Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Worthy
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Rose

19th April 2017:
I am actually blushing.

I feel like I have read about such an intimate and private moment I should have exited the story. But it was so lovely I'm glad I did not. What can I say? It was
Completely relatable. I needed to hear Scorpius call her beautiful more for my own sake than hers. No matter how old I get I get self conscious and nervous when I'm with a guy. I'm fat. I'm bloated. I'm gross. It's amazing how many negative words you can think of when the person that's with you is thinking the exact opposite. Or at least you're hoping he's thinking the exact opposite.

I appreciate that you focused on Rose and her feelings and less about Scorpius and what he thought. I think it could have been easy to have her pinpoint and obsess over the positive things he said. Yes, she did melt over them and it calmed her fears even just for a little while but I like that the story was more about her empowering herself. That's how I read it anyway. It wouldn't have been as sensual if she didn't accept herself.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dojh167 Rose

6th November 2016:


I love.

I kind of feel like you've done another scene like this lately. Am I wrong?

 Report Review

Review #3, by Dinthemidwest Rose

29th May 2016:
It's always good to have some well-written fluff!! You did a great job on both Rose & Scorpius. Everyone's been there with these thoughts & insecurities in their heads at one point or another, & to see both characters with doubts made them both quite real. 10/10!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Rose

14th December 2015:
THIS. THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE STORIES I'VE EVER READ. AND IT'S GOING IN MY FAVORITES RIGHT NOW.

I just LOVE how you've got REAL people here. People who aren't always so sure of themselves and comfortable with their bodies - that's REAL. I LOVED how Rose had to struggle to overcome her insecurities, because SO MANY people deal with insecurities, but they never get mentioned in fic - they're just swept aside, and the main problem becomes someone's love interest is with someone else, etc.

But here, you have highlighted that and it's just PERFECT. ♥ Seriously, I love this SO MUCH, you are SO talented!! *hug*

Author's Response: THIS. THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE REVIEWS I'VE EVER READ.

... Sorry, I couldn't resist. :P Besides, it really is a completely lovely review!

You know, it's funny, you are not the first to say that this issue isn't addressed much in fic. Unsurprisingly (I mean, you know me) my RL self is much like Rose is in this story, and in my head this story seemed so cliche and overdone. It's really interesting to me that others respond saying this issue isn't done enough!

Anyway, I'm glad you liked it and thank you so much for the squee-worthy review and incredibly kind words!

love you dear!


 Report Review

Review #5, by ScorpiusRose17 Rose

17th September 2015:
Hi Renee!

I am here again with another Challenge award review for you! :)

I was honestly unsure of this One-shot when I began reading it. I have read so many ScoRose stories my mind is almost always tainted with exactly what I like and doesn't sway much from that opinion, but with this I was pleasantly surprised. Surprised with the way you took Rose and made her different from what I picture and have read. You made her...Real.

A real girl with real issues and one that I think that all of us can relate to at some point in our lives. I don't think I have ever connected with a character as much as I did with your Rose because I know those feelings. I know those images. I've had this conversation before.

Scorpius bless him sees the true Rose for who she is on the inside instead of the Rose on the outside. He sees the beauty in her that she can't see herself. It is so real and raw and pure.

I have never connected with a character/s like I have right now. I am in awe... I am truly impressed. This story completely parallels with life for me in more ways than one.

Thank you for writing such an awesome story with my favorite pairing and for the ability to take and make this so very original, but with a very relatable subject.

Keep up the awesome work!! :)

-Jenn

P.S: I did see this spot here: "I had never met to cause him any kind of sorrow, and now here I was watching a tear sneak down his cheek."

I think you intended to use the word meant not met. :)

Author's Response: This is going to be a rather long response because I was really moved by your strong reaction to this story. Just a warning ;)

So, a few weeks ago, I was VERY close to removing this story from the archives. Literally the only thing that saved it was that some dear soul had favorited the story and so I left it up purely for their sake.

And then the next week I started getting reviews here, and while there haven't been many, they have all been so kind and positive and I was really pleased, but also baffled. I had always found this story embarrassing (which is why I hadn't requested a banner).

For the past few weeks I have been scratching my head trying to figure out why people like this story and why I was embarrassed by it. And I think I figured it out--

I was embarrassed because in this story I tell the truth about me, not just about Rose. I have been this person - I still am, a lot of the time. And I didn't want people to see that, so I hoped this could just live in anonymity, not being read but making my AP slightly less empty.

There's a quote, one of my all time favorites, from "The History Boys" by Alan Bennett: "The best moments in reading are when you come across something - a thought, a feeling, a way of looking at things - which you had thought special and particular to you. Now here it is, set down by someone else, a person you have never met, someone even who is long dead. And it is as if a hand has come out and taken yours."

Even though I was the writer in this case, rather than the reader, I really feel I have had this experience through your review, and others.

So, yes, I am really flattered that you liked the story. The things you said about Rose's character were just so nice! But I am even more grateful and appreciative of your admission that you relate to this so deeply. It really helped me to read that.

Thanks to you and other reviewers, I have finally requested a banner.

Lots of love to you, Jenn, you beautiful and amazing person!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #6, by merlins beard Rose

11th September 2015:
Hey,
I'm here with your promised review.
This was just SO GOOD for me right now. I needed a bit of fluff. Here I was, going through all the stories and thinking I'd actually be able to help you out with some constcrit, but I got nothing. Flow was great, description was awesome, plot was a little cliche but that was just perfect for tonight too.

The one thing that makes me fall in love with this story is that Rose isn't perfect. You never really tell us if she really might be a little chubby or if she's just hard on herself and uncomfortable, but both options make her human, approachable - as opposed to the perfect Rose Weasley in many other stories. I think that's what makes a great relationship... that you get to be perfect only in each other's eyes, and despite all the flaws we all have.

I absolutely loved this

~Anja xxx

Author's Response: Hi lovely!

I am honestly stunned by the positive reviews this story has gotten! Stunned, but appreciative ;)

But I think what you said is true: sometimes we need a little cliche fluff! And that's certainly what I consider this story to be.

"I got nothing. Flow was great, description was awesome" --> YOU ARE SERIOUSLY TOO KIND :hug:

This is a story I wrote for myself, something I normally wouldn't have posted. Reading your review makes me glad I posted it :)

Thank you!!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotter Rose

9th September 2015:
Hi Renee! I'm here for our review swap!
Oh my goodness this story was wonderful. I thought you did a fantastic job writing Scorpius and Rose! They both had so much depth and I just loved it.
You said in your author's note that you thought this was somewhat cliche, but I honestly didn't think it was cliche at all. It could have been, but it wasn't, because you took Rose in a direction that not many people do. There was passion and romance and fluff, but you didn't have everything go perfectly, which was that made this story so great.
I really loved the way you explored Rose's insecurities. She doesn't feel comfortable in her own body, which I think is something almost everyone, including myself, can relate to. And, on top of that, the guy she loves is really good-looking, and she can't help but doubt herself around him. I've definitely had those thoughts, and they aren't fun, but you wrote them so realistically.
And then when Rose told Scorpius that she didn't feel worthy of him, my heart broke a little for both of them. For Rose because that's an awful way to feel, and for Scorpius because he obviously loves her so much that hearing that has to be really hard for him. But his reaction was so sweet, and he was so loving when he reassured her how beautiful she was.
This was so fluffy and wonderful but also so relatable. I loved it. Thank you for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

As always, your review put the biggest smile on my face! I always feel a little iffy about this story - I've actually considered deleting it - so it makes me really relieved that you liked it and don't think it's cliche. :)

Thanks again for all the really sweet things you said - you're the nicest!! :hug:
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #8, by Felpata Lupin Rose

8th August 2015:
Hello Renee!
Welcome to Hufflepuff! :)

I thought I'd leave you a welcome review, and since this story looked a bit lonely I decided to stop by here!

I think this was really cute! Yes, maybe it is a bit cliched, but who cares? I can't resist a bit of unassuming fluff!!!

Rose is just so adorable with her convinction of being horrible and not worthy of someone as perfect as Scorpius! And he is so adorable in his trying to make her see how special she is in his eyes! His frustration was just so cute!

"And the only thing standing in our way was my [...], unshakable feelings of worthlessness. If anything was absurd, it was that." Loved this passage! It is just so true.

This was, in all its semplicity, a really pleasant reading! I'm very happy I stopped by!

With love,
Chiara

Author's Response: Hi Chiara!

I am kind of struck dumb that you took the time to review this story. Thank you! I actually almost deleted it the other day, so you may very well have saved it!

I am totally in love with Scorpius. Not just this Scorpius, but most versions I see around the archives. (It doesn't hurt that Alex Pettyfer is the most common face claim...) ;)

I'm glad you enjoyed this fluffy little story, and THANK YOU again for your lovely review and very warm welcome to Hufflepuff! :hug: :hug:


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login