story!

Haha - I don't think ANYONE can be prepared for motherhood and I think Hermione would find it especially unnerving because she likes to KNOW things.

But Hermione also likes to LEARN things and, she's realized that if she just steps back for a moment, she can learn a great deal from her daughter.

Thanks again for this super sweet review!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by TheButterflyComposer How to Fly

2nd September 2014:
I really like this. It's a nice little one shot that tells a story in very few words. Emotional, clever and descriptive, in short, a good little story to read.

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks so much for this review. I'm glad you like this story. It was fun to write.

Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by Chazzie How to Fly

30th August 2014:
That was beautiful. Absolutely gorgeous. I mean, how do you manage to write so many feelings into so few words? I loved that repetition of 'I've ridden on the back of a thestral, a hippogriff, a dragon' and then the way the emphasis changes right at the end. It was really cute to read about Hermione with a young Rose, I haven't seen all to many fics with this focus. I usually find that Harry and either James or Albus are more popular, so this was a really brilliant change for me. Your characterisation was brilliant, you really captured Hermione, insecurities and all. Rose was adorable, and just their overall interaction seemed to make me feel all warm inside. Super job with this!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie,

Gosh, this review was so sweet. I'm so warmed by how kind this was. I really liked writing Hermione - it was my first story with her as anything more than a minor character and it surprises me every time I write someone knew, but I learned a lot about her while I was writing this. We only get to see her from Harry's POV in the books, and she comes off as really calm and confident, but I think that was mostly how she was on the outside.

Gah - thanks again for this. I was so excited to see this review!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #25, by Aphoride How to Fly

27th August 2014:
Hey! Dropping by from review tag!

You know, it's kinda bad but I saw this in the Gift It Challenge thread, read it but never reviewed. It's such a gorgeous little story, though, that I thought I'd come back to review it properly :)

I love how it's Hermione and Rose and a parent learning from their children. You don't often see that in any kind of fiction, fan or not, so it's such a lovely thing to include. Plus, it's Hermione so the idea of her always learning, and learning from her children is so, so well suited. Like, it makes perfect sense.

I loved the way you wrote Hermione - you wrote her so well. Like I said, the idea of her always learning is so in-character for her, but it's more than that. It's the little bits too - that she doesn't really like flying, that she can't refuse Rose, that she sees both herself and Ron in Rose, physically and personality-wise, and how she, in the end, just loves Rose so much and ends up growing as a person because of the experiences. It's just such a genuinely sweet idea... and I'm not usually one for fluff/sweet sorts of things :P

The length is so perfect. Honestly. Nothing in this feels too bare or extraneous - the simplicity of it really emphasises the emotions and the feeling and the relationship Rose and Hermione have. It allows the ideas and the meaning behind it to really come forward, and it's lovely.

So yeah, it's gorgeous. I'm sorry this is so short, but I'm not sure how much longer I can repeat 'this is gorgeous' before my fingers stiffen up a bit (it's cold here!) :P

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hiya Aph!

Wow. I don't think this review was short at ALL! The story was only 500 words, so I think this completely sweet and lovely review was just perfect.

Thanks so much! I'm grinning while writing this because I'm so glad you felt all those things when reading it. You picked up on EVERYTHING I was trying to put into the story: Hermione is a lifelong learner, she sees herself AND Ron within parts of Rose, the way she grows from her experiences with her child. Thanks so much!

Thanks for making my day with this review!

Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>